728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Riding Mower & Tractor Attachments or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

The John Deere 42 in. Twin Bagger for John Deere 100 Series Tractors features open-weave polyester bags for better airflow and cut quality. Installation is easy and doesn't require the use of tools. Fits John Deere 100 Series tractors with a 42 in. deck.
Overall rating:
3.652 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(233 reviews) 233
Open Ratings Snapshot
72%of customersrecommend this product158 of 220reviews
Rating Breakdown 233 reviews
3.7 out of 5
5
(91)
4
(66)
3
(21)
2
(14)
1
(41)
Features 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
72%of customersrecommend this product158 of 220reviews
Customer questions and answers:
75 Questions | 113 Answers
Customer reviews for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
Review 1 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Central Bucks County, PA

Jury is still out

PostedMay 26, 2008
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
So far I haven't saved any time with the bagger. I've used it as suggested, on dry grass, and then only the first few passes seem to make it into the bags.
As soon as I hit a spot where the grass is slightly moist, not from rain but just thick, the bagger begins to choke leaving clumps of grass behind and some stuck half way up the chute.
It has been very frustrating to say the least. I will wait to use again later this summer when the natural moisture of my lawn is gone.
I will be sure to update this review in a couple of months.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Greenwood SC

Very Poor. We do not recommend

PostedSeptember 1, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased this bagger for our 100 series John Deere mower. Assembly was easy and quick but this unit DOES NOT WORK!. The results were terrible. We were cutting dry grass and we followed the instructions to the letter. It picked up about 1/2 the grass clippings and created a dust cloud around the mower that could be seen from space. The bagger and deck were clogged after minutes and the results were pitiful. Deere does not make a bagger for the 100 series with a blower but that is what is needed. Buying this is a waste of money! On the other hand, depot was great and they let us return the product with no questions asked.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Upstate New York

Clogs terrible

PostedMay 25, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought this bagger a few days ago, used it once... But the grass was already cut. So we went around and picked up the dead grass... 7 hrs. later grass was picked up, as had to empty the bags out and unclog the hose. Now mind you, our yard only takes 2 hrs. to mow. Then today I went out to mow the yard, with bagger on, and grass dry .. and 2 3/4 hrs. later, only 1/2 yard done.. as bagger kept clogging up. Let yard dry more, tried again and clogged up again. This time only got one good swipe on small side yard and clogged again. Husband even tried... same thing. So needless to say, bagger came off mower and is going back to store... Going to get a yard sweeper!! Bagger is NO good and a waste of money and time.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from North Carolina

PostedAugust 30, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Bagger works well on my John Deere LA 120. Sometimes it clogs up, but it's easliy cleared. I would recommend this product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

Works well picking up autumn leaf

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It was easy to assemble except for the heavy rubber links that are stretched into place to hold some of the major parts in place.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Old Saybrook, CT.

Not Impressed At All

PostedNovember 17, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased the "only bagger available" from Home Depot for my John Deere 110 riding mower, online, sight unseen. I wish I had been able to see it in person first. It is mostly plastic, it was generally easily assembled. It clogs up picking up bone dry leaves, even at the slowest forward speed, no matter what level I put the mower deck at. I am definitely not looking forward to using this when cutting the lawn. I am also disappointed with the fact that my unit did not come with any John Deere stickers or name on the product itself. Other than the John Deere paperwork that came with the bagger, I would honestly believe that it is a generic unit, with simple modifications for each lawn tractor that Home Depot sell. Good luck, and caveat emptor.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

poor design not worth money

PostedOctober 27, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
chutes clogs quickly and storage capacity of bags low
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Mapleton, UT

Worst bagger ever

PostedDecember 1, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The diameter of the shute is too small and it doesn't push enough air up the shute.
It takes 30 minutes to mow my lawn without the bagger and it takes 3 hours with the bagger.
I have to go at a snails pace to keep from plugging the shute. The grass has to be completely dry. If the grass contains any moisture, it is impossible to get the grass to go up the shute.
I used to own a Snapper riding mower. The John Deere mows much quicker than the Snapper without bagging but takes three times as long as the Snapper if I bag my grass.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Columbus, GA

Works Great

PostedDecember 1, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was a bit hesitant to buy this product based on the negative review posted here. I'm not sure if this product has been redesigned since that review but for me, it works great.
I have had no problems with it clogging. The manual says you should not cut wet grass or it will clog. Emptying the bags is very easy. The bags even have a handle on the bottom that comes quite handy as you're trying to shake the clippings out of the bags.
The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because of the price. $300 for a metal mouting bracket, plastic chute and mesh bags seems a bit pricey.
That being said, I wish I had bought it sooner. It picks up fall leaves with ease. No more raking.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from New Ulm, MN

Awesome bagger

PostedApril 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After reading all the bagger reviews on this website, i was very hesitant about buying this bagger. Well, i did anyway and it works fantastic. I didn't have any of the clogging problems that were talked about. It basically worked perfect.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from White Lake Michigan

Twin Bagger

PostedOctober 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Wonderful, Easy instructions easy to put together,
Was mowing and bagging leaves within an hour. Clean pickup, Would recommend to anyone who didn't have one
Mowed and bagged 2 acres. Thank you it was worth every penny!!!!!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

Great tool for your mower!!

PostedJuly 5, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I got this bagger because I was tired of having grass still in the yard when I was done mowing. It was a little hard to assemble and get on the mower, the bags get really heavy, But it is great!! No more grass in the yard!! I recommend this to you.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from South Jordan, Utah

42 Inch Tein Bagger

PostedJuly 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Goes on easy and removes easy. Does a great job and dumps easy. Great for a clean looking lawn.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

Hard to assemble to deck

PostedApril 26, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very poor design. If needing to remove or install on deck. Hold down straps are too short and the parts do not fit correctly. I just bought this new from Home Depot with my new D100 tractor. If I knew then what I know now. I would not have purchased either.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

Poor Quality

PostedSeptember 26, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I can't believe John Deere put out a product this poorly built that is made to break and wear out with little use. The bagger system is not worth the money.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from GA

Over Priced

PostedSeptember 24, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Kudos to Home Depot on delivery, ordered on Sunday and received it on Wednesday. I was disappointed at the value of this product. Way over priced for a bunch of plastic. Wasn't too bad to assemble, the bad part of assembly was having to go out and buy a 13 MM socket and wrench to get the hinge bolts in!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from pottstown pa

Does not perform well

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This bagger worked fine the first couple of times. But the last three times it clogged almost constantly. The grass was kinda wet, but the other times it was dry. Just seems that it gets clogged unless you only cut about 1/4 - 1/2 inch. Would not recommend. When it works though, it works great.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

Great bagger. Now I can finally throw my rake away.

PostedMay 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I read many previous reviews, from great to terrible, and still decided to get this bagger. The recommendation of the uplift blades (JD part # AM141034) was very helpful. I also agree with most that the instructions are absolutely atrocious. Thankfully there aren't a lot of parts involved so I figured it out eventually. Quality is top-notch. This should last a long time & it's already saved my back from raking and my hands aren't blistered. Excellent product.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from St Matthews, Sc

The Catcher

PostedMarch 17, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is a good item to have if you have a big yard. Bag is easy to empty.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did what I expected, couldn't ask for more than that.

PostedNovember 4, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was very happy with everything from my online ordering to it's arrival at my home. I was very happy with this bagger, easy assembly and install. Please note that I had to drill a hole in my deck wheel bracket as indicated in the assembly manual to attach one clip but it was not that difficult. Works very well and I'm very satisfied.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>