728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Laminate Tile & Stone Flooring or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Black and White Chess Slate 8 mm Thick x 11-9/16 in. W x 46-5/16 in. L Laminate Flooring-DISCONTINUED

Black and White Chess Slate 8 mm Thick x 11-9/16 in. W x 46-5/16 in. L Laminate Flooring-DISCONTINUED

Black and White Chess Slate 8mm + 2mm Preattached Underlayment Thick x 11-9/16 in. Wide x 46-5/16 in. Long Laminate Flooring features the beautiful appearance of genuine slate with its Interplank design and embossed register texture that also improves slip resistance. This flooring includes a 2mm noise reducing foam underlayment that helps expedite installation along with micro bevel edges and a floating click design. It is suitable for installation above, on or below grade with concrete or hardwood subfloors.
Overall rating:
4.636 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product9 of 10reviews
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Appearance 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product9 of 10reviews
Customer reviews for Black and White Chess Slate 8 mm Thick x 11-9/16 in. W x 46-5/16 in. L Laminate Flooring-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for Black and White Chess Slate 8 mm Thick x 11-9/16 in. W x 46-5/16 in. L Laminate Flooring-DISCONTINUED
from Johnstown,Pennsylvania

The Beauty of Slate with the Benefits of Laminate

PostedJuly 13, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently purchased and installed about 300 square feet of the DuPont RealTouch Black and White Chess Slate Flooring at Home Depot Online. I wanted to replace the cheap looking self-stick vinyl tile that was in the second kitchen adjacent to my office in my residence. The self-stick vinyl tiles were only 10 years old but had begun to crack in the corners and the seams between tiles had slowly grown wide enough to appear ugly. Theses tiles were on a wood subfloor so I could dreaded the task of having to remove them. If you ever have tried removing self-stick tiles from wood subfloors you know that the tiles break apart into several parts during removal and take wood chips along with them. It is backbreaking,messy and frustrating work.
I realized after carefully looking at the DuPont RealTouch Laminate flooring that they would be able to be installed on TOP of the self-stick tiles and still function well. Better yet, DuPont would honor their 30 year warranty for the floor installed this way because their was a wood subfloor underneath and a vapor barrier. I would not have to remove those dreaded self-stick tiles that I regretted installing a decade before.
Away I went and in one day I had installed 300 square feet of the DuPont RealTouch Black and White Chess Slate Flooring. The second day took me only 3 hours to install the Black Slate Quarter Round on the perimeter of the floor and attach the transitions from the office carpeting. The Black Slate Quarter Round functions as essentially shoemolding for both the Black Slate and the Black and White Chess Slate Flooring from DuPont. I definitely think a buyer of this flooring should purchase this shoemolding (Quarteround)as it gives the floor an extra finished look and it covers the 1/4 inch gaps that you must leave around the floor perimeter.(Always remember to fill those gaps with silicone to protect the floor from wetness/moisture and keep your warranty)
The results were fantastic. This Flooring looks great and you really can not see the seams between the planks at all. The tongue and groove attachment method DuPont uses on thier large rectangular planks makes the floor when installed properly look like a real slate floor. No matter how close I look with the brightest lightbulbs I can NOT see the seams between the planks. That is truly incredible for a laminate floor.Simply stated, the DuPont RealTouch Laminate looks like real slate flooring. It is very classy and feels great to walk on with the built-in padding. DuPont really must have spent years designing this flooring as it has a quality feel and look and just does not look at all like typical laminate flooring. This is easily the best laminate flooring I have ever had and I recommend it without reservation.
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Black and White Chess Slate 8 mm Thick x 11-9/16 in. W x 46-5/16 in. L Laminate Flooring-DISCONTINUED
from Iowa

So far, so good

PostedJanuary 10, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We installed this flooring last month. No, we didn't do it ourselves -- we had our contractor do it. He was pretty impressed with the attached padding and said he's never seen a laminate that had that before. Installation went very quickly. Upkeep has been very easy; I use only water and a well-wrung out mop to clean.
One downside is that the flooring seems to scratch fairly easily, so you need to be VERY careful when moving furniture, etc. For the money it cost, and the ease of installation and future removal (no glue, no problem!), this flooring was truly a good deal. I probably wouldn't install it in a room off an outside entrance because of the scratching tendency. Overall, we are happy with our purchase. I'd like to see a larger variety of laminate planks by DuPont, as selection is pretty limited.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Black and White Chess Slate 8 mm Thick x 11-9/16 in. W x 46-5/16 in. L Laminate Flooring-DISCONTINUED
from camby in
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The floor is beautiful. Product is good quality and easy to work with.

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed the laminate myself,and I am 67 years old. The dupont laminate is of excellent quality,and easy to put together. I insalled it at a 45% angle to get a diamond patteren. It turned out beautiful. For a great look and the ease to install,I would recommend this product to anyone. Home depot is great on getting your order to you in a timely matter. You folks are great to work with. All our friends are envious of our new kitchen floor.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Black and White Chess Slate 8 mm Thick x 11-9/16 in. W x 46-5/16 in. L Laminate Flooring-DISCONTINUED
from NC

Easy to install

PostedFebruary 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We installed about 300 square feet of this product in our entryway and guest bathroom. It was very easy to install and looks great! We installed it over a year ago and it still looks great and holds up to a lot of traffic.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Black and White Chess Slate 8 mm Thick x 11-9/16 in. W x 46-5/16 in. L Laminate Flooring-DISCONTINUED
from Cottleville

PostedMarch 1, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Beautiful flooring and very easy to install!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Black and White Chess Slate 8 mm Thick x 11-9/16 in. W x 46-5/16 in. L Laminate Flooring-DISCONTINUED

not for reno!

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wouldn't recommend this product if you are cutting around existing cabinets and other fixtures. Saw blade was dull in an hour and it made a lot of waste then never really locked seamlessly. It got dinged twice during the installation, it's a bit delicate. Use single tiles instead!
Cons: Scratches Easily
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Black and White Chess Slate 8 mm Thick x 11-9/16 in. W x 46-5/16 in. L Laminate Flooring-DISCONTINUED
from Middletown, NJ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is the best laminate flooring I have ever installed

PostedApril 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a home owner and I have installed many laninate floors but i have never installed a floor that when I was completed I could not locate the seams... I highly recommend the floor
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Black and White Chess Slate 8 mm Thick x 11-9/16 in. W x 46-5/16 in. L Laminate Flooring-DISCONTINUED
from Baltimore, MD

AMAZED

PostedApril 12, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After living in a home with old vinyl tile for 9years, after having the dupont chess laminate slate tile installed it was amazing the difference in how clean how great it felt walking on it, I love the product and I am also putting it in more rooms in my home
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Black and White Chess Slate 8 mm Thick x 11-9/16 in. W x 46-5/16 in. L Laminate Flooring-DISCONTINUED
from Seymour, Tx

Very Good Price for such Great flooring

PostedApril 30, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I absolutly love this flooring, It is very high quality. Easy to install and looks great. Definitly exceeded my expectatios.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Black and White Chess Slate 8 mm Thick x 11-9/16 in. W x 46-5/16 in. L Laminate Flooring-DISCONTINUED
from San Jose, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Glad to find such a quality product to provide the checkerboard floor look

PostedJune 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This flooring has an excellent appearance and was easy to install. Until I discovered this flooring, I had no idea that it was possible to achieve the checkerboard look in my entryway in such an upscale way.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Black and White Chess Slate 8 mm Thick x 11-9/16 in. W x 46-5/16 in. L Laminate Flooring-DISCONTINUED
from Lawrenceville GA

Linda's new floor

PostedApril 13, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This flooring is absolutely beautiful and sooooo easy to care for. I wish I had had it sooner. I can't see anyone not loving this flooring.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.