728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Laminate Wood Flooring or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Presto Salem Oak 8mm Thick x 7-5/8 in. Wide x 47-1/2 in. Length Laminate Flooring (20.1 sq. ft./case)

Presto Salem Oak 8mm Thick x 7-5/8 in. Wide x 47-1/2 in. Length Laminate Flooring (20.1 sq. ft./case)

Presto Salem Oak is a beautiful, worry free floor that's easy to install. Featuring Pergo's patented surface protection that minimizes scratches and dulling. Pergo Presto is warranted against wear, staining and fading for 25 years. 8 mm thick x 7-5/8 in. wide x 47-1/2 in. Length.
Overall rating:
4.435 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(46 reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product42 of 44reviews
Rating Breakdown 46 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(29)
4
(13)
3
(0)
2
(3)
1
(1)
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product42 of 44reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer reviews for Presto Salem Oak 8mm Thick x 7-5/8 in. Wide x 47-1/2 in. Length Laminate Flooring (20.1 sq. ft./case)
Review 1 for Presto Salem Oak 8mm Thick x 7-5/8 in. Wide x 47-1/2 in. Length Laminate Flooring (20.1 sq. ft./case)
from Verona, NY

Laminate Flooring

PostedApril 11, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After purchasing and installing laminate flooring in our house, I have found that I am very pleased with the product. Being the mother of 2 small monsters, I appreciate being able to clean up messes with little or no effort at all. And when they have an uncontrollable urge to drag a chair across the floor, I am always surprised to find afterwards that there are no scrathes.
This is the perfect product for families who want a sophisticated appearance in their home, no matter how chaotic their lives may be.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Presto Salem Oak 8mm Thick x 7-5/8 in. Wide x 47-1/2 in. Length Laminate Flooring (20.1 sq. ft./case)
from Hooksett, New Hampshire

Pergo Salem Oak

PostedNovember 18, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We put Pergo Oak on the living room floor five years ago. At the entryway, one cat, five kids, a contractor, and three dogs later, the entryway looks as beautiful as it did the day we installed it. Periodically, I use a citrus wood cleaner on it. Twice I have lightly steam cleaned it (light, and fast to just pick up dirt) and it is still good.
No scratch marks, no scuff marks.
We have now put Pergo in bedrooms and a bathroom. I was worried about the water from the shower but it is holding up great.
Considering how many people have allergies and cough bronchially from dust, this wood flooring with the occasional scattered rug is the way to go ! I will never do wall to wall rugs again.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Presto Salem Oak 8mm Thick x 7-5/8 in. Wide x 47-1/2 in. Length Laminate Flooring (20.1 sq. ft./case)
from Dallas, Texas

3rd Time with Pergo

PostedDecember 12, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We are replacing our DR/KITCHEN/PANTRY floor with this product for the third time due to storm related water damage.
This is the second time putting in the Salem Oak. The color is perfect. There are 3-5 people (or more) in our home depending on the season and we have two cats.
The first Pergo floor was installed in 98, I dont remember the style/color. The second floor (Salem Oak) went in in 06. Now the third floor, also Salem Oak is going in today 12/12/09.
These floors are very durable and hard to damage. Almost anything you can drop in a kitchen has been dropped and yet the old floors have had no damage. We werent shopping by price but by style and the Salem Oak works perfect.
So we will once again go with the Salem Oak for our third floor, and if it storms again, we'll put the same floor in again.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Presto Salem Oak 8mm Thick x 7-5/8 in. Wide x 47-1/2 in. Length Laminate Flooring (20.1 sq. ft./case)
from Coastal Carolina, SC

Pergo rocks for college kids!

PostedAugust 2, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased this to redo the floors in our house we rent to college students! PHEW.. what a relief.. the carpets had been disgustingley filthy, carry tons of filth, germs and yuk after each semister. We put this product down, which was very easy to do..and now it's easy for the kids to wipe of spills, and just dust mop the floors.. no more heavy vacuums for these kids!! And ... everyone is happy!! It has a very long term warantee for stains, so it's a win-win situation here! Thanks for this terific product!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Presto Salem Oak 8mm Thick x 7-5/8 in. Wide x 47-1/2 in. Length Laminate Flooring (20.1 sq. ft./case)
from woodruff SC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

easier than you'd think

PostedMarch 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
two of us installed 700 sf of the pergo presto salem oak...in two days ... there was a lot of cutting ...
word to the wise, buy a tapping block (we bought ours at a different store because the reviews of the one @ HD weren't good) ... the tapping block made all the diff. . .
USE GOOD LIGHTING. . . and check each board.
after all the flooring went in, the next day we saw one board with a terrible flaw where there was no poly coating on 1/2 the board. . . visible only when the front door was open and full sun was on it ... and then way too late to take up 40% of the room.
All in all the look is fab and we hope it holds up well.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Presto Salem Oak 8mm Thick x 7-5/8 in. Wide x 47-1/2 in. Length Laminate Flooring (20.1 sq. ft./case)
from Essex, MA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WORTH EVERY PENNY!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedOctober 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This floor is everything that a floor should be. My wife and I purchased a different floor first and ended up returning it for the Pergo Presto Salem Oak. The original flooring went down incredibly slow and we only had half of our dining room done in a day and a half. Once we purchased the Pergo, we had that much layed down in just over an hour.this floor is everything that flooring SHOULD be! Now she wants to put it down in the rest of the house and I'm all for it! It's durable, and looks absolutely amazing. Don't think twice, buy the product, you won't be sorry!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Presto Salem Oak 8mm Thick x 7-5/8 in. Wide x 47-1/2 in. Length Laminate Flooring (20.1 sq. ft./case)
from Hartstown, PA

What a fantastic product!

PostedJanuary 5, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We installed Pergo flooring when we remodeled a room for a nursery three years ago...and loved it! We have just completed laying this particular Pergo product in our front entryway, dining room, living room, and hallway in our home. It looks beautiful, and my husband and I accomplished the whole task (including removing the old carpeting) in one weekend...with 3-year-old twins helping! We love it!!!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Presto Salem Oak 8mm Thick x 7-5/8 in. Wide x 47-1/2 in. Length Laminate Flooring (20.1 sq. ft./case)
from connecticut

handles great looks great

PostedMay 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
we have used this on 2 bedrooms and hallway..this stuff is great..handles easy and cleans up nice. plan on using again in living room..
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Presto Salem Oak 8mm Thick x 7-5/8 in. Wide x 47-1/2 in. Length Laminate Flooring (20.1 sq. ft./case)
from Colorado Springs, CO

It was that easy!

PostedSeptember 11, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Wow! I LOVE my new Pergo floors from Home Depot!! Bye-bye dirty, un-cleanable carpet!
Last weekend, while my hubby was on a short trip, I decided to "surprise" him by ripping out our nasty old carpet and putting in nice new Pergo. (Basically, that means I didn't really have permission to rip out the carpet and put in Laminate. So, I knew it better be finished and look great before he got home!)
I was worried about installing this by myself, but the helpful people at Home Depot showed me how, and even showed me which saw to buy (which happened to be on sale, thank you very much!) Everyone told me how easy it was to install, but I was still a little skeptical.
I was worried my son and I couldn't get it done before Dad got home, but this floor was a snap to put in - literally!! You just snap the pieces in place, cut at the end of you row, and start another row. The hardest part of the job was ripping out the old floor!
It really was that easy!! And now I've got a beautiful CLEAN floor for my kids to play on!!! (And believe me, with 6 kids in the house, I need something that's easy to clean!!)
Thanks Home Depot!!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Presto Salem Oak 8mm Thick x 7-5/8 in. Wide x 47-1/2 in. Length Laminate Flooring (20.1 sq. ft./case)

Looks nice but is starting to come apart.

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
My floor was put down by a professional and it looked great for 3 weeks. After 3 weeks the end joints started to work apart. Now over 900 square feet of floor I have 20 some end joints that have separated and a crack is showing. The floor looks great is very durable.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Presto Salem Oak 8mm Thick x 7-5/8 in. Wide x 47-1/2 in. Length Laminate Flooring (20.1 sq. ft./case)
from Destin, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent product; very satisfactory

PostedJune 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A very good product that I have used in past. Install was easy and problem free and looks great.......GD, Destin, FL
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Presto Salem Oak 8mm Thick x 7-5/8 in. Wide x 47-1/2 in. Length Laminate Flooring (20.1 sq. ft./case)
from Fairfax, VA

Easy and good looking

PostedJune 28, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This floor is great. I did buy the padding, I live in a condo with cement slab floor, and I wanted the extra protection and padding.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Presto Salem Oak 8mm Thick x 7-5/8 in. Wide x 47-1/2 in. Length Laminate Flooring (20.1 sq. ft./case)
from LA

Love this flooring

PostedAugust 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this flooring over a year ago, it's beautiful. Easy to keep clean, still glossy, and just great.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Presto Salem Oak 8mm Thick x 7-5/8 in. Wide x 47-1/2 in. Length Laminate Flooring (20.1 sq. ft./case)
from Chicago, IL

Back in Business

PostedSeptember 13, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After doing some research on laminated flooring for our home office, family room and bedroom we decided on the Pergo Presto and could not be happier! The warrantee is impressive and the wood grain look is very realistic. We prepped the floors with Silent Step padding, which makes the floor nice to walk on and much quieter than hard wood floors. A friend helped us with the installation and in a few days we were back in business and enjoying our beautiful floors. During the installation one of my kids stepped on wet polyurethane and tracked it across the floor. I was totally amazed and delighted to find it could be wiped up with a small amount of paint thinner on a rag. I was able to remove the tracks without dulling the beautiful luster of the floor. With three children and two cats it’s extremely easy to keep clean and here is an extra plus… I found an assortment of glides and felt pads at the Home Depot that I applied to all my bulky furniture. Now I am able to move even heavy file cabinets and desks to clean behind them or rearrange my room whenever I like! I could never do this with carpeting. I love my floors! Thank You, Home Depot!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Presto Salem Oak 8mm Thick x 7-5/8 in. Wide x 47-1/2 in. Length Laminate Flooring (20.1 sq. ft./case)

Pleasantly surprised by this product

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought 22 boxes of this at my local store and have been installing it over the last few weekends. I have quite a few cuts, so I'm taking my time, measuring twice. Installation is in a living/dining room combination.
With 17 of the boxes down, it has gone well. The floor simply looks amazing. The price is right too. I'm very impressed by this "snap together" installation. Frankly, I thought it would make for a cheap floor. Not so. Forget glue and nails, this is the way to go. The system creates a really tight seam (if you do it correctly, per instructions) that actually draws itself together.
If you follow the instructions, it goes together without chips. All your cuts are hidden on the edges. I'm even using a cheap blade (actually, two), and it doesn't matter much. I only chipped one board because I got careless. Not sure what people talk about with chips -- there none if you do it right. I've also limited my "tap method" installations to those that go under door casings. That helps avoid problems with installation damage. Also, make sure to avoid lining up seams, per instructions.
If I had any criticism, it would be that there are not a lot of pattern variety in the boxes. I suppose the higher priced lines have more variety. All this really means is you have to pay attention to not create unwanted repetition. You have to pay attention to patterns while installing.
I can't wait to finish the remaining boxes in the hallway. The look is so new and dramatic compared to our old carpet, it is like having a new home!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Presto Salem Oak 8mm Thick x 7-5/8 in. Wide x 47-1/2 in. Length Laminate Flooring (20.1 sq. ft./case)
from New Hampshire

Presto Salem Oak

PostedJuly 7, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This stuff is great! We put the same Presto Salem Oak in our kitchen and entryways when we built our house seven years ago. After three dogs and one teenage boy had their way with the carpet in the family room and hallways we decided to make a change. The Presto Salem Oak in the kitchen and entryways is still shining bright after all these years (and the same abuse), so we decided to replace the carpet with it. It went down just as easily as I remembered from the previous installation and the color matched exactly after seven years! Anyone who complains about it chipping doesn't know how to install it so the chipped edges are under the molding (try doing a little research on installation first).
0points
5out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Presto Salem Oak 8mm Thick x 7-5/8 in. Wide x 47-1/2 in. Length Laminate Flooring (20.1 sq. ft./case)
from Fort Bragg, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great look, easy installation.

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am so pleased with the Presto Salem Oak Pergo. It looks like real solid oak flooring.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Presto Salem Oak 8mm Thick x 7-5/8 in. Wide x 47-1/2 in. Length Laminate Flooring (20.1 sq. ft./case)
from Long Island , NY

Pergo Presto

PostedDecember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this product & found it very easy to install. Had iit delivered to my home & it came in on the promised time for delivery
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Presto Salem Oak 8mm Thick x 7-5/8 in. Wide x 47-1/2 in. Length Laminate Flooring (20.1 sq. ft./case)

Perfect for diy project

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was easy to install and it looks great. Hopefully it will last many years to come. Unlike many things I have purchased from Home Depot since we bought our house. The ceiling fan, bath room sink, toilet bowl, a saw all purchased in the Home Depot have broken since we bought them. And a bush we bought for the yard met the same demise.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Presto Salem Oak 8mm Thick x 7-5/8 in. Wide x 47-1/2 in. Length Laminate Flooring (20.1 sq. ft./case)
from Westerly, RI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great !!!!

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
They people who installed it for me said this is great product. It looks nice in the kitchen, wife likes it finds it easy to clean and maintain. In another year will do and another room with it. I highy recommend this product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>