728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 18-Volt One Plus Random Orbit Sander (Tool Only)

18-Volt One Plus Random Orbit Sander (Tool Only)

The Ryobi Random Orbit Sander delivers optimal results in a wide variety of sanding applications. The 18-volt battery-operated sander features 10,000 orbits per minute with random orbital action for a smooth, virtually swirl-free finish. Changing the sandpaper is fast and simple with the hook-and-loop sanding pad, and the body grip design and GripZone over-mold offer comfortable operation. This cordless sander is compatible with all RYOBI 18V ONE+ batteries and chargers(sold separately).
Overall rating:
3.974 / 5
4
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product31 of 38reviews
Rating Breakdown 39 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(16)
4
(16)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(5)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product31 of 38reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for 18-Volt One Plus Random Orbit Sander (Tool Only)
Review 1 for 18-Volt One Plus Random Orbit Sander (Tool Only)
ToolboyNC
from RTP, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ryobi P410 Sander: Reasonable

PostedApril 28, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have an excellent corded sander, but needed an option for when power wasn't available. So I purchased the P410.
The sander works fine, and for small-to-medium jobs it's a perfectly reasonable alternate to a corded sander. The orbital action works fine and the resultant surface looks good.
I like the hook-and-loop design, which makes it easy to swap grits. Lightly used discs can be saved and re-used.
But the sander is not perfect. The grip is very wide and tires the hand before long. And I find that my hand gets tingly before too long using this sander. If I need to sand for more than a minute or two I'll put on my gel gloves, but even still I wouldn't want to be sanding for an extended time.
The P410 is perfect for a quick job, but for prolonged use I'd rather run extension cord to my Porter Cable 333VS.
+22points
23out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18-Volt One Plus Random Orbit Sander (Tool Only)
BillD
from Houston, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

A good solid medium duty sander.

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I chose this sander because I don't do a lot of sanding and I have an entire set of Ryobi tools for the same reason. They are not continuous duty or working tools, only for occasional odd jobs.
There are better sanders with dust control, etc.(this sander has no dust gathering features) but for the cost it is a great product. The disks stay on well, I have used it for over an hour and a half with a lithium 18v battery and it never slowed down or stuttered.
It is farily heavy so I wouldn't choose this one for long term horizontal or overhead projects.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Long-Lasting
Cons: Limited Features, Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18-Volt One Plus Random Orbit Sander (Tool Only)
Disappointed
from Key largo, FL.
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Work well, but does not last :(

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I love working with this tool right up to point when the battery clip breaks.
I have replaced the switch assembly once before and now my replacement battery clip has also broken.
I am now looking for a corded sander. I am a cabinet maker and I can afford another delay; waiting for parts. I hope Ryobi fixes this Achilles heel and puts out a nice new green model.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18-Volt One Plus Random Orbit Sander (Tool Only)
Mike
from Topeka, KS, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great sander!

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
ive owned this sander for 3-4 years now and it is my one and only sander i use. i love all the ryobi one+ tools and this is no exception! the only drawback this sander has is the lack of dust port for attaching to a vacuum (which i probably wouldnt use anyways) and the grip is somewhat large. i have big hands so its not a real problem but for someone smaller it may be uncomfortable.
as an aside i recently dropped my sander and it fell to the concrete floor hard and now has become quite loud but it still chugs away just as good as before. hopefully i didnt do any major damage because i would miss this little guy if it died!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Long-Lasting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18-Volt One Plus Random Orbit Sander (Tool Only)
VLHa
from Huntsville, AL, USA

Great finishing sander

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Loved the cordless action, used this on a refinishing job (40 restaurant table tops) as my finishing sander (grits 120,150,220) worked fantastic,.Did not apply a heavy load and batteries performed well (lithium). Used a corded ROS sander to remove sealer and stain but kept tripping on the cord, would have given 5 stars as it's a little bulky, using the lower profile battery helps a bit.
Pros: cordless
Cons: bulky
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18-Volt One Plus Random Orbit Sander (Tool Only)
Pete
from Nampa, Idaho
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

I love it

PostedSeptember 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a retired cabinet maker (25 years) and have used many sanders. Now I make small wood puzzles and canes, I have downsized all of my tools. Today I work from a chair on casters because my legs are weak, so most all my tools have to be cordless so I won't trip over the cords , I am very happy about this Ryobi cordless sander I would highly recommend this sander for any hobby shop.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18-Volt One Plus Random Orbit Sander (Tool Only)
salvo4

Awesome product

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great value, good features. a must... verstaility is good
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18-Volt One Plus Random Orbit Sander (Tool Only)
Ravi

S(H)andy addition to my ryobi one+ tools

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Valvue for my money. Convinience of 'wire free' use. Light and comfortable grip. GOOD buy.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Light Weight
Cons: lithium battery is tight to remove
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18-Volt One Plus Random Orbit Sander (Tool Only)
Zenducky
from Veneta, OR 97487, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

She Loves it!

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My Wife, the woodcarver, says it is powerfull, easy to use and gets the job done!
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 18-Volt One Plus Random Orbit Sander (Tool Only)
Anonymous
from KY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Portable, cordless. Enough power to get the job done.

PostedDecember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
18v is good for those jobs when you don't want to pull out an extension cord. It's great for the times when a little light sanding is all that is needed.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 18-Volt One Plus Random Orbit Sander (Tool Only)
BABABABA
from NY/NJ

Excellent tool but buy good batteries - Li

PostedFebruary 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love this sander. Uses lots of juice so be smart and upgrade batteries when and if you can. Be smart and buy vaulue packs with Li batteries (i.e. leaf blower or chain saw). I read negative reviews and while I agree that battery life is an issue, you are buying a cordless tool for applications where a corded tool is inconvenient or unavoidable . For the price and expectations behind a battery powered tool you will love it.
I purchased tool for a bench at a private park we own. I have no power there and refurbished the bench in a few hours using cordless Ryobi tools. A new bench or professional restoration costs more then the tools I purchased. I had lots of fun too and continue to soak up compliments.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 18-Volt One Plus Random Orbit Sander (Tool Only)
Rick
from Kelso, Wa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Except for the heavy weight it is really convenient and powerful. Stripped paint very quickly. Consider going under a 220 grit for a final finish or you may see an appearance of tiny circles in the finish product!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Powerful
Cons: Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 18-Volt One Plus Random Orbit Sander (Tool Only)
Jrmartinjr
from Palatine, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

surprising product.

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product had more sanding power and battery life that I expected. I was sent the product by accident but decided to keep it after trying it out. Used it to re-stain an oak staircase.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 18-Volt One Plus Random Orbit Sander (Tool Only)
Eagleowl
from McPherson, Ks

Great value

PostedJuly 11, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this to complete my line of Ryobi 18V tools. Am remodeling a house, so all my tools get a workout. Flooring, tiling, installing new baths, etc.
This sander will bring down anything you wish to smooth out. Easy to use, and control, hook and loop paper makes changing easy. Battery lasts a long time with it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 18-Volt One Plus Random Orbit Sander (Tool Only)
fyrfyter24
from Maryland
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I really like this sander.

PostedJune 20, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very handy and easy to use. Versatile and well designed.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 18-Volt One Plus Random Orbit Sander (Tool Only)
Scampbell
from Grand Island, NE, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Returning product because it is junk.

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is my second attempt with this particular item.
Cons: Limited Features, Not Durable, Too Heavy, does not work
-5points
1out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 18-Volt One Plus Random Orbit Sander (Tool Only)
Hammer
from Santee, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Does what I want it too

PostedJune 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This sander does what I need it too. The only negative was I had to buy a charger and lith-ion batteries since I did not have any other Ryobi product at the time. The batteries last for some time, especially powering a sander motor.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 18-Volt One Plus Random Orbit Sander (Tool Only)
harley80

Can't go wrong with this sander

PostedJune 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent product. Heavy, best used with the half high Li-Ion battery. Completes my One+ inventory
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 18-Volt One Plus Random Orbit Sander (Tool Only)
ElmCityPainter
from Hartford or New Haven CT

Not a bad sander...

PostedSeptember 27, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Recently I've been restoring the cedar siding on my folk's house, and this sander has been extremely helpful. With more than 10,000 sq. ft. to restore, I've been using this sander in the final prep stages of the job, and it performs just as I expected; excellent.
It does a great job as an r/o sander, and has plenty of power when using a freshly charged ni-cad or the li-ion battery.
For small projects you can get away using the ni-cad batteries, but if you have a big job ahead, do yourself a favor and get the lithium ion battery.
One downside is that using this sander can get tiring, especially when sanding from ladders; it gets heavy with the battery attached. It definitely gives your forearms a workout!!
Overall, if you've got the one+ batteries already, there is no reason why you shouldn't have this sander!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 18-Volt One Plus Random Orbit Sander (Tool Only)
Chris77
from Denver, CO

Disappointed

PostedNovember 9, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this after reading the good reviews it got here, plus I have other One+ tools, so was happy to get this sander but have been disappointed so far.
I have had to return 2 of these already as they died in the middle of a job. I put both of them through a lot of work (for a home handy man) as i have just moved & was redoing 2 tables, 6 chairs, & the kitchen cabinets. I also used them for prolonged periods, sanding for the best part of the day & only stopping when my spare battery was finished charging. However, i want my tools to be able to work when i want to, & be able to survive a full days work. Both of these failed within weeks of buying them & so were easily replaced by Home Depot (very happy with their 90 day return policy).
I am now using my third of these sanders (in one & a half months) & this is its last chance, if this one fails i will replace it with a different brand, which is a shame cause i like the One+ battery system.
My only other complaint is what someone else mentioned- the sander is very wide & hurts my hand after gripping it for long periods (& i have reasonably large hands).
I will update this if/when the sander lasts for a longer period or fails.
I'd love to see Ryobi fix this problem & bring out a green, lighter, better sander that actually lasts.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>