728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for AttiCat Expanding Blown-In Insulation System

AttiCat Expanding Blown-In Insulation System

The attic is one of the easiest places to add insulation to improve the comfort and energy efficiency of your home.  AttiCat Expanding Blown-In Insulation is designed for your attic insulation project in new or existing homes.  The specially designed AttCat machine conditions the insulation by adding millions of tiny air pockets that give the material its insulating power & energy-saving R-value over time. Blowing the insulation should take less than 1.5 hours and the whole job can be completed in less than 4 hours based on a 1,000 sq. ft. attic at R-30.
Overall rating:
4.733 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(116 reviews) 116
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product111 of 114reviews
Rating Breakdown 116 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(100)
4
(10)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
97%of customersrecommend this product111 of 114reviews
Customer questions and answers:
68 Questions | 192 Answers
Customer reviews for AttiCat Expanding Blown-In Insulation System
Review 1 for AttiCat Expanding Blown-In Insulation System
from Schenectady NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good product POOR machine

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was surprised by the claim of expansion seemed to be correct, however trying to get the product from the machine to the attic was horrible. It took us over an hour to get just one bag through the machine and up to the attic, multiply that by 10 bags. If you are going to use this product DO NOT go by what they state for timing. The problem lies with the machine. The insulation is packed so tight in the bags, even adding only 1/2 a bag as directed. The hopper gets clogged after about 2 minutes of running the product. The tips of the augers just arent strong enough to break the insulation up. You have to stop the machine, unplug it, then break the insulation up with your hands, which is a messy, wasteful time consuming thing to do. With no exageration, you have to stop the machine after about 2 minutes, and break the insulation up again, before it will run through the hose. Once you do get it running it works good, until 2 minutes later. While overall I think the product is good, they need to go back to the drawing board and re-design the augers. All I can say is i'm glad you only have to iinsulate your attic once.
-14points
6out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 2 for AttiCat Expanding Blown-In Insulation System
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Unusable!

PostedJuly 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Wanted to use the Atticcat machine,but with only 50'of hose that was not going to work. How does OC expect you to use this thing in a two story home? I would have had to move it into the attic to get to all of the space...not to mention having to get the machine and materials upstairs. My advice is to check twice before you try this thing. This is only suitable for Hobit house IMHO!
Cons: Difficult to Use
-20points
1out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 3 for AttiCat Expanding Blown-In Insulation System
from Brownsville, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

too expensive!!!

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I wanted to do it myself. I have a 1700sqf attic. so by calculation I needed 26 bags for a R30. 26x29$=754$. Then I contact a pro on internet and took me 650$ for the job... and only 2 hours to do it... So think about it before!
-17points
3out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 4 for AttiCat Expanding Blown-In Insulation System
from Edison, NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

No remote, Short hose. Do not trust the instruction video.

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The insulation and the machine themselves are probably okay. However, contrary to the claim in the instructional video on the Home Depot product page, there was no remote control included and the hose was only 50' as opposed to 100'. I found that after reaching home and I called back the store but they said they had neither.
There is no way you can run the machine from your driveway/garage as suggested, with a 50' hose. I put the machine right under the attic entrance, but still could not get to the farther corners of my attic. I had bought 10 bags to avail free machine rental but could only properly use 5 bags. The other 5 would have been used in the farther ends, but since the hose was not long enough, I ended up using more than required insulation in the area where the hose could reach. Returning those 5 bags would not have made sense because then I would have been required to pay for the rental.
Overall, the task was made more difficult because of the misleading information. Shorter hose forced us to carry this heavy machine upstairs. Running it inside the house also meant more cleanup, and the lack of remote made the task of stopping/starting more difficult even though I had another person helping me.
In the end, I spent the money but still couldn't get the insulation where it was needed the most. I would advise not to trust the claims in the video and call the store ahead and plan accordingly.
Cons: short hose, no remote, misleading information
-4points
3out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for AttiCat Expanding Blown-In Insulation System
from Delray Beach

atticat blower

PostedDecember 9, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Auger on the blower keeps cutting out. 22 bales of insulation took 10 hrs toget in the attic. When we finished we were happy this is DONE ONCE. 16 to 20 inches in the attic is an R49 or so.
Called owens corning on how to reset the blower. Home depot agreed to give me the extra day. It would be nice if someone fixes the auger and blower so it runs properly.
-13points
8out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 6 for AttiCat Expanding Blown-In Insulation System
from Sudbury, MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Beware of Older AttiCat Inventory at Home Depot

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The installation of the AttiCat took 3 times longer than expected due to constant blockage in the delivery hose from the AttiCat machine. After investigating the problem we noticed the problem happened when we were blowing in the "White" colored insulation and not with the "Pink" colored installation. When I returned the AttiCat machine the Home Depot person said the machine only works on "Pink" insulation and not on the "White" insulation and returned my $250 deposit with no further explanation. Although the packaging and labeling for both colors were identical. Out of the 20 bags I purchased at least 6 bags were the color "white" and these 6 bags added 4 hours extra time to complete the project, and cleaning out the plugged hoses (50 feet each) was not fun. I was in Home Depot a few days after my project was completed and I noticed they separated the "White" insulation from the "Pink" insulation and placed them on the highest shelf.
I was not satisfied with the explanation given to me by the Home Depot staff so I contacted Owens Corning and after a flurry of helpful email exchanges they concluded the following:
" All AttiCat loosefill is the same. The material that appears to be more white has been exposed to light for a longer period of time and loses its color. With that it may be a little older and can become a little more packed as it sits which is probably what is causing the blowing issues. Color of the material will not affect the R-value or future settling of the product –meaning it will retain the R-value for the depth it is blown. - GETTECH Team Owens Corning"
I recommended to GETTECH Team Owens Corning that the should inform Home Depot to get rid of the older stock or at least inform the next buyer that their will be problems using the older AttiCat inventory and unlike myself that paid full price for this troublesome older inventory that Home Depot would sell it at a discounted price, "buyer beware".
In summary I was not happy with the installation process, took more time than advertised and at the end of the day it cost me 4 additional hours of my contractors time. But now that the project is completed I must admit the upstairs bedrooms are significantly more comfortable.
Pros: Performs Well
Cons: Difficult to Install
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for AttiCat Expanding Blown-In Insulation System
from Denver, CO, USA

Great product

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
fills in perfectly. only downside is that the insulation packs down when you go up in the attic. rolls are better where you trample. Great project for late fall/early winter.
I would say the biggest downside is the size of the blower and hose.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for AttiCat Expanding Blown-In Insulation System
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very easy to install

PostedMarch 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
my father-in law and I were able to install 11 bags in about / hrs. plus some prep work. Did cost 250 for the deposit for which I got back but wish I had know that before.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for AttiCat Expanding Blown-In Insulation System

easy

PostedJune 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We needed to add a layer to get closer to recommended levels. Glad we did because the winter ended up being absolutely brutal. It is easier with 2 people because you can load bags faster.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for AttiCat Expanding Blown-In Insulation System

insulation

PostedOctober 28, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product was easy to handle and manipulate in the attic it covered well and got into the cracks that others missed. I liked the way the pieces of the insulation were even and not just mangoled. The plastic coverings were easy to remove with a knife and most anyone could handle them being not to big in size or to heavy. I enjoyed using this product thank you.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for AttiCat Expanding Blown-In Insulation System
from Allegany, NY

AttiCat Insulation

PostedNovember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased 30 bags for a 1300 square foot attic that had R11 in it. I had trouble making the insulation lay flat like in the youtube video. Everytime I tried to shoot it into a low spot it would blow the insulation everywhere. I eventually got the hang of it and it went fairly well. The best idea is to shoot it straight up in the air and let if fall like snow. We pushed 30 bags through the machine in 2 hours and 20 minutes. I also installed the Owens Corning stairway insulator.
I can already feel the difference upstairs lets hope it saves me some money.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 12 for AttiCat Expanding Blown-In Insulation System
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice Product but be carefull of worn out machine

PostedMay 14, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My wife fed the blower and I stayed in the attic. Took way longer than we expected. Years ago I worked for a company that blew in cellulose insulation, the machine was 3 times faster, the Arctic Cat blower took 6 hours to blow in 17 bags. Over 10% of the product blew out of the machine onto the ground, we had to move the machine into my box trailer so we wouldn't cover our neighbors property with insulation. Once in the trailer My wife would scoop the insulation that blew out of the machine and put it back in when the product got low enough in the machine. The Home Depot Store is over an hour away one way and we had the last machine they had to send out so we just dealt with the poor running machine. I did however like the insulation better than the cellulose insulation and was surprised at how it did not itch like normal fiberglass insulation.
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for AttiCat Expanding Blown-In Insulation System
from Boca Raton, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Effortless!

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently closed on a home that had a rodent issue in the attic. After speaking with my inspector, and a separate exterminator, it was determined that the attic’s insulation was populated with fresh rodent feces and urine.
Unfortunately, this animal byproduct houses Hantavirus, which is pretty harmful to one’s respiratory system.
To get the attic back to normal, this required the old insulation to be removed, any rodents to be exterminated, any rodent access points to be closed, the attic be disinfected, and new insulation be installed.
I’m not going to lie; removing the old insulation was no fun. Even with the powerful insulation vac I rented, it was still an awful project.
With an airless sprayer, and a mixture of diluted chlorine, I was able to disinfect the entire attic in 40 minutes.
After completing the above tasks, it was time for some new insulation.
PROS:
-This stuff is so easy to use. I insulated my home (1400 sq ft) in 2 hours.
-The remote at the nozzle of the hose was a super nice touch, and worked well.
-The machine is easy to use, and has big wheels for easy movement.
-The two hose sections were plenty long for my house.
-The insulation shoots pretty far so you can hit hard to access areas.
-I bought 30 bags, but only needed 19. I returned the rest, and was refunded.
-I wore sleeves and pants, but didn’t notice this insulation as being itchy.
-I noticed a temperature difference almost immediately, and now my home sits around R32-R38.
CONS:
-To properly use this product, you really need two people; one on the hose, and one feeding the machine.
-You have to be a few feet away to get the insulation to lie down. If you pointed the hose close (within 12”) to the target area, it would come out with such force, that the insulation would blow out of the desired area. I used the roof and AC ducts to deflect the insulation into the desired area.
-The machine is pretty big, and would be a pain to transport if the renter didn’t have a truck.
I was happy with this product, and Home Depot made the experience very positive. If you need insulation in your home, this is easy to do, and requires minimal effort.
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 14 for AttiCat Expanding Blown-In Insulation System
from Alexandria, VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Not Quite as easy as the video

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We watched the demo video and decided we could save ourselves a HUGE amount of money from the professional quote we had received to insulate the attic of our townhome. We needed about 10 bags so the machine rental was free. HOWEVER, it is not exactly as seen in the video. 1)There was no remote on our hose so we had to run and yell up and down the house to start and stop the machine. 2)The machine wasn't exactly "self feeding" Each time I put a half bag in as shown in the video I had to push, rearrange, unclog the machine. I followed the directions exactly but I don't think the fluffers on the back of the machine were doing their job correctly so it was a hands on job. 3)The no mess claim is fairly innaccuarate, we had a fair amount of clean up on our steps going up to the attic as well as in the front yard where we were using the machine. Overall I would do it again, but plan for twice as long with the clogging/running/cleaning that is necessary.
Pros: Economical
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for AttiCat Expanding Blown-In Insulation System
from Lexington, SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Machine is heavy!

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My wife and I are glad we did this but the key think I did not see, if has been mentioned before, is the significant weight of the machine. It fit in the back of my small SUV - a Suzuki Grand Vitara - but left no space for anything else. There are also two large trash type containers for the two 50 foot pieces of hose plus I had 10 bags of insulation to get home. It was raining so I was reluctant to use my open trailer but I did on the second and last trip. 10 bags of insulation fit into the Zuki so I could have hauled this in one trip with the trailer (but the machine would have been outside and I don't think that would have been good - didn't hurt the hose).
Anyway, the worst part of the job was getting the machine up a flight of stairs into a walk-in attic space. Fortunately my wife is a good helper and we got it there. I could not have done it by myself. It is both large and heavy. They picture the machine on the outside of the house but that wouldn't work for multiple reasons for us. Even getting it into and out of the SUV is not terribly easy (but I did it alone). You need to plan on how you will deal with the weight.
Actual spraying was relatively easy. The remote did not work at first but I messed with it and it started working fine. After that, moving myself around the attic was the worst obstacle. Be careful and you can put out a lot of insulation in a day. I went to get it about 7am and we took it back around 2pm. I worked pretty hard this whole time but she only helped get it to the 2nd story and loaded the machine with insulation. I carried all the insulation upstairs and the hoses too. Two people working full time would have done it quicker.
The main thing is don't go through the ceiling. I used plywood scraps about 2 foot by 4 foot and that helped a lot. Doing it first thing before I got tired also helped. Taping the hoses together also worked well - somebody else recommended that and they are right.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Economical
Cons: Too Big, Heavy
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for AttiCat Expanding Blown-In Insulation System
from Poway, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Small Attic Tips

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have a 1000 sq ft attic that is at its highest 40", because of all the rafters/braces there is no way to even get to the edges/corners. We wanted around an R-30 (we already had some old R-9 insulation that we covered over), we bought 18 bags, but only used 15. It took 3 hours to blow the insulation and a couple hours before to prep.
We covered our can lights with home depot boxes (make sure to keep the flaps on one side to close the top so insulation doesn't get in). We built up around our attic opening to 10" using a 2x6 and built up 10" of cardboard around our furnace vent.
If your attic is really tight like ours I would recommend blowing insulation near the edges and corners first then down the center, this will cause you to go back and forth a couple times but well worth it. The insulation needed will be too tall to see the rafters once blown. First, I would kneel on the rafters as close to the edge as possible (really only to the braces) and blow 3 sections at a time, then stop the machine (if our remote worked this would be 100 times easier, and a 5 star review) and move to another section.
One of our biggest concerns was not blocking the vents we have in between every other rafter tail. I would recommend blowing the insulation into the non-vented cavity and that way the overflow stays away from the vents.
It was also difficult to get around venting/pipes/ducts, etc. I would recommend blowing around all the duct work second.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, High Quality, Light Weight
Cons: Noisy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+56points
74out of 92found this review helpful.
Review 17 for AttiCat Expanding Blown-In Insulation System
from Dublin, OH

Easy Like Sunday Morning

PostedJanuary 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Atticat system is extremely simple to use! My wife and I blew-in 10 bales into a 475SQF attic. 10 bales gets you the machine rental free for a day!
The machine is extremely easy to setup and use. Just connect the power and the 100ft hose,and you are all set! My wife fed the bails while I sprayed. It took us about an hour and a half to setup, blow the 10 bales, and cleanup. This is perfect for the do-it-yourselfer like us.
Be sure to wear long sleeves, goggles, and a mask. This is fiberglass and it will definitely irritate!
2 weeks into it we notice a drastic difference. The upstairs stays much warmer and the furnace kicks on far less than it used to. Can't wait to see the difference in the gas bill!
Amazing!
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 18 for AttiCat Expanding Blown-In Insulation System
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

An awesome upgrade

PostedJanuary 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My spouse and I recently elected to do this upgrade to our house, and this could not have been simpler or easier.
I was very impressed by the machine. Although you can get the blower for free if you buy 10 or more bags, you can also rent the machine for like $75 a day. When you rent the machine, you can also get the insurance on it, and given how expensive this machine is, it's not worth saving $75 on the project by avoiding the rental fee. Do yourself a favor - rent the machine, buy the insurance.
The machine itself is both *BIG* and *HEAVY*. It breaks into two parts, but unless you have a very big car or a pickup truck, you will not be able to move this in a standard vehicle. Because of the weight of the bottom piece, I highly recommend that at least two of you pick it up. The other issue is the hoses. These things are *BIG* and they are *INFLEXIBLE*. In fact, it's like wrestling an anaconda to put them back in the trash cans they come in.
You will also need a roll of tape to tape the two pieces together. Packing tape works, but I recommend you use duct tape (NOT DUCK tape! Unless you plan on taping some ducks together).
The remote was awesome. While I was navigating around in the attic, I could stop the machine while repositioning instead of screaming at my wife to turn it off or turn it on.
Some others have also recommended you get a broom handle to tape the hose to. We used a window washing pole and some panduits to hold the hose at the end of the pole. Had I not done this, there is no way I could have gotten the entire attic done (1000 + square foot house - not huge) but the joists made it very hard to move around.
The insulation doesn't blow around like cellulose nor is it irritating like regular fiberglass batts. That said, you should wear at least a paper mask while blowing this as well as eye protection. Head protection is also recommended given the spaces you are working in.
I had guessed that we would need 15 bags to do the job, and we used a total of 8! I was AMAZED at the coverage of this stuff.
All in all, even with renting a van, paying for the machine rental and the insulation, the total job was around $400 all told. A local insulation company wanted to charge us nearly $1200 for this job.
I wish we had done this sooner - it's an excellent, cheap upgrade that will pay you back for years and years to come.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for AttiCat Expanding Blown-In Insulation System
from Oklahoma City, OK, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

The easiet diy home improvement I've ever done.

PostedJune 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was going to use paper made insulation but after comparing number of bags and price of each bag, turns out this was couple hundred less expensive. Home depot gave free hopper with 10 bag purchase. From the time I picked up hopper at store was finished 3 1/2 hrs later. Very easy to load the hopper, after cutting each bag in half as directed it was not too heavy for me to lift, and blowing it into the joist was very easy. Hardly any cleanup. Thanks for the sales help, he fully explained my options and how to instructions.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for AttiCat Expanding Blown-In Insulation System
from Janesville, WI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Easiest thing we've ever done

PostedOctober 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No dust, no real mess, we did 2 houses 1000 sq ft each in less than 2 hours (20) bags. Awesome product. It went too fast we had fun doing this
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>