728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Metal Fencing or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 48 in. x 72 in. Aluminum Black Unassembled Metropolitan 2-Rail Fence Panel

48 in. x 72 in. Aluminum Black Unassembled Metropolitan 2-Rail Fence Panel

Constructed of aluminum alloy, the Allure Aluminum 72 in. x 48 in. Black Aluminum 2-Rail Metropolitan Fence Panel is strong and rust proof. It contains 15 pickets and is compatible with 48 in. high posts (not included). Maintenance free, it features a black coating that complements a variety of surroundings.
Overall rating:
3.577 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product21 of 26reviews
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
3.6 out of 5
5
(8)
4
(11)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(6)
Quality 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product21 of 26reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for 48 in. x 72 in. Aluminum Black Unassembled Metropolitan 2-Rail Fence Panel
Review 1 for 48 in. x 72 in. Aluminum Black Unassembled Metropolitan 2-Rail Fence Panel
from Seymour, TN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Great product!!! Easy to assemble!!

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Product was great around our new pool!!! Easy to assemble and install. Definite DIY project!! We did it in one weekend!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 48 in. x 72 in. Aluminum Black Unassembled Metropolitan 2-Rail Fence Panel
from South Kali
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

48 in. x 72 in. Aluminum Black Unassembled Metropolitan 2-Rail Fence Panel

PostedMay 27, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
its ok product. not the same one that I am expecting. I am building these fence for my dogs but I think the tin metal rail will be easy for them to chew it. I can actually squeeze it with my fingers :)
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight, Good Shape
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 48 in. x 72 in. Aluminum Black Unassembled Metropolitan 2-Rail Fence Panel
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pool fence

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Pros: Fence panels easy to assemble and look beautiful. Plenty of extra screws and bars provided.
Cons: material of construction is too light. This was advertised as a pool grade fence, a 5 yr old could pull the vertical bars apart.
I checked recommend this product, But to clarify.... Not for around a pool, it's just too lightly constructed. However if you are looking for a fence that looks good and easy to put up then I do recommend this product.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Stylish
Cons: too light a gauge used for aluminum
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 48 in. x 72 in. Aluminum Black Unassembled Metropolitan 2-Rail Fence Panel
from punta gorda, fl
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Product for the Price

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to assemble takes 5 minutes per panel. Probably the only product that I have purchased that they have included extra screws. Looks great.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 48 in. x 72 in. Aluminum Black Unassembled Metropolitan 2-Rail Fence Panel
from Jerome, Arizona
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

48x72 inch fence

PostedApril 6, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very disappointed. The fence is very flimsy. I could rest my arms on top of the fence and very easily push the center to the ground. I had to put blocks under the center to give it strength. I would not have even finished putting up all 4 sections if a greater safety factor was not needed at the time. I will definitely be replacing this. I used the 5 ft pre-assembled on 3 sides and it worked great. Wish I could get 4 ft pre-assembled.
Cons: flimsy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 48 in. x 72 in. Aluminum Black Unassembled Metropolitan 2-Rail Fence Panel
from Asheville, NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works for my application

PostedMay 13, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I needed something to put between the glass and the screen, on sliding glass doors, to childproof a pool. This lightweight fence material worked perfectly for this application. It would be a bit on the flimsy side to build a real fence out of it. The downside is that the pieces have to be put together and you can figure about an hour a panel. If you don't have gloves and an electric screwdriver, expect a blister on the palm of your screwing hand after two panels. I plan to purchase additional sections and do more of the pool doors. I think I'll order a pair of gloves at the same time.
Pros: Multi Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 48 in. x 72 in. Aluminum Black Unassembled Metropolitan 2-Rail Fence Panel
from Oklahoma City, Ok
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

aluminum 2-rail fence

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
My sons put this fence together and it looks very nice. Not sure if it is sturdy enough and I have 6 little boys I take care of who all ride big wheels and other riding toys, so if they bang into this fence, I have no idea if it will ruin the fence.
Have had many compliments on the fence and someone stopped by to inquire about the kind of fence it was.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Light Weight, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 48 in. x 72 in. Aluminum Black Unassembled Metropolitan 2-Rail Fence Panel

Looks great

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Fence was fairly easy to put together. Be careful of the screws, they're soft aluminum, and easy to strip. If you use a puwer drill set at low,
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 48 in. x 72 in. Aluminum Black Unassembled Metropolitan 2-Rail Fence Panel
from Copperas Cove, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great for surrounding spa area

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We had to enclose our outdoor spa but a the same time we wanted a open pool/spa environment. So we order the aluminum products to give us the iron/metal look. We order the this fence that required some work,but to see the outcome was awesome. My husband did it all by himself. I just made sure we had all the require pieces and parts. Please look at their tip sheet that will help and guide you with your purchases and putting it togather. We didn't had no problem with our shipping beside it took about threes for delivery
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Economical
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 48 in. x 72 in. Aluminum Black Unassembled Metropolitan 2-Rail Fence Panel
from Tulare, CA 93274, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You have to drill the screw holes

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
The pickets are screwed into the top and bottom rail. They give you the screws.
BUT, they only put a little dent on the pickets where the screws are supposed to go. My power driver could not push the screw through the dent. I had to get my titanium Black & Decker and drill the holes out.
YOU WILL NEED A DRILL. Otherwise, not bad.
Pros: Multi Use, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Clean, Light Weight
Cons: need a drill to do what the factory didn't do.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 48 in. x 72 in. Aluminum Black Unassembled Metropolitan 2-Rail Fence Panel
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good fencing but take time to put together

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The final product is what I expected and we are very happy with it. It is a royal pain to put the sections together when you have a couple dozen sections to deal with so plan your time accordingly.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 48 in. x 72 in. Aluminum Black Unassembled Metropolitan 2-Rail Fence Panel
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent Fencing

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Company, product, cosmetics, and quality are awesome.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 48 in. x 72 in. Aluminum Black Unassembled Metropolitan 2-Rail Fence Panel

The fencing is not of good quality at all.

PostedAugust 28, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We got this fence for our dog. It is not a good fence for a medium sized dog. Not of good quality and while we are assembling this fence. MANY of the screws stripped. It is not very sturdy bends very easily. We only did 60 foot of fencing with this product it costed just around 950 dollars. NOT WORTH THE MONEY!!!!
+4points
9out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 48 in. x 72 in. Aluminum Black Unassembled Metropolitan 2-Rail Fence Panel
from Detroit, MI

Nice looking, reasonably priced!

PostedDecember 28, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I liked the simple, elegant look of this fence and the promise that it wouldn't rust. The assembly of this fence was simple once I got the hang of it. The only disappointment was that some of the screws included with this package would not easily be screwed into place and I had to remove them after partially putting them in, and try another screw. Fortunately, there were extra screws included. The finished product looks great!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 48 in. x 72 in. Aluminum Black Unassembled Metropolitan 2-Rail Fence Panel
from Kansas City

Assembly Required?!

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had somebody ready to install the fence in the ground; you know, dig the holes, pour cement, etc.
I received the shipment expecting the packages to be about the size of the sections. It says assembly required. I thought maybe the latches, some of the rails. WRONG! You have to assemble EVERYTHING! Every picket, every cap, every screw. There is just no way I have that kind of time! I'm returning all of it.
0points
8out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 48 in. x 72 in. Aluminum Black Unassembled Metropolitan 2-Rail Fence Panel
from Charlton, MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Really Low Quality Product!!!!

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just installed a few sections of this fence on top of a retaining wall in order to get a sign off on my final inspection for an addition I have built. This Allure fence is flimsy and certainly wont last more than a year or so before I will have to replace it. I needed something fast because our local fence companies have kind of quit working for the year until the weather turns. I regret not having it done sooner with a better quality product.
Pros: can't think of any!!!
Cons: weak poor quality
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 48 in. x 72 in. Aluminum Black Unassembled Metropolitan 2-Rail Fence Panel

Pretty good value

PostedMay 11, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Comes unassembled, takes time to put it all together. Good value - a little cheaper than the 'sale' prices at aluminum fence distributors on the internet (but those panels come assembled!). Appears to rake about 12" over 6ft section, maybe a bit more. Installation was pretty smooth and I've never installed a fence before.
Overall pretty happy with the product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 48 in. x 72 in. Aluminum Black Unassembled Metropolitan 2-Rail Fence Panel
from Aurora, Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Can't put it together

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is not a one man job product. All the "pickets" have to be lined up in both top and bottom rail. 3/16 " is the allowance for the top placement. Get the pickets lined up and attempt to screw in place and the pickets at the other end slip out. VERY FRUSTRATING!
Cons: impossible for one person to assemble
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 48 in. x 72 in. Aluminum Black Unassembled Metropolitan 2-Rail Fence Panel
from Traverse City,Michigan

Great Fence

PostedAugust 6, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We were looking for an attractive fence of simple design that we could install ourselves ( especially in black ) and we were having no success until finding this product. Assembly was easy if laid out properly ( you must have a power screw driver ) for our use we consider the fence to be a great find.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 48 in. x 72 in. Aluminum Black Unassembled Metropolitan 2-Rail Fence Panel
from Belford, NJ

Great Product

PostedApril 28, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Assembles easily ships in a small box. If you were doing a large project assembly may take a while, but it was easy to assemble. Each section takes 5-10 Minutes to put together so that should be taken into account. Overall I would buy this again and recommend it to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>