728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Riding Mower & Tractor Attachments or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor

The John Deere 42 in. Twin Bagger for John Deere 100 Series Tractors features open-weave polyester bags for better airflow and cut quality. Installation is easy and doesn't require the use of tools. Fits John Deere 100 Series tractors with a 42 in. deck.
Overall rating:
3.525 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(177 reviews) 177
Open Ratings Snapshot
68%of customersrecommend this product112 of 164reviews
Rating Breakdown 177 reviews
3.5 out of 5.0
5
(64)
4
(48)
3
(17)
2
(13)
1
(35)
Features 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
68%of customersrecommend this product112 of 164reviews
Customer questions and answers:
48 Questions | 69 Answers
Customer reviews for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
Review 1 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
ClaudeB
from Central Bucks County, PA

Jury is still out

PostedMay 26, 2008
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
So far I haven't saved any time with the bagger. I've used it as suggested, on dry grass, and then only the first few passes seem to make it into the bags.
As soon as I hit a spot where the grass is slightly moist, not from rain but just thick, the bagger begins to choke leaving clumps of grass behind and some stuck half way up the chute.
It has been very frustrating to say the least. I will wait to use again later this summer when the natural moisture of my lawn is gone.
I will be sure to update this review in a couple of months.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
Buzzjet
from Greenwood SC

Very Poor. We do not recommend

PostedSeptember 1, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased this bagger for our 100 series John Deere mower. Assembly was easy and quick but this unit DOES NOT WORK!. The results were terrible. We were cutting dry grass and we followed the instructions to the letter. It picked up about 1/2 the grass clippings and created a dust cloud around the mower that could be seen from space. The bagger and deck were clogged after minutes and the results were pitiful. Deere does not make a bagger for the 100 series with a blower but that is what is needed. Buying this is a waste of money! On the other hand, depot was great and they let us return the product with no questions asked.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
shellyp22
from White Lake Michigan

Twin Bagger

PostedOctober 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wonderful, Easy instructions easy to put together,
Was mowing and bagging leaves within an hour. Clean pickup, Would recommend to anyone who didn't have one
Mowed and bagged 2 acres. Thank you it was worth every penny!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
Rickster1959

Hard to assemble to deck

PostedApril 26, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very poor design. If needing to remove or install on deck. Hold down straps are too short and the parts do not fit correctly. I just bought this new from Home Depot with my new D100 tractor. If I knew then what I know now. I would not have purchased either.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
NOVA20152
from Chantilly, Virginia

Sturdy and easy to use

PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered my D100 mower and the bagger together. The bagger was delivered 2 days after I placed my order. When the mower arrived, it took me about 30 minutes to assemble the bagger system (with my little children helping!). The whole assembly is not very difficult and the bagger system itself is very robust and solid. It is easy to empty the bags of grass. The only thing I would recommend is to make sure you all the grass has been cleaned out from the bottom of the tube leading up to the bags. When you get wet grass, some sticks to the entry point of the bagging systems and if you don't clean it out, it will dry on and could clog the tube for the next use (I learned the hard way).
Other than making sure all grass is cleared from the tube, it is a great bagger!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
hagglebert
from walden USA

Works well/Hard to install

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This Item seems to function well.I had a hard time assembling it. The directions are hard to follow.I also had difficulty installing it on the mower.The front pin was hard to get lined up.I don't know how hard it is to remove.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
Pipes
from SouthEast

Works great.

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased a knock off and replaced it after it continually clogged. The assembly is easy, dumping the bags is easy. A site glass to ensure your capturing is a nice plus.
With any capture bag, they will clog, but Deere's is the best I've ever used. I mowed until it did and I was moving fast over tall moist grass.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
Frustrated
from Texas, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Product works well

PostedOctober 9, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I found part of the assembly difficult without an addtional person to hold the nuts while tighting the bag attachement. John Deere should use stove bolt so the square base fits into a square hole so you do not have to hold both sides to tighten the bolts. Packaging was poor, many pieces were scratched!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
Smokie
from Gillette, WY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

a great two bag system. it works well for grass and leaves.

PostedOctober 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The bagger system is awesome. Took 30 minutes to install. Great instructions. I wondered if the two bags would stay balanced and they do. Easy to get off of mower to empty and reattach . Very well built. I would highly recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
MickeyD

Good product but TERRIBLE instruction manual.

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The bagger works fine, and is of good quality. The instruction manual is difficult to follow; the illustrations are not easily understood and the text is short and curt. The instructions to attach the bottom tube to the mower deck are impossible to achieve as the pin on the tube to the deck will not insert and allow the springs to attach. After 20 minutes of failure, I removed the pin and was able to fit the tube to the deck. The installation problem diminished some of the positive feeling I have for the John Deere mower: great mower but poor installation procedure.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
Qqqq

poor design not worth money

PostedOctober 27, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
chutes clogs quickly and storage capacity of bags low
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
abc5555

good value

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Assembly instructions are horrendous. The instructions attempt to describe the procedure by using pictures instead of verbal instructions. The problem is the pictures stink. Easy fix is to use more and better pictures or include better verbal instructions. I expected more from John Deere.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
JSam
from SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy purchase. Exactly what I needed.

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Only problem was I needed to drill a hole in the hardened steel carriage, which set me back several days as I didn't have the correct bit. Otherwise, the installation went smoothly.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
JeffreyJ
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Avoid like the plague!!

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Picked up less then ten blades of grass (yes less then ten!!!!) after mowing my yard. Left clumps everywhere and clogged shoot after one pass. My deck was clean and everything was installed correctly...not sure if my 135 JD just couldn't push the lawn through but i would have thought that would have been figured in R&D. Like i've read before the best part about this thing is the customer service Home Depot gives you when you take it back.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
popcorn
from Michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

it works but the chute fits poorly

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I want to pick up my grass so I bought this for my 48" deck D140.Grass blows up from the chute on to the Deck.I would buy it again but thought Deere quality would be better.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
JustRight
from MD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just right for me.

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Just right - I found the directions to be pretty good; easy enough to follow. Went together in about 1-2 hrs. Works decent even without the hi-lift blades. No clogs yet. Have used it 3 times so far with good results. Only issue might be the bag cover hold down adjustment. The directions recommend just bending the end of the support rod a little to make the strap fit better. Ever try bending one end of a piece of 3/8" steel rod just a little after one end is already installed? Nice that it is that sturdy though. I'd buy it again.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
happycustomer

HAPPY CUSTOMER AFTER INFORMED CORRECTLY

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
WE PURCHASED TRACTOR AND BAGGER AT THE SAME TIME , THE INSTALL WAS NOT TO DIFFICULT , VERY UPSET WITH BAGGER ALWAYS CLOGGING, CALLED JOHN DEERE AND UNDER THERE ADVISE INSTALLED A CURVED HIGH LIFT BLADE, (2) AND THIS MADE THE SYSTEM WORK GREAT. THE TRACTOR CAME WITH A MULCHING BLADES CAN EVEN MOW WHEN THE GRASS IS WET (WITHIN REASON) I FEEL THIS SHOULD BE SOMTHING THAT THE CUSTOMER IS TOLD ABOUT IF THE BAGGER IS PURCHASED AT THE SAME TIME AS THE MOWER, ALSO AT FIRST I HATED THE MATERIAL BAG FOR THE CLIPPINGS HOWEVER AFTER SOME USE I FIND THEM EASIER TO USE AND CLEAN OVERALL YOU CANT GO WRONG WITH A DEERE SET UP . JUST MAKE SURE YOU FIND OUT WHAT YOU NEED BEFORE AND DURING YOUR PURCHASE (HAPPY CUSTOMER)
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: cloggs shute
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
rd2dy

Just as described, good price, free shipping and easy to put together. Whats not to like?

PostedOctober 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to assemble. Made for the JD lawn tractor so well thought out. Very functional for picking up leaves and not having to rake. Very satisfied.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
Butch
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

it is ok

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
it is OK a little confusing to assemble. some pro`s on the unit and some con`s from from earlier lt133 setup
Pros: Cuts Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 100 Series 42 in. Twin Bagger for Tractor
Scott
from Newington
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Bagger

PostedJune 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just installed this last night in about 45 minutes and then went to try it out on my front lawn. The lawn was dry, I went at a slower pace than normal, and I had no issues with grass clogging the chute. I was debating whether or not to buy this. I was thinking about, instead, buying a gas powered air blower pile the grass clippings and make it easier to dispose of. But I went and bought the bagging system and I'm very glad I did. It makes the job so much easier. The lawn looks so dang good now.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>