728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Riding Mower & Tractor Attachments or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

The John Deere 42 in. Twin Bagger for John Deere 100 Series Tractors features open-weave polyester bags for better airflow and cut quality. Installation is easy and doesn't require the use of tools. Fits John Deere 100 Series tractors with a 42 in. deck.
Overall rating:
3.649 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(231 reviews) 231
Open Ratings Snapshot
72%of customersrecommend this product157 of 218reviews
Rating Breakdown 231 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(90)
4
(66)
3
(20)
2
(14)
1
(41)
Features 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
72%of customersrecommend this product157 of 218reviews
Customer questions and answers:
74 Questions | 111 Answers
Customer reviews for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
Review 1 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Vicksburg, MS

Waste Of Money

PostedOctober 15, 2007
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This Bagger is a waste of time and money. It does not have the blower so all the grass catches at the bottom of the chute and does not go up the pipe into the bag. It leaves clumps of grass on the lawn and is simply an expensive mess. Don't buy this bagger. You'd actually save time RAKING!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from North Carolina

PostedAugust 30, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bagger works well on my John Deere LA 120. Sometimes it clogs up, but it's easliy cleared. I would recommend this product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Greenwood SC

Very Poor. We do not recommend

PostedSeptember 1, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased this bagger for our 100 series John Deere mower. Assembly was easy and quick but this unit DOES NOT WORK!. The results were terrible. We were cutting dry grass and we followed the instructions to the letter. It picked up about 1/2 the grass clippings and created a dust cloud around the mower that could be seen from space. The bagger and deck were clogged after minutes and the results were pitiful. Deere does not make a bagger for the 100 series with a blower but that is what is needed. Buying this is a waste of money! On the other hand, depot was great and they let us return the product with no questions asked.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from St Matthews, Sc

The Catcher

PostedMarch 17, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a good item to have if you have a big yard. Bag is easy to empty.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Columbus, GA

Works Great

PostedDecember 1, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was a bit hesitant to buy this product based on the negative review posted here. I'm not sure if this product has been redesigned since that review but for me, it works great.
I have had no problems with it clogging. The manual says you should not cut wet grass or it will clog. Emptying the bags is very easy. The bags even have a handle on the bottom that comes quite handy as you're trying to shake the clippings out of the bags.
The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because of the price. $300 for a metal mouting bracket, plastic chute and mesh bags seems a bit pricey.
That being said, I wish I had bought it sooner. It picks up fall leaves with ease. No more raking.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Azle, TX

Bagger for 42 inch riding mower

PostedJune 18, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
First off I want to start with this is the first time ive used this so ill have to give yall a later broke in review also.
Assembly was easy, not many parts, not many tools needed, only took about 30 min.
Although the manual had parts labeled wrong you can still figure it out pretty easily.
Material was supprising, lots of money for plastic and vinyl bags, the frame how ever is metal. I paid $319 for mine, way too much.
Volume was average, It says it holds 6 bushels and i have 1.24 acres and i had to dump it 4.25 times. Not bad
Using was very easy, Now it works great on thin grasses, but the thick ST. Augustine you must go very very slow or it will clog. Its still pretty easy to get the grass out of the shute. Pop the middle apart and pull grass out of the tube. (After you turn the blades off of course).
Weight is not too bad its hard to turn on gravel, and it slows you down on hills but not too bad unless your drive belt is old and slipping.
Over all pretty good performance, for now, The bags need another set of handles on the top by the door so you dont have to grab a hand full of stickers. I dont see the rubber strap that holds the lid down lasting long. I like the window to see how full the bags are, but it gets dusty pretty quick. I still think it should be only about $150 to $200 instead of $300. And ive already let John Deer know about the mislabeled manual. After I break it in a little ill let yall know how it holds up. Remember this was its maiden voyage.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Saratoga Springs, NY

Nice Product

PostedMay 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As long as you buy the "bagging" mower blades, this product works great. I originally tried using the bagger without the bagging blades and the chute would clog every couple of minutes. Once I switched to the proper blades, this works as it should and I have no complaints.
Spend the extra $40 for the better blades and you will be happy too. The blades create more air pressure to force the grass up the chute and it makes all of the difference. If Home Depot doesn't carry the bagging blades, go to your local John Deere dealer and pick some up.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from New Ulm, MN

Awesome bagger

PostedApril 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After reading all the bagger reviews on this website, i was very hesitant about buying this bagger. Well, i did anyway and it works fantastic. I didn't have any of the clogging problems that were talked about. It basically worked perfect.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Bainbridge, GA

Bagger makes the grade

PostedAugust 4, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Before I purchased my bagger, I read the reviews that reflected both sides of the argument for this bagger. I decided to take a chance and if it didn't work out, I'd return it. When other say it doesn't work well in wet grass, they mean it. But the bagger manual stated clearly that it would clog if used on wet grass. The first time I used it, everything went well and it worked great until I got close to the flower bed that had been recently watered. It immediately stopped picking up the grass and I had to quit mowing and clean out the chute. Since then, I have only used it when my grass is completely dry and it works great. Because my grass is thick and plush, I don't have problems with dust flying as I mow. This is only a problem if you obviously have thin to little grass in your yard. And given how well it works now, I do not see the need to purchase lifter blades for my mower. I was told by a neighbor (who was told by a John Deere mechanic) that the installation would be difficult. I found it very easy and put it together in less than 30 minutes. I do believe it is overpriced for the type of material used to build the product, but it does what it is supposed to do, and that is why I purchased it. I'm very satisfied with my bagger.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

Hard to assemble to deck

PostedApril 26, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very poor design. If needing to remove or install on deck. Hold down straps are too short and the parts do not fit correctly. I just bought this new from Home Depot with my new D100 tractor. If I knew then what I know now. I would not have purchased either.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Mapleton, UT

Worst bagger ever

PostedDecember 1, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The diameter of the shute is too small and it doesn't push enough air up the shute.
It takes 30 minutes to mow my lawn without the bagger and it takes 3 hours with the bagger.
I have to go at a snails pace to keep from plugging the shute. The grass has to be completely dry. If the grass contains any moisture, it is impossible to get the grass to go up the shute.
I used to own a Snapper riding mower. The John Deere mows much quicker than the Snapper without bagging but takes three times as long as the Snapper if I bag my grass.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Pocahontas, AR

grass catcher

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Light weight, easy to install and unload, mulches leaves so you can pick up more before bag fills. Does everything I thought it would do.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Kalamazoo, MI

Works fine, DEFINITELY requires tools

PostedJuly 2, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installation was a bit of work - requires wrenches, and in my case a drill. I have an older deck that needed a hole drilled in it for the chute to fit - definitely a pain. Once it was on, worked well and generally a good purchase. I did purchase high lift blades ($30) on recommendation from the local Deere dealer. If you are having problems with clogging, install those blades.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Menasha, WI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product is very easy to use and saved my back

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Costly but worth the cost. Hard to put together - had brother put it together - somewhat confusing. Wet grass jams up shoot a lot = have to keep an eye on that - overall it was a great purchase.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Upstate New York

Clogs terrible

PostedMay 25, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought this bagger a few days ago, used it once... But the grass was already cut. So we went around and picked up the dead grass... 7 hrs. later grass was picked up, as had to empty the bags out and unclog the hose. Now mind you, our yard only takes 2 hrs. to mow. Then today I went out to mow the yard, with bagger on, and grass dry .. and 2 3/4 hrs. later, only 1/2 yard done.. as bagger kept clogging up. Let yard dry more, tried again and clogged up again. This time only got one good swipe on small side yard and clogged again. Husband even tried... same thing. So needless to say, bagger came off mower and is going back to store... Going to get a yard sweeper!! Bagger is NO good and a waste of money and time.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from South Jordan, Utah

42 Inch Tein Bagger

PostedJuly 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Goes on easy and removes easy. Does a great job and dumps easy. Great for a clean looking lawn.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

Very Good

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works great if you keep an eye on the bags and don't lety it overfill. If it fills up too much you need to empty the shute. Also the shute can become disconnected from the mower if you bump the mower deck into anything solid like a tree, deck or curb. You don't notice and all of a sudden you are no longer collecting clippings.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Texas, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Product works well

PostedOctober 9, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I found part of the assembly difficult without an addtional person to hold the nuts while tighting the bag attachement. John Deere should use stove bolt so the square base fits into a square hole so you do not have to hold both sides to tighten the bolts. Packaging was poor, many pieces were scratched!!!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Rockland County, NY

Helpful if works

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
It is helpful. doesn't always pick everything up. Grass can get stuck. If working right, its great.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Peachtree City

Great Bagger

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Took one hour to assemble and really easy to dump out when full. Has a great capacity and really sucks up the leaves and pine.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>