728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Drills or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit

12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit

Ideal for home projects, the Ryobi 3/8 in. 12-Volt Cordless Drill/Driver Kit includes a 12-volt NiCad battery, charger and a protective case so you can take its drilling and driving power wherever you need it. The onboard magnetic storage keeps bits and accessories handy, while the built-in bubble level helps ensure that your project is level. The over-mold grip offers a comfortable grasp as you work.
Overall rating:
4.092 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(76 reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product60 of 72reviews
Rating Breakdown 76 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(35)
4
(26)
3
(6)
2
(5)
1
(4)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product60 of 72reviews
Customer reviews for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
Review 1 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
from Tallahassee, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Charge time wrong

PostedOctober 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Literature with drill says 10 hrs charge time, not 60 min.
Have you ever wondered how a Toyota Prius gets a 100K miles on a set of NiCD's and your drill seems to get only a few miles. The problem is the cheap chargers that they provide. These chargers do not turn off when the battery is fully charged which causes the battery to overheat and degrade. Buying an intelligent charger can save a battery and quickly pay for itself which is why I bought a smart charger for my 18V Ryobi batteries. Not only do they charge in 60 min but the batteries do not degrade.
The moral of this is do not buy the NiCD version of this 12V drill for $49. but the $79. lithium version. It comes with the C120D smart charger, a $40. value.
+34points
35out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
from Jeffersonville, IN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Home Improvement Tool

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to use, This is great for home inmprovement tasks.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
from Riverside, ca
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tool

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This drill has enough power and battery life for all your jobs around the house. This is my second one so I can leave one at home and have one in my truck so I have it with me when I'm on vacation.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Gender:Female

Basic drill

PostedJune 21, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
A good drill for a begging self improvement person. Excellent for small projects around the house and it is easy to use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
from Golden Valley, AZ 86413, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job...

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
There are times when you need a slightly smaller screwdriver, and this one fills the bill.
It's a little smaller, lighter and less powerful than the 18-VOLT model but it performs adequately.
About the only problem controlling the speed with the trigger...it takes practice to press the trigger 'just so' to not apply too much or too little torque.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Light Weight
Cons: very sensative trigger
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
from Virginia Beach, VA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Ryobi cordless drill

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to handle, no cords to worry about. Love it!!!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit

A great little drill

PostedJune 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great drill for the little projects that I need to do around the house. If you're looking to do big projects, you may need something more powerful, but this is good for everyday uses. I also like the compact size and light weight. It comes with two batteries, so one can be charging while the other is in use. The soft case makes it so convenient to pack up and keep everything together.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
from Livonia, MI
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bad battery

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I am a first time homeowner and bought this drill for light use around the house. The batteries wouldn't hold a charge and I couldn't figure out why. When I looked in the manuel it said 12-14 hour charge time. Seriously, 12-14 HOURS?!?!? I left it charging overnight for about 11 hours and it still said it wasn't charged. I returned it and got the 12 volt Lithium ion drill.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable, Limited Features, bad battery life
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit

great battery life. good power. no clutch

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
great battery life. no clutch. easy to use. 2 batteries
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
from 89110
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Cordless Drill/Driver Kit for the money !

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great drill, I have used it to drill out an old dead-bolt, re-attached the metal flashing on-top of the fire-wall on my townhouse and the drill worked better than expected!
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit

Overall

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Drill doesn't seem like 12V batteries won't charge takin it back today 1/19/2013
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
from Marlborough, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

good product good price

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
good product good price
Comes with 2 batteries, thats good.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit

Ryobi Cordless Drill

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Like it so far. Not bulky like most cordless drills. Having come with 2 batteries a plus.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
from Short Pump, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a great drill for the value!

PostedFebruary 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great drill for the value, with plenty of power for home projects! Love that it comes with two batteries so that I don't have to stop in the middle of a project if I have used one, although I haven't used an entire battery on any of my projects so far. I like that it has a nice carrying/storing case. I believe the batteries are also interchangable with other Ryobi products which have the same voltage, but I could be wrong about that; I know they are for the 18V products, which is one reason I chose to go with Ryobi. This cordless drill also has a comfortable grip which is nice if your hand tends to cramp up when holding a tool for a long period (like mine). The only thing I would like to see improved with this kit is to have more bits included, although I bought a very nice Ryobi bit set along with this drill for only $10 I think (which I have listed under :related recommended products").
 
Products related to my review
 
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
from detroit
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

i love it! it works excellant cant wait to do more projects

PostedApril 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this works like a dream i cant wait to work more projects around the house and neighborhood.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
from Plano, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great case, loved that it came with two batteries. Not much power.

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had high hopes for this drill set. Came with two battery packs. However neither kept a charge for very long. The power was not what I was hoping for either. Tried to put up shelves in sheetrock and ended up having to do a lot of manual screw driving.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: didn't hold charge long
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
from Mattoon, Illinois

12V Cordless Drill

PostedMay 25, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This is a good drill love the weight, like the power. Its Handy but its not hardy. If you are planning on small construction this is a good tool. If you think you are going to countersink some 2 1/2 inch screws you wont get far. Its got the power, but the battery wont make the trip. Great for bird house type construction, but I wouldnt build a shed with it. Lots of recharging will go on. If the battery lasted longer it would be worth every penny, maybe its just my charger? The charger never shows that the battery is completly charged, even after 24 hrs charging.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
from Fort Worth
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The best drill ever!

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is absolutely wonderful. Very strong, powerful but light enough to work with no difficulties at all. It stays charged for a long time.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
from Poplar Bluff, MO 63901, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Power

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good power...has 2 batteries so you can always keep one charged...recommend!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
from clanton, Alabama

great little drill

PostedJuly 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Im a small contractor, and I've owned several Ryobi drills of various sizes. Some of them are over ten years old and I've never had any problems with any of them. This particular model seems to be following suit with the others. I love its lightweight, compact size. I find myself reaching for it more and more every day. I'll definitely continue buying Ryobi drills. They are a great value.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>