728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Vacuum Cleaners & Floor Care or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Pump

Pump

Expand your RIDGID wet/dry vacuum's versatility with the RIDGID Pump. The pump enables most RIDGID wet/dry vacuums with a drain to pump 10 gallons per minute of water from the vacuum drum up to 40 ft. high.
Overall rating:
4.467 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product25 of 27reviews
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(21)
4
(6)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Features 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product25 of 27reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer reviews for Pump
Review 1 for Pump
from Anchorage

Cheap plastic impeller broke..no parts available...

PostedFebruary 23, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't buy this pump it's junk. Home Depot(Ridgid VP2000 Pump), Vacmaster(PE401 pump), Workshop(MP2000 Multifit pump) and Sears(Crafstman Pumpout) are all identical but come in different color and made by the same manufacturer (Unknown). Problem is the cheap plastic impeller breaks rendering the pump unusable and no parts available by any of the retailers named above. You get what you pay for.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable, made in china, cheap plastic internals, intended to break, no parts available
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pump

Great Pump

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this pump to empty a swimming pool. There is always about two inches of water that the pump can not get so I wanted to use my wet and dry vac to get the rest of the water out. I have used the Ridgid vac to suck up water in the past and the vac works great but you have to lift the bucket every time it fills up and that can be tiresome. I was able to bring the pool liner down to complete dryness with the vac and not have to leave the pool or strain a muscle. Every time the vac filled up I turned this pump on and it empty the vac in about a minute and the pump had a lot of power. I recommend this pump and the price is great.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pump
from Chicago,IL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cheaper than a back massage!

PostedJune 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A t-storm flooded our basement and all I had was a 5 gallon Craftsman vac. After lugging two trips to dump out the tank I said enough of this. I went to the closest Home Depot and bought a 14 gallon model with more power (insert Tim Taylor grunt) and this pump. I'm guessing I moved out about 50 gallons of water with this and saved my back! I figure this cost $40, a back massage cost $60 in my area. This paid for itself in one use!!!
Tips...
Don't run dry, make sure you turn it on when enough water in your vac (at least to cover the exit drain). Use zip ties to tie the cord and shop vac cord together to make things easier to manage.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pump
from NW Indiana
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Invaluable

PostedFebruary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Among other business lines, I do emergency water cleanup. We use vacuum cleaners for much of this task. It is often a problem, emptying vacuum tanks into toilet bowls or slop sinks. Wrestling a water filled vacuum that weighs a hundred pounds is no fun, and can lead to disasters. With this tool, I can pump out with a garden hose.
In addition to emptying my Ridgid vac, I can use the Ridgid vac tank as a transfer pump. It's a little slow, but it is much safer than manhandling machinery.
My only beef, is that I wish it was easier to build adapters to attach this to my other non Ridgid machines.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Convenient
Cons: slow
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pump
from Fremont, Ca
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Wet/Dry Vacuum Pump

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Much better than the old way to remove water which was to vacuum up the water, once full drain and start all over. With this all I had to do was to attach a garden hose to the pump and attach the pump to the wet/dry vacuum and start removing the water
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pump
from Olympia, WA

Ridgid pump Acc'y for wet/dry vacs

PostedDecember 27, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great item. Attaches easily to my 16 gallon Ridgid vac. Saves my back when it comes time to empty the water from the tank. Our basement flooded, and thank goodness the pump was here. It emptied the 16 gallons of water from the tank in about 1 minute. All I had to do was place the pump on the tank drain, plug it in, and run the garden hose into the bathtub. This is a necessary tool for any Ridgid vac when water clean up is needed.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pump
from New Jersey

Excellent Purchase

PostedMarch 31, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Product worked very well. Used with a 16 Gallon Ridgid wet/vac and was able to save time and effort in emptying the drum. Only thing negative I experienced is that sometimes it wouldn't pump and I had to mess around with the hose and pump in order to get it to work again. Could have just been my setup and lack of fully reading the manual. That is the only reason I gave it 4 stars out of 5. I absolutely recommend the purchase. It is one of those things that you should just have around in case you need it. It is just that good of an idea and product.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pump
from Firestone, CO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great idea, but not followed thru to 'better-than-satisfactory-quality.'

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
1st- because of poor finishing of flash on molded parts (Bib), it leaked more than a little.
2nd- I personally believe the GCFI on plug is not warranted. There should be a power receptacle on the vac to keep troublesome multiple cords from being a hazard in the work area.
Again, a good idea, but needs further development to make it more appealing to more prospective users. Those not familiar with the marriage of pump-to-vacuum were more than impressed with the concept.
I really expected better quality from Ridgid.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: less than a perfect mate-up.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pump
from Clayton, NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A must have if you need to move a lot of water

PostedSeptember 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product is a must have especially if you situation involves basement water removal or simliar where the volume is more than half the capacity of your vac. Save time and you back lugging the vav to a point to empty it. Only item I would recommend is swapping the "hose valve" coupler to a brass variety as when you in a hurry to get this set up or moving things around it's easly to damage the threads going to the garden hose and thus a leaky connection
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: the plastic hose valve
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pump

Good idea compromised by cheap small parts.

PostedJune 15, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Good idea given weight of larger vacs loaded with water. Pump powerful for its size - moves water from vac quickly as well as uphill if necessary. My issue was with the adapter which connects the pump to the vac. The pre-drilled hole which allows for a screw to "permanently" attach the adapter to the vac was off center causing the adapter to leak substantially when attached to the vac, even with the screw in place. Wanted to make this thing work so reassembled adapter to vac with marine silicone on threads and in screw-hole. Then discovered the pump-discharge hose adapter leaks with valve in "closed" position. Not a big deal but annoying in combination with the other adapter issue. I would recommend this item only if you're prepared to fuss with larger adapter.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pump
from Huntsville, AL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Saves Time and No struggling to empty!

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Use this in a Plant where water & chemicals are frequent! It makes the cleanup quick and no worrying to empty!
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pump
from Hudson, NH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great addition to a Rigid Wet/Dy Vac

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The product works as designed/advertised. I connected the device to my Vac and when it was full, unplugged the vac, plugged the pump and it did what it was supposed to do. I can't speak for the GPM but it emptied the liquid contents of the shop vac in short order.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pump
from Suffolk County NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solved a problem

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Solved a big problem, made eliminating water accumulation from basement.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pump
from Ellicott City, Md.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice add-on

PostedMay 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Bought this to assist with the final few inches of a pool emptying and it work well enough. The output could not keep up with the input, which required a lot of on/off action on the vacuum. So it could not run unassisted to empty the water. It also appeared to shut off when the vacuum was running even if the tank was not full. For helping clean up a wet basement or other area where there isn't a whole lot of water or an expectation that you can vacuum and have the water pump out while you work, it's a good add-on.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: pump shuts off when vacuum is running., plastic hose connector.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pump
from Thornton, CO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ingenious product

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Sure helped me when cleaning the final inch out of my pool. The shop vac is an excellent way to evacuate the water out of a seasonal above ground pool. The drawback is popping the top off and dragging it away and lifting this heavy bucket of water. Now I can have the vac in the pool, and when time to evacuate the bucket, turn on bucket pump and you are on the way. The only visible thing I seen go wrong was the rubber push switch cover to keep water out, fell off after 50 on/off cycles...Other than that it is definitely a keeper!!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pump
from michigan

very reliable

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
worked with shop vac to drain flooded basement
worked very good
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pump
from CHICAGO, IL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WORKS LIKE A CHARM!!!

PostedNovember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
GREAT LITTLE ADD-ON PUMP!!! IT MOVES THE WATER WITH EASE
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pump
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very useful accessory

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The pump works great and quickly empties the tank. I used this to aid in the cleanup after hurricane Sandy. It attaches and detaches easily and can be left in place permanently if desired. The separate, power cord with the built-in GFI is longer than the cord on the vacuum itself. Sometimes its a little difficult to deal with two separate cords.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: separate power cord
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pump
from west seneca
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Draining the Pool

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This helped out when we used the shop vac to help drain out the last little bit of water out of our pool.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pump

Surprisingly Durable

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
While not indestructable it has held up longer than all expectations. We use it in our machine shop to help clean coolant tanks. I figured the small chips and industrial sludge would wear it out after a couple of uses, but it has survived 8 months of excessive abuse without missing a lick. The fast flow rate is great and has greatly reduced the down time required to drain the tanks.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>