728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger

1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger

Designed for most medium household drains, this BrassCraft 1/2 in. x 50 ft. drain auger features a high-quality spring wire for excellent flexibility in tight bends. The design provides maximum thrusting action, even through strainer crossbars.
Overall rating:
3.948 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(116 reviews) 116
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product89 of 110reviews
Rating Breakdown 116 reviews
3.9 out of 5
5
(60)
4
(25)
3
(11)
2
(5)
1
(15)
Ease of installation 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product89 of 110reviews
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 57 Answers
Customer reviews for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
Review 1 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Palm Desert CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Saved me at least $200 bucks.

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Background on me: I am a 27 year old female college student who has absolutely 0 technical skills when it comes to home maintenance. That being said, I also didn't have $250 for a house call to get them to unclog my kitchen sink. I did some research, read some e-how pages and decided to shell out the $30 for this plumbing snake thing. Brought it home, futzed with undoing all the pipes under the sink and stuck it in the drain. Found the clog maybe...3 or 4 feet in? Cleared the clog, put everything back together. The whole thing took me maybe 30 minutes. I saved $220 and also got a nifty little sense of accomplishment. Totally worth it.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions, Easy to Use
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Minneapolis, MN
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This Auger saved me money

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My main line to the street needs to be cleared out once to twice a year because of blockage. In the past have been renting a power snake at $50.00-$60.00 a pop, but decided to try this 50 x 1/2 auger at half the price. Main line is a straight shot of about 50 feet to the street with no tree root issues and ran the auger out and back in 10 minutes to resolve the blockage. For me this auger was easier to used than the power snakes I have rented out. Flushed out the sewer line via load of laundry from the washing machine, rinsed & dried the auger, and wiped cable down with some transmission fluid to prevent rust. Good to go for next time with out spending the $50.00-$60.00 to resolve blockage.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Denver, CO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This worked where everything else didn't..

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Had a very, very slow kitchen sink drain. Tried a 25' 1/4" hand cranked snake, fail. Tried a 25' 3/8" motorized snake that cost $150, epic fail (that thing was particularly bad). Almost called a plumber but decided to try one more time, with this auger. It worked like a CHAMP. It was easier to feed in than any of those snakes. The 1/2" diameter wire makes it very unlikely to kink in the drain, something those thinner snakes will do very easily. I got all 50' in and pulled it back out with no problem, and it dragged out the big piece of plastic that was clogging my drain.
Definitely, try this before you get a plumber or any of those other kinds of snakes. Don't forget to also buy a bucket to keep it in. Needless to say, it comes out of the drain in a pretty nasty state of filth.
Pros: Reliable, actually gets the job done
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked on Main Cleanout Blockage

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
If you are wondering if this 1/2 in x 50 ft auger will unclog a main cleanout (from the house to the street), it just worked for me! After having rented the professional electric drain augers 3 times in the last two years (at around $50-60 a shot) I was looking for a more permanent solution for light duty clogs. This was a full clog of the main line running from my house to the street (townhouse). Product worked as advertised. Stop pushing when you hit the clog...then start rotating clockwise. I'd assume this wouldn't work if you had roots in your pipes... if that is the case, I suggest the electric power auger (or professional help).
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Eugene, OR
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Make sure you know what parts come with your purchase

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The product itself is exactly what I needed. Just beware that you know what pieces come with what you are buying if you order online and pick up at customer service. I was outside and nearly putting my 50 drain auger in the car when I thought. I don't see a handle to turn this thing as I shove it through my drain pipe. The person at the pickup station did not have any clue that it was missing the handle, and the puller [who should have known better] did not notice that the handle was not there when they brought it up to the front desk. Just reiterating "caveat emptor" let the buyer beware, you need to know, because if you trust the knowledge of others, sometimes you will be let down.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Amazing! Cleared our pipes in less than 15 minutes!

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This auger is amazing. I'm a busy college student, so when my mom's sink stopped working there wasn't much I could do. She had a few people try to get it unclogged, and they'd taken fluids, plungers, and snakes to the battle to no avail.
I came down tonight and decided to try my hand at aug'ing (new word). I bought the longest auger I could find at Home Depot for $30 and took it home. Within 15 minutes I had the drain unclogged. Dishwasher, washing machine, and sink are all working like a charm!
This thing was completely effective.The only downside--I'd say--is how hard it is to actually twist the twisty-mabob. I actually just jammed this through 50' of pipe after giving up on twisting and it worked even better than I could've hoped.
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger

Works great!

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Double kitchen sink completely clogged. First tried Drano. No luck. Next i used a 25 ft auger from the roof vent. No luck. So i went to home depot and bought this 50 foot auger. Back on the roof i went. After inserting about 45 foot of the auger into the pipe, I hit paydirt. Actually i hit a big chunk of broccoli casserole. After pushing the auger down and up a few times(I didnt even use the handle) it broke through and cleared the clog. I then went inside and thanked my wife for putting leftover broccoli casserole down the garbage disposal :) great products. I rolled it up in a 5 gallon bucket, sprayed it down with WD-40 and stored it away in my shop. No more plumbers for me!
+41points
41out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger

This auger works great!

PostedJanuary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
On Friday we had our grandkids over but did not know that they were stuffing wads of toilet paper down the toilet. Eventually the main 4 inch sewer pipe to our septic plunged and the lower level drain backed up as well as the tub. I tried to find a plumber but being in the country it was a no go. In the night I found this on an internet search and Saturday morning I was at Home Depot at 7 am. Within 15 minutes of returning home I had the drain unplugged. This thing was awesome! I did hook up my 1/2 drill to turn it in and out and it worked great. I really suggest the drill. It made the job easy plus it is good to have on hand anyway.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger

no better value than this

PostedDecember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It is simple and gets the job done. It is long enough. Bear in mind it is a bigger .5 inch, so it will not turn around easily. Be sure to use it for the appropriate size of pipes, definitely not the smallest pipe.
I used it for a clogged kitchen drain pipe. I lost my .25 auger that has a fancy clank handle, so bought this bigger to try. It worked very well. But this kind of work is very smelly as you should expect it to be. Doing it under the kitchen sink will not work, as it is a larger auger, and simply there are more turns to go through before reaching the clogged material. I did it from my basement by unscrewing a plug on the larger section of the drain pipe. After being pushed and turned in about 10 feet long, it drained some liquid out. But it needed the second round of pushing and turning to get all the mess out. Boy it smells horrible!! I am glad that there is no carpet in my basement. It is wise not to have carpet in the basement. It is my seond job like this in short 13 years. You better master this skill or save money for someone else to do it.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Baltimore, MD

Fantastic!! Get the job done!! $200 saved :)

PostedJanuary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Buy this auger, add 1 helper, and a 1/2" variable speed drill.
You now have a professional drain cleaning system.
100% gets the jobs done, pays for itself on the first use.
(Disconnect the elbow, make sure you have the spring fully uncoiled and laid out in a straight line before you start turning with the drill, go slow, take you time, let the turning of the spring clear the obstacles, gentle forward pressure, and flush afterwards with lots of water.)
Enough said. No you know the secrets!
Buy it, take your time, learn, get her done! It is money saved.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Fort Worth, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Similar to pushing a rope

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very difficult to use - easily kinks - even when used with a 1/2 inch drill as power the device is unwieldy. It did not work at all in my application of trying to clear a home sewer line. I don't see how the supplied handle will last. It is made of thin wall conduit and the thumb screw has only enough metal in the conduit to use about 1 or 2 threads and will easily strip out. I don't see how Home Depot can support this item. I also wonder if the positive reviews are fake.
Cons: unwieldy, easily kinked and deformed, poor design
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Kansas City, MO

BrassCraft 1/2 in. x 50 in. Drain Auger

PostedOctober 31, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am a 53 yr old w/disabled son of 23 yrs old still living at home. 1 1/2 yrs after the divorce, I purchased my home. 4 mos after living in this house, the drain in basement was backing-up or overflowing every time I took a shower, or my son took a shower in the basement. I cannot afford a plumber and do not know anything about plumbing. My son suggested I get an auger. I bought this auger at Home Depot and my disabled son, using the new auger, resolved the plumbing issue, by himself. So, I didn't have to pay for a plumber and my son has new confidence. Thank you very much - I recommend Home Depot to everybody.
+51points
55out of 59found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger

No good

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was no good! I pushed down the clean out and the snake bent right of way! Would not recommend this to anyone!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Anaheim, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It does the job.

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Only given it 4 of 5 stars because while it did the job, turning auger by hand is difficult at best. You have to contend with the unused portion behind you while feeding it down the pipe. I pushed past a very hard piece of grease and used all 50 feet of this thing. As others have stated I had to use the screw that tightens the handle to the auger for leverage. The handle alone does't provide enough.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not worth th time and money

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I guess if you just have an easy fix clog maybe it will work. This thing continued to become tangled in the drain. When I pulled it out there were three or four kinks in the line and made it basically useless. I went and got a power auger and it fixed the problem. It also is not easy to store after use if you had to wind it up. I wound up throwing mine in the scrap pile for scrap metal when I haul some other stuff.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger

Did what I needed

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Not as good as a powered snake but it's useful for drains and small clogs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger

Difficult to use, at best

PostedNovember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The auger is of solid construction and quite heavy. That's the good news. As others have noted, the handle and small screw are nearly worthless. After about ten feet, I encountered a 90 degree corner in the pipe that stopped me cold. As I tried to turn the handle, the "free" end of the auger began to twist and flop around, ultimately to force me to stop and try to deal with a kinky, twisted mass of heavy coil. Gee, that was fun. If it were in a drum-type dispenser, it might work well. Don't buy it.l
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Charlotte, NC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wow...Unclogged my Kitchen drain in 10 minutes

PostedNovember 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a kitchen sink clog that was shooting water out the Air Admittance Valve. I was at first clueless, so I removed the piping connections from under the sink. There was a long line of grease and grim in the pipes. I could not reach into the walls to the get the Crude out. Purchase on these Augers the next day and ran it out about 40 ft deep. Sink running like new. Awesome....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from King of Prussia, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

room for improvement

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I chose this option instead of calling a professional which would have cost me about ten times this amount. This was the second time I purchased this type of product to clear out a clog further down the pipe from the kitchen sink. The reason I didn't keep the first was the rust that quickly occurs on the surface. Unfortunately this happened again as we used it twice in order to clear the clog. It does take some strength so my husband did it and gave him quite a workout. I feel the reason it didn't work at first was the pipe turns down into the main pipe and the auger wouldn't make the turn. I rinsed off the dirty mess from the pipe in the yard and overnight it rusted. I put it in a heavy duty plastic bag and my husband fished it down the pipe again and used the handle to twist it through. After this second time, I poured a strong gel clog remover into the drain and sporadically poured hot water to help it make its way down the drain pipe. Success and even with the gel purchase cost less than $40. I would suggest that someone make a plastic coated version that would not rust.
Pros: Reliable, good price
Cons: rusts after use, requires strength
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Rockport, ME
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product, worked like a charm

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a blockage in my main drainage pipe as it exits my home. The pipe was cast iron and the blockage was about 30ft down. I was able to snake the line in about 25ft before I had to connect it to a drill. I had my wife use the standard Ryobi Cordless drill (lime green) in low speed while I fed the entire 50ft into the pipe. Once the drill was close to the clean out I switched it to hi-speed, pulled the snake in and out about 2 feet for a minute. After a minute I spun the drill on hi-speed while I backed the 50ft out of the pipe. I was able to see exactly where the clog was once the snake was out. The pushing and pulling while it was in there stretched the coils slightly to allow for hair and feminine products to get twisted in the wire. Once I pulled the snake out all the clogs came out with it, (yes it is terribly messy and gross) but I got the blockage out cheaper then hiring a plumber.
Pros: Great Value
Cons: no case
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>