728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard

Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard

The Amerimax Snap-In Gutter Filter is a 3 ft. x 6-1/2 in. x 1/2 in. gutter guard with a filter bonded to the plastic. It is designed to keep smaller debris out of the gutter, helping to eliminate clogs. Made of lightweight plastic, the filter is easy to install. The 3 ft. section attaches to the front lip of the gutter. The filter can be used with most K-style gutters.
Overall rating:
3.927 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(110 reviews) 110
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product89 of 108reviews
Rating Breakdown 110 reviews
3.9 out of 5
5
(54)
4
(31)
3
(4)
2
(5)
1
(16)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product89 of 108reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
Review 1 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard

gutter guards

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have these installed on all of the gutters on my house. I recently built an addition and installed then on it. The only improvement that I would like to see is to make the rib on the top side that you use to clip it to the gutter a little bigger so that you could get a better grip on it to install it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard

Great product for the money

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My husband found these gutter guards very easy to install. He was done with the whole house in less than two days,
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from connecticut
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

after 1 year, the screen (filter)starts to detach

PostedJuly 23, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
bought these just a year ago (installed in Connecticut) and the filter (plastic window screen) is coming loose at the bottom where it is needed (looks like hot melt glue held it on). so as the screen detaches, then the small debris from the trees is able to get in and now you have to remove the gutter guards to clean the gutter, wow what a product.
it has also sagged deep into the gutter from exposure to the sun which leaves a valley for junk to build up in.
BTW, says in the instructions that you should overlap the ends of the pieces, but to do so......you must cut the heavy plastic material yourself - some assembly required
Pros: Economical
Cons: Difficult to Install, poor quality
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from Bellingham, WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Needles not Leaves

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our need for the gutter filters are from evergreen tree needles, not leaves. It made shopping for something a bit tougher. I am quite pleased with their performance.
The fine mesh glued to the guard does it's job in keeping the needles out, the larger stamped out holes of the guard allow the water through without spilling over the edges.
The installation was a "snap" and the price was great as well.
It is too soon to say just how long the bonded mesh will stay attached to the guard itself - but for us a few seasons of help is comforting.
I am a guy that uses a blower on the roof fairly often as part of routine maintenance - I am pleased with the purchase - the needles blow right off and the troughs are vacant from debris.
My only disappointment - HomeDepot only stocked the color "white". My gutters are brown. I had to order them online but they did come to my door step a week later.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Seals Well, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Economical, Light Weight
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from EDMOND, OKLA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

SERVICE - STORE EMPLOYEES WERE NICE

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
STILL DON'T HAVE MY STUFF I ORDERED 100 AND RECEIVED 25. REORDERED 75 2 WEEKS AGO - ???? NOT HERE YET
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard

Great Product!

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great product and easy to install! Nothing is getting in my gutters now!
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Economical
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from Cape Cod
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Durable, affordable gutter guards

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Reasonably priced, easily installed, prompt delivery
Pros: Easy to Install, Economical, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from Oregon

PostedSeptember 9, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These gutter guards do help keep leaves and debris out of the gutters. However, every unit that received direct afternoon sun during the summer "wilted", and sagged into the gutter, making them useless. Our climate in southern Oregon is considered "moderate". These units could not withstand our "moderate" summers.
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from Albuquerque, NM, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

They warp in the sun.

PostedJanuary 22, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had these professionally installed. After the sun hit them for a few months, they all warped, sagged, and ended up actually catching the leaves and debris, instead of keeping them out of the gutters.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from NE Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Gutter Gards

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy install xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from Salem ma
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

This is an excellent product for both a gutter guard and soffet vent

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have used this product in a soffet vent application with excellent results.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from Grosse Pointe Woods, MI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

So far, so good...

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I installed these on my house and garage over two weekends a month or so ago. I cleaned the gutters and downspouts and put these on. We've had some pretty heavy rains and the water was flowing freely out of the downspouts. It did not appear that the gutters were overflowing as they did when they were full of debris.
Installation was easy, though I did have to snip them where the gutter nails were located. The gutter guard did not fit with the nail, so I just notched the gutter guard with tin snips. We do have the newer Z-shaped gutter hangers in only a couple places and the gutter guards fit perfectly right over them and required no modifications. NOTE: Install these with the SCREEN ON TOP. I saw another review with a photo where the screen was installed underneath and they failed. This is incorrect.
These were not my first choice. I installed the surface-tension type on a previous house and loved them. Water dropped into the gutter and debris slid right off. Unfortunately, they don't make that type in brown to match our new house. These appeared to have better ratings on other websites as well, so I though if I was happy with the other ones, surely I'd be happy with these.
We're heading into fall and winter, so time will tell if these collect debris and stand up to ice. They certainly won't collect debris like an open gutter, but I think they'll catch seeds and buds off the trees in the spring. We'll see, but so far I'm happy with them.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: No Instructions, screen easy to separate from product
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from Mountain View, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

This product has done the job and holds up beautifully.

PostedApril 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'd tried a variety of products before coming across this one at Home Depot several years ago. They installed quickly under my cedar shakes and, with an everyday scissors, could be cut to fit at the corners, etc. When I had the house painted last summer, it was a simple and quick process to simply move the guards away from the lip of the gutters to facilitate the painting of the gutters to match the trim. After several years of exposure to the California sun, neither the plastic material nor the screening shows any sign of deterioration.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from Fair Oaks, CA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install

PostedMarch 4, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Gutter guards were quick to install. I give them a 4 now. Lets see how they perform and how long they last.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, Light Weight
Cons: unknown at this time
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard

absolutely awful

PostedOctober 6, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
after 1 year in the Idaho sun they all twisted and deformed. Worst screens I have ever bought.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: curls and twists in the sun
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from Pittsburgh PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pay attention to instructions

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Previous owner had a contractor install these guards a decade ago on ours and neighbor house, he installed them upside down. Eventually the filter screen separated and became a dam that collected all sorts of debris adding ice weight in winter and algae in summer. A maple sapling growing up through the guard alerted me to the problem. Install them with the filter screen on the top and they will perform as they were designed.
Pros: Performs Well, Straight, Seals Well, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from Pittsburgh, PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good for a few years

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Replaced ones installed 8 years ago. If you install them correctly (mesh side up) they should last a few years before the sun begins to warp them. They do the job very well.
Pros: Performs Well
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from Missoula, Montana
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product.

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Installation required cutting to fit the width, I used a quality pair of sewing scissors to cut as needed plus an 1/8 of an inch to place a slight pressure to hold the product more firmly in it's final position. I feel it would be a good idea to order maybe 4 extra pieces to be sure you have enough to have extra product on hand to cover corners or should a tree branch damage a unit and it needed to be replaced.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Economical, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from Fairfield, CT, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Amerimax gutter guards

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Really easy to install on standard gutters, easy to cut to size if needed.. But remember to install them correctly! Not clear on labels. The fine screen should be on top. If you install them upside down, the glue will fail in a year or so and the screen will fall off and droop into the gutter.
The price/value should be good...I expect these to last several years, if not more.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: No Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from Parma, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Looks great!

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used these on my garage, they work great and add curb appeal to my home. I decided to add these to my house as well. When I purchased them for the garage, they were in store, in stock. But now, they can only be purchased online. Please bring this product back to the store, in brown. I know I will need to purchase more, but woud prefer the item to be instore. I do not like shopping online.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Seals Well, Good Shape, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>