728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 705 128 oz. Wallpaper Steamer

705 128 oz. Wallpaper Steamer

The Wagner 705 128 oz. Wallpaper Steamer helps provide up to 75 minutes of continuous steam for quick wallpaper removal. The 8 in. x 11 in. size steam plate allows you to cover large sections of the wall in a single pass, and the 11 ft. hose helps make the steamer easy to maneuver. The wallpaper steamer uses tap water for easy operation and cleanup.
Overall rating:
4.677 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(167 reviews) 167
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product156 of 161reviews
Rating Breakdown 167 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(132)
4
(25)
3
(4)
2
(3)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
97%of customersrecommend this product156 of 161reviews
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 47 Answers
Customer reviews for 705 128 oz. Wallpaper Steamer
Review 1 for 705 128 oz. Wallpaper Steamer
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Great deal!

PostedMay 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Nearly every room in a house my wife and I recently purchased was covered in wallpaper. First we tried using hot, soapy water to remove the wallpaper which did not work. I did a bit of research and decided to buy this steamer at Home Depot.
Out of the box it was very easy to set up - just plug the hose into the base, add the attachment of your choice, fill it with water, and plug it in. After about 15 minutes, it will start producing steam. (Tip: the first time I plugged it in it took longer than 15 minutes. I discovered it was because there was water in the hose that wasn't allowing the steam to pass. The best solution I found is to leave the end of the hose at the same level as the base unit so the steam pressure can push the water out of the hose. I had the base on the floor and the hose on a kitchen counter, which didn't allow the water to be pushed out. As soon as I put the hose at floor level the water came shooting out followed immediately by steam.)
Using the product is also very easy...it produces a steady flow of steam, so there's no trigger button or on/off switch; just hold it against the wall and start scraping. We found that scoring the wallpaper first definitely helped. Depending on how stubborn your wallpaper is, it may take two passes - one to peal off the top decorative layer, and another to get the more absorbent paper backing off the wall.
This product can be easily used by one person - I steam with my left hand, and scrape with my right - so we ended up buying a second unit to make the job go faster. Now we have steamers we can lend to family and friends.
My only recommendation to the manufacturer would be to include a more durable hose. We haven't had any issues yet, but twice I accidentally rested my stool across the hose, which pinched and blocked the steam. I worry that if I keep doing that I might cause a hole in the hose.
One last thing - the product description says it produces steam for "up to 75 minutes." We found this to be a conservative estimate for both units we purchased. We usually get at least 90-120 minutes of continuous steam.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Well Made, Nice Design
Cons: lower quality hose
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 705 128 oz. Wallpaper Steamer
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Made a Nightmare job a Dream

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So happy with the steamer! Without it, I'd be scraping the wallpaper off my kitchen walls for the next month. Used the Paper Tiger to score holes in the paper, then applied the steam head for 20 seconds or so (using the smaller of the two heads in the package, just the right size for the narrow areas above the sink and next to the window) and off it came! The edges of the steam head could even be used to do the scraping in most cases, so I didn't have to stop and switch tools. No need for any of the stripping solution, which had proved to be useless on my vinyl-coated, washable-but-not-strippable paper the week before. A great price for a very useful product--- almost makes me wish I had more wallpaper in the house to remove!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, makes the job easier
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 705 128 oz. Wallpaper Steamer
from Indiana, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works like a charm!

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Followed the previous reviews advice and it worked like a charm! Stripped two layers of wallpaper from the 1980's on plaster and the walls were left in great shape.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 705 128 oz. Wallpaper Steamer
from Upper Bucks County,Pa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

good job wagner

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this for a 6 room wallpaper removal bid. I read a few negative comments about the hose getting hot and steam escapes when you tilt or move the head unit. This didn't scare us, steam is boiling water and careful reasonable caution is required. With that in mind Wagners # 705 performed well beyond our expectations, as advertised and is hands down faster and better to work with than the spray on wallpaper paste/glue softeners. We used a loosely rolled up bedsheet on the floor against the baseboard to catch the drips and protect the floor and a leather work glove to hold the plate, the plate was cool enough to handle without a glove but the glove took the discomfort from some occasional drips or puffs of steam. Good job Wagner !
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 705 128 oz. Wallpaper Steamer
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It works!

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have a bedroom that was wallpapered by the previous owners a very long time ago. It had that nasty, never comes off, kind of wallpaper on it. I decided that this summer, it was time it would come off. So, I did all my research and started off with a Dif. I scored the paper, applied the Dif and tackled the wallpaper.... the wallpaper won. :( I tried tactic number 2. I scored the wall, applied fabric softener and tackled the wallpaper... the wallpaper won, but it smelled nice. :( Onto tactic number 3. I scored the wall, applied hot water with vinegar and tackled the wallpaper. It worked, but it took me over an hour to get one panel of wallpaper off. This is going to take forever.
So I drive to home depot, pick up this steamer, and tackle the wallpaper with this. WOW! It comes off with no need for scoring (but that would help). I got off 5 panels in the time it took me to do 1 panel with the vinegar. I highly recommend it.
+35points
35out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 705 128 oz. Wallpaper Steamer
from Dallas, TX, USA

Love this little machine.

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this after trying to use chemicals and a scraper with no success. I was worried because I was trying to get grasscloth wallpaper off that had been up for at least 20 years. Once I began using the steamer, the job became a hundred times easier. Most of the other reviews have mentioned the little quirks, but the minor mess and condensation are more than worth the job this machine does. Do not overfill it, if you are not sure when it is to the max then pour some out till you are. You would rather be below the max line than above it.
Pros: Excellent Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 705 128 oz. Wallpaper Steamer
from Littlestown, PA 17340, USA

GREAT PRODUCT!

PostedApril 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Don't even waste your time or $$ on chemicals, fabric softener, ect. like I did. This is the best $50 you'll spend on removing wallpaper. I had my entire kitchen stripped in 5 hours. Technique I used: start at the top, hold steamer in one spot, count to 10, move steamer over, count to 10, do this until row is complete from edge to edge, pull down wall paper, move down and repeat. I removed entire sheets in one piece! Also absolutely no need for a tiger paw, just a waste of $$!!! Just put towels at the bottom of the wall to absorb most of the water.
Great product, worth every nickel!!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 705 128 oz. Wallpaper Steamer
from Orlando, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WOW so easy!!

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
At first it was a tricky the instructions said to score the paper but after the first wall of 4 I found that wasn’t necessary. Scoring left small pieces not scoring it came down in rolls. Start from the top go very slowly holding for about 10sec then move on ½ with of the paddle side to side the width of the paper and the paper just rolled off the wall. It’s slow and time consuming but there was almost NO repairs needed to the walls which saved a ton of time in the long run. I would recommend it. The lady in the store said if I didn’t like the way it works I could return it….I’m not. It only cost 50 bucks and the estimates I had to remove the paper were between $300 and $400. Big money saver too. Didn’t get a picture while I was working but here’s the finished product. My daughters room had pink flowered paper now smooth painted lavender walls. She is so happy.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Good Size & Weight, Functional
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 705 128 oz. Wallpaper Steamer
from vacaville
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

so easy to use. worked great. fast and didn't have to rent

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was so fantastic! light weight, I now have it to share if someone needs one. We do not have a rental place within 30 miles so this is great. The old (2 layers) of wallpaper came right off. Clean up was fast too. I had it all done in an hour. A whole room! and it was cheap! best purchase this year.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 705 128 oz. Wallpaper Steamer

Awesome!

PostedMay 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just bought a house with some nasty wallpaper in my son's room that I wouldn't hesitate to bet was older than me. I tried Dif and it didn't work. This steamer did the trick! Definitely buy the scorer, I don't think it would have worked as quickly otherwise. I also used a putty knife scraper to remove. Don't waste time or money trying any other product! Wallpaper was only on the lower half of wall and then had a boarder above a chair rail. I did the whole room in about 2 hours by myself. I'm a 25 year old female..no handyman expertise here what so ever. We were going to pay someone to do the job for us, so glad we didn't!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 705 128 oz. Wallpaper Steamer
from Easton, PA

Do Yourself a Favor

PostedJanuary 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you are removing wallpaper, don't waste money or muscle on chemicals - buy this tool!!!! It removes wallpaper effortlessly. I had wallpaper on a huge room with a cathedral ceiling that was coming off in bits and pieces with scoring and solutions, and my walls were getting so messed up. I was really discouraged and looked on line for alternate solutions and saw this product. I thought for the money, it was worth a try. When I first tried it I almost cried when a huge piece of wallpaper came off in one motion! This product has saved me countless hours of labor! Definitely buy it!
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 705 128 oz. Wallpaper Steamer
from Rochester NY

Great results on old paper

PostedJanuary 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After struggling with chemical stripper for about 5 hours and only clearing about 1/3rd a wall I broke down and purchased this steamer. What a difference I finished the remaining 2/3 of my project in about an hour and it was so much easier. If you have anything larger than a 5 x 5 section of wallpaper to remove this is a real life saver. Setup was a breeze and the product seems to be well put together.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 705 128 oz. Wallpaper Steamer
from Rochester, NY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Stop here. Buy this. Seriously.

PostedNovember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was just what I was looking for to remove some fabulous looking wallpaper from 1988. My kitchen had been partially papered in some frilly/flowery/country wallpaper in around 1988, and it HAD to go. I started out with using a spray remover liquid on the wallpaper boarder that was around part of the kitchen. After dealing with that mess and not looking forward to 2 entire walls of paper, I needed to find another way.
I chose this based on price and a review from another person. After using this product, I am so glad I bought it. The wallpaper came down easily.
A few tips: Hold the steamer plate on for 30 seconds instead of 10 like the directions say. Use a large scraper. Re-steam areas to get glue off. Use an extension cord. Watch for drips, and keep kids, your hands and face, and pets away from the heating unit, hose, and steamer plate...it is very hot.
It seems the steamer can also be used for cleaning off any other residue from sizing, or cigarette smoke...just steam and wipe.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Functional, Easy to Use
Cons: power cable too short...use an extension cord
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 705 128 oz. Wallpaper Steamer
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I wasn't sure if I shoud rent a bigger unit or buy this steamer

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Turned out the HD rep in rental said the only difference is the size of the water container. The rental unit was 3 gallons and the HD store bought was a 1 gallon. After using the steamer for 5 rooms so far, the 1 gallon store bought steamer has paid for itself vs renting. Both renting or buying would be good options based on how much work you have to do and how many rooms. The HD rep in the paint dept also said the steamer is worthwhile. I rec'd great customer service from both, THANK YOU!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 705 128 oz. Wallpaper Steamer
from Lincoln, NE

Outstanding Product!

PostedMay 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This steamer "saved my life"! We are remodeling a historical home and one room had 4 layers of old wallpaper. I, too, tried liquids, chemicals, etc. and they did not work. I bought the steamer and had the room done in about 3 hours. We also had old "grass" wallpaper to remove in the living room and with this steamer, the wallpaper was removed in about 45 minutes.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 705 128 oz. Wallpaper Steamer
from NEKS

THIS STEAMER WORKS GREAT!

PostedFebruary 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We're doing a large job with limited time and was renting a 'professional' steamer from our local hardware store. At 25 a whack it was getting pricey. We decided to try this at the cost of 2 rentals, keeping our expectations low. IT WORKS AS GOOD AS THE 'PROFESSIONAL' model. We were very pleasently surprised. PLUS, it's a lot easier to 'lug' around - very light and compact. We love it and highly recommend it. Great price!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 705 128 oz. Wallpaper Steamer
from Oakland County, MI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great and Effective Product!

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is an excellent product for removing wallpaper and glue-- and it was very economical. I purchased two of these online late at night and picked them up in the store the next day! Be careful with this product around children as the steam can be very dangerous, the only complaint I would have about this product is the mess that it makes from all of the water created by the steam dripping. This was taken care of by putting down a drop cloth or any type of throw cloth around the baseboard area.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, Good Size & Weight, Functional, long cord, comes with corner attachment
Cons: messy, takes about 15 minutes to heat up, no on/off switch
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 705 128 oz. Wallpaper Steamer
from Delaware
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Almost made the job fun

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This little workhorse took off the fifty year old wallpaper in our front entry, the downstairs hallway, and the upstairs landing. Worked like a charm. Almost made the job fun. Easily worth the price.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 705 128 oz. Wallpaper Steamer
from Columbia MD

What a labor saver

PostedJanuary 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've read all the reviews and agree with most statement. The product is well worth the $50. I would recommend that you first try using it without scoring the paper. I did and the paper came off without any problems. Hence no damage/ cuts to the wall board.
I bought a plastic scraper, almost never used it. Only needed twice, when I didn't steam an area enough and the paper backing stayed on wall and tore loose from the front side. I caught this in time, steamed the little remains and scraped off easily. I just used a finger nail to start the peel process, started at the top and worked paper off diagonally.
I would recommend using the larger (white) steamer as much as possible. The smaller one causes more condensation on operating, dripping much more water. The larger one even steams about 1 and 1/2 inches into an adjacent wall. I know this because I had a piece of paper that wrapped around the wall butting up to a door jam 1 1/2 " from corner.
This is not quite a 5 star product but far exceeds a 4 start. An on off switch should have been provided.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 705 128 oz. Wallpaper Steamer

Great Product

PostedJanuary 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We were having difficulty removing wall border in our living room. We went to our local Home Depot store and this product was recommended by a young lady that was a sales clerk in the paint department. She said that another customer had purchased one to remove a house full of wall paper and came back and told her how great this thing worked. I have to agree. I would highly recommend especially if you do not want to use chemicals. Also I recommend wearing gloves because of the steam.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>