728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Drills or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 3/8 in. Corded Drill / Driver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

3/8 in. Corded Drill / Driver

RYOBI's 3/8 in. Corded Drill/Driver gives you the power you need to get the job done right. It offers 1500 RPM from a 4.5 amp motor for powerful drilling and driving in a variety of materials. It also has a variable-speed trigger for enhanced control.
Overall rating:
4.558 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(120 reviews) 120
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product107 of 114reviews
Rating Breakdown 120 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(85)
4
(26)
3
(3)
2
(3)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product107 of 114reviews
Customer reviews for 3/8 in. Corded Drill / Driver
Review 1 for 3/8 in. Corded Drill / Driver
from Missouri, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

nice electric drill

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I don't use a drill often so the cordless models are too much hassle to keep charged...this is a nice corded model, always ready to go and does a fine job. Ideal for the weekend project or quick repair. Good quality at an affordable price
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3/8 in. Corded Drill / Driver
from Denver, CO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked well

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I used my new drill to build 3 raised garden beds. It was the right price for my budget and finished the jos nicely.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3/8 in. Corded Drill / Driver
from Tennessee
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This is my second 3/8 corded drill from Ryobi drill. The first one has lasted me about 10 years. Still works, Just wanted a new one.

PostedMarch 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have had several of these drills . I have even given them as gifts, so other friends could enjoy the great tools Ryobi puts out. My sons (3) all use the same tools.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3/8 in. Corded Drill / Driver

Cannot Believe This Thing Is Made In China

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Don't be fooled by the price of this drill. It may be the cheapest drill at Home Depot. It is made in China. You would think it is made in America or Japan. It does not feel cheap though. It is easy to use. It has amazing power. You can hear its power. You can feel its power. It works without any disappointment. I love products that are simple to use and do their jobs well. This drill is a winner. Cordless drills are great for tightening screws. This drill is exactly what I want in drilling holes through wood, steel, cement, concrete, and stucco. Get yourself a good set of drill bits and you are set.
Pros: Durable, Strong Suction, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3/8 in. Corded Drill / Driver
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Ryobi 3/8

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
While my need for an electric drill was somewhat modest as I planned to install a hasp for a padlock for the storage locker in the basement, I found the Ryobi 3/8 very suited to those needs both stylishly and economically. As I faced the 100 year old door frame that had seen a century of various handymen and had outlasted them all having the Ryobi 3/8 at my side was a welcome asset in my battle. With grim determination and my blue whirling Ryobi 3/8 comfortably in hand I completed my task against stupendous odds and now my possessions are safely locked away and I can focus on m other problems. Thanks Ryobi 3/8!
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
5out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3/8 in. Corded Drill / Driver
from Dallas, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

You absolutely cannot beat this drill for the price

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have owned one of these drills for over 7 years and used it and abused it alot!!!! it still works great. I have had much more expensive drills, and cannot say they were better in any way.
Pros: Durable, Good Size & Weight, price
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3/8 in. Corded Drill / Driver
from Los Angeles, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pleasantly surprised

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this drill because I have a cheap cordless one that doesn't do anything. I was going to return it thinking that anytime I needed to use a drill I could always borrow my neighbors. I decided to use it once before returning. It fit well in my hand, wasn't too heavy and seemed 10x's more powerful than my cordless drillmaster. Great value and great quality, I'm now browsing HD's website for more tools from Ryobi. Be sure to join Ryobi Nation for some great DIY ideas!
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3/8 in. Corded Drill / Driver
from Miami, FL

"The Little Engine that Could"

PostedJanuary 27, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love all my Ryobi tools, but this one is simply my favorite. No need for a complex, expensive drill when it comes to reliability. It is extremely durable, comes in a case of its own, and all for just $29.99. Everyone should have at least one VSR corded drill. It's simplicity alone is essential to any workshop. So far, it has outperformed my old Craftman, which I gave back to my father. I'm no sponsor for cheap gadgets, and this one's not one of them. It may be a drill that comes cheap, but it sure isn't a cheap drill.
P.S.> Last Job--Drilled fast through a cast-iron toilet flange and well into the concrete below with ryobi's own hex 1/8 drill bit.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3/8 in. Corded Drill / Driver
from chicago
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Value for Light Duty Occasional Use

PostedJuly 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I wanted a corded combo product with a cord. Since all my DYI projects are small and minimal, drill a whole to mount a bracket and attach the bracket, I did not want nor need a battery powered tool and have to worry if it is charged when I need it. This combo has been perfect. Light weight, easy to use. The only drawback is that the speed is controlled by pressure on the trigger. However, it is less than $30 which is a winner for me. With the storage case I am always able to have my drill/driver and necessary bits in one place.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight, storage case included
Cons: no speed control
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3/8 in. Corded Drill / Driver
from Nevada

Unbelievable Performer

PostedNovember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Having a battery die on my drill I was looking at an inexpensive drill to hold me over and while looking at 59-75 drills I stumbled on this one and read the reviews and decided to give it a try. For the money this drill is unreal, major torque and power, blew 2 1/2 screws right thru the wood!. Very good trigger action, very controllable. Drill is comfortable and light. They made this drill to go for the money, I would buy another money in a heart beat and praise the Lord, no more dead batteries at the wrong time.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3/8 in. Corded Drill / Driver
from CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Decent drill for light work

PostedApril 28, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I had mine for a couple years and it worked alright but wasn't very powerful. Mine eventually died but only after I abused it pretty badly. I would recommend this for light use with wood and other soft materials such as plastics and thin metals.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, not very powerful
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3/8 in. Corded Drill / Driver
from WA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent & Cheap

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
One of those times when one of the more inexpensive products is also the best - in fact better than higher priced compatible models of other brands. Plenty of torque. Easy to handle. Convenient reverse switch. Ultimately I was choosing between this model and Ryobi's clutch model - which has less torque and according to the box in the store a 2 year warranty compared to this model which is 3 years. I really like this drill. Hope it lasts.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3/8 in. Corded Drill / Driver
from queens, new york
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Absolute Workhorse!!!

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I mainly bought this drill for household repairs and other simple insignificant things such as polishing my rims so I wouldn't have to burn out my Makita 3/8 drill, mainly for my rims though. I could also let other people use this without worrying about it so much. This drill has an Amazing amount of power, even as much as my Makita. I've used and put this drill through a lot of abuse, because it has three years warranty, and it's still going strong. I've used it to drill thick screws through cement backer board to wooden studs when I was rebuilding a shower, I've used it to screw up drywall also but that's light duty, I've used it to drill holes in all sorts of wood, and Most Importantly, I've used THIS DRILL, with a 1/2'' hole saw bit to drill through 4x4 posts of pressure treated lumber!! This drill is my new favorite drill, I absolutely love it. Buy it, you won't regret it. And it has a really high speed which usually takes away from a drill's torque or power, but not this baby.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3/8 in. Corded Drill / Driver

A lot of drill for the money.

PostedDecember 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this drill for stropping and buffing my carving tools. I needed a drill with reversable speed and continous power button and this one is great. I can change my buffing wheels since it has a keyless chuck.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3/8 in. Corded Drill / Driver
from Manhattan, NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Thee best quality drill for the price!!!

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I read the reviews and decided to make the purchase, I've never owned a drill and I'm a petite woman so I need a small drill with a lot of power. First and foremost, you cant beat $30 bucks with a stick, and I even purchased a driver and bit set to go with it which costs $11 another price you cant beat. It came in a convenient zippered bag, which also fits the driver set (sold separately). Those drivers go through metal like a hot knife through butter. I put up my daughter's curtain rods and installed a top lock on my apartment door all in under an hour, which is great for my first time using a drill. Great purchase, I strictly trusted the home depot customer reviews.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3/8 in. Corded Drill / Driver
from San Diego, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good little drill

PostedApril 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Nice little drill. can't beat it on price.
Someone left a review that the chuck would not accept a 3/8 inch drill bit. Well I can only speak for the drill I have and it will accept a 3/8 inch drill. Heck it will even accept and hold a 25/64 drill bit.
Pros: Powerful, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3/8 in. Corded Drill / Driver
from Lake Worth, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product

PostedFebruary 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great price for a good 4.5 amp variable speed drill; other similar quality drills sell for almost 2X the price. Very fast, plenty of juice for the tougher jobs.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 3/8 in. Corded Drill / Driver
from Henry, Il

Better than I expected, great power and good feel

PostedOctober 15, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This drill was bought to replace my old B & D drill (that I hated), it fit my hand great, has plenty of power, keyless chuck and variable speed. It drills so good and screws without any problems.
I am useing Ryobi's metal polishing kist to polish the aluminum on my bike and this drill works great. I now have aluminum that looks like chrome! Although it is only a 3/8" drill, it fits my needs well. I use my 18V 1/2" for the bigger bits.
Overall, it was a great purchace and an asset to my Ryobi collection of 30+ tools.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3/8 in. Corded Drill / Driver
from Scottsdale, AZ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great drill for any home shop

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have the same model drill in our summer home, so I already knew it's functionally. It is great size and weight balance is very good. The built in level is a real nice feature. Great gift for dad or the son or even daughter who has no tools. Enjoy...
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 3/8 in. Corded Drill / Driver
from Colorado

Excellent quality & affordable

PostedJuly 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
As a novice do-it-yourselfer, I needed a drill to do some light household work like setting up mini-blinds, and this solid drill is perfect, particularly for the price. It is easy to use, has plenty of power, and comes in a nice case (which I can hide from my husband who keeps borrowing my tools and losing them!). It has a type of toggle lock that is in one position for forward drilling, one for locked mode, and one for reverse drilling, so it is quite intuitive. You will want to be sure you obtain drill bits to predrill holes and drivers for your projects, because it does not come with any, but it takes all the standards. I had a ratcheting screwdriver of another brand that came with exchangable drivers, and those worked perfectly well. Be sure you have a heavy-duty power-tool-quality extension cord. Although this company also makes a cordless version for about the same price, this one has faster RPM's, and you don't have to worry about charging a battery. I also own an electric lawnmower, so I'm very comfortable with power cords!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>