728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Snow Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 5 gal. Liquid Anti-Snow / De-Icer

5 gal. Liquid Anti-Snow / De-Icer

The Bare Ground 5-Gallon Liquid Anti-Snow/De-Icer is designed to work effectively in temperatures as low as -20 degrees Fahrenheit. It features an environmentally friendly, non-toxic formula and can be easily applied with standard sprayers that have adjustable nozzles.
Overall rating:
3.8 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
67%of customersrecommend this product16 of 24reviews
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(16)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(7)
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
67%of customersrecommend this product16 of 24reviews
Customer reviews for 5 gal. Liquid Anti-Snow / De-Icer
Review 1 for 5 gal. Liquid Anti-Snow / De-Icer
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WORKED GREAT AS A TEFLON SHIELD FOR ICE AND SNOW

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
APPLIED THE WEEK OF 01/05/14 IN ST LOUIS, MO.
SPRAYED DRIVEWAY AND SIDEWALK WHEN TEMP GOT BELOW 35°. TEMPS WENT DOWN TO -8° WITH WINDCHILL OF -30°. I SHOVELED 3 TIMES DURING THIS PERIOD. SNOW NEVER STUCK TO CONCRETE. TWO DAYS LATER WE HAD ANOTHER WAVE OF 2 IN. STILL NO PROBLEM. IT JUST CREATES A TEFLON LIKE COATING. PRICE AND SHIPPING IS JUSTIFIABLE WHEN YOU BUY 5 GALLON CONTAINER. BETTER THAN BUYING 5 BAGS OF 50LB ICE MELT. IT TOOK @ 2 1/2 GALLONS FOR 4 CAR SPACE DRIVEWAY AND SMALL SIDEWALK.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, works well when used at temps as directed, it creates a teflon like coating, does not track residue inside house
Cons: it does not melt ice or snow even at 2 in. of snow, it takes more than 1 gallon to cover 1000 sq ft
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5 gal. Liquid Anti-Snow / De-Icer
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We purchased this product to use on the metal edging of our roof above a slider door where ice builds up above the doggie door; and for our stairs and long wood walkway. So far so good. I find it a learning process with this product, as we had a sever cold snap, and I wasted product trying to get rid of the ice as it rained. The rain simply washed it away. What did work was; after the rain stopped, a snow storm was expected. This time I applied the product to the dry stairs, and viola, after the snow storm I cleared the snow and was down to bare wood that dried right away. And, best of all, no ice build up on the roof's edge. Before each storm, I simply spray the product on the area's I need to use it on. I might give this product a higher rating, but it hasn't been long enough in use to do that at this point.
Pros: Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5 gal. Liquid Anti-Snow / De-Icer
from Clifton, NJ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bare Ground actually WORKS!!!!

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
All products boast how "Good they are", but most of the time we buy them and they don't work as well as they did on the commercial that drove us to buy it. Bare Ground actually WORKS!!! This is my 4th season using Bare Ground and all I can say is that when my neighbor's property has snow on the sidewalk, mine is still clear and no ice. After the larger snow storms, instead of breaking my back shovelling, I can easily move snow to the side, right down to the surface, even if it has been walked on or driven over. My co-workers are glad that I told them about it, and they too, have become Bare Ground users. Just remember to clean your sprayer after you use it.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5 gal. Liquid Anti-Snow / De-Icer
from New Providence New jersey

Impossible to open container lid, do not recommend

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Lid was sealed shut and impossible to open (tried hot water, pliers, knife). Had to cut a hole in the side to get any of the liquid out which resulted in about half of the product being waster. Effectiveness as a de-icer no better than salts made of similar materials (which are available at 1/4 the price). Would not recommend.
Cons: Too Heavy, No Instructions, Difficult to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5 gal. Liquid Anti-Snow / De-Icer

Great product

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i used this last winter to keep my driveway clear anytime it snowed 2 inches or more. It worked great. We had no ice buildup on the driveway and it did a great job combating the snow.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5 gal. Liquid Anti-Snow / De-Icer
from Massachusetts
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Major Disappointment

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had such hope for this product, but was severely disappointed. This item was a complete waste of time and resources. It did nothing to improve snow removal at our commercial property.
At first, we thought perhaps we were applying the product too thin because there was no benefit. Then we heavily treated a 4 ft. x 4 ft. area in the middle of an untreated parking lot as a test. After 1/2" of snow there was no noticeable difference in the treated vs. untreated area. You couldn't tell if we used the Bare Ground Liquid Deicer.
It was very unfortunate because we have and alternate product with a darker, heavier odor that is more effective. But we were hoping to find success with Bare Ground because it is clear and odorless. Unfortunately, it is also ineffective.
Pros: odorless
Cons: doesn't work
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5 gal. Liquid Anti-Snow / De-Icer
from Plymouth, MN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

A must for pet owners

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful product if you have pets or plantings near your driveway/sidewalk. It is very effective de-icing product that does not burn your pets paws or damage concrete or plantings, like typical salt products do.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Powerful
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5 gal. Liquid Anti-Snow / De-Icer
from new jersey
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

doesn't work

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used it on the snow of March 25 , 1 inch and the de-icer did nothing at all !!!! save your time and money !!!!
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: doesn't work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5 gal. Liquid Anti-Snow / De-Icer
from Minnesota, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Have used for a few years now

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I really like this product. It works just as it says. I own a retail store and this spray keeps my sidewalks ice free. Plus it keeps the salt out of my store.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5 gal. Liquid Anti-Snow / De-Icer

Product spread easily, kept pavement from freezing as advertised

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product was easy to use. I applied it with a pump sprayer. It stayed in place for several hours as cars exited the car wash. Most effective product we've tried so far. No damage to concrete.
Pros: Durable, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5 gal. Liquid Anti-Snow / De-Icer
from Lawrence, MA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

Won't go a winter without it.

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've been using Bare Ground for years. I always seem to live on the wrong side of the street, with no sun on my driveway. I pretreat when snow is expected, and shoveling/snowblowing is a breeze. My driveway dries clear and dry, while neighbors have ice and snow on theirs. Great product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5 gal. Liquid Anti-Snow / De-Icer
from Delaware, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Outstanding Product

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this before a light snow and after the snow has become ice and in both cases it melts what it hits in minutes and there is no refreeze. I have many people in the over 55 community using it with no complaints.
Pros: Easy to Use, performs as promised
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5 gal. Liquid Anti-Snow / De-Icer

Liquid Gold

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Love this stuff. Goes on with a hand or pump sprayer. I use it on the walk way and stairs to the house.Works as described and no tracking it in the house once it dries unlike sand and salt. I have used it for a few years now and find that it doesn't harm my wife's flower beds next to the walkway. Also there is no clean up to deal with either.
Pros: Easy to Use, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5 gal. Liquid Anti-Snow / De-Icer

Great Product

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We use this product at our hotel and it works great. We are not in a super cold climate, but do get a few degrees below freezing each night creating some icy spots on our sidewalks and parking areas. This product works great to keep these areas free of ice and melts any ice that accumulates very quickly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5 gal. Liquid Anti-Snow / De-Icer
from Remsen, NY 13438, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works great

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
have been using this for years now, does what it says.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5 gal. Liquid Anti-Snow / De-Icer
from New York
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Unknown??????

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Ok, first off my product looks nothing like that and there is NO LABELS ON IT, FOR ALL I KNOW, YOU SENT ME A 5 gal PAIL OF WATER!!!!!!!!!!! IT HAD BETTER BE THE PRODUCT I ORDERED!!!!!!!!!
Cons: Limited Features, No Instructions, no labeling blank 5 gal pail unsure of contents!
-5points
4out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 5 gal. Liquid Anti-Snow / De-Icer
from Missouri, USA

works well

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have a steep driveway (50 foot vertical drop) that is 1/3 mile long. pre-treating with this product works well. It also works quickly when applied after a storm. Have used it for three years very successfully. Using a spreader for liquids helps a lot.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 5 gal. Liquid Anti-Snow / De-Icer
from ND
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good product.

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very good product 4 me as I'm handicapped. Made it easier 4 me to get out of the house as it kept the ice off my deck and driveway.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 5 gal. Liquid Anti-Snow / De-Icer

Great Stuff

PostedJanuary 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have been using this product for about 5 years now and love it. Just wish there was a place locally that sells it. However buying from Home Depot had free shipping, Lucky us!!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 5 gal. Liquid Anti-Snow / De-Icer
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dont waste your $$

PostedApril 25, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I tried this product exactly as instructed to do so and the product did not perform even close to described. I did it before the storm and during and after to help melt and found it was more work than what is was worth.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>