728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Router Edge Guide

Router Edge Guide

Perform straight or grooved router cuts parallel to the edge or your workpiece with the Ryobi edge guide. This handy device is compatible with most Ryobi routers and attaches quickly and easily with the included knob-head screws. Make accurate, precise router swaths without making an investment in a bulky router table.
Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product15 of 15reviews
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(6)
4
(8)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product15 of 15reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Router Edge Guide
Review 1 for Router Edge Guide

ryobi guide

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Well built for the price. Works as expected. I will recommend to other wood workers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Router Edge Guide
from Bogue Chitto, MS 39629, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ryobi Edge Guide Review

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
If you don't have a Router Table, your going to need an Edge Guide. Many companies make them, no sense in paying more for one than you need. The only Caveat which is true for any edge guide is that you need wood to grip to on both sides of the blade to be able to use it. You also need to be using this close to the edge of the wood. With that in mind, you can put a second block of wood to allow you to get closer to the edge, though if you need a straight line in the middle of the wood, you'll need to setup a block of wood with a clamp. I use it for making an inner frame on the inside of my signs, and making mortissen joints with the straight bit. There's surely many more uses, but this is what I have the most uses for. I can setup the edge guide on one board to where it puts the edge of the blade at the end of the depth of one 2x4, then notch several 2x4's without having to measure. Each one will be notched to the proper depth and length! Saves a lot of time.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: can't use close to the corner without extra wood.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Router Edge Guide
from Phoenix
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ryobi Router Edge Guide

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Fit my Ryobi small router just fine, all parts included, quality is good, and works as expected.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Router Edge Guide
from Blaine, Mn
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Almost what I expected

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No assembly required other than the two set screws that hold it in place on the router. I was a little disappointed that it didn't include a replaceable plastic or nylon edge on the guide. It has holes to screw one on but is not provided. It would make the guide slide a little easier against the wood. It does the job and seems to made of decent quality materials.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
Cons: could really use a nylon or plastic edge guide.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Router Edge Guide
from Washington, DC, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Ryobi Router Edge Guide works great

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The Ryobi Router Edge Guide is a valuable addition to the router. The edge guide allows you to make strait cuts that would be impossible to do freehand. If you plan to use your router to make strait cuts on any wood surface, an edge guide is a must have.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Router Edge Guide
from Saint Amant ,Louisiana
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Essential part of my project!

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Since I have retired, my wife has many projects that she thinks I can perform. (Too much watching "This Old House". Without the proper tools and accessories they are almost impossible. I needed this to use my router to make an overhead cut in a 96 inch opening into our re-purposed formal dining room to install a bypass door system.The slot had to hide the hardware for the set of 4 doors. It needed to be the exact width and depth. I am certain that her imagination is not finished utilizing my fishing time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Strong, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Router Edge Guide
from Kulpmont Pa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

nice product to go the 163 router

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
the router edge guide fits my 163 perfectly. It is a really handy accessory to compliant your router
Pros: Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Router Edge Guide
from North Adams MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good guide

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Can't understand why they would make the guide out of metal then cheapen it by supplying plastic locking screws.
These will strip in a heartbeat. I immediately went to my local hardware store & replaced these with metal ones for about $2. (retail).
Other wise guide works flawlessly for making jig saw puzzle frames.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate
Cons: cheap locking screws
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Router Edge Guide
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product gets the job done with some tweaking.

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have a 40 year old Craftsman Router with a guide. Router has .75hp motor which is not big enough, BUT the guide is superior because it allows for very precise settings. I wish the 2013 version had this feature, but alas.......... There has been a question about compatibility with the 180PL Model router, it is compatible, no problem
Pros: Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
Cons: needs a wheel to move to exact setting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Router Edge Guide
from Frederick, MD, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The item works great

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No Problems with item. I can't think of much more to say about a router fence.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Router Edge Guide
from Roswell, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fit perfectly, attaches easily

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Don't buy a generic. For the price and ease of use, buy this guide for your Ryobi router.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Router Edge Guide

Perfect match

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Product is perfect match to power tool. Attaches easily and works well.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Router Edge Guide
from Roseville, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
The edge guide works great but is a lot of money for what it is.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Router Edge Guide
from PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great addition

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Use it with my Ryobi Plunge Router Modelk RE 175. Works great!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Router Edge Guide
from Texas, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good product for the cost.

PostedMay 1, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
An overall good product for the weekend warrior. Could be a little heavier built, but I would still recommend it.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.