728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Polishers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18-Volt ONE+ 6 in. Buffer (Tool-Only)

18-Volt ONE+ 6 in. Buffer (Tool-Only)

The Ryobi 18V ONE+ 6 in. Buffer has a barrel grip design featuring a comfortable, contoured GripZone for maximum ease of use. This 1-speed buffer also features a side handle that allows extended reach. It is powered by Ryobi's 18-volt ONE+ battery (not included) and is UL listed for safety and reliability.
Overall rating:
4.091 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product36 of 41reviews
Rating Breakdown 44 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(21)
4
(16)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(5)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product36 of 41reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for 18-Volt ONE+ 6 in. Buffer (Tool-Only)
Review 1 for 18-Volt ONE+ 6 in. Buffer (Tool-Only)
from Fredericksburg, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product for the Price

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you are tired of fighting a full sized polisher/power cord and want one that can easily be used with one hand this one is it.
The upright design, handle and body shape make it easy to hold. The single speed power button relieves your hand of getting tired holding down a speed button\trigger.
I would recommend only using the Ryobi large heavy duty Li-Ion battery for maximum power.
The polisher does tend to slow down a little when the wax dries but any polisher will do that.
The only con is the string tie bonnets that are included. They are not easy to use and keep on. Your best bet is to go to Harbor Freight Tools and buy the 6" elastic bonnets. They are inexpensive and work fine.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: string tie bonnets
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18-Volt ONE+ 6 in. Buffer (Tool-Only)

Great tool.

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very handy and a pleasure to use... EXCEPT the tie-on pads. They are a total exercise in frustration. Do yourself a favor and toss some elastic-banded pads in your cart if you purchase this item.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18-Volt ONE+ 6 in. Buffer (Tool-Only)
from Wisconsin

A time saver

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased the buffer to both polish my cars and apply wax to my woodworking projects. Generally, it performs well. It is certainly a time saver and the orbital motion produces both a good wax application and a good shine. Two negatives: First, the applicators are attached using a drawstring. This requires that you tie it tight and push it securely under the pad in order to make sure it isn't flapping around and coming loose. Second, I had some difficulties when the battery got low, the motion seemed to cause the drawstring to untie regardless of how I fastened it (this did not happen on a full battery) - frustrating if you only have one battery. I find it a useful tool within the OnePlus lineup.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18-Volt ONE+ 6 in. Buffer (Tool-Only)
from Portland, Maine
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ryobi Buffer

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This buffer does a great job on my car. Would have giving it 5 stars if it had a better handle. Great Buffer!
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18-Volt ONE+ 6 in. Buffer (Tool-Only)
from Bradley,IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked as expected

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Would give this product five stars but the tie bonnets be careful the strings can get caught up in the buffer.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Light Weight, cordless
Cons: bonnets
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18-Volt ONE+ 6 in. Buffer (Tool-Only)
from Plano, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works good

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very pleased with the performance of the buffer. Not having an electric cord to drag around is great.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18-Volt ONE+ 6 in. Buffer (Tool-Only)

woorks well

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The buffer works very well. The tie on bonnets are difficult; but. elastic bonnet from Harbor Freight work fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18-Volt ONE+ 6 in. Buffer (Tool-Only)
from Salem,NH

Exellent product

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Buffer easy to use light weight. recommend use of lithium battery, for extended use.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18-Volt ONE+ 6 in. Buffer (Tool-Only)
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works really good.

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live in an apartment and don't have access to a power outlet and have looked online for a long time for a buffer that did not require a power outlet. I was surprised how well this battery operated version worked. Overall I will saw that this was a good purchase and saves me tons of time waxing my car.
Pros: Powerful, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 18-Volt ONE+ 6 in. Buffer (Tool-Only)
from Canada
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product - please make available in your stores not only online!

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great product and compliment to my collection of great Ryobi 18V products - makes polishing my Lexus much easier! The online ordering and UPS shipping experience was very good - but it would have been easier for me to just buy in a store!
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 18-Volt ONE+ 6 in. Buffer (Tool-Only)

compact buffer by ryobi

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the ryobi buffer for waxing your vehicles is light wgt easy to use and without an electrical cord really great..does a nice job buffing my car in any spot of the car...battery lasts long...
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 18-Volt ONE+ 6 in. Buffer (Tool-Only)
from Atlanta GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for buffing the gelcoat on the sailboat

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought specifically to buff the gel coat on my sailboat. I don't have the luxury of removing the boat from the water. Obviously working around water with a tool plugged into 110 volts is generally not a good idea. I have never had a problem with battery life. I wear out before the battery does and you can buy various size batteries anyway. I have the 105 series battery. I was weary about the 6" disc since my other buffer is much larger, but it is great for getting around the nooks and crannies you find topside on a boat. The only downside is the buffing pads have to be tied on. I have a plan in mind to use parts from my other buffer for the hook-it system but at this writing have not tried that out yet. I knew this going in and other reviews I read users went to Harbour Freight to replace them with better results.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 18-Volt ONE+ 6 in. Buffer (Tool-Only)
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product for th Price

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Over all this buffer has performed well. The biggest downfall are the pads. Do some searching on how to modify this buffer to accept professional pads.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 18-Volt ONE+ 6 in. Buffer (Tool-Only)
from Canandaigua, NY 14424, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great portability with power

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this buffer to polish the pontoons on our boat while it was on land. Because the boat is stored in a field I needed a battery operated buffer. The 18v battery (purchased separately is strong and long lasting). I was able to easily apply aluminum polish to the 'toons and then buff to a nice luster (more easily than by hand which I had done the previous year). The battery lasted for three quarters of the triple pontoons. The battery charger worked in our truck so while I was spiffing up, the battery recharged (appox. 20 minutes) and I was able to finish the project. Polishing aluminum is definitely hard work; this buffer was able to handle the task. I recommend getting elastic waisted pads and applicators as has been suggested by others.
Pros: Easy to Use, Powerful
Cons: string tied pads
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 18-Volt ONE+ 6 in. Buffer (Tool-Only)
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this buffer!

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love this buffer. No more cords! Very easy to handle ! Cant believe I went this long waxing my cars the old fashion way!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 18-Volt ONE+ 6 in. Buffer (Tool-Only)
from Bronx, New York
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great item

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
great item. easy to use, no wires, extremely convenient.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 18-Volt ONE+ 6 in. Buffer (Tool-Only)
from Dallas, Texas
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Buffer

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Buffer did its job, no problem. Light eight, easy to use.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 18-Volt ONE+ 6 in. Buffer (Tool-Only)

Gave as gift

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I gave this to my husband for his birthday and he really likes it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 18-Volt ONE+ 6 in. Buffer (Tool-Only)
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works nice with lithium battery.

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The buffer just barely fit my grip. If it were slightly larger (or my hand slightly smaller) it would have been a bit awkard to use single-handedly. Placing the bonnets on the unit was tedious--you had to securely fasten the drawstring in an awkward position and then tuck the string into the bonnet. After one attempt, I purchased several packs of 6" bonnets from Ebay that had elastic bands--they work great. The buffer does a decent job for a cordless tool. I used mine with a cutting compound and then waxed and polished the vehicle. It works best on horizontal surfaces where it is easier to control and to apply even, light, pressure. It was to unwieldy to use with one hand on vertical surfaces--two handed operation was fine, but limited the range of motion. I think it is a good value and will pay for itself in time-savings if it lasts for a few dozen usages.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: slightly large grip required
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 18-Volt ONE+ 6 in. Buffer (Tool-Only)
from Avon, OH
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Adequate but has room for improvement

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Buffer still requires quite a bit of elbow grease for waxing a car. Power switch needs to be moved closer to when your thumb goes on the housing. Product should also come with bonnets with elastic bands, not ties.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>