728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Grinders or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)

18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)

The RYOBI 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder offers cordless convenience and the power of 6500 RPM for fast and precise work. This tool offers a host of user-friendly features, such as onboard wrench storage, a comfortable overmolded grip and a 3-position side handle to help reduce fatigue. It also has an intuitive trigger switch.
Overall rating:
4.278 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(97 reviews) 96
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product83 of 95reviews
Rating Breakdown 97 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(58)
4
(25)
3
(3)
2
(5)
1
(6)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product83 of 95reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)
Review 1 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)
from Oregon
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well for ordinary use

PostedApril 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Some reviewers have had problems with this 4 1/2" angle grinder, including one man in the store who had just returned one that never worked. My experience is different, though. I had to reduce the size of some t-bar metal fence posts and this tool worked well. I used it for about 45 minutes (and drained the 4ah battery) with no signs of problems. The handle remained cool, the job was completed, and only a battery recharge was needed. This is not an industrial angle grinder, but for home, hobby, or as an alternative when electricity or compressed air is not available, it does the job at a slightly slower pace but gets the job done. No regrets at all.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, great utility like other ryobi 18v+ products
Cons: slower than line or air powered., drains batteries quickly 4ah battery recommended.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)

Great grinder. Little bit of a battery hog.

PostedMay 18, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love this grinder. It's a 5/8 spindle 11UNC. So it's easy to find wheels for. It only takes type 27, and not flat wheels, so make sure you get the right type. But slap a battery in this sucker and it's off to the races. Battery life is as to be expected..about 10 minutes on a compact lithium ion battery. I have 3, so I can get some solid work done while charging one. I'll be looking at a couple 4ah in the future. Overall, great grinder. Comfortable. Good balance. My hands never got tired. Has the fit and finish to last a good long time, and enough beans to knock down a weld.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)
from Detroit MI area
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good tool for smaller jobs

PostedMay 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have been using this tool to open up some cracks in my garage floor in order to fill them and resurface the floor. The tool is great and does its job with a decent diamond blade. However you NEED to buy the high capacity battery for it or else you only get about 5-10 minutes of real working time. Good tool, but chews up battery quick. For bigger jobs a corded tool is better, or dish out the cash for a high capacity battery.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: chews up battery quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)
from Texas

A Solid Cordless Tool

PostedMay 8, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this grinder to use with a diamond masonry blade to score flagstone so that I could cut to shape for a path. Upon reading the manual after receiving it, the manual specifically says not to use flat blades (diamond masonry blades are flat) or any blades designed to use to carve wood (one of the other uses I have planned for it). It also says not to use the tool for cutting off -- grinding, sanding or wire brushing only. Basically, you are only supposed to use depressed center blades similar to the one provided in the box. After looking at the way the retaining flange works, It seemed to be designed to be used with flat blades by simply inverting the flange which perfectly centered the Ridgid 4" diamond masonry blade so I decided to proceed. The only problem that I had was that it was possible to overload the tool which caused it to stop (not sure if it was the battery or tool causing this) but otherwise it seemed to work just fine. I certainly never felt like it was dangerous to use it this way. I knew that it was less powerful and had a much lower RPM and HP than the corded versions available but cordless convenience made this a good trade off for what I intend to use this for, especially for the price. If I didn't already have the One+ batteries, the price would obviously not be very good.
I gave it only 4 stars because the HD listing said nothing about the blade limitations but maybe all of the Ryobi grinders list this limitation. So make sure that you read the online manual if you plan to use it for anything other that grinding. I love the way the spanner fits into the handle so that you always know where it is and the blade guard was well designed to make it easy to adjust for different angles. For what it is (a lower power cordless angle grinder), it worked perfectly and I would buy it again. While I didn't drain a battery by the end of the day, I also didn't use it continuously like you might when grinding or sanding a large project so you'll want multiple large LiON batteries if that is your intended use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)
from Indianapolis, IN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

High quality and unexpensive RYOBI cordless tools get proffesional work done

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have been doing commercial HVAC since mid 2010 and I have used this grinder ever since. The grinder is not as fast as my corded Dewalt. But, in reality, no cordless grinder is going to be as fast as a corded one (regardless of brand name). However, this cordless RYOBI grinder gets the job done. It's supposed to be a DO-IT-YOURSELFER tool, but as a professional HVAC installer, I have used this grinder for professional uses. I have built ductwork in new hospitals, schools, apartment buildings, and super stores (a couple WALMARTS). I would recommend this Ryobi grinder (and any other Ryobi cordless tool) to DO-IT-YOURSELFERS and professionals as well.
Pros: Durable, Strong Suction, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, unexpensive, warranty as good as (or better) than dewalt's
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)

18 volt angle grinder

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
i really like the features on this angle grinder. The guard rotates without being removed and the grinder has plenty of power.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)
from Avalon Beach, Florida 32583, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great little grinder.

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've used grindes a lot. I use to be a TIG welder back in the '70s and used a grinder a few hours every working day back then and still use them regularly these days. I've used this grinder maybe 20 times so far and ad usual with Ryobi its a great value. So far its had plenty of power ( using the 2x Lion batt ) seems well put together, the trigger and safty work welln easy to swap disc's and I love the lt green color of these tools, makes them easy to see on the job or in the box. I buy tools that are a good value for my regular use, Ryobi over the past 10 years has earned my first consideration when I'm shopping for a new tool.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)
from Bakersfield, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Paint removal on a bicycle frame.

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Using this in conjunction with the drill for paint removal on a bicycle that I am redoing for a friend. Seems to work well for the purpose for which I bought it
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)
from killeen, texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great product

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
handy in many ways.dont have to worry about a cord getting in the way;or using a extension cord.can be used in tight places.thats the reason i purchased it.
Pros: Powerful, All In One, Good Size & Weight
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)
from White Creek, WI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I'm on my third one.

PostedJanuary 8, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
So far, I am not happy with this grinder. But, time will tell. I have numerous other "green" Ryobi One+ tools and think they are great.
My first grinder did not work out of the box. I never got far enough to put a battery in it because I could not tighten the arbor on a disc. So I exchanged that. Item #2 worked, but like others complained of, one brush melted out through the side after less than an hour (probably less than 15 minutes actual use). #3 seems to be OK, but not much time invested with it yet. (However long it took to grind a 1/8" deep notch along 2' of cold rolled flat stock.)
I am hopeful for #3 because it is acting different than when #2 was working. #2 acted like the battery was low and had a hard time maintaining RPM. But, I am using Lithium batteries, so I normally would not expect it to change no-load speed. #3 seems to run at a constant no-load speed, with little slowing under load. I suspect the brushes were improperly seated in #2.
Quality control or manufacturing or design of this tool is at best questionable.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, questionable qc
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)
from Terre Haute, IN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ryobi 18 Volt 4 1/2" angle grinder

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is an outstanding tool. Not having to contend with cords and the ability to use it anywhere is great. I've used it with both the Lithium-Ion and the Ni-Cad batteries and it works best with the lithium because they deliver full power right up to the time they go dead, whereas the Ni-Cad will gradually slow down to the point where you're just wasting your time. I have several of the Ryobi 18 Volt tools and really like the ability to use one battery for all of them. I would like to see Ryobi develop a one or two gallon CANISTER vacuum cleaner that uses the same battery.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)
from Detroit, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great so far

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This cordless angle angle grinder performed well for removing paint.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)
from Altoona, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great grinder

PostedApril 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I use my grinder commercially. It has plenty of power, especially with the lithium batteries. Great tool when power is not available.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Light Weight
Cons: switch too light
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)

It'll get the job done

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It has enough power and battery life for sharpening mower blades and other stuff with the p108 lithium battery. I fully recommend the p108 lithium battery for any tool you want to have a power boost and if you need really long battery life. It has enough torque to cut good. Of course as with all battery tools it's not quite as good as 120 volt but it's close enough for a battery tool that I'll grab this any day for small jobs instead of dragging out a cord etc.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)
from Queensbury New York
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best bang for buck

PostedFebruary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I use this for taking off paint and preping heavy metals and it works fantastically. How ever it isnt a corded grinder replacement. I also recommend the 4.0 batteries because it will consume the short packs in minutes.
Pros: cheap
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)
from NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

works great

PostedApril 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great tool. And in my line of work being cordless is pure freedom and a money maker. RYOBI keeps surprising me with the tools and the power of them, they keep coming out with.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: eats battery
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)
from Washington
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

a must for the traveling worker

PostedMarch 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This has become a great addition to my tool bag, no more having to take a part home to sharpen it or resize it, just reach into the tool bag and it's right there. Can't believe I got along without it for so long.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)

excellent grinder

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Excellent rechargeable grinder. Along with the Lithium battery, this is an excellent tool.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)
from Phoenix area
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love all of Ryobi's ONE+ tools

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
18v battery makes it so easy to use anywhere with out a cord to mess with..
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)
from FL

Nice - but eats up battery power

PostedAugust 14, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this grinder to cut off 6, 1/2" rusty bolts, which included cutting through some of the nuts that were rusted on as well. The grinder did a good job of cutting, but it ate through the batteries pretty quickly, which I expected.
That normally would not be a problem, since I have two batteries, but the heavy load on the batteries caused them to heat up and the P100 batteries won't charge when they're hot. So, I had to place them in the refrigerator to cool them down before they would charge.
This caused my project to be delayed quite a bit.
I give the grinder 5 stars, but will rate the batteries as 3 stars due to the heating issue.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>