728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Polishers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18-Volt One+ 6 in. Car Buffer (Tool Only)

18-Volt One+ 6 in. Car Buffer (Tool Only)

The Ryobi 6 in. Car Buffer has a barrel-type grip with a comfortable, contoured GripZone for maximum ease of use. This 1-speed buffer also features a side handle that allows extended reach. It is powered by Ryobi's One+ 18-volt battery (not included) and is UL listed for safety and reliability.
Overall rating:
3.969 / 5
4
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product25 of 30reviews
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(16)
4
(9)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(5)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product25 of 30reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for 18-Volt One+ 6 in. Car Buffer (Tool Only)
Review 1 for 18-Volt One+ 6 in. Car Buffer (Tool Only)
Kevin
from Fredericksburg, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product for the Price

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you are tired of fighting a full sized polisher/power cord and want one that can easily be used with one hand this one is it.
The upright design, handle and body shape make it easy to hold. The single speed power button relieves your hand of getting tired holding down a speed button\trigger.
I would recommend only using the Ryobi large heavy duty Li-Ion battery for maximum power.
The polisher does tend to slow down a little when the wax dries but any polisher will do that.
The only con is the string tie bonnets that are included. They are not easy to use and keep on. Your best bet is to go to Harbor Freight Tools and buy the 6" elastic bonnets. They are inexpensive and work fine.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: string tie bonnets
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18-Volt One+ 6 in. Car Buffer (Tool Only)
Snowbird
from Canandaigua, NY 14424, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great portability with power

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this buffer to polish the pontoons on our boat while it was on land. Because the boat is stored in a field I needed a battery operated buffer. The 18v battery (purchased separately is strong and long lasting). I was able to easily apply aluminum polish to the 'toons and then buff to a nice luster (more easily than by hand which I had done the previous year). The battery lasted for three quarters of the triple pontoons. The battery charger worked in our truck so while I was spiffing up, the battery recharged (appox. 20 minutes) and I was able to finish the project. Polishing aluminum is definitely hard work; this buffer was able to handle the task. I recommend getting elastic waisted pads and applicators as has been suggested by others.
Pros: Easy to Use, Powerful
Cons: string tied pads
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18-Volt One+ 6 in. Car Buffer (Tool Only)
graco1A
from Erath, LA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product, helps reduce elbow grease!!

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use this to buff gas grills during the cleaning service I d, making it look new again.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: no cons about product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18-Volt One+ 6 in. Car Buffer (Tool Only)
Elton
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works really good.

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live in an apartment and don't have access to a power outlet and have looked online for a long time for a buffer that did not require a power outlet. I was surprised how well this battery operated version worked. Overall I will saw that this was a good purchase and saves me tons of time waxing my car.
Pros: Powerful, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18-Volt One+ 6 in. Car Buffer (Tool Only)
Woodhacker1
from Wisconsin

A time saver

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased the buffer to both polish my cars and apply wax to my woodworking projects. Generally, it performs well. It is certainly a time saver and the orbital motion produces both a good wax application and a good shine. Two negatives: First, the applicators are attached using a drawstring. This requires that you tie it tight and push it securely under the pad in order to make sure it isn't flapping around and coming loose. Second, I had some difficulties when the battery got low, the motion seemed to cause the drawstring to untie regardless of how I fastened it (this did not happen on a full battery) - frustrating if you only have one battery. I find it a useful tool within the OnePlus lineup.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18-Volt One+ 6 in. Car Buffer (Tool Only)
DaveN
from Canada
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product - please make available in your stores not only online!

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great product and compliment to my collection of great Ryobi 18V products - makes polishing my Lexus much easier! The online ordering and UPS shipping experience was very good - but it would have been easier for me to just buy in a store!
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18-Volt One+ 6 in. Car Buffer (Tool Only)
BMB7
from Avon, OH
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Adequate but has room for improvement

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Buffer still requires quite a bit of elbow grease for waxing a car. Power switch needs to be moved closer to when your thumb goes on the housing. Product should also come with bonnets with elastic bands, not ties.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18-Volt One+ 6 in. Car Buffer (Tool Only)
Kneeslider62
from Overland Park, KS, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Item worked well for what i was using it for

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Item was very easy to operate and worked well. I was using it in an area of high water use and did not want to use and electric buffer.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight, affordable
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18-Volt One+ 6 in. Car Buffer (Tool Only)
rcan1015
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works nice with lithium battery.

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The buffer just barely fit my grip. If it were slightly larger (or my hand slightly smaller) it would have been a bit awkard to use single-handedly. Placing the bonnets on the unit was tedious--you had to securely fasten the drawstring in an awkward position and then tuck the string into the bonnet. After one attempt, I purchased several packs of 6" bonnets from Ebay that had elastic bands--they work great. The buffer does a decent job for a cordless tool. I used mine with a cutting compound and then waxed and polished the vehicle. It works best on horizontal surfaces where it is easier to control and to apply even, light, pressure. It was to unwieldy to use with one hand on vertical surfaces--two handed operation was fine, but limited the range of motion. I think it is a good value and will pay for itself in time-savings if it lasts for a few dozen usages.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: slightly large grip required
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 18-Volt One+ 6 in. Car Buffer (Tool Only)
bahnss
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product for th Price

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Over all this buffer has performed well. The biggest downfall are the pads. Do some searching on how to modify this buffer to accept professional pads.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 18-Volt One+ 6 in. Car Buffer (Tool Only)
Carbuff

Doesn't work at all.

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product was very disappointing. The pad stops spinning the second you put it down. It can't even keep a spin while supporting it's own weight. I had to return it.
Cons: doesn't work.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 18-Volt One+ 6 in. Car Buffer (Tool Only)
JohnC
from Largo, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very easy to use but get better bonnets

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I really like the cordless convenience and one hand use. The bonnets that come with it are awful -- tie strings. I bought a waxing bonnet and a buffing bonnet real cheep at a place that rhymes with arbor rate.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: bonnets are awful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 18-Volt One+ 6 in. Car Buffer (Tool Only)
Silvergreg
from California, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very useful product.

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product cuts the time it takes to polish, and keep my cars looking good!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 18-Volt One+ 6 in. Car Buffer (Tool Only)
jb61

needs modification

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The included clothes need better design. You have to tie them so tight it's impossible to untie. Also impossible to keep excess string tucked away.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 18-Volt One+ 6 in. Car Buffer (Tool Only)
goodwin906

Ryobi car buffer

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Wish it had come with a battery. But did get me a Drill with TWO batteries for the price of two batteries.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 18-Volt One+ 6 in. Car Buffer (Tool Only)
smartalix
from Brooklyn, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not a bad device, but not the best.

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I had a problem putting the battery in at first, probably some plastic flash in the socket. It worked all right, but I didn't like the bonnets they provided and had to go with my own cloths.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
Cons: not elegant
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 18-Volt One+ 6 in. Car Buffer (Tool Only)
Gene
from Oregon
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very useful

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A compact buffer, easy to use and handle for all of those around the house chores.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 18-Volt One+ 6 in. Car Buffer (Tool Only)
Stugots
from Mass
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works good

PostedMay 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Does what I want having no cord to drag around makes easy to do the job
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 18-Volt One+ 6 in. Car Buffer (Tool Only)
ces123

very easy to use

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
cordless, light, easy to use.. I used this to wax my 2 cars. I love it...
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 18-Volt One+ 6 in. Car Buffer (Tool Only)
NoVAJohn
from Falls Church, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Convenient and good for the money

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Really pleased (and a little surprised) as to how well this buffer works. The cordless convenience (especially when paired with the new lighter-weight battery) is a huge bonus. Great for quick detailing. Still probably need a large plug-in buffer for scratch removal and "heavy" work.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>