728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Woodworking Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 10 in. Drill Press

10 in. Drill Press

The 5 speed selections of the Ryobi 10 in. Drill Press help you complete a wide range of drilling applications. Powered by a heavy-duty induction motor for long-lasting performance, this drill press swivels 360 degrees and accepts mortising attachments for added versatility. The drill press features an Exactline laser alignment system that offers great precision. A storage compartment conveniently holds chuck keys for easy accessibility.
Overall rating:
3.578 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(83 reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
77%of customersrecommend this product60 of 78reviews
Rating Breakdown 83 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(30)
4
(21)
3
(13)
2
(5)
1
(14)
Quality 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
77%of customersrecommend this product60 of 78reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for 10 in. Drill Press
Review 1 for 10 in. Drill Press
timmy

no drilling power

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
fine adjustment limited. no power. drill bit stops with lite pressure applied. no reverse feature.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 10 in. Drill Press
SnowmanPA
from Northwest PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Value, Pleasantly Surprised at the results

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
First, a little background. I am a homeowner and avid DIY'er. I needed a drill press to drill 35mm holes in oak cabinet doors for hidden hinges. I have about 24 doors to do, so a drill press was really the only way to do this with precision and consistent results.
I read all the reviews of this drill as well as the competition within this price range. I was a little hesitant but decided to go ahead and purchase it because it was the only model my local store had in stock and I needed to get something right away to finish this cabinet project on schedule. I also bought the 2-year replacement plan for an additional $18 in case it dies out beyond the usual 90-day return window.
I’ll begin with the pros and cons and then you can decide if you want to read the whole review.
Cons:
Table height adjustment mechanism is sloppy due to poor machine work / design
Quality Control – missing parts
Pros:
Value—This machine is packed with a lot of features for the price.
Relatively smooth and quiet operation
Easy to use
My first impression was that this little machine is actually very solid overall...much heavier and substantial than I was expecting. The assembly was pretty straightforward and the instructions were clearly written and easy to follow. Just about anybody can assemble this machine without difficulty.
As a previous reviewer stated, latex gloves, paper towels, and some type of degreaser are highly recommended as you unpack the parts. The heavy cast iron base and the adjustable table are coated with a preservative grease to prevent corrosion. I used a little electrical contact cleaner sprayed on a paper towel and the parts wiped clean with no trouble. After assembly, a light film of WD-40 or other corrosion inhibiting spray will preserve the machined surface, especially if the drill is used in a damp basement or garage.
The first issue I noticed was simply the absence of any type of lock washer for the 4 bolts that secure the vertical mount to the base. I recommend that you use a lockwasher to increase the security of these fasteners.
As I assembled the adjustable table, I noted that the machine work on the gears allows for a bit of slop in the adjustment mechanism. There is a worm gear that engages a rack in order to adjust the table up and down. The mechanism actually operates ok, but with a small amount of binding and a fair amount of slop between the moving gears. Also, the hole in the table housing through which the worm gear passes is definitely larger in diameter than the gear itself, also contributing to extra play. The height mechanism actually functions ok, especially if you help lift the table with your left hand as you use the adjustment knob with your right. Bottom line on this part—it works but could definitely have been designed and executed better.
The “Head Assembly” which includes the motor, pulleys, belt, chuck, and electrical components (the bulk of the machine, and the most complex parts) comes pretty much fully assembled right out of the box. I say pretty much, because all you have to do is install the chuck on the head assembly. This is as simple as placing the chuck on the tapered shaft and giving it a couple of whacks with a mallet and a block of wood.
The first defect I noticed was that the battery box for the AA batteries (that power the lasers) was actually missing the electrical contacts on the end opposite where the wires are connected. (I think another reviewer had this problem as well.) As before, with the washers, I was able to scrounge around my workshop and come up with an old battery pack that I could steal the contacts from. Once I did this, the laser guide lines worked great, and were actually properly calibrated from the factory. I did not have to adjust them at all, but the process to do so is described in the instructions if necessary.
At this point, I stole a light bulb from my wife’s chandelier and installed it in the head assembly. I plugged in the machine and turned it on. I was actually impressed by how smooth and quiet it sounded. Next, I adjusted the belt on the pulleys to achieve the slowest speed possible, since I was going to be drilling a whole bunch of large (35mm) holes. The belt adjustment is very simple and explained in the manual. The only question I had was how tight to make the belt after changing the pulley location. The manual doesn’t cover this, so I just tightened it until it felt “right”.
Caution: The pulleys are some type of plastic or composite material, so I would not try to make the belt super tight. This would also place an undue strain on the bearings of the motor as well as the drilling head.
Another happy surprise: The “runout” on the chuck and drill bit (the amount of lateral displacement of the drill bit from its center as it rotates) was virtually zero. As a previous reviewer had recommended, I cleaned the shaft and the chuck very thoroughly prior to installing the chuck.
Now, it was finally time to drill some holes. I installed a 1’ x 3’ piece of ¾” MDF to the table with a couple of screws from the bottom to give me a good work surface for the cabinet doors. I laid my door on the table and used the laser guide lines to locate the door and then applied a couple of quick clamps. The depth gauge on the drill head is easy to use, but I did note that the vertical travel of the drill head is not perfectly smooth. There is a very small amount of binding or resistance when it comes to moving the drill head up or down—but not enough to pose a problem. This may or may not lessen as the machine gets “broken in”.
Final Thoughts: I drilled 3 doors (6 hinge cups) and was thoroughly pleased with the results. I set the depth for the first hole and after that the next 5 holes came out exactly as the first. Considering that I am drilling a 1 and 3/8” hole in an oak door, I think that the machine worked great. I took about 1 minute to drill each hole and probably could have done it quicker but I want to “baby” the machine so that it will last me a long time. I felt the motor after each hole to check for heat, and it was warm, but not hot.
Bottom line: I’m happy with my purchase and would buy one again.
Pros: Easy to Use, smooth and quiet
Cons: missing parts, poor machine work on height adjust
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 10 in. Drill Press
Cutworm
from SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A little Work Horse

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had this drill press about 3 years and it's been great. It has no run out and drills great with forstner, brad, spade and all other bits. The lasers are repeatable once set. I haven't touched them since the initial adjustment. The perfect drill press for the small shop.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+15points
20out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 10 in. Drill Press
OldHam
from Hickory, NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Decent home shop drill press

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After I repaired the wiring it worked fine.
The first problem was the wiring to the work light switch - one of the terminals was disconnected from the switch lug. I disassembled the switch panel and noticed that one of the main switch terminals had been installed incorrectly and it pulled off with the panel movement. I repaired the lug and reassembled it all.
Now it works well.
So, my recommendation is - Buy one if you're willing to chance having to troubleshoot and repair it or to return it.
Cons: defective out of the box
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 10 in. Drill Press
Grace
from New Mexico
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I am very pleased with thi drill press.

PostedJanuary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The instructions for assembly were easy to follow. I have used this drill press for a several projects and it is very easy to use. The laser sights need to be callibrated before use because they were not accurate. The callibration was easy.
Pros: Easy to Use, good buy for purchase price
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+10points
14out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 10 in. Drill Press
Catbone
from Pacific Northwest
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value if you ignore the instructions

PostedMay 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When I first set up the tool, the run out was insane: about 0.050 with a bit extending just 2in. from the chuck. In other words, it was completely useless. Instead of returning it, I did some poking about in the web to see if there was a remedy. Looking at numerous forums outside of the HD website, I learned that was a fairly common problem. Then I learned that the problem is usually caused by grease, dirt, and inadequate finishing of the spindle and the chuck bore.
The assembly directions say to mount the chuck on the spindle before mounting the head assembly on the column.
Try this instead:
1: Assemble the tool without the chuck mounted.
2: Thoroughly clean the spindle with solvent, and wipe it dry.
3: Set the pulley to the highest speed and turn the machine on. With the tool running, polish the spindle for about 2 minutes with #600 paper. Turn off the tool and clean the spindle again.
4: Clean the bore of the chuck with solvent, and hand-polish with #600 paper. Clean it again.
5: Swing the table out of the way and mount the chuck. There is no need to remove and invert the head assembly.
After doing that, the run-out was reduced to .003 with a bit extending 4in. from the face of the chuck, close enough for my needs.
With that issue out of the way, I am quite satisfied. It gets only 4 stars because the column gear rack is very poorly finished.
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 10 in. Drill Press
Homeowner
from NW PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor workmanship

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I needed a drill press for home projects, nothing for heavy-duty, so after reading some very thorough reviews on here I decided on this one. Once I got it home and opened the box, I pulled the base plate out and sat it on my bench. Lo and behold, the base plate rocked at the corners. I can't say how well the product operated, because obviously one can't use an unstable base. So back to the Depot it goes and rather than chance another like this I'll probably pay more for a different model.
Cons: unstable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 10 in. Drill Press
Benv
from Denver Colorado
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ugh. Cheap quality and broken parts.

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product is poorly designed and pieces that break. Here are the problems that I have found:
1) Heavy. The drill press uses lots of very poor quality cast iron.
2) Drill bit wobbles. If you want accuracy (which is usually a good reason to buy a drill press) don't buy this one!
3) Poor design of chuck. You literally have to friction fit the drill press head into place. I have had this fall out when drilling into a board!
4) Poor quality. I have had two parts break off. The handle that lowers the drill bit slips off even when the set screw is tightened.
5) Base won't tighten down enough. The handle that tightens the base broke off but even before it broke off, it couldn't be tightened enoguh to keep the base from moving side to side.
6) Lousy vertical adjustment. In order to adjust drill plate height you have to loosen the plate first then roll it up. The track that it follows is another friction fit connection which wobbles around as you raise/lower the drill plate.
7) Missing light. To top everything off, the light didn't work on the unit I purchased.
Cons: Not Durable, Limited Features, Too Heavy
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 10 in. Drill Press
dwicwic
from Colebrook, NH, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good quality for the price

PostedJuly 12, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had been searching for a bench drill press for many months and after reading dozens of reviews on several drill presses, I decided on this one. Setup took only about an hour and the instructions were very easy to follow. The table adjustment mechanism is a little sloppy but the gears are metal and not plastic. After setup I drilled a 7/64" hole in a hardened steel hinge pin with a used drill bit. No problem at all. I did have to adjust the lasers but that took about 30 sec.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+40points
42out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 10 in. Drill Press
RobertL
from Auburn, NY

10 In. Drill Press

PostedOctober 3, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is very nice small drill press. The price was very reasonable, and I am somewhat surprised as to how good the quality of the press is compared to other similar presses. As an Art student, I needed a small drill press for precisely drilling holes for my sculpture. This press is very accurate, and accepts a wide range of drill bit sizes, all the way down to the really tiny ones. As for the reviewer who said the press had no power, I should mention that the press ships with the drive belt very loose. Once I tightened the adjustment knob behind the motor (a step I don’t recall seeing in the setup directions) the press worked great, with plenty of power for everything I have used it for.
+43points
46out of 49found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 10 in. Drill Press
logger79
from Montana
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Adequate for non-precision work

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is my first drill press, so I have no comparisons that I can make. It seems to do a decent job for the price. I am working on projects that require fairly exact measurements, however, and I am having a few problems. First is the difficulty tightening the table so that it doesn't move once set (I lubed the threads on the bolt, and that helped somewhat). Next, the tilt gauge on the table is not accurate. Lastly, the stroke is only approximately 2 & 3/8", which makes it tricky to drill through a 2 x 4 in a jig and then move to the next hole, but that was as advertised, so I knew it when I made the decision to buy. Overall, it is probably a good value for the occasional user.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 10 in. Drill Press
KECnTN

Good drill press

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
For a small table top drill press this one is pretty good. It might not be the most accurate press around, but it will produce better results than trying to drill free handed. The laser is really not much use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 10 in. Drill Press
steve
from westfield ny
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

cant buy parts

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
return spring breaks and you know have a worthless tool over a $5 spring. shouldn't sell things you cant get parts for
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 10 in. Drill Press
CinFL
from Mid Florida

First Drill Press

PostedMay 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My daughters project called for boring 144 holes 3/4 inch deep using a 1 15/16" Forstner bit in pressure treated wood.
Went to HD and picked this machine after reading the reviews.
The set up was easy and straightforward although I had to slightly align the laser which was a snap.
The laser was a huge time saver!
The Ryobi powered through the job effortlessly.
I did some research on drill presses and went back to HD to pick up sanding drums, grinders and wire brushes.
My new favorite tool.
+32points
34out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 10 in. Drill Press
PaulCoMat
from Arizona

Great little drill press for the money

PostedJune 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a machinist by trade but now work in wood. This is a nice little drill press. I have only used it on wood and the speeds are a little high for metal and will burn up a cheap drill bit. Assembly was easy and the laser is very accurate. This is my 3rd Ryobi tool and I will definately buy more.
+31points
32out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 10 in. Drill Press
lilrabbit
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Good value, requires care in set up...

PostedJune 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
...which is true of most stationary power tools.
Given some of the reviews here, I had low expectations, but I looked at the display model before buying and thought it was just fine for the price. When I got it home and set it up I was even more favorably impressed. This is a lot of drill for the price, and while the iron castings are a bit rough, the machining seems to be quite accurate. The spindle travel is smooth, the table height adjustment is bumpy, but solid like my old pickup truck. Mine was missing a set screw to secure the table height adjustment handle, but my son helped by opening the box and dumping out the contents of all the parts bags, so I'm not sure I can blame Ryobi.
I thought the laser was gimmicky, but I took the time to fine tune it, and with my aging eyes, I find it an increasingly useful gimmick...useful enough that I am adding lasers to some of my other tools.
Do be aware that from the factory, the belt tension is loose. Tighten that belt before you get going or the drill will stall out on the first large hole you try.
There are better drill presses, but not at this price, there are cheaper drill presses, but not of this quality.
+47points
53out of 59found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 10 in. Drill Press
Sing
from Syracuse, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

When all is said and done, it gets the Job done.

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
have a large Delta Bench Top press that is basically a floor model on a shorter bench top shaft. Needless to say I don't move it unless I need to, and then I call in help.
I was looking for a second drill press that was more of a true bench topper. It needed to be light enough to be somewhat mobile, reliable and accurate.
I looked at the selection at Harbor Freight and for the marginal price differences of the two comparable models; I felt the Ryobi had the better features. So I went with it, and here is what I find.
To me, the laser is nothing more then a gimmick, so I never bothered to put the batteries in. I find that my eye is still the best and quickest tool for the job. The 15w candelabra light is nice and gives out just enough light to be convenient. It does not come included though so stop at wally world and pick up a pack of them.
Things I like most:
The motor is strong and there is no run out in the chuck to spindle interface. It drills a clean straight hole and powers through hard wood like a dream with sharp bits. The depth stop feature works well even though it is much less refined then the adjustment on my Delta. Lastly, it’s light enough to move around, but still plenty heavy. Accept for the plastic cover and the questionable way it is fastened to the belt housing, the material is all there and plenty heavy enough to keep the press stable while in operation.
Things I don't like:
Ok, it’s a $120 Drill Press. So it’s to be expected that the fit and finish are disappointing. Everything works just well enough if you take my meaning. Nothing works smoothly, (Accept the arbor Travel), none of the metal parts are "Finished". Every conceivable corner was cut to save cost while maintaining the functionality of the core necessities.
Conclusion:
It seems that with even just a little additional effort, so many aspects of this press could have been honed. For instance, make the table swivel and height adjustments work smoothly. Use some better plastic in the crank handle and knobs. Make the depth stop adjustment mechanism work smoother and give it a finer adjustment mechanism besides a sticker. (You do have the ability to infinitely adjust the depth of travel, however you are forced to guess and play with the final position as the sticker only gets you in the ballpark) Fit a proper belt housing cover and attach it properly. Finish the milled surfaces and deburr the edges. More attention to the fit and finish could have produced a much nicer press. The trade off being of course that the cost would no longer be $120.
Although this little press falls very short in the build finish department, it still maintains the ability to do precisely what it was meant to do. And having used many different brands of shop equipment from Harbor Freight to Powermatic, I can't honestly say that a much more expensive press could produce a significantly better end result. The Ryobi just works. If you got an extra $100 burning a hole in your pocket, you can of course purchase more refined tools with finer adjustments that are easier to set up, ones that are a true pleasure to use. But if you are on a budget and you simply need something to get the job done reliably accurately and repeatedly, and you don't mind taking a bit more time to work with cruder adjustments, then this press can produce similar results to more expensive models.
If we could give half stars, I would have given this 3.5 where the comparable Harbor Freight models I would have given 3 or less. The H.F. models too can produce acceptable results, though the fit and finish there are closely bordering on game breaking. Ironically where the comparable Harbor Freight models really break down is in the overall price. One model is about $40 cheaper, and one is about $40 more expensive. In my personal reviews of the three models, the extra cost of the Ryobi over the cheaper H.F model was well worth going with the Ryobi. The more expensive H.F. model had a couple nicer features over the Ryobi, but then it also had a few lesser features as well and for me, the give and take tradeoffs of the more expensive H.F. model did not warrant the added cost.
The Ryobi seems to hit a sweet spot between price and functionality. I can’t say that this press will bring you any giddy feelings of happiness the way some high quality tools can. I liken it to difference between driving a Kia and a Zonda to the store for milk. Both will accomplish the task satisfactorily with no discernable difference in the end result. However one will put a smile on your face and a skip in your step, where the other can induce boredom and mild depression.
+75points
82out of 89found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 10 in. Drill Press
Amra

Couldn't ask for more for the price.

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If people remember a few simple things, this tool will serve them well.
1. The motor is 3amp, that's enough power for just about any woodworking project, though you may want to take your time cutting if you're using 2" forester bits in ash or oak.
This should also be enough power for most aluminum jobs [slow the rpm, use a sharp bit and plenty of oil] and possibly even light steel with *quality* bits and graduated hole cutting.
However, If you think you're going to be able to ram a dull bit through 1/8 steel with ease, you should probably NOT purchase this drill, primarily because it wasn't made for that and this product lacks the ability to compensate for an operators ignorance.
2. The castings and attention to detail is inferior to other products, but that is one of the primary reasons I can insert this tool into the monthly budget without worrying too much. I am willing to forgive an unground cast if it saves me 50-100 bucks.
3. There are plastic parts, You *may* want to take that into consideration when you place the product... or if you plan on using a giant 12" wrench above it. I would suggest moving the product to safer location, else you may complain that the plastic bits broke when your giant wrench punched your drill in the face. Still, the plastic parts are strong enough for their purpose [such as keeping your hands away from moving parts] and certainly looks a lot better than tin-foil coverings on the harbor freight models.
All in all, this is a great drill for the price, and it is serving me quite well with no issues thus far, and I imagine that so long as I try to remember that it was built and intended to be a light/medium duty drill, it will serve me for many years to come. So If you want to drill plate steel, you do it at your own risk, because the slowest rpm on this drill is still too fast and the amps are just too low. Sure, its possible, but you gotta know what to do when your tool is not built for the task at hand before you attempt it.
So far I have used this drill on wood, resin, abs plastic, lexan, acrylic, aluminum up to 1/2" thick, and other non-ferrous materials, all with no problem.
+52points
60out of 68found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 10 in. Drill Press
Grizzlybear
from Midwest, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Outstanding performer

PostedApril 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Unit was easy to assemble. Light bulb does not come with unit. Laser site is a plus, though I am old school and check my position manually before I hit the power switch. Very sturdy cast iron base, table, and head unit. Easy to change pulley speeds. Nice and Quiet. Chuck key auto ejects to make sure it is not in the unit when you power up. Depth lock for drilling repetitive holes is a very handy feature. Built an extension table for larger workpieces, and a vertical boring jig to increase versatility. You can swing the table off center as well as the head unit to get larger boards drilled on edge. If you get the bit stuck in a workpiece, the belt drive acts as a clutch to keep from ripping the piece out of your grip or out of the clamps.
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 10 in. Drill Press
Brianpa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

disapointing

PostedJune 2, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My last try at anything with the Ryobi name on it. 3 stikes they're out! Motor got very hot with running for less than a minute under no load. Spindle travel only 2 inch and felt horrible and loose. Table adjuster was really rough until I added a washer behind the crank. The table was also not true, Held a straight edge across it, it had roughly a 1/32 inch gap near center. Took it back less than 24 hours after purchase.
Pros: none
Cons: poorly made
+7points
11out of 15found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>