728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 16 in. x 24 in. Attic Flooring Panels (10-Pack)

16 in. x 24 in. Attic Flooring Panels (10-Pack)

Help provide your attic with additional storage space with the Attic Dek 24 in. x 16 in. Attic Flooring Panels (10-Pack). These durable panels can support up to 250 lb. and are vented so insulation can breathe easily. The panels can be easily installed by laying them on top of your ceiling joists and securing them with the included screws.
Overall rating:
4.795 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product41 of 41reviews
Rating Breakdown 44 reviews
4.8 out of 5
5
(35)
4
(9)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product41 of 41reviews
Customer reviews for 16 in. x 24 in. Attic Flooring Panels (10-Pack)
Review 1 for 16 in. x 24 in. Attic Flooring Panels (10-Pack)
from Baxter Springs, KS 66713, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Excellent quality and easy to install

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought a 10 pack and 4 pack to put in the attic area above my garage. I was very satisfied with the quality of the panels. The panels have a smooth, glossy finish and are thick enough that they don't flex. Install was simple using the supplied Phillips head screws. Each panel takes 5 screws. I interconnected each row like is suppose to be done but left a 3" gap between each row to utilize space more efficiently due to some stiffeners that were placed down center of joists. No regrets on this product or with buying from Home Depot, plus you get free shipping to your address!
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Straight, High Quality, Reliable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 16 in. x 24 in. Attic Flooring Panels (10-Pack)
from VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Well Designed Product for Attics

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I needed to work in my attic and provide storage space. My joists are 24" apart, except at the hatch. I had to use wood in that area. Installation is easy, in most cases. Just drop in place and secure.Clear the insulation on the joists first and make sure there are no wires there. If there are wires, you can notch the panel (I don't like cutting into the joists). While laying the panels down, I sealed all cieling openings for wires and boxes with spray foam (makes a BIG difference and will save money on heating and cooling). While up there, I noticed that the insulation installed by the previous owner was very shoddy. A mountain here and barely anything there. So I evened the insulation out, careful not to cover the soffits. These attic panels are very nice looking when installed. I only covered an area about 12'x8'. I also used the panels to extend a path from one side to the other spanning the length of the house to make it easier in the future to get around up there. The panels are not cheap, but if you do it yourself, you're already saving money and if you seal air openings you will save money every year thereafter. The panels are lighter than wood and much easier to handle. When the job is done, it looks very "industrial". The fact that the insulation can breathe is a plus. Finally, since they are open panels (gratings) you can easily add boric acid to the insulation (for pests and mold). I used 64 panels and Home Depot shipped them to me within a few days.
Pros: Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 16 in. x 24 in. Attic Flooring Panels (10-Pack)
from Albuquerque, NM, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Great Flooring for an Attic

PostedAugust 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased and installed 2 10-pack boxes of these panels. They were easy to install, with exception of one row where the ceiling joists were slightly less than 24 inches apart (23.5"). Plastic ribs protrude from the underside of these panels which typically snug up against the side of the joist, but for this row these ribs were interfering and not allow the ends of the panels to make flush contact with the top of the joists (which is where you screw them down). With some effort, I cut down these ribs on the ends with a hand saw and at that point I was able to install them. If this is more effort than you want to expend, I recommend that you measure the center-to-center distances between your joists to see if these will work for you with minimal effort. I do plan on purchasing more of these once I fill up this space. Also, this is much easier to haul up into the attic compared to 4-ft sheets of plywood.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With
Cons: may require more effort as noted in review
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 16 in. x 24 in. Attic Flooring Panels (10-Pack)
from Forest Hill, MD 21050, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install

PostedMarch 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Much easier to install than cutting and lugging plywood up to the attic. Supplied screws work well, no stripping of heads. Panels flex a little more than expected under my weight (180#), but still feel pretty sturdy (butting ends together didn't affect flex). Unfortunately the side ends of attic joists only measure 23" or I would be getting some more to extend further. Definitely need to measure your joists before ordering.
Pros: Easy to Install, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 16 in. x 24 in. Attic Flooring Panels (10-Pack)

Simple and effective

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
As a novice DIYer, I can't recommend this product enough. The price compared to wood is worth it since you don't have to cut it just to get it through the attic entry. Some minor cuts were necessary to fit decking over various ducts, wires, and the occasional tight spot. Nothing major nor compromising to the integrity of the plank, But all attics are unique and present their different obstacles.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 16 in. x 24 in. Attic Flooring Panels (10-Pack)
from Saginaw, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Makes a GREAT dog ramp!

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought 4 two by fours. Used braces to connect them. Screwed the Attic Dek panels between the two by fours. Voila! Non-slip dog ramp that easily holds all 3 of our dogs at once. (Only 1 needs it, but who can tell dogs to take turns?! And it's a great bark-a-net vantage point.) Came with great screws. The way it's designed, you can FEEL when it's in just-the-right-place and perfectly straight. I'm a 55 yo fat female, and it was very easy to manage. I wouldn't say it's light weight, tho!
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, comes with appropriate screws
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 16 in. x 24 in. Attic Flooring Panels (10-Pack)

Excellent product!

PostedJune 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is an excellent product! It could not be easier to install and works like a dream. The 24 in. x 16 in. panels fit perfectly in our 1960's home....all we had to do was lay them down and drill them into place. Also, shipping from Home Depot could not have been quicker! We were thrilled to see the boxes on our door step only 3 days after ordering online and with the free shipping special that was running, who could ask for better service?!? We would highly recommend this product to anyone looking for a quick and easy way to get more storage space out of their attic, without compromising the integrity of their insulation. It is totally worth the money!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 16 in. x 24 in. Attic Flooring Panels (10-Pack)
from Orlando FL

Great product for specific need~

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Excellant product for using *exactly* as designed--keep in mind that if you have trusses then this product will have to fit around the support joins. You cannot trim or modify the floor panels.
But--if you have 24" floor joists then this product is the perfect solution. VERY easy and quick to install. And the panels (though they are not slippery to walk on) are great for sliding boxes or plastic tubs to the back of the attic.
I was willing to position them around the truss joins and I am very pleased with them...
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 16 in. x 24 in. Attic Flooring Panels (10-Pack)
from Lillian, AL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great idea!

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Love this product - wish I had thought of it. Beats lugging up heavy lumber to do the same thing. As a woman - I appreciate that.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Light Weight, Good Shape
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 16 in. x 24 in. Attic Flooring Panels (10-Pack)
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install and works well

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The installation was easy and straight forward. My only issue was space planning. A few of my beams are too close together so the fit was funny, but that's not an issue with the product. I would recommend these.
Pros: Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 16 in. x 24 in. Attic Flooring Panels (10-Pack)
from Madison, AL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I ordered the box of 10. Each square came with the allocated screws to use. They are quite sturdy to stand on (I had to to screw the screws in). However, I would recommend you measuring. My attic space is huge but the way the boards and beams are placed, I couldn't use these panels all on the same side.
But they do what I needed them to do and look much better than some wood as a floor panel.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install, Stylish
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 16 in. x 24 in. Attic Flooring Panels (10-Pack)

Lightweight and easy to install.

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Product was just as advertised. It worked great for my unfinished attic and it was super easy to install. A little bit pricy but it beats hauling a bunch of heavy plywood up the attic stairs.
Pros: Easy to Install, Light Weight
Cons: a little expensive
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 16 in. x 24 in. Attic Flooring Panels (10-Pack)
from Mount Vernon, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Perfect solution for attic flooring

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My daughter has a small townhouse with an attic access, but no flooring in the attic. The access ladder is very limited, so she needed a product that could easily be transported into the attic. She states these attic flooring panels were the perfect solution, and allow her much needed additional space.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install, Light Weight
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 16 in. x 24 in. Attic Flooring Panels (10-Pack)
from Oregon City, Oregon

Attic flooring panels

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
These worked great. I used them to create a path thru my attic so that it was easier to install more blown in insulation. I had to make several other preparations prior to insulating and these panels made access much easier. The only thing I can say bad about them is the fact that they are hard on the knees. I would recommend wearing knee pads to crawl around on them.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 16 in. x 24 in. Attic Flooring Panels (10-Pack)
from Denver, CO
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for unfinished attic space

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The attic dek was a very good investment. I purchased 3 boxes of the 10-pack for my husband to install in our attic. The package came with wood screws that he could have just used a drill with to install but he insisted on pre-drilling holes before installing, doing this it took him about 3 hours to install all 30 panels. As we had many wires and box lights in our attic I believe this added to the install time as well. He's one of those measure 5 times before you commit kind of guys, so I'm guessing this could take someone who did not have the same detail oriented addiction about an hour to install all 30 if you have the same amount of wires, boxes, etc that we have.
All in all this is a wonderful product and has made a great storage space for our home that we would have otherwise not had. I had considered buying a storage shed, but for the price and quality of the attic dek you cannot ask for a better solution to storage! The sheds would have cost at least $1,000 for the amount of space I would have liked, where as the attic dek was about a third of the price for about triple the storage space-- a no brainer when it comes to purchasing on a budget.
If you are on the fence about ordering this product you should take the plunge, I'm glad we did!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install, Light Weight, Good Shape, easy access to whats underneath, allows insulation to breathe
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 16 in. x 24 in. Attic Flooring Panels (10-Pack)

Very easy and work great

PostedOctober 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These flooring panels are very easy to install and they work great. Make sure you have knee pads on because they are very hard on the knees. They are a little pricey for how little area they cover but I'm still buying another box or two to cover more of my attic.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 16 in. x 24 in. Attic Flooring Panels (10-Pack)

Solid... Easy Installation...

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Works Great! I like that it allows air-flow in the attic.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 16 in. x 24 in. Attic Flooring Panels (10-Pack)

Product is lightweight and easy to install.

PostedApril 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
only drawback is it doesn't have any features to compensate for all the wires and pipes that are over the joists.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Light Weight
Cons: no cutouts
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 16 in. x 24 in. Attic Flooring Panels (10-Pack)
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice but too expensive for full coverage

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I bought one box of 10 to see how much it really covered. Although the box indicates the square footage, IMO until you get it down in your own attic, you don't really have an accurate idea. As it turns out, I didn't think it was going to be worth buying 7-10 boxes to effectively cover the area that I wanted to use.
My house has joists on 24" and I was a bit surprised at how springy they were. (The 16" sections might not flex as much.) However, looking something like milk crates on steroids, I'm sure they are more sturdy than plywood. Depending on what you plan to store on them, you may find the springiness a little disconcerting.
I decided to keep my box because they're still handy for tossing down temporarily to walk across joists without fear of stepping through the ceiling. I plan to install a reflective barrier myself and this will be perfect to stand on -- with the tabs, it won't slip like plywood, and they're in convenient small sections so I won't have to wrestle with even a partial plywood sheet.
If you have the money, it's a great product. Probably comparable to Race-Dek for garage floors -- very cool looking and effective, but most people won't want to spend that kind of money to "trick out" their unfinished attic.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Light Weight
Cons: expensive
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 16 in. x 24 in. Attic Flooring Panels (10-Pack)
from Gaithersburg, MD, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easy to install

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The attic panels are light enough to carry them up to the attic. They are easy to install. Overall make easier to walk on the attic.
Pros: Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install, Light Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>