728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger

1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger

Designed for most medium household drains, this BrassCraft 1/2 in. x 50 ft. drain auger features a high-quality spring wire for excellent flexibility in tight bends. The design provides maximum thrusting action, even through strainer crossbars.
Overall rating:
3.94 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(133 reviews) 133
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product101 of 127reviews
Rating Breakdown 133 reviews
3.9 out of 5
5
(69)
4
(28)
3
(12)
2
(7)
1
(17)
Ease of installation 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product101 of 127reviews
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 69 Answers
Customer reviews for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
Review 1 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Long Island, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Laundry and kitchen drain cleared

PostedJune 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My laundry drain was slow that when the washing machine starts to discharge waste water, it would back up and spill all over the floor and the waste water would also come up from kitchen sink drain. I've tried the 25' drain auger or drain opener liquid in the past, the problem would go away then returns in a year or two. But this time, neither the smaller drain auger or liquid worked. So I finally decided to get this bigger and longer drain auger after weeks of frustration. Went up the roof and inserted it in the vent pipe, hit 2 stops and twisted the auger thru them. Came back down and started the washing machine, the waste water just went down the drain like a whistle. No more slow drains.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
Cons: can be hard to twist
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Palm Desert CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Saved me at least $200 bucks.

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Background on me: I am a 27 year old female college student who has absolutely 0 technical skills when it comes to home maintenance. That being said, I also didn't have $250 for a house call to get them to unclog my kitchen sink. I did some research, read some e-how pages and decided to shell out the $30 for this plumbing snake thing. Brought it home, futzed with undoing all the pipes under the sink and stuck it in the drain. Found the clog maybe...3 or 4 feet in? Cleared the clog, put everything back together. The whole thing took me maybe 30 minutes. I saved $220 and also got a nifty little sense of accomplishment. Totally worth it.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions, Easy to Use
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didn't work for a major clog

PostedMarch 16, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
With a 1/2" drill on the end, because it doesn't have a housing, all the cable that wasn't down the pipe was spun up into a tangled mess before the end started to uncoil at the drill, forcing me to snip off a couple inches. I tried by hand also - from the vent stack, second floor toilet, and finally the basement. Hit the clog ~25' in and this thing either doubled up on itself or coiled up in the pipe without pushing the clog at all - managed to fit all 50' down a 30' pipe! Rented a 3/4" power snake and that did the job.
Granted, this clog turned out to be a rag and twine sabotage job from the previous occupants who were foreclosed on, so maybe for your average...clog... it would work a little better. Why doesn't anyone make one of these with a drum housing though?? The loose coil is impossible to rotate. Still, it's cheap enough that it might be worth a shot.
Pros: cheap, flexible
Cons: rotation ineffective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Baltimore, MD

Fantastic!! Get the job done!! $200 saved :)

PostedJanuary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Buy this auger, add 1 helper, and a 1/2" variable speed drill.
You now have a professional drain cleaning system.
100% gets the jobs done, pays for itself on the first use.
(Disconnect the elbow, make sure you have the spring fully uncoiled and laid out in a straight line before you start turning with the drill, go slow, take you time, let the turning of the spring clear the obstacles, gentle forward pressure, and flush afterwards with lots of water.)
Enough said. No you know the secrets!
Buy it, take your time, learn, get her done! It is money saved.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Minneapolis, MN
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This Auger saved me money

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My main line to the street needs to be cleared out once to twice a year because of blockage. In the past have been renting a power snake at $50.00-$60.00 a pop, but decided to try this 50 x 1/2 auger at half the price. Main line is a straight shot of about 50 feet to the street with no tree root issues and ran the auger out and back in 10 minutes to resolve the blockage. For me this auger was easier to used than the power snakes I have rented out. Flushed out the sewer line via load of laundry from the washing machine, rinsed & dried the auger, and wiped cable down with some transmission fluid to prevent rust. Good to go for next time with out spending the $50.00-$60.00 to resolve blockage.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked on Main Cleanout Blockage

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
If you are wondering if this 1/2 in x 50 ft auger will unclog a main cleanout (from the house to the street), it just worked for me! After having rented the professional electric drain augers 3 times in the last two years (at around $50-60 a shot) I was looking for a more permanent solution for light duty clogs. This was a full clog of the main line running from my house to the street (townhouse). Product worked as advertised. Stop pushing when you hit the clog...then start rotating clockwise. I'd assume this wouldn't work if you had roots in your pipes... if that is the case, I suggest the electric power auger (or professional help).
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+33points
33out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger

Works great!

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Double kitchen sink completely clogged. First tried Drano. No luck. Next i used a 25 ft auger from the roof vent. No luck. So i went to home depot and bought this 50 foot auger. Back on the roof i went. After inserting about 45 foot of the auger into the pipe, I hit paydirt. Actually i hit a big chunk of broccoli casserole. After pushing the auger down and up a few times(I didnt even use the handle) it broke through and cleared the clog. I then went inside and thanked my wife for putting leftover broccoli casserole down the garbage disposal :) great products. I rolled it up in a 5 gallon bucket, sprayed it down with WD-40 and stored it away in my shop. No more plumbers for me!
+44points
44out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Denver, CO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This worked where everything else didn't..

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Had a very, very slow kitchen sink drain. Tried a 25' 1/4" hand cranked snake, fail. Tried a 25' 3/8" motorized snake that cost $150, epic fail (that thing was particularly bad). Almost called a plumber but decided to try one more time, with this auger. It worked like a CHAMP. It was easier to feed in than any of those snakes. The 1/2" diameter wire makes it very unlikely to kink in the drain, something those thinner snakes will do very easily. I got all 50' in and pulled it back out with no problem, and it dragged out the big piece of plastic that was clogging my drain.
Definitely, try this before you get a plumber or any of those other kinds of snakes. Don't forget to also buy a bucket to keep it in. Needless to say, it comes out of the drain in a pretty nasty state of filth.
Pros: Reliable, actually gets the job done
+35points
35out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Amazing! Cleared our pipes in less than 15 minutes!

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This auger is amazing. I'm a busy college student, so when my mom's sink stopped working there wasn't much I could do. She had a few people try to get it unclogged, and they'd taken fluids, plungers, and snakes to the battle to no avail.
I came down tonight and decided to try my hand at aug'ing (new word). I bought the longest auger I could find at Home Depot for $30 and took it home. Within 15 minutes I had the drain unclogged. Dishwasher, washing machine, and sink are all working like a charm!
This thing was completely effective.The only downside--I'd say--is how hard it is to actually twist the twisty-mabob. I actually just jammed this through 50' of pipe after giving up on twisting and it worked even better than I could've hoped.
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Kansas City, MO

BrassCraft 1/2 in. x 50 in. Drain Auger

PostedOctober 31, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am a 53 yr old w/disabled son of 23 yrs old still living at home. 1 1/2 yrs after the divorce, I purchased my home. 4 mos after living in this house, the drain in basement was backing-up or overflowing every time I took a shower, or my son took a shower in the basement. I cannot afford a plumber and do not know anything about plumbing. My son suggested I get an auger. I bought this auger at Home Depot and my disabled son, using the new auger, resolved the plumbing issue, by himself. So, I didn't have to pay for a plumber and my son has new confidence. Thank you very much - I recommend Home Depot to everybody.
+53points
57out of 61found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger

Worked fine for me

PostedApril 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Product performed exactly as intended for me. I inserted it into the roof vent and had the clog cleared in a matter of minutes. Several others have said that the handle is useless, but I found that a little WD-40 applied inside of the plastic sleeves made them rotate much more freely, and made the handle quite functional.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Glendale, California
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

drain pipe auger

PostedApril 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I really recommend this drain pipe auger to every one who has a drain clogging problem. It's very easy
and reliable to use and store.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Connecticut
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bad on Bends

PostedJune 3, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This snake is difficult to rotate manually, making it a bad choice on pipes with bends or substantial clogs that require boring. The sleeve handle is difficult to turn. Also, the screw that holds the sleeve tight is easily eaten away by the resistance created while turning. If the screw loosens, the sleeve just spins pointlessly around the snake.
I fed 22' past the first bend without trouble, but struggled on the next bend. Finally, I used vice grips to rotate the snake. Much better. (Though be careful not to warp the snake!) It helped to leave about 2 feet of cable while rotating, which was enough to get the snake to flail about inside the pipe. Straighten out the extra cable behind you to keep it from kinking up while you turn.
Pros: cheap, sorta works
Cons: No Instructions, hard to turn, bad on pipe bends
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Buffalo, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did the job.

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger was easy to use and went down the drain pipe even around pipe bends.The clog was out in minutes. With the auger being a fifty foot length I went through the whole length just to make sure all the drain was clean.
Note: I used a 5 gallon bucket for storage and WD40 to spray on the auger after I cleaned it.
This auger will last for many years if not a lifetime of use.
Pros: Reliable, very pliable for making turns in sewer pipe bends.
Cons: no cons.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Lenoir City
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great item

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
it uncloged the drain. Idid wha is was suppoed to do.
Pros: Reliable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ii did the job

PostedJune 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a smaller dia drum type snake,it would bind up in the pipe.This went thru with no problem.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Michigan
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Work great on Vent Stack

PostedApril 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Had a clog in my vent stack that was slowing our kitchen sink. My 25' snake wasn't quite long enough. Ran this down from upstairs once and cleared whatever was creating a vacuum/clogging the vent stack. Saved myself a $300 plumber call. Didn't use the handle, just slowly fed it through and pushed when I ran into something.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger

no better value than this

PostedDecember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It is simple and gets the job done. It is long enough. Bear in mind it is a bigger .5 inch, so it will not turn around easily. Be sure to use it for the appropriate size of pipes, definitely not the smallest pipe.
I used it for a clogged kitchen drain pipe. I lost my .25 auger that has a fancy clank handle, so bought this bigger to try. It worked very well. But this kind of work is very smelly as you should expect it to be. Doing it under the kitchen sink will not work, as it is a larger auger, and simply there are more turns to go through before reaching the clogged material. I did it from my basement by unscrewing a plug on the larger section of the drain pipe. After being pushed and turned in about 10 feet long, it drained some liquid out. But it needed the second round of pushing and turning to get all the mess out. Boy it smells horrible!! I am glad that there is no carpet in my basement. It is wise not to have carpet in the basement. It is my seond job like this in short 13 years. You better master this skill or save money for someone else to do it.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger

did not like

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
unless you keep twisting it while in the pipe it won't work , you just push the clog farther in. it really isn't that great
Cons: Too Slow
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger

Hits the spot!

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Sometimes you just need a little longer snake! I had a 35' auger that wasn't quite making it to the clog. I removed the auger from my machine and replaced it with this one from Home Depot and my kitchen sink was back in business in no time. Nice quality and saved me a bundle.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>