728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Outdoor Decor or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Garden Defense Owl

Garden Defense Owl

This realistic looking Easy Gardener Garden Defense Owl will help keep unwanted birds, squirrels, rabbits, rodents and other bothersome pests away from your yard. Mount on a post or hang from a tree.
Overall rating:
3.3 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
60%of customersrecommend this product6 of 10reviews
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
3.3 out of 5.0
5
(5)
4
(0)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Appearance 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Quality 
2.5 out of 5.0
2.5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
60%of customersrecommend this product6 of 10reviews
Customer reviews for Garden Defense Owl
Review 1 for Garden Defense Owl
DarnBirds
from Arizona

Worthless

PostedNovember 14, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This owl does not work. Unless you are in the market for a nice looking yard orniment, I definitely will not recommend this product. I just planted my winter grass and couldn't keep the birds out. I bought two of them. One for my front yard and one for the back. Everytime I look out the window there are still 40-50 birds in both yards. The birds are not scared of this owl at all. My only hope now is that the birds will choke on the seed because they are laughing too hard at the decoy. I feel as if I am being taunted! The only thing this owl scares is 15 bucks out of your checking account! I will be returning both of these owls tomorrow.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Garden Defense Owl
climbinmetal
from Truckee, CA

Works very well

PostedJune 20, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have installed two in my backyard. I have three eight foot windows overlooking my deck and sadly, I have lost about eight orioles this year due to the windows. We also have squirrels in and out of the garden. To combat this, we used the owl decoys, by suspending one off the deck to scare the birds away from the windows and mounted another on a stake in the garden. The bottom opens for the addition of weight such as sand or rocks, but the covering slips in, so large amounts of weight are not supported. If you are looking for a quick, painless solution, I would suggest buying one. In case you were wondering, I live in the forested mountains of Northern California.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Garden Defense Owl
Sara
from California, USA

works for crows

PostedJune 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
my issue is crows. They gather by the dozens on the telephone lines and fences and start cawing the second the sun rises, waking up the entire house. I haven't had one crow come near the house since I set this out on the patio 2 years ago. The other birds don't seem to notice and the doves still nest in the corners, but for the crows it works beautifully.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Garden Defense Owl
deathtobirds

Stupid Starlings

PostedApril 15, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Ok so this product worked for about a day. At that point the birds who inhabit my balcony decided the owl was a friend instead of a foe. Now they sit there right next to the owl and continue to poo on everything. My problems may be due to the fact that the insist on calling my balcony home are starlings but still, now all I have is a lighter wallet and another bird sitting out on the balcony railings.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Garden Defense Owl
1hansomestranger
from San Diego, CA.

defender owl

PostedMay 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This owl is the best, Since I put this Owl on my roof my birdbrained neighbor hasn't come over once to borrow tools and my garbage men always leave my trash cans upright with the lids on them. I would recommend this owl to everyone.
+3points
16out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Garden Defense Owl
Abouteightandahaf
from Charlotte, NC

Is not effective against squirrels

PostedJuly 25, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this to try and keep the squirrels away from my tomatoes. Placed it in two different locations close to garden - squirrels still got into my garden. One of the locations was on a fence post. Funny thing was I got a picture of a squirrel on the fence right next to the owl - the squirrel was laughing at me! Get the trap, and bait with peanut butter!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Garden Defense Owl
NancySat
from Warr Acres, Oklahoma

owl

PostedMay 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We planted seed in the front and back yard and as you can quess, the birds love it. When I went to Home Depot I saw the owl and got one put it in the front yard and it worked, the birds are scared of it, so I will be going back tomorrow to get one for the back yard.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Garden Defense Owl
AvenueBuilders
from Alexandria VA

I saw birds rolling in my yard and laughing at me

PostedApril 14, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have an open beam on my porch that birds nest in every year. I bought this a few days ago and have been moving it around my porch. It did absolutely no good as the birds did not even pay attention to it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Garden Defense Owl
LITTLEWOLF
from YUCAIPA

DECOY OWL

PostedOctober 17, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I HAVE SO MUCH TROUBLE WITH BIRDS ON TOP OF MY
MOBILE HOME BANGING AROUND AND WHEN I PUT THE DECOY OWL I GOT FROM HOME DEPOT IT ALL STOP
NOW I CAN SLEEP IN THE MORINGS. IF YOUR A MOIBLE
HOME OWNER AND YOU HAVE TROUBLE WITH BIRDS
BANGING AROUND ON YOUR TIN ROOF SIDDINGS THIS
DECOY OWL WILL DO THE TRICK IN STOPING THE NOISE.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Garden Defense Owl
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product