728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Driveway Sealers & Repair or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer

4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer

(Note: If product is not available to order in your area that is due to nighttime temperatures. Product may not cure and/or track in late Fall and early Spring applications). Latex-ite 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer is an asphalt emulsion based low VOC driveway sealer designed to beautify and protect your blacktop driveway. Airport grade is a non-skid formula that will fill hairline (1/8 in. or less) cracks and is polymer fortified for added durability. Helpful Hints before you seal your driveway: 1. Purchase an extra pail: Any unused portion CAN be saved for touch-ups (you do not want to run out during the project as you might get color variations.) 2. Flip pails over night prior to doing job (it will be much easier to mix in the morning and will ensure consistency during application). 3. Do the project all at one time without starting and stopping. 4. Check the weather and make sure no rain is forecast and it is at least 55 degrees F at night (a cold driveway will not allow the sealer to cure properly). 5. Check latexite.com for further tips and How To Videos.
Overall rating:
3.987 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(155 reviews) 155
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product118 of 145reviews
Rating Breakdown 155 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(75)
4
(48)
3
(7)
2
(5)
1
(20)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product118 of 145reviews
Customer reviews for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
Review 1 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
from Mohnton, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Easy for 62 year old woman.

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I followed the directions, cans upside down and strategicly located in my large driveway. I am a woman and didn't want to carry the heavy cans around. Mixer didn't work(wrong size), so I had to stir every can which wasn't too bad. It applied smoothly and I love the lines going back and forth. I'm a little OCB on visual appearance. It took nine cans and five hours including edging. The driveway was new five years ago and this was the first application. I love the way it looks.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
from travelersrest sc
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

this is a great product

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I decited to roll it with a 9"roller. worked great. great coverage. only had 4 hors dring time till it rained.no effects,i used 22 gal. have 50'x10 drive,double carport,48x48 pad. love this product. for me was easier to roll long nap cover.took me around 5 hours to do it
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Great Value, Economical
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
from Bristol, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Goes on SMOOTH

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product goes on very smooth and easy. ALL of our customers love the results. We will continue to use it for all sealing jobs. The price may be just slightly higher than other sealers, but in the end IT IS WORTH IT.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Economical, Reliable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
from Mesquite, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

1st Time user. Great Look

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Overall I am quite satisfied
Things have gone well with applying this product. I love the fresh look it gives my driveway.
Just wanted to tell other users its quite messy. I recommend wearing old clothes you can discard. Washing them is NOT an option and could spot the inside walls of your machine. And wear rubber gloves to keep it off your hands . very hard to remove from cuticle area
Clean up when WET is easy. And almost impossible when dry. Which tells me it should stay on well.
I found it to be easy to put on with a 1 1/2 inch nap paint roller. I tried a broom , but quickly switched to a roller and found it MUCH easier. the instructions called for a squeegee but my drive is too rough to consider that.
. This product has a 3 yr warranty. I used 13 buckets so far. Our drive in very wide and long.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Seals Well, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, great look
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
18out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
from Massachusetts, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Weekly

if it fails its due to improper application

PostedMay 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
i am a professional sealcoat tech and i just wanted to make a comment to help other people. make sure you pull it out as much a possible, do not leave puddles or apply it too thick otherwise it will flake off, look blotchy, or will not dry. also keep your driveway free of dirt or sand. otherwise you will basically scratch off the sealcoat faster then normal wear and tear. and DONT SEALCOAT IT TOO OFTEN. only every 2-3 years or when you see the coat failing. if you sealcoat too much you are actually causing more damage to your driveway. the sealcoat does not expand and contract like asphalt does and will make your driveway fail if applied too thick or too often
+84points
94out of 104found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
from Whitney, TX 76692, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

If you have an old driveway, plan on using more.

PostedJune 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a large (300'+) long circular driveway with a wider parking area. All in all about 4700sqft. The website calculator told me that with a worn driveway, it would take 19 buckets. I bought 20. I then bought 12 more and used 9 of those to finish up. I'd read other reviews that indicated that this might be a possibility, so I wasn't too surprised.
Some people complained about it taking a long time to mix. They must have been mixing with a paint stick. I used a drill and metal paint stirrer and had each mixed in less than a minute. It squeegee'd on fairly well. I sometimes had to squeegee a second time to make sure the coating was thin enough, but in general it went on easily. Time will tell if it will last, but right now my black driveway looks much better than the gray, patched driveway.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: needed much more than expected.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
25out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer

Great Product for the Price

PostedSeptember 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this on my eight ft wide x 150 drive way in FL. I used four buckets The key is to make sure you mix the product thoroughly I can not say this enough don t turn buckets up side down overnight or roll buckets just mix properly .I used a drill with a stir/ mixer attachment and, it should look like a milk shake when complete. I trimmed the grass back with a weed eater than used a leaf blower to clear the drive. Used the patch products for hole/ cracks. Applied at 9am drove cars into garage at 4pm no problem. It was 70f at time of application with a high of 90f. The color match was perfect. Just mix, mix
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
from Pennsylvania
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Lasts less than one year

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
For past 2 years I have tried to use Latexite product on my asphalt driveway. In both cases the product washed off in less than one year. Additionally it did not protect my driveway at all which is now cracking beyond control and may have to have a new driveway laid where I was trying to put this off. This product may work in a dry climate but it does not in a wet one here in the northeast. My advice is to stay away from water based products. I am on the lookout for a much different product or a professional treatment.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Leaks, low performance
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy THD-CSDecember 5, 2014
Dear Valued Home Depot Customer, The problems expressed in this consumers review are related to the structural condition of the asphalt. Latexite Airport Grade is a coating only, and if the structural asphalt is failing then the coating will not be able to properly seal the surface.
Dalton Enterprises takes pride in our customer satisfaction and we go the extra step to insure 100% satisfaction. We have emailed the customer several times to address their concerns with no success. We urge all consumers to contact us at info@latexite.com if they are unsatisfied as we stand behind all of our products.
Review 9 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
from CT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good Product

PostedJune 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My driveway is kinda big (3400 sq. ft.) and hadn't been sealed since it was installed seven years ago. As expected it was porous and I only got 200 sq ft coverage for each pail. It took 17 pails to complete the project. I followed the advice of others and will pass it along to anyone interested.
1. Yes, flip the pails upside down overnight.
2. If you're mixing more than a couple of pails buy a metal mixer for your electric drill. It only took about a minute to mix a pail.
3. Buy a masonry brush if you have areas that need edging.
I can't comment on the lasting quality of the product as I just finished the work.
Pros: Easy to Work With
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
from jersey shore
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

spots lifting

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
sealed driveway last august filled in cracks and large areas that needed filler did that 1 month before sealing scrubbed all oil spots with driveway oil cleaner then scrubbed whole driveway applied 2.5 containers of airport grade sealer now places are lifted and now need to seal again
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy THD-Customer ServiceNovember 24, 2014

We reached out to the MFG for more information and below is their response.

“Often when sealer does not perform to its full capability, there is a problem with adhesion to the surface. Adhesion problems can be corrected by properly cleaning the surface; power-washings one’s driveway is the best way to do so. If there are any trees or bushes in your problem areas, make sure to clean that area even more thoroughly- things such as tree sap and pollen often lead to adhesion problems.

Dalton Enterprises values customer service and strives for 100% customer satisfaction. We have emailed the customer several tines to address their concerns with no success. There are reasons why a coating fails, often related to the surfaces they are applied to or the conditions they are applied in. We urge all consumers to contact us at info@latexite.com if they are unsatisfied as we stand behind all of our products.”
Review 11 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
from Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

So Easy To Use and Good Coverage That I Did Two Coats

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Double-coated 1700 square feet with just over 7 containers. Driveway had been last sprayed 4-5 years ago. Flipped containers twice the night before - my thought is that this is very important. I don't know if I had to stir but did with a simple paint stir rod on my small drill. Also, had bought an 8th container but return to Home Depot was a snap. Easy to do. First coat took 3 hours. Second coat took 2 hours. I have a steep driveway but product did not quickly run at all. The 'brush' cleaned up simply with water and dishwater detergent and is ready to use for next time. Whole job created no mess. Sealing looks great. If I had known it would be this simple, would have done it sooner with no trepidation. I'm 58 years old now, but this was a breeze solo job.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Easy to Clean, Economical
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
from Cottontown
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

A lot of work, hope it's worth it.

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Just finished spreading 12 buckets of this sealer. Prep time for 4,000 sqft was considerable. I pressure washed the driveway which hadn't been sealed in quite a long time and noticed several areas that were extremely rough. Driveway patch filled these areas nicely but took time to get done. A couple of large 1/2 inch cracks were filled with crack filler then on to the sealer. As others have said, the coverage wasn't quite what I expected (need to get four more buckets to finish up). I attribute that to the rough surface of the driveway and do not think it reflects on the product itself. Doing a good job takes time and this is no exception. Spreading the sealer took about four hours (start early, you don't want to be caught when the temp passes 90 degrees). If it lasts the four years it claims I will be happy with the product and the effort.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With
Cons: overated coverage
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
from Beacon, NY 12508, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

worked out well

PostedJune 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just finished my 1400 + sq foot driveway....worked out well
I used 5 cans and had 1/2 can left. followed the directions and mixed it with a drill mix bit.....going back to get 2 more cans to do my small driveway. This was the first time I did it myself, prior to this I paid a contractor about $400.00. Even with purchasing the product and spreader it cost me only $135.00 and spreading took only 2 1/2 hours.....it actually took me longer to clean the driveway and power wash then apply.
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Value, Economical
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer

Great Product

PostedOctober 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm a 98 pound female, so the online, Home Depot free delivery was great.
I was hoping to surprise my husband, and as luck would have it, the pails arrived after my husband went to work. I followed the directions and was done in a few hours (100 foot driveway) whew!!!
This was my first time doing this...and the driveway came out beautifully, it looks so smooth and pretty. When my husband came home he thought I hired a professional. He was totally amazed that I did it. (me too). I would highly recommend this product. To the ladies, use rubber gloves to cover those nails and old clothes.
+26points
28out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer

Will not work if you have any shaded areas!!!

PostedJuly 1, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I must admit that the manufacturer treated me right by giving me another batch to re-do my driveway after the 1st batch lifted off in all shaded areas the 1st winter. I had to completely pressure wash my 3600 sq. ft . drive to remove all loose driveway sealer that had failed from the 1st coat in the shaded areas. Resealed with the 2nd batch and that winter the same results. Called them and they said it would not work in shaded areas. Why couldn't they have told me that after the 1st batch failed. Anyway they said tough luck, no warranty.
+23points
25out of 27found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy THD Customer Service May 3, 2012
Phil,

I contacted the vendor about your review, and this is their client response to you:
“Our driveway sealers WILL work in shaded areas as long as the surface is prepared properly and given enough time to appropriately dry in warm temperatures. If water collects or pools in these shaded areas, this can have an effect on the driveway sealer. Dalton Enterprises values customer service and strives for 100% customer satisfaction. There are reasons why a coating fails, often related to the surfaces they are applied to or the conditions they are applied in. We urge all consumers to contact us at 800-851-5606 if they are unsatisfied as we stand behind all of our products. “
I hope this helps and thank you for choosing The Home Depot!

THD Customer Service
Review 16 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
from Boston
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Worked well on an old driveway

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My 30+ year old driveway has quite a few cracks and depressions but isn't falling apart. My goal is to make it look better while putting off replacement. I sealed it many years ago and most has long worn away. I think it was a coal tar product that was common then. That one was hard to stir and smelled badly. I kept up with crack filling over the years as that is most important. I filled the larger cracks a few days prior to sealing, cleaned and washed one oil spot area and blew off all sand and debris but didn't wash the driveway. I have a brush/squeegee but the squeegee is only an inch and wouldn't work on my uneven driveway. I had to use the brush and it worked pretty well. I worked it to make sure the product went into the cracks. I was tempted to try a roller. The squeegee is recommended by Latexite for this product and the proper one may have worked for me, not sure. The job came out pretty nice and a 2nd coat would look even better. It looks 10 times better than before.
I turned the buckets over the night before and used a drill stirrer but it seemed to be well stirred, gel-like and I did not stir all the containers as it was frantic because it was drying so fast after application. It does not run much when poured out of the pail and I have a partly hilly driveway. I did not mix the pails once one got 1/2 empty as some suggest. 4 pails covered about 1100 sq feet. My driveway is not coarse, which would take more sealer. The product does not smell badly. I like it's matte finish and it helps hide defects. I walked on it in an hour or so and drove on it the next day.
A few tips, some I found out the hard way, some I thought of before....
- Bring all your stirred sealer, tools, water, rags, sticks, etc. outside before starting.
Move them to where you will work towards.
- It was a 77 degree day but the August sun made the product dry too fast so some
areas look a little different. It may have been the brush direction or thickness. I would
never do this on a hotter day. You can't do it when too cool either.
- I went over a few areas that I did not cover well after it mostly dried and you can see
those areas from some angles. I think this will disappear over time. A 2nd coat would
take care of this.
- Leave a second door open if you have to get in the house. Remove shoes before
walking on any surface you don't want to track sealer on! Cover part of any floor you
may need to walk on with papers or cardboard.
- Keep a 3" paint brush handy for cutting in edges. I kept one in a small bucket of water
so it would not harden.
- Open the pails and stir before starting. I broke the slots on the cover with a
screwdriver first. Then you can pull and lift each section. There may be a tool for this.
Pros: Seals Well
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
from Plainedge,NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Easy application

PostedJune 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to apply, looks great, can not beat the price. Just be careful, the manufacturer claims it will cover 400-500 sq ft per bucket. My driveway that is 750 sq ft was done 4yrs ago and I found that the coverage is more like 100 sq ft per bucket. Needless to say I had to make an extra trip to Home Depot to pick up 4 more buckets.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Economical
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
from Williamsburg, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Coverage is the only issue.

PostedMay 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a 1,500 sg ft driveway. Simple math says at 350 sq ft per bucket, I would need a little over 4 buckets to complete the job. So just to be safe, I bought 6 buckets. I went through those and had to go back to Home Depot to get two more buckets. Overall, I used a little over 7 buckets for this job. That's more like 210 sq ft per bucket. Granted, this was the first time this driveway has been sealed since it was installed new about 2 1/2 years ago.
Don't get me wrong. This is a great product. The driveway looks great. Application was easy and uniform throughout. I would highly recommend this to anyone. Just be aware of the coverage issue and be prepared to stir, stir, stir. (As a hint, manually stirring those buckets will wear you out. A neighbor gave me one of those metal paint stir things that I hooked up to my electric drill. That worked incredibly well. A word to the wise, get one of those things and use it.)
Pros: Performs Well, High Quality, consistent, Easy to Apply
Cons: coverage
+18points
20out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
from Long Island, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Where did all the solids go?

PostedJune 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Have used the Airport Grade Sealer (green top) for years on a 1600 sq ft driveway. Unfortunately this year the amount of solids it contains has been cut drastically. Now It does not require any mixing, just pour, spread, watch it dry and see the cracks open up. After using 2 containers to prime some areas found even small cracks opened up.
Considered upgrading to Ultra Shield Driveway Treatment (red cover) a neighbor had just used. Looked at his driveway and found it had the same issues. Am returning the unopened containers to HomeDepot and will buy a product from as local manufacturer
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: does not seal
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy THD - Customer ServiceJune 18, 2014
Dear Valued Home Depot Customer,
We reached out to the MFG and below are their response.
“Dalton Enterprises contacted this customer to reassure the customer that the solids in our products have not changed. Latexite Airport Grade is the same quality product it has allows been. The age and porosity of the surface can affect the rate in which the product goes down. This consumer’s driveway had been sealed 20+ times creating a very smooth surface. The surface was so smooth it would not receive the product, allowing an adequate coating to be put down.”
Review 20 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
from Flint, MI

Ready for takeoff, but coverage isn't as stated.

PostedJune 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I used this product to seal a driveway of 7 years old that has never been sealed. A lot of the aggregate was exposed and over all the driveway had turned into a battleship-gray color. The prep step is a MUST, especially for an unsealed driveway. All those depressions have dirt and debris that must be blasted out with a hose. A leaf blower will not do the trick. After the entire driveway was washed and scrubbed with TSP, cracks filled, etc, it was time to seal 24 hours later. My driveway is 1344 square feet, and if I went by their low estimate of unsealed coverage (300 sq ft per pail) I would have only been able to do 2/3rds of it. I bought 7 pails and used 5.5 pails, which gave a yield of only 244 sq ft per pail. I used a squeegee and applied steady downpressure to get one thin coat as directed. The driveway looks like a million bucks now. It dried for foot traffic in 4 hours, and I'm driving on it 48 hours later with no tracking at all. I think proper adherence only happens when the weather is right and if you get all the dirt off the driveway first. So, in summary, it is a good product but buy more than you need. You can always take back the surplus the next day.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>