728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger

1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger

Designed for most medium household drains, this BrassCraft 1/2 in. x 50 ft. drain auger features a high-quality spring wire for excellent flexibility in tight bends. The design provides maximum thrusting action, even through strainer crossbars.
Overall rating:
4.1 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(80 reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product63 of 75reviews
Rating Breakdown 80 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(46)
4
(14)
3
(9)
2
(4)
1
(7)
Ease of installation 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
84%of customersrecommend this product63 of 75reviews
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 44 Answers
Customer reviews for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
Review 1 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
Goldengopher
from Minneapolis, MN
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This Auger saved me money

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My main line to the street needs to be cleared out once to twice a year because of blockage. In the past have been renting a power snake at $50.00-$60.00 a pop, but decided to try this 50 x 1/2 auger at half the price. Main line is a straight shot of about 50 feet to the street with no tree root issues and ran the auger out and back in 10 minutes to resolve the blockage. For me this auger was easier to used than the power snakes I have rented out. Flushed out the sewer line via load of laundry from the washing machine, rinsed & dried the auger, and wiped cable down with some transmission fluid to prevent rust. Good to go for next time with out spending the $50.00-$60.00 to resolve blockage.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
John
from Denver, CO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This worked where everything else didn't..

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had a very, very slow kitchen sink drain. Tried a 25' 1/4" hand cranked snake, fail. Tried a 25' 3/8" motorized snake that cost $150, epic fail (that thing was particularly bad). Almost called a plumber but decided to try one more time, with this auger. It worked like a CHAMP. It was easier to feed in than any of those snakes. The 1/2" diameter wire makes it very unlikely to kink in the drain, something those thinner snakes will do very easily. I got all 50' in and pulled it back out with no problem, and it dragged out the big piece of plastic that was clogging my drain.
Definitely, try this before you get a plumber or any of those other kinds of snakes. Don't forget to also buy a bucket to keep it in. Needless to say, it comes out of the drain in a pretty nasty state of filth.
Pros: Reliable, actually gets the job done
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
Brandon
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Amazing! Cleared our pipes in less than 15 minutes!

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This auger is amazing. I'm a busy college student, so when my mom's sink stopped working there wasn't much I could do. She had a few people try to get it unclogged, and they'd taken fluids, plungers, and snakes to the battle to no avail.
I came down tonight and decided to try my hand at aug'ing (new word). I bought the longest auger I could find at Home Depot for $30 and took it home. Within 15 minutes I had the drain unclogged. Dishwasher, washing machine, and sink are all working like a charm!
This thing was completely effective.The only downside--I'd say--is how hard it is to actually twist the twisty-mabob. I actually just jammed this through 50' of pipe after giving up on twisting and it worked even better than I could've hoped.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
Mainlineclog
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked on Main Cleanout Blockage

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you are wondering if this 1/2 in x 50 ft auger will unclog a main cleanout (from the house to the street), it just worked for me! After having rented the professional electric drain augers 3 times in the last two years (at around $50-60 a shot) I was looking for a more permanent solution for light duty clogs. This was a full clog of the main line running from my house to the street (townhouse). Product worked as advertised. Stop pushing when you hit the clog...then start rotating clockwise. I'd assume this wouldn't work if you had roots in your pipes... if that is the case, I suggest the electric power auger (or professional help).
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
JackFromArkansas

Works great!

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Double kitchen sink completely clogged. First tried Drano. No luck. Next i used a 25 ft auger from the roof vent. No luck. So i went to home depot and bought this 50 foot auger. Back on the roof i went. After inserting about 45 foot of the auger into the pipe, I hit paydirt. Actually i hit a big chunk of broccoli casserole. After pushing the auger down and up a few times(I didnt even use the handle) it broke through and cleared the clog. I then went inside and thanked my wife for putting leftover broccoli casserole down the garbage disposal :) great products. I rolled it up in a 5 gallon bucket, sprayed it down with WD-40 and stored it away in my shop. No more plumbers for me!
+37points
37out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
loneriver
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not easy to turn

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this to try and clean out my 3" line. When you put in a long length of it, It is not thick/strong enough to twist without binding up. I would twist as hard as I could but it would just be countered by the spring action and would spring/quickly twist back to the neutral spot. Actually could be a little dangerous when it springs back releasing the built up tension. The handle is difficult to use as a means of spinning it. Overall, it works OK for shorter distances but 50 foot is too much.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
Mama1957
from Kansas City, MO

BrassCraft 1/2 in. x 50 in. Drain Auger

PostedOctober 31, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a 53 yr old w/disabled son of 23 yrs old still living at home. 1 1/2 yrs after the divorce, I purchased my home. 4 mos after living in this house, the drain in basement was backing-up or overflowing every time I took a shower, or my son took a shower in the basement. I cannot afford a plumber and do not know anything about plumbing. My son suggested I get an auger. I bought this auger at Home Depot and my disabled son, using the new auger, resolved the plumbing issue, by himself. So, I didn't have to pay for a plumber and my son has new confidence. Thank you very much - I recommend Home Depot to everybody.
+47points
50out of 53found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
DallasMom
from Dallas Tx
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This Drain Snake worked in 3 minutes

PostedApril 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a single 51 yr old mom who clogged her sink drain by stupidly putting coffee grounds in the sink, thinking the garbage disposal would take care of them. After determining that the clog was in the line that ran from the house, not the part under the sink, I bought this 50' auger at Home Depot. I didn't even use the handle, just snaked the coil into the drain and shoved. Felt it push something between 40 and 50', but I pushed the entire coil into the drain for good measure, then pulled it out. Replaced the outside valve, turned on the water and NO MORE CLOG!!! This thing is a miracle, I'm so proud of myself. My plumber would have charged $120 to come do this and would have not got here till tomorrow. And now that I have the tool, next time will be FREE!!! Tip: coil the snake into a sturdy box or bucket when it comes out of the drain, let it dry and spray with WD40 to keep from rusting, thanks to other reviewers who suggested this tip, or I would have had a problem controlling the coil, it's heavy. Wish all my home fix-it projects were this easy.
Pros: sturdy and worked right out of the packaging
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
shortfinger
from carson city nv
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

it did its job

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i have been trying for almost 2 days to get the drain unplugged. i tried draino products. the vinegar and powders neither one was working. so i got this item since it was a straight 30 feet run to clean it out. i did not need the handle part. so i just pushed it into the pipe and pushed what ever it was to the main house pipe 35 feet away now it is running just fine.. after that i poured a bunch of boiling water into the drain to i hope move the gunk out to the main pipe so far so good. i did as it said i cleaned it and oiled it and put it into a bucket. nice product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
lcwa
from new jersey
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good drain snake, did the job

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I tried the 3/8 in drain snake with power drain tool, it will kink and deemed useless. This 1/2 in snake is much stronger and did not kink. Went all the way to the end of the snake and pulled out the stuff that clogged the sewer line. This one is still flexible enough to go through the 1 1/2 in kitchen sink drain as well as the toilet. $27 is well spent.
Pros: strong wire
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
boomer
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product works great

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product worked great. Handle locks on tight and easy to use. Like the sideways lock on handle for ease of use. Locks on tight. No slipping. A+ product for the price.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
DOCSDOGS
from JOLIET IL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DID NOT FAIL ME - tried many others and this WORKED

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This auger got through and cleared out everything in its path and where several others failed, this auger pushed right through the clog. I used it like a ramrod - no turning, no twisting, no drill... just push this sucker through and job done!!!!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
BUTCH
from METROPOLIS,ILL.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

THE BEST TOOL FOR THE MONEY

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I HAD KNOW PROBLEM WORKING WITH THIS TOOL. I RAN THE WHOLE 50 FT. OF THIS DRAIN AUGER, PULLED IT BACK OUT,SEALED UP EVERYTHING. I HAVE NOT HAD ANY PROBLEMS SINCE. IT WORKS!!!!!!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
Shine
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worth every penny, plus the savings from not having to call a plumber!

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Chemicals, plunger - nothing was working... This took care of our clog (shredded angel hair pasta brick) within a half-hour! I'm grateful for the reviews that existed on this site for this product! If I can use it, anyone can! Every household should own one!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
Cons: i wish it came with a reel to hold it in place
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
BobC
from Melbourne, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good but can be improved

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Overall good product, it works as expected. There are two areas can be improved. The first is some turning tool. The current handle does not help much, basically one needs to use hand to twist it. The second area is its rust resistance. Currently, rust shows up after the first use.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Too Slow
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
LMMD
from MA
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

didn't work

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
this tool got stuck in my drain even though ad says it will fit. I used alot of gel liquid plumber and waited a few days
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
Cons: doesn't manuver properly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
Andrummist

Inexpensive and long

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would not recommend this product. Though the price is low and has a length of 50', my wife and I together could not reasonably rotate the snake. The hand crank was useless. We ended up wrapping duct tape around the end so we could get a grip and twist. I took us hours for what could have been a 10 minute job with an auger that would actually turn.
Pros: cheap, long
Cons: Too Slow, too hard to turn, end coils up while turning
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
CW77

Not a bad tool, but not up to my needs

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had hoped this would help me avoid the need to call a plumber when our sewer line backed up. It didn't, but was reasonably easy to use, and may have been successful for a smaller clog. In the end, clearing our sewer line took 3 hours of cutting from an experienced plumber in addition to thoroughly jetting the line. If we catch it earlier next time, this auger may help.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
Overland04
from Rockport, ME
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product, worked like a charm

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a blockage in my main drainage pipe as it exits my home. The pipe was cast iron and the blockage was about 30ft down. I was able to snake the line in about 25ft before I had to connect it to a drill. I had my wife use the standard Ryobi Cordless drill (lime green) in low speed while I fed the entire 50ft into the pipe. Once the drill was close to the clean out I switched it to hi-speed, pulled the snake in and out about 2 feet for a minute. After a minute I spun the drill on hi-speed while I backed the 50ft out of the pipe. I was able to see exactly where the clog was once the snake was out. The pushing and pulling while it was in there stretched the coils slightly to allow for hair and feminine products to get twisted in the wire. Once I pulled the snake out all the clogs came out with it, (yes it is terribly messy and gross) but I got the blockage out cheaper then hiring a plumber.
Pros: Great Value
Cons: no case
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
Hadley

Pretty good for manual

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Sturdy ...........................................
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>