728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Security Doors or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door

501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door

The Grisham 501 Series Genesis 32 in. x 80 in. Steel Black Prehung Security Door is powder coated with a durable white finish and has applied weather stripping. The heavy-gauge welded steel construction is fitted with tempered safety glass and includes an interchangeable top or bottom screen panel. A heavy-duty closer ensures smooth opening and closing. This door comes left-hinged, but is reversible for flexible installation options.
Overall rating:
4.417 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product31 of 34reviews
Rating Breakdown 36 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(21)
4
(12)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Appearance 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product31 of 34reviews
Customer reviews for 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
Review 1 for 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
from Washington, DC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really like the door, but not the closer

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a great door. There are 3 panes of glass and a screen, which is much better than some other "security" doors that are screen only. BUT the closer was defective and had to be returned. The local home depot let me exchange it, and I paid the difference for a hydraulic closer. Go the extra mile and get the quiet hydraulic closer with a button hold-open instead of the cheap spring-loaded one with the little tab that comes with the door. You'll be happier.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Good Size & Fit
Cons: cheap closer
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
from Iowa, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good door, solid and well made - but two drawbacks

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was overall happy to purchase this door. I bought two in fact. The first one arrived and looked like it was shipped to someone else before and repackaged, wasn't happy. But, it wasn't damaged and only seemed to be missing 1 part. Once I had it installed / mounted it looked great. So I was fairly happy at that point.
The two drawbacks are: It shipped via a semi-truck which was very difficult to schedule do to the fact I work during the day - but the shipper tried very hard to meet me at a good time. This isn't a door I'd advise the novice weekend home owner to install - it took time and patience but was well worth it once installed correctly.
The door is sturdy and solid and provides excellent security especially when coupled by a double face key-set grade 2 security deadbolt - not that kind you can get at Home Depot (sorry but true - they don't stock the grade 2 commercial deadbolts). The door also comes with good sturdy glass. A burglar could break the glass but as long as you use a double face deadbolt it should deter most thieves from breaking in (and isn't that the reason your getting it anyway - bolstered security?). All and all I ordered the first one and was happy enough to order a second one - so that basically says it all, I was pleased despite my nit picking. Home Depot would be very smart if they allowed these type of things to be shipped directly to the store for customer pickup with say a non-refundable deposit for re-stocking - would have almost scored a 5 star if that were the case.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
from Indianapolis, IN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Good solid door.

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This seemed to be plenty solid enough, none of the bowing problems of cheaper ones.
I liked the added security cover for the lock side. It helps to secure the locks from a crow bar.
The only negatives were the closure and spring directions. They did not include the exact set up for the door I purchase, so I had to guess where to attach the closure to the storm door. Works okay though.
The spring hardware directions did not match the hardware included, and the suggested pilot bit sizes were too small. Using the small suggested bit size you will stripe the phillips head screws trying to get them in. I had to go up at least 3/64th in size.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door

Looks great, installed easily

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed two of these for a friend after her house was broken into. The doors installed fairly easily and look really sharp on her home. She says she's sleeping better now with the security the doors added.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

security door

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The process was handled professionally by all associates, from our visit to the store to the associate who took the order and the installation process..
The door looks great and brings a plus to our home.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Great Value, Well Made, Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
from East Cleveland, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The door is beautiful

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The quality of the door is 10 stars the door is very sturdy and is made with very good material will buy 2 more soon.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Sturdy, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Easy to Install, Great Detail
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
from Indiana, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great product. Installer was very quick and cordial.

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Door fits perfectly and also helps to keep out the cold weather as well as provide security. The installer was friendly and competent.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
Age Range:25 to 34
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Directions and Lock Slot Errors

PostedApril 21, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The door looks great and is very ascetically pleasing. Reasonably priced and provides all parts except locking mechanism and handles. Directions are some of the worst that we have read and there is a terrible diagram that does a horrible job at differentiating which part is which. Having completed the door now, the process is not difficult, but the directions make it very complicated (mainly due to no images being provided about which part is which).
We have redone every door in our house and thought this would be an easy process. After getting the door in, the directions said to use the locking mechanism directions to install the lock and handle. Once properly installing the Kwikset lock set, the deadbolt even though properly installed, did not match up with the slot provided in the door frame. We then removed the door from the jam and tried the deadbolt lock without it being installed. The bottom lock would catch, but the deadbolt kept catching on the outer edge of the metal. We eventually had to use a router to remove part of the metal so the deadbolt would lock. (Yes, we could have gotten a lock set that fit, but all of our door handles in the house match and we wanted to keep them all the same).
Such a headache for what should be a simple job.
I would recommend making sure your lock set fits into the door before it is installed.
(Also, the Grisham website is not helpful at all and does not provide any helpful tips.)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
from Nashua, NH

Shipping

PostedNovember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The 501 Series 32 in. x 80 in. Black Genesis Security Door is great no problems, the problem is that you can only order this product and the shipping is a joke.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door

security door

PostedNovember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is exactly what I was looking for. Well designed and easy to install. the door looks great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
from Parker CO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great door, excellent value

PostedJune 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
Great looking door. Very well built.
We had it professionally installed as we had to have the entire frame redone. They were very quick and it looks great.
I would recommend this door to a budget minded family with security in mind.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Multi Use, Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Great Detail
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
from Cleveland, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

attractive & sturdy

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
Bought the black door for dad's home. Easy installation, sturdy and attractive. Received many compliments from neighbors. Be sure new door knobs and locks do not interfere with existing door knobs and locks. Check depth between the two doors and their locks before purchasing your new hardware.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Will never close properly due to hinge screw interference

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
I like everything about the door except - the door will never soft close, the hinge screws hit the framework before the door closes all the way, you would have to adjust the door to slam close or always pull it closed. Most doors are made with recessed flush screws or the framework would have openings in it to prevent contact, the easiest way for the diy'er would be to drill holes in the framework where the screws contact it... but we shouldn't have to do that, my door is going back! I gave it a poor for quality because of this, attached is a photo of the hinge side framework, I have the hinge closed all the way you can see that if the door was parallel to the framework mounting surface the door would be pulling hard on the framework.
Pros: Great Value, Sturdy
Cons: Quality, not functional
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
from Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worth Every Penny

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
This steel door was a gift to my Mom. She loves it. We were going to pay to have it installed, but my Dad did it himself. An excellent deal for the price.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
from Oak Lawn,IL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent value & quality only one interesting problem

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
This is a great door at a great price. I would recommend this door over a more expensive standard storm door. It is very heavy & closes great. I had Home Depot install it & after some initial confusion the installation went fine. I had one problem after about 8 months the outside temperature dropped to about -12 & the bottom panel shattered into small pieces. I have read that other people have had the same thing happen & manufactures claim that the doors have been hit by something causing a fracture that shatters when it gets cold. I think there is something that occurs in the manufacture of the safety glass. I don't blame the door manufacturers. I just wanted to mention this in case others have the same problem.
Pros: Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Sturdy, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Easy to Install
Cons: glass shattered when very cold
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
from Fayetteville, NC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Highly recommended.

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
I am very pleased with this door. I had the experts to install the door and it looks great. Security was an issue and I must say I have the security I was looking for in this door.The rails are iron and not metal.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Great Value, High Quality
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
from Flint, MI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product is not as good as I expected it to be.

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
The bottom piece has broken off and we have not had it for more than 2 months. The whole screw broke off. I am upset. I would not recommend the installer. We are getting ice on the inside of the door, if we needed something to prevent this we should have been told.
Pros: Functional, Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Clean
Cons: Quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
from Chicago,il
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent purchase.

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:501 Series Genesis Steel White Prehung Security Door
Attractive, durable and quality door at a value price,this was a good purchase.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
from salisbury, nc

grisham security door

PostedJune 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
Got one about 15 years ago. Had some problems with the handle coming off until I drilled it and put a pin in it. Many years later the bronze bushings in the hinge wore out and cost about $50 to order a new hinge. Overall I'm satisfied with it and will buy another one soon. I haven't seen much competition or many to choose from but this one is worth the price.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
from Florida, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great security door!

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:501 Series Genesis Steel Black Prehung Security Door
We purchase this door over two years ago. We didn't have any installation problems as we had it installed by the expert. Has added much security to my home. I will be purchasing another one for my back door! I would definitely recommend this door!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 >>