728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard

Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard

The Amerimax Snap-In Gutter Filter is a 3 ft. x 6-1/2 in. x 1/2 in. gutter guard with a filter bonded to the plastic. It is designed to keep smaller debris out of the gutter, helping to eliminate clogs. Made of lightweight plastic, the filter is easy to install. The 3 ft. section attaches to the front lip of the gutter. The filter can be used with most K-style gutters.
Overall rating:
3.875 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(96 reviews) 96
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product76 of 94reviews
Rating Breakdown 96 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(46)
4
(27)
3
(3)
2
(5)
1
(15)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product76 of 94reviews
Customer reviews for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
Review 1 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from Grosse Pointe Woods, MI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

So far, so good...

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I installed these on my house and garage over two weekends a month or so ago. I cleaned the gutters and downspouts and put these on. We've had some pretty heavy rains and the water was flowing freely out of the downspouts. It did not appear that the gutters were overflowing as they did when they were full of debris.
Installation was easy, though I did have to snip them where the gutter nails were located. The gutter guard did not fit with the nail, so I just notched the gutter guard with tin snips. We do have the newer Z-shaped gutter hangers in only a couple places and the gutter guards fit perfectly right over them and required no modifications. NOTE: Install these with the SCREEN ON TOP. I saw another review with a photo where the screen was installed underneath and they failed. This is incorrect.
These were not my first choice. I installed the surface-tension type on a previous house and loved them. Water dropped into the gutter and debris slid right off. Unfortunately, they don't make that type in brown to match our new house. These appeared to have better ratings on other websites as well, so I though if I was happy with the other ones, surely I'd be happy with these.
We're heading into fall and winter, so time will tell if these collect debris and stand up to ice. They certainly won't collect debris like an open gutter, but I think they'll catch seeds and buds off the trees in the spring. We'll see, but so far I'm happy with them.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: No Instructions, screen easy to separate from product
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from Bellingham, WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Needles not Leaves

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our need for the gutter filters are from evergreen tree needles, not leaves. It made shopping for something a bit tougher. I am quite pleased with their performance.
The fine mesh glued to the guard does it's job in keeping the needles out, the larger stamped out holes of the guard allow the water through without spilling over the edges.
The installation was a "snap" and the price was great as well.
It is too soon to say just how long the bonded mesh will stay attached to the guard itself - but for us a few seasons of help is comforting.
I am a guy that uses a blower on the roof fairly often as part of routine maintenance - I am pleased with the purchase - the needles blow right off and the troughs are vacant from debris.
My only disappointment - HomeDepot only stocked the color "white". My gutters are brown. I had to order them online but they did come to my door step a week later.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Seals Well, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Economical, Light Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from Missoula, Montana
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product.

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installation required cutting to fit the width, I used a quality pair of sewing scissors to cut as needed plus an 1/8 of an inch to place a slight pressure to hold the product more firmly in it's final position. I feel it would be a good idea to order maybe 4 extra pieces to be sure you have enough to have extra product on hand to cover corners or should a tree branch damage a unit and it needed to be replaced.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Economical, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard

Great product

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to install. The filter layer keeps out the small stuff.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from NJ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

GREAT ITEM AT A GREAT PRICE

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
GREAT ITEM AT A GREAT PRICE, WOULD BUY AGAIN FROM THE BEST HOME DEPOT ONLY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Much better than Lowes product!

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The brown ones were only available online, so I went to Lowes to buy their's. Very bad decision. Returned those to Lowes and bought these online.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value
Cons: only available online
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

good product.

PostedNovember 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The best way to protect the gutter however the screen comes off easily so you may want to reinforce with glue.
Water does run off over the lip towards the gutter even with light rain.
Solution, leave a tiny bit of space between sections so it will channel/ drain in between.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from Pittsburgh, PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good for a few years

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Replaced ones installed 8 years ago. If you install them correctly (mesh side up) they should last a few years before the sun begins to warp them. They do the job very well.
Pros: Performs Well
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from Pittsburgh PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pay attention to instructions

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Previous owner had a contractor install these guards a decade ago on ours and neighbor house, he installed them upside down. Eventually the filter screen separated and became a dam that collected all sorts of debris adding ice weight in winter and algae in summer. A maple sapling growing up through the guard alerted me to the problem. Install them with the filter screen on the top and they will perform as they were designed.
Pros: Performs Well, Straight, Seals Well, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from Troy, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Very effective gutter guards against debris accumulation!

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These guards have saved me many hours of time I used to have to expend cleaning out rotten leave mold and other debris in my gutters. They are very cost effective!
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Great Value, Economical, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from connecticut
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

after 1 year, the screen (filter)starts to detach

PostedJuly 23, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
bought these just a year ago (installed in Connecticut) and the filter (plastic window screen) is coming loose at the bottom where it is needed (looks like hot melt glue held it on). so as the screen detaches, then the small debris from the trees is able to get in and now you have to remove the gutter guards to clean the gutter, wow what a product.
it has also sagged deep into the gutter from exposure to the sun which leaves a valley for junk to build up in.
BTW, says in the instructions that you should overlap the ends of the pieces, but to do so......you must cut the heavy plastic material yourself - some assembly required
Pros: Economical
Cons: Difficult to Install, poor quality
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from Maryland
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Not bad for the price.

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought these gutter guards to replace several existing items that had become warped and brittle with exposure to sun and weather. It is well know that certain types of plastics are UV sensitive and perhaps this is the case for these items, but it should not be. However to be fair they were installed more than 6 years ago and most of them are fine.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: damaged by weather and sun
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard

Gutter guards

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Easy to instal easy to cut the only thing after a year of the sun betting on them they start to sag . I would recommend getting the steel ones for a little more money. Other wise they do the job.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from Oregon

PostedSeptember 9, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These gutter guards do help keep leaves and debris out of the gutters. However, every unit that received direct afternoon sun during the summer "wilted", and sagged into the gutter, making them useless. Our climate in southern Oregon is considered "moderate". These units could not withstand our "moderate" summers.
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product for gutter covers

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product is exactly what I expected at a reasonable price.
Pros: Easy to Work With, Great Value, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from louisville,ky
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Just dont work

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When i installed them with one side under the shingles, this made the angle to steep.
In a light rain some of the water just ran over the screen and down the outside of the gutter.
i guess i will have to replace them.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Economical, Light Weight
Cons: Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from Salt Lake City
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

You get what you pay for...sometimes

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
These flexible vinyl gutter protectors allowed me options to trim and fit easily.
Pros: Easy to Work With
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard

Easy to install

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Recommend overlapping two inches as noted in instructions, I started out not doing that but changed- much tighter in sealing out small leaves so far. Used tin snips and made fast work of it. These are pretty pliable, leaving some curving where the Bradford pear pears collect so I'll need to figure out how to brush that off but that's better than a clog. Like them so far, fall not fully here yet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from Salem ma
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

This is an excellent product for both a gutter guard and soffet vent

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have used this product in a soffet vent application with excellent results.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from Fairfield, CT, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Amerimax gutter guards

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Really easy to install on standard gutters, easy to cut to size if needed.. But remember to install them correctly! Not clear on labels. The fine screen should be on top. If you install them upside down, the glue will fail in a year or so and the screen will fall off and droop into the gutter.
The price/value should be good...I expect these to last several years, if not more.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: No Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>