728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger

1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger

Designed for most medium household drains, this BrassCraft 1/2 in. x 50 ft. drain auger features a high-quality spring wire for excellent flexibility in tight bends. The design provides maximum thrusting action, even through strainer crossbars.
Overall rating:
4.074 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(95 reviews) 95
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product75 of 90reviews
Rating Breakdown 95 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(54)
4
(17)
3
(10)
2
(5)
1
(9)
Ease of installation 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product75 of 90reviews
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 55 Answers
Customer reviews for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
Review 1 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Minneapolis, MN
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This Auger saved me money

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My main line to the street needs to be cleared out once to twice a year because of blockage. In the past have been renting a power snake at $50.00-$60.00 a pop, but decided to try this 50 x 1/2 auger at half the price. Main line is a straight shot of about 50 feet to the street with no tree root issues and ran the auger out and back in 10 minutes to resolve the blockage. For me this auger was easier to used than the power snakes I have rented out. Flushed out the sewer line via load of laundry from the washing machine, rinsed & dried the auger, and wiped cable down with some transmission fluid to prevent rust. Good to go for next time with out spending the $50.00-$60.00 to resolve blockage.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Denver, CO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This worked where everything else didn't..

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had a very, very slow kitchen sink drain. Tried a 25' 1/4" hand cranked snake, fail. Tried a 25' 3/8" motorized snake that cost $150, epic fail (that thing was particularly bad). Almost called a plumber but decided to try one more time, with this auger. It worked like a CHAMP. It was easier to feed in than any of those snakes. The 1/2" diameter wire makes it very unlikely to kink in the drain, something those thinner snakes will do very easily. I got all 50' in and pulled it back out with no problem, and it dragged out the big piece of plastic that was clogging my drain.
Definitely, try this before you get a plumber or any of those other kinds of snakes. Don't forget to also buy a bucket to keep it in. Needless to say, it comes out of the drain in a pretty nasty state of filth.
Pros: Reliable, actually gets the job done
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Amazing! Cleared our pipes in less than 15 minutes!

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This auger is amazing. I'm a busy college student, so when my mom's sink stopped working there wasn't much I could do. She had a few people try to get it unclogged, and they'd taken fluids, plungers, and snakes to the battle to no avail.
I came down tonight and decided to try my hand at aug'ing (new word). I bought the longest auger I could find at Home Depot for $30 and took it home. Within 15 minutes I had the drain unclogged. Dishwasher, washing machine, and sink are all working like a charm!
This thing was completely effective.The only downside--I'd say--is how hard it is to actually twist the twisty-mabob. I actually just jammed this through 50' of pipe after giving up on twisting and it worked even better than I could've hoped.
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked on Main Cleanout Blockage

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you are wondering if this 1/2 in x 50 ft auger will unclog a main cleanout (from the house to the street), it just worked for me! After having rented the professional electric drain augers 3 times in the last two years (at around $50-60 a shot) I was looking for a more permanent solution for light duty clogs. This was a full clog of the main line running from my house to the street (townhouse). Product worked as advertised. Stop pushing when you hit the clog...then start rotating clockwise. I'd assume this wouldn't work if you had roots in your pipes... if that is the case, I suggest the electric power auger (or professional help).
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger

Works great!

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Double kitchen sink completely clogged. First tried Drano. No luck. Next i used a 25 ft auger from the roof vent. No luck. So i went to home depot and bought this 50 foot auger. Back on the roof i went. After inserting about 45 foot of the auger into the pipe, I hit paydirt. Actually i hit a big chunk of broccoli casserole. After pushing the auger down and up a few times(I didnt even use the handle) it broke through and cleared the clog. I then went inside and thanked my wife for putting leftover broccoli casserole down the garbage disposal :) great products. I rolled it up in a 5 gallon bucket, sprayed it down with WD-40 and stored it away in my shop. No more plumbers for me!
+41points
41out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Kansas City, MO

BrassCraft 1/2 in. x 50 in. Drain Auger

PostedOctober 31, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a 53 yr old w/disabled son of 23 yrs old still living at home. 1 1/2 yrs after the divorce, I purchased my home. 4 mos after living in this house, the drain in basement was backing-up or overflowing every time I took a shower, or my son took a shower in the basement. I cannot afford a plumber and do not know anything about plumbing. My son suggested I get an auger. I bought this auger at Home Depot and my disabled son, using the new auger, resolved the plumbing issue, by himself. So, I didn't have to pay for a plumber and my son has new confidence. Thank you very much - I recommend Home Depot to everybody.
+49points
52out of 55found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger

Uh point less

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is just useless and pain to use and crank...just save yourself the time and anger rent a motorized one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from oklahoma
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

the white light at the end of the tunnel

PostedMay 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
from my clean out to the street is a 4" cast iron.(older than dirt) inside of the pipe has more craters than the moon. it was clogged up with clinging baby wipes. I tried the 25' drain snake with drill attached, but sure enough my clog was at 26' (huh)... went to homedepot at closing and had guy get this 50 footer off the top shelf. when I got home I welded a 3 inch nail at the topside end so I could attach my drill. the hand crank is not the best.. if you attach a drill like I did, you will wish your neighbor needed his sewer unclogged too...................felt good to get my water flowing again...get this product, it works.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, was able to weld a nail to the end so i can drill
Cons: hand crank needs help
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from San Diego
Age Range:35 to 44

1/2 snake cleared my sewer line.

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After some debate I gave in and bought this snake for my main 4" sewer line that was clogged right after my main bathroom. My 25' 1/4 snake didn't reach the clog so I was going to rent a 3/4 inch professional machine like I did once before at home depot. Even that was a great savings over a plumber but after some reviews of this snake I thought I would try it out. My clean out has easy access so I put the snake in 4 separate times until it came out clean. It cleaned out a wad of paper towels that was used as emergency TP(lesson learned) and a wad of hair and now my sewer line is clear. Took me 30 minutes and now I have a snake for next time I need it for an easy clog.
I did put all 50' in the pipe and was able to use my cordless drill on the very end of the snake. I put the snake on the drill as if it was a drill bit and it worked.
Beware it is gross work but that is what soap and water is for. I am also very familiar with the layout of my pipes and my sewer line which helps. $26 bucks to clear main line is a super deal.
Pros: Reliable, cheaper than a plumber!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from ny,ny

good solid snake

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As far as the snake is concerned, using a 1/2 was a much better choice, no kinks.
as to turning with the crank, that was another story,
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Opa locka, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good price

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Drain wire good price for what it offers. Just wish shipping was free.
Pros: Reliable
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger

Worked well

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was my last resort before calling the plumber. I tried a 25' 1/4" snake that fed through the kitchen sink plumbing well, but didn't quite reach the clog. The 1/2" was a tight fit in the 1.5" pipe, but with some coaxing I was able to get it through the bends. The hand crank is good when you come to the bends in your pipe. Twisting the cable with the hand crank allows the head to find its way through the bend. I was able to remove a big chunk of the clog with the crank as well. Once I got it running I poured a couple large pots of boiling water down the drain and it seems as good as new. Glad I didn't have to call the plumber.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Greenwich Ct
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Purchase

PostedJune 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had a difficult clog in kitchen sink. Tried 25 ft 1/4in snake ... failed. Used a container of liquid plumber ... failed. Bought this snake .... ran it 35 ft ... cleared problem ... recommend buying a large pail to store it in after use and a pair of work gloves.
Pros: Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not easy to turn

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this to try and clean out my 3" line. When you put in a long length of it, It is not thick/strong enough to twist without binding up. I would twist as hard as I could but it would just be countered by the spring action and would spring/quickly twist back to the neutral spot. Actually could be a little dangerous when it springs back releasing the built up tension. The handle is difficult to use as a means of spinning it. Overall, it works OK for shorter distances but 50 foot is too much.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Crystal River, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect Tool for the right job

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just get on top of your house and slide the snake down the kitchen sink drain and whatever clog you have in there...This bad boy will take it out for you.
Whole lot cheaper than buying drain cleaners by the truck load that usually don't work anyway.
Be sure you have a firm grip on the end if the snake though or it might go into the ventilation drain and then you got some real problems trying to get it out of there
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Dallas Tx
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This Drain Snake worked in 3 minutes

PostedApril 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a single 51 yr old mom who clogged her sink drain by stupidly putting coffee grounds in the sink, thinking the garbage disposal would take care of them. After determining that the clog was in the line that ran from the house, not the part under the sink, I bought this 50' auger at Home Depot. I didn't even use the handle, just snaked the coil into the drain and shoved. Felt it push something between 40 and 50', but I pushed the entire coil into the drain for good measure, then pulled it out. Replaced the outside valve, turned on the water and NO MORE CLOG!!! This thing is a miracle, I'm so proud of myself. My plumber would have charged $120 to come do this and would have not got here till tomorrow. And now that I have the tool, next time will be FREE!!! Tip: coil the snake into a sturdy box or bucket when it comes out of the drain, let it dry and spray with WD40 to keep from rusting, thanks to other reviewers who suggested this tip, or I would have had a problem controlling the coil, it's heavy. Wish all my home fix-it projects were this easy.
Pros: sturdy and worked right out of the packaging
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Mobile, AL.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrible

PostedJune 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Handle is too small. It is very difficult to twist. Once you get the auger wire in about 15 feet or so, it starts bending while you are trying to get it down the sewer drain. So, it didn't help me out at all. Ended up using the 4 inch blow up bladder...
I would take it back but feel like it would be nasty to do that..
Cons: just doesn't work.., handle to small.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Rockport, ME
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product, worked like a charm

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a blockage in my main drainage pipe as it exits my home. The pipe was cast iron and the blockage was about 30ft down. I was able to snake the line in about 25ft before I had to connect it to a drill. I had my wife use the standard Ryobi Cordless drill (lime green) in low speed while I fed the entire 50ft into the pipe. Once the drill was close to the clean out I switched it to hi-speed, pulled the snake in and out about 2 feet for a minute. After a minute I spun the drill on hi-speed while I backed the 50ft out of the pipe. I was able to see exactly where the clog was once the snake was out. The pushing and pulling while it was in there stretched the coils slightly to allow for hair and feminine products to get twisted in the wire. Once I pulled the snake out all the clogs came out with it, (yes it is terribly messy and gross) but I got the blockage out cheaper then hiring a plumber.
Pros: Great Value
Cons: no case
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from los angeles
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The right stuff!

PostedJune 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Been having drainage issues for about 2 weeks and tried few things but didnt work. Finally with this new 50 footer bad boy works excellent! Just took me 5 minutes and clogged is gone...Run smooth now. Happy...
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Marietta, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great For The Price

PostedJune 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It does the job. No its not motorized but it is a cheap way to clear a clog.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>