728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 8 Linear ft. Red Oak Tongue and Groove Wainscot Paneling

8 Linear ft. Red Oak Tongue and Groove Wainscot Paneling

The House of Fara 8 Linear ft. Red Oak Tongue and Groove Wainscot Paneling kit includes the wainscot, chair rail and base moulding for your convenience. Installs easily to cover an 8 linear ft. section of wall. Its unique detail will add an architectural touch to any room or project. Manufactured from solid hardwood, it may be clear coated or stained to match your existing decor.
Overall rating:
4.278 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(54 reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product47 of 52reviews
Rating Breakdown 54 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(34)
4
(11)
3
(4)
2
(0)
1
(5)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product47 of 52reviews
Customer reviews for 8 Linear ft. Red Oak Tongue and Groove Wainscot Paneling
Review 1 for 8 Linear ft. Red Oak Tongue and Groove Wainscot Paneling
from killingworth, ct
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Transforms the room!

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This adds a premium look to the room. I ordered 3 packages to do a bathroom. First I pre-finished the pieces, because they are bare wood as shipped. That took a couple of days to do 3 batches and wait to dry between coats. I used one coat of Minwax Golden Oak stain, brushed on, wiped down, let dry, then top-coated with one coat of Chinese tung oil. I finished both sides as recommended in the instructions. No sanding was required at any point, as the pieces were baby-smooth right out of the box. One more coat of tung oil after installation gives it a smooth, glossy finished look, and the color with the stain is exquisite.
Bear in mind that each lineal foot of wall uses 4 planks, each of which takes 3 nails in the tongue section. This could get tedious if you are hand-hammering them, so I would definitely recommend you beg, borrow or steal (or preferably buy—Homey D sells them, y'know) a pneumatic brad gun for the planks and a finish nailer for the baseboard and chair rail. It will make the job so much more pleasant, and you'll be amazed how useful these tools are around the house.
Overall, I was impressed with the quality of this product, and I think they they did a great job of milling the pieces accurately and presenting them with a nice smooth surface that is ready to apply your choice of coatings with no need for sanding. I would definitely use it again if I had another room that I wanted to transform this way. And now that I have done one room, I think I really have got the hang of it now, including using a nickel for spacing to allow expansion.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 8 Linear ft. Red Oak Tongue and Groove Wainscot Paneling
from USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The wainscot paneling arrived as promised. It was well packaged and undamaged. The paneling was easy to install and looked very nice upon completion of my project. I plan to buy more paneling because the project turned out so well.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 8 Linear ft. Red Oak Tongue and Groove Wainscot Paneling
from Snohomish, WA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Nice economical upgrade to breakfast nook

PostedDecember 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good quality, prompt delivery. Very nice. Came pre-sanded, so I let it adjust to temp and humidity a couple days, stained and coated all material, and then had a handyman come do the mitering and install in the nook.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Straight, Great Value, High Quality
Cons: 2 days to adjust to room temp and humidity
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 8 Linear ft. Red Oak Tongue and Groove Wainscot Paneling
from Michigan

Does The Job

PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product works pretty well but expect to possibly not use every vertical board (3"wide x 32"long) as there is some variation in grain, color and quality. You get 8' of product in the kit, I needed about 6' for my project so it wasn't an issue. If you are not that fussy, or it is a location that doesn't make that much difference, you probably will be able to use most all of the product. The top and bottom moldings are very good, and make the job easy. If you have to go around an outside corner (as I did) you need to figure out what you will do the outside angle as there is no moldings in the kit to accomplish where the vertical slats meet ..... just butting the verticals together is one way but may not meet your requirements and could look a little shabby. Some type of additional molding probably best but you will need to buy that. Inside corner butting probably will work better and not as noticeable. Also at the end of a horizontal run could be an issue if you want it trimmed off with something other than one of the vertical slats. Mine was an outside corner and I used an additional molding arrangement to make it look okay....but again, this is not in the kit. These kits are not that easy to find and some I did locate on the web were quite expensive so this HD one was a good compromise and not all that expensive I guess. Shipping was quick and UPS brought it to the door....painless.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+22points
26out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 8 Linear ft. Red Oak Tongue and Groove Wainscot Paneling
from Rockville Centre, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This was a good choice. It looks great.

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My first delight was that my delivery came much more quickly that expected, which also pleased my installer. The wainscot lived up to specifications and expectations of quality. Very little sanding was needed and waste was mininimal. Do be careful in sequencing the boards, as the natural variation in the grain of the wood will cause some parts to stain darker than others. This can easily be predicted by observing the grain variations in the raw wood. Very pleased with my choice and the results on the bottom half of my kitchen walls.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Stylish
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 8 Linear ft. Red Oak Tongue and Groove Wainscot Paneling
from Finksburg, MD

Tongue & Groove Wainescot

PostedJuly 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The wainescoting is very nicely made. You can either stain or paint it. I chose to stain it. Take your time whether you decide to stain or paint. I would suggest a light sanding of each piece first - this eliminates any rough edges. If you stain be sure to put at least 2 coats of polyarylic or polyurithan on top with a light sanding inbetween each coat. Place the finished pieces inside the house so the wood has time to adjusted to the temperature inside - since wood does expand and contract. I placed this in my laundry/mud room so I used the polyarylic because of the varying humidity in the room. It goes together nicely and made the room look great. When choosing the color stain keep in mind that the wood pieces will very in darkness & lightness due to the character of each piece. I would highlly recommend this product . Keep in mind that you will need to devote some time to the staining or painting before it is ready to be put up. A few pieces had some flaws but we used them for cutting and going around outlets and pipes.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 8 Linear ft. Red Oak Tongue and Groove Wainscot Paneling
from Alameda, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very vulnerable to moisture-induced warping

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Looks great, but warped disastrously after installation over drywall due to ambient moisture. Had to remove both it and the drywall, then install it atop a moisture barrier and plywood. House of Fara's helpdesk was unhelpful and argumentative.
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 8 Linear ft. Red Oak Tongue and Groove Wainscot Paneling
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What poor quality!

PostedMay 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I at first had problems with the delivered items all over the back of the UPS truck, Home Depot resolved that and sent replacements.
When I started inspecting the beaded panels I found about 10 boards that had been poorly milled, but I had some low sections of wall and I could cut the bad ends off of the panels. Now that almost all of the wood is stained, I can see at least 30% of the board have defects, the stain really brought them out. There is chatter, gouging, some groove and tongue distortion and breakage. Most of the damage is from poor mill-work. I love oak, what this manufacturer does is create a mess from some fine wood.. It will be good for a rustic look, you know kind of hand hewn, but never for fine finish work. I do not have the time or patience to redo all of my work so it will be finished with this product. I will however never buy from this manufacturer again
Pros: it is real oak
Cons: Inconsistent
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 8 Linear ft. Red Oak Tongue and Groove Wainscot Paneling

Very nice looking when finished

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Nicely finished product, surfaces smooth with minimal
sanding. Took stain well. Only 2 or 3 broken pieces easily
hidden by the baseboard. Product does take some time
to complete. Suggest drilling of baseboard and top rail
into wall as it very hard wood, simply used wood filler to
fill in drill holes.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Stylish, Seals Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 8 Linear ft. Red Oak Tongue and Groove Wainscot Paneling
from victioria, tx

PostedJanuary 19, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We love the oak tongue and grove wainscot. We put it up in our game room and stained it black. We used the back side of the wainscot to make it look like seperated planks on the wall. We really like the way it turned out. Even though it was pricy, buying in a kit like this is the way to go. We were very pleased on the quality of the product. We would definitely recommend this to people.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 8 Linear ft. Red Oak Tongue and Groove Wainscot Paneling
Age Range:55 to 64

Bittersweet

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
We put it in our bathroom; it looks really nice. But, so many of the panels were damaged or stained with black streaks.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Stylish
Cons: many panels damaged
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 8 Linear ft. Red Oak Tongue and Groove Wainscot Paneling
from N.E. OHIO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

VERY PLEASED WITH THE LOOK

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
VERY PLEASED WITH THE LOOK,NICE COUNTRY EFFECT. BUT THE QUALITY CONTROL OF THE PRODUCT LEAVES ME TO ONLY RATE IT AS GOOD. THE COLOR & GRAIN PATTERN WEREN'T A BIG DEAL TO ME,NATURE OF THE WOOD ! BUT SPLITS AND ROUGH FINISH ON SOME PIECES WERE HARD TO OVERCOME, I WOULD RECOMMEND BUYING 5 EXTRA PIECES OF WAINSCOTING FOR EACH KIT YOU BUY.IF YOU DON'T NEED THEM ,RETURN THEM OR THE DAMAGED ONES FOR A REFUND.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Stylish, Seals Well
Cons: better quality control
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 8 Linear ft. Red Oak Tongue and Groove Wainscot Paneling

Beautiful

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Family room already had this paneling, on 2 walls, removed brick facing and needed to finish the remaining wall. We painted it an off white, looks great and was easy to install. We love it because kids kick walls, doors, bump furniture to the wall when they "plop" on the sofa. Good quality for the price.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 8 Linear ft. Red Oak Tongue and Groove Wainscot Paneling
from Spring Grove, PA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent milling with inconsistent wood color

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I am happy overall with the quality of the product. One of the base moldings was split at the end for about 4 inches. The color of the red oak bead board is inconsistent with very light yellow, red, and brown boards included in the kit. The variation worked for my project but may not work for those looking for a more consistent coloration.
Pros: High Quality of Material
Cons: Poor Color
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 8 Linear ft. Red Oak Tongue and Groove Wainscot Paneling
from Alaska, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Excellent results!

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Took a lot of time and work to stain, sand and hang, but am very happy with the result. Product fit together well and was relatively easy to hang. I did not use the baseboard that was included, as I wanted a more substantial one that I ordered separately from Home Depot.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, High Quality
Cons: labor intensive
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 8 Linear ft. Red Oak Tongue and Groove Wainscot Paneling
from Allenhurst, NJ

OMG

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Not only is the beadboard in-expensive, but it is real wood!! NOT some compressed wood chips. I was renov. a large bathroom and taking it to turn of the century period. Contractor thought is woul dbe too short, but turned out to be the perfect height for a bathroom. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED..and with free shipping, this was definately a great investment!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 8 Linear ft. Red Oak Tongue and Groove Wainscot Paneling

It is everything it was advertised to be.

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
All the pieces were there. Except for one piece missing a "tongue" on the edge, and a few slightly warped planks, it was best quality. I haven't found anything comparable in any local store.
The wainscoting boards were not veneer, or particle board--They were Red Oak Planks 3/8" X 3" wide.
I'd buy this kit again in a heart-beat.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 8 Linear ft. Red Oak Tongue and Groove Wainscot Paneling
from St.Petersburg,Fl.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

better than advertised ( no photo I am not at cabin)

PostedApril 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed a backing for a kitchin island in my mountain cabin. Traditional ones were too expensive. I tought I would try waiscotting and ordered the kit. I expected it to arrive in a big sheet of fake plywood .
It arrive as very thick real wood tongue and grove. It all fit together easily I am 85 and put it together and mounted it by myself. I am thrilled with the results
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Straight, Good Shape, Great Value, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 8 Linear ft. Red Oak Tongue and Groove Wainscot Paneling

Good product for the price.

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use. Needs to be stained and polyed, or painted.
A few of the panels were split or slightly damaged, but this is to be expected at this price. Order slightly extra just in case.
Also it was not immediately clear that this an "internet only" item.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 8 Linear ft. Red Oak Tongue and Groove Wainscot Paneling

Read Carefully

PostedJuly 26, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It's our fault for not reading the description more carefully, but we purchased 9 kits for a basement remodel thinking it was stained, poly'ed, and coming in 8' sections. At least for the money paid, you would think it would be more user friendly.
But it came in hundreds of pieces, unfinished, and in big long boxes. We were very disappointed.
We ended up returning the item, purchased bigger wainscot sheets and long strips of chair rail and baseboard for about half the price. If I'm going to stain a bunch of pieces and poly them myself, I'd rather they be in big pieces to eliminate frequent handling.
-1point
5out of 11found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>