728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Mailboxes & Mailbox Posts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Dover Plastic Mailbox Post in Clay

Dover Plastic Mailbox Post in Clay

The Mayne Dover 42 in. Plastic Mailbox Post offers an elegant addition to your mailbox with its New England style post and mailbox support arm with integrated newspaper slot (included). It is best suited for mailboxes weighing less than 14 lb. High-quality polyethylene with built-in UV inhibitors help protect against most weather conditions and fading.
Overall rating:
4.65 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product19 of 20reviews
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(14)
4
(5)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product19 of 20reviews
Customer reviews for Dover Plastic Mailbox Post in Clay
Review 1 for Dover Plastic Mailbox Post in Clay
from Geneva, New York
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great look!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This mailbox post looks great and adds a nice touch to our property. So glad we made the purchase.
Pros: Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dover Plastic Mailbox Post in Clay
from Central New York state

Dover Mailbox

PostedJune 22, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this mailbox post in black for our current home and loved it so much that I purchased it in "clay" for the new home we just purchased. This post is very classic in design, held up very well in a very snowy and cold upstate New York winter and is probably the best looking mailbox post on my street. I highly recommend this to anyone looking to upgrade the standard wooden mailbox post. It took less than 10 minutes to assemble the two pieces and less than 10 minutes to install over our wooden post. I'm very satisfied with this product.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dover Plastic Mailbox Post in Clay
from Slinger, WI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great looking mailbox

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It's a great looking mailbox post and I like that it has the newspaper slot too. Easy to install too.
Pros: Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dover Plastic Mailbox Post in Clay
from Williamsburg, VA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sturdy and easy to install

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Dover Mailbox Post in White
The polyethylene mailbox post and polyethylene newspaper holder are sturdy and should give many years of use. Being that these components are "plastic", there is some flex in the whole setup, but nothing serious. The included illustrated instructions are easy to follow.
The mailbox post itself is easy to install -- simply slide it over a 4"x4" wood post (previously placed in the ground), place the newspaper holder (mailbox support arm) at a suitable level, use the pre-drilled holes in the newspaper holder as a guide to drill four holes through the poly post and into the 4x4, and then secure the newspaper holder and poly post to the 4x4 with the provided lag bolts and screws.
In addition to the mailbox post and newspaper holder, a totally new installation also requires obtaining a 4x4 wood post (and "planting" it into the ground), a mailbox, and mailbox mounting hardware.
The instructions show mounting the mailbox on top of the newspaper holder by drilling holes in the floor of the mailbox and the top of the newspaper holder, putting bolts (not provided) through the holes, and securing the bolts with nuts inside the newspaper holder opening. I found it easier to mount the mailbox on the newspaper holder in the same manner in which mailboxes are typically mounted on a wooden support arm -- put screws through the standard holes at the bottom edge of the mailbox and into the side of the top edge of the newspaper holder.
The mailbox post and newspaper box were shipped in two boxes directly from the manufacturer and arrived about three days after I placed the order online with Home Depot. About three weeks later the company called to see if the items arrived in good order and if I was satisfied with the product. (Yes!) That's good customer service rarely seen!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dover Plastic Mailbox Post in Clay
from Miamisburg, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Quick and easy but what a difference

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Dover Mailbox Post in White
It took us an afternoon to install. We cut to size the old post and simply slipped Dover mail post over. I can't believe we waited so long - the difference is night and day.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dover Plastic Mailbox Post in Clay

Select mailbox carefully

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Dover Mailbox Post in White
Went together really easily, but had to modify back of mailbox to fit (was to thick to fit into slot privided) not a big deal if you are handy, otherwise just pay attention when selectibg box. Hopefully it will last a lot longer then the all wood version that I had previously.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dover Plastic Mailbox Post in Clay
from Central New York state

Dover Mailbox is classic and classy

PostedSeptember 15, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Dover Plastic Mailbox Post in Black
I bought this mailbox post to replace a wooden post that I've repainted several times through the years. The maintenance free plastic was a big selling tool as well as the option to add the newspaper holder. This is the best looking mailbox in my entire neighborhood, we've gotten several compliments from our neighbors. It was very easy to install (just slipped over the existing post) and easy to assemble as well. I would highly recommend this post to anyone looking to replace their existing post with an attractive and maintenance free alternative.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dover Plastic Mailbox Post in Clay
from GA

Mailbox Post

PostedJune 12, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Dover Plastic Mailbox Post in Black
This post looks very nice. We've received compliments on it, and it hasn't even been up a week. I really like the way that the newspaper holder is integrated into the post -- gives it a nice appearance.
I'd give it a 5 except for three things:
1. Why isn't there a matching polyethylene mailbox? We ended up having to buy a metal mailbox because we couldn't find a large polyethylene one. This doesn't make sense.
2. There is no way I could have put this together myself. Thank goodness my husband is an engineer. He rigged up a wooden base to use to attach the mailbox to the post.
3. Despite what the instructions say, we used a large mailbox . It works well. We didn't want a small one. However, the large one is less than 14 pounds as per the instructions.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dover Plastic Mailbox Post in Clay
from Avon, OH

mailbox

PostedNovember 16, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Dover Mailbox Post in White
I love my new mailbox, best looking one on the street! Have gotten great compliments from the neighbors! Relatively easy to put together. Nice having the paperbox included on the pole instead of another one in the ground.
One drawback, no place to put street numbers. All the numbers I found are 4 inches high so they don't fit anywhere.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dover Plastic Mailbox Post in Clay

Mailbox Post

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Dover Mailbox Post in White
The mailbox post is well-made and easy to install, but installing a standard mailbox to the post is not as easy. The instructions suggest drilling through the mailbox and top of post arm, but this is extremely difficult to align. The width of the post arm does not allow for easy side-screw installation.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dover Plastic Mailbox Post in Clay

Great looking - many compliments on the appearance.

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Dover Mailbox Post in White
High quality.
This mail box post was a replacement for the identical model that was accidently destroyed by delivery person. The first one kept its great appearance for over 6 years.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dover Plastic Mailbox Post in Clay
from Orlando, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best looking post in the neighborhood

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Dover Plastic Mailbox Post in Black
It took me days and many web searches to find the Mayne post. I am very particualr about the look, quality and style and I have to say the Mayne products really hit the mark. The clean lines on the post give it a stately look. Yes, it is a high grade plastic and it is light weight but when you put it over the wooden post and secure it to the post, it is solid as a rock. When I get mail, my box does not wobble. My husband used one 60lb bag of cement. We bought the light kit for the top of the post and it adds to the overall look. It is not as bright as I would have expected but aesthetically, it works well. I was going to get the more basic Mayne post but was concerned it wasn't strong enough to support the mail box so I got Dover instead. A neighbor has had the Mayne post for years and while the post looks great, they went cheap on the box and it is rusty and old. Get a good quality box. We went with Special LIte Curbside Mail box in Black through a different retailer. Caution: All the Mayne posts in white that I see in town show the dirt. If that bothers you, go with the darker post.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dover Plastic Mailbox Post in Clay

Very sturdy, assembly was easy to follow.

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Dover Plastic Mailbox Post in Black
The post was surprisingly sturdy given that its plastic, but when we slipped it over the 4x4 post, it really becomes very stable assuming you've installed the post securely in the ground. We like the newspaper holder feature, which is one of the reasons we bought it. It fits cleanly under the mailbox and has held our large Sunday paper so far without issue. We liked the design and the clean lines too.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: installing mailbox was somewhat challenging
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dover Plastic Mailbox Post in Clay
from Annandale, VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Too costly but looks and functions as described

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This review is from:Dover Mailbox Post in White
Show piece design installs easily and gives curbside appeal.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: mold imperfections there but minimal
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Dover Plastic Mailbox Post in Clay
from New York

Mailbox post

PostedJune 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Dover Mailbox Post in White
Produict arrived in great conditon and on time. It was easy to assemble and looks great.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dover Plastic Mailbox Post in Clay
from Stow, Ohio

MAYNE BRAND MAILPOST

PostedJuly 1, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Dover Mailbox Post in White
I am on the board in our community and after researching and looking at many mail posts, our board chose to specify this Dover Mayne Mailpost as the replacement mailpost in our community. This past spring we organized a group installation. I AM VERY IMPRESSED WITH THE HIGH QUALITY of this product and have received many positive comments from the residents in our community. I look forward to many, many years of use from this mailpost.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dover Plastic Mailbox Post in Clay
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Recommended, easy to install

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Dover Mailbox Post in White
This came from UPS ready to be put up, came with all the parts , instructions, and phone number if you had questions, Mayne Co. even called a few days later to make sure all was okay. The only minor issue was one of the sides had a little blemish.. nothing major I just put that side towards the back, no one will know it's there except me. We now think we have the best post on the block.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Dover Plastic Mailbox Post in Clay
from Ridge, NY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is beautiful!

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Dover Mailbox Post in White
Great quality. It adds a classic touch of elegance and blends perfectly with the New England style of our home. I am very happy with this purchase.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dover Plastic Mailbox Post in Clay
from Albany, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best looking post and mailbox on the block!

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Dover Mailbox Post in White
We are very happy with the looks of our Denver mailbox post. It went together easily and looks great with the recommended mailbox. We used the ground screw and the post is a little wobbly, but seems sturdy enough.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Dover Plastic Mailbox Post in Clay
from richmond va
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

good buy

PostedNovember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Dover Mailbox Post in White
A bit flimsy however easy to put together should be more clear on the need of a 4X4
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.