728*90 Advertising Space
Home>

Customer reviews for Edgemont 52 in. Colonial Pewter Ceiling Fan

Edgemont 52 in. Colonial Pewter Ceiling Fan

The Hampton Bay Edgemont Colonial Pewter Ceiling Fan features 5 reversible black/mahogany blades, a bowl-style light kit with frosted opal glass and Colonial Pewter Finish for a contemporary look that complements a variety of décor styles. A multi capacitor, 3-speed reversible control offers a quiet operation. Uses LED technology – no light bulbs to replace.
Overall rating:
2.48 / 5
2.5
 / 
5
(75 reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
38%of customersrecommend this product28 of 74reviews
Rating Breakdown 75 reviews
2.5 out of 5
5
(16)
4
(7)
3
(7)
2
(12)
1
(33)
Appearance 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Quality 
2.3 out of 5
2.3 out of 5
Value 
2.3 out of 5
2.3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.3 out of 5
3.3 out of 5
38%of customersrecommend this product28 of 74reviews
Customer reviews for Edgemont 52 in. Colonial Pewter Ceiling Fan
Review 1 for Edgemont 52 in. Colonial Pewter Ceiling Fan

Here is how to fix the LED light problem

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
As most reviewers have mentioned, the LED light is very dim. It's like a night light, not very useable.
Here is how to fix it for a few bucks. You need a low-profile GU24 socket (Maxlite MLGSIIB), which is readily available in large mail order channels. You also need a GU24 compact fluorescent bulb (Progress Lighting MLS13GUSWW6) that is available through Home Depot mail order or other internet retailers. To my knowledge, these are the only parts that fit into the low-profile glass.
You'll also need a threaded pipe fitting and a proper size nut for attaching the GU24 base to the holder, both readily available at the ceiling fan section in HD. You'll also need a washer underneath the nut to hold the socket in place. Put your MacGyver skills to work.
To change the parts, uninstall the light fixture by unscrewing the glass, then removing three screws that hold the LED plate in place. Disconnect the LED wire connection and a larger white connection behind it. Then remove three more screws that holds the rest of the light fixture up and remove it from the fan.
Once on the desk, remove the back plate wire cover (3 screws) so you have access to the wires. Unscrew and remove the rectangular box (120v-12v converter), you won't be needing it any longer. Cut the black and white wires close to the module - you'll be attaching the GU24 socket wires to those wires.
Remove the LED circuit board from the plate by pinching the plastic standoffs and then pulling them out. Install the GU socket to the larger hole at the center of the plate using a pipe fitting, washer and a nut. Notice that it fits perfectly - it was probably originally designed to use this socket! You may need a washer that is the appropriate size to hold the socket in place. I also used a piece of bent paperclip underneath the washer to hold everything tight.
Remove the white thermal sleeve from the LED module wiring and insert it over the GU24 socket wires just like it was with the LED wire. This is to prevent heat damage to the wires when they touch the metal edges. Using smaller wire nuts, connect the black and white wires to the wires you cut off earlier when removing the 12v module.
Put everything back together, install the light bulb, and enjoy a much brighter light from this beautiful ceiling fan.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: very dim
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Edgemont 52 in. Colonial Pewter Ceiling Fan
from Pittsburgh, PA

How to Fix Light

PostedFebruary 2, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
So, I had the same reaction when I installed this fan as everyone else. The light is ridiculously dim. I took the time to wire up a new socket to get more light out of it. Here is what you do...
1. Remove glass shade
2. Remove LED lights (unscrew and disconnect wire harness) and throw it away
3. Remove the switch housing (has the 2 chains hanging off of it.
4. Remove three screws on the top of the switch housing to expose the wires
5. You will see a little black box with black and white wires going in and black and red wires coming out. Cut the black and white wires at the box and remove the box and red and black wires. Throw black box away
6. Wire a socket to the black and white wires and put everything back together.
The socket will just hang under the glass shade.
You will need to use a bulb that is smaller than standard size to fit in shade. This took about 20 minutes.
Good Luck.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Edgemont 52 in. Colonial Pewter Ceiling Fan
from Montgomery, AL

Gorgeous Fan, Pitiful Light, Easy Fix

PostedSeptember 28, 2009
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Bought this fan for my living room and like everyone else on the reviews, was astonished at how dim the light really was. I was, however able to replace the led with a standard socket. You can take the light assembly apart, cut the wires at the regulator (small black box with wires coming in one side and out the other) and wire a regular socket directly to the power supply wires. I used a clip-on style socket from HD ($3) and clipped it to the wires where they come out of the housing and let it hang. You will have to use a small, round 60 watt incandescent bulb because the globe is too shallow to allow for a normal size cfl. This small bullb wont be quite as bright as a cfl but is a heck of a lot better than the worthless led that comes with this fan. So don't get mad and take the thing back just yet. The fix is pretty easy and won't take more than thirty minutes. Happy Handyman-ing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Edgemont 52 in. Colonial Pewter Ceiling Fan

Light is NOT a problem

PostedMay 20, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I don't have the problem that everyone else does with the LED. I can't even turn mine on. Here is the greater concern with the fan: a remote control with a dimmer will not work/I can't find a remote without a dimmer. For whatever reason LED fixtures and fluorescent fixtures without special fluorescent bulbs do not work with a remote. As I have experienced, when you turn them off, they just flash constantly every second or so. Since my fan is on a vaulted ceiling, once turning the light off with the cord, I will no longer be turning it back on. Buy another remote? I've been searching for hours and have been unable to find one without a dimmer. I may have to go back up in the ceiling and specially run the light power to a seperate switch. I didn't find this incompatibility on either package, I had to open and install both before figuring it out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Edgemont 52 in. Colonial Pewter Ceiling Fan
from Atlanta, GA

Mixed Feelings

PostedMarch 6, 2008
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a truly great looking fan that puts out the worst light I've ever seen. It's very dim. At least if it had a warm glow it may be soothing, but the light is blue-ish which is very unsettling. We've had this fan in our family room for about a year now and LOVE the way it looks. It can work okay for us because our family room and kitchen are basically all one open room so we can get by with just a lamp lighting the family room. I have tried to turn this fan light on when I've wanted more lighting in the evening and it's so disturbingly blue that I always turn it right back off. I wish I had gotten a fan with a better light but in the store we couldn't tell how dim or blue it was, and once it was up we didn't want to take it down again. It's unfortunate because it really is a good looking fan.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Edgemont 52 in. Colonial Pewter Ceiling Fan

Nice to look at

PostedJuly 21, 2008
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
How come you can't give something zero stars?
Unfortunately, I didn't figure out just how bad this fan is until I had bought three and installed two.
As others have said, the light is WORTHLESS.
All it does is light up the frosted globe with an eery blue glow.
I don't think much light escapes - and what does casts a spooky look to the room that is very unnerving.
I think a single birthday candle would create MUCH more light for the room than this fan does.
To add insult to injury, the fans hum TERRIBLY.
I am not using a fan speed control.
Using the built in pull chain as speed control, he fan hums loudly on low and medium.
All around just unacceptable!
Mine go back. Too bad that's three times the effort - install, uninstall, re-install something new.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Edgemont 52 in. Colonial Pewter Ceiling Fan
from mpls, MN

Disappointing light for sure!

PostedFebruary 23, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I gave this fan 4 stars for the quality, fit, finish and build are all decent. Powerful and quite. Installation was straight forward.
NOTE**** this unit puts out hardly any light at all. And you cant surface mount it for more clearance.
However, like so many others, I wish I would have read this review before buying. The light put off by this unit is ridiculously low. So low in fact I would not get this fan unless you are putting it in a location where a fan without a light would work just fine.
What Hampton Bay really needs to do since this seems to be a common theme, is design a new light kit that can be installed in this unit so it provides real light.
I realize the low profile dome limits what can be used but how about a halogen bulb?
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Edgemont 52 in. Colonial Pewter Ceiling Fan
from Gainesville, FL

In the Twilight

PostedDecember 11, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was astonished at the horrible dim white light included with this fan.
I bought 2 - one for the dining room and one for the living room. I was annoyed that the dimmers would not work with these lights. When it got dark, I could not believe the eerie clinical half light these fans provided. Absolutely hideous.
The light is similar to that provided when all of your fluorescent bulbs except one go out. Reminds me of a hospital room in a nightmare.
I hired an electrician to install and just do not want to go to the expense and trouble of changing them.
That said, the fan is beautiful and works well, almost silently. That's what the 2 stars are for.
Overall, I am very disappointed and I wish I could change out the light fixture.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Edgemont 52 in. Colonial Pewter Ceiling Fan
from Chicago, IL

Love the look, hate the light/faulty remote hookup

PostedApril 26, 2008
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I gave it 3 starsfor looks because I think it looks very contemporary, but as others have said, the light is terribly dim. Now I didn't buy it for the light, I read the reviews that said it was bad, I bought it for the looks. To me the light is just a warm, white glow (to me it's not "bluish"), just for ambience, it serves no real purpose at all. We installed a remote and while it works for the fan speeds, it does not work for the light. Or rather it WILL turn on the light, but then it continually blinks on and off! I read other people's complaints that said it does the same for them, so I know my husband installed it right. Oh well, it IS a pretty fan installed on our high vaulted ceiling, and the price was right!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Edgemont 52 in. Colonial Pewter Ceiling Fan
from Phoenix AZ

Exceptional Fan

PostedAugust 13, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The fan box clearly says that the light is LED and is not intended for your main light source. I love the LED; it creates a subtle ambiance light, great for watching TV at night. The LED uses very little electricity, and last forever, so the light can be left on over night as a night light without worrying about you elec. bill. And besides, I prefer the main light source not to be coming from a bight fanlight. Lamps & other light sources create a warm inviting room. The fan itself is very quiet & attractive. Both black and brown sides of the blades are very nice; I had difficulty choosing a side. The install was very quick and easy, done almost completely without the instructions. Im buying another for my bedroom.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Edgemont 52 in. Colonial Pewter Ceiling Fan
from Coppell, TX

Don't waste your time if you need light

PostedJune 19, 2007
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My husband & I saw this fan in the store and absolutely loved the design. We knew it had an LED light kit, but didn't think that would be a problem. Once we installed it, we hit the light switch only to find that the light doesn't do any more than a dim blue flashlight would in a pitch dark room. It is literally just a pale bluish glow around the globe and not much more. The fan itself is wonderful, so we went to the store to see about installing another light kit, but after working with an associate for 45 minutes we determined that nothing else is compatible because of the design. It's a great fan if you don't need the light, but pass on it otherwise.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Edgemont 52 in. Colonial Pewter Ceiling Fan
from Salt Lake City, UT
Verified Purchase:Yes

All bad reviews due to not reading carefully

PostedJuly 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
What the bad reviews say are correct - not enough light to brighten a room. However the box and the description online clearly states "Bulb Wattage 3 W" & "Light is for accent lighting only and should not be used as the main lighting source". With that said it was a perfect light for us. We installed it in a room with 4 existing recessed lights and love the option of reduced lighting while watching TV. We originally were shopping fans w/o lights but was hooked on this one because of the sharp appearance. At least almost all reviewers agree that the fan is whisper quiet and moves a lot of air. Perfect fan for my needs.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Edgemont 52 in. Colonial Pewter Ceiling Fan
from canada

terrible

PostedJune 16, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The light on this fan is terrible. I looked all over the box AND read the instruction booklet. There is no indication on the box or instruction booklet regarding the power of the light. It tells you how to install the light and it indiciates that it is an LED light......that is all the information available. I will never buy another ceiling fan that does not list the power rating of the light on the box.
A pen fashlight gives off more light than this product. Don't waste your time installing this useless fan.
It's too bad, the fan works well and I like the contemporary finish; however, appearance is not everything.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Edgemont 52 in. Colonial Pewter Ceiling Fan
from Des Moines, IA

Great fan

PostedApril 18, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great quiet fan that was easy to install and perfectly balanced right out of the box. The price was excellent for the product. Our store in Iowa specifically says on the tag that the light is not intended for primary lighting source. It is just a decorative light that really adds to the looks. It is great to leave on while watching a movie so people can still see enough to eat, grab glasses, and walk to the bathroom. The fan assembled extremely easy with all parts included and required no adjustments to run smooth and quiet. Don't be afraid to get this fan if you have other lights in your room.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Edgemont 52 in. Colonial Pewter Ceiling Fan
from Bridgeport, WV
Verified Purchase:Yes

YOU CAN'T BEAT $74

PostedJuly 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was going to buy this fan on the store for $124, even that price would have been a good purchase...at $74 online you just can't get any better deal. The fan is very well built, looks good quality and it took me about 30mins to install, very easy. Now before you buy make sure you are clear on 1) it has no remote control therefore you can only control it from the pull chains and 2) the light is only for decoration. it is a LED 3watts, so almost no illumination.
If you understand those two conditions, and you still want the fan, the price is just the best.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Edgemont 52 in. Colonial Pewter Ceiling Fan
from Collingswood, NJ

Beating a dead horse

PostedJune 22, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Just writing to reinforce how horrible the light is on this otherwise lovely fan. We made an impulse buy without first checking reviews like we usually do. This was a big mistake as we discovered as soon as darkness fell and we found ourselves shocked by the lack of illumination. The fan circulates the air quite nicely and the look of the fan is really quite terrific, but it offers nothing in the way of illumination. I really can't fathom why they include a light kit at all given that it adds nothing of value to the fan.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Edgemont 52 in. Colonial Pewter Ceiling Fan
from Houston, Texas

Another one

PostedJuly 26, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Fan looks great, took less than an hour to install.
BUT as pretty much everyone else has said the LED lighting it worthless. It doesnt do anything for our living room.
Ive looked around for other fans but can find a mahogany / brushed nickel fan so I guess this one will do.
Im thinking about removing the LEDs and putting some different brand SMD LEDs or maybe solder up some Superflux LEDs that should be bright.
Fan looks great though, just make sure if its for your living room you have some lamps. : )
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Edgemont 52 in. Colonial Pewter Ceiling Fan
from Houston, Texas

Incompatible With Remote Control

PostedJuly 3, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Just like some others that have reviewed this product, I am dissapointed to find that one CANNOT use a remote control with this fan. The contemporary look is great, but the fan lacks that one feature (at list for me). The worse thing is that I have paid someone to install the fan (including remote) where there is a vaulted ceiling, now I am debating if I should take it down because I don't want to have the control strings hanging every where. The LED lights just flashes with the remote control.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Edgemont 52 in. Colonial Pewter Ceiling Fan
from Boca Raton, FL

quiet and stylist

PostedJune 18, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I put this in my family room. At first, I was a disappointed in the lack of lighting provided by this fan, but for the price, it's beautiful, and functional. What I like most about it is that it is so quiet, that I don't hear to motor at all. Additionally, it moves a great volume of air. I went back and purchased a second one for my master bedroom. Just don't expect any more lighting than it stated on the box. I paid the full in-store price not the internet price currently advertised.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Edgemont 52 in. Colonial Pewter Ceiling Fan

Disappointed

PostedJanuary 26, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wish that I read these reviews before I purchased the fan in the store! But I thought that with Hampton Bay, i would get a quality product. I totally agree with both of the reviews. It's a shame that you have to wait to complete the entire install before realizing what you have. This was going to be a fan/light over a pool table - not anymore. I have nightlights that put out more light. Now we have to take it down and start over. Too bad because it is otherwise modern and clean.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>