728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Drills or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 3/8 in. Corded Drill / Driver

3/8 in. Corded Drill / Driver

Ryobi introduces the Ryobi 3/8 in. corded Drill/Driver. This drill has the power you need to get the job done. It is also covered over a 3 year manufacturer's warranty. See below for the following details.
Overall rating:
4.548 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(104 reviews) 104
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product92 of 98reviews
Rating Breakdown 104 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(73)
4
(23)
3
(3)
2
(2)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product92 of 98reviews
Customer reviews for 3/8 in. Corded Drill / Driver
Review 1 for 3/8 in. Corded Drill / Driver
from Denver, CO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked well

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used my new drill to build 3 raised garden beds. It was the right price for my budget and finished the jos nicely.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3/8 in. Corded Drill / Driver
from Missouri, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

nice electric drill

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I don't use a drill often so the cordless models are too much hassle to keep charged...this is a nice corded model, always ready to go and does a fine job. Ideal for the weekend project or quick repair. Good quality at an affordable price
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3/8 in. Corded Drill / Driver

Cannot Believe This Thing Is Made In China

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Don't be fooled by the price of this drill. It may be the cheapest drill at Home Depot. It is made in China. You would think it is made in America or Japan. It does not feel cheap though. It is easy to use. It has amazing power. You can hear its power. You can feel its power. It works without any disappointment. I love products that are simple to use and do their jobs well. This drill is a winner. Cordless drills are great for tightening screws. This drill is exactly what I want in drilling holes through wood, steel, cement, concrete, and stucco. Get yourself a good set of drill bits and you are set.
Pros: Durable, Strong Suction, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3/8 in. Corded Drill / Driver
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Ryobi 3/8

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
While my need for an electric drill was somewhat modest as I planned to install a hasp for a padlock for the storage locker in the basement, I found the Ryobi 3/8 very suited to those needs both stylishly and economically. As I faced the 100 year old door frame that had seen a century of various handymen and had outlasted them all having the Ryobi 3/8 at my side was a welcome asset in my battle. With grim determination and my blue whirling Ryobi 3/8 comfortably in hand I completed my task against stupendous odds and now my possessions are safely locked away and I can focus on m other problems. Thanks Ryobi 3/8!
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3/8 in. Corded Drill / Driver
from Utah
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Decent light duty drill

PostedJune 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Most likely not very interesting for a contractor, but for a home owner that does not need a drill all that often it is a good alternative to battery drills that are always dead when you need them!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3/8 in. Corded Drill / Driver
from Kentucky
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Chuck will not tighten sufficiently

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The keyless chuck is very difficult to tighten. There is no way to get a good enough grip on it in order to tighten it sufficiently to keep the bits from slipping inside it during use. Totally useless for drilling steel, it may possibly be of some use in drilling plastic, wood, or other soft material only. Additionally, the motor gets very warm during use. I returned this drill for a refund and will search for another that actually holds the drill bits tightly. I may have to get one with a keyed Jacobs chuck, but these are usually on the larger 1/2" drills or the more expensive 3/8" units.
Pros: Powerful
Cons: Difficult to Use, chuck will not tighten enough
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3/8 in. Corded Drill / Driver
from Redmond, Wa
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ryobi corded drill.

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This drill is light weight easy to use and for its' size real powerful. It is very econominal.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: none
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3/8 in. Corded Drill / Driver
from San Diego, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good little drill

PostedApril 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Nice little drill. can't beat it on price.
Someone left a review that the chuck would not accept a 3/8 inch drill bit. Well I can only speak for the drill I have and it will accept a 3/8 inch drill. Heck it will even accept and hold a 25/64 drill bit.
Pros: Powerful, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3/8 in. Corded Drill / Driver
from Atlanta, Georgia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great buy for the money.

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Perfect for when you need more torque than you get from a lower end battery powered drill that works great for driving screws and drilling through wood.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3/8 in. Corded Drill / Driver
from Los Angeles, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pleasantly surprised

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this drill because I have a cheap cordless one that doesn't do anything. I was going to return it thinking that anytime I needed to use a drill I could always borrow my neighbors. I decided to use it once before returning. It fit well in my hand, wasn't too heavy and seemed 10x's more powerful than my cordless drillmaster. Great value and great quality, I'm now browsing HD's website for more tools from Ryobi. Be sure to join Ryobi Nation for some great DIY ideas!
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3/8 in. Corded Drill / Driver

A Lady's Drill

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I love love love this drill. It's very easy to use and fits very well in my hand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3/8 in. Corded Drill / Driver

Replaced my 30-year-old craftsman...

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Drill is lightweight and powerful. I like things simple and this fits the bill. No batteries just plug it in. Old school but I love not having to have a chuck key to switch out blades. LOL, yeah it's been that long since I've shopped drills. If this drill last as long as my Craftsman, it will be the last drill I'll own. (Craftsman drill was murdered by my wife using it to strip a metal porch rail with grinding bit).
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3/8 in. Corded Drill / Driver
from Port St. Lucie, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great little drill

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Needed a corded drill for some of the heavier jobs around the house like drilling in to concrete. This drill stepped up to the task with ease. Lightweight, easy to use. Would recommend this to any novice DIYer.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3/8 in. Corded Drill / Driver
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is very easy to use!

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great Drill and Value. Very easy to use. You dont have to worry about battery life!
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3/8 in. Corded Drill / Driver
from Manhattan, KS
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works better than my cordless!

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
For the price, it can't be beat. Always had good experiences with this brand, although one day I have hopes of affording some of the better quality drills, I'm satisfied with what I got.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: variable speed limitations
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3/8 in. Corded Drill / Driver
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lasted Little More Than A Month

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I did use this drill pretty extensively for the five weeks it worked. Ryobi customer service told me to take it back to the store for repair. OK. We'll see how that works out. Seemed like a real value but not so much. My previous drill worked for 28 years. I like Ryobi battery-operated products. Guess I'll stick to them in the future.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3/8 in. Corded Drill / Driver
from queens, new york
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Absolute Workhorse!!!

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I mainly bought this drill for household repairs and other simple insignificant things such as polishing my rims so I wouldn't have to burn out my Makita 3/8 drill, mainly for my rims though. I could also let other people use this without worrying about it so much. This drill has an Amazing amount of power, even as much as my Makita. I've used and put this drill through a lot of abuse, because it has three years warranty, and it's still going strong. I've used it to drill thick screws through cement backer board to wooden studs when I was rebuilding a shower, I've used it to screw up drywall also but that's light duty, I've used it to drill holes in all sorts of wood, and Most Importantly, I've used THIS DRILL, with a 1/2'' hole saw bit to drill through 4x4 posts of pressure treated lumber!! This drill is my new favorite drill, I absolutely love it. Buy it, you won't regret it. And it has a really high speed which usually takes away from a drill's torque or power, but not this baby.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 3/8 in. Corded Drill / Driver
from atlanta
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good purchase

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
easy to use and change bits. had enough power to get done what i needed to do
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3/8 in. Corded Drill / Driver
from Scottsdale, AZ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great drill for any home shop

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have the same model drill in our summer home, so I already knew it's functionally. It is great size and weight balance is very good. The built in level is a real nice feature. Great gift for dad or the son or even daughter who has no tools. Enjoy...
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 3/8 in. Corded Drill / Driver
from Dallas, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

You absolutely cannot beat this drill for the price

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have owned one of these drills for over 7 years and used it and abused it alot!!!! it still works great. I have had much more expensive drills, and cannot say they were better in any way.
Pros: Durable, Good Size & Weight, price
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>