728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Augers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger

1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger

Designed for most medium household drains, this BrassCraft 1/2 in. x 50 ft. drain auger features a high-quality spring wire for excellent flexibility in tight bends. The design provides maximum thrusting action, even through strainer crossbars.
Overall rating:
4.02 / 5
4
 / 
5
(102 reviews) 102
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product80 of 97reviews
Rating Breakdown 102 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(55)
4
(21)
3
(10)
2
(5)
1
(11)
Ease of installation 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product80 of 97reviews
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 55 Answers
Customer reviews for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
Review 1 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Palm Desert CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Saved me at least $200 bucks.

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Background on me: I am a 27 year old female college student who has absolutely 0 technical skills when it comes to home maintenance. That being said, I also didn't have $250 for a house call to get them to unclog my kitchen sink. I did some research, read some e-how pages and decided to shell out the $30 for this plumbing snake thing. Brought it home, futzed with undoing all the pipes under the sink and stuck it in the drain. Found the clog maybe...3 or 4 feet in? Cleared the clog, put everything back together. The whole thing took me maybe 30 minutes. I saved $220 and also got a nifty little sense of accomplishment. Totally worth it.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions, Easy to Use
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Minneapolis, MN
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This Auger saved me money

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My main line to the street needs to be cleared out once to twice a year because of blockage. In the past have been renting a power snake at $50.00-$60.00 a pop, but decided to try this 50 x 1/2 auger at half the price. Main line is a straight shot of about 50 feet to the street with no tree root issues and ran the auger out and back in 10 minutes to resolve the blockage. For me this auger was easier to used than the power snakes I have rented out. Flushed out the sewer line via load of laundry from the washing machine, rinsed & dried the auger, and wiped cable down with some transmission fluid to prevent rust. Good to go for next time with out spending the $50.00-$60.00 to resolve blockage.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Denver, CO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This worked where everything else didn't..

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had a very, very slow kitchen sink drain. Tried a 25' 1/4" hand cranked snake, fail. Tried a 25' 3/8" motorized snake that cost $150, epic fail (that thing was particularly bad). Almost called a plumber but decided to try one more time, with this auger. It worked like a CHAMP. It was easier to feed in than any of those snakes. The 1/2" diameter wire makes it very unlikely to kink in the drain, something those thinner snakes will do very easily. I got all 50' in and pulled it back out with no problem, and it dragged out the big piece of plastic that was clogging my drain.
Definitely, try this before you get a plumber or any of those other kinds of snakes. Don't forget to also buy a bucket to keep it in. Needless to say, it comes out of the drain in a pretty nasty state of filth.
Pros: Reliable, actually gets the job done
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Amazing! Cleared our pipes in less than 15 minutes!

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This auger is amazing. I'm a busy college student, so when my mom's sink stopped working there wasn't much I could do. She had a few people try to get it unclogged, and they'd taken fluids, plungers, and snakes to the battle to no avail.
I came down tonight and decided to try my hand at aug'ing (new word). I bought the longest auger I could find at Home Depot for $30 and took it home. Within 15 minutes I had the drain unclogged. Dishwasher, washing machine, and sink are all working like a charm!
This thing was completely effective.The only downside--I'd say--is how hard it is to actually twist the twisty-mabob. I actually just jammed this through 50' of pipe after giving up on twisting and it worked even better than I could've hoped.
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked on Main Cleanout Blockage

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you are wondering if this 1/2 in x 50 ft auger will unclog a main cleanout (from the house to the street), it just worked for me! After having rented the professional electric drain augers 3 times in the last two years (at around $50-60 a shot) I was looking for a more permanent solution for light duty clogs. This was a full clog of the main line running from my house to the street (townhouse). Product worked as advertised. Stop pushing when you hit the clog...then start rotating clockwise. I'd assume this wouldn't work if you had roots in your pipes... if that is the case, I suggest the electric power auger (or professional help).
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger

Works great!

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Double kitchen sink completely clogged. First tried Drano. No luck. Next i used a 25 ft auger from the roof vent. No luck. So i went to home depot and bought this 50 foot auger. Back on the roof i went. After inserting about 45 foot of the auger into the pipe, I hit paydirt. Actually i hit a big chunk of broccoli casserole. After pushing the auger down and up a few times(I didnt even use the handle) it broke through and cleared the clog. I then went inside and thanked my wife for putting leftover broccoli casserole down the garbage disposal :) great products. I rolled it up in a 5 gallon bucket, sprayed it down with WD-40 and stored it away in my shop. No more plumbers for me!
+41points
41out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Houston
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked first time, but needs a better crank

PostedOctober 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had a stubborn clog in my kitchen sink. First I used a 15ft auger I had which hit something about 10ft in from the clean-out, after getting past this point I boiled (+205 deg. F.) a large pot of water and poured it down the drain, no success. Next I removed the clean-out and poured a full quart size bottle of an industrial strength drain cleaner. After four hour I tried the boiling water again, no success. Next day I went to Home Depot to purchase the 1/2in, 50ft manual auger. Hit something about 35ft in past the clean-out struggled with the hand crank for a short time but was able to get the full 50ft in. Tried the boiling water again and finally success.
Now to tackle the faucet replacement of this same sink.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: hand crank
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Kansas City, MO

BrassCraft 1/2 in. x 50 in. Drain Auger

PostedOctober 31, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a 53 yr old w/disabled son of 23 yrs old still living at home. 1 1/2 yrs after the divorce, I purchased my home. 4 mos after living in this house, the drain in basement was backing-up or overflowing every time I took a shower, or my son took a shower in the basement. I cannot afford a plumber and do not know anything about plumbing. My son suggested I get an auger. I bought this auger at Home Depot and my disabled son, using the new auger, resolved the plumbing issue, by himself. So, I didn't have to pay for a plumber and my son has new confidence. Thank you very much - I recommend Home Depot to everybody.
+49points
52out of 55found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from oklahoma
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

the white light at the end of the tunnel

PostedMay 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
from my clean out to the street is a 4" cast iron.(older than dirt) inside of the pipe has more craters than the moon. it was clogged up with clinging baby wipes. I tried the 25' drain snake with drill attached, but sure enough my clog was at 26' (huh)... went to homedepot at closing and had guy get this 50 footer off the top shelf. when I got home I welded a 3 inch nail at the topside end so I could attach my drill. the hand crank is not the best.. if you attach a drill like I did, you will wish your neighbor needed his sewer unclogged too...................felt good to get my water flowing again...get this product, it works.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, was able to weld a nail to the end so i can drill
Cons: hand crank needs help
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Henderson NV
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked great.

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to use. Performed as it should and readily cleared the clog. Inexpensive. Durable and should last through many uses.
Pros: Reliable
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Huntsville AL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not so good, Guys.

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was unable to clear a clog with this snake. I could not turn it when it was inserted to the clog, and it twisted up on itself at other times. One good thing: I rented a powered snake from HD, and this did the job in about 10 minutes (I had spent hours and hours with the other).
Cons: Too Slow, not built for the job
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from buffalo wyoming
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

serves the purpose

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
nice and durable. heavy enough to push through bends easily.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Southern California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didn't work for me either.

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Only made it 12 feet down the cleanout/drain and would not make it past a bend in the draIn. The auger simply kinked and failed to progress further. This drain typically clogs with food debris at around 30 feet, so a 50 foot auger should have been able to clear it. The problem is that a manual auger just won't cut it when trying to turn more than one corner.
Cons: kinks too easily, won't turn more than one corner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Rockport, ME
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product, worked like a charm

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a blockage in my main drainage pipe as it exits my home. The pipe was cast iron and the blockage was about 30ft down. I was able to snake the line in about 25ft before I had to connect it to a drill. I had my wife use the standard Ryobi Cordless drill (lime green) in low speed while I fed the entire 50ft into the pipe. Once the drill was close to the clean out I switched it to hi-speed, pulled the snake in and out about 2 feet for a minute. After a minute I spun the drill on hi-speed while I backed the 50ft out of the pipe. I was able to see exactly where the clog was once the snake was out. The pushing and pulling while it was in there stretched the coils slightly to allow for hair and feminine products to get twisted in the wire. Once I pulled the snake out all the clogs came out with it, (yes it is terribly messy and gross) but I got the blockage out cheaper then hiring a plumber.
Pros: Great Value
Cons: no case
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Smithtown NY

The Right Tool For The Job

PostedApril 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this auger/snake to clear a blockage in the waste line. I turned it it with a half inch Bosch cordless drill in low speed mode. the weight of the snake kept it from whipping wildly. My wife operated the drill and I stuffed the snake into the clean-out tee while the drill was turning. It helped that I could lay the snake in a straight line from the cleanout tee to the drill. It only took a few minutes to stuff the 50 foot snake into the clean-out tee.
The dirty snake stained the cement unfinished basement floor black when it was withdrawn which does not bother me.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not easy to turn

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this to try and clean out my 3" line. When you put in a long length of it, It is not thick/strong enough to twist without binding up. I would twist as hard as I could but it would just be countered by the spring action and would spring/quickly twist back to the neutral spot. Actually could be a little dangerous when it springs back releasing the built up tension. The handle is difficult to use as a means of spinning it. Overall, it works OK for shorter distances but 50 foot is too much.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from ElMonte C.A.

Drain auger

PostedJanuary 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a very good tool for the home owner to have. It is very simple to use and will handle most cloged dranes up to 3 in Be very carefell not to kink the cable when cleaning the larger sizes. (don`t force it) As for storage I hang my auger behind the garage from a rafter . Its out of sight and not in the way . Or unsightly. Also make sure it is cleaned after every use . My last one lasted 30 years. So take care of your auger and this one will be the last one you will ever by.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from houma la
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

1/2" Drill Requied

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Used It on My sewage Drain Line After Trying Everything Else Under The Sun. It Worked!! The Key Is U Must Have A 1/2 Drill. Turning It By Hand Is A Joke.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Mt Pleasant, WI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Got the job done

PostedSeptember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My short power auger could not reach the blockage. The 50 ft auger worked great. Should have purchased this instead of the power auger years ago. Much easier to use. Not as messy as the power auger. A storage container or bag would be nice.
Pros: Reliable
Cons: storage difficulties
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger

Uh point less

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is just useless and pain to use and crank...just save yourself the time and anger rent a motorized one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>