728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Drills or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit

12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit

RYOBI's 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit features onboard magnetic storage to keep your bits and accessories handy. The 3/8 in. keyless chuck provides strong bit retention and durability. For added convenience, the built-in bubble level helps ensure that your project is level.
Overall rating:
3.909 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(88 reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product66 of 84reviews
Rating Breakdown 88 reviews
3.9 out of 5
5
(38)
4
(29)
3
(6)
2
(5)
1
(10)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product66 of 84reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
Review 1 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
from Tallahassee, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Charge time wrong

PostedOctober 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Literature with drill says 10 hrs charge time, not 60 min.
Have you ever wondered how a Toyota Prius gets a 100K miles on a set of NiCD's and your drill seems to get only a few miles. The problem is the cheap chargers that they provide. These chargers do not turn off when the battery is fully charged which causes the battery to overheat and degrade. Buying an intelligent charger can save a battery and quickly pay for itself which is why I bought a smart charger for my 18V Ryobi batteries. Not only do they charge in 60 min but the batteries do not degrade.
The moral of this is do not buy the NiCD version of this 12V drill for $49. but the $79. lithium version. It comes with the C120D smart charger, a $40. value.
+40points
41out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
from Minneapolis, mn
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do not buy!! Horrible battery life and no power.

PostedJanuary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this drill a few months a ago to replace and older one that had died. This drill is a huge dissapaapointment. This one won't tackle even the simplest of projects. i tried hanging a simple closet shelf...which consisted of three screws and had to charge the battery half way through. Two inch screws into a stud are too much for this drill. If you need to use a drill bit, forget it they don't lock in properly and pull out of the drill. Which is a ton of fun if it is half way into to a wall. i have owned several drills and this is by far the worst.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit

A great little drill

PostedJune 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great drill for the little projects that I need to do around the house. If you're looking to do big projects, you may need something more powerful, but this is good for everyday uses. I also like the compact size and light weight. It comes with two batteries, so one can be charging while the other is in use. The soft case makes it so convenient to pack up and keep everything together.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
from Baltimore
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Ok drill for very light duty

PostedJanuary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It's ok for very light duty task around the house but that's really about it, more of an electric screw driver then a drill really, the battery dies quickly and takes to long to recharge, for $50 A cheap 18v from HF or an actual electric screw driver would be a much better deal. If you need an actual drill spend a little more and get an entry level 18v. This thing would be a good deal for $20 and that's about it
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: lack of power, lack of battery life, price
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
from Short Pump, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a great drill for the value!

PostedFebruary 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great drill for the value, with plenty of power for home projects! Love that it comes with two batteries so that I don't have to stop in the middle of a project if I have used one, although I haven't used an entire battery on any of my projects so far. I like that it has a nice carrying/storing case. I believe the batteries are also interchangable with other Ryobi products which have the same voltage, but I could be wrong about that; I know they are for the 18V products, which is one reason I chose to go with Ryobi. This cordless drill also has a comfortable grip which is nice if your hand tends to cramp up when holding a tool for a long period (like mine). The only thing I would like to see improved with this kit is to have more bits included, although I bought a very nice Ryobi bit set along with this drill for only $10 I think (which I have listed under :related recommended products").
 
Products related to my review
 
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit

Overall

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Drill doesn't seem like 12V batteries won't charge takin it back today 1/19/2013
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
from Mattoon, Illinois

12V Cordless Drill

PostedMay 25, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This is a good drill love the weight, like the power. Its Handy but its not hardy. If you are planning on small construction this is a good tool. If you think you are going to countersink some 2 1/2 inch screws you wont get far. Its got the power, but the battery wont make the trip. Great for bird house type construction, but I wouldnt build a shed with it. Lots of recharging will go on. If the battery lasted longer it would be worth every penny, maybe its just my charger? The charger never shows that the battery is completly charged, even after 24 hrs charging.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
from Louisiana
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wasted money

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have never had a more useless power tool. Operates on full charge for only a few minutes. Had it for a long time before I used it or I would have returned to Home Depot. Can't believe Home Depot still sells it. They should discontinue. I contacted Ryobi and they had were no help, basically said we don't care.... Worse 50 bucks I ever spent.
Cons: batteries are useless
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
from clanton, Alabama

great little drill

PostedJuly 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Im a small contractor, and I've owned several Ryobi drills of various sizes. Some of them are over ten years old and I've never had any problems with any of them. This particular model seems to be following suit with the others. I love its lightweight, compact size. I find myself reaching for it more and more every day. I'll definitely continue buying Ryobi drills. They are a great value.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
from Long Beach CA

WooHoo!

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
When my old drill gave out, I was really bummed. I thought I'd never have to replace it -- well, I did. . . with this Ryobi (recommended by my contruction wkr son) He steered me right -- it's quick to use -- no 8-hr battery charge to start -- it does the job for me and it is easy to use. I don't like having to assemble 6 things before I can use my tools (like my vacuum cleaner). Thanks Ryobi -- I can hang all my pictures, tighten all the loose pans in my kitchen and keep small screws on the magnet-shelf right on the drill itself.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit

Under Powered

PostedSeptember 11, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm an amature carpenter building hardwood furniture and doing home improvement projects on the weekend and needed a replacement for my cordless 18V SKIL drill.
Despite the fact that the 18V SKIL drill was a bargain basement item I was quite happy with it and decided to replace it with this 12V drill due in part to a number of consumer reports that claimed many of the more expensive low voltage drills performed as well if not better than the cheaper high voltage drills. Given that this 12V Ryobi drill cost nearly twice as much as the 18V SKIL I was willing to give it a chance.
However I was quite displeased with the performance of this drill. My issue is that the 12V Ryobi drill runs at a slow 550 RPMs (minimum recommended drilling speed). As a result it takes forever to drill through most any material soft or hard (i.e. 3/4 plywood, oak, or pine).
This drill is sufficient for someone on a budget who is only going to use it once or twice for a handful or screw holes or just needs a power screw driver. But if you plan on doing a fair amount of drilling I would recommend saving yourself some time and effort and spend a little more to get a drill that runs at 14.4 or 18 V.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
from Albany, CA

Weak drill

PostedJanuary 20, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this drill based on the high ratings of previous reviewers and I am very disappointed with the product. Luckily, I got it on sale for $20 - and for that price, I guess you can't expect much. But if you're thinking of getting something for work around the house - something that can drill through the studs in your wall - look elsewhere. This drill has very little power and can't really accomplish much. I found myself ultimately resorting to a screwdriver for most of my needs.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
from Houston, Tx
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrible battery life

PostedNovember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had this drill for a year, its never really been usable. Neither battery has ever lasted long enough to even allow a review of the drill. According to people at THD these days, this particular model is known to have terrible batteries.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: battery life
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
from New Port Richey, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

husband loves it

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
my husband wanted a new drill, surprised him with one from Home Depot, he loves it
Pros: Durable, Powerful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good deal

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The drill was very easy to use, has an extra battery and nice case to store it in.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
from Syracuse, NY

Decent for around the house

PostedAugust 19, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is a nice drill for around the house and any small project. I am a handyman and it is usefull for stuff like hanging blinds or replacing a piece of sheetrock but I would not use it to build a set of stairs or anything.
Its more of a screw gun and not so good at drilling holes. Its too slow. The only thing I dont really like about it is the 12 hour charge time. It came with two batteries which is nice but takes 24 hours to charge both. It should come with a 1 hour charger.
If you have larger projects I would recommend the 18v ryobi drill. I have 2 of those and I have no complaints. They handle everything I can throw at them. I also have almost all of their 18v tools which I am very pleased with.
Good quality tools for the price.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
from Lynchburg, VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great value

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this for my brother in law, who needed it desparately. Directions were easy to understand, he charged it and has yet to need to charge it again. He does not use it everyday, but when he needs it there is power. Made me look good ....
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
from dahlonega, ga
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Garbage

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used Black and Decker up to now but decided to upgrade since I heard good things about Ryobi. Told wife to buy me one for Christmas which she did.
Ever since we got it the batteries will not hold a charge for a period of time. We charged both batteries as per instructions. The cheap B and D drill held a charge much longer.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: can't hold charge
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
from clanton, Alabama

great little drill

PostedJuly 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Im a small contractor, and I've owned several Ryobi drills of various sizes. Some of them are over ten years old and I've never had any problems with any of them. This particular model seems to be following suit with the others. I love its lightweight, compact size. I find myself reaching for it more and more every day. I'll definitely continue buying Ryobi drills. They are a great value.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 12-Volt 3/8 in. Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
from Amsterdam, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Phenominal!

PostedDecember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've purchased a variety of Ryobi products for a basement remodel and have been very impressed with the quality of these tools. This particular product has been going strong for close to a year now, which is remarkable as I've been using it on an almost daily basis. For the do-it-yourselfer, I can't think of a better choice.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>