728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Riding Mower & Tractor Attachments or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

The John Deere 42 in. Twin Bagger for John Deere 100 Series Tractors features open-weave polyester bags for better airflow and cut quality. Installation is easy and doesn't require the use of tools. Fits John Deere 100 Series tractors with a 42 in. deck.
Overall rating:
3.652 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(233 reviews) 233
Open Ratings Snapshot
72%of customersrecommend this product158 of 220reviews
Rating Breakdown 233 reviews
3.7 out of 5
5
(91)
4
(66)
3
(21)
2
(14)
1
(41)
Features 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
72%of customersrecommend this product158 of 220reviews
Customer questions and answers:
75 Questions | 113 Answers
Customer reviews for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
Review 1 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

I call it "The Clogger"

PostedMay 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Absolute waste of time, it clogs continuously, an absolutely horrible design! Even when set at a 4" mow height so it only cuts about 1" of grass, unless I crawl along the grass catches either at the bottom or in the middle and clogs.
A horrible, horrible product that I can't use any more. A total waste of money.
Cons: Difficult to Use, clogs!!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Columbus, GA

Works Great

PostedDecember 1, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was a bit hesitant to buy this product based on the negative review posted here. I'm not sure if this product has been redesigned since that review but for me, it works great.
I have had no problems with it clogging. The manual says you should not cut wet grass or it will clog. Emptying the bags is very easy. The bags even have a handle on the bottom that comes quite handy as you're trying to shake the clippings out of the bags.
The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because of the price. $300 for a metal mouting bracket, plastic chute and mesh bags seems a bit pricey.
That being said, I wish I had bought it sooner. It picks up fall leaves with ease. No more raking.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Old Saybrook, CT.

Not Impressed At All

PostedNovember 17, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased the "only bagger available" from Home Depot for my John Deere 110 riding mower, online, sight unseen. I wish I had been able to see it in person first. It is mostly plastic, it was generally easily assembled. It clogs up picking up bone dry leaves, even at the slowest forward speed, no matter what level I put the mower deck at. I am definitely not looking forward to using this when cutting the lawn. I am also disappointed with the fact that my unit did not come with any John Deere stickers or name on the product itself. Other than the John Deere paperwork that came with the bagger, I would honestly believe that it is a generic unit, with simple modifications for each lawn tractor that Home Depot sell. Good luck, and caveat emptor.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Mapleton, UT

Worst bagger ever

PostedDecember 1, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The diameter of the shute is too small and it doesn't push enough air up the shute.
It takes 30 minutes to mow my lawn without the bagger and it takes 3 hours with the bagger.
I have to go at a snails pace to keep from plugging the shute. The grass has to be completely dry. If the grass contains any moisture, it is impossible to get the grass to go up the shute.
I used to own a Snapper riding mower. The John Deere mows much quicker than the Snapper without bagging but takes three times as long as the Snapper if I bag my grass.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from St Matthews, Sc

The Catcher

PostedMarch 17, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is a good item to have if you have a big yard. Bag is easy to empty.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

Great tool for your mower!!

PostedJuly 5, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I got this bagger because I was tired of having grass still in the yard when I was done mowing. It was a little hard to assemble and get on the mower, the bags get really heavy, But it is great!! No more grass in the yard!! I recommend this to you.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

This bagger is junk!!!

PostedMay 16, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This bagger clogs whenever trying to cut any 4-5" high grass, with the blades set at 3", even if I slow down ground speed. This bagger was a total waste of money. I tried to use it twice, and took it off the mower ant put it on a shelf.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works OK, difficult to install

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This looks like a simple assembly, but it took me two hours of trial and error to learn how to get the receiving baskets aligned to the cover. The instructions simply say: Bend this tab to level, meaning bend a heavy steel extension tab to reorient the resting position so the cover lip will seat around the basket. The term "level" is meaningless. They should have some pictures and a better procedure. Once installed properly they work well. After you do one of these you'll be an expert....
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Stewartstown, PA 17363, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't buy this bagger

PostedNovember 2, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this bagger with hopes of ending the raking of grass and leaves this time of year. Assembly was OK and didn't find the problems other had. Installed in less than 1 hour. Biggest problems: Rubber straps used to attach bagger chute to the mower were too short, had to be like Hercules to attach, ended up prying them on with a pry bar.... the bagger chute was very easily clogged, then the problem with the straps rears it's ugly head again, having to go back to the garage and get the pry bar again, (my wife could never accomplish this). Took advice of other reviews and then bought the uplift blades, only clogged once when the bags were full, back to the garage and the Hercules act again. Problem: when the chute clogs with grass and leaves it take a long time to disconnect the chute and unclog. Problem: with the bagger attached it still sends leaves and grass out around the chute and ends up blowing all over the lawn. Problem: bags have very little capacity, end up spending a lot of time emptying them. NOT WORTH THE MONEY, stick to a leaf blower and/or rake.... very poor design and not easy to use at all.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

Made well, takes a while to assemble.

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The bagger is not easy to install on the mower and is difficult to unclog if you are not carefull about emptying it before it gets too full. We have a very large yard and lots of leaves, so this is a drawback. The quality seems good.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Menasha, WI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product is very easy to use and saved my back

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Costly but worth the cost. Hard to put together - had brother put it together - somewhat confusing. Wet grass jams up shoot a lot = have to keep an eye on that - overall it was a great purchase.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

nice addition to the tractor. Does a good job picking up leaves and grass clippings.

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Not easy to assemble but not especially difficult. Some molded parts have to have some "persuasion" applied to make them fit. Rubber bungees are a pain as it takes real mojo to get them hooked. Now that it's on and operating, I like it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from New Harmony, UT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I guess it's better than using nothing

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I went to the Home Depot website to find the bag that went to my "Newly" purchased John Deere D110 riding lawn Mower. The lawn mower is the best ever! I did read the comments from others and couldn't decided if I should buy one or not. The 42in. Bagger has issues for sure. I am disappointed as I am a big fan of John Deere farm equipment. I would be embarrassed if I was "John Deere" to put my name on it. I just put in a new lawn last fall and it's not very thick yet. The lawn has to be TOTALLY dry before it will pick up anything!!! It also makes so much dust where the ground is still bare, but again it has to be dry. My husband said it took him 1 hour to attach it to the mower and had no problems. If you mowed lawns for a living, I would look for a lawn mower that had a bagger that worked!!!
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

it works but the chute fits poorly

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I want to pick up my grass so I bought this for my 48" deck D140.Grass blows up from the chute on to the Deck.I would buy it again but thought Deere quality would be better.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Maryland, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Waste of Time and Money

PostedSeptember 30, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have owned a John Deere Mower for over ten years with no problems. I have owned this bagger for just over a year and I regret every moment of it. The slighest bit of moisture will cause it to clog. Don't waste your money. It deserves less than a 1 star rating.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Clogs
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

Just as described, good price, free shipping and easy to put together. Whats not to like?

PostedOctober 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very easy to assemble. Made for the JD lawn tractor so well thought out. Very functional for picking up leaves and not having to rake. Very satisfied.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best yard investment I've made.

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Twin Bagger installed in 20 minutes and I would recommend this to anyone that was undecided. Huge help and easy to use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Easy to Install
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Tulalip, WA 98271, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Did I luck out??

PostedMay 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
To tell you the truth I was worried when I read all the reviews here. I bought it and had some minor trouble getting that front peg into the hole but once in all went well. So the part I was worried about plugging!! So far the lawn has been dry no issues. Well today grass was wet and longer than normal so I thought well here goes get ready for plugging. Much to my surprise not one plug makes me happy. Because I was worried about plugging I went slow I think it might have helped
Pros: All In One, Sturdy, Durable
Cons: not all that easy to install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Utah
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedJune 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Pick up this bagger for my D105 mower and it installed easy and works great. I have not experienced any problems so far I have used it about eight times now and I am happy with my purchase.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Lewistown, MT 59457, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Needs dry grass

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
This bagger will work, but it requires that your grass be dry (if not, it will plug up right away) and even then you will have to mow VERY slowly. Do not expect that you can mow with this bagger on your tractor and complete your job in anything like the time required without it. It is a lot of work!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>