728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Riding Mower & Tractor Attachments or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

The John Deere 42 in. Twin Bagger for John Deere 100 Series Tractors features open-weave polyester bags for better airflow and cut quality. Installation is easy and doesn't require the use of tools. Fits John Deere 100 Series tractors with a 42 in. deck.
Overall rating:
3.649 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(231 reviews) 231
Open Ratings Snapshot
72%of customersrecommend this product157 of 218reviews
Rating Breakdown 231 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(90)
4
(66)
3
(20)
2
(14)
1
(41)
Features 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
72%of customersrecommend this product157 of 218reviews
Customer questions and answers:
75 Questions | 112 Answers
Customer reviews for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
Review 1 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Central Bucks County, PA

Jury is still out

PostedMay 26, 2008
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
So far I haven't saved any time with the bagger. I've used it as suggested, on dry grass, and then only the first few passes seem to make it into the bags.
As soon as I hit a spot where the grass is slightly moist, not from rain but just thick, the bagger begins to choke leaving clumps of grass behind and some stuck half way up the chute.
It has been very frustrating to say the least. I will wait to use again later this summer when the natural moisture of my lawn is gone.
I will be sure to update this review in a couple of months.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from White Lake Michigan

Twin Bagger

PostedOctober 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wonderful, Easy instructions easy to put together,
Was mowing and bagging leaves within an hour. Clean pickup, Would recommend to anyone who didn't have one
Mowed and bagged 2 acres. Thank you it was worth every penny!!!!!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

Hard to assemble to deck

PostedApril 26, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very poor design. If needing to remove or install on deck. Hold down straps are too short and the parts do not fit correctly. I just bought this new from Home Depot with my new D100 tractor. If I knew then what I know now. I would not have purchased either.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Chantilly, Virginia

Sturdy and easy to use

PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered my D100 mower and the bagger together. The bagger was delivered 2 days after I placed my order. When the mower arrived, it took me about 30 minutes to assemble the bagger system (with my little children helping!). The whole assembly is not very difficult and the bagger system itself is very robust and solid. It is easy to empty the bags of grass. The only thing I would recommend is to make sure you all the grass has been cleaned out from the bottom of the tube leading up to the bags. When you get wet grass, some sticks to the entry point of the bagging systems and if you don't clean it out, it will dry on and could clog the tube for the next use (I learned the hard way).
Other than making sure all grass is cleared from the tube, it is a great bagger!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Texas, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Product works well

PostedOctober 9, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I found part of the assembly difficult without an addtional person to hold the nuts while tighting the bag attachement. John Deere should use stove bolt so the square base fits into a square hole so you do not have to hold both sides to tighten the bolts. Packaging was poor, many pieces were scratched!!!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Lake Gaston, North Carolina
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works like a charm

PostedNovember 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My mower is two years old so I did not have to drill a hole in the mower deck to install the bottom tube connection. A template is provided in the directions if you don't have a drilled hole. It took about 20 minutes to put together even though it stated in the instructions that it would take 2 hours. I use the same mulching blades that came with the mower and the leaves flow easily into the bags. I drive slowly through dense spots and empty the bag often. If you do overfill the bags, the tubes leading to the bags easily detach in the middle and are cleaned out with little difficulty. I was skeptical and had some trepidation after reading other reviews, but I am very pleased I made this purchase.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

good value

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Assembly instructions are horrendous. The instructions attempt to describe the procedure by using pictures instead of verbal instructions. The problem is the pictures stink. Easy fix is to use more and better pictures or include better verbal instructions. I expected more from John Deere.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from MD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just right for me.

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Just right - I found the directions to be pretty good; easy enough to follow. Went together in about 1-2 hrs. Works decent even without the hi-lift blades. No clogs yet. Have used it 3 times so far with good results. Only issue might be the bag cover hold down adjustment. The directions recommend just bending the end of the support rod a little to make the strap fit better. Ever try bending one end of a piece of 3/8" steel rod just a little after one end is already installed? Nice that it is that sturdy though. I'd buy it again.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

HAPPY CUSTOMER AFTER INFORMED CORRECTLY

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
WE PURCHASED TRACTOR AND BAGGER AT THE SAME TIME , THE INSTALL WAS NOT TO DIFFICULT , VERY UPSET WITH BAGGER ALWAYS CLOGGING, CALLED JOHN DEERE AND UNDER THERE ADVISE INSTALLED A CURVED HIGH LIFT BLADE, (2) AND THIS MADE THE SYSTEM WORK GREAT. THE TRACTOR CAME WITH A MULCHING BLADES CAN EVEN MOW WHEN THE GRASS IS WET (WITHIN REASON) I FEEL THIS SHOULD BE SOMTHING THAT THE CUSTOMER IS TOLD ABOUT IF THE BAGGER IS PURCHASED AT THE SAME TIME AS THE MOWER, ALSO AT FIRST I HATED THE MATERIAL BAG FOR THE CLIPPINGS HOWEVER AFTER SOME USE I FIND THEM EASIER TO USE AND CLEAN OVERALL YOU CANT GO WRONG WITH A DEERE SET UP . JUST MAKE SURE YOU FIND OUT WHAT YOU NEED BEFORE AND DURING YOUR PURCHASE (HAPPY CUSTOMER)
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: cloggs shute
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Toledo, OH, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

AWESOME BAGGER!

PostedOctober 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I put this together in a little over an hour. directions are somewhat confusing...they say part A is called so&so and point to it in pic. then next step new pic, part A is a different item. other than that went together easily
tested it out on DRY leaves and it scooped them all up and left lawn nice and green. so easy it's almost fun to RAKE the leaves. Chute did NOT get plugged.
Pros: Easy to Use, Powerful
Cons: none
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

This product is of poor quality and design. This was a replacement for the original that lasted four or five seasons.

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The original product is easily bent under anything but the best circumstances. It should have more gussets to make the main frame more rigid. The discharge tube does not stay in line and clogs easily unless additional straps like a bungee chord is used to hold it in proper alignment. The bags are more difficult to empty than on previous make of tractor that had solid containers vice mesh bags. The solid containers were much simpler to empty and would not rot or tear in time. I was forced to use this product by the manufacture of the tractor. It is poorly designed and I certainly do not recommend it.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Maryville, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very happy with this purchase, should have gotten it a long time ago

PostedMay 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The bagger was very easy to install and performs well. I was surprised just how much grass was in the bags. I didn't realize I was leaving that much dead grass on my lawn until I used the bagger the first time.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from North Canton, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Everything was great except the item showed up with out any directions on how to assemble.

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Over all very happy with my item Grass catcher system
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Small Turn Radius, Long-Lasting
Cons: No Instructions
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

works great

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you buy the bagging blades it works great. The chute clogged 4 time when I had mulching blades on but with the new blades it hasn't clogged once. just wish I could stop bagging with out taking off the chute.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Cedar Point, KS 66843, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

This product works as advertised

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After reading previous reviews about this product I was a little concerned about the tube plugging but soon found that if the deck was adjusted to the proper height plugging was not a problem. I found the bagger very easy to assemble and install on my mower. I am sure that the bagger will be very easy to remove from the mower when it comes time to store it. I am a very satisfied customer.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

The bagger does not work if the grass is wet or you are cutting grass shorter than 2.75 inches.

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product is well built. The machine is easy to operate. The bagger does not work well if the grass is slightly wet or I am cutting the grass shorter than 2.75 inch.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seems like a lot of plastic for the cost. Price was the same no matter where I looked.

PostedNovember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have a JD L100. Had to drill a hole into the mower deck in order to complete installation. First try, the lawn was a little long and damp and the mower was not able to push the grass up the tube. Once the lawn dried out a bit and leaves from the trees mixed with the grass, it worked better but not great. I have purchased hi lift mower blades but have not put them on yet. Probably won't happen until spring. I'll keep my fingers crossed.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Sayville, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Worth every dime

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am so happy that we are not bagging and raking thousands of leaves now. We pass over it a few times and then empty the bags into the cans!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Hampton, NH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy to assemble and use.

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I've only used this item a few times, so this review may be a little premature. It seems to work very well, and the collection bags are larger than what my old Toro mower had, so I can finish my lawn a lot faster.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Lexington, KY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great buy!

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Not that difficult to put together, but time consuming. But, the bagger works wonderfully! I highly recommend it!
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>