728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Sanders or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18-Volt ONE+ Random Orbit Sander (Tool Only)

18-Volt ONE+ Random Orbit Sander (Tool Only)

The RYOBI ONE+ Random Orbit Sander delivers optimal results in a wide variety of sanding applications. The 18-volt battery-operated sander features 10,000 OPM with random orbital action for a smooth, virtually swirl-free finish. When you're done, changing the sandpaper is fast and simple with the hook and loop sanding pad.
Overall rating:
4.035 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(58 reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product47 of 57reviews
Rating Breakdown 58 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(26)
4
(22)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(6)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product47 of 57reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for 18-Volt ONE+ Random Orbit Sander (Tool Only)
Review 1 for 18-Volt ONE+ Random Orbit Sander (Tool Only)
from Uncasville, CT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

exactly what I was looking for

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The sander uses the batteries that the rest of my cordless tools use. It gets the job done as well or better than my corded sander. It does not blow a stream of sawdust like my corded sander. I wish it was carried in one of the stores near me.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18-Volt ONE+ Random Orbit Sander (Tool Only)
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Time Saver

PostedMarch 29, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great product. A real time saver. I do wish that it was not as big to hold. It needs to be smaller for a woman's hands.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate
Cons: too big around for small hands.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18-Volt ONE+ Random Orbit Sander (Tool Only)
from Schenectady, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love using this!

PostedMay 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had this sander for a while before I actually used it, and now I am wondering why.I was a bit concerned about it being awkward to use, but it isn't. It was so light and well balanced in my hand that I loved it. It did the job quickly and perfectly. It makes goofing up almost impossible, even for me. Being free from a cord is fantastic, because I can use it anywhere. I love all of my ryobi tools.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18-Volt ONE+ Random Orbit Sander (Tool Only)
from RTP, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ryobi P410 Sander: Reasonable

PostedApril 28, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have an excellent corded sander, but needed an option for when power wasn't available. So I purchased the P410.
The sander works fine, and for small-to-medium jobs it's a perfectly reasonable alternate to a corded sander. The orbital action works fine and the resultant surface looks good.
I like the hook-and-loop design, which makes it easy to swap grits. Lightly used discs can be saved and re-used.
But the sander is not perfect. The grip is very wide and tires the hand before long. And I find that my hand gets tingly before too long using this sander. If I need to sand for more than a minute or two I'll put on my gel gloves, but even still I wouldn't want to be sanding for an extended time.
The P410 is perfect for a quick job, but for prolonged use I'd rather run extension cord to my Porter Cable 333VS.
+25points
26out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18-Volt ONE+ Random Orbit Sander (Tool Only)
from Malden MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

known quantity

PostedDecember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
this was a replacement for the same model that left on a trip and never came back. It's a good run-of-the-mill orbital sander. It basically does what you'd expect of this kind of sander.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: drains battery pretty quick
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18-Volt ONE+ Random Orbit Sander (Tool Only)
from St. Louis, MO

Didn't Last Very Long - Twice

PostedApril 30, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 2 of these. Both died early deaths. They just didn't last very long. I also found that the round sanding pads tended to leave grooves in the wood that the square sanding pad-type did not. Maybe I just lacked the touch required for this type of round pad?
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18-Volt ONE+ Random Orbit Sander (Tool Only)

Good sander

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Great sander for the price. It does not perform nearly as well as the DeWalt orbital corded sander we have but does an adequate job in the field when there is no power. Would buy again. Also too bad it does not come with batteries - we ended up buying a drill set for the same cost as 2 batteries
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
Cons: Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18-Volt ONE+ Random Orbit Sander (Tool Only)
from New Orleans, LA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

cordless sander

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought to sand my car but battery will only last 30 minutes each.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: battery limitation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18-Volt ONE+ Random Orbit Sander (Tool Only)
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A very nice tool.

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It is a great tool and a great value for the price. It works very well. And it handles well.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 18-Volt ONE+ Random Orbit Sander (Tool Only)
from Nampa, Idaho
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

I love it

PostedSeptember 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am a retired cabinet maker (25 years) and have used many sanders. Now I make small wood puzzles and canes, I have downsized all of my tools. Today I work from a chair on casters because my legs are weak, so most all my tools have to be cordless so I won't trip over the cords , I am very happy about this Ryobi cordless sander I would highly recommend this sander for any hobby shop.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 18-Volt ONE+ Random Orbit Sander (Tool Only)
from Topeka, KS, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great sander!

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
ive owned this sander for 3-4 years now and it is my one and only sander i use. i love all the ryobi one+ tools and this is no exception! the only drawback this sander has is the lack of dust port for attaching to a vacuum (which i probably wouldnt use anyways) and the grip is somewhat large. i have big hands so its not a real problem but for someone smaller it may be uncomfortable.
as an aside i recently dropped my sander and it fell to the concrete floor hard and now has become quite loud but it still chugs away just as good as before. hopefully i didnt do any major damage because i would miss this little guy if it died!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Long-Lasting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 18-Volt ONE+ Random Orbit Sander (Tool Only)

Ryobi Sander

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great hand sander. Comes with sand paper. Love the Ryobi line of products.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 18-Volt ONE+ Random Orbit Sander (Tool Only)
from Cresson, PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Sander

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this sander to replace the identical one I had. The old one had the brush wires that came off. I soldered them on numerous times and decided to get another identical sander. I already have 4 18 volt batteries and 2 chargers. I trust the name Ryobi and have several of their tools. When this gives up, I will buy another. I love the hook and latch feature for the sanding discs.
Pros: Strong Suction, Powerful, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 18-Volt ONE+ Random Orbit Sander (Tool Only)
from Florida
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Sander

PostedFebruary 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Has plenty of power for sanding. Comfortable to hold and use. I have had 2 of these. On the first one a battery contact broke off. Not sure if it was design or operator error. I got a full refund and bought another online because it's online only. 2nd one works great no problems. If you are worried about dust you might want one with a dust bag.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 18-Volt ONE+ Random Orbit Sander (Tool Only)
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sanding efficiently

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The sander made my sanding project a lot more manageable. The mailbox was smooth and old paint free. It was nice to have a smooth and clean surface to apply primer and paint on.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 18-Volt ONE+ Random Orbit Sander (Tool Only)
from Omak, Washington
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great when a cord is a pain in the neck.

PostedJanuary 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I use this sander on outdoor patio projects and to sand between varnishing applications when dust collection is either unnecessary or inconvenient. I always mask up regardless. This is great for medium size and small projects like coffee tables and end tables. It does not have the power or stamina of a plug in but is a great 18v addition to the Ryobi family. Grit level changes are very quick with the hook and loop feature and you can go from rough finishing to glass-like smoothness easily. One suggestion-keep an extra battery ready to go.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 18-Volt ONE+ Random Orbit Sander (Tool Only)
from Cicero New York
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

second one I have purchased

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
good balance,easy to use. works best with lithium ion batteries, ni-cad runs out of power too soon.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 18-Volt ONE+ Random Orbit Sander (Tool Only)
from Savannah, GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Deal

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This tool is so handy and portable. Best of all it works with all the different batteries Ryobi has.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 18-Volt ONE+ Random Orbit Sander (Tool Only)
from NY/NJ

Excellent tool but buy good batteries - Li

PostedFebruary 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Love this sander. Uses lots of juice so be smart and upgrade batteries when and if you can. Be smart and buy vaulue packs with Li batteries (i.e. leaf blower or chain saw). I read negative reviews and while I agree that battery life is an issue, you are buying a cordless tool for applications where a corded tool is inconvenient or unavoidable . For the price and expectations behind a battery powered tool you will love it.
I purchased tool for a bench at a private park we own. I have no power there and refurbished the bench in a few hours using cordless Ryobi tools. A new bench or professional restoration costs more then the tools I purchased. I had lots of fun too and continue to soak up compliments.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 18-Volt ONE+ Random Orbit Sander (Tool Only)
from KY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Portable, cordless. Enough power to get the job done.

PostedDecember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
18v is good for those jobs when you don't want to pull out an extension cord. It's great for the times when a little light sanding is all that is needed.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>