728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Grinders or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for One Plus 18-Volt 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool Only)

One Plus 18-Volt 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool Only)

The Ryobi 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder features cordless convenience and delivers a powerful 6,500 RPMs for fast and precise work. Compatible with the Ryobi One Plus 18-volt system (batteries and charger not included), this tool offers a host of convenient features, including an onboard wrench storage. A comfortable overmolded grip and 3-position side handle help reduce fatigue, and a 4-1/2 in. grinding wheel is included for added value and convenience.
Overall rating:
4.413 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(46 reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product41 of 44reviews
Rating Breakdown 46 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(28)
4
(13)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product41 of 44reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for One Plus 18-Volt 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool Only)
Review 1 for One Plus 18-Volt 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool Only)
Kojak
from Indianapolis, IN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

High quality and unexpensive RYOBI cordless tools get proffesional work done

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been doing commercial HVAC since mid 2010 and I have used this grinder ever since. The grinder is not as fast as my corded Dewalt. But, in reality, no cordless grinder is going to be as fast as a corded one (regardless of brand name). However, this cordless RYOBI grinder gets the job done. It's supposed to be a DO-IT-YOURSELFER tool, but as a professional HVAC installer, I have used this grinder for professional uses. I have built ductwork in new hospitals, schools, apartment buildings, and super stores (a couple WALMARTS). I would recommend this Ryobi grinder (and any other Ryobi cordless tool) to DO-IT-YOURSELFERS and professionals as well.
Pros: Durable, Strong Suction, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, unexpensive, warranty as good as (or better) than dewalt's
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for One Plus 18-Volt 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool Only)
BigAl
from Avalon Beach, Florida 32583, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great little grinder.

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used grindes a lot. I use to be a TIG welder back in the '70s and used a grinder a few hours every working day back then and still use them regularly these days. I've used this grinder maybe 20 times so far and ad usual with Ryobi its a great value. So far its had plenty of power ( using the 2x Lion batt ) seems well put together, the trigger and safty work welln easy to swap disc's and I love the lt green color of these tools, makes them easy to see on the job or in the box. I buy tools that are a good value for my regular use, Ryobi over the past 10 years has earned my first consideration when I'm shopping for a new tool.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for One Plus 18-Volt 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool Only)
DanW
from Florida, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use.

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this grinder to repair a liftgate on a Class 8 truck and it has exceeded my expectations. I purchased the tool only because I already have a few of the Ryobi 18v LiOn tools. The grinder can't compete against an air or 110v unit but as a truly portable grinder it has been able to handle task such as: cutting and re-directing exhaust pipe on a Temperature Control Unit, remove old welded brackets, and grind away steel for clearance on a damaged liftgate (the reason for the purchase). All jobs were of short duration and I never ran out of battery before completing my tasks.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for One Plus 18-Volt 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool Only)
BKWOOD
from West Virginia, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

well made, works great

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Tool works great. It does seem to use up battery power more than most other one+ tools, but you can't beat the convenience of a battery tool for smaller jobs.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for One Plus 18-Volt 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool Only)
WeekendWarrior024
from Wisconsin
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Its a Grinder... nothing new

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Weekend warrior is all I am and I may have too may toys. But The weight isn't bad, the price well cant be beat. Has done a great job on my projects. I wish the head could rotate like my JobPlus or made the switch more accessible. When you talk Ryobi.... If your thinking cordless well they have the biggest selection of tools and the best price!
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy
Cons: Limited Features
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for One Plus 18-Volt 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool Only)
Jimbo
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So handy w/o 120v power cord

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used corded angle grinders for over 30 years, I never would have believed a battery powered unit could be so powerful and long lasting.
Pros: Powerful, Sturdy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for One Plus 18-Volt 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool Only)
Islandwillie
from U.S. Virgin Islands
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works for me

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have no complaints (yet). Cut some tile (bought diamond blade), grind off rivets, no problem (yet). One + battery seems to offer plenty of work time. Have five or six of these One+ tools and other than a low-end circular saw (which I returned for an upgrade which I like) I haven't yet been disappointed
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for One Plus 18-Volt 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool Only)
Adino
from Springfield Mo
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great!

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This tool really works well. You might think from the picture that it doesn't look beafy, but go pick one up. It has the same weight as any other corded grinder. Another nice tool to add to the wireless collection that I am happy with.
Pros: Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for One Plus 18-Volt 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool Only)
Kristina

This is one great tool!

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We are rebuilding an engine for our Chevy Nova and this has come in handy a few times already. What a great tool!
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for One Plus 18-Volt 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool Only)
trilady
from Andrews, NC 28901, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

bought for tile grinding

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
we bought to grind down some tile - works great but really goes through the battery power - needs the large battery to work
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: uses up the battery power
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for One Plus 18-Volt 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool Only)
TommyB
from Ohio
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Half as powerful as an air tool. great for portability.

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this tool even though i have an air powered angle grinder because i have a big project removing staples and nails from a couple thousand pieces of wood. i liked the idea of not having to run my loud compressor all day to do this task. The air powered grinder is about 25,000 RPM and this is 6,500 RPM so i expected less power. it takes about 10 seconds to cut through a nail and stalls out if pressed too hard. Its great for doing a few cuts or sharpening a mower blade when you dont want to / cant bring an air compressor. But if you need lots of power all day then you might want to buy a corded or air grinder. as someone who owns almost all the ryobi lithium ion tools i can say they are well built and priced great for the average DIY person , Depending on what you need it for this can be a great investment.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
Cons: not powerful
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for One Plus 18-Volt 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool Only)
Nic3546

Good power and heft

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Completely satisfied. Battery drains fairly quickly but I that's to be expected with a powerful motor...
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for One Plus 18-Volt 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool Only)
ads5308

Great Grinder

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great grinder for the DIY'er (me). Others have commented on the battery life which is true - my experience has been that with constant use the battery (smaller Lithium Ion) lasts about 45 minutes. But I don't know who has ever owned a battery operated power tool and only has one battery. The Li-ion's charge so fast that if you keep two going, you can use the tool as long as you like. I used it to cut nails out of my foundation wall and to grind concrete so far. Fantastic tool for the price.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for One Plus 18-Volt 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool Only)
wesley
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this product worked well

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Strong tool. Did the job I needed it for. Price was right .
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for One Plus 18-Volt 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool Only)
Charley

Too early to tell

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I saw the grinder in the local Home Depot and was impressed by it's features, comfort and price.
I bought it for use on some up coming summer projects.
It is still in the box, unopened so it is too early to evaluate.
I own other RyobiOne products and have been impressed with every one. I'm sure the grinder will impress me as well.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for One Plus 18-Volt 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool Only)
xspook
from FL

Nice - but eats up battery power

PostedAugust 14, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this grinder to cut off 6, 1/2" rusty bolts, which included cutting through some of the nuts that were rusted on as well. The grinder did a good job of cutting, but it ate through the batteries pretty quickly, which I expected.
That normally would not be a problem, since I have two batteries, but the heavy load on the batteries caused them to heat up and the P100 batteries won't charge when they're hot. So, I had to place them in the refrigerator to cool them down before they would charge.
This caused my project to be delayed quite a bit.
I give the grinder 5 stars, but will rate the batteries as 3 stars due to the heating issue.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for One Plus 18-Volt 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool Only)
Xayl
from Glendale az
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product did the job albeit with some difficulty

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
So maybe it's just about where I live, I live behind the water treatment facility so I get the most sanitized water available, it's also very full of minerals and other junk that they put into the water, when it's dropped on the floor and allowed to dry it hardens and after 3 years of this it forms callouses with the other materials on the floor, but when I replaced my refrigerator I noticed that there was gunk on the tile, not linoleum. I grabbed my paint scraper and tried to chisel this dried up mess on the floor. I have four kids, gods only know what they did to whatever was on this floor. But it was thick and nasty and soon it was battering my scraper blade. Ok time for something a little tougher. Enter the ryobi grinder. Although I only have one hand, it worked well for me. Because of the mess that was on the tile, I did stop it a few times, that's how difficult it was to get up, it smelt like burnt up soy sauce, but I think that was from the debris on the floor. The floor has been burnt in a few places as well, I don't know if that is the debris or if it just got that hot, but I was able to install a new refrigerator in a clean space
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for One Plus 18-Volt 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool Only)
MikefromFL

Great for a cordless grinder.

PostedOctober 13, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Like many cordless tools you don't use them exactly like their corded cousins. The grinder is an example of that.
You can't grind large parts down, nor can you take the rust scale off an equipment trailer. Sure you can but that would be silly, as you will be going through about 8+ batteries.
Where these shine is more like a saw. Either with a diamond blade for cutting masonry, or a thin metal blade for snipping off bolts and nails. You can cut many odd things with a diamond masonry blade, such as durarock and vinyl siding. I use the very thin Dewalt metal cutting blades, they are more expensive but they last longer and cut longer per battery.
I've actually been impressed with the battery life when used as I've stated. Its nice not to have to drag a cord out to make a cut or two.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for One Plus 18-Volt 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool Only)
Fireman
from Utah, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

No power

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The concept is a good idea. The grinder did not have enough power to smooth the burrs on a cut pipe.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: no power!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for One Plus 18-Volt 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder (Tool Only)
EGinCA
from CA East Bay

Best Kept Ryobi Secret

PostedAugust 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This $40 grinder cuts pipe, conduit, strut and masonry. I've used it to grind down bolts, sharpen lawn mower blades, and even clean my BBQ grill with a wire cup. This tool is a great value for quick jobs.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>