728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Asphalt Sealers & Repair or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Sealer

4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Sealer

Latex-ite 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway sealer is a high performance, asphalt emulsion based low VOC driveway sealer designed to beautify and protect your blacktop driveway. Airport grade is a non-skid formula that will fill hairline (1/8 in. or less) cracks and contains polymer additives for strength and flexibility. Helpful Hints before you seal your driveway: 1. Purchase an extra pail: Any unused portion CAN be saved for touch-ups (you do not want to run out during the project as you might get color variations.) 2. Flip pails over night prior to doing job (it will be much easier to mix in the morning and will ensure consistency during application). 3. Do the project all at one time without starting and stopping. 4. Check the weather and make sure no rain is forecast and it is at least 55 degrees F at night (a cold driveway will not allow the sealer to cure properly). 5. Check latexite.com for further tips and How To Videos.
Overall rating:
4.024 / 5
4
 / 
5
(123 reviews) 123
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product94 of 113reviews
Rating Breakdown 123 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(59)
4
(40)
3
(6)
2
(4)
1
(14)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product94 of 113reviews
Customer reviews for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Sealer
Review 1 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Sealer
RKHHMS
from Bristol, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Goes on SMOOTH

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product goes on very smooth and easy. ALL of our customers love the results. We will continue to use it for all sealing jobs. The price may be just slightly higher than other sealers, but in the end IT IS WORTH IT.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Economical, Reliable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Sealer
mikey
from travelersrest sc
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

this is a great product

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I decited to roll it with a 9"roller. worked great. great coverage. only had 4 hors dring time till it rained.no effects,i used 22 gal. have 50'x10 drive,double carport,48x48 pad. love this product. for me was easier to roll long nap cover.took me around 5 hours to do it
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Great Value, Economical
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Sealer
daboyisin
from Mesquite, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

1st Time user. Great Look

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Overall I am quite satisfied
Things have gone well with applying this product. I love the fresh look it gives my driveway.
Just wanted to tell other users its quite messy. I recommend wearing old clothes you can discard. Washing them is NOT an option and could spot the inside walls of your machine. And wear rubber gloves to keep it off your hands . very hard to remove from cuticle area
Clean up when WET is easy. And almost impossible when dry. Which tells me it should stay on well.
I found it to be easy to put on with a 1 1/2 inch nap paint roller. I tried a broom , but quickly switched to a roller and found it MUCH easier. the instructions called for a squeegee but my drive is too rough to consider that.
. This product has a 3 yr warranty. I used 13 buckets so far. Our drive in very wide and long.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Seals Well, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, great look
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Sealer
Dale
from Whitney, TX 76692, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

If you have an old driveway, plan on using more.

PostedJune 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a large (300'+) long circular driveway with a wider parking area. All in all about 4700sqft. The website calculator told me that with a worn driveway, it would take 19 buckets. I bought 20. I then bought 12 more and used 9 of those to finish up. I'd read other reviews that indicated that this might be a possibility, so I wasn't too surprised.
Some people complained about it taking a long time to mix. They must have been mixing with a paint stick. I used a drill and metal paint stirrer and had each mixed in less than a minute. It squeegee'd on fairly well. I sometimes had to squeegee a second time to make sure the coating was thin enough, but in general it went on easily. Time will tell if it will last, but right now my black driveway looks much better than the gray, patched driveway.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: needed much more than expected.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Sealer
JRAH
from Mohnton, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Easy for 62 year old woman.

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I followed the directions, cans upside down and strategicly located in my large driveway. I am a woman and didn't want to carry the heavy cans around. Mixer didn't work(wrong size), so I had to stir every can which wasn't too bad. It applied smoothly and I love the lines going back and forth. I'm a little OCB on visual appearance. It took nine cans and five hours including edging. The driveway was new five years ago and this was the first application. I love the way it looks.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Sealer
domenic
from Massachusetts, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Weekly

if it fails its due to improper application

PostedMay 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i am a professional sealcoat tech and i just wanted to make a comment to help other people. make sure you pull it out as much a possible, do not leave puddles or apply it too thick otherwise it will flake off, look blotchy, or will not dry. also keep your driveway free of dirt or sand. otherwise you will basically scratch off the sealcoat faster then normal wear and tear. and DONT SEALCOAT IT TOO OFTEN. only every 2-3 years or when you see the coat failing. if you sealcoat too much you are actually causing more damage to your driveway. the sealcoat does not expand and contract like asphalt does and will make your driveway fail if applied too thick or too often
+58points
62out of 66found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Sealer
Frank

Great Product for the Price

PostedSeptember 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this on my eight ft wide x 150 drive way in FL. I used four buckets The key is to make sure you mix the product thoroughly I can not say this enough don t turn buckets up side down overnight or roll buckets just mix properly .I used a drill with a stir/ mixer attachment and, it should look like a milk shake when complete. I trimmed the grass back with a weed eater than used a leaf blower to clear the drive. Used the patch products for hole/ cracks. Applied at 9am drove cars into garage at 4pm no problem. It was 70f at time of application with a high of 90f. The color match was perfect. Just mix, mix
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Sealer
Charlie
from Beacon, NY 12508, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

worked out well

PostedJune 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just finished my 1400 + sq foot driveway....worked out well
I used 5 cans and had 1/2 can left. followed the directions and mixed it with a drill mix bit.....going back to get 2 more cans to do my small driveway. This was the first time I did it myself, prior to this I paid a contractor about $400.00. Even with purchasing the product and spreader it cost me only $135.00 and spreading took only 2 1/2 hours.....it actually took me longer to clean the driveway and power wash then apply.
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Value, Economical
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Sealer
RandE
from Kansas City
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Installs like water.

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When I installed this quality product I followed the directions as directed on the container. I installed it on a typical fall day, cool at night but still above the recommended temperatures listed on the directions. I had a wonderful time the prior week cleaning and prepping the driveway to get rid of any dirt, leaves, foreign objects, dried worms, snails, slugs, etc. I also filled several cracks using some of Daltons other quality products. The product went on so smoothly, just like it was water. It looked very nice. I'm very glad it was so easy to install because the next spring it had all washed away and I was going to need reseal everything again. I wasn't too happy with this option so, since the product does have a warranty, I contacted Dalton Customer Support about their product and they gleefully offered me nearly half the amount of product I would need to recoat the entire driveway with those same quality materials. Looking forward to spending another week working on the driveway.
Pros: Quiet
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Sealer
DIYMike
from Williamsburg, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Coverage is the only issue.

PostedMay 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a 1,500 sg ft driveway. Simple math says at 350 sq ft per bucket, I would need a little over 4 buckets to complete the job. So just to be safe, I bought 6 buckets. I went through those and had to go back to Home Depot to get two more buckets. Overall, I used a little over 7 buckets for this job. That's more like 210 sq ft per bucket. Granted, this was the first time this driveway has been sealed since it was installed new about 2 1/2 years ago.
Don't get me wrong. This is a great product. The driveway looks great. Application was easy and uniform throughout. I would highly recommend this to anyone. Just be aware of the coverage issue and be prepared to stir, stir, stir. (As a hint, manually stirring those buckets will wear you out. A neighbor gave me one of those metal paint stir things that I hooked up to my electric drill. That worked incredibly well. A word to the wise, get one of those things and use it.)
Pros: Performs Well, High Quality, consistent, Easy to Apply
Cons: coverage
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Sealer
Eden

Thin not Thick is the Key to Application

PostedJune 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As others have stated, DO NOT apply a thick coat while sealing. We used the recommended Seal Right Squeegee, but any 18" squeegee rubber with good quality liner would work. We have a 17'x52' driveway with two different surfaces. The bottom of the drive is rough toward the roadway [chip seal] and a traditional texture closer to the garage doors. We went through 1 3/4 buckets [8.3 gal] without issue. We made certain to apply a thin coat with enough forceful pressure on the squeegee to have it pressed into the grooves and textured areas. Dried in several hours without drama. No smell. Temps were mid-80's and chance of thunderstorms. Was very pleased with the results. Watch the video on latexite . com.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical, Reliable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Sealer
paradox

watch date codes!!!

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I purchased a dozen pails of the sealer in early spring. The sealer would not stir up, it was like a rubber plug. Called the company and found out it was old sealer (as in last year's production) and most likely had been frozen. Had to lug it all back to HD, get new sealer, lug it back home and unload it yet again. Made sure you get a current year date code to avoid this problem.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: out of date
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Sealer
lov2smile

Great Product

PostedOctober 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm a 98 pound female, so the online, Home Depot free delivery was great.
I was hoping to surprise my husband, and as luck would have it, the pails arrived after my husband went to work. I followed the directions and was done in a few hours (100 foot driveway) whew!!!
This was my first time doing this...and the driveway came out beautifully, it looks so smooth and pretty. When my husband came home he thought I hired a professional. He was totally amazed that I did it. (me too). I would highly recommend this product. To the ladies, use rubber gloves to cover those nails and old clothes.
+20points
22out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Sealer
Randy
from Ingleside, Long Lake, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Mix Mix Mix!

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Forget turning the containers upside down over night, it did nothing, I still had big globs the next day! power-drill and a small mixing attachment is the only way to go! Blend it and go. Spread thin and evenly! I used 3/4 of a bucket more than I did the last time with the "other brand" but it looks fantastic and cleans up well. Much better product, Very happy so far!!! No coal tar smell either!!! Mix, Mix, Mix!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Easy to Clean
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Sealer
Phil

Will not work if you have any shaded areas!!!

PostedJuly 1, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I must admit that the manufacturer treated me right by giving me another batch to re-do my driveway after the 1st batch lifted off in all shaded areas the 1st winter. I had to completely pressure wash my 3600 sq. ft . drive to remove all loose driveway sealer that had failed from the 1st coat in the shaded areas. Resealed with the 2nd batch and that winter the same results. Called them and they said it would not work in shaded areas. Why couldn't they have told me that after the 1st batch failed. Anyway they said tough luck, no warranty.
+21points
23out of 25found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy THD Customer Service May 3, 2012
Phil,

I contacted the vendor about your review, and this is their client response to you:
“Our driveway sealers WILL work in shaded areas as long as the surface is prepared properly and given enough time to appropriately dry in warm temperatures. If water collects or pools in these shaded areas, this can have an effect on the driveway sealer. Dalton Enterprises values customer service and strives for 100% customer satisfaction. There are reasons why a coating fails, often related to the surfaces they are applied to or the conditions they are applied in. We urge all consumers to contact us at 800-851-5606 if they are unsatisfied as we stand behind all of our products. “
I hope this helps and thank you for choosing The Home Depot!

THD Customer Service
Review 16 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Sealer
rickvgn
from Tennessee, USA

Great Product

PostedMay 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought 17 buckets online & got free delivery. Very easy stirring & easy to apply. Filled most smaller cracks & driveway looks great. A word of caution. I needed 3 more buckets & got from local Home Depot. For some reason it don't match what I had delivered. If bought online or at local store I recommend buying all from the same place.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Sealer
bigo
from nj
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

works great

PostedMay 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was a little unsure after looking at other reviews.but let me tell you this stuff works great I did my driveway that never was sealed and is over 9 years old this stuff mixes easy and goes on like paint I used a squiggly went side to side and completed my 40x50 driveway in less than an hour and as far as the coverage that's on the bucket it was dead on I bought 3 extra and took it back to the store. It look like I have a brand new driveway the dark black pops
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Straight, Seals Well, Good Shape, Easy to Clean, Economical
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Sealer
handyman
from Chesterland, OH 44026, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

good sealer for the price

PostedJuly 7, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
sealer sticks good as long as you follow the directions and clean all the dirt off and hose down good and let the water dry.the only problem i see is it takes much longer to cure than they say.when you park on it and turn your wheels without moving it tends to put tire tread marks on it.otherwise it works great as long as you put 2 coats down
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Sealer
geo12
from Monroe, NY 10950, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Easy to apply

PostedAugust 27, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Our house is new so the driveway has never had a seal coat. With a new driveway we lucked out and only had to ensure that all dirt and debris were cleared since there were no repairs to make. Our driveway is 960 square feet and 7.5 buckets were required to complete the job. We only got approximately 125 to 150 square feet of coverage per bucket given all of the pores that are characteristic of a new driveway. We took the advice from other reviewers and left the buckets upside down overnight and bought a mixing bit for our drill which worked great. It was very easy to apply with the squeegee and we instantly got compliments from our neighbors. The couple of splash marks that we got on our sidewalk came off with a bristle brush and water within the first hour or two after application. I would imagine that the next application would yield the square-footage as advertised on the bucket since all of the pores are now filled.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Easy to Clean
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Sealer
Anonymous
from Flint, MI

Ready for takeoff, but coverage isn't as stated.

PostedJune 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used this product to seal a driveway of 7 years old that has never been sealed. A lot of the aggregate was exposed and over all the driveway had turned into a battleship-gray color. The prep step is a MUST, especially for an unsealed driveway. All those depressions have dirt and debris that must be blasted out with a hose. A leaf blower will not do the trick. After the entire driveway was washed and scrubbed with TSP, cracks filled, etc, it was time to seal 24 hours later. My driveway is 1344 square feet, and if I went by their low estimate of unsealed coverage (300 sq ft per pail) I would have only been able to do 2/3rds of it. I bought 7 pails and used 5.5 pails, which gave a yield of only 244 sq ft per pail. I used a squeegee and applied steady downpressure to get one thin coat as directed. The driveway looks like a million bucks now. It dried for foot traffic in 4 hours, and I'm driving on it 48 hours later with no tracking at all. I think proper adherence only happens when the weather is right and if you get all the dirt off the driveway first. So, in summary, it is a good product but buy more than you need. You can always take back the surplus the next day.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>