728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Drywall Electrical Box Locating Tool Kit (4-Pieces)

Drywall Electrical Box Locating Tool Kit (4-Pieces)

The blind mark 4-piece drywall electrical box locating tool kit can help save you time by eliminating the need for taking measurements while pinpointing electrical boxes through drywall or paneling with ease.
Overall rating:
4.56 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product24 of 25reviews
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(18)
4
(4)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product24 of 25reviews
Customer reviews for Drywall Electrical Box Locating Tool Kit (4-Pieces)
Review 1 for Drywall Electrical Box Locating Tool Kit (4-Pieces)

Works exactly as advertised, easy to learn to use

PostedDecember 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this to locate electrical boxes behind 5/8" drywall, and it works extremely well.
A couple of things:
1. If you're using the typical plastic nail-on new work boxes, remove the little plastic spacers from the side of the box against the stud with a pair of pliers or a razor knife. Otherwise, you have to cut out quite a bit wider or risk blowing out the drywall on the stud-side of the box.
2. I found using a pencil rather than a sharpie made it easy to follow the line accurately.
3. I used an oscillating multi-tool with a Dremel drywall jab-saw blade. This worked very well. It's loud, and cuts a lot slower than a rotozip, but it won't get away from you. I found it best to try to cut the hole tight, pry the piece out and see where the box sits. I had to enlarge a couple of holes slightly before the drywall would fit around the box. Better too small than too big, you can always cut out more. Just don't push on the sheet until you pry the piece out and see how accurate your cut was.
4. Obviously, if you hang sheetrock for a living, you probably can find the boxes and cut them out with a rotozip in your sleep, without using this tool. However, this tool is great for someone starting out or who occasionally hangs drywall.
After cutting a few holes, probably too large, you'll get a good feeling as to where to cut in relation to your pencil line. After the first few boxes, I was cutting extremely tight holes without even trying. I've attached a photo of the last one I cut it, nice and close.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, High Quality, Reliable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Drywall Electrical Box Locating Tool Kit (4-Pieces)

Not used enough for full review but...

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
the one thing I learned is to mark the floor or above approx where the box is. I didn't do this and one one piece of sheetrock it worked perfectly, but on the other, the magnets caught wrong, meaning the top magnets caught the bottom magnets of the outside piece,and thinking it was lined up I made the cut. This was mostly my error though, just warning others
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Drywall Electrical Box Locating Tool Kit (4-Pieces)
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this saved a ton of time

PostedApril 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This was a bit pricey but saved a bunch of time in measuring all the cuts.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Drywall Electrical Box Locating Tool Kit (4-Pieces)
from Houston area

Easy drywall marking and cut-outs

PostedFebruary 6, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
In the past year and a half, I have used the BlindMark and ArcMark products in helping to build nine Habitat for Humanity homes. That's a total of more than 1000 cut-outs for electrical boxes, vents, and lights, so I have some expertise in this area. Before using the BlindMark products, the crew would often cut the electrical wires stuffed in the boxes (using the "stab the saw in the middle of where you think the box is" technique), or it would be a laborious project of measuring, marking and cutting just to find out that the hole wasn't exactly where you wanted it! Since switching to using the BlindMark magnet, EVERY hole is perfect, there have not been any cut wires, no forgotten boxes, and our speed has picked up. No more box measuring, just a mark on the floor for each stud location and a ">" or "<" showing what side of the stud a box is on. After the drywall sheet is loosely tacked in place, each box is found and marked using the locator magnet, and then cut-out with a spiral saw using a guide-tip blade to guide around the outside of the box (guide the tool in a counter-clockwise direction for outside cuts!). A knife or keyhole saw could also be used, but the spiral saw is fast and makes a nice clean cut-out. After the holes have been cut, the drywall panel is then pushed all the way to the studs and nailed or screwed. We work on several rooms all at the same time and have found that taping the magnets into the boxes with masking tape is a good idea since hammering on the other side of the wall tends to make the magnets fall out. This is the only "flaw" that I have found with using this method. I highly recommend this product to all drywallers, pro and amateur alike.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Drywall Electrical Box Locating Tool Kit (4-Pieces)
from Oxford,CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Weekly

works great

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works like a charm. Right on the mark every time.would recommend . cost effective too.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Drywall Electrical Box Locating Tool Kit (4-Pieces)
from Austin TX

Good device, But....

PostedDecember 19, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I've had this device for about 2 years now, it works great, but, after about 6 months of usage, the magnets fall out of their holders, and depending on where you are working, you can lose them forever through cracks in the floor, etc. Finding new magnets to fit in the holes is a pain.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Drywall Electrical Box Locating Tool Kit (4-Pieces)
from Colorado

Trade secret

PostedMarch 30, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
...mark your junction boxes or recessed lights with chalk, same as for chalk lines, and then press the back of your drywall to it. Remove it and cut out your marking tracing the chalk left behind. You can even use the edge of small pieces of drywall (like a white chalk) to rub on the edges of the junction boxes etc... Its FREE, FAST, and SUPER ACCURATE!!
+4points
9out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Drywall Electrical Box Locating Tool Kit (4-Pieces)
from Spokane, WA

Great Tool

PostedJuly 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I first saw this on DIY's Cool Tools. I thought I'd try it out on my kitchen remodel. It worked great! The counter and cabinet installers both thought it was a great tool also. It's well priced, and works as advertised.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Drywall Electrical Box Locating Tool Kit (4-Pieces)
from N ewtown, CT

It Works

PostedJune 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Like many people, I did not think this gadget would work, but I have wall board to go over 22 electric boxes. So I tried it, and it is unbelievably good. A fantastic gadget!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Drywall Electrical Box Locating Tool Kit (4-Pieces)
from Concord, CA

Worked as promised, saved a ton of time...

PostedMay 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a DIY'er and purchased this product to drywall a room with several electrical and media wall boxes. I was very impressed with how well it worked from the first time I used it (1/2" moisture resistent drywall). The marker located the box perfectly. The only suggestion I would make is to first use a level on the electrical box itself before hanging the drywall so you can also make sure the marker is aligned the same way. There is a chance the marker could be slightly misaligned (it is a magnet after all). I would also recommend using a jabsaw instead of a motorized tool with a drywall bit. This will ensure a better cut without the potential of damaging the wires or electrical box itself.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Drywall Electrical Box Locating Tool Kit (4-Pieces)
from Ankeny
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

excellent product

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This tool really saves time and it is accurate. Highly recommend it to anybody doing drywall.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, Economical, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Drywall Electrical Box Locating Tool Kit (4-Pieces)
from Colorado Springs, CO

One star away from the best helper in a long time.

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was eager to use this product and I am excited to report that it was money well spent as I saved several hours not having to measure, remove, and replace drywall before securing. Not to mention the several thousand dollars I saved by not hiring a contractor.
I shorted it a star because it does not work on all junction boxes. If you look at the pictures of the product and note the half-circle cutouts at the top and bottom, they will only fit on junction boxes that match this molding. Some boxes have a square-type molding where faceplate screws are seated, making this product useless.
Lesson: make sure you have the right boxes to work with this product and it will surely be the best "special" tool you ever purchased.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Drywall Electrical Box Locating Tool Kit (4-Pieces)
from Raymore, Mo

Blindmark Locator

PostedMarch 8, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Wonderful product for the home do-it-yourselfer or even a contractor. Not once did I have an oversized, undersized, or misplaced cutout in the drywall while using this product. Carry case keeps everything safe and secure. Magnet is very strong and accurately locates the outlet box saving lots of time. If you're doing any drywall work, I would highly recommend this product. Just don't loan it to anyone as you may not get it back!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Drywall Electrical Box Locating Tool Kit (4-Pieces)
from Buffalo, NY

PostedMay 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Makes it alot easier to install drywall. This is a must get item for installing drywall.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Drywall Electrical Box Locating Tool Kit (4-Pieces)
from Kansas
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Tool

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used this for the first time yesterday. It located an outlet box perfectly. For the person who it missed the mark - You have to look at the tool - it has an "up" arrow on each piece. Make sure you have it oriented correctly and you won't have any issues. If the magnets fall out, I plan to retrieve them and glue them back in with some good adhesive. I use a Roto-zip, but not often enough to be good with it, so this tool is a nice crutch.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Drywall Electrical Box Locating Tool Kit (4-Pieces)

Perfect cut outs every time

PostedDecember 5, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
One problem that I always seemed to have with DIY projects involving drywall was getting the cut out in the right location and the right size. With this tool the cut outs are now easy and perfect every time. The only reason I gave it 4 instead of 5 is that the piece that fits into the box seems to be too large for the outlet boxes used in the construction of my house so instead of fitting into the box I have to duct tape them to the box. Then as another reviewer described I temporarily put the drywall in place, mark locations, remove, cut and then hang. Even with this inconvenience I would recommend this product to anyone having to mark electrical cut out locations in drywall.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Drywall Electrical Box Locating Tool Kit (4-Pieces)
from North Syracuse, New York

Blind Mark Wall Kit

PostedJanuary 1, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This would be a great product for new construction. Not so good for existing structures or remodeling. The wall kit can not be used if the outlets and switches are in the electrical boxes.
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Drywall Electrical Box Locating Tool Kit (4-Pieces)
from PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

cool tool when you need them

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
product is easy to use, makes hanging drywall ALOT easier and less time consuming. downside is the price, for a few pieces of plastic it sure does get expensive unless your like me and use them almost daily. If I wouldnt use them daily I would have made my own with some cardboard, magnets and a glue gun. (at least its an idea if your only doing it once or twice).
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Drywall Electrical Box Locating Tool Kit (4-Pieces)
from MT. Juliet, Tennessee

Glen volunteer

PostedJanuary 31, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a member of a volunteer group from MT. Juliet, Tennessee who continues to help rebuild southern Mississippi after the terrible damage from Katrina. A group of us just returned from a week of drywalling a house in Waveland Mississippi. Only two of us had any drywall experience and it was our first attempt to use the Blind Mark system. It was a success starting with the first box cut. Five of us used the Blind Mark system effectively. This system saved us many hours of measuring and cutting, not to mention the accuracy of the cuts.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Drywall Electrical Box Locating Tool Kit (4-Pieces)
from Medway, MA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Worth every penny

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is extremely easy to use and gives you a dead accurate mark to make your cuts. The days of gaps around electric boxes, or trying to figure out where to make the cuts are over.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>