728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Spice Rack

Spice Rack

The ClosetMaid Spice Rack is an easy-to-install 3-shelf organizer that is great for storing spices. The rack's adjustable shelves accommodate containers of different sizes. Lightweight construction.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product16 of 20reviews
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(6)
3
(0)
2
(2)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product16 of 20reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Spice Rack
Review 1 for Spice Rack
Lexikon
from Kentucky
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I'm a hero!

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed three of these spice racks on the inside of the pantry door in our kitchen. Now I'm a hero with my wife. She loves recovering the cabinet space that all the spices formerly took up in her kitchen. Now they are easy to see and reach on the back of the pantry door. Simple to install. Holds small and large containers. Now my wife has more storage space and I don't need to remodel the kitchen. Wahoo!
Pros: Convenient, improves kitchen efficiency
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Spice Rack
MSHth
from Wilmington

This is a good concept, but falls short.

PostedMay 24, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The rack idea is good, but the reality is that it is very limited in use or practicality. The trays can be adjusted, but the two mounting supports are so short that one does not have hardly any choice of spacing the trays. By the time you put in the top tray as high up as one can go on the mounting supports, and the bottom tray at the lowest mounting points, there really isn't much choice or room left for the middle tray.
So be prepared for using only small spice containers in the lower two trays, and the taller spice containers for the top.
I would recommend you try to tape this in place to get an idea of how much room you need top and bottom before drilling any holes etc.
It would be a greater help if the mounting supports were 6-8 inches longer, and had the option of being cut to fit for shorter applications.
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Spice Rack
Judson
from Knoxville, TN

Good Space Saver

PostedOctober 30, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I'm strapped for cabinet space, so I recently installed this on the back of a cabinet door to free up space that was being consumed by a lazy susan full of spices. The product works nicely and is sturdy enough. It's important to note that the assembled product is 12 inches wide, however, the mounting strips can NOT be 12 inches apart. That posed somewhat of a problem for me - I ended up having to glue on the mounting strips because they couldn't be far enough apart to attach to the thick outter edge of my cabinets & the screws included were far too long & would have gone all the way through the door in the area it had to be mounted. Just be careful measuring, but otherwise, great product!
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Spice Rack
bhaven
from Mountain Grove, MO

Adjustable spice rack

PostedNovember 19, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought one of these for my wife. She loves the adjustable shelves (not all spices come in the same size container). I'm thinking of getting one or two for the workshop to hold small containers of fasteners.
They should have designed adjustable shelves years ago!
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Spice Rack
EEBDMB3322
from Harrisburg Pa
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Organizer

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wanted something for on the door part of the cabinet to hold the spices I used frequently so I didn't have to search inside the cabinet through bottle after bottle to find what I was looking for every time I wanted one. Works great. My cabinet has adjustable shelves so this being adjustable worked so that the door shuts just below the shelve edge.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Convenient, Nice Design, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Spice Rack
Reviewer1
from FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fit the Bill

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have a pantry door with raised panels. I thought these racks could be arranged side by side but they were just a bit too wide. Instead we used only three tracks to arrange them side by side so that two horizontal racks used the same central track. While they don't clip together perfectly that way, they worked just fine for us. We love the racks and the light weight works well for a door where we had to use mollies. We purchased a total of 6 of these.
Pros: Functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Spice Rack
Nana

Works, but may require alterations

PostedNovember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The racks worked as described, as long as the notches for the racks allowed the racks to be placed above or below the cabinet shelves. In my case, they didn't in one cabinet. I had to figure out a way to attach the racks individually. I used some hardware made for ClosetMaid shelving. I now have all the racks installed and am happy with their functionality.
Pros: Convenient, Takes Less Space
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Spice Rack
Wink
from Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great little space maker

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My wife has a lot of spices and things that occupy and inordinate amount of shelf space. Easy too install good price.
Pros: Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Spice Rack
tinainvirginia
from blacksburg, va

only for small spices

PostedMay 23, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
i installed this on the inside of a kitchen cabinet door. unfortunately, the spices are always falling out because the sides of the racks are too short for tall bottles of spices.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Spice Rack
maryvon

rack too short- screws too long

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
as another reviewer said the rack was too short so I was only able to us two of the shelves for storage. I guess if you only put spices in it is might work but I was using it for vitamins and so it doesn't work around my own shelfs in my cabinets. The screws are a bit too long so one made a small bump as it almost came though the door. Now my doors were DIY so I'm guessing they fit fine in a standard door.
Pros: Well Made
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Spice Rack
Sunshine1
from New England

Spice Rack

PostedOctober 19, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I like my new spice rack, because it creates more room in my kitchen cabinets and allows me to view all spice names easily. It seemed a little unsturdy when we first took it out of the box, but once it was screwed securely to the inside cabinet, it was fine for holding the few spices. Fine for inside of a cabinet, but I wouldn't want it showing on the wall in my kitchen.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Spice Rack
simongrifix
from Tennessee
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It is ok at best

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Fiddly when getting your herbs out. Really does not hold much.
Hard if not impossible to get the spacing on rack right for installing in a cupboard w/ shelves, so I had to put the rack on the outside of a cupboard.
Cons: Difficult to Use
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Spice Rack
Darla

I did not use these for kitchen cabinets.

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I needed something that was adjustable and able to mount in my closet as I was planning on using these for miscellaneous items that were cluttering my office desk and drawers.
Easy to install, good quality, wished they had more small shelves.
Overall, I was happy with the install and pleased with the outcome.
Pros: adjustable shelves
Cons: more smaller shelves would be nice.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Spice Rack
Dad90
from Texas

Spice Rack with adjustable shelves

PostedJuly 7, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These were exactly what I needed. I am always cooking all kinds of food, so I have tons of different spices. These racks worked out great, easy to install and easy to find what I am looking for.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Spice Rack
SeaCliff

easy to install, convenient and flexible

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product arrived on time, we were able to install it very easily. Pay attention to the length of the screws in relation to your cabinet doors! The product works well and can be altered in height.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Spice Rack
gstratt

Great Fit for Back of Bi-fold Pantry Door

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Our kitchen pantry has a single bifold sliding door and this closetmaid spice rack is the perfect width for the door.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Spice Rack
SMDP
from TN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Excellent organizers.

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These organizers were easy to put together and install. I hung four of them vertically down the side of my pantry and they look great; very neat.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Spice Rack
Patrick53
from Wyoming

mpatrick53

PostedJune 7, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Simple, inexpensive, easy to install, can even find the spice your looking for.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Spice Rack
dapapabear2
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what I needed

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
perfect size for the space, I bought two. shelves are adjustable so I can fit all but the largest containers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Spice Rack
sherry
from Oklahoma City, OK, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It served its purpose and was not expensive. Great value for the money
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.