728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger

1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger

Designed for most medium household drains, this BrassCraft 1/2 in. x 50 ft. drain auger features a high-quality spring wire for excellent flexibility in tight bends. The design provides maximum thrusting action, even through strainer crossbars.
Overall rating:
3.967 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(120 reviews) 120
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product93 of 114reviews
Rating Breakdown 120 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(62)
4
(27)
3
(11)
2
(5)
1
(15)
Ease of installation 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product93 of 114reviews
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 65 Answers
Customer reviews for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
Review 1 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Palm Desert CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Saved me at least $200 bucks.

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Background on me: I am a 27 year old female college student who has absolutely 0 technical skills when it comes to home maintenance. That being said, I also didn't have $250 for a house call to get them to unclog my kitchen sink. I did some research, read some e-how pages and decided to shell out the $30 for this plumbing snake thing. Brought it home, futzed with undoing all the pipes under the sink and stuck it in the drain. Found the clog maybe...3 or 4 feet in? Cleared the clog, put everything back together. The whole thing took me maybe 30 minutes. I saved $220 and also got a nifty little sense of accomplishment. Totally worth it.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions, Easy to Use
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Minneapolis, MN
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This Auger saved me money

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My main line to the street needs to be cleared out once to twice a year because of blockage. In the past have been renting a power snake at $50.00-$60.00 a pop, but decided to try this 50 x 1/2 auger at half the price. Main line is a straight shot of about 50 feet to the street with no tree root issues and ran the auger out and back in 10 minutes to resolve the blockage. For me this auger was easier to used than the power snakes I have rented out. Flushed out the sewer line via load of laundry from the washing machine, rinsed & dried the auger, and wiped cable down with some transmission fluid to prevent rust. Good to go for next time with out spending the $50.00-$60.00 to resolve blockage.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger

no better value than this

PostedDecember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It is simple and gets the job done. It is long enough. Bear in mind it is a bigger .5 inch, so it will not turn around easily. Be sure to use it for the appropriate size of pipes, definitely not the smallest pipe.
I used it for a clogged kitchen drain pipe. I lost my .25 auger that has a fancy clank handle, so bought this bigger to try. It worked very well. But this kind of work is very smelly as you should expect it to be. Doing it under the kitchen sink will not work, as it is a larger auger, and simply there are more turns to go through before reaching the clogged material. I did it from my basement by unscrewing a plug on the larger section of the drain pipe. After being pushed and turned in about 10 feet long, it drained some liquid out. But it needed the second round of pushing and turning to get all the mess out. Boy it smells horrible!! I am glad that there is no carpet in my basement. It is wise not to have carpet in the basement. It is my seond job like this in short 13 years. You better master this skill or save money for someone else to do it.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked on Main Cleanout Blockage

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
If you are wondering if this 1/2 in x 50 ft auger will unclog a main cleanout (from the house to the street), it just worked for me! After having rented the professional electric drain augers 3 times in the last two years (at around $50-60 a shot) I was looking for a more permanent solution for light duty clogs. This was a full clog of the main line running from my house to the street (townhouse). Product worked as advertised. Stop pushing when you hit the clog...then start rotating clockwise. I'd assume this wouldn't work if you had roots in your pipes... if that is the case, I suggest the electric power auger (or professional help).
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Denver, CO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This worked where everything else didn't..

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Had a very, very slow kitchen sink drain. Tried a 25' 1/4" hand cranked snake, fail. Tried a 25' 3/8" motorized snake that cost $150, epic fail (that thing was particularly bad). Almost called a plumber but decided to try one more time, with this auger. It worked like a CHAMP. It was easier to feed in than any of those snakes. The 1/2" diameter wire makes it very unlikely to kink in the drain, something those thinner snakes will do very easily. I got all 50' in and pulled it back out with no problem, and it dragged out the big piece of plastic that was clogging my drain.
Definitely, try this before you get a plumber or any of those other kinds of snakes. Don't forget to also buy a bucket to keep it in. Needless to say, it comes out of the drain in a pretty nasty state of filth.
Pros: Reliable, actually gets the job done
+31points
31out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger

Works great!

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Double kitchen sink completely clogged. First tried Drano. No luck. Next i used a 25 ft auger from the roof vent. No luck. So i went to home depot and bought this 50 foot auger. Back on the roof i went. After inserting about 45 foot of the auger into the pipe, I hit paydirt. Actually i hit a big chunk of broccoli casserole. After pushing the auger down and up a few times(I didnt even use the handle) it broke through and cleared the clog. I then went inside and thanked my wife for putting leftover broccoli casserole down the garbage disposal :) great products. I rolled it up in a 5 gallon bucket, sprayed it down with WD-40 and stored it away in my shop. No more plumbers for me!
+41points
41out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Amazing! Cleared our pipes in less than 15 minutes!

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This auger is amazing. I'm a busy college student, so when my mom's sink stopped working there wasn't much I could do. She had a few people try to get it unclogged, and they'd taken fluids, plungers, and snakes to the battle to no avail.
I came down tonight and decided to try my hand at aug'ing (new word). I bought the longest auger I could find at Home Depot for $30 and took it home. Within 15 minutes I had the drain unclogged. Dishwasher, washing machine, and sink are all working like a charm!
This thing was completely effective.The only downside--I'd say--is how hard it is to actually twist the twisty-mabob. I actually just jammed this through 50' of pipe after giving up on twisting and it worked even better than I could've hoped.
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Murray, Utah
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Super Snake!

PostedFebruary 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a uber clog in the kitchen sink from years of garbage disposal use and no chemicals would work. I used a 25' snake I had on hand but it didn't reach the clog or it was just going through it and not unclogging it. This went in 1 time and out came the smell from the sewer letting you know the clog was gone. it does have a bit of trouble getting around corners but not very hard. The "handle thing" you are supposed to be able to twist the snake with doesn't work at all. Was easier to just twist it by hand. All in all it worked great and did what it was supposed to. Also is super long for those hard to reach clogs.
Pros: Reliable, super long, Durable
Cons: twisting handle doesn't work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Anaheim, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It does the job.

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Only given it 4 of 5 stars because while it did the job, turning auger by hand is difficult at best. You have to contend with the unused portion behind you while feeding it down the pipe. I pushed past a very hard piece of grease and used all 50 feet of this thing. As others have stated I had to use the screw that tightens the handle to the auger for leverage. The handle alone does't provide enough.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Eugene, OR
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Make sure you know what parts come with your purchase

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The product itself is exactly what I needed. Just beware that you know what pieces come with what you are buying if you order online and pick up at customer service. I was outside and nearly putting my 50 drain auger in the car when I thought. I don't see a handle to turn this thing as I shove it through my drain pipe. The person at the pickup station did not have any clue that it was missing the handle, and the puller [who should have known better] did not notice that the handle was not there when they brought it up to the front desk. Just reiterating "caveat emptor" let the buyer beware, you need to know, because if you trust the knowledge of others, sometimes you will be let down.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Rochester, MN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor design, worse than unusable

PostedFebruary 24, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased because of price and its length. Didn't think through what the loose coils would mean. Imagine standing in 4 inches of raw sewage, trying to use this comical 8 inch section of slightly-bent conduit to spin 40 feet of sewage covered snake that's trying to wrap itself around your ankles. Never again.
Pros: cheap
Cons: unusable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger

This auger works great!

PostedJanuary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
On Friday we had our grandkids over but did not know that they were stuffing wads of toilet paper down the toilet. Eventually the main 4 inch sewer pipe to our septic plunged and the lower level drain backed up as well as the tub. I tried to find a plumber but being in the country it was a no go. In the night I found this on an internet search and Saturday morning I was at Home Depot at 7 am. Within 15 minutes of returning home I had the drain unplugged. This thing was awesome! I did hook up my 1/2 drill to turn it in and out and it worked great. I really suggest the drill. It made the job easy plus it is good to have on hand anyway.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Kansas City, MO

BrassCraft 1/2 in. x 50 in. Drain Auger

PostedOctober 31, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am a 53 yr old w/disabled son of 23 yrs old still living at home. 1 1/2 yrs after the divorce, I purchased my home. 4 mos after living in this house, the drain in basement was backing-up or overflowing every time I took a shower, or my son took a shower in the basement. I cannot afford a plumber and do not know anything about plumbing. My son suggested I get an auger. I bought this auger at Home Depot and my disabled son, using the new auger, resolved the plumbing issue, by himself. So, I didn't have to pay for a plumber and my son has new confidence. Thank you very much - I recommend Home Depot to everybody.
+51points
55out of 59found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from high point nc
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

good price

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Very for small clogs Good for hard to reach places
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Baltimore, MD

Fantastic!! Get the job done!! $200 saved :)

PostedJanuary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Buy this auger, add 1 helper, and a 1/2" variable speed drill.
You now have a professional drain cleaning system.
100% gets the jobs done, pays for itself on the first use.
(Disconnect the elbow, make sure you have the spring fully uncoiled and laid out in a straight line before you start turning with the drill, go slow, take you time, let the turning of the spring clear the obstacles, gentle forward pressure, and flush afterwards with lots of water.)
Enough said. No you know the secrets!
Buy it, take your time, learn, get her done! It is money saved.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Effective

PostedFebruary 9, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No complaints, 8' in I hit a nasty barrier with the consistency of putty. after about 20min of punching through the line was able to drain, finally.
crank handle was only usable when using the thumb screw as leverage to twist around and around, otherwise useless. Needs more of an offset angle to be effective.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger

Hits the spot!

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Sometimes you just need a little longer snake! I had a 35' auger that wasn't quite making it to the clog. I removed the auger from my machine and replaced it with this one from Home Depot and my kitchen sink was back in business in no time. Nice quality and saved me a bundle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger

No good

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was no good! I pushed down the clean out and the snake bent right of way! Would not recommend this to anyone!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not worth th time and money

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I guess if you just have an easy fix clog maybe it will work. This thing continued to become tangled in the drain. When I pulled it out there were three or four kinks in the line and made it basically useless. I went and got a power auger and it fixed the problem. It also is not easy to store after use if you had to wind it up. I wound up throwing mine in the scrap pile for scrap metal when I haul some other stuff.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Rockport, ME
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product, worked like a charm

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a blockage in my main drainage pipe as it exits my home. The pipe was cast iron and the blockage was about 30ft down. I was able to snake the line in about 25ft before I had to connect it to a drill. I had my wife use the standard Ryobi Cordless drill (lime green) in low speed while I fed the entire 50ft into the pipe. Once the drill was close to the clean out I switched it to hi-speed, pulled the snake in and out about 2 feet for a minute. After a minute I spun the drill on hi-speed while I backed the 50ft out of the pipe. I was able to see exactly where the clog was once the snake was out. The pushing and pulling while it was in there stretched the coils slightly to allow for hair and feminine products to get twisted in the wire. Once I pulled the snake out all the clogs came out with it, (yes it is terribly messy and gross) but I got the blockage out cheaper then hiring a plumber.
Pros: Great Value
Cons: no case
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>