728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Grinders or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)

18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)

The Ryobi 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder offers cordless convenience and delivers a powerful 6,500 RPMs for fast and precise work. Compatible with the Ryobi 18V ONE+ system, this tool offers a host of convenient features, including an onboard wrench storage. A comfortable overmolded grip and 3-position side handle help reduce fatigue. A 4-1/2 in. grinding wheel is included for added value and convenience.
Overall rating:
4.29 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(76 reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product65 of 74reviews
Rating Breakdown 76 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(45)
4
(20)
3
(3)
2
(4)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product65 of 74reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)
Review 1 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)
from Detroit MI area
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good tool for smaller jobs

PostedMay 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have been using this tool to open up some cracks in my garage floor in order to fill them and resurface the floor. The tool is great and does its job with a decent diamond blade. However you NEED to buy the high capacity battery for it or else you only get about 5-10 minutes of real working time. Good tool, but chews up battery quick. For bigger jobs a corded tool is better, or dish out the cash for a high capacity battery.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: chews up battery quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)
from Plano, TXX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good tool for the price

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Was very pleased with the quality and performance. I really haven't used it that much is the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars. I mostly buy Chicago Tool and Makita for their quality but this tool was much cheaper and appears to be very well built and functions well.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)

18 volt angle grinder

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i really like the features on this angle grinder. The guard rotates without being removed and the grinder has plenty of power.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)
from Detroit, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great so far

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This cordless angle angle grinder performed well for removing paint.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)
from Indianapolis, IN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

High quality and unexpensive RYOBI cordless tools get proffesional work done

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been doing commercial HVAC since mid 2010 and I have used this grinder ever since. The grinder is not as fast as my corded Dewalt. But, in reality, no cordless grinder is going to be as fast as a corded one (regardless of brand name). However, this cordless RYOBI grinder gets the job done. It's supposed to be a DO-IT-YOURSELFER tool, but as a professional HVAC installer, I have used this grinder for professional uses. I have built ductwork in new hospitals, schools, apartment buildings, and super stores (a couple WALMARTS). I would recommend this Ryobi grinder (and any other Ryobi cordless tool) to DO-IT-YOURSELFERS and professionals as well.
Pros: Durable, Strong Suction, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, unexpensive, warranty as good as (or better) than dewalt's
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)
from Avalon Beach, Florida 32583, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great little grinder.

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used grindes a lot. I use to be a TIG welder back in the '70s and used a grinder a few hours every working day back then and still use them regularly these days. I've used this grinder maybe 20 times so far and ad usual with Ryobi its a great value. So far its had plenty of power ( using the 2x Lion batt ) seems well put together, the trigger and safty work welln easy to swap disc's and I love the lt green color of these tools, makes them easy to see on the job or in the box. I buy tools that are a good value for my regular use, Ryobi over the past 10 years has earned my first consideration when I'm shopping for a new tool.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)

Call the fire department

PostedDecember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This grinder eats batteries like mad as mentioned by other reviewers. I only got a total of about 4 hours of use over the period of 5 years before the motor just smoked and quit. White smoke was pouring out of the tool. I was using a proper cutting wheel to notch thin-gauge aluminum. The white smoke incident can after about 15 minutes of off-and-on use. Terrible product.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)
from Monroe area of NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

VERY POOR ENGINEERING OF THE GUARD

PostedNovember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have many 18v Ryobi hand tools and I really like them. NOT this piece of junk. I use angle grinders for occasional tile trimming. The blade guard design on this tool was obviously done by an engineer that never actually tested the tool. The attaching system severely restricts the depth of the cut. DO NOT waste your $$$ on this tool if you need a MAN'S TOOL. This is junky toy and VERY VERY gutless.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable, Limited Features, very poor blade guard design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)
from Chico, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

JUNK!

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Total piece of junk. used twice and the brushes melted through the plastic handle. Not satisfied. It isnt worth the $40 spent. When you try to warranty the tool it has to be sent off to service. What a joke! Should have went to Harbor Freight and spent $10 for a tool that at least would work for a longer time than this tool.
Cons: Not Durable, junk!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)
from OK.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Portability

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have many Ryobi battery powered tools and really like all of them; this tool is just another player in the Ryobi stable. No cord is a good thing!
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)
from TOOELE utah
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works pretty good

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For the price it's a great grinder I use all the time
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: slower rpm than ryobi blue
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)
from Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exceptional Quality for the Price

PostedOctober 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a perfectly good corded professional-grade 4.5" disc grinder that I've had for 25 years of frequent usage, but needed a grinder from away from a power cord, so bought this because it fit with my other Ryobi One+ tools (which have all provided exceptional service over the 9+ years I've owned them).
I really wasn't expecting that much from this inexpensive unit, but I was astounded by the power and feel of quality it provided.
I must say that at one point I'd considered "upgrading" to a set of DeWalt cordless tools, but given my satisfaction with the bunch of Ryobi tools, both cordless and corded, I own (with the possible exception of the One+ "skill-saw" that doesn't match the power of the DeWalt unit), I see no reason to do so.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)
from St. Petersburg, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love having a cordless grinder !

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This grinder is just as powerful as my corded one and a lot lighter too!! Anybody want to buy a corded one?? haha ~
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)
from WI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor battery life!

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worked good when the battery was fully charged. However, we only got 5-10 minutes on a charge and then the battery would get too hot and shut down. Then when trying to recharge it, it had to cool for 20 minutes. Took all day long to do a few simple cuts. I went out and bought a corded one!
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight, used same battery as all my other tools
Cons: poor battery life
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)
from Riverside CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice little tool for remote locations.

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used it to sharpen gardening tools and to cut conduit without a problem. I haven't had an issue with batteries (P122)
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)
from Florida, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use.

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this grinder to repair a liftgate on a Class 8 truck and it has exceeded my expectations. I purchased the tool only because I already have a few of the Ryobi 18v LiOn tools. The grinder can't compete against an air or 110v unit but as a truly portable grinder it has been able to handle task such as: cutting and re-directing exhaust pipe on a Temperature Control Unit, remove old welded brackets, and grind away steel for clearance on a damaged liftgate (the reason for the purchase). All jobs were of short duration and I never ran out of battery before completing my tasks.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)
from FL

Nice - but eats up battery power

PostedAugust 14, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this grinder to cut off 6, 1/2" rusty bolts, which included cutting through some of the nuts that were rusted on as well. The grinder did a good job of cutting, but it ate through the batteries pretty quickly, which I expected.
That normally would not be a problem, since I have two batteries, but the heavy load on the batteries caused them to heat up and the P100 batteries won't charge when they're hot. So, I had to place them in the refrigerator to cool them down before they would charge.
This caused my project to be delayed quite a bit.
I give the grinder 5 stars, but will rate the batteries as 3 stars due to the heating issue.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)
from CA East Bay

Best Kept Ryobi Secret

PostedAugust 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This $40 grinder cuts pipe, conduit, strut and masonry. I've used it to grind down bolts, sharpen lawn mower blades, and even clean my BBQ grill with a wire cup. This tool is a great value for quick jobs.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)

work horse

PostedSeptember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought it to put a grinding wheel to clean up two cast iron tables that my wife bought at an auction. I burnt up two of my really old batteries but had several newer ones. If you are not trying to make a living with the tool it will do everything you will ever need.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)

Great for a cordless grinder.

PostedOctober 13, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Like many cordless tools you don't use them exactly like their corded cousins. The grinder is an example of that.
You can't grind large parts down, nor can you take the rust scale off an equipment trailer. Sure you can but that would be silly, as you will be going through about 8+ batteries.
Where these shine is more like a saw. Either with a diamond blade for cutting masonry, or a thin metal blade for snipping off bolts and nails. You can cut many odd things with a diamond masonry blade, such as durarock and vinyl siding. I use the very thin Dewalt metal cutting blades, they are more expensive but they last longer and cut longer per battery.
I've actually been impressed with the battery life when used as I've stated. Its nice not to have to drag a cord out to make a cut or two.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>