728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Drywall Electrical Box Locating Tool Kit (4-Pieces)

Drywall Electrical Box Locating Tool Kit (4-Pieces)

The Blind Mark will help you get perfect drywall cutouts with no measuring. Just insert the target in the receptacle before hanging drywall. When you’re ready to cut the hole, hold the Blind Mark Locator magnet over the area where you think the receptacle is located. When it finds the receptacle, the magnets will snap precisely into place where the receptacle is located. Traces around the locator, cut, then install. With the Blind Mark you simply put it up once, cut the hole and you’re done.
Overall rating:
4.588 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product33 of 34reviews
Rating Breakdown 34 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(25)
4
(5)
3
(3)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
97%of customersrecommend this product33 of 34reviews
Customer reviews for Drywall Electrical Box Locating Tool Kit (4-Pieces)
Review 1 for Drywall Electrical Box Locating Tool Kit (4-Pieces)
from S. Oregon
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Awesome

PostedAugust 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I love this product for marking boxes and getting perfect cutouts.
Because of this product, I also picked up some super strong little magnets that make it easy to mark the corners of electric panels and windows and doors.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Drywall Electrical Box Locating Tool Kit (4-Pieces)

Works exactly as advertised, easy to learn to use

PostedDecember 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this to locate electrical boxes behind 5/8" drywall, and it works extremely well.
A couple of things:
1. If you're using the typical plastic nail-on new work boxes, remove the little plastic spacers from the side of the box against the stud with a pair of pliers or a razor knife. Otherwise, you have to cut out quite a bit wider or risk blowing out the drywall on the stud-side of the box.
2. I found using a pencil rather than a sharpie made it easy to follow the line accurately.
3. I used an oscillating multi-tool with a Dremel drywall jab-saw blade. This worked very well. It's loud, and cuts a lot slower than a rotozip, but it won't get away from you. I found it best to try to cut the hole tight, pry the piece out and see where the box sits. I had to enlarge a couple of holes slightly before the drywall would fit around the box. Better too small than too big, you can always cut out more. Just don't push on the sheet until you pry the piece out and see how accurate your cut was.
4. Obviously, if you hang sheetrock for a living, you probably can find the boxes and cut them out with a rotozip in your sleep, without using this tool. However, this tool is great for someone starting out or who occasionally hangs drywall.
After cutting a few holes, probably too large, you'll get a good feeling as to where to cut in relation to your pencil line. After the first few boxes, I was cutting extremely tight holes without even trying. I've attached a photo of the last one I cut it, nice and close.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, High Quality, Reliable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Drywall Electrical Box Locating Tool Kit (4-Pieces)
from Oldsmar, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best tool ever for locating and cutting out electrical boxes in drywall

PostedAugust 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very easy to use just as advertised. Made First cutout perfectly.
Pros: Easy to Use, Economical
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Drywall Electrical Box Locating Tool Kit (4-Pieces)
from Eugene, OR
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Best tool to locate electrical boxes ever

PostedJuly 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am building a new wood shop and wanted a lot of electrical outlets, I have never been good at locating the boxes and was dreading the thought of all the boxes I wanted. I am putting up 7/16 OSB. I have used the Blind Mark XT and cannot believe how easy it is. I even find myself enjoying cutting out the holes and watching them fit perfectly every time. The only thing to watch out for is to make sure the both the interior and exterior locator is pointing the same direction or you will be 1/2 a hole off. This product amazes my friends. Can't recommend this too much.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Great Value
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Drywall Electrical Box Locating Tool Kit (4-Pieces)
from Wisconsin
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is an AMAZING product!

PostedJuly 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My dad and I ordered a set to put some dry walls up in his garage and man, did this tool help tremendously! So easy to use which made this job go by very quickly. I am glad my dad saw this product on youtube! i wouldn't hesitate to buy a couple more sets if i needed to. and i will recommend this product to anyone!!!!! SUPERB PRODUCT!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical, Reliable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Drywall Electrical Box Locating Tool Kit (4-Pieces)

Great product!

PostedAugust 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was skeptical at first but I'm very pleased with this product .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Drywall Electrical Box Locating Tool Kit (4-Pieces)
from Portland OR
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Really like the locating kit.

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I experimented on a scrape piece and then tried it on a small section while moving a wall plug. Worked great and I feel comfortable using the tool kit on larger projects.
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Value
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Drywall Electrical Box Locating Tool Kit (4-Pieces)
from Houston area

Easy drywall marking and cut-outs

PostedFebruary 6, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
In the past year and a half, I have used the BlindMark and ArcMark products in helping to build nine Habitat for Humanity homes. That's a total of more than 1000 cut-outs for electrical boxes, vents, and lights, so I have some expertise in this area. Before using the BlindMark products, the crew would often cut the electrical wires stuffed in the boxes (using the "stab the saw in the middle of where you think the box is" technique), or it would be a laborious project of measuring, marking and cutting just to find out that the hole wasn't exactly where you wanted it! Since switching to using the BlindMark magnet, EVERY hole is perfect, there have not been any cut wires, no forgotten boxes, and our speed has picked up. No more box measuring, just a mark on the floor for each stud location and a ">" or "<" showing what side of the stud a box is on. After the drywall sheet is loosely tacked in place, each box is found and marked using the locator magnet, and then cut-out with a spiral saw using a guide-tip blade to guide around the outside of the box (guide the tool in a counter-clockwise direction for outside cuts!). A knife or keyhole saw could also be used, but the spiral saw is fast and makes a nice clean cut-out. After the holes have been cut, the drywall panel is then pushed all the way to the studs and nailed or screwed. We work on several rooms all at the same time and have found that taping the magnets into the boxes with masking tape is a good idea since hammering on the other side of the wall tends to make the magnets fall out. This is the only "flaw" that I have found with using this method. I highly recommend this product to all drywallers, pro and amateur alike.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Drywall Electrical Box Locating Tool Kit (4-Pieces)
from Oklahoma City
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Looks like a good product

PostedMay 13, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Have not got a chance to use this yet but I've seen it demonstrated on line. Need all the help I can get when it comes to boxes in the walls and not making a mess of things.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, High Quality
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Drywall Electrical Box Locating Tool Kit (4-Pieces)
from hollidaysburg,pa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Love it !!

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Permanent magnets in these make this a ecofriendly product that works well
ive done about 23 outlet boxes in smartsiding . all were good and you can do gang boxes by putting 1 in each end and connect the lines . very simple
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Economical
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Drywall Electrical Box Locating Tool Kit (4-Pieces)
from N ewtown, CT

It Works

PostedJune 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Like many people, I did not think this gadget would work, but I have wall board to go over 22 electric boxes. So I tried it, and it is unbelievably good. A fantastic gadget!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Drywall Electrical Box Locating Tool Kit (4-Pieces)

Not used enough for full review but...

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
the one thing I learned is to mark the floor or above approx where the box is. I didn't do this and one one piece of sheetrock it worked perfectly, but on the other, the magnets caught wrong, meaning the top magnets caught the bottom magnets of the outside piece,and thinking it was lined up I made the cut. This was mostly my error though, just warning others
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Drywall Electrical Box Locating Tool Kit (4-Pieces)

Good product.

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Works well, but you still have to be careful. You need to have a good idea of where the hole should be, because it is fairly easy to align the magnets so that the bottom magnet in the outlet lines up with the top magnet outside, causing you to cut the hole too low.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Drywall Electrical Box Locating Tool Kit (4-Pieces)
from Austin TX

Good device, But....

PostedDecember 19, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I've had this device for about 2 years now, it works great, but, after about 6 months of usage, the magnets fall out of their holders, and depending on where you are working, you can lose them forever through cracks in the floor, etc. Finding new magnets to fit in the holes is a pain.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Drywall Electrical Box Locating Tool Kit (4-Pieces)
from Spokane, WA

Great Tool

PostedJuly 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I first saw this on DIY's Cool Tools. I thought I'd try it out on my kitchen remodel. It worked great! The counter and cabinet installers both thought it was a great tool also. It's well priced, and works as advertised.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Drywall Electrical Box Locating Tool Kit (4-Pieces)
from Colorado

Trade secret

PostedMarch 30, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
...mark your junction boxes or recessed lights with chalk, same as for chalk lines, and then press the back of your drywall to it. Remove it and cut out your marking tracing the chalk left behind. You can even use the edge of small pieces of drywall (like a white chalk) to rub on the edges of the junction boxes etc... Its FREE, FAST, and SUPER ACCURATE!!
+1point
11out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Drywall Electrical Box Locating Tool Kit (4-Pieces)
from Concord, CA

Worked as promised, saved a ton of time...

PostedMay 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am a DIY'er and purchased this product to drywall a room with several electrical and media wall boxes. I was very impressed with how well it worked from the first time I used it (1/2" moisture resistent drywall). The marker located the box perfectly. The only suggestion I would make is to first use a level on the electrical box itself before hanging the drywall so you can also make sure the marker is aligned the same way. There is a chance the marker could be slightly misaligned (it is a magnet after all). I would also recommend using a jabsaw instead of a motorized tool with a drywall bit. This will ensure a better cut without the potential of damaging the wires or electrical box itself.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Drywall Electrical Box Locating Tool Kit (4-Pieces)
from Colorado Springs, CO

One star away from the best helper in a long time.

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was eager to use this product and I am excited to report that it was money well spent as I saved several hours not having to measure, remove, and replace drywall before securing. Not to mention the several thousand dollars I saved by not hiring a contractor.
I shorted it a star because it does not work on all junction boxes. If you look at the pictures of the product and note the half-circle cutouts at the top and bottom, they will only fit on junction boxes that match this molding. Some boxes have a square-type molding where faceplate screws are seated, making this product useless.
Lesson: make sure you have the right boxes to work with this product and it will surely be the best "special" tool you ever purchased.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Drywall Electrical Box Locating Tool Kit (4-Pieces)
from MT. Juliet, Tennessee

Glen volunteer

PostedJanuary 31, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am a member of a volunteer group from MT. Juliet, Tennessee who continues to help rebuild southern Mississippi after the terrible damage from Katrina. A group of us just returned from a week of drywalling a house in Waveland Mississippi. Only two of us had any drywall experience and it was our first attempt to use the Blind Mark system. It was a success starting with the first box cut. Five of us used the Blind Mark system effectively. This system saved us many hours of measuring and cutting, not to mention the accuracy of the cuts.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Drywall Electrical Box Locating Tool Kit (4-Pieces)
from Raymore, Mo

Blindmark Locator

PostedMarch 8, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Wonderful product for the home do-it-yourselfer or even a contractor. Not once did I have an oversized, undersized, or misplaced cutout in the drywall while using this product. Carry case keeps everything safe and secure. Magnet is very strong and accurately locates the outlet box saving lots of time. If you're doing any drywall work, I would highly recommend this product. Just don't loan it to anyone as you may not get it back!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>