728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Drills or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit

12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit

Ideal for home projects, the Ryobi 3/8 in. 12-Volt Cordless Drill/Driver Kit includes a 12-volt NiCad battery, charger and a protective case so you can take its drilling and driving power wherever you need it. The onboard magnetic storage keeps bits and accessories handy, while the built-in bubble level helps ensure that your project is level. The over-mold grip offers a comfortable grasp as you work.
Overall rating:
4.121 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(66 reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product52 of 64reviews
Rating Breakdown 66 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(31)
4
(23)
3
(4)
2
(5)
1
(3)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product52 of 64reviews
Customer reviews for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
Review 1 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
Dick
from Tallahassee, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Charge time wrong

PostedOctober 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Literature with drill says 10 hrs charge time, not 60 min.
Have you ever wondered how a Toyota Prius gets a 100K miles on a set of NiCD's and your drill seems to get only a few miles. The problem is the cheap chargers that they provide. These chargers do not turn off when the battery is fully charged which causes the battery to overheat and degrade. Buying an intelligent charger can save a battery and quickly pay for itself which is why I bought a smart charger for my 18V Ryobi batteries. Not only do they charge in 60 min but the batteries do not degrade.
The moral of this is do not buy the NiCD version of this 12V drill for $49. but the $79. lithium version. It comes with the C120D smart charger, a $40. value.
+31points
32out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
casey
from detroit
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

i love it! it works excellant cant wait to do more projects

PostedApril 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this works like a dream i cant wait to work more projects around the house and neighborhood.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
rosiesmom
from Plano, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great case, loved that it came with two batteries. Not much power.

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had high hopes for this drill set. Came with two battery packs. However neither kept a charge for very long. The power was not what I was hoping for either. Tried to put up shelves in sheetrock and ended up having to do a lot of manual screw driving.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: didn't hold charge long
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
Anne

A great little drill

PostedJune 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great drill for the little projects that I need to do around the house. If you're looking to do big projects, you may need something more powerful, but this is good for everyday uses. I also like the compact size and light weight. It comes with two batteries, so one can be charging while the other is in use. The soft case makes it so convenient to pack up and keep everything together.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
Xandra
from Fort Worth
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The best drill ever!

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is absolutely wonderful. Very strong, powerful but light enough to work with no difficulties at all. It stays charged for a long time.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
Hicks513

Overall

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Drill doesn't seem like 12V batteries won't charge takin it back today 1/19/2013
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
Boknows653
from Poplar Bluff, MO 63901, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Power

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good power...has 2 batteries so you can always keep one charged...recommend!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
Jack
from Rockwall, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love it!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product for the money. It is not as good as the 18+ one but excellent for around the house projects. If you want one for commercial use, purchase a better one.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
MissIndependent
from Short Pump, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a great drill for the value!

PostedFebruary 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great drill for the value, with plenty of power for home projects! Love that it comes with two batteries so that I don't have to stop in the middle of a project if I have used one, although I haven't used an entire battery on any of my projects so far. I like that it has a nice carrying/storing case. I believe the batteries are also interchangable with other Ryobi products which have the same voltage, but I could be wrong about that; I know they are for the 18V products, which is one reason I chose to go with Ryobi. This cordless drill also has a comfortable grip which is nice if your hand tends to cramp up when holding a tool for a long period (like mine). The only thing I would like to see improved with this kit is to have more bits included, although I bought a very nice Ryobi bit set along with this drill for only $10 I think (which I have listed under :related recommended products").
 
Products related to my review
 
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
speed1234
from Canton, IL 61520, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The product is a very sturdy shelf unit

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought 2 nice heavy duty shelf units that holds alot for the basement.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
MChats
from Bloomington, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great drill for the price

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great drill kit for the price. It includes 2 batteries, charger and lightweight nylon carrying case. It works great on light household chores.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
edmon

Disapointed

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Needed a drill in a hurry and got this because it came with "two" batteries. It's easy and comfortable to work with . My troubles were with the batteries : they take forever to charge and once charged . they don't last very long. So I went out and got a Craftsmen. .
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Short Battery Life
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
Wolfdog
from Mattoon, Illinois

12V Cordless Drill

PostedMay 25, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This is a good drill love the weight, like the power. Its Handy but its not hardy. If you are planning on small construction this is a good tool. If you think you are going to countersink some 2 1/2 inch screws you wont get far. Its got the power, but the battery wont make the trip. Great for bird house type construction, but I wouldnt build a shed with it. Lots of recharging will go on. If the battery lasted longer it would be worth every penny, maybe its just my charger? The charger never shows that the battery is completly charged, even after 24 hrs charging.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
shutterspeedjb
from clanton, Alabama

great little drill

PostedJuly 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Im a small contractor, and I've owned several Ryobi drills of various sizes. Some of them are over ten years old and I've never had any problems with any of them. This particular model seems to be following suit with the others. I love its lightweight, compact size. I find myself reaching for it more and more every day. I'll definitely continue buying Ryobi drills. They are a great value.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
OleLadyinLB
from Long Beach CA

WooHoo!

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When my old drill gave out, I was really bummed. I thought I'd never have to replace it -- well, I did. . . with this Ryobi (recommended by my contruction wkr son) He steered me right -- it's quick to use -- no 8-hr battery charge to start -- it does the job for me and it is easy to use. I don't like having to assemble 6 things before I can use my tools (like my vacuum cleaner). Thanks Ryobi -- I can hang all my pictures, tighten all the loose pans in my kitchen and keep small screws on the magnet-shelf right on the drill itself.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
Zanonymous

Under Powered

PostedSeptember 11, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm an amature carpenter building hardwood furniture and doing home improvement projects on the weekend and needed a replacement for my cordless 18V SKIL drill.
Despite the fact that the 18V SKIL drill was a bargain basement item I was quite happy with it and decided to replace it with this 12V drill due in part to a number of consumer reports that claimed many of the more expensive low voltage drills performed as well if not better than the cheaper high voltage drills. Given that this 12V Ryobi drill cost nearly twice as much as the 18V SKIL I was willing to give it a chance.
However I was quite displeased with the performance of this drill. My issue is that the 12V Ryobi drill runs at a slow 550 RPMs (minimum recommended drilling speed). As a result it takes forever to drill through most any material soft or hard (i.e. 3/4 plywood, oak, or pine).
This drill is sufficient for someone on a budget who is only going to use it once or twice for a handful or screw holes or just needs a power screw driver. But if you plan on doing a fair amount of drilling I would recommend saving yourself some time and effort and spend a little more to get a drill that runs at 14.4 or 18 V.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
Esiotrot
from Albany, CA

Weak drill

PostedJanuary 20, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this drill based on the high ratings of previous reviewers and I am very disappointed with the product. Luckily, I got it on sale for $20 - and for that price, I guess you can't expect much. But if you're thinking of getting something for work around the house - something that can drill through the studs in your wall - look elsewhere. This drill has very little power and can't really accomplish much. I found myself ultimately resorting to a screwdriver for most of my needs.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
Walley15

Won't hold a charge-cant do the work

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This battery won't hold enough charge to do the work I need completed. This is beyond annoying!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
Barrcdd
from High Point, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great 12V Drill With 2nd Battery Pack

PostedApril 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a Dewalt 24V drill which is too big and heavy for smaller projects. I have used Ryobi drills for years during my employment years and they were always reliable. I finally broke down and bought the 12V Ryobi drill kit. The price was a bargain so it was a no brainer. To my surprise, the kit comes with two 12V battery packs and a nice case that houses the drill, batteries and charger very nicely. I have used this drill several times now and it was exactly what I was looking for. I have no complaints as it gets the job done.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
djfixit
from Syracuse, NY

Decent for around the house

PostedAugust 19, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a nice drill for around the house and any small project. I am a handyman and it is usefull for stuff like hanging blinds or replacing a piece of sheetrock but I would not use it to build a set of stairs or anything.
Its more of a screw gun and not so good at drilling holes. Its too slow. The only thing I dont really like about it is the 12 hour charge time. It came with two batteries which is nice but takes 24 hours to charge both. It should come with a 1 hour charger.
If you have larger projects I would recommend the 18v ryobi drill. I have 2 of those and I have no complaints. They handle everything I can throw at them. I also have almost all of their 18v tools which I am very pleased with.
Good quality tools for the price.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>