728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Asphalt Sealers & Repair or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway FIller Sealer

4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway FIller Sealer

Latex-ite 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer is an asphalt emulsion based low VOC driveway sealer designed to beautify and protect your blacktop driveway. Airport grade is a non-skid formula that will fill hairline (1/8 in. or less) cracks and is polymer fortified for added durability. Helpful Hints before you seal your driveway: 1. Purchase an extra pail: Any unused portion CAN be saved for touch-ups (you do not want to run out during the project as you might get color variations.) 2. Flip pails over night prior to doing job (it will be much easier to mix in the morning and will ensure consistency during application). 3. Do the project all at one time without starting and stopping. 4. Check the weather and make sure no rain is forecast and it is at least 55 degrees F at night (a cold driveway will not allow the sealer to cure properly). 5. Check latexite.com for further tips and How To Videos.
Overall rating:
4.022 / 5
4
 / 
5
(135 reviews) 135
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product103 of 125reviews
Rating Breakdown 135 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(66)
4
(42)
3
(7)
2
(4)
1
(16)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product103 of 125reviews
Customer reviews for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway FIller Sealer
Review 1 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway FIller Sealer
from Mohnton, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Easy for 62 year old woman.

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I followed the directions, cans upside down and strategicly located in my large driveway. I am a woman and didn't want to carry the heavy cans around. Mixer didn't work(wrong size), so I had to stir every can which wasn't too bad. It applied smoothly and I love the lines going back and forth. I'm a little OCB on visual appearance. It took nine cans and five hours including edging. The driveway was new five years ago and this was the first application. I love the way it looks.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway FIller Sealer
from Bristol, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Goes on SMOOTH

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product goes on very smooth and easy. ALL of our customers love the results. We will continue to use it for all sealing jobs. The price may be just slightly higher than other sealers, but in the end IT IS WORTH IT.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Economical, Reliable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway FIller Sealer
from travelersrest sc
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

this is a great product

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I decited to roll it with a 9"roller. worked great. great coverage. only had 4 hors dring time till it rained.no effects,i used 22 gal. have 50'x10 drive,double carport,48x48 pad. love this product. for me was easier to roll long nap cover.took me around 5 hours to do it
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Great Value, Economical
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway FIller Sealer
from Mesquite, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

1st Time user. Great Look

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Overall I am quite satisfied
Things have gone well with applying this product. I love the fresh look it gives my driveway.
Just wanted to tell other users its quite messy. I recommend wearing old clothes you can discard. Washing them is NOT an option and could spot the inside walls of your machine. And wear rubber gloves to keep it off your hands . very hard to remove from cuticle area
Clean up when WET is easy. And almost impossible when dry. Which tells me it should stay on well.
I found it to be easy to put on with a 1 1/2 inch nap paint roller. I tried a broom , but quickly switched to a roller and found it MUCH easier. the instructions called for a squeegee but my drive is too rough to consider that.
. This product has a 3 yr warranty. I used 13 buckets so far. Our drive in very wide and long.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Seals Well, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, great look
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway FIller Sealer
from Whitney, TX 76692, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

If you have an old driveway, plan on using more.

PostedJune 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a large (300'+) long circular driveway with a wider parking area. All in all about 4700sqft. The website calculator told me that with a worn driveway, it would take 19 buckets. I bought 20. I then bought 12 more and used 9 of those to finish up. I'd read other reviews that indicated that this might be a possibility, so I wasn't too surprised.
Some people complained about it taking a long time to mix. They must have been mixing with a paint stick. I used a drill and metal paint stirrer and had each mixed in less than a minute. It squeegee'd on fairly well. I sometimes had to squeegee a second time to make sure the coating was thin enough, but in general it went on easily. Time will tell if it will last, but right now my black driveway looks much better than the gray, patched driveway.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: needed much more than expected.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+14points
24out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway FIller Sealer
from Massachusetts, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Weekly

if it fails its due to improper application

PostedMay 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i am a professional sealcoat tech and i just wanted to make a comment to help other people. make sure you pull it out as much a possible, do not leave puddles or apply it too thick otherwise it will flake off, look blotchy, or will not dry. also keep your driveway free of dirt or sand. otherwise you will basically scratch off the sealcoat faster then normal wear and tear. and DONT SEALCOAT IT TOO OFTEN. only every 2-3 years or when you see the coat failing. if you sealcoat too much you are actually causing more damage to your driveway. the sealcoat does not expand and contract like asphalt does and will make your driveway fail if applied too thick or too often
+77points
87out of 97found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway FIller Sealer
from CT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good Product

PostedJune 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My driveway is kinda big (3400 sq. ft.) and hadn't been sealed since it was installed seven years ago. As expected it was porous and I only got 200 sq ft coverage for each pail. It took 17 pails to complete the project. I followed the advice of others and will pass it along to anyone interested.
1. Yes, flip the pails upside down overnight.
2. If you're mixing more than a couple of pails buy a metal mixer for your electric drill. It only took about a minute to mix a pail.
3. Buy a masonry brush if you have areas that need edging.
I can't comment on the lasting quality of the product as I just finished the work.
Pros: Easy to Work With
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway FIller Sealer

Great Product for the Price

PostedSeptember 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this on my eight ft wide x 150 drive way in FL. I used four buckets The key is to make sure you mix the product thoroughly I can not say this enough don t turn buckets up side down overnight or roll buckets just mix properly .I used a drill with a stir/ mixer attachment and, it should look like a milk shake when complete. I trimmed the grass back with a weed eater than used a leaf blower to clear the drive. Used the patch products for hole/ cracks. Applied at 9am drove cars into garage at 4pm no problem. It was 70f at time of application with a high of 90f. The color match was perfect. Just mix, mix
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway FIller Sealer
from Plainedge,NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Easy application

PostedJune 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to apply, looks great, can not beat the price. Just be careful, the manufacturer claims it will cover 400-500 sq ft per bucket. My driveway that is 750 sq ft was done 4yrs ago and I found that the coverage is more like 100 sq ft per bucket. Needless to say I had to make an extra trip to Home Depot to pick up 4 more buckets.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Economical
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway FIller Sealer
from Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

So Easy To Use and Good Coverage That I Did Two Coats

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Double-coated 1700 square feet with just over 7 containers. Driveway had been last sprayed 4-5 years ago. Flipped containers twice the night before - my thought is that this is very important. I don't know if I had to stir but did with a simple paint stir rod on my small drill. Also, had bought an 8th container but return to Home Depot was a snap. Easy to do. First coat took 3 hours. Second coat took 2 hours. I have a steep driveway but product did not quickly run at all. The 'brush' cleaned up simply with water and dishwater detergent and is ready to use for next time. Whole job created no mess. Sealing looks great. If I had known it would be this simple, would have done it sooner with no trepidation. I'm 58 years old now, but this was a breeze solo job.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Easy to Clean, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway FIller Sealer
from Fort Smith
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Went on smoothly!

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought 4 buckets to do my driveway, but appeared to be old, It was very lumpy and hard to stir, After getting it stirred good I began to apply the sealer. It went on smooth and even, using a squeegee. It dried even and looked good when I got finished. I hope this last longer than the cheaper brand I put on last year but I don't expect to get 4 years out of it. Over all I would purchase this product again, yet the proof will be in how long it last.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway FIller Sealer
from Long Island, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Where did all the solids go?

PostedJune 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Have used the Airport Grade Sealer (green top) for years on a 1600 sq ft driveway. Unfortunately this year the amount of solids it contains has been cut drastically. Now It does not require any mixing, just pour, spread, watch it dry and see the cracks open up. After using 2 containers to prime some areas found even small cracks opened up.
Considered upgrading to Ultra Shield Driveway Treatment (red cover) a neighbor had just used. Looked at his driveway and found it had the same issues. Am returning the unopened containers to HomeDepot and will buy a product from as local manufacturer
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: does not seal
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy THD - Customer ServiceJune 18, 2014
Dear Valued Home Depot Customer,
We reached out to the MFG and below are their response.
“Dalton Enterprises contacted this customer to reassure the customer that the solids in our products have not changed. Latexite Airport Grade is the same quality product it has allows been. The age and porosity of the surface can affect the rate in which the product goes down. This consumer’s driveway had been sealed 20+ times creating a very smooth surface. The surface was so smooth it would not receive the product, allowing an adequate coating to be put down.”
Review 13 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway FIller Sealer
from Beacon, NY 12508, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

worked out well

PostedJune 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just finished my 1400 + sq foot driveway....worked out well
I used 5 cans and had 1/2 can left. followed the directions and mixed it with a drill mix bit.....going back to get 2 more cans to do my small driveway. This was the first time I did it myself, prior to this I paid a contractor about $400.00. Even with purchasing the product and spreader it cost me only $135.00 and spreading took only 2 1/2 hours.....it actually took me longer to clean the driveway and power wash then apply.
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Value, Economical
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway FIller Sealer
from Boston
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Worked well on an old driveway

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My 30+ year old driveway has quite a few cracks and depressions but isn't falling apart. My goal is to make it look better while putting off replacement. I sealed it many years ago and most has long worn away. I think it was a coal tar product that was common then. That one was hard to stir and smelled badly. I kept up with crack filling over the years as that is most important. I filled the larger cracks a few days prior to sealing, cleaned and washed one oil spot area and blew off all sand and debris but didn't wash the driveway. I have a brush/squeegee but the squeegee is only an inch and wouldn't work on my uneven driveway. I had to use the brush and it worked pretty well. I worked it to make sure the product went into the cracks. I was tempted to try a roller. The squeegee is recommended by Latexite for this product and the proper one may have worked for me, not sure. The job came out pretty nice and a 2nd coat would look even better. It looks 10 times better than before.
I turned the buckets over the night before and used a drill stirrer but it seemed to be well stirred, gel-like and I did not stir all the containers as it was frantic because it was drying so fast after application. It does not run much when poured out of the pail and I have a partly hilly driveway. I did not mix the pails once one got 1/2 empty as some suggest. 4 pails covered about 1100 sq feet. My driveway is not coarse, which would take more sealer. The product does not smell badly. I like it's matte finish and it helps hide defects. I walked on it in an hour or so and drove on it the next day.
A few tips, some I found out the hard way, some I thought of before....
- Bring all your stirred sealer, tools, water, rags, sticks, etc. outside before starting.
Move them to where you will work towards.
- It was a 77 degree day but the August sun made the product dry too fast so some
areas look a little different. It may have been the brush direction or thickness. I would
never do this on a hotter day. You can't do it when too cool either.
- I went over a few areas that I did not cover well after it mostly dried and you can see
those areas from some angles. I think this will disappear over time. A 2nd coat would
take care of this.
- Leave a second door open if you have to get in the house. Remove shoes before
walking on any surface you don't want to track sealer on! Cover part of any floor you
may need to walk on with papers or cardboard.
- Keep a 3" paint brush handy for cutting in edges. I kept one in a small bucket of water
so it would not harden.
- Open the pails and stir before starting. I broke the slots on the cover with a
screwdriver first. Then you can pull and lift each section. There may be a tool for this.
Pros: Seals Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway FIller Sealer
from Cleveland OH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

A Superb Product

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Effortless beauty! is what you get when you use this product to restore your driveway to its top notch glory. Easy to use, dries like professional grade black top. It looks exquisite once its done. I keep getting all of my neighbors stopping by asking me if I paid to get it done. I'm proud to tell them. I did myself. All the men in my neighborhood can't believe a woman got that product to turn out results like that. The product does 99% of the work. I just applied it. VERY easy and Very nice.
Pros: Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Great Value, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway FIller Sealer

Great Product

PostedOctober 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm a 98 pound female, so the online, Home Depot free delivery was great.
I was hoping to surprise my husband, and as luck would have it, the pails arrived after my husband went to work. I followed the directions and was done in a few hours (100 foot driveway) whew!!!
This was my first time doing this...and the driveway came out beautifully, it looks so smooth and pretty. When my husband came home he thought I hired a professional. He was totally amazed that I did it. (me too). I would highly recommend this product. To the ladies, use rubber gloves to cover those nails and old clothes.
+25points
27out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway FIller Sealer
from Williamsburg, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Coverage is the only issue.

PostedMay 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a 1,500 sg ft driveway. Simple math says at 350 sq ft per bucket, I would need a little over 4 buckets to complete the job. So just to be safe, I bought 6 buckets. I went through those and had to go back to Home Depot to get two more buckets. Overall, I used a little over 7 buckets for this job. That's more like 210 sq ft per bucket. Granted, this was the first time this driveway has been sealed since it was installed new about 2 1/2 years ago.
Don't get me wrong. This is a great product. The driveway looks great. Application was easy and uniform throughout. I would highly recommend this to anyone. Just be aware of the coverage issue and be prepared to stir, stir, stir. (As a hint, manually stirring those buckets will wear you out. A neighbor gave me one of those metal paint stir things that I hooked up to my electric drill. That worked incredibly well. A word to the wise, get one of those things and use it.)
Pros: Performs Well, High Quality, consistent, Easy to Apply
Cons: coverage
+17points
19out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway FIller Sealer
from Ingleside, Long Lake, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Mix Mix Mix!

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Forget turning the containers upside down over night, it did nothing, I still had big globs the next day! power-drill and a small mixing attachment is the only way to go! Blend it and go. Spread thin and evenly! I used 3/4 of a bucket more than I did the last time with the "other brand" but it looks fantastic and cleans up well. Much better product, Very happy so far!!! No coal tar smell either!!! Mix, Mix, Mix!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Easy to Clean
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway FIller Sealer

Will not work if you have any shaded areas!!!

PostedJuly 1, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I must admit that the manufacturer treated me right by giving me another batch to re-do my driveway after the 1st batch lifted off in all shaded areas the 1st winter. I had to completely pressure wash my 3600 sq. ft . drive to remove all loose driveway sealer that had failed from the 1st coat in the shaded areas. Resealed with the 2nd batch and that winter the same results. Called them and they said it would not work in shaded areas. Why couldn't they have told me that after the 1st batch failed. Anyway they said tough luck, no warranty.
+23points
25out of 27found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy THD Customer Service May 3, 2012
Phil,

I contacted the vendor about your review, and this is their client response to you:
“Our driveway sealers WILL work in shaded areas as long as the surface is prepared properly and given enough time to appropriately dry in warm temperatures. If water collects or pools in these shaded areas, this can have an effect on the driveway sealer. Dalton Enterprises values customer service and strives for 100% customer satisfaction. There are reasons why a coating fails, often related to the surfaces they are applied to or the conditions they are applied in. We urge all consumers to contact us at 800-851-5606 if they are unsatisfied as we stand behind all of our products. “
I hope this helps and thank you for choosing The Home Depot!

THD Customer Service
Review 20 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway FIller Sealer

good stuff

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
best stuff ive used so far. filled the cracks nicely.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>