728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Driveway Sealers & Repair or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer

4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer

(Note: If product is not available to order in your area that is due to nighttime temperatures. Product may not cure and/or track in late Fall and early Spring applications). Latex-ite 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer is an asphalt emulsion based low VOC driveway sealer designed to beautify and protect your blacktop driveway. Airport grade is a non-skid formula that will fill hairline (1/8 in. or less) cracks and is polymer fortified for added durability. Helpful Hints before you seal your driveway: 1. Purchase an extra pail: Any unused portion CAN be saved for touch-ups (you do not want to run out during the project as you might get color variations.) 2. Flip pails over night prior to doing job (it will be much easier to mix in the morning and will ensure consistency during application). 3. Do the project all at one time without starting and stopping. 4. Check the weather and make sure no rain is forecast and it is at least 55 degrees F at night (a cold driveway will not allow the sealer to cure properly). 5. Check latexite.com for further tips and How To Videos.
Overall rating:
3.836 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(165 reviews) 165
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product120 of 153reviews
Rating Breakdown 165 reviews
3.8 out of 5
5
(76)
4
(48)
3
(6)
2
(8)
1
(27)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product120 of 153reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
Review 1 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
from Waterford, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not what I expected

PostedMarch 13, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thought I would spend a little more to get a better grade of sealer. As the snow is melting from my driveway, I am seeing places where it has not adhered to the surface and a black residue is tracking in on our shoes. I was meticulous in following the application directions, even power washed the surface prior to application making sure there was no grease or oil. As it turns out, place where there was some grease or oil, this product is sticking to the surface. I applied two thin coats with a squeegee as the manufacturer recommended which went on with ease and dried to a nice uniform, slip-free surface. The hairline cracks filled nicely and it looked great until this spring. I'm glad I bought extra so I can now touch up the areas that are lifting. It appears that this product does not stand up to water sitting on it for any length of time and if that's the case, I will not purchase this product again. Please note that where it is lifting is on a flat surface with proper drainage. Homeowners in northern climes, BEWARE.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well
Cons: does not stand up to extreme moisture
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
from Attica Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Very unhappy

PostedJune 17, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am starting to think regardless of which quality of this product you buy it doesn't seem to matter it is all junk. In 2011 I used the mid grade sealer from this same manufacture and it didn't last so last year 2014 I did it again this time I used the Optimum sealer at $24.46 a pail. x 7 pails $181.49 only to have a lot of areas flaking off after one winter. It wasn't due to improper cleaning or application of the product. This product just seems to be an inferior drive way sealer. After spending all that time and money I am totally discussed with this product. Buyer beware. Do your self a favor and look at another manufacture of driveway sealers.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: infierior
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
from Grand Rapids, MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Worst sealer, worthless warranty, worst customer service.

PostedApril 22, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I prepped/power washed my driveway and applied Latexite Airport Grade Sealer during the first week of September 2014, letting it dry for 3 days before and after application. I had the driveway replaced in 2011 and this was the first coat of sealer ever applied to it. When the snow and ice melted away in March we noticed over half of the sealer was gone as well. This has never happened with other brands I have used during the 21 years I have lived here in Grand Rapids, MI.
I called, left a voicemail, and received a call back 2 days later telling me to complete a warranty form from their website. About 10 days later I received an email telling me that I should have power washed my driveway first, something I had already told them. They offered to replace the 10 buckets I used on my 3100' sq.ft. driveway. I replied to the email asking for a refund and have been calling their phone number. No response for almost a week so far. They don't answer their phone. Voicemail only. Very Poor customer service.
Pros: Easy to Work With, looked nice and durable for about 4 months.
Cons: doesn't hold up to snow and ice., company doesn't stand behind implied warranty., very poor customer service., company does not answer their telephone.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
from Seekonk, ma
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Not for New England

PostedMarch 18, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I applied this item to my driveway in late spring. I spent two weeks prepping for the job to make sure I did not have to redo this job for many years.
The material held up for 6 months with barely any signs of wear.
Then winter came. This product is falling off the driveway faster than old lead paint. It is creating piles of latex in a dirt like consistency. Large 20 foot sections of the driveway have stripped completely. The rest I can remove by lightly rubbing with my shoe. This stuff cannot handle cold by the look of it. I will end up removing completely in the end and going with a professional seal company.
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: Dirty, Inconsistent, weak, not frost capable
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
from Mohnton, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Easy for 62 year old woman.

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I followed the directions, cans upside down and strategicly located in my large driveway. I am a woman and didn't want to carry the heavy cans around. Mixer didn't work(wrong size), so I had to stir every can which wasn't too bad. It applied smoothly and I love the lines going back and forth. I'm a little OCB on visual appearance. It took nine cans and five hours including edging. The driveway was new five years ago and this was the first application. I love the way it looks.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
from travelersrest sc
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

this is a great product

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I decited to roll it with a 9"roller. worked great. great coverage. only had 4 hors dring time till it rained.no effects,i used 22 gal. have 50'x10 drive,double carport,48x48 pad. love this product. for me was easier to roll long nap cover.took me around 5 hours to do it
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Great Value, Economical
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
from Bristol, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Goes on SMOOTH

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product goes on very smooth and easy. ALL of our customers love the results. We will continue to use it for all sealing jobs. The price may be just slightly higher than other sealers, but in the end IT IS WORTH IT.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Economical, Reliable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
16out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
from north west Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Unhappy

PostedJune 7, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Do not buy this product. It looked great last fall 2014 after we applied it in the early fall. After one winter in northern Ohio, it was washed off where any snow or rain water may have sat for awhile. This has got to be the WORST sealer we have ever used. We have gotten more years out of the "cheap stuff" than this more expensive sealer. We wasted so much time, energy, and money to do a job we thought would last a few years. You have been warned.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
from Mesquite, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

1st Time user. Great Look

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Overall I am quite satisfied
Things have gone well with applying this product. I love the fresh look it gives my driveway.
Just wanted to tell other users its quite messy. I recommend wearing old clothes you can discard. Washing them is NOT an option and could spot the inside walls of your machine. And wear rubber gloves to keep it off your hands . very hard to remove from cuticle area
Clean up when WET is easy. And almost impossible when dry. Which tells me it should stay on well.
I found it to be easy to put on with a 1 1/2 inch nap paint roller. I tried a broom , but quickly switched to a roller and found it MUCH easier. the instructions called for a squeegee but my drive is too rough to consider that.
. This product has a 3 yr warranty. I used 13 buckets so far. Our drive in very wide and long.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Seals Well, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, great look
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+15points
21out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer

Great Product for the Price

PostedSeptember 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this on my eight ft wide x 150 drive way in FL. I used four buckets The key is to make sure you mix the product thoroughly I can not say this enough don t turn buckets up side down overnight or roll buckets just mix properly .I used a drill with a stir/ mixer attachment and, it should look like a milk shake when complete. I trimmed the grass back with a weed eater than used a leaf blower to clear the drive. Used the patch products for hole/ cracks. Applied at 9am drove cars into garage at 4pm no problem. It was 70f at time of application with a high of 90f. The color match was perfect. Just mix, mix
+31points
31out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
from Massachusetts, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Weekly

if it fails its due to improper application

PostedMay 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
i am a professional sealcoat tech and i just wanted to make a comment to help other people. make sure you pull it out as much a possible, do not leave puddles or apply it too thick otherwise it will flake off, look blotchy, or will not dry. also keep your driveway free of dirt or sand. otherwise you will basically scratch off the sealcoat faster then normal wear and tear. and DONT SEALCOAT IT TOO OFTEN. only every 2-3 years or when you see the coat failing. if you sealcoat too much you are actually causing more damage to your driveway. the sealcoat does not expand and contract like asphalt does and will make your driveway fail if applied too thick or too often
+88points
99out of 110found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
from Whitney, TX 76692, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

If you have an old driveway, plan on using more.

PostedJune 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a large (300'+) long circular driveway with a wider parking area. All in all about 4700sqft. The website calculator told me that with a worn driveway, it would take 19 buckets. I bought 20. I then bought 12 more and used 9 of those to finish up. I'd read other reviews that indicated that this might be a possibility, so I wasn't too surprised.
Some people complained about it taking a long time to mix. They must have been mixing with a paint stick. I used a drill and metal paint stirrer and had each mixed in less than a minute. It squeegee'd on fairly well. I sometimes had to squeegee a second time to make sure the coating was thin enough, but in general it went on easily. Time will tell if it will last, but right now my black driveway looks much better than the gray, patched driveway.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: needed much more than expected.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
25out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
from Poughkeepsie, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

WORST PRODUCT EVER

PostedJune 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had this professionally applied. It rained the next day and some of it washed away. I was left with white streaks on my driveway. After more than 2 1/2 weeks tire tracks showed up, even though I was told to stay off of it for three days. I stayed off the driveway for a week. I had to have it touched up, now my driveway looks like a cross word puzzle. I was told by the manufacturer that the process should have been applied in one day, no stopping in between, which is what was done. If rain was in the forecast, to make sure it wasn't for at least three days. Also, if patch-work was to be done, i.e. cold patch, waiting time should have been for three weeks in order for the item to cure. The sealer should have been applied in one continuous coat after the three week waiting period. Had I known all of this ahead of time, all my problems would not exist.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lasts barely a year

PostedJune 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Atfter one year, half of the sealer has simply peeled off. Where cars drive the sealer is 100% gone and elsewhere the sealer is peeling. Now that I have part of it covered with a non-slip formula I will need to wait until it all peels off. Seriously more work than it is worth.
Cons: does not last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer

Absolute garbage

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Lasted well under a year. I put 15 5 gallon pails on my driveway in September. It is now April and is flaking up all over the place. I also used the crack filler bottles and have weeds growing through it already. Find another product, if you can, as this was a complete waste of money and many hours of work.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer

Great Product

PostedOctober 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm a 98 pound female, so the online, Home Depot free delivery was great.
I was hoping to surprise my husband, and as luck would have it, the pails arrived after my husband went to work. I followed the directions and was done in a few hours (100 foot driveway) whew!!!
This was my first time doing this...and the driveway came out beautifully, it looks so smooth and pretty. When my husband came home he thought I hired a professional. He was totally amazed that I did it. (me too). I would highly recommend this product. To the ladies, use rubber gloves to cover those nails and old clothes.
+27points
29out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
from CT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good Product

PostedJune 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My driveway is kinda big (3400 sq. ft.) and hadn't been sealed since it was installed seven years ago. As expected it was porous and I only got 200 sq ft coverage for each pail. It took 17 pails to complete the project. I followed the advice of others and will pass it along to anyone interested.
1. Yes, flip the pails upside down overnight.
2. If you're mixing more than a couple of pails buy a metal mixer for your electric drill. It only took about a minute to mix a pail.
3. Buy a masonry brush if you have areas that need edging.
I can't comment on the lasting quality of the product as I just finished the work.
Pros: Easy to Work With
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
from Iowa
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Upgrade to better product, poor quality...

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Upgrade to a better product. Don't waste your time. I applied 40 gallons to my asphalt drive and followed instructions to a T! It's better than it was, but certainly isn't going to last...
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: poor quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy THD-CSJune 30, 2015
Dear Valued Home Depot Customer,Dalton Enterprises strives for 100% customer satisfaction. We have reached out to this customer numerous times to make this situation right but have not received a response. We stand behind our products and we strongly encourage any customer with a problem to contact us via email or phone at 1(800) 851-5606 and cust_service@latexite.com (mailto:cust_service@latexite.com).
Review 19 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
from Beacon, NY 12508, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

worked out well

PostedJune 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just finished my 1400 + sq foot driveway....worked out well
I used 5 cans and had 1/2 can left. followed the directions and mixed it with a drill mix bit.....going back to get 2 more cans to do my small driveway. This was the first time I did it myself, prior to this I paid a contractor about $400.00. Even with purchasing the product and spreader it cost me only $135.00 and spreading took only 2 1/2 hours.....it actually took me longer to clean the driveway and power wash then apply.
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Value, Economical
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer

Will not work if you have any shaded areas!!!

PostedJuly 1, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I must admit that the manufacturer treated me right by giving me another batch to re-do my driveway after the 1st batch lifted off in all shaded areas the 1st winter. I had to completely pressure wash my 3600 sq. ft . drive to remove all loose driveway sealer that had failed from the 1st coat in the shaded areas. Resealed with the 2nd batch and that winter the same results. Called them and they said it would not work in shaded areas. Why couldn't they have told me that after the 1st batch failed. Anyway they said tough luck, no warranty.
+26points
28out of 30found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy THD Customer Service May 3, 2012
Phil,

I contacted the vendor about your review, and this is their client response to you:
“Our driveway sealers WILL work in shaded areas as long as the surface is prepared properly and given enough time to appropriately dry in warm temperatures. If water collects or pools in these shaded areas, this can have an effect on the driveway sealer. Dalton Enterprises values customer service and strives for 100% customer satisfaction. There are reasons why a coating fails, often related to the surfaces they are applied to or the conditions they are applied in. We urge all consumers to contact us at 800-851-5606 if they are unsatisfied as we stand behind all of our products. “
I hope this helps and thank you for choosing The Home Depot!

THD Customer Service
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>