728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Cabinet Organizers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Spice Rack

Spice Rack

Have your spices organized and conveniently close at hand with this ClosetMaid Spice Rack. Easy to install by simply attaching to your cabinet door or to a wall, this rack has 3 adjustable shelves to accommodate a variety of container sizes and is durably made with metal wire construction. A simple solution to organizing the clutter of different sized spice jars, this rack can be installed in multiples for even greater storage options.
Overall rating:
4.097 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product26 of 31reviews
Rating Breakdown 31 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(16)
4
(10)
3
(0)
2
(2)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
84%of customersrecommend this product26 of 31reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Spice Rack
Review 1 for Spice Rack
from Kentucky
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I'm a hero!

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I installed three of these spice racks on the inside of the pantry door in our kitchen. Now I'm a hero with my wife. She loves recovering the cabinet space that all the spices formerly took up in her kitchen. Now they are easy to see and reach on the back of the pantry door. Simple to install. Holds small and large containers. Now my wife has more storage space and I don't need to remodel the kitchen. Wahoo!
Pros: Convenient, improves kitchen efficiency
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Spice Rack
from Weimar, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

EXCELLENT!

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
BEFORE BUYING THIS SPICERACK, ALL OF MY SPICES WERE SITTING ON THE COUNTERTOP AGAINST THE WALL SPREAD OUT, AND LOOKING NEAT, BUT MESSY AT THE SAME TIME. THIS PRODUCT IS AWESOME. ONLY DOWNSIDE IS THE LARGE SPICE JARS DO NOT FIT. WISH THE VERTICAL RAILS FOR THE ADJUSTABLE RACKS WERE LONGER. THAT BEING SAID, I HAVE GONE FROM HAVING 30+ DIFFERENT SPICES ON THE COUNTER TO HAVING 4-5, SO I CAN LIVE WITH THE RACK BEING THE SIZE IT IS.
Pros: Convenient, Looks Great, Nice Design, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Spice Rack
from Knoxville, TN

Good Space Saver

PostedOctober 30, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I'm strapped for cabinet space, so I recently installed this on the back of a cabinet door to free up space that was being consumed by a lazy susan full of spices. The product works nicely and is sturdy enough. It's important to note that the assembled product is 12 inches wide, however, the mounting strips can NOT be 12 inches apart. That posed somewhat of a problem for me - I ended up having to glue on the mounting strips because they couldn't be far enough apart to attach to the thick outter edge of my cabinets & the screws included were far too long & would have gone all the way through the door in the area it had to be mounted. Just be careful measuring, but otherwise, great product!
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Spice Rack
from New Orleans, LA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good idea - Poor design

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
You can look at the picture of this spice rack all you want, but it is trick photography! The large shelf tilts forward a little, but the two smaller shelves tilt towards the floor too much. If you install this rack lower than shoulder height, you cannot read the labels of spices. If you don't set a spice bottle just right in the rack, it will tip over and fall on the floor.
We solved the problem by gluing a 1/2" wood nub on the back of each lower side of the small shelves and 1/4" nubs at the back of the large shelves so that the spices and the racks would be level and not lean forward. The nubs also solved the problem of not being able to read the labels lower down.
In the end, these spice racks worked for me (I bought 4) but only with a good bit of extra work. I should have let my hubbie build some from scratch - it would have been cheaper!
Be careful if you buy this spice rack in the store! There were two opened boxes in the store - one had no screws and the other one looked like someone had bent the larger shelf. Later I realized it was bent because someone else experienced what I found out: these shelves are not level and they must have tried to bend it but returned it.
Pros: good idea
Cons: poor design, not practical without leveling
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Spice Rack
from Wilmington

This is a good concept, but falls short.

PostedMay 24, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The rack idea is good, but the reality is that it is very limited in use or practicality. The trays can be adjusted, but the two mounting supports are so short that one does not have hardly any choice of spacing the trays. By the time you put in the top tray as high up as one can go on the mounting supports, and the bottom tray at the lowest mounting points, there really isn't much choice or room left for the middle tray.
So be prepared for using only small spice containers in the lower two trays, and the taller spice containers for the top.
I would recommend you try to tape this in place to get an idea of how much room you need top and bottom before drilling any holes etc.
It would be a greater help if the mounting supports were 6-8 inches longer, and had the option of being cut to fit for shorter applications.
+30points
31out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Spice Rack

Awesome way to display/store spices

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Now I can see what I have for spices. I bought three of these for my small pantry door. Between all three I'm covered with all the various sizes and bottles. I can easily see what I have. The spacing on middle shelf is a little tight (otherwise five stars)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Spice Rack
from Mountain Grove, MO

Adjustable spice rack

PostedNovember 19, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought one of these for my wife. She loves the adjustable shelves (not all spices come in the same size container). I'm thinking of getting one or two for the workshop to hold small containers of fasteners.
They should have designed adjustable shelves years ago!
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Spice Rack
from Willits, Calif.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Spice Rack

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to install. Sturdy. Clean looking and easy to clean or take off the tracks. Cost effective. I mounted two of them on the inside of my pantry doors. You can position and/or adjust the shelving anyway you wish. They just snap on to the tracks. Tracks are mounted with four wood screws. Takes about 5 mins or less to install. I love them.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Convenient, Looks Great, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Spice Rack

works great

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Easy to assemble. Didn't fit our cabinet the best, but we made it work.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Takes Less Space
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Spice Rack
from Allentown, Pa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well for spices

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We needed to buy 4 of these for storing spices. Works well, but pricey at almost $56 for 4 of them.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Light Weight
Cons: pricey
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Spice Rack

Great fit

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It was very easy to install and fit our smaller sized pantry door. We bought 3 and they've held up our spices fairly well so far. We like that it can fit more jars than other spice racks.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Spice Rack
from blacksburg, va

only for small spices

PostedMay 23, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
i installed this on the inside of a kitchen cabinet door. unfortunately, the spices are always falling out because the sides of the racks are too short for tall bottles of spices.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Spice Rack
from Mechanicsburg, PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Great

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We bought this to use in our small pantry, on the door. It fits perfectly and holds boxes of Pop-Tarts and containers of syrup. One set even holds granola bars. So glad we bought these.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Spice Rack
from New England

Spice Rack

PostedOctober 19, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I like my new spice rack, because it creates more room in my kitchen cabinets and allows me to view all spice names easily. It seemed a little unsturdy when we first took it out of the box, but once it was screwed securely to the inside cabinet, it was fine for holding the few spices. Fine for inside of a cabinet, but I wouldn't want it showing on the wall in my kitchen.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Spice Rack
from Corinth New York
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect solution

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The spice rack assembled in a matter of minutes. Perfect for organizing the clutter of different size spice jars we had in a kitchen cabinet. Shelves are adjustable. Worked so well we bought another!
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Nice Design, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Spice Rack
from Harrisburg Pa
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Organizer

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Wanted something for on the door part of the cabinet to hold the spices I used frequently so I didn't have to search inside the cabinet through bottle after bottle to find what I was looking for every time I wanted one. Works great. My cabinet has adjustable shelves so this being adjustable worked so that the door shuts just below the shelve edge.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Convenient, Nice Design, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Spice Rack
from Albuquerque, NM
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great spice rack, but screws are too long

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this spice rack to hang on the inside door under my kitchen sink - for sponges, soaps, etc. It is a perfect size and fit for that and I love that the racks adjust to fit your personal needs. However, we are having to figure out another way to hang it because the screws are too long and will go all the way through the cabinet door. So far attempt #1 has failed and my husband is going to try Gorilla Glue to see if that will hold. If you have thick cabinet door I imagine you can just hang it according to instructions using the screws it comes with.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Nice Design
Cons: screws too long for thin doors
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Spice Rack

Works, but may require alterations

PostedNovember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The racks worked as described, as long as the notches for the racks allowed the racks to be placed above or below the cabinet shelves. In my case, they didn't in one cabinet. I had to figure out a way to attach the racks individually. I used some hardware made for ClosetMaid shelving. I now have all the racks installed and am happy with their functionality.
Pros: Convenient, Takes Less Space
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Spice Rack
from Texas

Spice Rack with adjustable shelves

PostedJuly 7, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These were exactly what I needed. I am always cooking all kinds of food, so I have tons of different spices. These racks worked out great, easy to install and easy to find what I am looking for.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Spice Rack

I did not use these for kitchen cabinets.

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I needed something that was adjustable and able to mount in my closet as I was planning on using these for miscellaneous items that were cluttering my office desk and drawers.
Easy to install, good quality, wished they had more small shelves.
Overall, I was happy with the install and pleased with the outcome.
Pros: adjustable shelves
Cons: more smaller shelves would be nice.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 >>