728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Asphalt Sealers & Repair or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Sealer

4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Sealer

Latex-ite 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway sealer is a high performance, asphalt emulsion based low VOC driveway sealer designed to beautify and protect your blacktop driveway. Airport grade is a non-skid formula that will fill hairline (1/8 in. or less) cracks and contains polymer additives for strength and flexibility. Helpful Hints before you seal your driveway: 1. Purchase an extra pail: Any unused portion CAN be saved for touch-ups (you do not want to run out during the project as you might get color variations.) 2. Flip pails over night prior to doing job (it will be much easier to mix in the morning and will ensure consistency during application). 3. Do the project all at one time without starting and stopping. 4. Check the weather and make sure no rain is forecast and it is at least 55 degrees F at night (a cold driveway will not allow the sealer to cure properly). 5. Check latexite.com for further tips and How To Videos.
Overall rating:
3.985 / 5
4
 / 
5
(133 reviews) 133
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product100 of 123reviews
Rating Breakdown 133 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(63)
4
(42)
3
(7)
2
(5)
1
(16)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product100 of 123reviews
Customer reviews for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Sealer
Review 1 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Sealer
from Bristol, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Goes on SMOOTH

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product goes on very smooth and easy. ALL of our customers love the results. We will continue to use it for all sealing jobs. The price may be just slightly higher than other sealers, but in the end IT IS WORTH IT.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Economical, Reliable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Sealer
from Mohnton, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Easy for 62 year old woman.

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I followed the directions, cans upside down and strategicly located in my large driveway. I am a woman and didn't want to carry the heavy cans around. Mixer didn't work(wrong size), so I had to stir every can which wasn't too bad. It applied smoothly and I love the lines going back and forth. I'm a little OCB on visual appearance. It took nine cans and five hours including edging. The driveway was new five years ago and this was the first application. I love the way it looks.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Sealer
from travelersrest sc
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

this is a great product

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I decited to roll it with a 9"roller. worked great. great coverage. only had 4 hors dring time till it rained.no effects,i used 22 gal. have 50'x10 drive,double carport,48x48 pad. love this product. for me was easier to roll long nap cover.took me around 5 hours to do it
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Great Value, Economical
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Sealer
from Mesquite, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

1st Time user. Great Look

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Overall I am quite satisfied
Things have gone well with applying this product. I love the fresh look it gives my driveway.
Just wanted to tell other users its quite messy. I recommend wearing old clothes you can discard. Washing them is NOT an option and could spot the inside walls of your machine. And wear rubber gloves to keep it off your hands . very hard to remove from cuticle area
Clean up when WET is easy. And almost impossible when dry. Which tells me it should stay on well.
I found it to be easy to put on with a 1 1/2 inch nap paint roller. I tried a broom , but quickly switched to a roller and found it MUCH easier. the instructions called for a squeegee but my drive is too rough to consider that.
. This product has a 3 yr warranty. I used 13 buckets so far. Our drive in very wide and long.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Seals Well, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, great look
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Sealer
from Whitney, TX 76692, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

If you have an old driveway, plan on using more.

PostedJune 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a large (300'+) long circular driveway with a wider parking area. All in all about 4700sqft. The website calculator told me that with a worn driveway, it would take 19 buckets. I bought 20. I then bought 12 more and used 9 of those to finish up. I'd read other reviews that indicated that this might be a possibility, so I wasn't too surprised.
Some people complained about it taking a long time to mix. They must have been mixing with a paint stick. I used a drill and metal paint stirrer and had each mixed in less than a minute. It squeegee'd on fairly well. I sometimes had to squeegee a second time to make sure the coating was thin enough, but in general it went on easily. Time will tell if it will last, but right now my black driveway looks much better than the gray, patched driveway.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: needed much more than expected.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+12points
21out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Sealer
from Massachusetts, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Weekly

if it fails its due to improper application

PostedMay 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i am a professional sealcoat tech and i just wanted to make a comment to help other people. make sure you pull it out as much a possible, do not leave puddles or apply it too thick otherwise it will flake off, look blotchy, or will not dry. also keep your driveway free of dirt or sand. otherwise you will basically scratch off the sealcoat faster then normal wear and tear. and DONT SEALCOAT IT TOO OFTEN. only every 2-3 years or when you see the coat failing. if you sealcoat too much you are actually causing more damage to your driveway. the sealcoat does not expand and contract like asphalt does and will make your driveway fail if applied too thick or too often
+67points
75out of 83found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Sealer

Great Product for the Price

PostedSeptember 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this on my eight ft wide x 150 drive way in FL. I used four buckets The key is to make sure you mix the product thoroughly I can not say this enough don t turn buckets up side down overnight or roll buckets just mix properly .I used a drill with a stir/ mixer attachment and, it should look like a milk shake when complete. I trimmed the grass back with a weed eater than used a leaf blower to clear the drive. Used the patch products for hole/ cracks. Applied at 9am drove cars into garage at 4pm no problem. It was 70f at time of application with a high of 90f. The color match was perfect. Just mix, mix
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Sealer
from CT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good Product

PostedJune 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My driveway is kinda big (3400 sq. ft.) and hadn't been sealed since it was installed seven years ago. As expected it was porous and I only got 200 sq ft coverage for each pail. It took 17 pails to complete the project. I followed the advice of others and will pass it along to anyone interested.
1. Yes, flip the pails upside down overnight.
2. If you're mixing more than a couple of pails buy a metal mixer for your electric drill. It only took about a minute to mix a pail.
3. Buy a masonry brush if you have areas that need edging.
I can't comment on the lasting quality of the product as I just finished the work.
Pros: Easy to Work With
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Sealer
from Beacon, NY 12508, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

worked out well

PostedJune 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just finished my 1400 + sq foot driveway....worked out well
I used 5 cans and had 1/2 can left. followed the directions and mixed it with a drill mix bit.....going back to get 2 more cans to do my small driveway. This was the first time I did it myself, prior to this I paid a contractor about $400.00. Even with purchasing the product and spreader it cost me only $135.00 and spreading took only 2 1/2 hours.....it actually took me longer to clean the driveway and power wash then apply.
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Value, Economical
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Sealer
from Cleveland OH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

A Superb Product

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Effortless beauty! is what you get when you use this product to restore your driveway to its top notch glory. Easy to use, dries like professional grade black top. It looks exquisite once its done. I keep getting all of my neighbors stopping by asking me if I paid to get it done. I'm proud to tell them. I did myself. All the men in my neighborhood can't believe a woman got that product to turn out results like that. The product does 99% of the work. I just applied it. VERY easy and Very nice.
Pros: Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Great Value, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Sealer
from Plainedge,NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Easy application

PostedJune 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to apply, looks great, can not beat the price. Just be careful, the manufacturer claims it will cover 400-500 sq ft per bucket. My driveway that is 750 sq ft was done 4yrs ago and I found that the coverage is more like 100 sq ft per bucket. Needless to say I had to make an extra trip to Home Depot to pick up 4 more buckets.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Economical
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Sealer
from Long Island, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Where did all the solids go?

PostedJune 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Have used the Airport Grade Sealer (green top) for years on a 1600 sq ft driveway. Unfortunately this year the amount of solids it contains has been cut drastically. Now It does not require any mixing, just pour, spread, watch it dry and see the cracks open up. After using 2 containers to prime some areas found even small cracks opened up.
Considered upgrading to Ultra Shield Driveway Treatment (red cover) a neighbor had just used. Looked at his driveway and found it had the same issues. Am returning the unopened containers to HomeDepot and will buy a product from as local manufacturer
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: does not seal
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy THD - Customer ServiceJune 18, 2014
Dear Valued Home Depot Customer,
We reached out to the MFG and below are their response.
“Dalton Enterprises contacted this customer to reassure the customer that the solids in our products have not changed. Latexite Airport Grade is the same quality product it has allows been. The age and porosity of the surface can affect the rate in which the product goes down. This consumer’s driveway had been sealed 20+ times creating a very smooth surface. The surface was so smooth it would not receive the product, allowing an adequate coating to be put down.”
Review 13 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Sealer
from Fitchburg, MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Not the same product it was years ago.

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Definitely not the same thickness that it was 7 years ago when I first used it. Back then it was like a bucket of crude oil and it took 15 minutes just to mix it so I could apply it. It was the exact same product too. I did my driveway today and I didn't even have to mix it. a few years ago you could stick a 2x4 into the can and product and it would stand straight up because it was so thick. So we will see how it will hold up but I am sure I won't get another 7 years out of it. Probably won't get 2 or 3 years.
Most people using this product for the first time will not know what the product was like back then. Totally different. Driveway sealer suppose to be like crude oil and very thick and solid when opening the can. The only thing that was used to mix it was a thick piece of wood back then.
Buy extra cans. If you think you need 5 cans buy 7 or 8. Use a large cheap paint brush to do the edges and other tight areas. This is a trick I learned from a seal coat company. Use a squeegee, brushes and rollers do not work as good as a squeegee. Buy a cheap brush from Job Lots or another dollar type store.
I am giving it a fair rating just because it is not as thick as it used to be years ago. It used to take an hour just to spread one can because it was so thick. Driveway sealer is not suppose to be watery like paint or stain.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Sealer

good stuff

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
best stuff ive used so far. filled the cracks nicely.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Sealer
from Williamsburg, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Coverage is the only issue.

PostedMay 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a 1,500 sg ft driveway. Simple math says at 350 sq ft per bucket, I would need a little over 4 buckets to complete the job. So just to be safe, I bought 6 buckets. I went through those and had to go back to Home Depot to get two more buckets. Overall, I used a little over 7 buckets for this job. That's more like 210 sq ft per bucket. Granted, this was the first time this driveway has been sealed since it was installed new about 2 1/2 years ago.
Don't get me wrong. This is a great product. The driveway looks great. Application was easy and uniform throughout. I would highly recommend this to anyone. Just be aware of the coverage issue and be prepared to stir, stir, stir. (As a hint, manually stirring those buckets will wear you out. A neighbor gave me one of those metal paint stir things that I hooked up to my electric drill. That worked incredibly well. A word to the wise, get one of those things and use it.)
Pros: Performs Well, High Quality, consistent, Easy to Apply
Cons: coverage
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Sealer

Great Product

PostedOctober 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm a 98 pound female, so the online, Home Depot free delivery was great.
I was hoping to surprise my husband, and as luck would have it, the pails arrived after my husband went to work. I followed the directions and was done in a few hours (100 foot driveway) whew!!!
This was my first time doing this...and the driveway came out beautifully, it looks so smooth and pretty. When my husband came home he thought I hired a professional. He was totally amazed that I did it. (me too). I would highly recommend this product. To the ladies, use rubber gloves to cover those nails and old clothes.
+25points
27out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Sealer
from three rivers mi 49093
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

airport drive way sealer

PostedJune 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
this sealer pealed off and took asphalt stone with it
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Sealer
from NEW WINDSOR NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

OKAY PRODUCT

PostedJune 21, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
PRODUCT SAID COVERS 400SF ,5 CAN DIDNT COVER ,DRIVEWAY THREE YEARS OLD 60 X 20 .COVERED HALF THE DRIVEWAY,WHAT IT DID COVER LOOKS GREAT BUT MISSLEADING ON COVERAGE
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Easy to Clean
Cons: doesnt cover sq foot
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Sealer

Will not work if you have any shaded areas!!!

PostedJuly 1, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I must admit that the manufacturer treated me right by giving me another batch to re-do my driveway after the 1st batch lifted off in all shaded areas the 1st winter. I had to completely pressure wash my 3600 sq. ft . drive to remove all loose driveway sealer that had failed from the 1st coat in the shaded areas. Resealed with the 2nd batch and that winter the same results. Called them and they said it would not work in shaded areas. Why couldn't they have told me that after the 1st batch failed. Anyway they said tough luck, no warranty.
+22points
24out of 26found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy THD Customer Service May 3, 2012
Phil,

I contacted the vendor about your review, and this is their client response to you:
“Our driveway sealers WILL work in shaded areas as long as the surface is prepared properly and given enough time to appropriately dry in warm temperatures. If water collects or pools in these shaded areas, this can have an effect on the driveway sealer. Dalton Enterprises values customer service and strives for 100% customer satisfaction. There are reasons why a coating fails, often related to the surfaces they are applied to or the conditions they are applied in. We urge all consumers to contact us at 800-851-5606 if they are unsatisfied as we stand behind all of our products. “
I hope this helps and thank you for choosing The Home Depot!

THD Customer Service
Review 20 for 4.75-Gal. Airport Grade Driveway Sealer
from Midlothian, VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

airport grade sealer

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Mixes early, excellent coverage, great looking finish.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Work With, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>