728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Vacuum Cleaners & Floor Care or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Pump

Pump

Expand your RIDGID wet/dry vacuum's versatility with the RIDGID Pump. The pump enables most RIDGID wet/dry vacs with a drain to pump 10 gallons per minute of water from the vac drum up to 40 ft. high.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product16 of 17reviews
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(14)
4
(4)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Features 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product16 of 17reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for Pump
Review 1 for Pump
from Ellicott City, Md.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice add-on

PostedMay 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this to assist with the final few inches of a pool emptying and it work well enough. The output could not keep up with the input, which required a lot of on/off action on the vacuum. So it could not run unassisted to empty the water. It also appeared to shut off when the vacuum was running even if the tank was not full. For helping clean up a wet basement or other area where there isn't a whole lot of water or an expectation that you can vacuum and have the water pump out while you work, it's a good add-on.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: pump shuts off when vacuum is running., plastic hose connector.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pump
from Firestone, CO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great idea, but not followed thru to 'better-than-satisfactory-quality.'

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
1st- because of poor finishing of flash on molded parts (Bib), it leaked more than a little.
2nd- I personally believe the GCFI on plug is not warranted. There should be a power receptacle on the vac to keep troublesome multiple cords from being a hazard in the work area.
Again, a good idea, but needs further development to make it more appealing to more prospective users. Those not familiar with the marriage of pump-to-vacuum were more than impressed with the concept.
I really expected better quality from Ridgid.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: less than a perfect mate-up.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pump
from NW Indiana
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Invaluable

PostedFebruary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Among other business lines, I do emergency water cleanup. We use vacuum cleaners for much of this task. It is often a problem, emptying vacuum tanks into toilet bowls or slop sinks. Wrestling a water filled vacuum that weighs a hundred pounds is no fun, and can lead to disasters. With this tool, I can pump out with a garden hose.
In addition to emptying my Ridgid vac, I can use the Ridgid vac tank as a transfer pump. It's a little slow, but it is much safer than manhandling machinery.
My only beef, is that I wish it was easier to build adapters to attach this to my other non Ridgid machines.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Convenient
Cons: slow
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pump

Good idea compromised by cheap small parts.

PostedJune 15, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Good idea given weight of larger vacs loaded with water. Pump powerful for its size - moves water from vac quickly as well as uphill if necessary. My issue was with the adapter which connects the pump to the vac. The pre-drilled hole which allows for a screw to "permanently" attach the adapter to the vac was off center causing the adapter to leak substantially when attached to the vac, even with the screw in place. Wanted to make this thing work so reassembled adapter to vac with marine silicone on threads and in screw-hole. Then discovered the pump-discharge hose adapter leaks with valve in "closed" position. Not a big deal but annoying in combination with the other adapter issue. I would recommend this item only if you're prepared to fuss with larger adapter.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pump
from Hudson, NH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great addition to a Rigid Wet/Dy Vac

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product works as designed/advertised. I connected the device to my Vac and when it was full, unplugged the vac, plugged the pump and it did what it was supposed to do. I can't speak for the GPM but it emptied the liquid contents of the shop vac in short order.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pump
from Olympia, WA

Ridgid pump Acc'y for wet/dry vacs

PostedDecember 27, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great item. Attaches easily to my 16 gallon Ridgid vac. Saves my back when it comes time to empty the water from the tank. Our basement flooded, and thank goodness the pump was here. It emptied the 16 gallons of water from the tank in about 1 minute. All I had to do was place the pump on the tank drain, plug it in, and run the garden hose into the bathtub. This is a necessary tool for any Ridgid vac when water clean up is needed.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pump
from New Jersey

Excellent Purchase

PostedMarch 31, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product worked very well. Used with a 16 Gallon Ridgid wet/vac and was able to save time and effort in emptying the drum. Only thing negative I experienced is that sometimes it wouldn't pump and I had to mess around with the hose and pump in order to get it to work again. Could have just been my setup and lack of fully reading the manual. That is the only reason I gave it 4 stars out of 5. I absolutely recommend the purchase. It is one of those things that you should just have around in case you need it. It is just that good of an idea and product.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pump
from Huntsville, AL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Saves Time and No struggling to empty!

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Use this in a Plant where water & chemicals are frequent! It makes the cleanup quick and no worrying to empty!
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pump
from Clayton, NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A must have if you need to move a lot of water

PostedSeptember 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is a must have especially if you situation involves basement water removal or simliar where the volume is more than half the capacity of your vac. Save time and you back lugging the vav to a point to empty it. Only item I would recommend is swapping the "hose valve" coupler to a brass variety as when you in a hurry to get this set up or moving things around it's easly to damage the threads going to the garden hose and thus a leaky connection
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: the plastic hose valve
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pump
from Brick,NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Product!!

PostedDecember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you own a Ridge Shop Vac and use it to pick up water... This is a must! Excellent when my sump pump failed!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pump
from Peachtree City, Georgia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Time Saver

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Fittings could be of better quality. Product is excellent as we purchased two for use at baseball fields to remove standing water. Getting ready to order on for our high school field.
When we purchased first two they were sold in stores but now they cannot be found. I would recommend Home Depot placing this item back in stores as they do not take up much shelf space. The only reason that I purchased the first two was because I was browsing for other items and ran across this pump and decided to purchase two.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pump
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very useful accessory

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The pump works great and quickly empties the tank. I used this to aid in the cleanup after hurricane Sandy. It attaches and detaches easily and can be left in place permanently if desired. The separate, power cord with the built-in GFI is longer than the cord on the vacuum itself. Sometimes its a little difficult to deal with two separate cords.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: separate power cord
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pump
from michigan

very reliable

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
worked with shop vac to drain flooded basement
worked very good
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pump

Surprisingly Durable

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
While not indestructable it has held up longer than all expectations. We use it in our machine shop to help clean coolant tanks. I figured the small chips and industrial sludge would wear it out after a couple of uses, but it has survived 8 months of excessive abuse without missing a lick. The fast flow rate is great and has greatly reduced the down time required to drain the tanks.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pump
from Maud, OK

Great Pump!

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After deciding what we needed to keep our cellar dry, we could not find this pump anywhere until we checked Home Depot online. We bought and received it very quickly and are very happy with the service, pump, and price.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pump

Great product, great price

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this to drain an above ground pool after I foolishly set the drain plug on the higher elevation...worked like a charm. Great pump, great value for the money!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pump
from NEW JERSEY

THIS SHOP VAC IS ALSOME!

PostedMarch 15, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
IT WORKS WELL BUILT GOOD, AND IT HELPS WATER IN THE BASEMENT NO MORE EMETYING THE 10 GALLON WATER SHOP VAC, JUST HIT THE BUTTON AND IT IS FAST VERY FAST I AM VERY HAPPY!
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pump
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wet & Dry vac. 16 gallion

PostedMay 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wasn't sure of this pump on my vac but when I used it,I was sure supprised how fast it drained my 16 gallion vac. I am glad I bought it and will use it offten.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pump
from Harrisburg, Pa

Home Depots line of Tools

PostedMay 9, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This pump is a great accessory to have on hand It performs a excellent job and very easy to add and use I recommend it to all my friends and family
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pump
from NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Burned out first time I tried to use it

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I followed the instructions, installed the adapter, pump, and coupler, hooked up the garden house, opened the spigot... turned it on and smelled that burnt motor smell. $40 down the drain.
I figure I'll just use a bucket to empty the vac.
Cons: Not Durable
-8points
1out of 10found this review helpful.