728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Grinders or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 8 in. Bench Grinder

8 in. Bench Grinder

The Ryobi 8 in. Bench Grinder features adjustable tool rests, a 3-amp motor and a magnifying glass in the left safety shield for precision grinding. This grinder can reach a maximum speed of 3,600 RPM. The grinder has integrated lights to illuminate work areas for accuracy. Eye shields are built in for safety.
Overall rating:
3.674 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(46 reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
73%of customersrecommend this product32 of 44reviews
Rating Breakdown 46 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(21)
4
(8)
3
(4)
2
(7)
1
(6)
Quality 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
73%of customersrecommend this product32 of 44reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for 8 in. Bench Grinder
Review 1 for 8 in. Bench Grinder
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very nice machine but required careful tuning

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had been shopping for a new bench grinder for a long time and spotted this on a stroll through the store one day. Excited by the price and strong feature set I headed home and researched it in more depth. I read all of the reviews here and took into consideration the problems that people were having and decided that some issues I could handle, and the warranty should take care of the rest as long as I was patient about it. I returned and got it, and I also got the extended warranty bringing the period to five years. If it lasts five years it will probably last a good while longer since the motor is brushless.
Once home I unpacked it, set it on the bench and ran a quick test to see if it even worked. It spun up nicely, looked smooth, sounded quiet, and the lights worked. As it was spinning down, however, I noticed an alarming wobble, known as lateral runout, to the left wheel. I took the covers off the wheels and began tinkering. It was very frustrating finding an orientation with minimal runout and keeping the outer cups somewhat centered, but after a couple hours of systematically, and then randomly messing around I found a sweet spot that seemed decently balanced with only the slightest runout. I cranked everything down and then dressed up the sides of that stone a bit and I am quite satisfied with its operational characteristics now.
While messing with that wheel, the fine one in my case, I looked at the bushing at the center. It was plastic and pretty chewed up for some reason. I think it was probably the source of my problems. Better grinding wheels are definitely something I am considering. The outer cups also had a lot of slop, whether this is intentional for balancing purposes I don't know, but I tried to just keep them mostly centered for now.
The rest of the assembly was easy enough. The motor seems very powerful. I have an old file that I had used to dress up a stone on my old grinder and I pressed it very firmly against the coarse stone and the motor kept the wheel at speed. If you are pressing any harder than I did, you're doing it wrong, so this motor has plenty of power in my opinion. As another reviewer noted, the motor gets hot to the touch pretty quickly. With my 5 year warranty I'm not going to fret about it, maybe that's normal. I do intend on keeping my eyes peeled for a nice improvised heat sink to stick on the back of the motor housing though, if I can find one.
I thought that the lights were aimed pretty well despite what others have said. Its true if you go much below the forward quadrant point on the wheel you start getting in shadow, but you shouldn't be grinding down there anyways. A quick peek in where the lights are makes me think they could be easily modified or upgraded anyways.
This is my first 8" bench grinder at home, and the bigger wheels are a nice improvement over my 6" model. The reduced curvature makes flatter grinds and I appreciate the power of this unit. It can really hog off some metal in a hurry. The safety shields are pretty mediocre but that isn't unusual. I worry about the plastic knobs, which look cool but might break after a few years. I could always use a wing nut or order metal knobs though if that becomes a problem. The tool rests and some of the adjustable arms are made of some kind of light alloy which could probably be fixed with a TIG machine if they were to break, or with a bent piece of steel with a couple holes drilled in it for that matter.
Overall, now that its set up, tuned, and tinkered with, I think its just the greatest thing ever. If you expect it to whip it out of the box and start grinding this might not be the one for you, but if you are willing to be patient and take some time to get it running true, I think you will be very satisfied with it.
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 8 in. Bench Grinder
from Yanceyville, NC

Best Bang for the Buck!

PostedDecember 27, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Having looked at 8" bench grinders that range to well over the $300 mark, I took a chance on the Ryobi BGH827 Chinese-made bench grinder. I was not disappointed! Sure, much better grinders out there pull more amps and develop more Hp. If you are a home hobbyist or a shade tree mechanic, I don’t think you will go wrong with this grinder. I’ve read many reviews about this grinder and some have had a problem with vibration due to poorly made M16 nuts that hold the wheels to the shafts or a bent shaft. I believe they got a defective product. It seems that Ryobi has gotten the bugs worked out. I opened the box, bolted it my bench, removed and remounted the wheels, assembled it per the instructions and it ran like a top! It is almost completely vibration free! I could balance a cup of water on top of the round motor housing. There was no noticeable wobble in the wheels and they ran true from the start. It makes no more noise than an electric fan. One puzzling thing, I could not find the Hp rating for this grinder. I suspect it is a ¾ Hp, but I cannot find it documented anywhere. I was surprised to find that the tool rests were adjustable for the angle to the wheels. This feature is not mentioned in any of the literature available. However, the adjustments are somewhat limited by a toothed ratchet type adjustment molded into the rest and its support bracket. You could probably place a thin flat washer between them, but, it would probably slip on you. The plastic see through deflectors were the only disappointment on this machine. I will eventually replace them with something more durable and scratch resistant. I was able to grind a new point on a railroad spike I keep as a crude chisel. I dressed the tips of several flat tip screwdrivers and sharpened my mower blades in no time at all. I have no doubts that it will perform any grinding job I need it to do. I’m glad I did not spend more on a grinder. This one will do just fine for most others and me. No regrets.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 8 in. Bench Grinder
from FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Ryobi 8" Bench Grinder -Model # BGH827

PostedAugust 17, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this grinder from my local HD after reading all the reviews available on the internet. Figured I'd take a chance since the price was really good. The grinder was packaged 1st class, not a mark on the box and everything was sealed and in place. The following are the discrepancies out of the box:
1. This model, BGH827, is made with a wheel dresser bracket and dresser attached to the rear of the base. However, the one I purchased did not have a bracket installed or a dresser in the box. The manufacturer missed this installation process. The display model in the store has the dresser installed.
2. The left hand magnifier eye shield was severely scratched.
3. The left hand fine wheel has gouges across the 1" face and side of the wheel in several places. Looks like handling damage. Gouges are about 1/16".
4. Two rubber feet are damaged.
5. The vibration is horrible.
HD customer service is 1st class and go out of their way to ensure customer satisfaction. However, they can't fix bad manufacturing processes.
The Ryobi line is comparable to harbor freight or less.
Gone are the days you can just buy a product, open the box, and put it straight to work. Now you have to tweek everything prior to using. Thank you China.
The price is great and everything can be tweeked to satisfaction but expect to find flaws throughout unless you happen to get the one good one if there is one good one. :-)
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: poor quality, poor wheels and bushings, severe vibration
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 8 in. Bench Grinder

8 Inch Wire Wheel Instalation.

PostedAugust 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Hi every one. Well I have been reading the reviews on this Bench Grinder. It seems allot of you have bought this grinder and found out that an 8 inch wire wheel doesn't fit right. I found this out years ago with other grinders. Here's the fix.
The wire wheel is much more narrow than a grinding wheel. To compensate for this difference simply use a second nut. First install the first nut and then install the wire wheel and then install the outside nut. Move the wire wheel over to the end nut and tighten both nuts against the wire wheel hub.
Be sure to match the nuts rather right hand or left hand threads depending on what side of the grinder you are using. Always remember that the wheels turn towards you at the top of the wheels. The threads are cut for both left hand and right hand threads.
It's always a good idea to have extra nuts in case one gets damaged or lost. Also note the Arbor shaft diameter. Make sure the nuts you purchase are the right size for the arbor shaft. Also be absolutely sure of the wheel center mounting hole. Some times shims are needed. Make sure you have the right diameter shims.
One more thing, keep the threads on the arbor clean. If they get really dirty, take off the wheels and nuts. Turn on the grinder and use a wire brush to clean the arbor threads. You can also clean the nut threads with a small wire brush similar to a bottle brush.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight
+24points
28out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 8 in. Bench Grinder
from League City, TX

Great grinder, needs better wheels.

PostedJanuary 12, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this grinder as an upgrade to a Ryobi BGH-616 (the 6" version of this grinder) to use with my Oneway Wolverine sharpening jig to keep my turning tools sharp. This grinder fits the specs given by Oneway perfectly. The stock wheels are garbage, and badly out of balance, but then again I haven't seen a grinder yet come with decent wheels.
I retrofitted mine with Norton white aluminum oxide 8" 100 grit on the left wheel, and 150 grit on the right. If all I were doing was sharpening axes and lawn mower blades it wouldn't matter though, and the OE wheels would have been fine.
With the improved wheels, the grinder runs smooth as butter. The lights help see what you are doing. The only real design flaw I find with this grinder is that only one of the eye shields is a magnifier. I took the magnfier off of the BGH-616 in order to get 2 of them. It doesn't make much sense to have a magnifier on one side and not the other. What was Ryobi thinking?
Overall, this grinder is on par with the big names, with some serious features improvements. They just stopped short on those improvements. A second magnifier / shield, much improved wheels, and variable speed would have brought this up to a 5 star rating, but it also would have brought it up to a MUCH higher cost as well...
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 8 in. Bench Grinder
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You Get What You Pay For

PostedJune 7, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I purchased this grinder at the local store. Upon turning it on, the grinding wheels wobbled enormously. I didn't measure it, but it was off by about 10 deg and the entire grinder was bouncing slightly on the bench. (I didn't bolt it to the bench.) I exchanged it for another one. This one worked much better. There is still a slight wobble, but it was useable. The tool rest did not fit. One of them rubbed against the grinding wheel. (There is a notch in the rest but it was not aligned with the wheel.) I had to back the rest away from the wheel avoid the rubbing. I may just let the wheel touch the rest and grind off the obstruction. The tool rest is very difficult to adjust precisely. All you can do is get close to where you want it, There is no brake for the grinding wheel when it is turned off. My took 215 seconds (3.5 minutes) before the wheels stopped turning. Also, although this one had the same model number, it was obviously an older version since it says that there is a 2 year warranty instead of the current 3. I thought about returning it (can't exchange it since they don't have any more), but decided against it - the older model is probably better built than the newer one. And the specs were the same.
Pros: none
Cons: low quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 8 in. Bench Grinder
from Canon City, Colorado

Been a very good grinder for 2 years

PostedJanuary 9, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this one 2 years ago for sharpening my chisels for my wood lathe. For the price its been an excellent investment. If I had read all the reviews first I probably wouldn't have bought it. As for the vibration problems that a lot of the reviewers have complained about its probably because one or both wheels are mounted a little crooked or a hair off center. Try loosening each wheel,(one at a time) turn it on the spindle a little and re-tighten. That should help.
The one thing I don't like is the tool rest with the V in it. I've been a machinist for over 30 years and can hand grind drill bits just fine with out it. I would rather have a good sized flat tool rest instead or at least an extra one put in with the grinder.
The built in lights are nice and located right where you need them. Its very quiet and has plenty of power for grinding the heavy things, ax heads, lawnmower blades, etc. to the light touch up of my lathe chisels. I'm very happy with mine and have had no problems at all with it. I just didn't get the wheel dresser that somebody said came with the one they got.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 8 in. Bench Grinder
from Davenport, IA

Competent grinder

PostedSeptember 1, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This grinder has enough power to quickly remove metal. It takes a little time to come up to full speed, but once there, it takes a lot to slow it. At 40 pounds, the grinder remains stationary for light grinding but I bolted it down to the workbench to work with larger pieces. The 8 inch grinding wheels give enough clearance from the motor so sharpening lawn mower blades was easy. The course wheel removes stock fast and the fine wheel is great for finishing pieces. The water tray is small but handy. The clear plastic shields are effective in deflecting debris but are not in the way. One feature that I found helpful was the two built in lights that are positiioned directly overy the grinding wheels. They illuminate the work without getting in the way. The bit grinding groove on the left rest is not much help (I have a separate bit grinder) and makes holding small pieces difficult when using the fine wheel. Overall, this grinder is well worth the money as it significantly reduces the time to complete my work.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 8 in. Bench Grinder
from Green Bay, WI

OK, but...

PostedJanuary 1, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This is my first bench grinder so I suppose I have some things to learn about grinders in general. All the features are great, a cooling tray, lights for each wheel, a dressing tool that even has a clip on the back so storage is a breeze. Vibration is not good, I had to bolt this down to my work bench to keep it from vibrating off the bench all together. The vibration also is bad enough that the shield over one wheel that magnifies your work vibrates enough that you can't use it. I have actually removed that shield and just use protective eye glasses for work on that wheel. The other comments I see might suggest that quality control on the production of this product can be either really good or really bad. Overall, this is an OK product and I would recommend it to a friend but with the understanding there are probably better grinders out there for the same price. This is really too bad, i have other Ryobi tools that work quite well, this one is somewhat disappointing.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 8 in. Bench Grinder
from Ann Arbor, MI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Mediocre - Cute ideas done poorly.

PostedFebruary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My old 6in grinder quit. I went with the 8in because it had bigger cast tool rests rather than tiny stamped steel ones. At Home Depot, the 6in Ryobi on display had the better tool rests, but the units boxed on the shelf had the tiny cheap ones. Obviously, Ryobi cheapened the product.
Good - Tool rests, cast, decent sized.
Screwed up -
The built-in LIGHTS are fixed above the wheels. The wheels cast a shadow about 1/4 inch from where the tool contacts the wheel. I still need my gooseneck lamp.
The MAGNIFYING lens above the left wheel vibrates and gives a double image to the work area. I'll stiffen up the support arm or toss it or just return the unit.
I'm searching for another grinder that has decent tool rests, but with the lights on goosenecks. If I find one, this goes back.
I don't think that it has much torque as it takes a long time to get up to speed.
Quite a bit of vibration.
I'm asking myself what's the difference between Ryobi and Harbor Freight?
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 8 in. Bench Grinder
from McHenry, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Meh

PostedApril 7, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The tool rests are made from cast aluminum and move too easy while working with the grinder.
Also, I bought an 8in Wire wheel at the same time so I could use it on small parts, but when I went to mount the wire wheel on the grinder I found out that even though it's an 8in wheel with the same arbor, it will not work because the wire wheel is about half the thickness of the stone wheel and there are no adapters to make it fit.
Seems under-powered because it takes 30 seconds to finally get up to speed and if you touch anything to the wheel while it's spinning up, it slows down.
The lights in the unit are useless and would only come in handy if I was grinding in the dark.
This grinder seems to be good for the occasional grinding of mower blades and flat head screw driver heads, but beyond that, not so useful since you can't upgrade anything and it's under powered for heavy work.
The fine wheel comes with a magnifying glass built into it, but it's awkward to use.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 8 in. Bench Grinder
from Maine

Great Grinder, You won't get better for the price

PostedDecember 27, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This grinder had all the features I was looking for, built in lights and cooling tray, tool-less rest and shield adjustments, cast rests with slot for bit sharpening (not cheap bent sheet metal), rubber feet absorb any vibration, dressing tool included, and lots of horse power. This machine has met all my sharpening needs without bogging down. I sharpening and shape chisels, plane blades, axes, bits, screw drivers and pry bars, and any other of my metal shaping needs! I noticed some reviewers had trouble with the wheels vibrating, but I had no trouble at all with vibration, runs very smooth and surprisingly quiet! I love the slot for drill bit sharpening, I find no need to buy a dedicated bit sharping machine with this feature on my grinder! This thing has paid for itself in all the tools I've been able to renew and sharpen, I would definitely recommend this to anyone who wants to get a lot of power and features in a grinder without breaking the budget!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 8 in. Bench Grinder
from Port Charlotte, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great grinder for the price.

PostedJune 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm not sure what the rated horse power is on this but it seems to grind my Gator mower blades down great for my Dixie Chopper. I have a lawn service in Florida and use it heavily weekly on 3 blades and so far it hasn't failed me in the last 3 months. I even built a jig for my mower blade angles with a 2x4 in front of the grinder bolted to the table to get the correct angles every time.
It sure beats spending $300+ on a mower blade sharpening grinder. I only noticed extra vibration if I bolted it down to the table too tightly because then it nullifies the rubber under it if you bolt them tight. I just bolted it enough to touch not squish the rubber. Also it would be a good idea to use a rubber washer on the bolt at the top. Just don't bolt it tight to the table and squish the rubber. Then that would take away the rubbers ability to take up vibration.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 8 in. Bench Grinder

Great grinder, especially for the price

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this a couple days after Thanksgiving on sale for $63. After reading some of the reviews I was concerned about quality control and vibration, so as soon as I got it home I took it out of the box and fired it up. Ran smooth with no vibration once it got up to speed. Both wheels seemed balanced and true. Motor runs quiet and smooth. I bolted it down to a sheet of plywood that I can use to move the grinder on and off my workbench since space is an issue in my shop and the mounting was easy. Only gripe I have is the quality of the wheels that Ryobi puts on the grinder itself--I'll replace them with better quality. Would also be nice if the tool rests were bigger but I can probably make some or find some after-market solution there. Overall very pleased with the purchase.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 8 in. Bench Grinder
from Needham, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Open and run in store to check for vibration.

PostedJuly 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Read the reviews for ANY grinder. Those dissatisfied always complain about the vibration. Grinders are mass produced and shipped hundreds/thousands of miles. It is a miracle that any arrive with their grinding wheels perfectly balanced. If it is even slightly out of balance, it will vibrate like crazy. Soo... don't ever bring a bench grinder home that you haven't opened up with a HD employee and run it. If it vibrates open another box and run it. If it runs smooth as butter, buy it and get to work.
This is a powerful, sturdy grinder. I give it "only" 4 stars because as I tighten one of my tool rests, it is slightly out of line. Also, I expect someday I will be replacing the plastic turn nuts with metal wing nuts.
Now stop wasting time reading, buy this, and get to work!
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 8 in. Bench Grinder
from Missouri City, Tx
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Buyer beware

PostedApril 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this grinder with high hopes of getting a grinder that I could use in my shop to replace an old belt driven 6" grinder I've had for years. The first time I plugged it in and ran it up it almost walked off of my bench top. The wheels are so bad and out of balance that even bolting the grinder down doesn't help much. I tried rotating the wheels, which helped some but it didn't help the run-out, or side to side movement of the wheels (1/16th is a little much). The tool rest is a piece of stamped metal, one with a drill bit guide that makes it useless for other purposes.
I don't even thing this thing would make a good boat anchor.
Pros: Powerful
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 8 in. Bench Grinder
from Michigan

You get what you pay for

PostedNovember 23, 2009
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this grinder at Home Depot, and it really looks like a robust unit, well built and solid. However when I started it up, there were excessive vibrations due to wobble in both wheels. I returned it and took another one in exchange. This one is not as bad. I tried to true up the wheels with a diamond dressing stone, which helped somewhat, but I still get vibbrations that I don't like. I will try to true them up one more time, and then, perhaps replace the wheels. The price was right, but if I were to buy a grinder again, I'd spend the extra bucks and get a good one.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 8 in. Bench Grinder
from S.W. Washington State

Great Grinder, Great Price!

PostedSeptember 26, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is one of the finest grinders I have owned; it is extemely quiet, almost vibration-free, and the price was incredibly fair... I checked out grinders costing over 50%more than the Ryobi, and they were lacking in apperance, amenities, and rated power. The stones (two different grits) are excellent, and the integral lights are near-perfect for seeing your work. I don't believe I could have gotten a better tool for less than $150.
I would recommend this grinder to anyone who can appreciate having a great tool in their shop!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 8 in. Bench Grinder
from Spokane

Ok but bad QC...

PostedJanuary 16, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I knew it was not top of the line or heavy duty, but for the money and how much i'd use it, I decided to give it a try. I got it home and started to put it together. I noticed that it was missing the 2nd support for the grinding bench. It was supposed to be welded on, but was missing. That made it unusable. Anyway, with my original hesitation and this, I took it back. I'll wait and pick up an old one at the pawn shop. When working it's probably fine, that's why I would still recommend it. I give it "Fair".
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 8 in. Bench Grinder
from PA.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After reading reviews, I took a chance and bought one. Upon unpacking I plugged in and started up just sitting on workbench. Very little vibration so I assembled (5 minutes) and bolted to old Craftsman stand that had been holding 6 in. Craftsman grinder and tried grinding piece of scrap metal. Has nice 1" wide wheels which grind a nice wide area. Very impressed with power-every bit as good as a Craftsman 1 HP 8" grinder I use to own at 1/3 the cost. Well worth the $70.
Pros: Powerful, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>