728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Drum Whole House Humidifier

Drum Whole House Humidifier

Put an end to desert-like air in your home. The average humidity in the Sahara Desert is 25%. In wintertime, the average humidity inside some homes can be even lower, leading to dry skin, "carpet shock", cracking woodwork and more. Reliable Honeywell Whole House Humidifiers work with your home's heating and cooling system to maintain a proper, comfortable humidity level throughout the home. They will save you money by allowing you to turn down your thermostat a few degrees because humid air feels warmer. Plus, you don't have the hassle of refilling the unit like you do with portable humidifiers.
Overall rating:
4.35 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product18 of 20reviews
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(13)
4
(5)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product18 of 20reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer reviews for Drum Whole House Humidifier
Review 1 for Drum Whole House Humidifier
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good unit. Installation requires some DIY skills

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installation was actually pretty straight forward but there were a few "short comings" in the kit that I think people should be aware of.
the supplied duct is just way too short. I have a "highboy" style air handler and the return and supply ducts are pretty much right next to each other. Only a few inches apart actually. I had some trouble getting the supplied duct to reach far enough. it's 3 feet I think but if you need to bend it 90 degrees you lose a foot of length. Measure first and see if you need a longer duct. save yourself a trip.
Also, the duct has a block off plate that isn't really sized properly. IF you cut a full circle into the supply ( as the instructions indicate) the block off plate will only cover about 75% of the opening which is just way too much. Solution: Cut the hole smaller and in a somewhat oval shape. A bit more work but the shutter will then fully block the duct when it's not in use.
The kit comes with a plastic water supply line ( PEX? ) So if your building code locally requires copper, you'll need a new line. Again save yourself a trip and get it while you are at the store.
Finally, you will need a near by outlet and water pipe to tap into. If there is no outlet near your furnace, you'll need to have one put in.
Finally, one of the little plastic bits on the drain was too big to fit properly in the unit and I had to use a dremel to file it down to size.
Given all of this, I wouldn't take on this job like this unless you were pretty handy. I was able to get it done in a few hours.
As for the function of the unit, it seems to be working well. Once I got all those little installation details worked out, everything works very well. No leaks or anything and it worked the first time I turned it on. The humidity level in the house is coming up nicely and it requires basically no work from here on in.
Pros: Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+45points
46out of 47found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Drum Whole House Humidifier
from KC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works great

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The humidifier assembly and install was the easy part, the wiring schematic is carp. It shows extra connection points for no reason. It could easily be simplified to terminate red and white wires on transformer, take white to humidistat, take other leg of humidistat to motor, connect red wire to motor, done, complete circuit. Plug in transformer. If you are installing the humidistat upstairs its a longer run.
Next would be measure and verify where you want to install it. My highboy required two elbows and a four foot section of pipe, not that flexi garbage.
Feel free to buy machine screws as well unless you like drilling pilots, also 1/2" are plenty long.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: wiring diagram is convoluted.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Drum Whole House Humidifier

long install, but worth it

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good instructions and al lparts were included. Takes a while, but you can do it in steps. Humidity went up as expected after one night.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Nice Design
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Drum Whole House Humidifier
from Farmington, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a few old guitars that need a controlled humidity environment. My two story townhouse is around 1700 square foot. This humidifier did the trick. It took my house from 35% to nearly 50% overnight. I have also noticed that I did not wake up with a dry throat or nasal congestion so I am a very happy camper. It took a couple of hours to install but if you can operate tin snips and do basic wiring, you should not have any issues. Everything I needed was included in the box and the three foot length of 6 inch vent hose was just enough for my application. The unit came with a control assembly so I believe it shuts off the motor after reaching the dialed in humidity level. Overall, it's a pretty basic design that works great.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Drum Whole House Humidifier
from Michigan

Great humidifier

PostedFebruary 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just like the instructions say: Each installation will be different and I had a few challenges, but just a little common sense and everything went together superbly. Our water line source is PVC (which isn't covered in the installation booklet) so I drilled an 1/8" in hole and secured the tap to it and it works great. Our air quality has improved from Sahara desert uncomfortable to a very nice humidity level that will make a huge difference on our dry itchy skin. Great little unit - highly recommended. We packed up our room unit humidifiers for the next garage sale.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Drum Whole House Humidifier
from Maryland

Nice Humidifier design and operation

PostedJanuary 4, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had a "pass through" humidifier for years - have not had a drum one like this for a long time. But, my pass though kept leaking and I bought this one. Whomever engineered this product did a wonderful job. The instructions, parts, and assembly went very well. Everything worked as advertised........
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Drum Whole House Humidifier
from Detroit, MI

If replacing another drum unit, read this...

PostedJanuary 18, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This humdifier works great and has definitely made a difference in our home. Installation would have been fairly easy if this had been a new install but when replacing an older drum unit, it was all the small things that added up - stubborn fittings that wouldn't come loose on the old unit, and the duct work supplied with this unit not being long enough. I believe this unit comes with 4' of bypass duct, which was a tad too short so I had to run out and get an 8' piece. Once installed, the unit performs beautifully.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Drum Whole House Humidifier
from Farmington N.Y.

Whole House Humidifier

PostedDecember 28, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a very nice whole house humidifier, its easy to install and works great. Installation was very easy, you just mount it to your furnace and connect a water line and plug it in. It puts out warm moist air throughout your house.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Drum Whole House Humidifier
from Orion Twp.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product was very easy to install.

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had absolutly no problems with the instalation. It fit into the space the old one was in with a very small modification.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Drum Whole House Humidifier
from Hyattsville, MD, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So easy a girl could install it

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this item because it is the exact same model that I am replacing. I was plesantly suprised that I didn't have to buy the filter or the humidistat....great. The price was decent which is a plus and I saved even more money by doing the work myself. The instructions were understandable. Everything was up and running in an hour and a half. The only thing that I wished it had is a digital stat, but I'm not complaining at all. I am happy.
Pros: Easy Replacement, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Drum Whole House Humidifier
from 81212

excellent product

PostedDecember 27, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It's just as advertised and easy to install. You need a good pair of tin snips to cut into the ducts. The instructions for water line installation do not cover plastic lines. I have 1" PEX plas. water lines. I used a 1x1/2x1 coupling, a 4" piece of 1/2" copper pipe and a 1/2x1/4 shut off valve. Be sure to use the 1/4" PLASTIC compression fitting (not the metal one) and the 1/4" copper sleeve. The 1x1/2x1 tee I used was a stab fitting - just cut the pipe & push into tee ends - it worked great - no leaks at all.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Drum Whole House Humidifier
from Salt Lake City, Utah

Nice change

PostedJanuary 30, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this product because we live in an arid climate. My may be a little small for our house but it has definitely made a difference. Well worth it and not to hard to install if you are a handy man.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Drum Whole House Humidifier
from Michigan

wonderful

PostedDecember 27, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this was easy enough to install, almost immediately it has felt warmer in the house and the dust has been dramatically reduced
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Drum Whole House Humidifier
from Bridgeville
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Drum Whole House Humidifier

PostedNovember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It was hard to assemble, and my husband is a maintenance man, and can assemble anything! It took him all afternoon to assemble
...
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Drum Whole House Humidifier

Doesn't hold up

PostedNovember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installation is relatively easy if you are so inclined.
It does a good job while it lasts, but it doesn't last long, in my opinion.
I am putting it in service for the fourth season and the drive motor/gears are shot. Replacement motor is available from on-line appliance parts stores. I would like to get 8-10 years out a simple, but expensive, piece of equipment like this.
Pros: Stylish
Cons: Not Durable
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Drum Whole House Humidifier
from Kenmore, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

so simple to install

PostedMarch 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
very easy to install took less than 2 hours and after a couple cycles we could feel the difference
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Drum Whole House Humidifier
from Aurora, CO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

does the job at a great price

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
as a diyer, could have better instructions for installation. should have put humidty control and bypass air unit on first.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Replacement
Cons: better installation instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Drum Whole House Humidifier
from cambridge,ma.

no hot air

PostedDecember 15, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i have been using this humidifier with relieve and comfort. my understanding is this product is not being sold anymore. i don't understand why because i am completly satisfied,except for the shipping price ,this unit works well.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Drum Whole House Humidifier

Easy to replace the older unit with this, larger duct opening gives it better circulation

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought the pass through Humidifier and afterwards realized you need a floor drain for it to work ( small print) This one is the drum style and no constant water draining through, it does have an issue with not turning when the blower is on and the water is at the bottom. Easy to put in.
Pros: Easy Replacement
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Drum Whole House Humidifier
from Milford, MA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very bad quality , and very bad Honeywell customer service .

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very bad quality,slso very bad Honeywell customer service . I'm so upset
Cons: bad product
-23points
0out of 23found this review helpful.