728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Grinders or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)

18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)

The Ryobi 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder offers cordless convenience and delivers a powerful 6,500 RPMs for fast and precise work. Compatible with the Ryobi 18V ONE+ system, this tool offers a host of convenient features, including an onboard wrench storage. A comfortable overmolded grip and 3-position side handle help reduce fatigue. A 4-1/2 in. grinding wheel is included for added value and convenience.
Overall rating:
4.217 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(83 reviews) 82
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product69 of 81reviews
Rating Breakdown 83 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(49)
4
(20)
3
(3)
2
(5)
1
(6)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product69 of 81reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)
Review 1 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)
from Detroit MI area
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good tool for smaller jobs

PostedMay 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have been using this tool to open up some cracks in my garage floor in order to fill them and resurface the floor. The tool is great and does its job with a decent diamond blade. However you NEED to buy the high capacity battery for it or else you only get about 5-10 minutes of real working time. Good tool, but chews up battery quick. For bigger jobs a corded tool is better, or dish out the cash for a high capacity battery.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: chews up battery quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)

18 volt angle grinder

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
i really like the features on this angle grinder. The guard rotates without being removed and the grinder has plenty of power.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)
from Indianapolis, IN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

High quality and unexpensive RYOBI cordless tools get proffesional work done

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have been doing commercial HVAC since mid 2010 and I have used this grinder ever since. The grinder is not as fast as my corded Dewalt. But, in reality, no cordless grinder is going to be as fast as a corded one (regardless of brand name). However, this cordless RYOBI grinder gets the job done. It's supposed to be a DO-IT-YOURSELFER tool, but as a professional HVAC installer, I have used this grinder for professional uses. I have built ductwork in new hospitals, schools, apartment buildings, and super stores (a couple WALMARTS). I would recommend this Ryobi grinder (and any other Ryobi cordless tool) to DO-IT-YOURSELFERS and professionals as well.
Pros: Durable, Strong Suction, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, unexpensive, warranty as good as (or better) than dewalt's
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)
from Plano, TXX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good tool for the price

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Was very pleased with the quality and performance. I really haven't used it that much is the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars. I mostly buy Chicago Tool and Makita for their quality but this tool was much cheaper and appears to be very well built and functions well.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)
from Detroit, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great so far

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This cordless angle angle grinder performed well for removing paint.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)

It'll get the job done

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It has enough power and battery life for sharpening mower blades and other stuff with the p108 lithium battery. I fully recommend the p108 lithium battery for any tool you want to have a power boost and if you need really long battery life. It has enough torque to cut good. Of course as with all battery tools it's not quite as good as 120 volt but it's close enough for a battery tool that I'll grab this any day for small jobs instead of dragging out a cord etc.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)
from Avalon Beach, Florida 32583, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great little grinder.

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've used grindes a lot. I use to be a TIG welder back in the '70s and used a grinder a few hours every working day back then and still use them regularly these days. I've used this grinder maybe 20 times so far and ad usual with Ryobi its a great value. So far its had plenty of power ( using the 2x Lion batt ) seems well put together, the trigger and safty work welln easy to swap disc's and I love the lt green color of these tools, makes them easy to see on the job or in the box. I buy tools that are a good value for my regular use, Ryobi over the past 10 years has earned my first consideration when I'm shopping for a new tool.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)
from Connecticut
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good value

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Sturdy, well made, good power. I have been happy with most of the Ryobi products that i have bought and this one is no exception. I put a wire wheel on it and have using it to clean up large old tractor parts. The cordless feature makes it handy. Having multiple batteries helps if you are going to be using it a lot.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)
from Chesapeake, VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

4 1/2 in cordless grinder

PostedJanuary 19, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this product thinking it would work well in quick easy use. Used it one day for about 15 minutes and the brushes melted through the hand grip, very dangerous. I will contact Ryobi for the simple fact that I am not the only customer complete about this faulty tool.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)
from Wren, Mississippi
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent home owners or hobby tool.

PostedDecember 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Taking price and the one+ battery system into consideration it gets a 5 star plus. Compared to my industrial and professional grade tools it is noisy and has lower power. I purchased this item to use around home and it has done very well.
Pros:
Does well at light duty grinding.
Spanner wrench stores in handle, no looking for it on a shelf or in your tool box.
Uses the one+ batteries.
Low cost, I paid about 10 times more for my industrial grade grinder
Cons:
Noisy.
Not for heavy duty use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)
from White Creek, WI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I'm on my third one.

PostedJanuary 8, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
So far, I am not happy with this grinder. But, time will tell. I have numerous other "green" Ryobi One+ tools and think they are great.
My first grinder did not work out of the box. I never got far enough to put a battery in it because I could not tighten the arbor on a disc. So I exchanged that. Item #2 worked, but like others complained of, one brush melted out through the side after less than an hour (probably less than 15 minutes actual use). #3 seems to be OK, but not much time invested with it yet. (However long it took to grind a 1/8" deep notch along 2' of cold rolled flat stock.)
I am hopeful for #3 because it is acting different than when #2 was working. #2 acted like the battery was low and had a hard time maintaining RPM. But, I am using Lithium batteries, so I normally would not expect it to change no-load speed. #3 seems to run at a constant no-load speed, with little slowing under load. I suspect the brushes were improperly seated in #2.
Quality control or manufacturing or design of this tool is at best questionable.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, questionable qc
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)

these green toes are terrible

PostedDecember 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had blue Ryobi for 5 years and had no trouble except I wore the switch out this is the fift green one that I have went through you can't use it more than 15 minutes or the brushes in the housing burn through the side of the tool this thing is just not worth nothing I suggest you buy another brand
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)

awesome tool

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
but just work on my truck along with the worlds in the frame works great love it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)

Call the fire department

PostedDecember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This grinder eats batteries like mad as mentioned by other reviewers. I only got a total of about 4 hours of use over the period of 5 years before the motor just smoked and quit. White smoke was pouring out of the tool. I was using a proper cutting wheel to notch thin-gauge aluminum. The white smoke incident can after about 15 minutes of off-and-on use. Terrible product.
Cons: Not Durable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)
from Monroe area of NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

VERY POOR ENGINEERING OF THE GUARD

PostedNovember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have many 18v Ryobi hand tools and I really like them. NOT this piece of junk. I use angle grinders for occasional tile trimming. The blade guard design on this tool was obviously done by an engineer that never actually tested the tool. The attaching system severely restricts the depth of the cut. DO NOT waste your $$$ on this tool if you need a MAN'S TOOL. This is junky toy and VERY VERY gutless.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable, Limited Features, very poor blade guard design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)
from Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exceptional Quality for the Price

PostedOctober 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a perfectly good corded professional-grade 4.5" disc grinder that I've had for 25 years of frequent usage, but needed a grinder from away from a power cord, so bought this because it fit with my other Ryobi One+ tools (which have all provided exceptional service over the 9+ years I've owned them).
I really wasn't expecting that much from this inexpensive unit, but I was astounded by the power and feel of quality it provided.
I must say that at one point I'd considered "upgrading" to a set of DeWalt cordless tools, but given my satisfaction with the bunch of Ryobi tools, both cordless and corded, I own (with the possible exception of the One+ "skill-saw" that doesn't match the power of the DeWalt unit), I see no reason to do so.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)
from Chico, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

JUNK!

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Total piece of junk. used twice and the brushes melted through the plastic handle. Not satisfied. It isnt worth the $40 spent. When you try to warranty the tool it has to be sent off to service. What a joke! Should have went to Harbor Freight and spent $10 for a tool that at least would work for a longer time than this tool.
Cons: Not Durable, junk!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)
from OK.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Portability

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have many Ryobi battery powered tools and really like all of them; this tool is just another player in the Ryobi stable. No cord is a good thing!
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)
from TOOELE utah
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works pretty good

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
For the price it's a great grinder I use all the time
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: slower rpm than ryobi blue
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 18-Volt ONE+ 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool-Only)
from FL

Nice - but eats up battery power

PostedAugust 14, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this grinder to cut off 6, 1/2" rusty bolts, which included cutting through some of the nuts that were rusted on as well. The grinder did a good job of cutting, but it ate through the batteries pretty quickly, which I expected.
That normally would not be a problem, since I have two batteries, but the heavy load on the batteries caused them to heat up and the P100 batteries won't charge when they're hot. So, I had to place them in the refrigerator to cool them down before they would charge.
This caused my project to be delayed quite a bit.
I give the grinder 5 stars, but will rate the batteries as 3 stars due to the heating issue.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>