728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 1 HP Stainless Steel/Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch

1 HP Stainless Steel/Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch

The RIDGID 1 HP Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical float switch pumps up to 5,400 GPH at 0 ft. of lift. This pump has durable construction of stainless-steel and cast-iron and a thermally-protected motor that resets automatically.
Overall rating:
2.526 / 5
2.5
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
43%of customersrecommend this product16 of 37reviews
Rating Breakdown 38 reviews
2.5 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(5)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(19)
Ease of installation 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Quality 
2.1 out of 5.0
2.1 out of 5
Value 
2.1 out of 5.0
2.1 out of 5
43%of customersrecommend this product16 of 37reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for 1 HP Stainless Steel/Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
Review 1 for 1 HP Stainless Steel/Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch

DON'T BUY A RIDGID

PostedFebruary 9, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm not a pro - but I do know how to install a sump pump. I read one of the other Ridgid reviews and agree, don't get sucked in by the lifetime warranty, you'll spend more in drying out your basement. The Ridgid I purchased less than 5 months ago failed this week. $600 later to dry my basement, I'm now going back to the old Hydromatic that I only replaced because it was 14 years old - not because it didn't work. This is the 2nd Ridgid I replaced. I thought the first failure was just a fluke - but it wasn't. There are several good sump pumps that I have learned about and they are not any more expensive than this one.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1 HP Stainless Steel/Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from Westchester, NY

Worry free sump pump

PostedApril 16, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently had to replace a sump pump and decided to look for the one which offered the highest quality,best warranty, and most reliable switch technology. After researching numerous models, both in Home Depot and speaking to several service technicians, I purchased the Ridgid SSP 1000. It is actually manufactured exclusively for Ridgid by Wayne Pumps, and the water sensor technology was the top selling point, together with the top suction intake which eliminates the issue of air-lock. Not worrying about switch placement or malfunction is very important.
I have had the unit for several months, and it works as advertised. It is quiet, takes up little space (I have a back-up battery powered unit in the same pit), and I recommend it highly. The manufacturer service representative convinced me that I did not have to drill a small hole in the discharge pipe to prevent air-lock, and this is also a positive.
Bottom line - this pump is well designed and worth the money and peace of mind.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1 HP Stainless Steel/Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from SULLIVAN, OH

THE BEST PUMP OUT THERE

PostedMay 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We are in an area that is very very wet. We have tried every pump you can imagine and this is the only one that will stay up and continue working. We have had 2 Flotech pumps and the last one last only 1 1/2 weeks!! This one lasted years and we had it serviced at the local manufacturer (Rich Tool) and they didn't charge anything. There is no better pump and we have tried several brands and this is the only one I will ever buy!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1 HP Stainless Steel/Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from Cleveland Ohio

Ridgid Smart switch

PostedMay 9, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Ridgid one hp with smartswitch is not a good product in my opinion. Mine is less than 18 months old, and the switch does not turn off the pump. You can not rely on a pump that will not shut off, because the pump will overheat and fail (as mine did). My suggestion is not to purchase this item.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1 HP Stainless Steel/Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from McCaysville, GA 10 miles from the Blue Ridge store

Why I'm a Home Depot customer>

PostedOctober 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For many years I've struggled with that sump pump's rubber ball that will start the pump but never worked. It always got stuck between the wall of the concrete hole the pump rests in. Result... water in the basement. Drove me absolutely nuts. Then I saw Home Depot's ad in my newspaper. No rubber ball but the newest invention the WaterSense Switch and...this switch comes with a lifetime warrantee, wow that's it, went to Home Depot and the pump has found it's place in my basement and works perfectly.This new WaterSense Switch is the answer. Now I can sleep at night without the fear my basement has changed into a swimming pool. Thanks Home Depot, that's why I'm a customer since you opened your first 3 "warehouse stores" in Atlanta, GA
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1 HP Stainless Steel/Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from Central IL

Good pump - not so good switch

PostedJanuary 24, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a very good heavy duty pump that I bought mainly because of the "LIFETIME" electronic switch. Like many others who have reviewed this pump I began to have problems with the switch, even though I only have clean ground water entering the sump.
.
Mine seems to develop a rusty coating on the plastic switch after a few months of operation. Replacing the switch isn't a good option because it costs $70 and it would experience the same problem eventually. Other reviewers tried using methods like a scrub brush periodically but eventually gave up because the switch is too hard to access.
.
What I chose to do was to remove the switch from the side of the pump by unscrewing the pump housing bolt that retains it, then reinstalling the bolt. Once the switch is free it's very easy to pull it up out of the sump by its cord to clean it. The most effective way I found to clean the switch is to use something that will remove the rust like CLR and a scotchbrite pad. Rather than remounting the switch on the side of the pump, I chose to just suspend it by its own cord at the level I wanted to maintain. I also found that keeping the switch away from the pump or sides of the pit seemed to help keep the switch clean longer.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1 HP Stainless Steel/Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch

Constantly running

PostedFebruary 3, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this product several months ago and the first month it worked like a charm, quiet, fast and reliable. Suddenly, the pump was constantly running and began to make weird loud noises. After research I realized that the switch-less sensor needs constant cleaning. Seriously who wants to disconnect and pump and clean a sensor. You should be able to connect and forget about it.
If you ONLY have semi-clean water pour into your basin this pump will work great but God forbid the sensor gets dirty.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1 HP Stainless Steel/Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch

Poor Quality Product

PostedMarch 13, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this pump in a pinch at a home depot. The unit worked great for the first year. I don't like the electronic water sensor. The pump runs for 10 secs and pauses for a second to check the water level. This means you lose 10% of its efficiency since it is runs roughly 90% of the time in a 10 sec cycle. It can keep up with the water after heavy storms like we just had in the north east.
The pump eventually died after 1 1/2 years of use. I would never buy this product again.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1 HP Stainless Steel/Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from Akron, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor switch, avoid at all cost

PostedOctober 22, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this product due to the watersense switch which I thought would be great. Instead the sensor activates the pump anytime something touches it, and it also gets a film build up on it that makes it run constantly. You have to clean the sensor all the time. My pump lasted about a year and a half and then burned out due to running constantly. Get a pump with a real switch and avoid the watersense.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1 HP Stainless Steel/Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch

2 years strong

PostedJanuary 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had this pump for 2 years and have been very happy with it. As some posters said I did clean the sensor every once and a while but about a year later I put a backup system on it and haven't cleaned it and it's been working great still.
Any system should have a backup system for when the power goes out anyways but this pump works great and is much quieter than the last one.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1 HP Stainless Steel/Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from Allegan MIchigan

bad pump

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
bought this pump four months ago went bad today do not buy
loud, water sense switch has to be cleaned or will run forever
what good is lifetime pump if it cant make it four months. rigid is know better than flotec . just keep replacing them thats why thay stop lifetime. three or five now not bad , but four months
bummer again DO NOT BUY!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1 HP Stainless Steel/Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from Buffalo, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good pump...so far.

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I installed this SUMP in january 2008 and it has done well for me so far. Also, I haven't performed any maintenance on it since I installed it. I live in Buffalo, NY in a rather wet area so it gets quite a work-out. The sump water is quite clean, so that probably contributed to its rather long operation time without cleaning.
After saying this, today it would run then stop for ~10 seconds, then run again. This happened continuously until I unplugged it. After leaving it unplugged for 10 minutes or so and plugged it back in, it seems to be working normal again. I'll most likely have to clean the sensor...
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1 HP Stainless Steel/Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from Boston, MA

Switch and Pump Failures

PostedMarch 12, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had the same problem with this pump as mentioned by several others plus some. The switch is sensitive to any film that forms on it and must be wiped clean on a routine basis to remain woking. I have nothing but ground water coming into the sump (no washer water) but the switch gets coated anyway. I bought this pump because the old pump swith failed and I wanted this electonic switch. Poor design that requires routine (weekly) maintenance. More importantly, the pump recently failed because the rods that hold the top and bottom of the pump together corroded and broke. Thought they were made of stainless steel, but appaently they aren't. The whole thing fell apart right when I was going away on a trip the next morning. Bad timing to say the least. I have had other Ridgid pumps and haven't had this type of problem. Just a poor design all over. I would recommend a cheaper plastic pump that you can throw away after a couple of years to this expensive one.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1 HP Stainless Steel/Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from Westlake, Ohio

warrenty

PostedApril 27, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have had this pump work well for 4 years and it suddenly stopped working , it took it to home depot and they replaced it with a brand new one. No hastle. No receipt. Thank god the backup system was working so no flood,. it took 5 min to replace and i am not a plumber. Warrenty makes it worth while.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1 HP Stainless Steel/Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from Flint MI

quiet but sensor is flawed

PostedNovember 22, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I put in a back up system and decided to replace the sump.The sump is much quieter than the old one. But
Within one month the lifetime watersense switch failed. It stuck in the closed position. I replaced the switch with a float. Recommendation: buy one with a mechanical switch.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1 HP Stainless Steel/Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from Columbus, OH

Rigid 1 HP Pump failed

PostedMarch 12, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am disappointed in this pump. I have a lot of water comes in so my pump runs *alot* of cycles. It failed this week after I'd say only 3 years. The 'lifetime' switch was working, but the motor is seized up...
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1 HP Stainless Steel/Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from Wilmington, OH

Shortcomings with technology

PostedDecember 3, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Technology does not work in a number of situations where material accumulates on the surface of the switch. Includes: washing machine discharge, ground water that has a high iron content. I'd recommend FloTec product.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1 HP Stainless Steel/Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from New Jersey

If not for the electric......

PostedMarch 15, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We've had this 1 HP pump for almost a year now. On 3/13/10 the electricity went out for almost 24 hours leaving us with 3 inches of water in the basement. (Sure wish we had a generator)!
When the electricity came back on we thought for sure the pump would overheat from constant pumping - it was cycling on every 15 seconds. In 2 hours - all the standing water in the basement was gone. It was truly amazing! Yes - we still had to wet vacuum and broom the puddles but at that point we didn't care.
So - now I want to purchase an axillary pump & set the float at a higher on/off elevation. After reading other peoples reviews about the WaterSense switch I thought it best not put all my eggs in one basket. Although I am (so far) VERY happy with this pump I ended up purchasing a Zoeller 1/3 HP (BN53).
I also went into the basement and cleaned off the switch like everyone else is doing. The ground water here has a high iron content and there was a very thick film on the switch. I will now clean it every month during the rainy season to ensure the switch remains clean. Wiping the switch every month is not a big deal. A big deal is having a flooded basement full of mutant cave crickets.
By and by - I am happy with this pump but I'm hooking up a second pump - just in case. (By the way - we once purchased the battery back up pump - what a waste of money! It worked one time and that's it).
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1 HP Stainless Steel/Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from Manchester, NH

WaterSense Switch design poor

PostedMarch 30, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was the strongest (1 HP) pump available in the store at the time. The pump itself works well. I noticed that the pump kept cycling. Apparently the instruction manual says that the switch cycles on for a maximum of 16 seconds before shutting off for about 10. When you are pumping large volumes of water (heavy rains, or after a power outage) this makes the pump far less effective. It also adds wear and tear to the pump by constantly starting, and stopping it. You can bypass the level switch, but whats the point of having one then. I'd stick with a good old fashioned float switch.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1 HP Stainless Steel/Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump with Vertical Float Switch
from Buffalo, NY

Sounds Nice, But...

PostedMarch 8, 2008
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I purchased this 1HP Rigid pump after my 1/2HP Rigid model's switch stopped working. The Watersense switch on this unit sounded like a good idea, which is why I purchased it. No moving parts, and it plugs in between your outlet and the pumps A/C plug so you can unplug the switch and plug the pump directly into an outlet if the switch ever does fail (Emergency only, until you get a replacement). The pump is also very solid, including a cast iron base and impeller, along with a stainless steel casing.
I'm giving this model 3 stars because I am actually having a problem with the switch on this unit, and it's only about 3 weeks old! When I first plugged the unit in, everything was great. It emptied the water quickly and shut off right at the point where the water started to cavitate (heard the cavitation/slurping for a split second, maybe 1/4 second). About 3 days later the pump started to continue to run longer and longer after the water level was below the inlet holes, making for a continuous loud slurping sound. After 5 days the pump was at the point of not shutting off until about 5-6 seconds after the water got down to the inlet holes. No water was being pumped during those seconds, just air.
The noise at that point was pretty loud. I could hear the gurgling/slurping noise from anywhere on the first floor, and even on the 2nd! Annoying to say the least, especially at night time when things are generally quieter. It also runs every few minutes because of the rainy/snowy weather we're having.
Because it's the switch that operates the pump at certain water levels, I examined it for any irregularities, but found none. It was attached right, nothing was on or near it, and the pump was sitting level in the bottom of the sump. For kicks I scrubbed the plastic switch off with a scrub brush, and low and behold it was acting like when I first put it in. The water in my sump is just ground water, with the addition of a washing machine empting into it as well, about weekly. Sure it's not spring water, but my water is like anyone else's sump water. There wasn't any noticeable residue or anything on the switch after the few days it started to act up. I've never had any water issues in the sump either, especially from the washing machine water.
I went through this "several days then scrub" deal for 3 weeks now, and I've had enough. The switch can't be removed easily to raise it to a higher level (It's non-adjustable), nor should it have to be in my opinion. The switch still got worse after the quick scrubbings, even when no washing machine water was put into the sump.
I like the Rigid brand, but after dealing with a few Rigid sump pumps that didn't live up to what I think should be their standard task, I've looked elsewhere.
One last thing to note on these Rigid brand pumps are the small inlet holes on all their models. They're just slightly bigger than 1/8" square. Sure, it may filter things nicely, but it can also get clogged up nicely too. It took not even a year for the little (and I mean little) lint particles from my washing machine to clog my old 1/2HP unit about 60% up. This makes for inefficient pumping, and more strain on the motor. Not to mention a pain to clean! Not good!
If you don't have a washing machine draining into your sump or don't mind chancing this new Watersense switch technology out, I'd say go for it. The motor and casing on these units should last a very long time. I had to take my old 1/2HP model apart to clean it and it looked very solid inside. I ended up saving about $100, getting a better/easier to repair/get parts for model in my opinion, and solving my lint problems with another brands pump.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>