728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard

Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard

The Amerimax Snap-In Gutter Filter is a 3 ft. x 6-1/2 in. x 1/2 in. gutter guard with a filter bonded to the plastic. It is designed to keep smaller debris out of the gutter, helping to eliminate clogs. Made of lightweight plastic, the filter is easy to install. The 3 ft. section attaches to the front lip of the gutter. The filter can be used with most K-style gutters.
Overall rating:
3.846 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(78 reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product60 of 76reviews
Rating Breakdown 78 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(39)
4
(20)
3
(1)
2
(4)
1
(14)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product60 of 76reviews
Customer reviews for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
Review 1 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from Bellingham, WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Needles not Leaves

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our need for the gutter filters are from evergreen tree needles, not leaves. It made shopping for something a bit tougher. I am quite pleased with their performance.
The fine mesh glued to the guard does it's job in keeping the needles out, the larger stamped out holes of the guard allow the water through without spilling over the edges.
The installation was a "snap" and the price was great as well.
It is too soon to say just how long the bonded mesh will stay attached to the guard itself - but for us a few seasons of help is comforting.
I am a guy that uses a blower on the roof fairly often as part of routine maintenance - I am pleased with the purchase - the needles blow right off and the troughs are vacant from debris.
My only disappointment - HomeDepot only stocked the color "white". My gutters are brown. I had to order them online but they did come to my door step a week later.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Seals Well, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Economical, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from Pittsburgh, PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good for a few years

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Replaced ones installed 8 years ago. If you install them correctly (mesh side up) they should last a few years before the sun begins to warp them. They do the job very well.
Pros: Performs Well
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from Pittsburgh PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pay attention to instructions

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Previous owner had a contractor install these guards a decade ago on ours and neighbor house, he installed them upside down. Eventually the filter screen separated and became a dam that collected all sorts of debris adding ice weight in winter and algae in summer. A maple sapling growing up through the guard alerted me to the problem. Install them with the filter screen on the top and they will perform as they were designed.
Pros: Performs Well, Straight, Seals Well, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from Allentown, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best low cost solution for gutters

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We've used these for years, and they do a great job of keeping even fine particles out of the gutters. If you have brown or white gutters, these are a great choice. Once in place, and be sure to read the instructions as we put them in the wrong way on our first try, you never have to clean the gutters again. There is a fine screen over the top of the plastic portion now, and it lies on top. The earlier versions did not have this and still kept almost everything from entering. A great low cost alternative to Gutter Helmet and other high end solutions.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Economical, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from Fairfield, CT, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Amerimax gutter guards

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Really easy to install on standard gutters, easy to cut to size if needed.. But remember to install them correctly! Not clear on labels. The fine screen should be on top. If you install them upside down, the glue will fail in a year or so and the screen will fall off and droop into the gutter.
The price/value should be good...I expect these to last several years, if not more.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: No Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from Park Ridge, IL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good quality for the price

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
You can't beat these for the price. I have large trees and I had to replace Rain Filters because of the buildup of debris.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from Iowa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Similar...

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We had something very similar to these on our gutters - best thing we ever bought! Before we had to clean our gutters constantly, and even then we'd end up with clogs when it would start raining. After we installed these, we could check the gutters once a season or less. We got a little too complacent, though. These toppers like to warp in the sun, and then they let in debris and the gutters clog. When we realized how many had warped (after 7 or 8 years in the full western sun) we realized it was time to replace so we ordered these. Husband said these were a little more flimsy than the ones we bought a while ago (go figure...isn't that the way of things these days?), and were a bit harder to install (fit under roofing shingles). But they seem to be doing a good job, and we'll see how they do as the years go by.
Pros: Easy to Work With, Economical
Cons: can warp in sun
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from saratoga
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Great product so far. Time and weather will tell.

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy enough to install. Rain feeds through the screen okay. Will wait to see how the pine needles either get caught or blow off this fall.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Straight, Good Shape, Economical, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from Carmel,New York
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Gutter Guards

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was happy on how easily these are to install. I had originally picked out the more expensive and the sales associate recommended these.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from connecticut
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

after 1 year, the screen (filter)starts to detach

PostedJuly 23, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
bought these just a year ago (installed in Connecticut) and the filter (plastic window screen) is coming loose at the bottom where it is needed (looks like hot melt glue held it on). so as the screen detaches, then the small debris from the trees is able to get in and now you have to remove the gutter guards to clean the gutter, wow what a product.
it has also sagged deep into the gutter from exposure to the sun which leaves a valley for junk to build up in.
BTW, says in the instructions that you should overlap the ends of the pieces, but to do so......you must cut the heavy plastic material yourself - some assembly required
Pros: Economical
Cons: Difficult to Install, poor quality
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from Oregon

PostedSeptember 9, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These gutter guards do help keep leaves and debris out of the gutters. However, every unit that received direct afternoon sun during the summer "wilted", and sagged into the gutter, making them useless. Our climate in southern Oregon is considered "moderate". These units could not withstand our "moderate" summers.
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from Salem ma
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

This is an excellent product for both a gutter guard and soffet vent

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have used this product in a soffet vent application with excellent results.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from Cincinnati, Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Gutter Guard

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The gutter guard went on easily and is doing a very good job.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from delaware
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

average dollar value

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
average dollar value. easy to install and low profile make them obscure but they still need to be cleaned and many homeowners do not realize this. If they are not kept clean, they can cause ice damming and destroy the roof sheathing and framing as well as damage to interior of home. I would recommend with caution.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Maintenance, can cause ice damming
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from Tennessee
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Gutter guards

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Relatively easy to install except for the corners. Seem to be allowing rain water to drain properly, but haven't had them installed very long.
Pros: Great Value, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from Wappingers falls NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Right for the price but would pay more for quality.

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The only problem I have with them is longevity. They do warp as the seasons come and go......They do work well in the beginning but then warp and collapse into the gutters. We just had a hard winter and they did collapse from ice buildup. Because they are plastic they warp....The Mesh does eventually come off.......
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Economical, Light Weight
Cons: warps, collapses
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
from Mountain View, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

This product has done the job and holds up beautifully.

PostedApril 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'd tried a variety of products before coming across this one at Home Depot several years ago. They installed quickly under my cedar shakes and, with an everyday scissors, could be cut to fit at the corners, etc. When I had the house painted last summer, it was a simple and quick process to simply move the guards away from the lip of the gutters to facilitate the painting of the gutters to match the trim. After several years of exposure to the California sun, neither the plastic material nor the screening shows any sign of deterioration.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple to install and cut to fit

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had installed the white color on my home (3) years ago and removed it from the gutters as we had a metal roof installed. When I removed them, the gutters were very clean, they had worked perfectly. I chose not to reinstall the white ones as they showed more in the gutter with the color change of the roof. The dark brown are perfect! Having used these once before, installation and fitment were a breeze. I expect 3-5 years use minimum without needing to climb a ladder twice a year to keep the gutters clean. The value is a steal.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Economical
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard

just what we needed easy to install

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
very easy to install nice looking seems to do the job
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Snap-In Filter Brown Gutter Guard

absolutely awful

PostedOctober 6, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
after 1 year in the Idaho sun they all twisted and deformed. Worst screens I have ever bought.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: curls and twists in the sun
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>