728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Grinders or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder

4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder

The Ryobi 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder features a side handle that rotates left and right to offer 3 unique working positions, helping you use the grinder in a variety of applications. The ergonomic grinder handle features GripZone technology for steadiness and comfort. The grinder runs at 11,000 RPM to deliver powerful grinding performance.
Overall rating:
4.041 / 5
4
 / 
5
(49 reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
77%of customersrecommend this product36 of 47reviews
Rating Breakdown 49 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(31)
4
(6)
3
(3)
2
(1)
1
(8)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
77%of customersrecommend this product36 of 47reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
Review 1 for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder

Good hard working grinder

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had the previous version of this grinder for six years. As a handyman It is used frequently. I finally burned it out after going through four 4" twisted wire brushes to grind the paint off a concrete block wall of a gymnasium. It took three days. I've used it for cutting the tops off fence posts, cutting metal, pointing walls and chimneys, cutting tile, sanding, cutting stone, and many other things. I love the control you get with the handle and trigger. You can work with it all day without getting tired. The key to using this or any other tool is let the tool do the work. Don't force it. You will remove more material faster by letting the tool run at speed and preserve the tool as well. If it starts to get hot either give it a rest or let it spin free to circulate air through it. The new one works just as great and has the advantage of the swiveling handle. With a slight modification of the old case and this one is back where it belongs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder

Impressive performance

PostedSeptember 10, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I'm a welder/metal fabricator and have used many grinders from various big name companies. I thought I'd give this grinder a shot because it's cheap compared to my other grinders I have. Performance and ergonomics on this grinder have won me over. I use it daily as a light duty grinder. Mostly deburring parts and knocking down small welds. It doesn't have the amperage needed to hog out bevels and flush out welds in a timely manner but is very capable of doing so. I have found it to be very sensitive to an abrasive wheels balance. If your abrasive wheel isn't quite balanced the grinder will vibrate quite a bit. I have had no issues using this grinder with cut off wheels. I actually prefer using it to cut with for the fact that it's lighter than my other grinders and it's lower amperage so it doesn't want to yank itself out of my hands if it starts to get wedged. Most impressive of all is that it has outlasted some of the more expensive big name grinders I have had the displeasure of owning and using.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

only for grinding and sanding

PostedFebruary 24, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
unit has a nice feel but manual states only for grinding and sanding and not for cutting, Also manual states that only offset wheels can be used. When properly installed the strait wheels bought at Home Depot are loose, you can reverse the collet but manual says not to.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
from Kansas, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great grinder

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this is a great little grinder , I own several of them and have never had any problems, I would recommend this grinder to everyone.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
from long island
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great product

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was very impressed with the performance of this machine. good thing the store was close by and the job was completed on time.
Pros: Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
from HOT! from Phoenix!

RYOBI switch

PostedAugust 13, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have two of these and I love them. I fabricate ornamental iron as a hobby and use them almost every day for sanding, grinding, and slitter wheel cutting everything from I-beams to concrete, but mostly 16ga steel tube. I even run 7" diamond blades, slitters and sanding discs on both, but I have to be careful not to either overheat or overspeed them.
I prefer to run them on speed controls, but I'm not sure the switch likes it. Sometimes run them at full speed until they were too hot to touch. I'm impressed. They're still going - one's 5yrs old, the other 1yr.
The wrench in handle and snap on guard are great! The size and trigger switch on handle are great. The rotatable handle has not been used, although the tool has been used in all positions.
I would rate it 5 STARS but for one thing. I'm about to buy the SWITCH for the 5th & 6th time! I'm about to replace it the third time on each! It's only $5, but the down time, the wait for order, and the dis/re-assembly get quite frustrating.
RYOBI can you please upgrade the switch design a little?
btw I did not use the last replacement switch with the speed control and it failed quickest!
I recommend these all the time because they're SO economical, but always with that switch caveat.
Thanks!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Dead after about one hour of use over one day

PostedMay 29, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I picked this grinder up based on price and the fact that it came with a case and figured I'd give it a try. Operation was just fine while it ran and I much prefer the location of the switch versus the location that other inexpensive grinders generally have. I used a segmented 4" wet/dry diamond blade with it to notch some concrete roof tiles and when I reached my second to last cut it suddenly stopped working. No burning, overheating, or other odd behavior, just "no workie". I will be returning it to Home Depot and while it may have just been a fluke, I am going with one of the big names in the hopes of buying a tool that lasts longer than you want it to rather than failing to complete one project.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
from Central Florida

Felt right out of the box

PostedSeptember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just bought this grinder on a recommendation from a friend. I was pleasantly pleased when I used it. My last grinder purchase was based on motor amps, 7 amps, and name brand loyalty. This was less amps, 5.5, but a great product.
1) Ran much smoother and quieter ,than the one I returned. Sounds and feels like a good product should.
2) I like the feel of the pistol grip, that is can rotate is nice, but not that a big deal
3) Two year limited warranty is a nice plus
4)Comes with a case , a definite plus. DeWalts products usually came with cases, I guess cost cutting has eliminated that.
5) Wrench fits in handle, a nice plus, handy place to keep from loosing it.
6) Comes with a wire wheel and a cup sander, the other brands did not.
I am a power plant mechanic so I know tools.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
from Westchester, NY

Another great Ryobi product

PostedSeptember 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought it to cope trim. I use 2 sanding disks back to back. After some trial and error learning to cope, it is now a very fast and accurate way to cope MDF. The tool is perfect for what I need. Powerful, stable, and inexpensive. The only thing I would change is to have some form of braking on the spinning wheel to stop the wheel when the trigger is released.
My tool snob buddies always look down at my Ryobi gear, but every Ryobi product I have works well and usually has some innovative features.
And with HD"s return policy, I can try the tool and return it if it is not good enough. But I have never returned a Ryobi product, including this grinder.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
from Chicago

Good quality grinder.

PostedJune 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
. My old grinder finally died and I needed to replace it. I had a gift card from Home Depot so I went to look at their products. I found most of the little grinders have a sliding on off switch. I don't think that is very safe. I noticed this on has the index finger button my larger grinders have. I didn't want to buy a Ryobi product, I wanted Dewalt or Ridged.
I don't know about the other Rob tools but this grinder is very good. I have used it to cut copper, tile, sand steel and wood. The swivel base is a big plus. On top of all the features its also very low cost.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
from Wilmington, NC

Works great so far....

PostedFebruary 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this tool to use for small things like sharpening my axe, mower blades, etc. I put it through a couple heavy usage days and it held up well. You can use either the flat discs or the depressed center disks, which is a plus for using it as a cutoff tool (you have to flip the locking nut over so the flat side is touching the disc to use a flat disc!). Great design with the paddle grip that rotates and the key tucked neatly away in the handle. Also comes with a case, so for 40 dollars it can't be beat.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder

Limited Functions

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this grinder to cut grooves in the stone hearth in front of my fireplace so that I can install hardwood floors. Nothing on the box indicates that this tool uses only Type 27 (indented) wheels, and cannot use Type 1 diamond wheels used for cutting. Now I am suspicious of other brands, wondering which ones allow for Type 1 wheels. It's too bad this one doesn't do the job. The price was great.
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
from Far Rockaway, NY

This Tool is ONLY for Sanding and Grinding!

PostedNovember 3, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This grinder is designed ONLY for sanding and grinding, not for cut-off work. It is designed to only accept Type 27 discs that have a depressed center, NOT Type 1, flat discs. Using it for a purpose it was not designed will probably void the warranty at the very least, and more importantly, endanger the operator.
As a sander/grinder, it's a fine tool, like most other Ryobi products. Just do not use it for doing cutting work.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder

comes with extras

PostedMay 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
nice little grinder ,I like the trigger switch,it's very comfortable to use. Also comes with a wire wheel, grinding wheel,and a sandpaper wheel, what a bonus.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder

Great for around the house

PostedDecember 14, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I picked up this grinder because I had some cutting to do (round bar and 18 gage) and didn't want spend all day with a hacksaw. My Father and Brother laughed at me, using the old "elbow grease" speeches. After they seen how quickly I was able to rip through my work they were impressed and so was I. I've had it for about a year now and although I've only used it a handful of times, it has always made me glad I bought it. By the way, now I get to use the elbow grease sarcasm right back at them, after all it seems they use it more than I do now. It's a great little grinder for the price.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
from Walla Walla
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent tool for the money

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a low cost grinder that I picked up to help me out with a specific job. I was pleased with the rotation of the handle with makes for ease of use. I figured that if it didn't last forever I would still get my money out of it. It works like a charm and I'm actually hoping it will last a long time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
from Tucson, AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best 4 1/2" angle grinder I have ever owned. I will probably buy another one.

PostedApril 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The grinder is comfortable to use. The built-in spanner wrench holder is terrific, no more hunting to the wrench. It has good power and the no tools required guard clamp is a plus.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
from Morrison, CO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great grinder for a great price

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had this grinder for a few years now and granted I take great care of my tools no matter if they cost $ or $$$ but long story short I was helping a friend cut a bunch of 1/2" bolts in a concrete floor and while his cough cough* yellow grinder was sitting in the corner cooling off, my Ryobi finished the job. Score!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: can't get it to do my laundry
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
from Jacksonville, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hard Working Grinder

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought the grinder for a large project and has been stellar with all blades
Pros: Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You get what you pay for these days

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this angle grinder from Home Depot in May, and while I do admit that I have worked it like a racehorse, it just recently broke and my next model will not be a Ryobi. I used it almost daily for several months including projects like cutting my Jeep fenders, fabricating a roof rack, making a metal table, sanding/cutting horseshoes, etc. It still runs well, but the cheap plastic locking button to change out discs broke rendering it relatively useless. The cost of shipping it back to Ryobi is not worth it, so I will be purchasing a new one. These are very handy tools for nearly any metal/wood project you can think of, but I think that Ryobi quality is not what it used to be so my next angle grinder will be from a different manufacturer.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>