728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger

1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger

Designed for most medium household drains, this BrassCraft 1/2 in. x 50 ft. drain auger features a high-quality spring wire for excellent flexibility in tight bends. The design provides maximum thrusting action, even through strainer crossbars.
Overall rating:
3.986 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(143 reviews) 143
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product111 of 137reviews
Rating Breakdown 143 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(76)
4
(30)
3
(13)
2
(7)
1
(17)
Ease of installation 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product111 of 137reviews
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 78 Answers
Customer reviews for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
Review 1 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Palm Desert CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Saved me at least $200 bucks.

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Background on me: I am a 27 year old female college student who has absolutely 0 technical skills when it comes to home maintenance. That being said, I also didn't have $250 for a house call to get them to unclog my kitchen sink. I did some research, read some e-how pages and decided to shell out the $30 for this plumbing snake thing. Brought it home, futzed with undoing all the pipes under the sink and stuck it in the drain. Found the clog maybe...3 or 4 feet in? Cleared the clog, put everything back together. The whole thing took me maybe 30 minutes. I saved $220 and also got a nifty little sense of accomplishment. Totally worth it.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions, Easy to Use
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didn't work for a major clog

PostedMarch 16, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
With a 1/2" drill on the end, because it doesn't have a housing, all the cable that wasn't down the pipe was spun up into a tangled mess before the end started to uncoil at the drill, forcing me to snip off a couple inches. I tried by hand also - from the vent stack, second floor toilet, and finally the basement. Hit the clog ~25' in and this thing either doubled up on itself or coiled up in the pipe without pushing the clog at all - managed to fit all 50' down a 30' pipe! Rented a 3/4" power snake and that did the job.
Granted, this clog turned out to be a rag and twine sabotage job from the previous occupants who were foreclosed on, so maybe for your average...clog... it would work a little better. Why doesn't anyone make one of these with a drum housing though?? The loose coil is impossible to rotate. Still, it's cheap enough that it might be worth a shot.
Pros: cheap, flexible
Cons: rotation ineffective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Long Island, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Laundry and kitchen drain cleared

PostedJune 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My laundry drain was slow that when the washing machine starts to discharge waste water, it would back up and spill all over the floor and the waste water would also come up from kitchen sink drain. I've tried the 25' drain auger or drain opener liquid in the past, the problem would go away then returns in a year or two. But this time, neither the smaller drain auger or liquid worked. So I finally decided to get this bigger and longer drain auger after weeks of frustration. Went up the roof and inserted it in the vent pipe, hit 2 stops and twisted the auger thru them. Came back down and started the washing machine, the waste water just went down the drain like a whistle. No more slow drains.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
Cons: can be hard to twist
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked on Main Cleanout Blockage

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
If you are wondering if this 1/2 in x 50 ft auger will unclog a main cleanout (from the house to the street), it just worked for me! After having rented the professional electric drain augers 3 times in the last two years (at around $50-60 a shot) I was looking for a more permanent solution for light duty clogs. This was a full clog of the main line running from my house to the street (townhouse). Product worked as advertised. Stop pushing when you hit the clog...then start rotating clockwise. I'd assume this wouldn't work if you had roots in your pipes... if that is the case, I suggest the electric power auger (or professional help).
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+33points
33out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Minneapolis, MN
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This Auger saved me money

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My main line to the street needs to be cleared out once to twice a year because of blockage. In the past have been renting a power snake at $50.00-$60.00 a pop, but decided to try this 50 x 1/2 auger at half the price. Main line is a straight shot of about 50 feet to the street with no tree root issues and ran the auger out and back in 10 minutes to resolve the blockage. For me this auger was easier to used than the power snakes I have rented out. Flushed out the sewer line via load of laundry from the washing machine, rinsed & dried the auger, and wiped cable down with some transmission fluid to prevent rust. Good to go for next time with out spending the $50.00-$60.00 to resolve blockage.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger

Works great!

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Double kitchen sink completely clogged. First tried Drano. No luck. Next i used a 25 ft auger from the roof vent. No luck. So i went to home depot and bought this 50 foot auger. Back on the roof i went. After inserting about 45 foot of the auger into the pipe, I hit paydirt. Actually i hit a big chunk of broccoli casserole. After pushing the auger down and up a few times(I didnt even use the handle) it broke through and cleared the clog. I then went inside and thanked my wife for putting leftover broccoli casserole down the garbage disposal :) great products. I rolled it up in a 5 gallon bucket, sprayed it down with WD-40 and stored it away in my shop. No more plumbers for me!
+46points
46out of 46found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Baltimore, MD

Fantastic!! Get the job done!! $200 saved :)

PostedJanuary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Buy this auger, add 1 helper, and a 1/2" variable speed drill.
You now have a professional drain cleaning system.
100% gets the jobs done, pays for itself on the first use.
(Disconnect the elbow, make sure you have the spring fully uncoiled and laid out in a straight line before you start turning with the drill, go slow, take you time, let the turning of the spring clear the obstacles, gentle forward pressure, and flush afterwards with lots of water.)
Enough said. No you know the secrets!
Buy it, take your time, learn, get her done! It is money saved.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Denver, CO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This worked where everything else didn't..

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Had a very, very slow kitchen sink drain. Tried a 25' 1/4" hand cranked snake, fail. Tried a 25' 3/8" motorized snake that cost $150, epic fail (that thing was particularly bad). Almost called a plumber but decided to try one more time, with this auger. It worked like a CHAMP. It was easier to feed in than any of those snakes. The 1/2" diameter wire makes it very unlikely to kink in the drain, something those thinner snakes will do very easily. I got all 50' in and pulled it back out with no problem, and it dragged out the big piece of plastic that was clogging my drain.
Definitely, try this before you get a plumber or any of those other kinds of snakes. Don't forget to also buy a bucket to keep it in. Needless to say, it comes out of the drain in a pretty nasty state of filth.
Pros: Reliable, actually gets the job done
+35points
35out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cleared tree roots from main line

PostedAugust 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Thought I would give this a try with my sewer main. My clean out is in a crawl space in 1/2 basement. I have rented the larger drain auger in the past, but its just so heavy to lift into crawl. From past experience I knew my blockage would be about 40 ft. out so this was perfect. what I did was use a 8ft piece of conduit and slid auger thought it to keep it from twisting back on itself. I don't have a1/2" drill so I used an old drill bit a hair larger then inside diameter of auger and my 3/8 drill. It worked like a charm and tore right though the tree roots.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Amazing! Cleared our pipes in less than 15 minutes!

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This auger is amazing. I'm a busy college student, so when my mom's sink stopped working there wasn't much I could do. She had a few people try to get it unclogged, and they'd taken fluids, plungers, and snakes to the battle to no avail.
I came down tonight and decided to try my hand at aug'ing (new word). I bought the longest auger I could find at Home Depot for $30 and took it home. Within 15 minutes I had the drain unclogged. Dishwasher, washing machine, and sink are all working like a charm!
This thing was completely effective.The only downside--I'd say--is how hard it is to actually twist the twisty-mabob. I actually just jammed this through 50' of pipe after giving up on twisting and it worked even better than I could've hoped.
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Connecticut
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bad on Bends

PostedJune 3, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This snake is difficult to rotate manually, making it a bad choice on pipes with bends or substantial clogs that require boring. The sleeve handle is difficult to turn. Also, the screw that holds the sleeve tight is easily eaten away by the resistance created while turning. If the screw loosens, the sleeve just spins pointlessly around the snake.
I fed 22' past the first bend without trouble, but struggled on the next bend. Finally, I used vice grips to rotate the snake. Much better. (Though be careful not to warp the snake!) It helped to leave about 2 feet of cable while rotating, which was enough to get the snake to flail about inside the pipe. Straighten out the extra cable behind you to keep it from kinking up while you turn.
Pros: cheap, sorta works
Cons: No Instructions, hard to turn, bad on pipe bends
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Kansas City, MO

BrassCraft 1/2 in. x 50 in. Drain Auger

PostedOctober 31, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am a 53 yr old w/disabled son of 23 yrs old still living at home. 1 1/2 yrs after the divorce, I purchased my home. 4 mos after living in this house, the drain in basement was backing-up or overflowing every time I took a shower, or my son took a shower in the basement. I cannot afford a plumber and do not know anything about plumbing. My son suggested I get an auger. I bought this auger at Home Depot and my disabled son, using the new auger, resolved the plumbing issue, by himself. So, I didn't have to pay for a plumber and my son has new confidence. Thank you very much - I recommend Home Depot to everybody.
+54points
58out of 62found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Fort Lee, New Jersey
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Flexible enough to clean out 1 1/2 inch kitchen drain and also toilet

PostedJuly 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I tried the 1/4 in x 25 ft drain snake but could not unclogged the blockage in the kitchen drain. Bought this 1/2 in x 50 ft auger and inserted it into my power drain cleaner machine. Snaked the 1 1/2 kitchen drain and cleared the blockage after 40 ft into the drain. Since this auger is flexible enough to get around multiple turns, I also used it to clean out the toilet drain pipe from the toilet without disassembling the toilet and it worked. Only caution is to feed the line slowly and spin slowly to avoid kinking the auger. Once the auger is kinked, it is pretty much the end of it.
Pros: Easy to Install, flexible
Cons: may kink
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger

Gets job done but coiled wire bent on first use

PostedAugust 26, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Coiled wire of snake bent on first use. Worked well to unclog my main drain. Used from the vent pipe on my Florida roof. I have no other major access to my main drain.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By BrassCraft MfgAugust 27, 2015By BrassCraft MfgAugust 27, 2015
Dear LTM – Thank you for giving us the heads up on your unsatisfactory experience with this product. We would caution that the flexibility of the product required to navigate the bends of typical drainage systems necessitate care in feeding the cable into the drain. We’d love an opportunity to speak with you further on your experience using our product. At your convenience, please contact one of our Customer Service Representatives toll-free at 800-835-2200. Look forward to speaking with you.
Review 15 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger

Worked fine for me

PostedApril 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Product performed exactly as intended for me. I inserted it into the roof vent and had the clog cleared in a matter of minutes. Several others have said that the handle is useless, but I found that a little WD-40 applied inside of the plastic sleeves made them rotate much more freely, and made the handle quite functional.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Baltimore, MD
Age Range:35 to 44
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use and works!

PostedJuly 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great tool. The length is perfect, 40ft of it went in and cleared the basement walkout drain. Price is right too.
Make sure you have enough room, it is 50ft long and it wants to straighten out and works best when straight.
Definitely use a drill to run it. I would recommend an 18V one for power. No additional attachments needed. The handle that came with it is pretty much useless. When you hit a clog go slow otherwise you may kink the snake.
This is a tool that you used once in 10 yrs or more. Stores fine wound up in a bucket but it will want to straighten out so tie it with a cable tie or put a brick in the bucket to hold it down. Take care of it and it will return the favor.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Pembroke Pines, Fl
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It worked

PostedJuly 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Tried a 25' 1/4" hand top snake, failed Tried a 25' 1/4" motor ridgid sink snake that cost $159, that thing was too weak . I hit the roof stack with this auger first 20' almost fell in ,hit the stoppage .35' in , used battery drill to feed and clear line,Did get stuck real bad comingout. I had to cut 10' off the cable and pull out the hard way . Definitely, try this before you get a plumber or any of those other kinds of snake for$26 it's hard to go wrong, even if it works once you saved a $150 service call.
Pros: none
Cons: hard work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger

did not like

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
unless you keep twisting it while in the pipe it won't work , you just push the clog farther in. it really isn't that great
Cons: Too Slow
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from Virginia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job and clears my clog but needs muscle to do it.

PostedJuly 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Okay, the product is wound tightly and bound with plastic ties. Once you cut the and move it a bit it just wants to unwind from the tight loop it was bounded. By the way this is heavy since it's the 1/2 dia size and is 50 ft of steel coil, unlike the very light 25 ft 1/4 dia auger that looks like an oversize space gun. The steel dual handle with the thumb set screw doesn't really have a good enough offset such that you can tighten the set screw and start rotating the handle with both hands. But that is only because of the diameter size of steel coil. Thus I had to brace one hand against the set screw and turn that handle while holding the other handle. It was strong and long enough to help me reach the clog and dislodge it. Other than that washed it of in the backyard with plain water, coiled it in larger loops, tied it with heavy duty twist ties (scrap electrical wire) and spray coated with WD 40 to prevent/minimize rust.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: poor crank handle
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Drain Auger
from ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great investtment

PostedJuly 26, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
very easy to use and very light weight. i would really recommend owning this product
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>