728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop French Door Refrigerators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 24.7 Cu. Ft. French Door Refrigerator

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

24.7 Cu. Ft. French Door Refrigerator

24.7 Cu. Ft. French Door Refrigerator with Dispenser, Stainless Steel
Overall rating:
3.818 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
73%of customersrecommend this product24 of 33reviews
Rating Breakdown 33 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(15)
4
(7)
3
(6)
2
(0)
1
(5)
73%of customersrecommend this product24 of 33reviews
Customer reviews for 24.7 Cu. Ft. French Door Refrigerator
Review 1 for 24.7 Cu. Ft. French Door Refrigerator
MarkM
from Bellevue, WA

Make sure you have a local repair/service provider

PostedSeptember 7, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
First of all I live very near downtown Bellevue, WA, a major suburb of Seattle, not out in a rural area.
Home Depot delivered this refrigerator to my home along with a washer and dryer, also made by LG. The refrigerator had to have the doors disassembled and taken off of it so that it could fit through the doors of this older home I live in and then they had to be put back on once inside. The delivery men did not know they would have to do this but they did so without hesitation or any compaint. Very Nice.
I really like this refrigerator for the most part but 4 weeks after it was purchased the Ice Maker stopped functioning. I called LG and was told they were unable to schedule a service call in my area using their computers but that I should call a particular local appliance repair outfit and provided me with their phone number. A call to them resulted in being told they do not repair LG refer's. I called LG back and they provided two more phone numbers, both places refusing to service the refrigerator. Once again to LG who said they would "investigate" and find someone to repair it or they would replace the refrigerator.
They called back with yet another number. That individual said they would have to see what LG faxed to them (to see if it was worth it to them??) and call back. Their phone number is in a different Area Code which could imply that they are quite far away. Two weeks after the ice maker stopped working and I am still waiting for a call back from a repairman to see if its worth his time to repair my refrigerator. I still am waiting for resolution.
Some other comments:
** The August 2006 Consumer's Reports comments (p. 8) that this, their top-rated refrigerator in 2005 is considered an Energy Star appliance but that the Government's tests measure energy consumption in 90-degree ambient room temperatures. When the room is less that 90, this refer has heaters that turn on to keep the door seals pliable and when they are on this refrigerator uses almost the most electricity allowed by law.
** The door has an alarm that signals when the door is open for more than 30 seconds, but the alarm does not sound when the door is just open just a small amount, which can happen if you are not careful. It only goes off when the door is wide open.
** The freezer seems to be a bit slow in getting back to temperature after its been open for loading or rearranging. This may be part of it's energy efficiency?
** The water dispenser is a bit on the short side and doesn't work well with taller glasses.
** Ours is the Stainless finish and like all Stainless it can be difficult to keep looking good. Think twice about the finish.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 24.7 Cu. Ft. French Door Refrigerator
JasonLM
from Cedar Rapids, Ia

Well worth the wait!

PostedAugust 2, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Can you imagine opening the front door of your house and then bending over in order to look outside? That's what is was like using an old fashioned refrigerator with the freezer on top. I used the freezer mostly for ice, but much of it would fall on the floor trying to get it out of the ice bucket. So I waited for the right refrigerator and found the LG French Door with an ice and water dispenser exactly what I needed.
Imagine opening the doors and then, standing straight up, seeing most every food item in front of you. It is well designed, and with the ice dispenser in the door there is no more ice falling on the floor.
I am very pleased to have waited for this model.
Now, why are you waiting?
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 24.7 Cu. Ft. French Door Refrigerator
HSingh
from Portland, OR

Great but not quiet

PostedOctober 14, 2006
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a great fridge, has all the features one could want but if you are looking for something that is quite this is not it. We bought it after a lot of research, thought it was the top of the line and assuming it would be quite. The motor runs all the time and you can hear a constant hum in the house. It is very irrating. We called LG, they sent a mechanic who after checking said there is nothing he could do about it, this is how it is. Since LG says this is how it is, Home Depot will not return/exchange it, so we are stuck with the noise for many years.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 24.7 Cu. Ft. French Door Refrigerator
Coventry1
from Coventry, RI

LG Frig

PostedAugust 26, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We recently purchased this refrigerator and we love it. It has more than enough room in the interior and then some. The freezer space is very roomy. We try to keep it organized as best we can to find everything quickly. We keep our bread in the freezer and the top shelf is handy for that reason. We love the ice and water on the door. Ice comes out in two different sizes. Very handy! There is an alarm if the refrigerator is left open too long. Only drawback is make sure the freezer is closed all the way because no alarm went off with it open a little bit on a hot day and ice cream started to melt. Tilt door requires a good pull, but maybe it will break in. We don't find we use that feature just yet.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 24.7 Cu. Ft. French Door Refrigerator
idsftbll33
from northern california (redwoods)

great find

PostedSeptember 12, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
found this item at the home depot. great buy and great options. easy to access all food items in both refrig and freezer sections. we don't seem to waste food anymore that is lost in the back of the fridge. digital door panel options a plus. works great for our family. there is a chime when the doors are open too long. the kids now don't stand in front of the frig with the doors open and graze anymore. easy to clean. really glad we made the purchase.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 24.7 Cu. Ft. French Door Refrigerator
Mary1098
from Franklinville, NJ

Way Cool!

PostedApril 30, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When I had to buy a refrigerator, I knew I was just going to buy the best. My friend had just gotten a Maytag like this one & was very excited until she saw how much room she lost because of the huge icemaker. The LG icemaker is a lot smaller & the remaining space can be used for other items other than soda can (which is the only thing you can put on the Maytag door) It has been great. Quiet. Love the door alarm (for my night eating husband). It has lots of great gadgets - outside & inside temp - filter countdown & it is the only fridge like this that makes crushed ice. I read reviews on all the refrigerator makes & must have visited any store that sold appliances for months. This was the best rated & for the money, the most spacious! And while I was at it I bought the LG stainless semi-integrated dishwasher. That, too, is a dream product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 24.7 Cu. Ft. French Door Refrigerator
Harrry
from Phoenix, az

Copycat fridge...

PostedApril 27, 2007
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This fridge is a copy of the Maytag fridge... but it does not take up much fridge space for the ice maker... you only loose about 1 1/12 shelfs in the door... I would say this is an OK fridge but LG likes to use inexpensive parts in their appliances so watch for signs of problems early... DEFINITELY GET AN ADDITIONAL WARRANTY ON ANY LG PRODUCTS!!
over all review.. decent fridge but be wary of problems!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 24.7 Cu. Ft. French Door Refrigerator
Tuff
from Union City, CA

LG LFX25960 French Door Refrigerator

PostedApril 10, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
One of the best refrigerator that came out of the market today. It's very sleek looking, especially the stainless steel, and the door handles for the three doors dresses up the appliance. I built a special cabinet for it and it fits perfectly into the maple/cherry cabinet. Another plus for this appliance is the heavy-duty construction of the facade and the quiteness of its motor...we hardly hear any noise. We like the alarm system that is built into the system and also LED outside temperature light. The shelving units are very easy to move around without any impediment. The inside freezer door moves freely and it's very easy to reach into. I highly recommend this LG refrigerator.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 24.7 Cu. Ft. French Door Refrigerator
SingingCook
from Lompoc, CA

May Check Another Brand

PostedSeptember 7, 2007
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a beautiful & functional appliance. The alarm when the door is left open has been a lifesaver! The bottom drawers in the refrigerator are roomy. The top drawer in the freezer is nice; however, I would prefer a deeper top drawer & some kind of dividers/drawers on the bottom part. Just like the chest freezers, I never see things on the bottom. My biggest complaint is the size of the ice/water dispenser area. Most of my glasses won't fit. I have to tilt it in & hold the back part with my hand so it will dispense. I never had a problem with my old one, so I didn't think to measure before we bought.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 24.7 Cu. Ft. French Door Refrigerator
NoMas
from Tega Cay, SC

Too many problems

PostedAugust 2, 2007
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Overall I really like most LG products but this fridge model cannot be recommended due to ongoing issues. I purchased mine in March and this is the 3rd unit and it has a problem too - 1st one had bulging sides and wouldn't fit, second was leaking water out of the ice maker, and the 3rd has a control panel that locks up and the freezer liner is sagging. The water/ice dispenser only takes small glasses which is a pain but you have to press a button every time to change from ice to water which is very inconvenient. Ice maker overflows every now & then which has been reported by a lot of people.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 24.7 Cu. Ft. French Door Refrigerator
FrequentCustomer
from Northern Kentucky

LG French Door is big

PostedFebruary 5, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I just recieved this a week ago, so I can not provide any feed back on any repair issues yet. I will post another review in about 6 months as a follow up. That being said, I am very happy with the purchase. We looked at the Maytag and preferred the design, but the construction for a $2500 refrigerator made me nervous. Flimsy interior parts. The LG feels better. the drawers operate well. ONE WORD OF CAUTION. If this is your first purchase of a refridgerator like this, it is BIG. It fit in my kicthen OK, no cabinets to either side, but it is BIG. In the store it is tough to judge the size.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 24.7 Cu. Ft. French Door Refrigerator
Hersheygirl

GREAT! GREAT! GREAT! GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedApril 8, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This item is GREAT!!!!!!!!!!! I would recomed this to anybody who needs a new fridge. Me and my family just got it acouple of days ago and we love it. the freezer underneath is nice becuse you don't have to reach behind other things to get stuff. Another thing good about the freezer is that the fridge is wider.(Not so skinny.) We are even contenuing to buy other LG products.(because the fridge is so nice!!!)this is a great pruduct and is easy to handle. THE WHOLE THING IS NICE AND IT SO BIG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! IT SO GREAT!!!!! STOP SERCHING BECAUSE YOU'V FOUND YOUR MATCH!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 24.7 Cu. Ft. French Door Refrigerator
dn2525
from wisconsin

excellent product for the price

PostedNovember 14, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I absolutely love the look of my fridge and the storage options offered by the repositionable bins in the frigde as well. Lots of compliments on it when people visit.
My fridge runs quietly the only thing I ever hear is the icemaker- I did however get the model without the ice dispensor in the door as that wastes too much space in the fridge.
Well designed product I would recommend this very highly to anyone wanting to upgrade the look of their kitchen without breaking the bank. I use stainless steel magic to clean the outside of the fridge, it works great !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 24.7 Cu. Ft. French Door Refrigerator
johnthegreen
from Port Jervis, NY

A decent item, overpriced

PostedMarch 3, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I love the look of this french door refrigerator/freezer. I have it in the stainless steel. The only problem with the look is keeping the doors clean. The owners manual directions to clean it do not work. The area where one would place their cup to gather ice and water is extremely small, be prepared to use only small cups there. The filter is nice and easy to contend with. The door seal is nice and tight, but sometimes, I pull the whole refrigerator out an inch or two trying to open the doors. The digital display is OK at best, and I found that a lot of times I have to touch the controls several times before they will register. All in all, I like it, it compliments my kitchen. The price is way to much for what you get though.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 24.7 Cu. Ft. French Door Refrigerator
ValleyGirl
from Phoenix

if you like ice don't buy this frig

PostedMay 23, 2007
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I couldn't wait for my new LG French door refrigerator w/ icemaker to be delivered. After a long back order we finally received it. I have been very dissapointed with it ever since. We have only 3 in our family and this ice maker canno't provide us with enough ice. It always runs out and the bin is never full. I had LG come out and replace the ice maker motor and it still does not make enough ice. I even had my builder come out and check the water lines and replace the R/O still no ice. LG service department is not very helpful either.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 24.7 Cu. Ft. French Door Refrigerator
Athenaa
from Louisiana

Sleek and Functional

PostedJanuary 19, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The modern sleek design of this LG model will look wonderful in any kitchen. The bottom pull-out tilt freezer makes loading easy and is large accomidating large amounts of items.
The refigerator runs quietly and when door is open for an extended period of time an alarm warns to close it.
The one thing to look out for is that the large doors have to be pushed shut. If lightly pushed the seal is not made and door is not shut tightly.
I had never owned a LG appliance and was happy that I purchased LG washer and dryers!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 24.7 Cu. Ft. French Door Refrigerator
Rater
from Certified Energy Rater, Florida

Always check Labels and Dispenser before you buy!

PostedFebruary 28, 2007
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought this LG Refrigerator 3-door with ice and it has some big issues we didn't check, and I recommend you do before buying this one! It's difficult to use the water and ice dispenser you have to push the cup square against the pad, notice how I say CUP! You can only use small glass size 12 ounce, second issue is the one model we received from HomeDepot labels do not match! The one in the store uses 4.5 amps and the one we got use 6.2 amps both look the same but ours will cost us more on our electric bill... Size of refrigerator is very Good and the ice maker is fast making ice but it's hard to get it out... 12 ounce Cup size must be glass or a strong plastic, to weak of a cup will not press against the pad good enough to work... Check before you buy this one....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 24.7 Cu. Ft. French Door Refrigerator
ddarcy583
from Freehold, NJ

Loving my new fridge

PostedFebruary 2, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this fridge over the Maytag Ice2O (which was rated very highly by Consumer Reports) mainly due to the fact that it offers a crushed ice feature & the icemaker didn't take up a lot of storage in the fridge.
I read a number of reviews saying that the fridge was loud. My Master Bedroom was an additon to our house & and the fridge is right outside our bedroom door. I am a very light & I can be hoest & say that it is pretty quite. I have head the ice fall into the bucket, but it has not woken me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 24.7 Cu. Ft. French Door Refrigerator
dukekj
from Richmond, VA

Smart Design!

PostedMay 9, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We love our LG French Door Refrigerator. There is a massive amount of space in the top, prefect for pizza boxes, and the drawer system for the freezer helps to keep food organized. We have been very pleased with the quality of the product and it looks great in our kitchen! We have received many complements on it! Only problem has been that recently the ice maker mysteriously stopped working, but LG is sending someone next week at no cost.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 24.7 Cu. Ft. French Door Refrigerator
Rater
from Certified Energy Rater, Florida

Water/ Ice depencer

PostedMarch 9, 2007
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Service on LG is a problem nobody wants to work on them and the water / Ice despencer is very hard to work you can only use small cups anything larger will require your fingers behind the glass to press the botton, this is a very bad design! Just look at the picture on Home Depot web page you can see how small it is! Be aware of purchasing this model LFX25960 and LFX25970. Also power usage is higher on all units newer then 2006...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>