728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Riding Mower & Tractor Attachments or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

The John Deere 42 in. Twin Bagger for John Deere 100 Series Tractors features open-weave polyester bags for better airflow and cut quality. Installation is easy and doesn't require the use of tools. Fits John Deere 100 Series tractors with a 42 in. deck.
Overall rating:
3.642 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(226 reviews) 226
Open Ratings Snapshot
72%of customersrecommend this product153 of 213reviews
Rating Breakdown 226 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(87)
4
(65)
3
(20)
2
(14)
1
(40)
Features 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
72%of customersrecommend this product153 of 213reviews
Customer questions and answers:
70 Questions | 105 Answers
Customer reviews for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
Review 1 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Vicksburg, MS

Waste Of Money

PostedOctober 15, 2007
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This Bagger is a waste of time and money. It does not have the blower so all the grass catches at the bottom of the chute and does not go up the pipe into the bag. It leaves clumps of grass on the lawn and is simply an expensive mess. Don't buy this bagger. You'd actually save time RAKING!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from North Carolina

PostedAugust 30, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bagger works well on my John Deere LA 120. Sometimes it clogs up, but it's easliy cleared. I would recommend this product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Azle, TX

Bagger for 42 inch riding mower

PostedJune 18, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
First off I want to start with this is the first time ive used this so ill have to give yall a later broke in review also.
Assembly was easy, not many parts, not many tools needed, only took about 30 min.
Although the manual had parts labeled wrong you can still figure it out pretty easily.
Material was supprising, lots of money for plastic and vinyl bags, the frame how ever is metal. I paid $319 for mine, way too much.
Volume was average, It says it holds 6 bushels and i have 1.24 acres and i had to dump it 4.25 times. Not bad
Using was very easy, Now it works great on thin grasses, but the thick ST. Augustine you must go very very slow or it will clog. Its still pretty easy to get the grass out of the shute. Pop the middle apart and pull grass out of the tube. (After you turn the blades off of course).
Weight is not too bad its hard to turn on gravel, and it slows you down on hills but not too bad unless your drive belt is old and slipping.
Over all pretty good performance, for now, The bags need another set of handles on the top by the door so you dont have to grab a hand full of stickers. I dont see the rubber strap that holds the lid down lasting long. I like the window to see how full the bags are, but it gets dusty pretty quick. I still think it should be only about $150 to $200 instead of $300. And ive already let John Deer know about the mislabeled manual. After I break it in a little ill let yall know how it holds up. Remember this was its maiden voyage.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Greenwood SC

Very Poor. We do not recommend

PostedSeptember 1, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased this bagger for our 100 series John Deere mower. Assembly was easy and quick but this unit DOES NOT WORK!. The results were terrible. We were cutting dry grass and we followed the instructions to the letter. It picked up about 1/2 the grass clippings and created a dust cloud around the mower that could be seen from space. The bagger and deck were clogged after minutes and the results were pitiful. Deere does not make a bagger for the 100 series with a blower but that is what is needed. Buying this is a waste of money! On the other hand, depot was great and they let us return the product with no questions asked.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Columbus, GA

Works Great

PostedDecember 1, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was a bit hesitant to buy this product based on the negative review posted here. I'm not sure if this product has been redesigned since that review but for me, it works great.
I have had no problems with it clogging. The manual says you should not cut wet grass or it will clog. Emptying the bags is very easy. The bags even have a handle on the bottom that comes quite handy as you're trying to shake the clippings out of the bags.
The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because of the price. $300 for a metal mouting bracket, plastic chute and mesh bags seems a bit pricey.
That being said, I wish I had bought it sooner. It picks up fall leaves with ease. No more raking.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Waldorf, MD

Glad I bought it.

PostedMay 12, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This bagger works great. I didn't have any problems with it. It did a great job bagging my clippings and leaves left over from the fall and never clogged. I too thought it was a bit pricey. I don't know if I got an older model, but I don't think my bags came with handles on the bottom as mentioned in a previous review. It was a little difficult transferring the clippings to a paper yard waste bag the county requires in order for it to be picked up curbside. Handles on the bottom would have made it easier. A lower price would have gotten it 5 stars. A way to efficiently dump from the bottom into another bag or recaptable would get it six.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Central Bucks County, PA

Jury is still out

PostedMay 26, 2008
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
So far I haven't saved any time with the bagger. I've used it as suggested, on dry grass, and then only the first few passes seem to make it into the bags.
As soon as I hit a spot where the grass is slightly moist, not from rain but just thick, the bagger begins to choke leaving clumps of grass behind and some stuck half way up the chute.
It has been very frustrating to say the least. I will wait to use again later this summer when the natural moisture of my lawn is gone.
I will be sure to update this review in a couple of months.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from St Matthews, Sc

The Catcher

PostedMarch 17, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a good item to have if you have a big yard. Bag is easy to empty.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Saratoga Springs, NY

Nice Product

PostedMay 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As long as you buy the "bagging" mower blades, this product works great. I originally tried using the bagger without the bagging blades and the chute would clog every couple of minutes. Once I switched to the proper blades, this works as it should and I have no complaints.
Spend the extra $40 for the better blades and you will be happy too. The blades create more air pressure to force the grass up the chute and it makes all of the difference. If Home Depot doesn't carry the bagging blades, go to your local John Deere dealer and pick some up.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from New Ulm, MN

Awesome bagger

PostedApril 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After reading all the bagger reviews on this website, i was very hesitant about buying this bagger. Well, i did anyway and it works fantastic. I didn't have any of the clogging problems that were talked about. It basically worked perfect.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Bainbridge, GA

Bagger makes the grade

PostedAugust 4, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Before I purchased my bagger, I read the reviews that reflected both sides of the argument for this bagger. I decided to take a chance and if it didn't work out, I'd return it. When other say it doesn't work well in wet grass, they mean it. But the bagger manual stated clearly that it would clog if used on wet grass. The first time I used it, everything went well and it worked great until I got close to the flower bed that had been recently watered. It immediately stopped picking up the grass and I had to quit mowing and clean out the chute. Since then, I have only used it when my grass is completely dry and it works great. Because my grass is thick and plush, I don't have problems with dust flying as I mow. This is only a problem if you obviously have thin to little grass in your yard. And given how well it works now, I do not see the need to purchase lifter blades for my mower. I was told by a neighbor (who was told by a John Deere mechanic) that the installation would be difficult. I found it very easy and put it together in less than 30 minutes. I do believe it is overpriced for the type of material used to build the product, but it does what it is supposed to do, and that is why I purchased it. I'm very satisfied with my bagger.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Mapleton, UT

Worst bagger ever

PostedDecember 1, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The diameter of the shute is too small and it doesn't push enough air up the shute.
It takes 30 minutes to mow my lawn without the bagger and it takes 3 hours with the bagger.
I have to go at a snails pace to keep from plugging the shute. The grass has to be completely dry. If the grass contains any moisture, it is impossible to get the grass to go up the shute.
I used to own a Snapper riding mower. The John Deere mows much quicker than the Snapper without bagging but takes three times as long as the Snapper if I bag my grass.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from GA

Over Priced

PostedSeptember 24, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Kudos to Home Depot on delivery, ordered on Sunday and received it on Wednesday. I was disappointed at the value of this product. Way over priced for a bunch of plastic. Wasn't too bad to assemble, the bad part of assembly was having to go out and buy a 13 MM socket and wrench to get the hinge bolts in!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Old Saybrook, CT.

Not Impressed At All

PostedNovember 17, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased the "only bagger available" from Home Depot for my John Deere 110 riding mower, online, sight unseen. I wish I had been able to see it in person first. It is mostly plastic, it was generally easily assembled. It clogs up picking up bone dry leaves, even at the slowest forward speed, no matter what level I put the mower deck at. I am definitely not looking forward to using this when cutting the lawn. I am also disappointed with the fact that my unit did not come with any John Deere stickers or name on the product itself. Other than the John Deere paperwork that came with the bagger, I would honestly believe that it is a generic unit, with simple modifications for each lawn tractor that Home Depot sell. Good luck, and caveat emptor.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Chantilly, Virginia

Sturdy and easy to use

PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered my D100 mower and the bagger together. The bagger was delivered 2 days after I placed my order. When the mower arrived, it took me about 30 minutes to assemble the bagger system (with my little children helping!). The whole assembly is not very difficult and the bagger system itself is very robust and solid. It is easy to empty the bags of grass. The only thing I would recommend is to make sure you all the grass has been cleaned out from the bottom of the tube leading up to the bags. When you get wet grass, some sticks to the entry point of the bagging systems and if you don't clean it out, it will dry on and could clog the tube for the next use (I learned the hard way).
Other than making sure all grass is cleared from the tube, it is a great bagger!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from Charles County, MD

Mower bagger works well

PostedMay 18, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ok, so this is a little complicated to attach to the mower so you don't want to be taking it on and off. And, it's so darned bulky! Where do you store the thing? But, it works great at catching the grass clippings and, we hope in the Fall, the leaves!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

Great tool for your mower!!

PostedJuly 5, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I got this bagger because I was tired of having grass still in the yard when I was done mowing. It was a little hard to assemble and get on the mower, the bags get really heavy, But it is great!! No more grass in the yard!! I recommend this to you.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

Hard to assemble to deck

PostedApril 26, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very poor design. If needing to remove or install on deck. Hold down straps are too short and the parts do not fit correctly. I just bought this new from Home Depot with my new D100 tractor. If I knew then what I know now. I would not have purchased either.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from White Lake Michigan

Twin Bagger

PostedOctober 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wonderful, Easy instructions easy to put together,
Was mowing and bagging leaves within an hour. Clean pickup, Would recommend to anyone who didn't have one
Mowed and bagged 2 acres. Thank you it was worth every penny!!!!!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
from South Jordan, Utah

42 Inch Tein Bagger

PostedJuly 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Goes on easy and removes easy. Does a great job and dumps easy. Great for a clean looking lawn.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>