728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Handheld Power or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 26CC, 4-Cycle Straight Shaft String Trimmer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

26CC, 4-Cycle Straight Shaft String Trimmer

BUILT TOUGHER, LASTS LONGER We build everything better. From our biggest tractor down to our hand-held equipment. That's why we put durability, reliability and power into our String Trimmers. That's why our equipment is as tough as the pros', yet affordable for homeowners.
Overall rating:
4.091 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product9 of 11reviews
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(5)
4
(3)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(0)
82%of customersrecommend this product9 of 11reviews
Customer reviews for 26CC, 4-Cycle Straight Shaft String Trimmer
Review 1 for 26CC, 4-Cycle Straight Shaft String Trimmer
from Bucks County, PA

Works as I hoped

PostedApril 8, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have to get several pieces of grounds equipment for a new education facility. One of my first purchases was a weed wacker. Looking over the display I saw the Cub Cadet 4 cycle. I decided to give it a try for several reasons, the main one is because a 4 cycle is quieter and doesn't have that screaming sound, don't want to disrupt the classes. I was very pleasantly suprised when I found out it's not only quieter and less annoying than a 2 stroke but I also don't need full throttle to get the job done which makes it even quieter. Another selling feature is it has better emissions than all the other two strokes as we are a new "green" low consumption recycle everything geothermal facility. I
was apprehensive about the fixed line but I found it lasted a good hour of trimming along concrete with minimal wear. My other fillament line trimmers would have required several adjustments where once the line
tangled and a tap didn't work you then had to shut down and disassemble. After a pleasant experience with this all my other portable grounds equipment will be 4 stroke.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 26CC, 4-Cycle Straight Shaft String Trimmer
from Johnson City, TN

PostedJuly 7, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This trimmer is loaded with torque. The 4-stroke runs at a lower RPM making it smooth and quiet. Overall it is a very impressive machine for a MTD product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 26CC, 4-Cycle Straight Shaft String Trimmer
from Evansville,IN

love it

PostedApril 29, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have owned several different brands of trimmers in my life and am always looking at new ones,I came across the cub cadet trimmer yesterday at my local home depot and it was more of an impulse buy than anything but I am very happy I bought it. I used it today on a rather large job and was able to finish this job in 6hrs where it use to take me a day and half with my old husquvarna and I loved that trimmer. it was a hard starter at first but after the first tank of gas was ran through one pull is all it takes. It will cut to high if you are a shorter person but for me being 6'6" the straight shaft is a big plus and didn't hurt my back a bit which was a big problem in the past for me using other trimmers. Its extremely easy to change string and not having to mix your gas and oil is a BIG plus in my book. I love my trimmer and im sure i will for years to come.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 26CC, 4-Cycle Straight Shaft String Trimmer
from Tulsa, OK

Best of the bunch...

PostedJuly 26, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is an excellent weed trimmer. I was surprised to read in one of the other reviews that the user thought it was heavy and unbalanced. I tried out several before I chose this Cub Cadet, and finally chose it because it was the most balanced and was very lightweight. It is very comfortable to use. The straight shaft provides a longer reach when you adjust the handle appropriately.
I like the four-stroke, primarily because you don't have to mix gas and oil, but it also has a lot of power. It cuts through tall grass and weeds without bogging down. Four-stroke engines are also supposed to last much longer than two-strokes, but we'll see.
I really like the fixed line instead of the bump-feed because the heavier string lasts much longer, and you don't have to constantly untangle a spool. As long as you don't go commando into bricks or metal, the line lasts a long time and is easy to change by hand with no tools.
I've owned several different makes of trimmers, and so far, this has been my favorite.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 26CC, 4-Cycle Straight Shaft String Trimmer
from vermont

worth its money

PostedAugust 13, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have recently bought one of these and it works great . The Expand it found at your local home depot DO fit the cub cadets. I spent hours using the brush expandit that happens to also come with a strap attachment that i purchased the same day and it didnt seem to get to heavy unlike some other trimmers that i have used in the past 10 years of caring for lawns and gardens. Only had it for a few day's but sofar its been just an amazing product with enoughpower to take down 1inch shrubs and trees
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 26CC, 4-Cycle Straight Shaft String Trimmer

C'Mon People!

PostedMay 15, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a good trimmer, assuming it turns out to have the long term reliability that I expect from a 4-cycle. My previous trimmer was a Ryobi. It performed well for two years then became unreliable. Yes, it was maintained by the book and used residentially. My first impressions are that this 4-cycle isn't much heavier than the Ryobi, if at all. It runs quieter. Emissions are cleaner. It runs at a much lower RPM, which I expect will extend its life. It DOES (contrary to a previous post)allow the use of the attachments available at HD. I use the Expand It Edger, and I can also use the curved shaft bumpline trimmer from my old Ryobi if I want. In fact it handles the attachments better than the Ryobi did because Cub uses a better guide system inside the shaft. Attachments snap in quickly without any wiggling to try to line things up. The fixed line spool is better than bumpline in my opinion. You can use a tougher, larger diameter line and make changes very quickly without taking anything apart. My personal experience with bumpline was riddled with tangled or welded line, so this is a welcomed change. Now I know why I see commercial landscapers using fixed line spools. I also like the fact that I can idle or use slower speeds with the 4-cycle. Run your 2-cycle at anything less than full throttle for extended periods of time and it will bleed oil from the cylinder. Lastly, the Cub 4-cycle has more torque. It doesn't bog down. This is particularly noticeable with an edger attachment. The Ryobi would scream along at high RPM like it could cut through anything, until you gave it something tough to cut. A little clay or heavy grass stopped the Ryobi cold. The Cub seems to plow right along.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 26CC, 4-Cycle Straight Shaft String Trimmer
from Alabama

Great product, well worth the money

PostedSeptember 18, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have had alot of string trimmers, all have been two stroke. I was a little apprehensive about the four stroke, I knew there would be a little extra weight, the four stars was givin due to no shoulder strap. Got one the next day, problem solved. I have also gotten the edger attachment, it works great also, I read some reviews on this model and noticed a few people saying the attachments would not work, no problem here, the ex-pand it fits just as well as the head provided by Cub Cadet and as well as Ryobi. Great product, plenty of power & no mixing gas.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 26CC, 4-Cycle Straight Shaft String Trimmer
from Dallas, Texas

Good Luck w/ Attachments

PostedJanuary 18, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Much better design/build quality than the Ryobi. Starts easily and trims weeds well. Despite what others may have experienced with Expand-it Attachments, they don't work as well on my unit. Either they don't spin at full speed or risk burning your clutch up as I did using the pole saw. Guess that is why the manual says "use only Cub Cadet attachments with unit" Had unit only six months and the only problem experienced was the worn out clutch.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 26CC, 4-Cycle Straight Shaft String Trimmer
from Salem, NJ

chose carefully

PostedMay 1, 2007
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I've had my CC straight shaft for 2 weeks and it's an good weed-wacker. I have had a few issues. First, if you're used to a older trimmer that isn't heavy, this one will shock you. It's heavy and not quite as balanced as I would of excpected. Second, the straight shaft makes the angle of cut a little ackward for a tall person (I'm 6'3"). Third, if you have anything larger than a small yard....make sure you care a small screw driver and a few of the string lenths with you. You'll do alot more walking around to get new ones if you don't. Forth and this is a big one.. ONE attachment!! A blower....yippy. I looked on my previuos tirp to HD and all the edger, cultivator and brush cutting attachments that are stached just below the CC's and kind of have that matching yellow on the box, DON'T WORK ON CUB CADET! I think they work on every other make of trimmer made but CC. On the positives.... the 4 stroke is sweet. No more mixing or smoke and it has a big gas tank for big jobs. It also has a lot of power...there is no reason to have it screaming all the time. Half throttle will cover almost everything.
In conclusion, If you want attachments, buy something else. If you have alot of straight trimming to do...but it, you wont be disapointed with its perfomance.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 26CC, 4-Cycle Straight Shaft String Trimmer
from Lafayette. LA

Short falls MTD

PostedApril 23, 2007
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The customer service in horrendous. There is no customer service number where you can speak to someone either on line or in the manual. Nor is there an email address where you can get help. There is only automated answering systems. To get help and information, I had to go through Home Depot. They were very courteous in assisting me in locating a number to speak to a human being. Even with their efforts, it to 3 automated system to get to a human being.
The machine handles well. There are two objections to the design. First it cuts too high. To get a low cut you must hold the machine at an awkward angle. Secondly, this is a personal preference, it only has a fixed line head. I prefer a bump head to keep a constant line length.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 26CC, 4-Cycle Straight Shaft String Trimmer
from Fresno, Ca

PostedApril 30, 2007
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I returned this trimmer the same day that I bought it. I took it home and used it once. The motor was very powerful but thats about it. The fixed line didn't cut very well and wore off completely before I even finished my back yard, I was cutting weeds that were about 2 feet tall. It cuts very high and you pretty much have to put the head in the dirt to cut anything. I probably would have kept it if it had a bump line instead. The fixed line on it is worthless.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.