728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Riding Mower & Tractor Attachments or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

The John Deere 42 in. Twin Bagger for John Deere 100 Series Tractors features open-weave polyester bags for better airflow and cut quality. Installation is easy and doesn't require the use of tools. Fits John Deere 100 Series tractors with a 42 in. deck.
Overall rating:
3.652 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(233 reviews) 233
Open Ratings Snapshot
72%of customersrecommend this product158 of 220reviews
Rating Breakdown 233 reviews
3.7 out of 5
5
(91)
4
(66)
3
(21)
2
(14)
1
(41)
Features 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
72%of customersrecommend this product158 of 220reviews
Customer questions and answers:
75 Questions | 113 Answers
Customer reviews for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
Review 1 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Azle, TX

Bagger for 42 inch riding mower

PostedJune 18, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
First off I want to start with this is the first time ive used this so ill have to give yall a later broke in review also.
Assembly was easy, not many parts, not many tools needed, only took about 30 min.
Although the manual had parts labeled wrong you can still figure it out pretty easily.
Material was supprising, lots of money for plastic and vinyl bags, the frame how ever is metal. I paid $319 for mine, way too much.
Volume was average, It says it holds 6 bushels and i have 1.24 acres and i had to dump it 4.25 times. Not bad
Using was very easy, Now it works great on thin grasses, but the thick ST. Augustine you must go very very slow or it will clog. Its still pretty easy to get the grass out of the shute. Pop the middle apart and pull grass out of the tube. (After you turn the blades off of course).
Weight is not too bad its hard to turn on gravel, and it slows you down on hills but not too bad unless your drive belt is old and slipping.
Over all pretty good performance, for now, The bags need another set of handles on the top by the door so you dont have to grab a hand full of stickers. I dont see the rubber strap that holds the lid down lasting long. I like the window to see how full the bags are, but it gets dusty pretty quick. I still think it should be only about $150 to $200 instead of $300. And ive already let John Deer know about the mislabeled manual. After I break it in a little ill let yall know how it holds up. Remember this was its maiden voyage.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Vicksburg, MS

Waste Of Money

PostedOctober 15, 2007
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This Bagger is a waste of time and money. It does not have the blower so all the grass catches at the bottom of the chute and does not go up the pipe into the bag. It leaves clumps of grass on the lawn and is simply an expensive mess. Don't buy this bagger. You'd actually save time RAKING!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from St Matthews, Sc

The Catcher

PostedMarch 17, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is a good item to have if you have a big yard. Bag is easy to empty.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Columbus, GA

Works Great

PostedDecember 1, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was a bit hesitant to buy this product based on the negative review posted here. I'm not sure if this product has been redesigned since that review but for me, it works great.
I have had no problems with it clogging. The manual says you should not cut wet grass or it will clog. Emptying the bags is very easy. The bags even have a handle on the bottom that comes quite handy as you're trying to shake the clippings out of the bags.
The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because of the price. $300 for a metal mouting bracket, plastic chute and mesh bags seems a bit pricey.
That being said, I wish I had bought it sooner. It picks up fall leaves with ease. No more raking.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Saratoga Springs, NY

Nice Product

PostedMay 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
As long as you buy the "bagging" mower blades, this product works great. I originally tried using the bagger without the bagging blades and the chute would clog every couple of minutes. Once I switched to the proper blades, this works as it should and I have no complaints.
Spend the extra $40 for the better blades and you will be happy too. The blades create more air pressure to force the grass up the chute and it makes all of the difference. If Home Depot doesn't carry the bagging blades, go to your local John Deere dealer and pick some up.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Mapleton, UT

Worst bagger ever

PostedDecember 1, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The diameter of the shute is too small and it doesn't push enough air up the shute.
It takes 30 minutes to mow my lawn without the bagger and it takes 3 hours with the bagger.
I have to go at a snails pace to keep from plugging the shute. The grass has to be completely dry. If the grass contains any moisture, it is impossible to get the grass to go up the shute.
I used to own a Snapper riding mower. The John Deere mows much quicker than the Snapper without bagging but takes three times as long as the Snapper if I bag my grass.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

Works great

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The bagger works great and I would have given it five stars if all the parts were there. There was a nut missing so I had supply my own nut and bolt for one attachment spot. The directions are a little tough to follow but with some studying I figured it out. After installation though it worked better than I hoped, no more raking for me!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Waldorf, MD

Glad I bought it.

PostedMay 12, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This bagger works great. I didn't have any problems with it. It did a great job bagging my clippings and leaves left over from the fall and never clogged. I too thought it was a bit pricey. I don't know if I got an older model, but I don't think my bags came with handles on the bottom as mentioned in a previous review. It was a little difficult transferring the clippings to a paper yard waste bag the county requires in order for it to be picked up curbside. Handles on the bottom would have made it easier. A lower price would have gotten it 5 stars. A way to efficiently dump from the bottom into another bag or recaptable would get it six.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from GA

Over Priced

PostedSeptember 24, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Kudos to Home Depot on delivery, ordered on Sunday and received it on Wednesday. I was disappointed at the value of this product. Way over priced for a bunch of plastic. Wasn't too bad to assemble, the bad part of assembly was having to go out and buy a 13 MM socket and wrench to get the hinge bolts in!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

Very Good

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Works great if you keep an eye on the bags and don't lety it overfill. If it fills up too much you need to empty the shute. Also the shute can become disconnected from the mower if you bump the mower deck into anything solid like a tree, deck or curb. You don't notice and all of a sudden you are no longer collecting clippings.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Maryland, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

couldn't have been more disappointed

PostedOctober 10, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had my tractor for 4 years and finally decided I needed a bagger. Historically I have borrowed neighbor's tractors (craftsman and no name tractors w/baggers) when I needed to bag and had no issues. Those tractors had clear tubes so I could tell if the chute was blocked and were easy to clean out. This bagger was pain to install, had to drill a hole in the base of my tractor. The elastic rubber bands to attach the bagger and close the top are bound to break in a few years and don't see how they could be replaced since they are clasped on instead of using screws or other mechanism. So long term don't see this lasting. as a bagger, it picked up a little grass but clogged pretty frequently which happens with all baggers, but detaching the bagger to clean it out I felt like macho man savage straining to pull the rubber bands off to clear the grass out.
for $350, this was a waste of time and money... very shocked with John Deere for making such a poorly engineered bagger. I'm going to sell my tractor and take the money to pay someone to cut my grass... the $350 for the bagger = 10 cuts.
really dissappointed... should have bought a craftsman with their cool bagger.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

poor design not worth money

PostedOctober 27, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
chutes clogs quickly and storage capacity of bags low
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from South Jordan, Utah

42 Inch Tein Bagger

PostedJuly 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Goes on easy and removes easy. Does a great job and dumps easy. Great for a clean looking lawn.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Mass.

excellent bagger

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
A little difficult to assemble because of metric bolts. Hard to latch bagger cover and imposible to latch front end of shute to front wheel area of mower because it's not long enough and doesn't stretch enough.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Stewartstown, PA 17363, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't buy this bagger

PostedNovember 2, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this bagger with hopes of ending the raking of grass and leaves this time of year. Assembly was OK and didn't find the problems other had. Installed in less than 1 hour. Biggest problems: Rubber straps used to attach bagger chute to the mower were too short, had to be like Hercules to attach, ended up prying them on with a pry bar.... the bagger chute was very easily clogged, then the problem with the straps rears it's ugly head again, having to go back to the garage and get the pry bar again, (my wife could never accomplish this). Took advice of other reviews and then bought the uplift blades, only clogged once when the bags were full, back to the garage and the Hercules act again. Problem: when the chute clogs with grass and leaves it take a long time to disconnect the chute and unclog. Problem: with the bagger attached it still sends leaves and grass out around the chute and ends up blowing all over the lawn. Problem: bags have very little capacity, end up spending a lot of time emptying them. NOT WORTH THE MONEY, stick to a leaf blower and/or rake.... very poor design and not easy to use at all.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Dunwoody, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor quality product

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The grass catcher does not perform well. The grass clippings get clogged in the area going to the bag. I am unhappy with the quality of the product.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Greenwood SC

Very Poor. We do not recommend

PostedSeptember 1, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased this bagger for our 100 series John Deere mower. Assembly was easy and quick but this unit DOES NOT WORK!. The results were terrible. We were cutting dry grass and we followed the instructions to the letter. It picked up about 1/2 the grass clippings and created a dust cloud around the mower that could be seen from space. The bagger and deck were clogged after minutes and the results were pitiful. Deere does not make a bagger for the 100 series with a blower but that is what is needed. Buying this is a waste of money! On the other hand, depot was great and they let us return the product with no questions asked.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Chantilly, Virginia

Sturdy and easy to use

PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I ordered my D100 mower and the bagger together. The bagger was delivered 2 days after I placed my order. When the mower arrived, it took me about 30 minutes to assemble the bagger system (with my little children helping!). The whole assembly is not very difficult and the bagger system itself is very robust and solid. It is easy to empty the bags of grass. The only thing I would recommend is to make sure you all the grass has been cleaned out from the bottom of the tube leading up to the bags. When you get wet grass, some sticks to the entry point of the bagging systems and if you don't clean it out, it will dry on and could clog the tube for the next use (I learned the hard way).
Other than making sure all grass is cleared from the tube, it is a great bagger!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from walden USA

Works well/Hard to install

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This Item seems to function well.I had a hard time assembling it. The directions are hard to follow.I also had difficulty installing it on the mower.The front pin was hard to get lined up.I don't know how hard it is to remove.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

Poor Quality

PostedSeptember 26, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I can't believe John Deere put out a product this poorly built that is made to break and wear out with little use. The bagger system is not worth the money.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>