728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Riding Mower & Tractor Attachments or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

The John Deere 42 in. Twin Bagger for John Deere 100 Series Tractors features open-weave polyester bags for better airflow and cut quality. Installation is easy and doesn't require the use of tools. Fits John Deere 100 Series tractors with a 42 in. deck.
Overall rating:
3.652 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(233 reviews) 233
Open Ratings Snapshot
72%of customersrecommend this product158 of 220reviews
Rating Breakdown 233 reviews
3.7 out of 5
5
(91)
4
(66)
3
(21)
2
(14)
1
(41)
Features 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
72%of customersrecommend this product158 of 220reviews
Customer questions and answers:
75 Questions | 112 Answers
Customer reviews for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
Review 1 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from North Carolina

PostedAugust 30, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Bagger works well on my John Deere LA 120. Sometimes it clogs up, but it's easliy cleared. I would recommend this product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Waldorf, MD

Glad I bought it.

PostedMay 12, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This bagger works great. I didn't have any problems with it. It did a great job bagging my clippings and leaves left over from the fall and never clogged. I too thought it was a bit pricey. I don't know if I got an older model, but I don't think my bags came with handles on the bottom as mentioned in a previous review. It was a little difficult transferring the clippings to a paper yard waste bag the county requires in order for it to be picked up curbside. Handles on the bottom would have made it easier. A lower price would have gotten it 5 stars. A way to efficiently dump from the bottom into another bag or recaptable would get it six.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Vicksburg, MS

Waste Of Money

PostedOctober 15, 2007
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This Bagger is a waste of time and money. It does not have the blower so all the grass catches at the bottom of the chute and does not go up the pipe into the bag. It leaves clumps of grass on the lawn and is simply an expensive mess. Don't buy this bagger. You'd actually save time RAKING!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Charles County, MD

Mower bagger works well

PostedMay 18, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ok, so this is a little complicated to attach to the mower so you don't want to be taking it on and off. And, it's so darned bulky! Where do you store the thing? But, it works great at catching the grass clippings and, we hope in the Fall, the leaves!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Bainbridge, GA

Bagger makes the grade

PostedAugust 4, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Before I purchased my bagger, I read the reviews that reflected both sides of the argument for this bagger. I decided to take a chance and if it didn't work out, I'd return it. When other say it doesn't work well in wet grass, they mean it. But the bagger manual stated clearly that it would clog if used on wet grass. The first time I used it, everything went well and it worked great until I got close to the flower bed that had been recently watered. It immediately stopped picking up the grass and I had to quit mowing and clean out the chute. Since then, I have only used it when my grass is completely dry and it works great. Because my grass is thick and plush, I don't have problems with dust flying as I mow. This is only a problem if you obviously have thin to little grass in your yard. And given how well it works now, I do not see the need to purchase lifter blades for my mower. I was told by a neighbor (who was told by a John Deere mechanic) that the installation would be difficult. I found it very easy and put it together in less than 30 minutes. I do believe it is overpriced for the type of material used to build the product, but it does what it is supposed to do, and that is why I purchased it. I'm very satisfied with my bagger.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Old Saybrook, CT.

Not Impressed At All

PostedNovember 17, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased the "only bagger available" from Home Depot for my John Deere 110 riding mower, online, sight unseen. I wish I had been able to see it in person first. It is mostly plastic, it was generally easily assembled. It clogs up picking up bone dry leaves, even at the slowest forward speed, no matter what level I put the mower deck at. I am definitely not looking forward to using this when cutting the lawn. I am also disappointed with the fact that my unit did not come with any John Deere stickers or name on the product itself. Other than the John Deere paperwork that came with the bagger, I would honestly believe that it is a generic unit, with simple modifications for each lawn tractor that Home Depot sell. Good luck, and caveat emptor.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from walden USA

Works well/Hard to install

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This Item seems to function well.I had a hard time assembling it. The directions are hard to follow.I also had difficulty installing it on the mower.The front pin was hard to get lined up.I don't know how hard it is to remove.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from White Lake Michigan

Twin Bagger

PostedOctober 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Wonderful, Easy instructions easy to put together,
Was mowing and bagging leaves within an hour. Clean pickup, Would recommend to anyone who didn't have one
Mowed and bagged 2 acres. Thank you it was worth every penny!!!!!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

Great tool for your mower!!

PostedJuly 5, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I got this bagger because I was tired of having grass still in the yard when I was done mowing. It was a little hard to assemble and get on the mower, the bags get really heavy, But it is great!! No more grass in the yard!! I recommend this to you.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

This bagger is junk!!!

PostedMay 16, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This bagger clogs whenever trying to cut any 4-5" high grass, with the blades set at 3", even if I slow down ground speed. This bagger was a total waste of money. I tried to use it twice, and took it off the mower ant put it on a shelf.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Upstate New York

Clogs terrible

PostedMay 25, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought this bagger a few days ago, used it once... But the grass was already cut. So we went around and picked up the dead grass... 7 hrs. later grass was picked up, as had to empty the bags out and unclog the hose. Now mind you, our yard only takes 2 hrs. to mow. Then today I went out to mow the yard, with bagger on, and grass dry .. and 2 3/4 hrs. later, only 1/2 yard done.. as bagger kept clogging up. Let yard dry more, tried again and clogged up again. This time only got one good swipe on small side yard and clogged again. Husband even tried... same thing. So needless to say, bagger came off mower and is going back to store... Going to get a yard sweeper!! Bagger is NO good and a waste of money and time.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from SouthEast

Works great.

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased a knock off and replaced it after it continually clogged. The assembly is easy, dumping the bags is easy. A site glass to ensure your capturing is a nice plus.
With any capture bag, they will clog, but Deere's is the best I've ever used. I mowed until it did and I was moving fast over tall moist grass.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

Great Product

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Every thing I could have asked for was in this product. Every thing that says John Deere is great.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Wisconsin, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wonderful attachment. Saves hours of work

PostedSeptember 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Prior to this attachment, I'd mow the lawn, then spend hours raking up the clippings so my 3 yound boys couldn't track them into the house. With this attachment, I mow, then dump the clippings in five minutes and I'm done. It was a little tricky to get it assembled at first, but once it was on, its pure time savings.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from St Matthews, Sc

The Catcher

PostedMarch 17, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is a good item to have if you have a big yard. Bag is easy to empty.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Greenwood SC

Very Poor. We do not recommend

PostedSeptember 1, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased this bagger for our 100 series John Deere mower. Assembly was easy and quick but this unit DOES NOT WORK!. The results were terrible. We were cutting dry grass and we followed the instructions to the letter. It picked up about 1/2 the grass clippings and created a dust cloud around the mower that could be seen from space. The bagger and deck were clogged after minutes and the results were pitiful. Deere does not make a bagger for the 100 series with a blower but that is what is needed. Buying this is a waste of money! On the other hand, depot was great and they let us return the product with no questions asked.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Alpine, Ut.

Get the 'uplift' blades with it

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have one acre but my 8 year old Poulan did not have a bagger. I got this with my new Deere rider and glad I did even though it seems expensive.
After 3 months of summer mowing (not me but my wife) she tells me I need to get the 'uplift' blades from John Deere because the grass is sticking in the chute. I understand they are $40 but they will get the grass up the chute and into the bags.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from GA

Over Priced

PostedSeptember 24, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Kudos to Home Depot on delivery, ordered on Sunday and received it on Wednesday. I was disappointed at the value of this product. Way over priced for a bunch of plastic. Wasn't too bad to assemble, the bad part of assembly was having to go out and buy a 13 MM socket and wrench to get the hinge bolts in!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Mapleton, UT

Worst bagger ever

PostedDecember 1, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The diameter of the shute is too small and it doesn't push enough air up the shute.
It takes 30 minutes to mow my lawn without the bagger and it takes 3 hours with the bagger.
I have to go at a snails pace to keep from plugging the shute. The grass has to be completely dry. If the grass contains any moisture, it is impossible to get the grass to go up the shute.
I used to own a Snapper riding mower. The John Deere mows much quicker than the Snapper without bagging but takes three times as long as the Snapper if I bag my grass.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Dallas, Georgia

Great bagger

PostedJuly 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Purchased 2 weeks ago. If you follow the directions, the installation is easy. I'm no wrench head and I completed it in about an 1.5 hrs. Had to drill a hole in the deck wheel mount and that took the most time. Bags great and leaves a clean cut.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>