728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Blow-in Insulation or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for AttiCat Fiberglass Expanding Blown-in Insulation System

AttiCat Fiberglass Expanding Blown-in Insulation System

The attic is one of the easiest places to add insulation to improve the comfort and energy efficiency of your home.  AttiCat Expanding Blown-In Insulation is designed for your attic insulation project in new or existing homes.  The specially designed AttCat machine conditions the insulation by adding millions of tiny air pockets that give the material its insulating power & energy-saving R-value over time. Blowing the insulation should take less than 1.5 hours and the whole job can be completed in less than 4 hours based on a 1,000 sq. ft. attic at R-30.
Overall rating:
4.757 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(144 reviews) 144
Open Ratings Snapshot
98%of customersrecommend this product138 of 141reviews
Rating Breakdown 144 reviews
4.8 out of 5
5
(124)
4
(14)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
98%of customersrecommend this product138 of 141reviews
Customer questions and answers:
110 Questions | 286 Answers
Customer reviews for AttiCat Fiberglass Expanding Blown-in Insulation System
Review 1 for AttiCat Fiberglass Expanding Blown-in Insulation System
from Wisconsin
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Go for it! It was actually fun to use!

PostedDecember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Thanks to all those who left suggestions as all were very helpful! This was so easy overall and I spent less than half of what I was quoted by professionals for the same work. I loaded 10 bags in my SUV on one trip, and the machine & hose in another trip! I HIGHLY suggest getting a headlamp as it makes things so much easier. You definitely need goggles and a good mask too (just for the dust). Also - be sure the hose has the remote attached when you pick up the machine! My first hose did not and we tried working that way (texing to start & stop) and it was just a pain. I called the store to get the remote (which already should have been there!) and that made a world of difference! So easy to control to move around the attic as needed. It blew very fast & easy, and my helper said loading bags in the machine was a breeze too. He figured it was about 10 - 15 minutes per bag (roughly). I was amazed at how much coverage I had. Using your hand as a "deflector" when needed worked too. You do have to plan how to "back up" with the hose as you go because it projects a good distance. I actually had FUN with this DIY project!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Economical
Cons: no remote at start from local store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+25points
28out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 2 for AttiCat Fiberglass Expanding Blown-in Insulation System
from Dallas, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

EASY, FUN and IT WORKS ...... but you will want to buy the $ 8.00 BAOOKA

PostedApril 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product is great. We blew 44 bags into a 2000sq ft área on a ranch style home in about 4 hours. Hardest part (time consuming) was moving around over air ducts.. Here are my thoughts for you to consider on MUST DO´s. Each Project is different however this is what worked for me in a 30 yr old home.
1. Buy more bags than you think you need. You can always return the bags you don´t use as long as you use at least TEN for the free machine rentaL. I had to stop in the middle of the project, run to the store and get 10 more bags, which was a pain.
2. Spend $8.00 and get the BAZOOKA. Best money I ever spent. Buy a 10´section of THREE INCH PVC pipe. Have the store cut in at 6´, giving you a 6´and 4´section. I CAN NOT EMPHASIZE ENOUGH how much work this saved me. The 6´section allows you to direct and blow the material in specific áreas such as corners and get it where you want it. It also saves you from having to crawl so far back. The 4´ section is great for directing the material when you don´t need the distance and it is easier to handle. You don´t need to duct tape the hose, just slide it inside the tube about 6 inches and it will be fine. You can remove the hose from the tube immediatly if you need to shoot material closer.
3. A Strong direct beam light.aside from a drop light. A direct beam light works well to see how much material you have put in corners and 20´ away when using the 6´ BAZOOKA.
4. Two 2´x4´ pieces of plywood. Again, a few $ well spent. Home Depot might have some scrap you can buy really cheap. Instead of walking across rafters. placing these planks and using them to SIT and slide (leapfroging) really helps. You also have a place to SIT while you are blowing the material, especially when using the bazooka to blow material further back.into the attic.
5. TWO extra people. My local store said they quit using the remotes because they did not work well. SOOO, I had my nephew load the bags and my wife stood at the attic opening to relay instructions.
6. HALF A BAG, STOP FOR 15-20 SECONDS, then continue. I found really quick that the lag time allows you to stop and really see where more material is needed and the air blowing out the tube works well to gently even out what you just sprayed. Obviously you can adjust this depending on your specific Project.
7. EARLY IN THE MORNING. Because heat is a major factor in the attic, (For Dallas), we picked up the machine at 9pm the night before. We set it up, attached hoses, set up drop lights etc so we could start early. If you have enough lighting, you can do it in the middle of the night. The machine is not that loud. Again, this is Project specific depending on climate.
7. The normal safety equipment, protection for eyes, a Hood, long sleeve shirt, gloves etc.
I hope my thoughs are of some use. I am NOT a Handy man. In fact, I am a disabled veteran and this is the biggest Project I have taken on since I got hurt. If I can do it, YOU can do it. GOOD LUCK !
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, High Quality, Economical
+112points
116out of 120found this review helpful.
Review 3 for AttiCat Fiberglass Expanding Blown-in Insulation System
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So easy!

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I absolutely loved this...I bought 15 bags (rental free for 24 hours with 10 bags) for 1000sf with about 1" of existing flat and nasty existing insulation. The machine was so easy to use. Bags loaded in easily, the hose was lightweight, basically everything about it was great. The insulation ended up going further than I thought. I ended up with about 18" in most of the attic (except the center where I plan on putting plywood down). After all that I only used 9 bags! I wanted to make sure I used at least 10 and my buddy loved it so much, we shot over to his house and blew in a few bags there. I highly recommend this and wish I had done it months ago!! 9 bags x $32 = $288 CHEAP!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Economical, no dust
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+105points
118out of 131found this review helpful.
Review 4 for AttiCat Fiberglass Expanding Blown-in Insulation System
from Austin TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Easy as pie

PostedNovember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'll start thanking all those of you that wrote such convincing descriptions that this could be done easily by a DIYer. I will incorporate other's advice too. You'll need a truck to transport. I bought 20 bags (1700 sq ft house for an additional 33 R) and then you need to haul the machine. One mid size suv for the machine and two accords still wasn't enough for everything. Another trip back for the remaining 5 bags. You not only have the machine, but two large trash cans of hose. I don't think a broom handle attached on the end would be nearly as effective as a 3' section of 3" pvc I duct taped on the end of the hose. I can't stress enough that that was the trick. The insulation shot out wonderfully and I could direct it perfectly. Up close, I deflected off the ceiling. Another must. A halogen light, $10-15 at HD. A long extension cord. Lights up the attic light daytime. Ideally one person to feed the machine, one person in the attic pulling back excess hose/ light extension cord and to relay info the feeder guy. Buying goods, machine "rental", two trips to HD, blowing the insulation, and return of the rental in under 4 hours. Btw, an 1850 sq ft ranch w/ the attic access on one side, the 100 ft hose was sufficient. That's it. go for it.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+180points
188out of 196found this review helpful.
Review 5 for AttiCat Fiberglass Expanding Blown-in Insulation System
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy Peasy

PostedJuly 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After getting a quote for $2400 from Home Depot we decided to do it ourselves. Set up, operation and cleaning the machine was a breeze. Blowing the insulation went perfectly. Once I got used to the flow I was able to spread material smoothly. $650 to do 1600 sq. feet and that included paying a neighbor kid to feed the hopper for me. The only small issue we had was the connection between the two hoses. I would suggest duct taping the connection just to be safe. Other than that 2 hours and done! Saved us tons of money.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Economical, Reliable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+85points
91out of 97found this review helpful.
Review 6 for AttiCat Fiberglass Expanding Blown-in Insulation System
from Mississippi, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sound Proofing

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Needed to insulate a wall for sound proofing a nursery. After receiving a qoute just to sound proof room was $700-$900...No brainer. Decided to purchase 15 bales and add some insulation in the attic at the same time. Couple of hours work, noticeable reduction in sound coming through wall, and noticeable difference in thermostat. Recommended this as an easy home project to all my friends.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+58points
63out of 68found this review helpful.
Review 7 for AttiCat Fiberglass Expanding Blown-in Insulation System
from Middleburg, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This can be done by grand parents!!!!

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
First of I would like to thank all the previous posters for taking the time to relate their experiences and share the tips they have found helpful.
After doing some work in my attic I discovered the builder had not done a very good job of insulating the attic. It was a new house in 2011 and the stated R value was R30. There may have been some places that were R30 but there were also some R0 places. It wasn’t put down uniformly and there were some places that had absolutely no insulation. I decided I would put rolls of R30 down. After purchasing 9 15” x 25’ rolls of R30 I discovered I couldn’t get the rolls in place much less unwrap them and roll them out.
After reading all the comments on the Home Depot web site my wife and I decided we would try the blown in insulation. I did all the prep work prior to the day we had decided to do the work. Mainly I made sure the vents were in place and cardboard was in place to keep the insulation in the proper area (our attic has a higher level in the center and then a lower level on each end – the cardboard was to keep the insulation for the higher levels from falling down to the lower level). I also made sure the light fixtures were Insulation Contact (IC) rated. I put down fence boards in key area to walk on. I left those in place since they were extras we had from a previous house we had owned. We purchased a section of 4” PVC as someone had recommended but didn’t wind up using it. I could get everywhere I needed with just using the hose. The Tool Rental representative was extremely helpful. She said if I needed to I could purchase 10 bales one day and get a free rental and then purchase 10 more another day. We decided we only wanted to do this one time so we purchase 25 bales of insulation and decided Saturday was “the day”.
I picked up the machine this morning at 6:00 AM. At 12:30 PM we were out of insulation and I wasn’t done. We went back to Home Depot and purchased an additional 12 bales. At 3:00 PM we were returning the machine and 3 bales of insulation. All totaled we blew in 34 bales and by the insulation markers (free at Home Depot) we brought the house up to R60. We considered buying walkie-talkies but didn’t want to spend the money on something that would never be used again. We have two cordless phones and discovered we can use them as intercom so that is how we communicated. We also purchased a two-pack of the Defiant 100 lumen headlamps (I will use those again). They were great!!!
Now if anyone is hesitant or doubting whether they can do this or not consider this: I am an electric engineer with no training in the building trades. My wife is an Administrative Assistant and doesn’t have any training in the building trades. Also, I am 63 years old and my wife is 68 years old. This was much easier than I ever expected but reading the comments on the Home Depot site helped a lot as did doing the prep work ahead of time. The only reason I didn’t give a 5 star rating is the remote control didn’t work. It would have been helpful. I feel if you are going to advertise something it should be fully functional.
I think the key things that helped this project be a success was: 1) the comments on the Home Depot web site; 2) the advice from the tool rental manager and the sales personnel and the at Home Depot; 3) the headlamp; 4) doing the prep work ahead of time; 5) a team approach on the part of the machine operator and the hose operator; 6) the military discount at Home Depot.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
Cons: remote inoperative
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+58points
67out of 76found this review helpful.
Review 8 for AttiCat Fiberglass Expanding Blown-in Insulation System
from Lake Orion, MI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Very easy

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This kit was extremely easy to work with. You'll need a big truck to get the machine and hoses and another truck or suv to get the bags home if you want to do it in one swoop. I shot 18 bags up into my attic which previously only had insulation to the studs. I got my attic to R60 and although it hasn't been cold enough to tell, I feel like I can notice that my upstairs temperature is closer to the downstairs. The hardest part was the prep work because the previous owner covered the soffetts and I had to do some crawling around. I put the machine outside and ran the hose through a window and up into the closet. It's so easy to spray and almost like a game. There was no dust and no hassle like cellulose and that part definitely makes it worth the extra price over cellulose. I had my father loading the bags from downstairs and he said it was very easy to load. There was almost no cleanup. He was so impressed with the machine and coverage that we did his house the next day. He's got cellulose, but it had settled so we just added 10 bags into his attic. I would do this again with no hesitation. What an easy home improvement project. I didn't use gloves and I was touching this stuff a lot. Absolutely no itching at all.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Great Value, Easy to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+26points
33out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 9 for AttiCat Fiberglass Expanding Blown-in Insulation System
from Poway, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Small Attic Tips

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have a 1000 sq ft attic that is at its highest 40", because of all the rafters/braces there is no way to even get to the edges/corners. We wanted around an R-30 (we already had some old R-9 insulation that we covered over), we bought 18 bags, but only used 15. It took 3 hours to blow the insulation and a couple hours before to prep.
We covered our can lights with home depot boxes (make sure to keep the flaps on one side to close the top so insulation doesn't get in). We built up around our attic opening to 10" using a 2x6 and built up 10" of cardboard around our furnace vent.
If your attic is really tight like ours I would recommend blowing insulation near the edges and corners first then down the center, this will cause you to go back and forth a couple times but well worth it. The insulation needed will be too tall to see the rafters once blown. First, I would kneel on the rafters as close to the edge as possible (really only to the braces) and blow 3 sections at a time, then stop the machine (if our remote worked this would be 100 times easier, and a 5 star review) and move to another section.
One of our biggest concerns was not blocking the vents we have in between every other rafter tail. I would recommend blowing the insulation into the non-vented cavity and that way the overflow stays away from the vents.
It was also difficult to get around venting/pipes/ducts, etc. I would recommend blowing around all the duct work second.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, High Quality, Light Weight
Cons: Noisy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+65points
86out of 107found this review helpful.
Review 10 for AttiCat Fiberglass Expanding Blown-in Insulation System

Totally worth it

PostedAugust 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've been suffering for the last year since moving in to my house. Hot in the summer and so cold in winter. The furnace and AC run constantly. I finally checked my attic and found almost no insulation. After looking online for a solution I finally ran across this product. I read the reviews and trusted that this would work. It did. Immediately. For the first time my AC shut itself off today. The tips from the other reviews are super helpful and I recommend them. Watch the video too. The only thing I would do differently is not cut all the packages in half because now I have a few leftover that we opened and can't return.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for AttiCat Fiberglass Expanding Blown-in Insulation System
from Cedar Park, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

So easy to do!

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought 10 bags to get the blower rental for free...was totally worth it! Simple to use with two people. One stays down and feeds the hopper (cut the bags in half first) while the other stays in the attic and aims the hose. My wife actually was the middle person who helped yell when to stop and start the device. I found the remote control buttons on the hose didn't work.Probably need to check the batteries before you use it. Attic got significantly cooler as I worked up there- probably because of the new insulation! Worth it and should have done it years ago.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, Great Value
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+20points
35out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 12 for AttiCat Fiberglass Expanding Blown-in Insulation System
from Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Highly Recommended...

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My attic was less than R-29 value, I knew I had to do something, So my wife and I decided to invest the
money it would take to save money in the long run, We purchased 12 bales of Attic Cat insulation for
our 864 square foot attic we only needed 10 but a little extra wouldn't hurt, the cost was only $377.00
and that came with the blower to use to install the insulation there is a $250.00 deposit on the blower
but you will get that back when you return the machine after use, We watched the video on the home
depot web site which shows you how to use the blower and feed the insulation into it, It was so very
easy to do, Long story short we now have a R-60 Value in our attic, The Attic Cat insulation is top
quality, low dust, and it is not suppose to settle over time, but we all know a little settling will happen
a Great product at a fair price, Thank you owens corning and home depot for making the whole
experience delightful, Highly Recommended for everyone who wants to save money in the long run.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for AttiCat Fiberglass Expanding Blown-in Insulation System
from Northern Michigan
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Excellent DYI Project

PostedOctober 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We just had built a new home and it came with R-40 in the attic. Living in N. Michigan I wanted to boost that to R-60. My wife and I completed 12 bags in less than 3 hours from start to finish. There was very little pre needed - running hose, setting up the machine, and tacking up the measuring stick. We watched a youtube video and then we were off. We found that doing about 4.5 sections then checking with each other was perfect. Also as others mention using a glove or the rafters to bank in tight areas works great. The machine and bundles are light enough to move around and transport. Make use you check that you have the remote before leaving the store. Excellent project and looking forward to seeing the savings! BTW - thanks to all the prior reviewer's, it really assured me this was a great product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, Great Value
+49points
49out of 49found this review helpful.
Review 14 for AttiCat Fiberglass Expanding Blown-in Insulation System
from Northern Nevada
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install and great energy savings

PostedFebruary 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My girlfriend and I installed 16 bales of Atticat insulation in our home in November 2011. It took about 2.5 hours and increased our attic from R-30 to R-60 (960 sq ft). At the same time, we had our 23 year old furnace replaced with a new 80% efficient one (couldn't justify the additional cost for the 90+% furnaces, since our home is so small). The Atticat machine worked great and this stuff doesn't itch. I was pleasantly surprised. Since then, I've received 2 months of gas bills since the installation and after compensating for temperature variations from last year, it looks like we're using 35-40% fewer therms per month than last year. I was hoping for 30%, so I'm thrilled with the results. This is a great project for the novice DIYer!
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 15 for AttiCat Fiberglass Expanding Blown-in Insulation System
from York , PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

this machine is good, powerful and the remote is great

PostedJanuary 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had to do a 'confined space' job last August, for a business, where none of their guys would even go into the narrow space I had to wiggle into (about 14" x 21") and then into the 35 ft long by 23" clear space from top of ceiling joist to bottom of roof rafter. SO, the remote on/off and the hose for the AttiCat machine did wonderfully. I did have a 'spotter' down a floor and outside the space...'just in case'..! The power to absolutely fill the vertical cavities, and the power to blow it over 10 ft away where even I could not reach, made the job fast and done well. Would use it again in a heartbeat. Notice, I could NOT have done the job with the old 'cellulose' machine.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 16 for AttiCat Fiberglass Expanding Blown-in Insulation System
from North Central PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Quick and Easy!

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I know nothing about insulation, but with the associates help, I bought the perfect amount of insulation, used this machine, and in 2 hours did my new-construction 24x35 foot attic. I had to do 16" for R49 as per code in north central PA, but had a furnace area, so ended up with about 18", which suits me just fine! Machine worked GREAT! My 13 year-old easily inserted the bags of insulation and now....my attic is warm, pink and fluffy! Almost makes me want to hang out up there........NOT! I highly recommend this as a DIY.....if I can do it....YOU CAN! What a difference in the heating bill. I think they should add sparkles to it. Oh yeah, I bought a tyvek suit, mask and goggles.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight, cute color!
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 17 for AttiCat Fiberglass Expanding Blown-in Insulation System
from Summerville, SC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

big advantages using the Atticat over the $10 stuff!

PostedMay 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I thought I was saving money by getting the $10 products with the houses I have done in the past but I was dead wrong.
After Using the Attic cat which is a higher cost I found it is less messy, not dusty and goes three times a far. not only that, it is a better looking job and does not settle like the newspaper type.
+51points
51out of 51found this review helpful.
Review 18 for AttiCat Fiberglass Expanding Blown-in Insulation System
from Destin, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

I didn't want to stop!

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We got 10 bags and the free blower rental to fill in some spaces where either the builder didn't spray insulation, or the hurricanes blew it away from the sides of the house into the middle of the attic. I cut all of the insulation bags in half before heading into the attic while my wife fed the machine. It all worked great, but the one problem I had was that the remote didn't work so it then became a communication challenge. Once we got that all figured out, everything went smoothly. It was easy to get into tight spaces (sometimes I'd use my hand to cover the nozzle so it would spray further - like a garden hose) and you won't believe how much insulation you get from one bag! I want to go spray some more!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, High Quality
Cons: remote didn't work
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 19 for AttiCat Fiberglass Expanding Blown-in Insulation System
from Houston Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GREAT ! GREAT !

PostedAugust 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We live in Houston Texas, it is suppose to be 100 degrees today so my wife and I got up ar 6am to start. By 6:30 I was in the attic and she was at the machine, by 7:45 we had covered about 1,000 square feet with 10 bags, 30 minutes later everything was cleaned and loaded to take back. The hose comes in 100 foot lengths, make sure you get at least 2 lengths. There's videos on the Owens-Corning web site and YouTube, if you watch these it's very easy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Shape, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for AttiCat Fiberglass Expanding Blown-in Insulation System
from Mississippi
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Easy to do and excellent coverage

PostedMarch 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just finished using the Blowing machine from Home Depot. If you're looking at this product read all the reviews and tips on doing so. Thanks to everyone who posted tips. My son and I blew in 10 bags in just a couple of hours. Took a little longer because my attic is very cramped. It's hard to maneuver inside the attic. I used the "banking" technique which helped tremendously. MAKE SURE YOU AIR SEAL YOUR ATTIC BEFORE YOU ADD ANY INSULATION. It is worth the effort and will let the insulation do it's thing. I'd also suggest that you check your duct work for HVAC if in attic. I did so and found that actual cloth duct tape was used (not mastic). Putting in this insulation was a breeze. My son loaded the machine and I maneuvered in the attic. Some said that the machine blows 6-10 feet but the machine I had blew much harder and farther than anticipated. I'm sure it depends on the machine but the machine I had blew 20 feet. Wear a mask or respirator. Air seal, check your HVAC, make sure not to block your air flow from soffits and get to it. I will be worth it. BTW, this stuff does not itch. Good luck!
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Economical
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>