728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Drills or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit

12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit

Ryobi introduces the Ryobi 3/8 in. 12-Volt Cordless Drill/Driver Kit. This tool features onboard magnetic storage keeps bits and accessories handy, while the built-in bubble level helps ensure that your project is level. To learn more about Ryobi tools go to Ryobitools.com and check out Ryobi Nation. See below for more information on this tool.
Overall rating:
4.074 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(81 reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product64 of 77reviews
Rating Breakdown 81 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(37)
4
(28)
3
(6)
2
(5)
1
(5)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product64 of 77reviews
Customer reviews for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
Review 1 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
from Tallahassee, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Charge time wrong

PostedOctober 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Literature with drill says 10 hrs charge time, not 60 min.
Have you ever wondered how a Toyota Prius gets a 100K miles on a set of NiCD's and your drill seems to get only a few miles. The problem is the cheap chargers that they provide. These chargers do not turn off when the battery is fully charged which causes the battery to overheat and degrade. Buying an intelligent charger can save a battery and quickly pay for itself which is why I bought a smart charger for my 18V Ryobi batteries. Not only do they charge in 60 min but the batteries do not degrade.
The moral of this is do not buy the NiCD version of this 12V drill for $49. but the $79. lithium version. It comes with the C120D smart charger, a $40. value.
+35points
36out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
from Lynchburg, VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great value

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this for my brother in law, who needed it desparately. Directions were easy to understand, he charged it and has yet to need to charge it again. He does not use it everyday, but when he needs it there is power. Made me look good ....
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit

A great little drill

PostedJune 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great drill for the little projects that I need to do around the house. If you're looking to do big projects, you may need something more powerful, but this is good for everyday uses. I also like the compact size and light weight. It comes with two batteries, so one can be charging while the other is in use. The soft case makes it so convenient to pack up and keep everything together.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
from dahlonega, ga
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Garbage

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used Black and Decker up to now but decided to upgrade since I heard good things about Ryobi. Told wife to buy me one for Christmas which she did.
Ever since we got it the batteries will not hold a charge for a period of time. We charged both batteries as per instructions. The cheap B and D drill held a charge much longer.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: can't hold charge
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
from Pflugerville, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cordless Drill

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I like the fact that the drill not only came with a battery, but an extra battery as well as a carry bag.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit

great deal

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Its a good price for the deal. The only downsize its torque. Overall great product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
from Chattanooga, TN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great little tool to have

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am really amazed at how long the battery is staying charged even while waiting for next use. I keep it under the bed for all those little things that need done every now and then. Best little screw gun I have had. Not like a big 18V but that not what I need it for anyway
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit

Overall

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Drill doesn't seem like 12V batteries won't charge takin it back today 1/19/2013
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
from Short Pump, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a great drill for the value!

PostedFebruary 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great drill for the value, with plenty of power for home projects! Love that it comes with two batteries so that I don't have to stop in the middle of a project if I have used one, although I haven't used an entire battery on any of my projects so far. I like that it has a nice carrying/storing case. I believe the batteries are also interchangable with other Ryobi products which have the same voltage, but I could be wrong about that; I know they are for the 18V products, which is one reason I chose to go with Ryobi. This cordless drill also has a comfortable grip which is nice if your hand tends to cramp up when holding a tool for a long period (like mine). The only thing I would like to see improved with this kit is to have more bits included, although I bought a very nice Ryobi bit set along with this drill for only $10 I think (which I have listed under :related recommended products").
 
Products related to my review
 
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
from Jeffersonville, IN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Home Improvement Tool

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to use, This is great for home inmprovement tasks.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
from Riverside, ca
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tool

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This drill has enough power and battery life for all your jobs around the house. This is my second one so I can leave one at home and have one in my truck so I have it with me when I'm on vacation.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Gender:Female

Basic drill

PostedJune 21, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
A good drill for a begging self improvement person. Excellent for small projects around the house and it is easy to use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
from Golden Valley, AZ 86413, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job...

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
There are times when you need a slightly smaller screwdriver, and this one fills the bill.
It's a little smaller, lighter and less powerful than the 18-VOLT model but it performs adequately.
About the only problem controlling the speed with the trigger...it takes practice to press the trigger 'just so' to not apply too much or too little torque.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Light Weight
Cons: very sensative trigger
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
from Virginia Beach, VA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Ryobi cordless drill

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to handle, no cords to worry about. Love it!!!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
from Livonia, MI
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bad battery

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I am a first time homeowner and bought this drill for light use around the house. The batteries wouldn't hold a charge and I couldn't figure out why. When I looked in the manuel it said 12-14 hour charge time. Seriously, 12-14 HOURS?!?!? I left it charging overnight for about 11 hours and it still said it wasn't charged. I returned it and got the 12 volt Lithium ion drill.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable, Limited Features, bad battery life
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit

great battery life. good power. no clutch

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
great battery life. no clutch. easy to use. 2 batteries
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
from 89110
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Cordless Drill/Driver Kit for the money !

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great drill, I have used it to drill out an old dead-bolt, re-attached the metal flashing on-top of the fire-wall on my townhouse and the drill worked better than expected!
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
from Mattoon, Illinois

12V Cordless Drill

PostedMay 25, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This is a good drill love the weight, like the power. Its Handy but its not hardy. If you are planning on small construction this is a good tool. If you think you are going to countersink some 2 1/2 inch screws you wont get far. Its got the power, but the battery wont make the trip. Great for bird house type construction, but I wouldnt build a shed with it. Lots of recharging will go on. If the battery lasted longer it would be worth every penny, maybe its just my charger? The charger never shows that the battery is completly charged, even after 24 hrs charging.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
from Marlborough, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

good product good price

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
good product good price
Comes with 2 batteries, thats good.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit

Ryobi Cordless Drill

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Like it so far. Not bulky like most cordless drills. Having come with 2 batteries a plus.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>