728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Riding Mower & Tractor Attachments or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

The John Deere 42 in. Twin Bagger for John Deere 100 Series Tractors features open-weave polyester bags for better airflow and cut quality. Installation is easy and doesn't require the use of tools. Fits John Deere 100 Series tractors with a 42 in. deck.
Overall rating:
3.593 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(204 reviews) 204
Open Ratings Snapshot
70%of customersrecommend this product134 of 191reviews
Rating Breakdown 204 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(78)
4
(56)
3
(18)
2
(13)
1
(39)
Features 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
70%of customersrecommend this product134 of 191reviews
Customer questions and answers:
57 Questions | 89 Answers
Customer reviews for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
Review 1 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Azle, TX

Bagger for 42 inch riding mower

PostedJune 18, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
First off I want to start with this is the first time ive used this so ill have to give yall a later broke in review also.
Assembly was easy, not many parts, not many tools needed, only took about 30 min.
Although the manual had parts labeled wrong you can still figure it out pretty easily.
Material was supprising, lots of money for plastic and vinyl bags, the frame how ever is metal. I paid $319 for mine, way too much.
Volume was average, It says it holds 6 bushels and i have 1.24 acres and i had to dump it 4.25 times. Not bad
Using was very easy, Now it works great on thin grasses, but the thick ST. Augustine you must go very very slow or it will clog. Its still pretty easy to get the grass out of the shute. Pop the middle apart and pull grass out of the tube. (After you turn the blades off of course).
Weight is not too bad its hard to turn on gravel, and it slows you down on hills but not too bad unless your drive belt is old and slipping.
Over all pretty good performance, for now, The bags need another set of handles on the top by the door so you dont have to grab a hand full of stickers. I dont see the rubber strap that holds the lid down lasting long. I like the window to see how full the bags are, but it gets dusty pretty quick. I still think it should be only about $150 to $200 instead of $300. And ive already let John Deer know about the mislabeled manual. After I break it in a little ill let yall know how it holds up. Remember this was its maiden voyage.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Greenwood SC

Very Poor. We do not recommend

PostedSeptember 1, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased this bagger for our 100 series John Deere mower. Assembly was easy and quick but this unit DOES NOT WORK!. The results were terrible. We were cutting dry grass and we followed the instructions to the letter. It picked up about 1/2 the grass clippings and created a dust cloud around the mower that could be seen from space. The bagger and deck were clogged after minutes and the results were pitiful. Deere does not make a bagger for the 100 series with a blower but that is what is needed. Buying this is a waste of money! On the other hand, depot was great and they let us return the product with no questions asked.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from White Lake Michigan

Twin Bagger

PostedOctober 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wonderful, Easy instructions easy to put together,
Was mowing and bagging leaves within an hour. Clean pickup, Would recommend to anyone who didn't have one
Mowed and bagged 2 acres. Thank you it was worth every penny!!!!!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from SouthEast

Works great.

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased a knock off and replaced it after it continually clogged. The assembly is easy, dumping the bags is easy. A site glass to ensure your capturing is a nice plus.
With any capture bag, they will clog, but Deere's is the best I've ever used. I mowed until it did and I was moving fast over tall moist grass.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Rockland County, NY

Helpful if works

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
It is helpful. doesn't always pick everything up. Grass can get stuck. If working right, its great.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Wisconsin, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wonderful attachment. Saves hours of work

PostedSeptember 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Prior to this attachment, I'd mow the lawn, then spend hours raking up the clippings so my 3 yound boys couldn't track them into the house. With this attachment, I mow, then dump the clippings in five minutes and I'm done. It was a little tricky to get it assembled at first, but once it was on, its pure time savings.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Gillette, WY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

a great two bag system. it works well for grass and leaves.

PostedOctober 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The bagger system is awesome. Took 30 minutes to install. Great instructions. I wondered if the two bags would stay balanced and they do. Easy to get off of mower to empty and reattach . Very well built. I would highly recommend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

Good product but TERRIBLE instruction manual.

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The bagger works fine, and is of good quality. The instruction manual is difficult to follow; the illustrations are not easily understood and the text is short and curt. The instructions to attach the bottom tube to the mower deck are impossible to achieve as the pin on the tube to the deck will not insert and allow the springs to attach. After 20 minutes of failure, I removed the pin and was able to fit the tube to the deck. The installation problem diminished some of the positive feeling I have for the John Deere mower: great mower but poor installation procedure.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

poor design not worth money

PostedOctober 27, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
chutes clogs quickly and storage capacity of bags low
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did what I expected, couldn't ask for more than that.

PostedNovember 4, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was very happy with everything from my online ordering to it's arrival at my home. I was very happy with this bagger, easy assembly and install. Please note that I had to drill a hole in my deck wheel bracket as indicated in the assembly manual to attach one clip but it was not that difficult. Works very well and I'm very satisfied.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Menasha, WI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product is very easy to use and saved my back

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Costly but worth the cost. Hard to put together - had brother put it together - somewhat confusing. Wet grass jams up shoot a lot = have to keep an eye on that - overall it was a great purchase.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

good value

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Assembly instructions are horrendous. The instructions attempt to describe the procedure by using pictures instead of verbal instructions. The problem is the pictures stink. Easy fix is to use more and better pictures or include better verbal instructions. I expected more from John Deere.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Overall a waste

PostedMarch 2, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The assembly instructions were way too fague it became more apparent to just go off the picture on the box. Plus they called for me to drill a hole thru a metal plate of my L130 in order to attach it, I got a full refund. Just read the reviews prior like I should have.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Coopersburg, PA 18036, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Wish I never bought this

PostedJune 14, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Always clugs up. Need to keep stopping and turn off rider and remove all the grass in the tube. Must cut with blade height at the max to not have this issue or at speed 1 Thats just not going work.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

it works but the chute fits poorly

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I want to pick up my grass so I bought this for my 48" deck D140.Grass blows up from the chute on to the Deck.I would buy it again but thought Deere quality would be better.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Not very practicle - difficult to carry when full

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These bags are very difficult to carry when they're full. There is no handle on top to grab - I usually end up putting them in a yard cart and then pushing the cart to where I want to empty them.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from MD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just right for me.

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Just right - I found the directions to be pretty good; easy enough to follow. Went together in about 1-2 hrs. Works decent even without the hi-lift blades. No clogs yet. Have used it 3 times so far with good results. Only issue might be the bag cover hold down adjustment. The directions recommend just bending the end of the support rod a little to make the strap fit better. Ever try bending one end of a piece of 3/8" steel rod just a little after one end is already installed? Nice that it is that sturdy though. I'd buy it again.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

HAPPY CUSTOMER AFTER INFORMED CORRECTLY

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
WE PURCHASED TRACTOR AND BAGGER AT THE SAME TIME , THE INSTALL WAS NOT TO DIFFICULT , VERY UPSET WITH BAGGER ALWAYS CLOGGING, CALLED JOHN DEERE AND UNDER THERE ADVISE INSTALLED A CURVED HIGH LIFT BLADE, (2) AND THIS MADE THE SYSTEM WORK GREAT. THE TRACTOR CAME WITH A MULCHING BLADES CAN EVEN MOW WHEN THE GRASS IS WET (WITHIN REASON) I FEEL THIS SHOULD BE SOMTHING THAT THE CUSTOMER IS TOLD ABOUT IF THE BAGGER IS PURCHASED AT THE SAME TIME AS THE MOWER, ALSO AT FIRST I HATED THE MATERIAL BAG FOR THE CLIPPINGS HOWEVER AFTER SOME USE I FIND THEM EASIER TO USE AND CLEAN OVERALL YOU CANT GO WRONG WITH A DEERE SET UP . JUST MAKE SURE YOU FIND OUT WHAT YOU NEED BEFORE AND DURING YOUR PURCHASE (HAPPY CUSTOMER)
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: cloggs shute
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

Don't buy

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
No problem with installation - relatively easy. If the grass is totally dry and not too long then it works. It has been so humid this summer the grass is rarely dry. I like to wait two weeks to mow my grass if possible. Since I have 1.35 acres with several trees and 2/3 of the property is fenced, there is a lot of work. My wife and I both have used this bagger and it only worked in the one instance mentioned in the second sentence. So basically it has only worked once after about 8-9 different mows. It could either be the humidity or the length (not real long - 6 inches) or both but it seems this bagger only works under specific conditions. It clogs with grass all the time and picks up virtually NO grass. I'm going to look into a lawn sweeper.
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Massachusetts, USA

A great product

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed my bagger a month ago. Instillation did require drilling a hole through 1/8 inch thick steel plate for which I had to acquire 2 new drill bits ($25). Used cobalt bits with 3 in 1 oil lubricant. My mower is about 7 years old. I think the newer models have the hole pre-drilled.
Performance in the yard has been great. Picks up grass and leaves easily without clogging. (Even slightly wet grass and leaves).
No complaints.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>