728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for AttiCat Expanding Blown-In Insulation System

AttiCat Expanding Blown-In Insulation System

The attic is one of the easiest places to add insulation to improve the comfort and energy efficiency of your home.  AttiCat Expanding Blown-In Insulation is designed for your attic insulation project in new or existing homes.  The specially designed AttCat machine conditions the insulation by adding millions of tiny air pockets that give the material its insulating power & energy-saving R-value over time. Blowing the insulation should take less than 1.5 hours and the whole job can be completed in less than 4 hours based on a 1,000 sq. ft. attic at R-30.
Overall rating:
4.777 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(121 reviews) 121
Open Ratings Snapshot
98%of customersrecommend this product117 of 119reviews
Rating Breakdown 121 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(106)
4
(10)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
98%of customersrecommend this product117 of 119reviews
Customer questions and answers:
79 Questions | 226 Answers
Customer reviews for AttiCat Expanding Blown-In Insulation System
Review 1 for AttiCat Expanding Blown-In Insulation System
from Schenectady NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good product POOR machine

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was surprised by the claim of expansion seemed to be correct, however trying to get the product from the machine to the attic was horrible. It took us over an hour to get just one bag through the machine and up to the attic, multiply that by 10 bags. If you are going to use this product DO NOT go by what they state for timing. The problem lies with the machine. The insulation is packed so tight in the bags, even adding only 1/2 a bag as directed. The hopper gets clogged after about 2 minutes of running the product. The tips of the augers just arent strong enough to break the insulation up. You have to stop the machine, unplug it, then break the insulation up with your hands, which is a messy, wasteful time consuming thing to do. With no exageration, you have to stop the machine after about 2 minutes, and break the insulation up again, before it will run through the hose. Once you do get it running it works good, until 2 minutes later. While overall I think the product is good, they need to go back to the drawing board and re-design the augers. All I can say is i'm glad you only have to iinsulate your attic once.
-17points
6out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 2 for AttiCat Expanding Blown-In Insulation System
from Brownsville, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

too expensive!!!

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I wanted to do it myself. I have a 1700sqf attic. so by calculation I needed 26 bags for a R30. 26x29$=754$. Then I contact a pro on internet and took me 650$ for the job... and only 2 hours to do it... So think about it before!
-20points
3out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 3 for AttiCat Expanding Blown-In Insulation System
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Unusable!

PostedJuly 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Wanted to use the Atticcat machine,but with only 50'of hose that was not going to work. How does OC expect you to use this thing in a two story home? I would have had to move it into the attic to get to all of the space...not to mention having to get the machine and materials upstairs. My advice is to check twice before you try this thing. This is only suitable for Hobit house IMHO!
Cons: Difficult to Use
-25points
1out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 4 for AttiCat Expanding Blown-In Insulation System
from Delray Beach

atticat blower

PostedDecember 9, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Auger on the blower keeps cutting out. 22 bales of insulation took 10 hrs toget in the attic. When we finished we were happy this is DONE ONCE. 16 to 20 inches in the attic is an R49 or so.
Called owens corning on how to reset the blower. Home depot agreed to give me the extra day. It would be nice if someone fixes the auger and blower so it runs properly.
-16points
8out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 5 for AttiCat Expanding Blown-In Insulation System
from Sudbury, MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Beware of Older AttiCat Inventory at Home Depot

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The installation of the AttiCat took 3 times longer than expected due to constant blockage in the delivery hose from the AttiCat machine. After investigating the problem we noticed the problem happened when we were blowing in the "White" colored insulation and not with the "Pink" colored installation. When I returned the AttiCat machine the Home Depot person said the machine only works on "Pink" insulation and not on the "White" insulation and returned my $250 deposit with no further explanation. Although the packaging and labeling for both colors were identical. Out of the 20 bags I purchased at least 6 bags were the color "white" and these 6 bags added 4 hours extra time to complete the project, and cleaning out the plugged hoses (50 feet each) was not fun. I was in Home Depot a few days after my project was completed and I noticed they separated the "White" insulation from the "Pink" insulation and placed them on the highest shelf.
I was not satisfied with the explanation given to me by the Home Depot staff so I contacted Owens Corning and after a flurry of helpful email exchanges they concluded the following:
" All AttiCat loosefill is the same. The material that appears to be more white has been exposed to light for a longer period of time and loses its color. With that it may be a little older and can become a little more packed as it sits which is probably what is causing the blowing issues. Color of the material will not affect the R-value or future settling of the product –meaning it will retain the R-value for the depth it is blown. - GETTECH Team Owens Corning"
I recommended to GETTECH Team Owens Corning that the should inform Home Depot to get rid of the older stock or at least inform the next buyer that their will be problems using the older AttiCat inventory and unlike myself that paid full price for this troublesome older inventory that Home Depot would sell it at a discounted price, "buyer beware".
In summary I was not happy with the installation process, took more time than advertised and at the end of the day it cost me 4 additional hours of my contractors time. But now that the project is completed I must admit the upstairs bedrooms are significantly more comfortable.
Pros: Performs Well
Cons: Difficult to Install
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for AttiCat Expanding Blown-In Insulation System
from Allegany, NY

AttiCat Insulation

PostedNovember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased 30 bags for a 1300 square foot attic that had R11 in it. I had trouble making the insulation lay flat like in the youtube video. Everytime I tried to shoot it into a low spot it would blow the insulation everywhere. I eventually got the hang of it and it went fairly well. The best idea is to shoot it straight up in the air and let if fall like snow. We pushed 30 bags through the machine in 2 hours and 20 minutes. I also installed the Owens Corning stairway insulator.
I can already feel the difference upstairs lets hope it saves me some money.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 7 for AttiCat Expanding Blown-In Insulation System

insulation

PostedOctober 28, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product was easy to handle and manipulate in the attic it covered well and got into the cracks that others missed. I liked the way the pieces of the insulation were even and not just mangoled. The plastic coverings were easy to remove with a knife and most anyone could handle them being not to big in size or to heavy. I enjoyed using this product thank you.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for AttiCat Expanding Blown-In Insulation System
from Boca Raton, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Effortless!

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently closed on a home that had a rodent issue in the attic. After speaking with my inspector, and a separate exterminator, it was determined that the attic’s insulation was populated with fresh rodent feces and urine.
Unfortunately, this animal byproduct houses Hantavirus, which is pretty harmful to one’s respiratory system.
To get the attic back to normal, this required the old insulation to be removed, any rodents to be exterminated, any rodent access points to be closed, the attic be disinfected, and new insulation be installed.
I’m not going to lie; removing the old insulation was no fun. Even with the powerful insulation vac I rented, it was still an awful project.
With an airless sprayer, and a mixture of diluted chlorine, I was able to disinfect the entire attic in 40 minutes.
After completing the above tasks, it was time for some new insulation.
PROS:
-This stuff is so easy to use. I insulated my home (1400 sq ft) in 2 hours.
-The remote at the nozzle of the hose was a super nice touch, and worked well.
-The machine is easy to use, and has big wheels for easy movement.
-The two hose sections were plenty long for my house.
-The insulation shoots pretty far so you can hit hard to access areas.
-I bought 30 bags, but only needed 19. I returned the rest, and was refunded.
-I wore sleeves and pants, but didn’t notice this insulation as being itchy.
-I noticed a temperature difference almost immediately, and now my home sits around R32-R38.
CONS:
-To properly use this product, you really need two people; one on the hose, and one feeding the machine.
-You have to be a few feet away to get the insulation to lie down. If you pointed the hose close (within 12”) to the target area, it would come out with such force, that the insulation would blow out of the desired area. I used the roof and AC ducts to deflect the insulation into the desired area.
-The machine is pretty big, and would be a pain to transport if the renter didn’t have a truck.
I was happy with this product, and Home Depot made the experience very positive. If you need insulation in your home, this is easy to do, and requires minimal effort.
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 9 for AttiCat Expanding Blown-In Insulation System
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice Product but be carefull of worn out machine

PostedMay 14, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My wife fed the blower and I stayed in the attic. Took way longer than we expected. Years ago I worked for a company that blew in cellulose insulation, the machine was 3 times faster, the Arctic Cat blower took 6 hours to blow in 17 bags. Over 10% of the product blew out of the machine onto the ground, we had to move the machine into my box trailer so we wouldn't cover our neighbors property with insulation. Once in the trailer My wife would scoop the insulation that blew out of the machine and put it back in when the product got low enough in the machine. The Home Depot Store is over an hour away one way and we had the last machine they had to send out so we just dealt with the poor running machine. I did however like the insulation better than the cellulose insulation and was surprised at how it did not itch like normal fiberglass insulation.
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for AttiCat Expanding Blown-In Insulation System
from Poway, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Small Attic Tips

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have a 1000 sq ft attic that is at its highest 40", because of all the rafters/braces there is no way to even get to the edges/corners. We wanted around an R-30 (we already had some old R-9 insulation that we covered over), we bought 18 bags, but only used 15. It took 3 hours to blow the insulation and a couple hours before to prep.
We covered our can lights with home depot boxes (make sure to keep the flaps on one side to close the top so insulation doesn't get in). We built up around our attic opening to 10" using a 2x6 and built up 10" of cardboard around our furnace vent.
If your attic is really tight like ours I would recommend blowing insulation near the edges and corners first then down the center, this will cause you to go back and forth a couple times but well worth it. The insulation needed will be too tall to see the rafters once blown. First, I would kneel on the rafters as close to the edge as possible (really only to the braces) and blow 3 sections at a time, then stop the machine (if our remote worked this would be 100 times easier, and a 5 star review) and move to another section.
One of our biggest concerns was not blocking the vents we have in between every other rafter tail. I would recommend blowing the insulation into the non-vented cavity and that way the overflow stays away from the vents.
It was also difficult to get around venting/pipes/ducts, etc. I would recommend blowing around all the duct work second.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, High Quality, Light Weight
Cons: Noisy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+56points
75out of 94found this review helpful.
Review 11 for AttiCat Expanding Blown-In Insulation System
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very easy to install

PostedMarch 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
my father-in law and I were able to install 11 bags in about / hrs. plus some prep work. Did cost 250 for the deposit for which I got back but wish I had know that before.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for AttiCat Expanding Blown-In Insulation System
from Denver, CO, USA

Great product

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
fills in perfectly. only downside is that the insulation packs down when you go up in the attic. rolls are better where you trample. Great project for late fall/early winter.
I would say the biggest downside is the size of the blower and hose.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for AttiCat Expanding Blown-In Insulation System
from Alexandria, VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Not Quite as easy as the video

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We watched the demo video and decided we could save ourselves a HUGE amount of money from the professional quote we had received to insulate the attic of our townhome. We needed about 10 bags so the machine rental was free. HOWEVER, it is not exactly as seen in the video. 1)There was no remote on our hose so we had to run and yell up and down the house to start and stop the machine. 2)The machine wasn't exactly "self feeding" Each time I put a half bag in as shown in the video I had to push, rearrange, unclog the machine. I followed the directions exactly but I don't think the fluffers on the back of the machine were doing their job correctly so it was a hands on job. 3)The no mess claim is fairly innaccuarate, we had a fair amount of clean up on our steps going up to the attic as well as in the front yard where we were using the machine. Overall I would do it again, but plan for twice as long with the clogging/running/cleaning that is necessary.
Pros: Economical
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for AttiCat Expanding Blown-In Insulation System
from Lexington, SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Machine is heavy!

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My wife and I are glad we did this but the key think I did not see, if has been mentioned before, is the significant weight of the machine. It fit in the back of my small SUV - a Suzuki Grand Vitara - but left no space for anything else. There are also two large trash type containers for the two 50 foot pieces of hose plus I had 10 bags of insulation to get home. It was raining so I was reluctant to use my open trailer but I did on the second and last trip. 10 bags of insulation fit into the Zuki so I could have hauled this in one trip with the trailer (but the machine would have been outside and I don't think that would have been good - didn't hurt the hose).
Anyway, the worst part of the job was getting the machine up a flight of stairs into a walk-in attic space. Fortunately my wife is a good helper and we got it there. I could not have done it by myself. It is both large and heavy. They picture the machine on the outside of the house but that wouldn't work for multiple reasons for us. Even getting it into and out of the SUV is not terribly easy (but I did it alone). You need to plan on how you will deal with the weight.
Actual spraying was relatively easy. The remote did not work at first but I messed with it and it started working fine. After that, moving myself around the attic was the worst obstacle. Be careful and you can put out a lot of insulation in a day. I went to get it about 7am and we took it back around 2pm. I worked pretty hard this whole time but she only helped get it to the 2nd story and loaded the machine with insulation. I carried all the insulation upstairs and the hoses too. Two people working full time would have done it quicker.
The main thing is don't go through the ceiling. I used plywood scraps about 2 foot by 4 foot and that helped a lot. Doing it first thing before I got tired also helped. Taping the hoses together also worked well - somebody else recommended that and they are right.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Economical
Cons: Too Big, Heavy
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for AttiCat Expanding Blown-In Insulation System

easy

PostedJune 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We needed to add a layer to get closer to recommended levels. Glad we did because the winter ended up being absolutely brutal. It is easier with 2 people because you can load bags faster.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for AttiCat Expanding Blown-In Insulation System
from Danville, CA

Great product and easy to install

PostedFebruary 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used 20 bags to cover ~1500 sq ft. Product is very clean and easy to apply. Had brother-n-law downstairs loading the hopper while I sprayed the attic. Total application time was ~2 hours. Took my R-value from R3 to R38 and can already notice a difference in home comfort temp. Heater is kicking on less often and home is staying at desirable temperature longer. Less draft throughout all parts of the house.
Blower was free with 20 bag purchase and VERY easy to use...even for my brother-n-law! Hardest part was winding the hoses back up.
I also applied for PG&E rebate online, which covered nearly 30% of my total insulation cost.
Best practice tips:
1) use broom handle to attached to hose. simply wrap with duct tape around handle and hose. handle works to get insulation in tight corners.
2) use sharpie to mark beams to proper R-value depth. You can get a little lost on the proper depth once insulation starts flying.
3) no need for goggles or overalls. This stuff is super clean and does not create dust/particles.
4) start from the outer edges and work your way to attic exit. Don't paint yourself in a corner.
5) use utility light and have flash light handy for backup.
6) make sure you keep your attic vents free of insulation. Depot sells some very inexpensive vent chute's ($2 each) for protecting vents against insulation.
Hope this helps
M. Honcho
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 17 for AttiCat Expanding Blown-In Insulation System
from San Jose, CA

Quick and Simple

PostedAugust 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After having already done several home projects that included ventures into the hot cramped attic, i was not looking forward to another trip up there. But the AttiCat system made blowing insulation a breeze!!! We have an approximate 1250 sf attic and had virtually no insulation to begin with. We originally bought 20 bags of insulation but ended up only using 15 due to the great expansion of the product. It was nice being able to return the extra bags and receive the cash back. Overall the project took about 3 hours. 2 people are necessary but 3 is better. We had a runner that could communicate between the attic and the loading station, but he wasnt needed too often. Before the project, our house would easily get up to 90 degrees inside on a warm day. But recently the weather has cooled so I havent been able to get the full effect of the product on a hot day to make a comparison, but it definitely cant be any worse than what it was! I highly recommend this system to anyone! Its extremely easy to use for all D.I.Y'ers
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for AttiCat Expanding Blown-In Insulation System
from Great falls Montana

Blown in Insulation

PostedOctober 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I own a tri-level house with limited access to one of my attics. I was really dreading insulating this attic. As luck would have it we had a bad hail storm and my roof was damaged enough to have to be replaced. I picked up the Owens corning blow in machine and bought 10 bags of insulation (kind of pricy). So as the roofers stripped the old shingles off that portion of my roof, I removed a piece of sheeting. I attached a pole to the end of the hose. I was able to re-insulate the whole attic from one spot. I did not have to bend over or crawl around at all. I found the best way to keep insulation from blowing around was to push the end of the hose under the old existing blown in insulation. I could watch as the insulation rose to a specified height then I would move to another spot. Loading the machine was really easy my 68 yr old dad with limited use of his left arm loaded the machine with no problem at all. This was the easiest and cleanest insulating I have ever done. I was contemplating buying the Green insulation but all the reviews that I read mentioned the word “dusty”. I am prone to respiratory problems so I opted for the Pink no dust insulation. I am so glad I did. I highly recommend everyone who is having their home re shingled to consider topping off your old insulation with a few bags (10 to get the free rental) of this clean and easy to use product.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for AttiCat Expanding Blown-In Insulation System
from Souther Maine

Easy & Fast to install

PostedNovember 10, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a home with older and newer attic sections.
The older section had loose insulation but only 8-10" and the newer section had 10" of batts.
With one person in the attic and one loading the machine we were able to blow in 15 bags of AttiCat in 2.5 hours.
We added about 10" to the old area and 6" in the new area to cover gaps around joists, etc.
It was VERY EASY to use and I highly recommend it!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for AttiCat Expanding Blown-In Insulation System
from Saginaw Mi

GREAT PRODUCT

PostedSeptember 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
GREAT PRODUCT Home Depot matched the price of the insulation from another store, had free use of blower and experienced advise. I had 10" if insulation and added another 10 on a 1900 square foot ranch. It took 2 people and 3 1/2 Hrs. from start to finish. I just wish I had done this earlier because it was so EASY.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>