728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 32 in. x 80 in. 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door

32 in. x 80 in. 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door

The Grisham 501 Series Genesis 32 in. x 80 in. Steel Black Prehung Security Door is powder coated with a durable white finish and has applied weather stripping. The heavy-gauge welded steel construction is fitted with tempered safety glass and includes an interchangeable top or bottom screen panel. A heavy-duty closer ensures smooth opening and closing. This door comes left-hinged, but is reversible for flexible installation options.
Overall rating:
4.48 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(50 reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product44 of 48reviews
Rating Breakdown 50 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(32)
4
(14)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(1)
Appearance 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product44 of 48reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for 32 in. x 80 in. 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
Review 1 for 32 in. x 80 in. 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
from Washington, DC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really like the door, but not the closer

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is a great door. There are 3 panes of glass and a screen, which is much better than some other "security" doors that are screen only. BUT the closer was defective and had to be returned. The local home depot let me exchange it, and I paid the difference for a hydraulic closer. Go the extra mile and get the quiet hydraulic closer with a button hold-open instead of the cheap spring-loaded one with the little tab that comes with the door. You'll be happier.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Good Size & Fit
Cons: cheap closer
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 32 in. x 80 in. 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
from Iowa, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good door, solid and well made - but two drawbacks

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was overall happy to purchase this door. I bought two in fact. The first one arrived and looked like it was shipped to someone else before and repackaged, wasn't happy. But, it wasn't damaged and only seemed to be missing 1 part. Once I had it installed / mounted it looked great. So I was fairly happy at that point.
The two drawbacks are: It shipped via a semi-truck which was very difficult to schedule do to the fact I work during the day - but the shipper tried very hard to meet me at a good time. This isn't a door I'd advise the novice weekend home owner to install - it took time and patience but was well worth it once installed correctly.
The door is sturdy and solid and provides excellent security especially when coupled by a double face key-set grade 2 security deadbolt - not that kind you can get at Home Depot (sorry but true - they don't stock the grade 2 commercial deadbolts). The door also comes with good sturdy glass. A burglar could break the glass but as long as you use a double face deadbolt it should deter most thieves from breaking in (and isn't that the reason your getting it anyway - bolstered security?). All and all I ordered the first one and was happy enough to order a second one - so that basically says it all, I was pleased despite my nit picking. Home Depot would be very smart if they allowed these type of things to be shipped directly to the store for customer pickup with say a non-refundable deposit for re-stocking - would have almost scored a 5 star if that were the case.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 32 in. x 80 in. 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
from Indianapolis, IN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Good solid door.

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This seemed to be plenty solid enough, none of the bowing problems of cheaper ones.
I liked the added security cover for the lock side. It helps to secure the locks from a crow bar.
The only negatives were the closure and spring directions. They did not include the exact set up for the door I purchase, so I had to guess where to attach the closure to the storm door. Works okay though.
The spring hardware directions did not match the hardware included, and the suggested pilot bit sizes were too small. Using the small suggested bit size you will stripe the phillips head screws trying to get them in. I had to go up at least 3/64th in size.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 32 in. x 80 in. 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
from Mount Juliet, TN.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

501 series genesis black prehung door

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The door was a good investment and easy to change from a right to left .
Pros: Energy Efficient, Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Well Made
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 32 in. x 80 in. 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door

Looks great, installed easily

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I installed two of these for a friend after her house was broken into. The doors installed fairly easily and look really sharp on her home. She says she's sleeping better now with the security the doors added.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 32 in. x 80 in. 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
from Indiana, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great product. Installer was very quick and cordial.

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Door fits perfectly and also helps to keep out the cold weather as well as provide security. The installer was friendly and competent.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 32 in. x 80 in. 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

security door

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The process was handled professionally by all associates, from our visit to the store to the associate who took the order and the installation process..
The door looks great and brings a plus to our home.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Great Value, Well Made, Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 32 in. x 80 in. 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
from East Cleveland, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The door is beautiful

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The quality of the door is 10 stars the door is very sturdy and is made with very good material will buy 2 more soon.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Sturdy, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Easy to Install, Great Detail
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 32 in. x 80 in. 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
Age Range:25 to 34
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Directions and Lock Slot Errors

PostedApril 21, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The door looks great and is very ascetically pleasing. Reasonably priced and provides all parts except locking mechanism and handles. Directions are some of the worst that we have read and there is a terrible diagram that does a horrible job at differentiating which part is which. Having completed the door now, the process is not difficult, but the directions make it very complicated (mainly due to no images being provided about which part is which).
We have redone every door in our house and thought this would be an easy process. After getting the door in, the directions said to use the locking mechanism directions to install the lock and handle. Once properly installing the Kwikset lock set, the deadbolt even though properly installed, did not match up with the slot provided in the door frame. We then removed the door from the jam and tried the deadbolt lock without it being installed. The bottom lock would catch, but the deadbolt kept catching on the outer edge of the metal. We eventually had to use a router to remove part of the metal so the deadbolt would lock. (Yes, we could have gotten a lock set that fit, but all of our door handles in the house match and we wanted to keep them all the same).
Such a headache for what should be a simple job.
I would recommend making sure your lock set fits into the door before it is installed.
(Also, the Grisham website is not helpful at all and does not provide any helpful tips.)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 32 in. x 80 in. 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
from Nashua, NH

Shipping

PostedNovember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The 501 Series 32 in. x 80 in. Black Genesis Security Door is great no problems, the problem is that you can only order this product and the shipping is a joke.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 32 in. x 80 in. 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door

security door

PostedNovember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is exactly what I was looking for. Well designed and easy to install. the door looks great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 32 in. x 80 in. 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
from Parker CO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great door, excellent value

PostedJune 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:36 in. x 80 in. 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
Great looking door. Very well built.
We had it professionally installed as we had to have the entire frame redone. They were very quick and it looks great.
I would recommend this door to a budget minded family with security in mind.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Multi Use, Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Great Detail
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 32 in. x 80 in. 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Will never close properly due to hinge screw interference

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:28 in. x 80 in. 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
I like everything about the door except - the door will never soft close, the hinge screws hit the framework before the door closes all the way, you would have to adjust the door to slam close or always pull it closed. Most doors are made with recessed flush screws or the framework would have openings in it to prevent contact, the easiest way for the diy'er would be to drill holes in the framework where the screws contact it... but we shouldn't have to do that, my door is going back! I gave it a poor for quality because of this, attached is a photo of the hinge side framework, I have the hinge closed all the way you can see that if the door was parallel to the framework mounting surface the door would be pulling hard on the framework.
Pros: Great Value, Sturdy
Cons: Quality, not functional
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 32 in. x 80 in. 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
from Aurora,CO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

36 x 80 501 Series Genesis Steel white Prehung Door

PostedAugust 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:36 in. x 80 in. 501 Series Genesis Steel White Prehung Security Door
Karen in the Millworks department highly recommended the Grissom 501 series door. So I decided to go with her recommendation and I am so glad I did! This is a well constructed door. I love the protection my family feels with it in place and it is a nice design..
Pros: Energy Efficient, Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Great Value, Well Made, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 32 in. x 80 in. 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door

Very nice door

PostedAugust 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:36 in. x 80 in. 501 Series Genesis Steel White Prehung Security Door
I recently had this door installed by Quality home improvements and the gentleman that installed the door did an excellent job. He was very meticulous even though it was very hot outside he took his time making sure the door was installed properly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 32 in. x 80 in. 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
from Cleveland, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

attractive & sturdy

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:36 in. x 80 in. 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
Bought the black door for dad's home. Easy installation, sturdy and attractive. Received many compliments from neighbors. Be sure new door knobs and locks do not interfere with existing door knobs and locks. Check depth between the two doors and their locks before purchasing your new hardware.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 32 in. x 80 in. 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
from Philadelphia, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A good purchase

PostedAugust 13, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:30 in. x 80 in. 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
The locks on the door can be easily opened. The security doors really does not provide protection.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Easy to Install, Good Size & Fit
Cons: not functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 32 in. x 80 in. 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
from Washington, DC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Storm Door Purchase

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:36 in. x 80 in. 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
We love our door, and it looks good on the front door of my house. I would recommend this item to others.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 32 in. x 80 in. 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
from baltimore, md
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Feeling more secure!

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:28 in. x 80 in. 501 Series Genesis Steel White Prehung Security Door
The door frame of house apparently is not fully squared so the installer was not totally happy with the way the inner door came in slightly more than desired. The door was installed because my back door has a half window and could easily become a point of entrance for an intruder. This door allows another layer of security without obstructing the view too much to the outside.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 32 in. x 80 in. 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
from Oak Lawn,IL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent value & quality only one interesting problem

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:28 in. x 80 in. 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
This is a great door at a great price. I would recommend this door over a more expensive standard storm door. It is very heavy & closes great. I had Home Depot install it & after some initial confusion the installation went fine. I had one problem after about 8 months the outside temperature dropped to about -12 & the bottom panel shattered into small pieces. I have read that other people have had the same thing happen & manufactures claim that the doors have been hit by something causing a fracture that shatters when it gets cold. I think there is something that occurs in the manufacture of the safety glass. I don't blame the door manufacturers. I just wanted to mention this in case others have the same problem.
Pros: Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Sturdy, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Easy to Install
Cons: glass shattered when very cold
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>