728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Range Hoods or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Allure I Series 36 in. Convertible Range Hood in Almond

Allure I Series 36 in. Convertible Range Hood in Almond

The Allure I line of range hoods feature quiet blowers, exceptional ventilation performance and bright lighting of work surfaces. They are 50% quieter than the average range hood. The design features a two speed contoured rocker switch control, smooth surfaces, a fully enclosed underside and 2 large aluminum dishwasher-safe filters that provide the easiest clean-up of any range hood. The dual halogen light system (bulbs not included) is designed to flood your cooking surface with a bright light, the low light setting provides the perfect night light. The axial blade system eliminates smoke and moisture more quietly and effectively than the average hood or over-the-range microwave. Allure simply performs better than any other hood.
Overall rating:
4.316 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product35 of 37reviews
Rating Breakdown 38 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(19)
4
(14)
3
(3)
2
(2)
1
(0)
Features 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product35 of 37reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer reviews for Allure I Series 36 in. Convertible Range Hood in Almond
Review 1 for Allure I Series 36 in. Convertible Range Hood in Almond
from abilene,tx
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Broan/Nutone Range Hood Awesome Look, Easy install, Clean Look

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Allure I Series 36 in. Convertible Range Hood in Stainless Steel
Love the feature of convertibility. Duct or ductless. I did duct work that was already in placed in my home. If you are going to use the 7" duct, you will need to buy a damper that home depot didn't carry nor was in the package. They should really include this $10 part since they have the other damper installed inside the range hood. Had to go to another retailer that had it in stock to finish the install correctly and the damper is needed if you do not want bugs or other insects to fly through the duct work and into your home. Must do read instructions and If going to use duct have to remove the light housing and take the black housing inside and switch the panels to convert from ductless to duct. Allure is both a Broan and Nutone product. This product completes my stainless steel look in my kitchen.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: doesnt include 7" damper, doesnt include flood lights
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Allure I Series 36 in. Convertible Range Hood in Almond
from Port Sulphur, LA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product is beautiful

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Allure I Series 36 in. Convertible Range Hood in Stainless Steel
Iam so glad I brought it, it's quiet , it's sturdy , it's very noticeable , It's easy to keep clean and you only have to put the light on the side you are using
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, it's quiet
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Allure I Series 36 in. Convertible Range Hood in Almond
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Pleased

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Allure I Series 36 in. Convertible Range Hood in Stainless Steel
Easy installation, works great, I'm very pleased! Would definitely recommend this hood.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Allure I Series 36 in. Convertible Range Hood in Almond
from New Orleans, LA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great buy!

PostedMay 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Allure I Series 36 in. Convertible Range Hood in Stainless Steel
I purchased this hood about a month ago. I am a DIY'er and I Installed it and it's running great. Easy installation and sooo much quieter then our older one. We got the black one and it looks nice. Not only is it a two speeder, but also has a dim and bright switch on the lights. Nothing I can say bad about this product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Allure I Series 36 in. Convertible Range Hood in Almond
from waggamen
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good purchase

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Allure I Series 36 in. Convertible Range Hood in Black
The range hood works well good value for your buck!
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Stylish
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Allure I Series 36 in. Convertible Range Hood in Almond
from Texas, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quality is excellent

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Allure I Series 36 in. Convertible Range Hood in White
Very Good product. Installation straight forward. Only complaint is lack for damper for round exhaust. Comes with one for rectangular exhaust.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Stylish, High Quality
Cons: no damper with round exhaust
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Allure I Series 36 in. Convertible Range Hood in Almond
from Alabama
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Went up with out any trouble.

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Allure I Series 36 in. Convertible Range Hood in Black
The filters are easy to remove and clean in the dish washer. Light bulbs are also easy to clean and replace.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Allure I Series 36 in. Convertible Range Hood in Almond
from Keene, NH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Allure I Series 36 in. Convertible Range Hood in Biscuit
I chose the ventless setup. It was easy. I needed the extra wide 36" so I ordered from Home Depot online.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Allure I Series 36 in. Convertible Range Hood in Almond

Best Range Hood After Shopping Around

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Allure I Series 36 in. Convertible Range Hood in Black
After doing some research and shopping around, we chose this range hood based on the fact that it has 2 lights (most models we found only had one) and that it claimed it was quieter than most. We installed it ourselves rather easily but had to add some duct work to reach up to our pre-existing vent. We are very happy with the quietness of the fan and the lights are so bright that we mostly use them on "low".
The only negative is that we didn't realize that the bulbs were sold separately (it does say so on the box but we didn't see that until after completing the job) and wasn't told this by the salesperson. We had to make another trip back to HD get them.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Allure I Series 36 in. Convertible Range Hood in Almond
from Powell Butte, OR 97753, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product, once installed.

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This review is from:Allure I Series 36 in. Convertible Range Hood in Black
Prep work can strip out mounting holes causing excessive noise related to vibration. Replaced a lot of the sheet metal screws with machined SS 6-32 screw/ rubber-nylon-locking washers/ nut. Would recommend neoprene washers instead, if you can find in this size. Wish it was a gauge heavier, might solve above problem, but add to weight. Not a one-person job to mount if replacing an existing item. Also recommend new flapper if installing the 7". Had to modify to replace in existing location - ensure you check duct alignment dimemsions before ordering.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Allure I Series 36 in. Convertible Range Hood in Almond
from Miami, Fl

Good product, sleek looking product

PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Allure I Series 36 in. Convertible Range Hood in Stainless Steel
This is a very nice looking hood that offers excellent lighting. On the low fan setting, it is extremely quiet, but when you use the high--the necessary one for steaks or most normal meals, it is loud. It sucks a lot of air, but it is loud.
Make sure measure correctly before installation. Anything cooked on the front 2 burners of my stove, sends the smoke past the point of the intakes of this hood. In essence, hitting the front lights and going into the kitchen. Naturally, this is due to the layout of my kitchen and cabinets, but make sure you measure yours correctly.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Allure I Series 36 in. Convertible Range Hood in Almond
from Fresno, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

satisfied

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Allure I Series 36 in. Convertible Range Hood in Biscuit
It's a good purchase - the color is perfect, the look is good, the lighting is superior compared to the 30 year old exhast hood that was in there. Because of how the filters fit, ti's just a wee bit noisy on high.
The hood arrived in perfect condition and the install was no problem. I would order online again because of the good results provided by HomeDepot.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: wee bit noisy on hi
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Allure I Series 36 in. Convertible Range Hood in Almond

Some drawbacks, overall okay

PostedApril 21, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Allure I Series 36 in. Convertible Range Hood in Stainless Steel
Fan is two speed, very slow or very fast. A medium speed in addition to these would have been good. Both speeds exhaust well to the outside; I have a 5 feet, 4" dia ducting with one 90 degree turn to the outside. The fan is pretty quiet even at high speed.
The other bit more serious drawback is that the smoke from the front two burners of the stove does not exhaust very well due to the design (shape) of the product. Half the smoke seems to get pulled in, but the rest escapes the fan. A bit of sheet metal in front of the lights would have done a better job. Overall, it works okay.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Allure I Series 36 in. Convertible Range Hood in Almond
from Calhoun, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product works well, improved lighting from old unit

PostedFebruary 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Allure I Series 36 in. Convertible Range Hood in Stainless Steel
Product works well. Only shortfall was recommended charcoal filters were not available in the store. After purchase and installation from online source. Seemed to reduce draw of air thru the filter.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: filter not available in store
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Allure I Series 36 in. Convertible Range Hood in Almond
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good product. Not installed yet. More later

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Allure I Series 36 in. Convertible Range Hood in Biscuit
Only problem I had was that the carbon filters which are required for non-ducted installation ARE NOT AVAILABLE AT HOME DEPOT. NEITHER IN STORE OR AT HOME DEPOT WEB SITE. I HAD TO SHOP FOR THESE ONLINE ELSEWHERE. IN FACT, WHILE HOME DEPOT SELLS 36 INCH RANGE HOODS BOTH IN STORE AND ONLINE, THEY DO NOT HAVE ANY OF THE FILTERS OR GREASE TRAPS IN THEIR STORES OR ONLINE. IT SEEMS TO ME THAT IF THEY SELL A PRODUCT, THEY SHOULD SELL THE ACCESSORIES AND/OR PRODUCTS THAT ARE REQUIRED FOR ITS USE.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Allure I Series 36 in. Convertible Range Hood in Almond
from New Oreans
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Extremely quiet!

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Allure I Series 36 in. Convertible Range Hood in Black
Slimmer design puts it higher above cooktop,and not sticking out as far as my previous one, allowing better access total lots, and I do not hit my head while cooking.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Allure I Series 36 in. Convertible Range Hood in Almond
from Indianapolis, IN

easy install

PostedFebruary 7, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Allure I Series 36 in. Convertible Range Hood in Black
looks much better than regular versions. quiet on low speed. the best feature is that if you use it as non ducted it does not blow in you face like most. also like the halogen lights, they are bright and you can see good.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Allure I Series 36 in. Convertible Range Hood in Almond
from Silver Spring, MD
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Impossible to change light bulbs

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Allure I Series 36 in. Convertible Range Hood in Stainless Steel
I've had this product for a few years now, and I have to report it is so hard to change the light bulbs in this model. Like 30 minutes to get it just right. I am so frustrated. You have to get it in just right, and it is under the hood spotlight that is flush with the hood. It should not have to take that long. So it doesn't matter how good or bad the vent is, if the lightbulbs cannot be easily changed it is worthless. At this point I am so frustrated I am thinking about looking for a new vent and getting an electrician to install it, just so I can have light over the stove top.
I have to say that when I selected this model, I had no choices. The electrician who took the old range hood out during remodeling reported that the old one (which we planned to use) was not safe due to the wiring, so I had to rush over to HD to get a hood while the electrician worked on other issues. So no research was done and this is the only model (36") that was carried at our HD.
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: Difficult to Use, cannot change light bulbs
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Allure I Series 36 in. Convertible Range Hood in Almond
from Citrus Heights, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks good

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Allure I Series 36 in. Convertible Range Hood in Black
Only had a short time but so far so good. Good fit with my new stove top.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Allure I Series 36 in. Convertible Range Hood in Almond
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Look at a different manufacure

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Allure I Series 36 in. Convertible Range Hood in Stainless Steel
Very disapointed in this product and will never buy this brand again. At this price for the range hood and it does not come with mounting screws, electrical conector for going into the electrical box, or bulbs for the lights. The gauge of steel is very thin and flimsy-cheap.
Cons: cheap -
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 >>