728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Woodworking Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 10 in. Drill Press

10 in. Drill Press

The 5 speed selections of the Ryobi 10 in. Drill Press help you complete a wide range of drilling applications. Powered by a heavy-duty induction motor for long-lasting performance, this drill press swivels 360 degrees and accepts mortising attachments for added versatility. The drill press features an Exactline laser alignment system that offers great precision. A storage compartment conveniently holds chuck keys for easy accessibility.
Overall rating:
3.677 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(102 reviews) 102
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product74 of 95reviews
Rating Breakdown 102 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(38)
4
(29)
3
(13)
2
(8)
1
(14)
Quality 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product74 of 95reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for 10 in. Drill Press
Review 1 for 10 in. Drill Press
from New York City
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good drill press

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I just bought this drill press from my local home depot and i couldn't be more happy with it. the drill was easy to assemble, the instructions were clear and it runs smoothly. an added bonus was that the drill chuck alignment and laser were spot on straight out of the box. to switch the speeds could be a little easier because one has to reach over the drill press to the back in order to change it. the fence is sturdy when tightened, but if one wants to change the height of the table the alignment is off and one would have to fix that. the last issue with this is also a minor one but when i wanted to change the speed to its lowest i heard a strange grinding noise and discovered that the belt was rubbing against 2 bolts inside the lid. i fixed this problem easily by just filing the tops of the bolts until it ran smoothly
overall its a great drill press and i would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a decent quality cheap drill press
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 10 in. Drill Press
from Chula Vista, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Hobby Drill Press

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've owned this drill press for more than three years now. Overall, I'm beyond pleased with this tool. I purchased this for a single project and have used it more frequently than I ever thought I would.
Keep in mind this press primarily for use on woods and plastics. I have used it on some metals (up to 1/4" steel) with mixed results, but as far as hobby-level wood working, it's great. I've used all types of bits and even a larger hole saw on hard and soft woods without problems.
Considering the price, this is a no-brainer. Buy this drill!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 10 in. Drill Press
from SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A little Work Horse

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had this drill press about 3 years and it's been great. It has no run out and drills great with forstner, brad, spade and all other bits. The lasers are repeatable once set. I haven't touched them since the initial adjustment. The perfect drill press for the small shop.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+16points
21out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 10 in. Drill Press
from Cincinnati, Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poorly manufactured

PostedMay 19, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
1) Non-power components (table assy, etc) are cheaply cast ; they're subject to breakage & cracking under normal use. On the plus side, parts are pretty darn cheap and shipping is quick and repairs are simple. 2) The laser feature is easily misaligned under normal use; so, readjustments are frequently required. Nevertheless, the laser feature is a godsend for those of us lacking in talent. 3) Bit rotation is relatively slow. However, using quality diamond drill bits will do the job. 4)The bit chuck has a sloppy tolerance thus, unsuitable for precision machining. But it's great for general wood-working.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, Limited Features, poor tolerance, poor construction
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 10 in. Drill Press
from Sherwood, OR, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good drill press for price

PostedMay 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a loyal Ryobi user. I own numerous 18v cordless Ryobi tools, making the decision to be a 'Ryobi guy' decades ago and I love them. Also, I now have a corded Ryobi chop saw and the drill press. That said, my advice for the buyer; understand what you are getting when you purchase Ryobi. It is not a top end tool! If that is what you are looking for, don't go cheap and go to the Makita, Milwaukee, Rockwell and Porter Cable wall. Ryobi provides great tools for the weekend warrior and small scale woodworker/ home improvement enthusiast (my 20 year old Ryobi 18v starter set has seen 3 successful house flips and is still going strong, even my recip saw that I recently had to completely take apart and clean the 5 pounds of drywall dust out of- it runs like new but the motor does spark on start-up a little...).
I get a little tired of seeing reviews hammering Ryobi for being poor quality. While I have purchased and returned a Ryobi tool or two over the years when it didn't suit my needs or I felt were inferior quality (thanks home depot for your great return policy!) by and large the tools I get from Ryobi suit my needs well and don't hurt my limited budget.
As for the drill press, it was inexpensive, easy to assemble and is perfectly balanced and true. I am thrilled with this purchase and plan on using it often when I retire in 4 years and pursue my second career in small scale woodworking. And special props to my friend who works in the tool department at my local Home Depot, Dino. We always have a great conversation and he knows my needs and provides great advice.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 10 in. Drill Press
from Northwest PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Value, Pleasantly Surprised at the results

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
First, a little background. I am a homeowner and avid DIY'er. I needed a drill press to drill 35mm holes in oak cabinet doors for hidden hinges. I have about 24 doors to do, so a drill press was really the only way to do this with precision and consistent results.
I read all the reviews of this drill as well as the competition within this price range. I was a little hesitant but decided to go ahead and purchase it because it was the only model my local store had in stock and I needed to get something right away to finish this cabinet project on schedule. I also bought the 2-year replacement plan for an additional $18 in case it dies out beyond the usual 90-day return window.
I’ll begin with the pros and cons and then you can decide if you want to read the whole review.
Cons:
Table height adjustment mechanism is sloppy due to poor machine work / design
Quality Control – missing parts
Pros:
Value—This machine is packed with a lot of features for the price.
Relatively smooth and quiet operation
Easy to use
My first impression was that this little machine is actually very solid overall...much heavier and substantial than I was expecting. The assembly was pretty straightforward and the instructions were clearly written and easy to follow. Just about anybody can assemble this machine without difficulty.
As a previous reviewer stated, latex gloves, paper towels, and some type of degreaser are highly recommended as you unpack the parts. The heavy cast iron base and the adjustable table are coated with a preservative grease to prevent corrosion. I used a little electrical contact cleaner sprayed on a paper towel and the parts wiped clean with no trouble. After assembly, a light film of WD-40 or other corrosion inhibiting spray will preserve the machined surface, especially if the drill is used in a damp basement or garage.
The first issue I noticed was simply the absence of any type of lock washer for the 4 bolts that secure the vertical mount to the base. I recommend that you use a lockwasher to increase the security of these fasteners.
As I assembled the adjustable table, I noted that the machine work on the gears allows for a bit of slop in the adjustment mechanism. There is a worm gear that engages a rack in order to adjust the table up and down. The mechanism actually operates ok, but with a small amount of binding and a fair amount of slop between the moving gears. Also, the hole in the table housing through which the worm gear passes is definitely larger in diameter than the gear itself, also contributing to extra play. The height mechanism actually functions ok, especially if you help lift the table with your left hand as you use the adjustment knob with your right. Bottom line on this part—it works but could definitely have been designed and executed better.
The “Head Assembly” which includes the motor, pulleys, belt, chuck, and electrical components (the bulk of the machine, and the most complex parts) comes pretty much fully assembled right out of the box. I say pretty much, because all you have to do is install the chuck on the head assembly. This is as simple as placing the chuck on the tapered shaft and giving it a couple of whacks with a mallet and a block of wood.
The first defect I noticed was that the battery box for the AA batteries (that power the lasers) was actually missing the electrical contacts on the end opposite where the wires are connected. (I think another reviewer had this problem as well.) As before, with the washers, I was able to scrounge around my workshop and come up with an old battery pack that I could steal the contacts from. Once I did this, the laser guide lines worked great, and were actually properly calibrated from the factory. I did not have to adjust them at all, but the process to do so is described in the instructions if necessary.
At this point, I stole a light bulb from my wife’s chandelier and installed it in the head assembly. I plugged in the machine and turned it on. I was actually impressed by how smooth and quiet it sounded. Next, I adjusted the belt on the pulleys to achieve the slowest speed possible, since I was going to be drilling a whole bunch of large (35mm) holes. The belt adjustment is very simple and explained in the manual. The only question I had was how tight to make the belt after changing the pulley location. The manual doesn’t cover this, so I just tightened it until it felt “right”.
Caution: The pulleys are some type of plastic or composite material, so I would not try to make the belt super tight. This would also place an undue strain on the bearings of the motor as well as the drilling head.
Another happy surprise: The “runout” on the chuck and drill bit (the amount of lateral displacement of the drill bit from its center as it rotates) was virtually zero. As a previous reviewer had recommended, I cleaned the shaft and the chuck very thoroughly prior to installing the chuck.
Now, it was finally time to drill some holes. I installed a 1’ x 3’ piece of ¾” MDF to the table with a couple of screws from the bottom to give me a good work surface for the cabinet doors. I laid my door on the table and used the laser guide lines to locate the door and then applied a couple of quick clamps. The depth gauge on the drill head is easy to use, but I did note that the vertical travel of the drill head is not perfectly smooth. There is a very small amount of binding or resistance when it comes to moving the drill head up or down—but not enough to pose a problem. This may or may not lessen as the machine gets “broken in”.
Final Thoughts: I drilled 3 doors (6 hinge cups) and was thoroughly pleased with the results. I set the depth for the first hole and after that the next 5 holes came out exactly as the first. Considering that I am drilling a 1 and 3/8” hole in an oak door, I think that the machine worked great. I took about 1 minute to drill each hole and probably could have done it quicker but I want to “baby” the machine so that it will last me a long time. I felt the motor after each hole to check for heat, and it was warm, but not hot.
Bottom line: I’m happy with my purchase and would buy one again.
Pros: Easy to Use, smooth and quiet
Cons: missing parts, poor machine work on height adjust
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 10 in. Drill Press
from Angleton, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

My most used tool in my workshop, when my wife is not using it.

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This drill press is a throw back to a forgotten era, when tools were made of cast iron and well built. Then add the laser lights that criss cross the work area and a work light that covers the entire work area well and you have a very modern tool with great bones.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 10 in. Drill Press
from New Mexico
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I am very pleased with thi drill press.

PostedJanuary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The instructions for assembly were easy to follow. I have used this drill press for a several projects and it is very easy to use. The laser sights need to be callibrated before use because they were not accurate. The callibration was easy.
Pros: Easy to Use, good buy for purchase price
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+10points
14out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 10 in. Drill Press
from Pacific Northwest
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value if you ignore the instructions

PostedMay 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When I first set up the tool, the run out was insane: about 0.050 with a bit extending just 2in. from the chuck. In other words, it was completely useless. Instead of returning it, I did some poking about in the web to see if there was a remedy. Looking at numerous forums outside of the HD website, I learned that was a fairly common problem. Then I learned that the problem is usually caused by grease, dirt, and inadequate finishing of the spindle and the chuck bore.
The assembly directions say to mount the chuck on the spindle before mounting the head assembly on the column.
Try this instead:
1: Assemble the tool without the chuck mounted.
2: Thoroughly clean the spindle with solvent, and wipe it dry.
3: Set the pulley to the highest speed and turn the machine on. With the tool running, polish the spindle for about 2 minutes with #600 paper. Turn off the tool and clean the spindle again.
4: Clean the bore of the chuck with solvent, and hand-polish with #600 paper. Clean it again.
5: Swing the table out of the way and mount the chuck. There is no need to remove and invert the head assembly.
After doing that, the run-out was reduced to .003 with a bit extending 4in. from the face of the chuck, close enough for my needs.
With that issue out of the way, I am quite satisfied. It gets only 4 stars because the column gear rack is very poorly finished.
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 10 in. Drill Press
from West Hollywood CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did not hold up during warranty

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this machine to burnish leather in the den of my condominium. The method involved is holding l the side of latigo leather strips against a rotating wooden tool with steel shank. Weekly usage has been less than a couple hours a day and not every day. The machine was noisy from day 1 but my expectations of this machine were low from the start. because of the price I paid.. I will try to get a refund through warranty as I don't want another one of these. Next I will be shopping for a new brand of drill press that has better specs than this model and am prepared to spend more.
Pros: Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, Noisy, belt adjustment
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 10 in. Drill Press
from NW PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor workmanship

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I needed a drill press for home projects, nothing for heavy-duty, so after reading some very thorough reviews on here I decided on this one. Once I got it home and opened the box, I pulled the base plate out and sat it on my bench. Lo and behold, the base plate rocked at the corners. I can't say how well the product operated, because obviously one can't use an unstable base. So back to the Depot it goes and rather than chance another like this I'll probably pay more for a different model.
Cons: unstable
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 10 in. Drill Press
from Hickory, NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Decent home shop drill press

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After I repaired the wiring it worked fine.
The first problem was the wiring to the work light switch - one of the terminals was disconnected from the switch lug. I disassembled the switch panel and noticed that one of the main switch terminals had been installed incorrectly and it pulled off with the panel movement. I repaired the lug and reassembled it all.
Now it works well.
So, my recommendation is - Buy one if you're willing to chance having to troubleshoot and repair it or to return it.
Cons: defective out of the box
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 10 in. Drill Press
from Auburn, NY

10 In. Drill Press

PostedOctober 3, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is very nice small drill press. The price was very reasonable, and I am somewhat surprised as to how good the quality of the press is compared to other similar presses. As an Art student, I needed a small drill press for precisely drilling holes for my sculpture. This press is very accurate, and accepts a wide range of drill bit sizes, all the way down to the really tiny ones. As for the reviewer who said the press had no power, I should mention that the press ships with the drive belt very loose. Once I tightened the adjustment knob behind the motor (a step I don’t recall seeing in the setup directions) the press worked great, with plenty of power for everything I have used it for.
+44points
47out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 10 in. Drill Press
from Colebrook, NH, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good quality for the price

PostedJuly 12, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had been searching for a bench drill press for many months and after reading dozens of reviews on several drill presses, I decided on this one. Setup took only about an hour and the instructions were very easy to follow. The table adjustment mechanism is a little sloppy but the gears are metal and not plastic. After setup I drilled a 7/64" hole in a hardened steel hinge pin with a used drill bit. No problem at all. I did have to adjust the lasers but that took about 30 sec.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+41points
43out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 10 in. Drill Press
from Mid Florida

First Drill Press

PostedMay 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My daughters project called for boring 144 holes 3/4 inch deep using a 1 15/16" Forstner bit in pressure treated wood.
Went to HD and picked this machine after reading the reviews.
The set up was easy and straightforward although I had to slightly align the laser which was a snap.
The laser was a huge time saver!
The Ryobi powered through the job effortlessly.
I did some research on drill presses and went back to HD to pick up sanding drums, grinders and wire brushes.
My new favorite tool.
+32points
34out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 10 in. Drill Press
from Wauchula, Florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great starter drill press

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great starter drill press. If you want to add an affordable drill press to your arsenal, this is a great choice. This drill press lacks some features found on the 'higher end' models, but I have no complaints for the overall performance and operation of this model. I have only used this drill press for wood working, and have used drill bits, forstners, spades and bore hole cutters.... all have worked great with this press with no drag lag during a cut.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 10 in. Drill Press
from Tampa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Drill press ryobi

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Awesome machine earned its keep allready planing on using it a lot
Pros: Durable, Strong Suction, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 10 in. Drill Press
from Linden, Michigan
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far, so good.

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Accurate and easy to set up and use. I've been able to do things I never could with a hand drill - even with a holding jig. It's got plenty of power to cut through 2x4s using a large forstner bit. Adjustments are solid and hold true. Belt tensioning is easy and tensioner locks. Plenty of room on the table to clamp items being drilled. All in all, it is a good machine and I am happy with it.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: no instruction on amount to belt tension to use.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 10 in. Drill Press

no drilling power

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
fine adjustment limited. no power. drill bit stops with lite pressure applied. no reverse feature.
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 10 in. Drill Press
from Arizona

Great little drill press for the money

PostedJune 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a machinist by trade but now work in wood. This is a nice little drill press. I have only used it on wood and the speeds are a little high for metal and will burn up a cheap drill bit. Assembly was easy and the laser is very accurate. This is my 3rd Ryobi tool and I will definately buy more.
+31points
32out of 33found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>