728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 16 in. x 24 in. Attic Flooring Panels (10-Pack)

16 in. x 24 in. Attic Flooring Panels (10-Pack)

Help provide your attic with additional storage space with the Attic Dek 24 in. x 16 in. Attic Flooring Panels (10-Pack). These durable panels can support up to 250 lb. and are vented so insulation can breathe easily. The panels can be easily installed by laying them on top of your ceiling joists and securing them with the included screws.
Overall rating:
4.784 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(37 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product35 of 35reviews
Rating Breakdown 37 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(29)
4
(8)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product35 of 35reviews
Customer reviews for 16 in. x 24 in. Attic Flooring Panels (10-Pack)
Review 1 for 16 in. x 24 in. Attic Flooring Panels (10-Pack)
from Baxter Springs, KS 66713, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Excellent quality and easy to install

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought a 10 pack and 4 pack to put in the attic area above my garage. I was very satisfied with the quality of the panels. The panels have a smooth, glossy finish and are thick enough that they don't flex. Install was simple using the supplied Phillips head screws. Each panel takes 5 screws. I interconnected each row like is suppose to be done but left a 3" gap between each row to utilize space more efficiently due to some stiffeners that were placed down center of joists. No regrets on this product or with buying from Home Depot, plus you get free shipping to your address!
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Straight, High Quality, Reliable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 16 in. x 24 in. Attic Flooring Panels (10-Pack)
from Albuquerque, NM, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Great Flooring for an Attic

PostedAugust 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased and installed 2 10-pack boxes of these panels. They were easy to install, with exception of one row where the ceiling joists were slightly less than 24 inches apart (23.5"). Plastic ribs protrude from the underside of these panels which typically snug up against the side of the joist, but for this row these ribs were interfering and not allow the ends of the panels to make flush contact with the top of the joists (which is where you screw them down). With some effort, I cut down these ribs on the ends with a hand saw and at that point I was able to install them. If this is more effort than you want to expend, I recommend that you measure the center-to-center distances between your joists to see if these will work for you with minimal effort. I do plan on purchasing more of these once I fill up this space. Also, this is much easier to haul up into the attic compared to 4-ft sheets of plywood.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With
Cons: may require more effort as noted in review
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 16 in. x 24 in. Attic Flooring Panels (10-Pack)
from Saginaw, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Makes a GREAT dog ramp!

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought 4 two by fours. Used braces to connect them. Screwed the Attic Dek panels between the two by fours. Voila! Non-slip dog ramp that easily holds all 3 of our dogs at once. (Only 1 needs it, but who can tell dogs to take turns?! And it's a great bark-a-net vantage point.) Came with great screws. The way it's designed, you can FEEL when it's in just-the-right-place and perfectly straight. I'm a 55 yo fat female, and it was very easy to manage. I wouldn't say it's light weight, tho!
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, comes with appropriate screws
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 16 in. x 24 in. Attic Flooring Panels (10-Pack)
from Lynden, WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Attic flooring panels

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy install. Screws were provided. My only issue was that my knees hurt when I put them on these panels while putting the screws in place. Just make sure you measure before you order, so that you get the correct size.
Pros: Easy to Install, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 16 in. x 24 in. Attic Flooring Panels (10-Pack)

Lightweight and easy to install.

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Product was just as advertised. It worked great for my unfinished attic and it was super easy to install. A little bit pricy but it beats hauling a bunch of heavy plywood up the attic stairs.
Pros: Easy to Install, Light Weight
Cons: a little expensive
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 16 in. x 24 in. Attic Flooring Panels (10-Pack)

Excellent product!

PostedJune 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is an excellent product! It could not be easier to install and works like a dream. The 24 in. x 16 in. panels fit perfectly in our 1960's home....all we had to do was lay them down and drill them into place. Also, shipping from Home Depot could not have been quicker! We were thrilled to see the boxes on our door step only 3 days after ordering online and with the free shipping special that was running, who could ask for better service?!? We would highly recommend this product to anyone looking for a quick and easy way to get more storage space out of their attic, without compromising the integrity of their insulation. It is totally worth the money!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 16 in. x 24 in. Attic Flooring Panels (10-Pack)
from Denver, CO
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for unfinished attic space

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The attic dek was a very good investment. I purchased 3 boxes of the 10-pack for my husband to install in our attic. The package came with wood screws that he could have just used a drill with to install but he insisted on pre-drilling holes before installing, doing this it took him about 3 hours to install all 30 panels. As we had many wires and box lights in our attic I believe this added to the install time as well. He's one of those measure 5 times before you commit kind of guys, so I'm guessing this could take someone who did not have the same detail oriented addiction about an hour to install all 30 if you have the same amount of wires, boxes, etc that we have.
All in all this is a wonderful product and has made a great storage space for our home that we would have otherwise not had. I had considered buying a storage shed, but for the price and quality of the attic dek you cannot ask for a better solution to storage! The sheds would have cost at least $1,000 for the amount of space I would have liked, where as the attic dek was about a third of the price for about triple the storage space-- a no brainer when it comes to purchasing on a budget.
If you are on the fence about ordering this product you should take the plunge, I'm glad we did!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install, Light Weight, Good Shape, easy access to whats underneath, allows insulation to breathe
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 16 in. x 24 in. Attic Flooring Panels (10-Pack)
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice but too expensive for full coverage

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought one box of 10 to see how much it really covered. Although the box indicates the square footage, IMO until you get it down in your own attic, you don't really have an accurate idea. As it turns out, I didn't think it was going to be worth buying 7-10 boxes to effectively cover the area that I wanted to use.
My house has joists on 24" and I was a bit surprised at how springy they were. (The 16" sections might not flex as much.) However, looking something like milk crates on steroids, I'm sure they are more sturdy than plywood. Depending on what you plan to store on them, you may find the springiness a little disconcerting.
I decided to keep my box because they're still handy for tossing down temporarily to walk across joists without fear of stepping through the ceiling. I plan to install a reflective barrier myself and this will be perfect to stand on -- with the tabs, it won't slip like plywood, and they're in convenient small sections so I won't have to wrestle with even a partial plywood sheet.
If you have the money, it's a great product. Probably comparable to Race-Dek for garage floors -- very cool looking and effective, but most people won't want to spend that kind of money to "trick out" their unfinished attic.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Light Weight
Cons: expensive
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 16 in. x 24 in. Attic Flooring Panels (10-Pack)
from Orlando FL

Great product for specific need~

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellant product for using *exactly* as designed--keep in mind that if you have trusses then this product will have to fit around the support joins. You cannot trim or modify the floor panels.
But--if you have 24" floor joists then this product is the perfect solution. VERY easy and quick to install. And the panels (though they are not slippery to walk on) are great for sliding boxes or plastic tubs to the back of the attic.
I was willing to position them around the truss joins and I am very pleased with them...
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 16 in. x 24 in. Attic Flooring Panels (10-Pack)
from Gaithersburg, MD, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easy to install

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The attic panels are light enough to carry them up to the attic. They are easy to install. Overall make easier to walk on the attic.
Pros: Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install, Light Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 16 in. x 24 in. Attic Flooring Panels (10-Pack)

Very easy and work great

PostedOctober 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These flooring panels are very easy to install and they work great. Make sure you have knee pads on because they are very hard on the knees. They are a little pricey for how little area they cover but I'm still buying another box or two to cover more of my attic.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 16 in. x 24 in. Attic Flooring Panels (10-Pack)

Product is lightweight and easy to install.

PostedApril 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
only drawback is it doesn't have any features to compensate for all the wires and pipes that are over the joists.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Light Weight
Cons: no cutouts
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 16 in. x 24 in. Attic Flooring Panels (10-Pack)
from Mount Vernon, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Perfect solution for attic flooring

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My daughter has a small townhouse with an attic access, but no flooring in the attic. The access ladder is very limited, so she needed a product that could easily be transported into the attic. She states these attic flooring panels were the perfect solution, and allow her much needed additional space.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install, Light Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 16 in. x 24 in. Attic Flooring Panels (10-Pack)
from Lillian, AL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great idea!

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love this product - wish I had thought of it. Beats lugging up heavy lumber to do the same thing. As a woman - I appreciate that.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Light Weight, Good Shape
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 16 in. x 24 in. Attic Flooring Panels (10-Pack)
from Chesapeake, Virginia
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Off Season Storage

PostedJune 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The moment I saw this product I knew it would be the perfect solution for adding usable storage space for all of our off season bins of clothes and shoes. My husband installed all 10 Attic Deks in less then 1-hour. I plan on ordering another pack of 10 very soon.
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install, Light Weight, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 16 in. x 24 in. Attic Flooring Panels (10-Pack)
from Imperial Beach, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Durable product!

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The attic dek fit perfectly and is surprisingly strong. It was easy to install and created large enough of space to store many items.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 16 in. x 24 in. Attic Flooring Panels (10-Pack)
from Marietta, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install and works as Expected

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to install and works well in providing a surface area for storage in attic. Cost is a little high for a machine made plastic tile.
Pros: Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install, Light Weight
Cons: expensive
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 16 in. x 24 in. Attic Flooring Panels (10-Pack)
from Oregon City, Oregon

Attic flooring panels

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These worked great. I used them to create a path thru my attic so that it was easier to install more blown in insulation. I had to make several other preparations prior to insulating and these panels made access much easier. The only thing I can say bad about them is the fact that they are hard on the knees. I would recommend wearing knee pads to crawl around on them.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 16 in. x 24 in. Attic Flooring Panels (10-Pack)
from Algonquin, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Easy to install decking for attic storage

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very solid, easy to install decking system for quickly laying down a sturdy floor in your attic. A vast improvement over trying to find the joists to stand on so you don't put a foot through your ceiling. :-)
They are probably correct about the 250 lb weight limit for the panels, I don't think I'd want to place much more weight than that in the center of a panel. For example, with me plus a heavy box of junk, I'd want to keep my feet near a joist and not walk down the center of the 2 ft panel.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, High Quality, Reliable, Sturdy
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 16 in. x 24 in. Attic Flooring Panels (10-Pack)
from Gilbert, AZ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Quality product

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was very pleased with how lightweight the panels are. It made it very easy to lift them into the attic and the pre- drilled holes made installation a snap. I installed 10 panels within 1/2 hour.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 >>