728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Driveway Sealers & Repair or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer

4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer

(Note: If product is not available to order in your area that is due to nighttime temperatures. Product may not cure and/or track in late Fall and early Spring applications). Latex-ite 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer is an asphalt emulsion based low VOC driveway sealer designed to beautify and protect your blacktop driveway. Airport grade is a non-skid formula that will fill hairline (1/8 in. or less) cracks and is polymer fortified for added durability. Helpful Hints before you seal your driveway: 1. Purchase an extra pail: Any unused portion CAN be saved for touch-ups (you do not want to run out during the project as you might get color variations.) 2. Flip pails over night prior to doing job (it will be much easier to mix in the morning and will ensure consistency during application). 3. Do the project all at one time without starting and stopping. 4. Check the weather and make sure no rain is forecast and it is at least 55 degrees F at night (a cold driveway will not allow the sealer to cure properly). 5. Check latexite.com for further tips and How To Videos.
Overall rating:
3.85 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(167 reviews) 167
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product123 of 155reviews
Rating Breakdown 167 reviews
3.9 out of 5
5
(77)
4
(49)
3
(7)
2
(7)
1
(27)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product123 of 155reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
Review 1 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
from Attica Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Very unhappy

PostedJune 17, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am starting to think regardless of which quality of this product you buy it doesn't seem to matter it is all junk. In 2011 I used the mid grade sealer from this same manufacture and it didn't last so last year 2014 I did it again this time I used the Optimum sealer at $24.46 a pail. x 7 pails $181.49 only to have a lot of areas flaking off after one winter. It wasn't due to improper cleaning or application of the product. This product just seems to be an inferior drive way sealer. After spending all that time and money I am totally discussed with this product. Buyer beware. Do your self a favor and look at another manufacture of driveway sealers.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: infierior
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
from Minnesota
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Sealer for the $$$$.

PostedJuly 11, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have used this produce three times in the past 10 years. The last application was in 2012. I have a South facing driveway which is great for melting snow, but harsh on the asphalt. I highly recommend turning the buckets of this product over the night before you apply its contents. Makes for a much easier time of stirring the contents (the only bucket I had a problem consistency wise with was one I didn't turn over). The product goes on easy and solidifies to a nice black finish. Hardest and most time consuming part of the process was actually prepping the driveway: Edging the grass, using a very hard bristle push broom to dislodge the old, disintegrating, sealer. Then washing down the whole driveway, and then using a standard push broom to clean up the last of the disintegrating chunks. Prepping is KEY in sealing your driveway. Make sure you buy one additional bucket then you think you need (nothing worse then having to stop and fetch a new bucket at the store if you run out). You can always take the extra bucket back (like I will). Don't mind telling you the whole process from prep to final seal takes about 5 to 6 hours (if you're going to do it right). I was going to have a professional do it this time, but had a guy at work tell me he has had 3 so called professional seals in the past 3-4 years and they have not turned out well. If you do have it done by a professional, make sure you do some prep work yourself for a better seal. Overall, this was a pretty good product to seal my driveway.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Reliable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
from Grand Rapids, MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Worst sealer, worthless warranty, worst customer service.

PostedApril 22, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I prepped/power washed my driveway and applied Latexite Airport Grade Sealer during the first week of September 2014, letting it dry for 3 days before and after application. I had the driveway replaced in 2011 and this was the first coat of sealer ever applied to it. When the snow and ice melted away in March we noticed over half of the sealer was gone as well. This has never happened with other brands I have used during the 21 years I have lived here in Grand Rapids, MI.
I called, left a voicemail, and received a call back 2 days later telling me to complete a warranty form from their website. About 10 days later I received an email telling me that I should have power washed my driveway first, something I had already told them. They offered to replace the 10 buckets I used on my 3100' sq.ft. driveway. I replied to the email asking for a refund and have been calling their phone number. No response for almost a week so far. They don't answer their phone. Voicemail only. Very Poor customer service.
Pros: Easy to Work With, looked nice and durable for about 4 months.
Cons: doesn't hold up to snow and ice., company doesn't stand behind implied warranty., very poor customer service., company does not answer their telephone.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
from Mohnton, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Easy for 62 year old woman.

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I followed the directions, cans upside down and strategicly located in my large driveway. I am a woman and didn't want to carry the heavy cans around. Mixer didn't work(wrong size), so I had to stir every can which wasn't too bad. It applied smoothly and I love the lines going back and forth. I'm a little OCB on visual appearance. It took nine cans and five hours including edging. The driveway was new five years ago and this was the first application. I love the way it looks.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+31points
31out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
from travelersrest sc
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

this is a great product

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I decited to roll it with a 9"roller. worked great. great coverage. only had 4 hors dring time till it rained.no effects,i used 22 gal. have 50'x10 drive,double carport,48x48 pad. love this product. for me was easier to roll long nap cover.took me around 5 hours to do it
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Great Value, Economical
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
from Bristol, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Goes on SMOOTH

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product goes on very smooth and easy. ALL of our customers love the results. We will continue to use it for all sealing jobs. The price may be just slightly higher than other sealers, but in the end IT IS WORTH IT.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Economical, Reliable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
17out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
from Mesquite, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

1st Time user. Great Look

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Overall I am quite satisfied
Things have gone well with applying this product. I love the fresh look it gives my driveway.
Just wanted to tell other users its quite messy. I recommend wearing old clothes you can discard. Washing them is NOT an option and could spot the inside walls of your machine. And wear rubber gloves to keep it off your hands . very hard to remove from cuticle area
Clean up when WET is easy. And almost impossible when dry. Which tells me it should stay on well.
I found it to be easy to put on with a 1 1/2 inch nap paint roller. I tried a broom , but quickly switched to a roller and found it MUCH easier. the instructions called for a squeegee but my drive is too rough to consider that.
. This product has a 3 yr warranty. I used 13 buckets so far. Our drive in very wide and long.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Seals Well, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, great look
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+16points
22out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer

If you have a shaded driveway beware

PostedJuly 18, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
i started as per instructions- power washed all 4500sqft then used the trowel patch shallow on some shallow 1/2" deep spots. It was a warm sunny day and the shallow patch was supposed to cure in about 4 hours. Couple patches were in sunlight and those dried hard very fast. The patches under the shade of trees haven't begun to set they are still soft after 2 days I had to work the sealer around the patches. Day 3 and still not complete. If your driveway has full sun (as part of ours has) it works well, but the product must need the full sun/UV rays on it to properly set/cure. My rating is a qualified 3
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
from north west Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Unhappy

PostedJune 7, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Do not buy this product. It looked great last fall 2014 after we applied it in the early fall. After one winter in northern Ohio, it was washed off where any snow or rain water may have sat for awhile. This has got to be the WORST sealer we have ever used. We have gotten more years out of the "cheap stuff" than this more expensive sealer. We wasted so much time, energy, and money to do a job we thought would last a few years. You have been warned.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer

Great Product for the Price

PostedSeptember 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this on my eight ft wide x 150 drive way in FL. I used four buckets The key is to make sure you mix the product thoroughly I can not say this enough don t turn buckets up side down overnight or roll buckets just mix properly .I used a drill with a stir/ mixer attachment and, it should look like a milk shake when complete. I trimmed the grass back with a weed eater than used a leaf blower to clear the drive. Used the patch products for hole/ cracks. Applied at 9am drove cars into garage at 4pm no problem. It was 70f at time of application with a high of 90f. The color match was perfect. Just mix, mix
+31points
31out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
from Massachusetts, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Weekly

if it fails its due to improper application

PostedMay 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
i am a professional sealcoat tech and i just wanted to make a comment to help other people. make sure you pull it out as much a possible, do not leave puddles or apply it too thick otherwise it will flake off, look blotchy, or will not dry. also keep your driveway free of dirt or sand. otherwise you will basically scratch off the sealcoat faster then normal wear and tear. and DONT SEALCOAT IT TOO OFTEN. only every 2-3 years or when you see the coat failing. if you sealcoat too much you are actually causing more damage to your driveway. the sealcoat does not expand and contract like asphalt does and will make your driveway fail if applied too thick or too often
+88points
99out of 110found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
from Whitney, TX 76692, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

If you have an old driveway, plan on using more.

PostedJune 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a large (300'+) long circular driveway with a wider parking area. All in all about 4700sqft. The website calculator told me that with a worn driveway, it would take 19 buckets. I bought 20. I then bought 12 more and used 9 of those to finish up. I'd read other reviews that indicated that this might be a possibility, so I wasn't too surprised.
Some people complained about it taking a long time to mix. They must have been mixing with a paint stick. I used a drill and metal paint stirrer and had each mixed in less than a minute. It squeegee'd on fairly well. I sometimes had to squeegee a second time to make sure the coating was thin enough, but in general it went on easily. Time will tell if it will last, but right now my black driveway looks much better than the gray, patched driveway.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: needed much more than expected.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
25out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
from ct
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Do not buy . Driveway always sandy. Product comeing off surface. looks terrible. I am an experience home owner . Have used this product for years

PostedJuly 19, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product has no adhesion driveway peeling and sandy. I have applied this product for the last 30 years with little problem. It also has odors after semi curing after a month.
Cons: Inconsistent
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
from lewvittown pa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Not ever again

PostedJuly 19, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the second time I bought it and have another bad 5 gallon it was all choked smell like rotten eggs
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
from Albany, Colonie, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This 4.75-GAL. AIRPORT GRADE DRIVEWAY FILLER SEALER.

PostedJuly 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I applied thick coating on my driveway and parking lot look nice and smooth and also very beauty. Easy to use and quick start than any other brand such doitbest brand. Thin coating may light will not last in full 4 years protecting and may crack or peal after winter time and also feel light black. Thick coating will show up dark black on driveway and last longer.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Seals Well, Good Shape, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
from San Jose, cA.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

High quality sealer and great price.

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've been paying $50-$60 dollars for driveway sealant for years. When I saw this, I thought I'd try it. It's very thick and heavy, covers well and easy to use. I'd highly recommend it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, High Quality, Economical
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer

Great Product

PostedOctober 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm a 98 pound female, so the online, Home Depot free delivery was great.
I was hoping to surprise my husband, and as luck would have it, the pails arrived after my husband went to work. I followed the directions and was done in a few hours (100 foot driveway) whew!!!
This was my first time doing this...and the driveway came out beautifully, it looks so smooth and pretty. When my husband came home he thought I hired a professional. He was totally amazed that I did it. (me too). I would highly recommend this product. To the ladies, use rubber gloves to cover those nails and old clothes.
+26points
29out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
from Beacon, NY 12508, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

worked out well

PostedJune 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just finished my 1400 + sq foot driveway....worked out well
I used 5 cans and had 1/2 can left. followed the directions and mixed it with a drill mix bit.....going back to get 2 more cans to do my small driveway. This was the first time I did it myself, prior to this I paid a contractor about $400.00. Even with purchasing the product and spreader it cost me only $135.00 and spreading took only 2 1/2 hours.....it actually took me longer to clean the driveway and power wash then apply.
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Value, Economical
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer
from CT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good Product

PostedJune 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My driveway is kinda big (3400 sq. ft.) and hadn't been sealed since it was installed seven years ago. As expected it was porous and I only got 200 sq ft coverage for each pail. It took 17 pails to complete the project. I followed the advice of others and will pass it along to anyone interested.
1. Yes, flip the pails upside down overnight.
2. If you're mixing more than a couple of pails buy a metal mixer for your electric drill. It only took about a minute to mix a pail.
3. Buy a masonry brush if you have areas that need edging.
I can't comment on the lasting quality of the product as I just finished the work.
Pros: Easy to Work With
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Filler Sealer

Will not work if you have any shaded areas!!!

PostedJuly 1, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I must admit that the manufacturer treated me right by giving me another batch to re-do my driveway after the 1st batch lifted off in all shaded areas the 1st winter. I had to completely pressure wash my 3600 sq. ft . drive to remove all loose driveway sealer that had failed from the 1st coat in the shaded areas. Resealed with the 2nd batch and that winter the same results. Called them and they said it would not work in shaded areas. Why couldn't they have told me that after the 1st batch failed. Anyway they said tough luck, no warranty.
+27points
29out of 31found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy THD Customer Service May 3, 2012
Phil,

I contacted the vendor about your review, and this is their client response to you:
“Our driveway sealers WILL work in shaded areas as long as the surface is prepared properly and given enough time to appropriately dry in warm temperatures. If water collects or pools in these shaded areas, this can have an effect on the driveway sealer. Dalton Enterprises values customer service and strives for 100% customer satisfaction. There are reasons why a coating fails, often related to the surfaces they are applied to or the conditions they are applied in. We urge all consumers to contact us at 800-851-5606 if they are unsatisfied as we stand behind all of our products. “
I hope this helps and thank you for choosing The Home Depot!

THD Customer Service
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>