728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard

Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard

The Amerimax Snap-In Gutter Filter is a 3 ft. x 6-1/2 in. x 1/2 in. gutter guard with a filter bonded to the plastic. It is designed to keep smaller debris out of the gutter, helping to eliminate clogs. Made of lightweight plastic, the filter is easy to install. The 3 ft. section attaches to the front lip of the gutter. The filter can be used with most K-style gutters.
Overall rating:
3.758 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(66 reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
77%of customersrecommend this product49 of 64reviews
Rating Breakdown 66 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(32)
4
(16)
3
(1)
2
(4)
1
(13)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
77%of customersrecommend this product49 of 64reviews
Customer reviews for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
Review 1 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from Fairfield, CT, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Amerimax gutter guards

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Really easy to install on standard gutters, easy to cut to size if needed.. But remember to install them correctly! Not clear on labels. The fine screen should be on top. If you install them upside down, the glue will fail in a year or so and the screen will fall off and droop into the gutter.
The price/value should be good...I expect these to last several years, if not more.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: No Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from Cincinnati, Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Gutter Guard

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The gutter guard went on easily and is doing a very good job.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from Tennessee
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Gutter guards

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Relatively easy to install except for the corners. Seem to be allowing rain water to drain properly, but haven't had them installed very long.
Pros: Great Value, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from connecticut
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

after 1 year, the screen (filter)starts to detach

PostedJuly 23, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
bought these just a year ago (installed in Connecticut) and the filter (plastic window screen) is coming loose at the bottom where it is needed (looks like hot melt glue held it on). so as the screen detaches, then the small debris from the trees is able to get in and now you have to remove the gutter guards to clean the gutter, wow what a product.
it has also sagged deep into the gutter from exposure to the sun which leaves a valley for junk to build up in.
BTW, says in the instructions that you should overlap the ends of the pieces, but to do so......you must cut the heavy plastic material yourself - some assembly required
Pros: Economical
Cons: Difficult to Install, poor quality
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from Salem ma
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

This is an excellent product for both a gutter guard and soffet vent

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have used this product in a soffet vent application with excellent results.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard

just what we needed easy to install

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
very easy to install nice looking seems to do the job
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from Raleigh, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Great value - as advertised

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product works and fits very well. Experience with these shows that they do need to be replaced over time - possibly due to the sun warming and warping them or due to buildup of leaves and debris on top of them weighing them down (or both?).
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Great Value, Economical, Light Weight
Cons: could be a little stiffer/higher quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from Oregon

PostedSeptember 9, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These gutter guards do help keep leaves and debris out of the gutters. However, every unit that received direct afternoon sun during the summer "wilted", and sagged into the gutter, making them useless. Our climate in southern Oregon is considered "moderate". These units could not withstand our "moderate" summers.
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from Mountain View, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

This product has done the job and holds up beautifully.

PostedApril 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'd tried a variety of products before coming across this one at Home Depot several years ago. They installed quickly under my cedar shakes and, with an everyday scissors, could be cut to fit at the corners, etc. When I had the house painted last summer, it was a simple and quick process to simply move the guards away from the lip of the gutters to facilitate the painting of the gutters to match the trim. After several years of exposure to the California sun, neither the plastic material nor the screening shows any sign of deterioration.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from Norman OK
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Gutter Guards

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Fits nicely, very easy to install, looks good. I will be buying more of them to finish my roof.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Straight, Seals Well
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from delaware
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

average dollar value

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
average dollar value. easy to install and low profile make them obscure but they still need to be cleaned and many homeowners do not realize this. If they are not kept clean, they can cause ice damming and destroy the roof sheathing and framing as well as damage to interior of home. I would recommend with caution.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Maintenance, can cause ice damming
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from Parma, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Looks great!

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used these on my garage, they work great and add curb appeal to my home. I decided to add these to my house as well. When I purchased them for the garage, they were in store, in stock. But now, they can only be purchased online. Please bring this product back to the store, in brown. I know I will need to purchase more, but woud prefer the item to be instore. I do not like shopping online.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Seals Well, Good Shape, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from Wappingers falls NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Right for the price but would pay more for quality.

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The only problem I have with them is longevity. They do warp as the seasons come and go......They do work well in the beginning but then warp and collapse into the gutters. We just had a hard winter and they did collapse from ice buildup. Because they are plastic they warp....The Mesh does eventually come off.......
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Economical, Light Weight
Cons: warps, collapses
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from West Linn, OR, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Easy to Install

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We are so glad we ordered the screens. So easy to install and they seem to be able to hold up in the Northwest weather.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Good Shape, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from Saginaw, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to put in AND keeps leaves out.

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I put in about 90 feet of them (3ft. ea.) and they were a snap to put in. I didn't need any tools to them in except to cut off the end piece at the end of the run.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Good Shape
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard

absolutely awful

PostedOctober 6, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
after 1 year in the Idaho sun they all twisted and deformed. Worst screens I have ever bought.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: curls and twists in the sun
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple to install and cut to fit

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had installed the white color on my home (3) years ago and removed it from the gutters as we had a metal roof installed. When I removed them, the gutters were very clean, they had worked perfectly. I chose not to reinstall the white ones as they showed more in the gutter with the color change of the roof. The dark brown are perfect! Having used these once before, installation and fitment were a breeze. I expect 3-5 years use minimum without needing to climb a ladder twice a year to keep the gutters clean. The value is a steal.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard

Additional design features solved a gutter problem.

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The covers were easy to install. They provided a positive and reliable lock into my gutters. The additional mesh, covering the normal openings in this type of cover, prevented the smaller seed pods, produced by my trees this year, from clogging the gutters.
Pros: Easy to Install, positive lock
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from Albuquerque, NM, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

They warp in the sun.

PostedJanuary 22, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had these professionally installed. After the sun hit them for a few months, they all warped, sagged, and ended up actually catching the leaves and debris, instead of keeping them out of the gutters.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from Blairsville, GA 30512, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Professional grade function and finish!

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easily installed,beautiful professional looking finish.A great value for the money.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>