728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Grinders or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for One Plus 18-Volt 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool Only)

One Plus 18-Volt 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool Only)

The Ryobi 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder features cordless convenience and delivers a powerful 6,500 RPMs for fast and precise work. Compatible with the Ryobi One Plus 18-volt system (batteries and charger not included), this tool offers a host of convenient features, including an onboard wrench storage. A comfortable overmolded grip and 3-position side handle help reduce fatigue, and a 4-1/2 in. grinding wheel is included for added value and convenience.
Overall rating:
4.417 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(60 reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product54 of 58reviews
Rating Breakdown 60 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(36)
4
(18)
3
(3)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product54 of 58reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for One Plus 18-Volt 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool Only)
Review 1 for One Plus 18-Volt 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool Only)
from Detroit MI area
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good tool for smaller jobs

PostedMay 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have been using this tool to open up some cracks in my garage floor in order to fill them and resurface the floor. The tool is great and does its job with a decent diamond blade. However you NEED to buy the high capacity battery for it or else you only get about 5-10 minutes of real working time. Good tool, but chews up battery quick. For bigger jobs a corded tool is better, or dish out the cash for a high capacity battery.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: chews up battery quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for One Plus 18-Volt 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool Only)
from Indianapolis, IN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

High quality and unexpensive RYOBI cordless tools get proffesional work done

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been doing commercial HVAC since mid 2010 and I have used this grinder ever since. The grinder is not as fast as my corded Dewalt. But, in reality, no cordless grinder is going to be as fast as a corded one (regardless of brand name). However, this cordless RYOBI grinder gets the job done. It's supposed to be a DO-IT-YOURSELFER tool, but as a professional HVAC installer, I have used this grinder for professional uses. I have built ductwork in new hospitals, schools, apartment buildings, and super stores (a couple WALMARTS). I would recommend this Ryobi grinder (and any other Ryobi cordless tool) to DO-IT-YOURSELFERS and professionals as well.
Pros: Durable, Strong Suction, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, unexpensive, warranty as good as (or better) than dewalt's
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for One Plus 18-Volt 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool Only)
from Riverside CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice little tool for remote locations.

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used it to sharpen gardening tools and to cut conduit without a problem. I haven't had an issue with batteries (P122)
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for One Plus 18-Volt 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool Only)
from Avalon Beach, Florida 32583, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great little grinder.

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used grindes a lot. I use to be a TIG welder back in the '70s and used a grinder a few hours every working day back then and still use them regularly these days. I've used this grinder maybe 20 times so far and ad usual with Ryobi its a great value. So far its had plenty of power ( using the 2x Lion batt ) seems well put together, the trigger and safty work welln easy to swap disc's and I love the lt green color of these tools, makes them easy to see on the job or in the box. I buy tools that are a good value for my regular use, Ryobi over the past 10 years has earned my first consideration when I'm shopping for a new tool.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for One Plus 18-Volt 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool Only)
from St. Petersburg, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love having a cordless grinder !

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This grinder is just as powerful as my corded one and a lot lighter too!! Anybody want to buy a corded one?? haha ~
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for One Plus 18-Volt 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool Only)
from Chesapeake, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Portable effective coy and grinding

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Needed remote tool needed this worked great to cut off screws
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, 1 plus battery system
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for One Plus 18-Volt 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool Only)
from Florida, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use.

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this grinder to repair a liftgate on a Class 8 truck and it has exceeded my expectations. I purchased the tool only because I already have a few of the Ryobi 18v LiOn tools. The grinder can't compete against an air or 110v unit but as a truly portable grinder it has been able to handle task such as: cutting and re-directing exhaust pipe on a Temperature Control Unit, remove old welded brackets, and grind away steel for clearance on a damaged liftgate (the reason for the purchase). All jobs were of short duration and I never ran out of battery before completing my tasks.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for One Plus 18-Volt 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool Only)
from Buenos Aires, Argentina
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

exellent

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
very good and practical. I used to work I do. The best thing about is that it is compatible with other equipment and batteries hold the charge well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Powerful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for One Plus 18-Volt 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool Only)
from West Virginia, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

well made, works great

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Tool works great. It does seem to use up battery power more than most other one+ tools, but you can't beat the convenience of a battery tool for smaller jobs.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for One Plus 18-Volt 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool Only)
from Kansas, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Tools

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used Ryobi tools for 20 plus years and they are a great value.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for One Plus 18-Volt 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool Only)
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Battery drain

PostedJune 6, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this to cut pavers for a patio. I bought this because I have had great service from my Ryobi cordless drill. However, it drained three lithium batteries, and still did not cut through the first brick. I returned it for a plug-in model.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: limited battery life
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for One Plus 18-Volt 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool Only)
from Barnstable County, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

tool works well for the price

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It is a bit bulky and long with battery attached but power is good. The wrench storage on the grinder is helpful. the grinder works well for the price
Pros: Portable
Cons: bulky
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for One Plus 18-Volt 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool Only)
from Billings, Montana
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Been Using This For A Few Months At Work

PostedJune 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this grinder to do some wire-wheel cleaning of the tin covering on industrial pipe insulation so we can apply labels in various locations. Corded was not an option for this job, and we already had other One Plus 18-Volt tools, so we chose this one.
It has been getting the job done. I can throw some batteries and this grinder in a backpack and get to work. We have the Nickel-Cadmium batteries, which fade out after ~5 minutes of continuous use, and I've been tapping the button to extend life to ~7 - 10 minutes of use, which works well in this application, though would not work for cutting or grinding. This only works because we have two chargers and five batteries to rotate through, so that I can take two or three into the field, and two more are ready when I need them.
My only complaint is that with these batteries, sometimes the voltage returns to 18V after they have sat for a little while, which tricks the charger into thinking they are full, when in fact the battery is low on Amp-hours, so it only takes a few seconds of use before they lose enough voltage to run under resistance.
So, factor in the cost of batteries (Ni-Cd or Lithium) and chargers when you are looking at the total sticker price. If you will be using this a lot, remember that you will be cycling through batteries on chargers, and most batteries only have so many charge-discharge cycles before they no longer retain a charge.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Great Value
Cons: drains batteries quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for One Plus 18-Volt 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool Only)
from Lawrenceville, GA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Tool for Household Jobs

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have only used the 4 1/2" cordless grinder one time for sharpening lawn mower blades and it worked fine. It had enough power to sharpen the blades with no problem. I cannot speak to longeviity or heavier duty jobs. I already had the 18-volt batteries otherwise I would have probably just bought a corded version.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for One Plus 18-Volt 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool Only)
from Wisconsin
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Its a Grinder... nothing new

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Weekend warrior is all I am and I may have too may toys. But The weight isn't bad, the price well cant be beat. Has done a great job on my projects. I wish the head could rotate like my JobPlus or made the switch more accessible. When you talk Ryobi.... If your thinking cordless well they have the biggest selection of tools and the best price!
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy
Cons: Limited Features
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for One Plus 18-Volt 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool Only)

Great Grinder

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great grinder for the DIY'er (me). Others have commented on the battery life which is true - my experience has been that with constant use the battery (smaller Lithium Ion) lasts about 45 minutes. But I don't know who has ever owned a battery operated power tool and only has one battery. The Li-ion's charge so fast that if you keep two going, you can use the tool as long as you like. I used it to cut nails out of my foundation wall and to grind concrete so far. Fantastic tool for the price.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for One Plus 18-Volt 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool Only)
from Talpa, TX 76882, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Did the job well

PostedMay 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Needed to cut a gate free at the back of an 850 acre cattle ranch but under a no fire and the land was dry as tender. Used my new Ryobi Angle Grinder and got the job done safely. Thanks Ryobi and Home Depot for the great tools. I am getting most of them one or two at a time.
Charles
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for One Plus 18-Volt 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool Only)
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So handy w/o 120v power cord

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used corded angle grinders for over 30 years, I never would have believed a battery powered unit could be so powerful and long lasting.
Pros: Powerful, Sturdy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for One Plus 18-Volt 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool Only)
from FL

Nice - but eats up battery power

PostedAugust 14, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this grinder to cut off 6, 1/2" rusty bolts, which included cutting through some of the nuts that were rusted on as well. The grinder did a good job of cutting, but it ate through the batteries pretty quickly, which I expected.
That normally would not be a problem, since I have two batteries, but the heavy load on the batteries caused them to heat up and the P100 batteries won't charge when they're hot. So, I had to place them in the refrigerator to cool them down before they would charge.
This caused my project to be delayed quite a bit.
I give the grinder 5 stars, but will rate the batteries as 3 stars due to the heating issue.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for One Plus 18-Volt 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool Only)
from Savannah, GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Surprisingly effective

PostedApril 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've been eyeing this tool for a few weeks now. I bought it a few days ago to file down some wrenches. . . Don't ask why. I decided to give this a try. If it didn't work to my satisfaction, I could always borrow my friend's Makita. Did it work as well as my friend's wired Makita? No. Was it 1/5 the price of the aforementioned Makita and wireless? Yes. I was filing down chrome and steel, and I did use two batteries in half an hour. It was pretty comfortable to use; you can't really press down on it. In all honesty, the unit's weight is all the pressure you need. If you already have some One Plus tools and you need or just want an angle grinder this purchase is a no-brainer. I'm listing only one con and that is simply in the assembly instructions. They're slightly unclear about the orientation of the "flange nut." The instructions seem to encourage assembly one way and the diagram shows another.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: assembly instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>