728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 8 Linear ft. MDF Overlapping Wainscot Paneling Kit

8 Linear ft. MDF Overlapping Wainscot Paneling Kit

The House of Fara 8 Linear ft. primed MDF Overlapping Wainscot Paneling will help you create an 8 linear ft. section of wainscot with chair rail and base moulding. Paint this easy to install primed paneling to complement your decor. Its unique detail will add an architectural touch to any room or project.
Overall rating:
4.413 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(133 reviews) 133
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product120 of 129reviews
Rating Breakdown 133 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(81)
4
(34)
3
(12)
2
(4)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product120 of 129reviews
Customer reviews for 8 Linear ft. MDF Overlapping Wainscot Paneling Kit
Review 1 for 8 Linear ft. MDF Overlapping Wainscot Paneling Kit
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very easy to install. Looks great

PostedMay 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm not very handy, but I found this to be easy to install. The boards all fit easily into each other. Even doing an outside corner on a rounded wall with 22 degree cuts turned out great. I definitely recommend painting before putting it up.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 8 Linear ft. MDF Overlapping Wainscot Paneling Kit
from Cape Cod
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This kit worked very well for my bath refurbish.

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product is as advertised. I used oil based primer and acrilic final coat. Good quality MDF. Finished job looked very professional. I used minimal nails and glued the panels.
This product filled my needs at a very reasonable price.
Pros: Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Light Weight, Seals Well, Good Shape
Cons: none
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 8 Linear ft. MDF Overlapping Wainscot Paneling Kit
from Tucson
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pretty pleased with this product....

PostedJune 20, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used this product when I remodeled my wife's bathroom. It was significantly cheaper than other similar products, but I was already over budget on my remodel, so I decided to risk it. The reason it is so much cheaper is, as others have noted, it is basically glorified cardboard (MDF). If it gets wet, forget it. I had a small leak, that I quickly repaired, and I could tell that if it gets really wet it would probably just fall apart and I would have to tear it out. I used it in a wet environment, so I double primed both sides, and of course applied a finish coat. So far, it has held up well, and it looks fantastic (See attached picture). So, I recommend this product, but it is probably not the best choice for bathroom applications. I hope to get a long life out of it, but I suspect that at some point down the road, I may have to replace it.
Pros: Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install, good product for the price
Cons: not the greatest quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 8 Linear ft. MDF Overlapping Wainscot Paneling Kit
from Seattle
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Beautiful! Inexpensive and adds a great look

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is a perfect addition to give a room a stylish look and depth. We've used it in our master bedroom and everyone remarks on it. It makes a difference and we love it! We didn't really need real wood wainscoting -- if we did we would've paid more and gotten real wood. This was much less expensive, easy enough for our hired handyman to install (he has the tools and the know how). It painted easily and is perfect where it is since there really won't be much traffic there. If I were to install bead board in our main hallway then I would definitely go with real hardwood since the purpose of wainscoting is actually to save walls that get high traffic and usage.
Pros: Alternative for Real Wood, Stylish, Good Shape, Light Weight, nice cap and moulding included, great price!
Cons: it's only easy to install if you already know how
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+44points
44out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 8 Linear ft. MDF Overlapping Wainscot Paneling Kit
from Byron, IL 61010, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Easy Installation/Looks Great

PostedMay 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The materials shipped to my house in 3 days. There was no damage to any of the materials from shipping. I painted the base, wainscot and chair rail 2 coats each. It couldn't have been more easy to install...I used an air nailer and filled the holes with caulk and touched up with paint. I put it in my laundry room and it enhanced the room. Great quality for the price.
Pros: Easy to Install, Straight, Great Value
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+34points
35out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 8 Linear ft. MDF Overlapping Wainscot Paneling Kit
from Alabama, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Used in bath...easy to install and looks great

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used the MDF because i wanted a painted surface. Good quality control and i found the primed surface to be smooth as glass. Since using in bath, I primed the back and all cuts to protect against moisture. Installation was easy and results pleasing. Caution: Be careful with nailing...a pulled nail leaves a blemish that is difficult to repair and hide.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Economical
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+52points
55out of 58found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 8 Linear ft. MDF Overlapping Wainscot Paneling Kit
from North Carolina, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Pleased

PostedMay 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently installed this prodiuct and was very pleased with the quality. It is mdf but good stuff. I am very pleased with the results. I did have a couple of pieces to break during (was still able to use) shipping but other than that everything showed up fine. Please note: I added plywood for ribs to give the wainscotting some depth.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Straight, Good Shape, Great Value, Economical
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+27points
32out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 8 Linear ft. MDF Overlapping Wainscot Paneling Kit
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Best Value!!!

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the best value for enhancing your bathroom! I cannot believe how nice it made my bathroom look! An added note. If you plan to paint your wainscotting you will need to use an oil based paint because of the material. Oh my goodness, I just cannot believe how nice my bathroom looks!
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, Great Value, Economical
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+37points
42out of 47found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 8 Linear ft. MDF Overlapping Wainscot Paneling Kit
from Yonkers, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Look Great

PostedMarch 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just remodeled my bathroom & purchased these panels. Well, It looks awesome. I get lots of compliments & I am very happy.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+33points
37out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 8 Linear ft. MDF Overlapping Wainscot Paneling Kit
from Bakersfield, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Came out looking great!

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was our first project in our home. We used about five total kits to finish our nursery. The results were excellent for the money we had to spend :) We are definitely considering using this same product in another room.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Straight, Seals Well, Great Value, Economical, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 8 Linear ft. MDF Overlapping Wainscot Paneling Kit
from Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Weekly

GREAT PRODUCT

PostedApril 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ordered online and the product was better than expected. Let it sit at room temp for a couple of days and installation was super easy! Would totally recommend for those like me that are not professional, and professionals too.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Great Value
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 8 Linear ft. MDF Overlapping Wainscot Paneling Kit
from PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

would not buy again

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We are in the middle of installing this right now in the family room. It is a good idea everything fitting together in a kit. The downside is the smell from it. IT STINKS TO HIGH HEAVEN. Even after letting it air in the garage it smells. Also right now you can see each individual panel as it sits on the wall, I am hoping that will go away when it is painted. The surface is extremely rough, looks like the primer coat was sprayed on by machine or something, bit messy. I would not buy it again, I would go for real wood next time. If we hadn't taken it out of the package to air out I would have taken it all back.
Pros: Alternative for Real Wood
Cons: Poor Color
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 8 Linear ft. MDF Overlapping Wainscot Paneling Kit
from CT
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Excellent Product!

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was pleasantly surprised with the quality of this kit for the price! This was not some low-end, cheap, thin wainscoting. This is truly a value for the money and looks beautiful in our bathroom. For very little cost, I have transformed my bathroom thanks to this fabulous kit I found on HomeDepot website!
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Good Shape, Great Value, Lots of Features, High Quality, Economical
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 8 Linear ft. MDF Overlapping Wainscot Paneling Kit
from Gaithersburg, MD, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

This is a great product!

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We love how this beadboard looks in our guest bedroom, it was easy to install and paint. Having it come with the base board and chair rail was perfect! It really adds character to the room and two of us did the whole room in a weekend. We didn't have a single bad piece in the box
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Straight, Great Value, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 8 Linear ft. MDF Overlapping Wainscot Paneling Kit
from Southern, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

this product is easy to work with and has great value for the customer.

PostedApril 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product is easy to work with and since it is in a kit you do not have to calculate all the products.Great value and ease of installation.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Economical
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 8 Linear ft. MDF Overlapping Wainscot Paneling Kit
from Miami, Florida
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Fair product but had its flaws.

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Assembly was really easy but the MDF chips and dings really easily. It also bows in the middle and took more nails then anticipated. All in all not a bad product just wish it had a stronger outer coating to prevent chips and dings.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: chips and dings really easy, not all pieces fit easly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 8 Linear ft. MDF Overlapping Wainscot Paneling Kit
from washington
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Beautiful outcome but..........

PostedApril 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had purchased 3 boxes late last year in hopes of remodeling our guest bath over Christmas. It did not happen until late March of this year - one box of wainscoting had many damaged pieces and when looking at the box it appears that it may have been returned and we ended up with it - my husband worked around it and installed it and the outcome was still beautiful.......
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 8 Linear ft. MDF Overlapping Wainscot Paneling Kit

Excellent quality product

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
High quality material that is definitely not flimsy or cheap looking. Simple and quick to install especially if you have a pin nailer. Can also easily be installed with hand tools.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 8 Linear ft. MDF Overlapping Wainscot Paneling Kit
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wainscott Kit

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to install and looks GREAT. I recommend the kit which includes the moulding.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 8 Linear ft. MDF Overlapping Wainscot Paneling Kit
from Harrisburg, Pa

Almost excellent product

PostedAugust 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This wainscot is very easy to use if you practice first.
I had drywall on top of the wall and studs on the bottom. Had to put 1/2" plywood on the studs to bump it out and to have something to nail/glue the panels onto. The bottom rail and chair rail are longer than the panels - so do a dry run first.
I used liquid nails to put on the bottom rail and a few finishing nails to hold it on. Then slide the panels into the rail to see where you end up. Then glue.
Make sure the tops of the panels are completely covered inside the chair rail - look underneath before gluing and use a few finish nails.
To make cut outs for the electrical outlets I used a small saw and then hammered the end of a flat screwdriver from one cut across to the other.
It really is easy to do as long as you put those panels in beforehand. Highly recommend buying an additional kit because you'll only have 7 1/2 ft of panels and they bruise easily, especially if you miss with the hammer.
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>