728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Riding Mower & Tractor Attachments or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

The John Deere 42 in. Twin Bagger for John Deere 100 Series Tractors features open-weave polyester bags for better airflow and cut quality. Installation is easy and doesn't require the use of tools. Fits John Deere 100 Series tractors with a 42 in. deck.
Overall rating:
3.655 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(232 reviews) 232
Open Ratings Snapshot
72%of customersrecommend this product158 of 219reviews
Rating Breakdown 232 reviews
3.7 out of 5
5
(91)
4
(66)
3
(20)
2
(14)
1
(41)
Features 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
72%of customersrecommend this product158 of 219reviews
Customer questions and answers:
75 Questions | 112 Answers
Customer reviews for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
Review 1 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Greenwood SC

Very Poor. We do not recommend

PostedSeptember 1, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased this bagger for our 100 series John Deere mower. Assembly was easy and quick but this unit DOES NOT WORK!. The results were terrible. We were cutting dry grass and we followed the instructions to the letter. It picked up about 1/2 the grass clippings and created a dust cloud around the mower that could be seen from space. The bagger and deck were clogged after minutes and the results were pitiful. Deere does not make a bagger for the 100 series with a blower but that is what is needed. Buying this is a waste of money! On the other hand, depot was great and they let us return the product with no questions asked.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from GA

Over Priced

PostedSeptember 24, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Kudos to Home Depot on delivery, ordered on Sunday and received it on Wednesday. I was disappointed at the value of this product. Way over priced for a bunch of plastic. Wasn't too bad to assemble, the bad part of assembly was having to go out and buy a 13 MM socket and wrench to get the hinge bolts in!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from New Ulm, MN

Awesome bagger

PostedApril 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After reading all the bagger reviews on this website, i was very hesitant about buying this bagger. Well, i did anyway and it works fantastic. I didn't have any of the clogging problems that were talked about. It basically worked perfect.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

Great tool for your mower!!

PostedJuly 5, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I got this bagger because I was tired of having grass still in the yard when I was done mowing. It was a little hard to assemble and get on the mower, the bags get really heavy, But it is great!! No more grass in the yard!! I recommend this to you.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from South Jordan, Utah

42 Inch Tein Bagger

PostedJuly 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Goes on easy and removes easy. Does a great job and dumps easy. Great for a clean looking lawn.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Pocahontas, AR

grass catcher

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Light weight, easy to install and unload, mulches leaves so you can pick up more before bag fills. Does everything I thought it would do.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

This bagger is junk!!!

PostedMay 16, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This bagger clogs whenever trying to cut any 4-5" high grass, with the blades set at 3", even if I slow down ground speed. This bagger was a total waste of money. I tried to use it twice, and took it off the mower ant put it on a shelf.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Alpine, Ut.

Get the 'uplift' blades with it

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have one acre but my 8 year old Poulan did not have a bagger. I got this with my new Deere rider and glad I did even though it seems expensive.
After 3 months of summer mowing (not me but my wife) she tells me I need to get the 'uplift' blades from John Deere because the grass is sticking in the chute. I understand they are $40 but they will get the grass up the chute and into the bags.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Dallas, Georgia

Great bagger

PostedJuly 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Purchased 2 weeks ago. If you follow the directions, the installation is easy. I'm no wrench head and I completed it in about an 1.5 hrs. Had to drill a hole in the deck wheel mount and that took the most time. Bags great and leaves a clean cut.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good bagger!

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Installed quickly. Easy to dump bags. Wasn't paying attention and overfilled. Was able to unplug easily!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Maryland, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

couldn't have been more disappointed

PostedOctober 10, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had my tractor for 4 years and finally decided I needed a bagger. Historically I have borrowed neighbor's tractors (craftsman and no name tractors w/baggers) when I needed to bag and had no issues. Those tractors had clear tubes so I could tell if the chute was blocked and were easy to clean out. This bagger was pain to install, had to drill a hole in the base of my tractor. The elastic rubber bands to attach the bagger and close the top are bound to break in a few years and don't see how they could be replaced since they are clasped on instead of using screws or other mechanism. So long term don't see this lasting. as a bagger, it picked up a little grass but clogged pretty frequently which happens with all baggers, but detaching the bagger to clean it out I felt like macho man savage straining to pull the rubber bands off to clear the grass out.
for $350, this was a waste of time and money... very shocked with John Deere for making such a poorly engineered bagger. I'm going to sell my tractor and take the money to pay someone to cut my grass... the $350 for the bagger = 10 cuts.
really dissappointed... should have bought a craftsman with their cool bagger.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Gillette, WY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

a great two bag system. it works well for grass and leaves.

PostedOctober 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The bagger system is awesome. Took 30 minutes to install. Great instructions. I wondered if the two bags would stay balanced and they do. Easy to get off of mower to empty and reattach . Very well built. I would highly recommend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Johnstown, NY

Room for improvement.............

PostedJuly 25, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The fact is the bagger makes more work and extends the time of mowing from one hour to one and a half hours. Why make something that plugs up ever 5 to 10 minutes and has bags that a person must lift off that weight 50+ lbs. when filled. I have a bad back and my wife can't help me by mowing when I'm not home because she can not take appart the blower tube to unplug or clean out the grass or lift the bags to empty them. I am not happy with the product!
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Peachtree City

Great Bagger

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Took one hour to assemble and really easy to dump out when full. Has a great capacity and really sucks up the leaves and pine.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from St Ann Missouri
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good product which assembled easily

PostedNovember 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The bagger is well made. Fits very well and easy to take on and off.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

poor design not worth money

PostedOctober 27, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
chutes clogs quickly and storage capacity of bags low
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

Great Product

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Every thing I could have asked for was in this product. Every thing that says John Deere is great.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Wisconsin, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wonderful attachment. Saves hours of work

PostedSeptember 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Prior to this attachment, I'd mow the lawn, then spend hours raking up the clippings so my 3 yound boys couldn't track them into the house. With this attachment, I mow, then dump the clippings in five minutes and I'm done. It was a little tricky to get it assembled at first, but once it was on, its pure time savings.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy purchase. Exactly what I needed.

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Only problem was I needed to drill a hole in the hardened steel carriage, which set me back several days as I didn't have the correct bit. Otherwise, the installation went smoothly.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Ruskin, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This did what I wanted it to do.

PostedNovember 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this to pick up leaves from nine oak trees with small leaves (live oaks). It did that very well. I was pleasantly surprised to find that it also picked up pine needles. I was skeptical about the purchase because of others saying it didn't pick up wet material. I waited until the dew had evaporated. The chute only clogged once because of high grassy materials. I am happy with its function. I installed it myself with minimal difficulty although attaching the chute to the mower was a bit of a challenge.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>