728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Metal Fencing or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 48 in. x 72 in. Aluminum Black Unassembled Metropolitan 2-Rail Fence Panel

48 in. x 72 in. Aluminum Black Unassembled Metropolitan 2-Rail Fence Panel

Constructed of aluminum alloy, the Allure Aluminum 72 in. x 48 in. Black Aluminum 2-Rail Metropolitan Fence Panel is strong and rust proof. It contains 15 pickets and is compatible with 48 in. high posts (not included). Maintenance free, it features a black coating that complements a variety of surroundings.
Overall rating:
3.556 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product14 of 18reviews
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(7)
4
(6)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(5)
Quality 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product14 of 18reviews
Customer reviews for 48 in. x 72 in. Aluminum Black Unassembled Metropolitan 2-Rail Fence Panel
Review 1 for 48 in. x 72 in. Aluminum Black Unassembled Metropolitan 2-Rail Fence Panel
1621crm
from Seymour, TN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Great product!!! Easy to assemble!!

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product was great around our new pool!!! Easy to assemble and install. Definite DIY project!! We did it in one weekend!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 48 in. x 72 in. Aluminum Black Unassembled Metropolitan 2-Rail Fence Panel
Gustav1
from Aurora, Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Can't put it together

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is not a one man job product. All the "pickets" have to be lined up in both top and bottom rail. 3/16 " is the allowance for the top placement. Get the pickets lined up and attempt to screw in place and the pickets at the other end slip out. VERY FRUSTRATING!
Cons: impossible for one person to assemble
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 48 in. x 72 in. Aluminum Black Unassembled Metropolitan 2-Rail Fence Panel
Straygray
from Charlton, MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Really Low Quality Product!!!!

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just installed a few sections of this fence on top of a retaining wall in order to get a sign off on my final inspection for an addition I have built. This Allure fence is flimsy and certainly wont last more than a year or so before I will have to replace it. I needed something fast because our local fence companies have kind of quit working for the year until the weather turns. I regret not having it done sooner with a better quality product.
Pros: can't think of any!!!
Cons: weak poor quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 48 in. x 72 in. Aluminum Black Unassembled Metropolitan 2-Rail Fence Panel
YESYOUCAN
from Copperas Cove, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great for surrounding spa area

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had to enclose our outdoor spa but a the same time we wanted a open pool/spa environment. So we order the aluminum products to give us the iron/metal look. We order the this fence that required some work,but to see the outcome was awesome. My husband did it all by himself. I just made sure we had all the require pieces and parts. Please look at their tip sheet that will help and guide you with your purchases and putting it togather. We didn't had no problem with our shipping beside it took about threes for delivery
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Economical
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 48 in. x 72 in. Aluminum Black Unassembled Metropolitan 2-Rail Fence Panel
DaCoop

Looks great

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Fence was fairly easy to put together. Be careful of the screws, they're soft aluminum, and easy to strip. If you use a puwer drill set at low,
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 48 in. x 72 in. Aluminum Black Unassembled Metropolitan 2-Rail Fence Panel
Jab4268
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent Fencing

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Company, product, cosmetics, and quality are awesome.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 48 in. x 72 in. Aluminum Black Unassembled Metropolitan 2-Rail Fence Panel
kevin319
from Kansas City

Assembly Required?!

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had somebody ready to install the fence in the ground; you know, dig the holes, pour cement, etc.
I received the shipment expecting the packages to be about the size of the sections. It says assembly required. I thought maybe the latches, some of the rails. WRONG! You have to assemble EVERYTHING! Every picket, every cap, every screw. There is just no way I have that kind of time! I'm returning all of it.
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 48 in. x 72 in. Aluminum Black Unassembled Metropolitan 2-Rail Fence Panel
Brandon

The fencing is not of good quality at all.

PostedAugust 28, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We got this fence for our dog. It is not a good fence for a medium sized dog. Not of good quality and while we are assembling this fence. MANY of the screws stripped. It is not very sturdy bends very easily. We only did 60 foot of fencing with this product it costed just around 950 dollars. NOT WORTH THE MONEY!!!!
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 48 in. x 72 in. Aluminum Black Unassembled Metropolitan 2-Rail Fence Panel
TheTechie
from Detroit, MI

Nice looking, reasonably priced!

PostedDecember 28, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I liked the simple, elegant look of this fence and the promise that it wouldn't rust. The assembly of this fence was simple once I got the hang of it. The only disappointment was that some of the screws included with this package would not easily be screwed into place and I had to remove them after partially putting them in, and try another screw. Fortunately, there were extra screws included. The finished product looks great!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 48 in. x 72 in. Aluminum Black Unassembled Metropolitan 2-Rail Fence Panel
Bigbar

Pretty good value

PostedMay 11, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Comes unassembled, takes time to put it all together. Good value - a little cheaper than the 'sale' prices at aluminum fence distributors on the internet (but those panels come assembled!). Appears to rake about 12" over 6ft section, maybe a bit more. Installation was pretty smooth and I've never installed a fence before.
Overall pretty happy with the product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 48 in. x 72 in. Aluminum Black Unassembled Metropolitan 2-Rail Fence Panel
Summy
from Traverse City,Michigan

Great Fence

PostedAugust 6, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We were looking for an attractive fence of simple design that we could install ourselves ( especially in black ) and we were having no success until finding this product. Assembly was easy if laid out properly ( you must have a power screw driver ) for our use we consider the fence to be a great find.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 48 in. x 72 in. Aluminum Black Unassembled Metropolitan 2-Rail Fence Panel
amateurefencebuilder
from Granbury, Texas

Great Product

PostedMay 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The fence panels were easy to assemble with plenty of extra screws. This is a quality product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 48 in. x 72 in. Aluminum Black Unassembled Metropolitan 2-Rail Fence Panel
Gail
from Seattle

looks great, don't count on being able to DIY

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ordered this for my tenants who needed protection for their toddlers.
I wanted openness and visibility.
Perfect combo.
Half the cost, at least, of everything else.
My tenants agreed to install as part of their bargain.
They had to hire someone, couldn't figure it out themselves, or do the tough stuff pouring concrete and digging holes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 48 in. x 72 in. Aluminum Black Unassembled Metropolitan 2-Rail Fence Panel
JMCConstruction

Product was good but delivery was bad.

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Product was good but delivery was bad. We did not receive all the parts.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 48 in. x 72 in. Aluminum Black Unassembled Metropolitan 2-Rail Fence Panel
Pappy
from Georgia

Excellent Product

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This fencing was exceptional in value, easily installed. and looks great. they need better instructions on how to properly lay out a fence, but with a little thinking it was easy to figure out. I'd highly recommend this product. TH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 48 in. x 72 in. Aluminum Black Unassembled Metropolitan 2-Rail Fence Panel
33Rosie
from Saratoga Springs, New York

Rosie

PostedJune 1, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great finished product. My only complaint was the amount of time it took to assemble each section. I recently used this fence to enclose a swimming pool for safety purposes. It fullfilled this requirerment. Before my online order, I had a fence company come over to give an estimate. There cost for the completed job for the same type of fence would have cost $2500 more. So Thank you Home Depot.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 48 in. x 72 in. Aluminum Black Unassembled Metropolitan 2-Rail Fence Panel
Leo2009
from Avenel, NJ

PostedAugust 2, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The Metropolitan aluminum fence looks beautiful in my side front yard, I like the look, quality and color of this product. The only negative thing is the screws that came with it, they are not of good quality and the screw head easily gets bad or worn out so you cant take it out and screw again. I have to buy another set of screws, luckily i found the "gutter screws" which are more durable.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 48 in. x 72 in. Aluminum Black Unassembled Metropolitan 2-Rail Fence Panel
mksjr
from Belford, NJ

Great Product

PostedApril 28, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Assembles easily ships in a small box. If you were doing a large project assembly may take a while, but it was easy to assemble. Each section takes 5-10 Minutes to put together so that should be taken into account. Overall I would buy this again and recommend it to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.