728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for AttiCat Fiberglass Expanding Blown-in Insulation System

AttiCat Fiberglass Expanding Blown-in Insulation System

The attic is one of the easiest places to add insulation to improve the comfort and energy efficiency of your home.  AttiCat Expanding Blown-In Insulation is designed for your attic insulation project in new or existing homes.  The specially designed AttCat machine conditions the insulation by adding millions of tiny air pockets that give the material its insulating power & energy-saving R-value over time. Blowing the insulation should take less than 1.5 hours and the whole job can be completed in less than 4 hours based on a 1,000 sq. ft. attic at R-30.
Overall rating:
4.774 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(124 reviews) 124
Open Ratings Snapshot
98%of customersrecommend this product120 of 122reviews
Rating Breakdown 124 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(108)
4
(11)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
98%of customersrecommend this product120 of 122reviews
Customer questions and answers:
88 Questions | 250 Answers
Customer reviews for AttiCat Fiberglass Expanding Blown-in Insulation System
Review 1 for AttiCat Fiberglass Expanding Blown-in Insulation System
from Schenectady NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good product POOR machine

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was surprised by the claim of expansion seemed to be correct, however trying to get the product from the machine to the attic was horrible. It took us over an hour to get just one bag through the machine and up to the attic, multiply that by 10 bags. If you are going to use this product DO NOT go by what they state for timing. The problem lies with the machine. The insulation is packed so tight in the bags, even adding only 1/2 a bag as directed. The hopper gets clogged after about 2 minutes of running the product. The tips of the augers just arent strong enough to break the insulation up. You have to stop the machine, unplug it, then break the insulation up with your hands, which is a messy, wasteful time consuming thing to do. With no exageration, you have to stop the machine after about 2 minutes, and break the insulation up again, before it will run through the hose. Once you do get it running it works good, until 2 minutes later. While overall I think the product is good, they need to go back to the drawing board and re-design the augers. All I can say is i'm glad you only have to iinsulate your attic once.
-18points
6out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 2 for AttiCat Fiberglass Expanding Blown-in Insulation System
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Unusable!

PostedJuly 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Wanted to use the Atticcat machine,but with only 50'of hose that was not going to work. How does OC expect you to use this thing in a two story home? I would have had to move it into the attic to get to all of the space...not to mention having to get the machine and materials upstairs. My advice is to check twice before you try this thing. This is only suitable for Hobit house IMHO!
Cons: Difficult to Use
-26points
1out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 3 for AttiCat Fiberglass Expanding Blown-in Insulation System
from Brownsville, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

too expensive!!!

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I wanted to do it myself. I have a 1700sqf attic. so by calculation I needed 26 bags for a R30. 26x29$=754$. Then I contact a pro on internet and took me 650$ for the job... and only 2 hours to do it... So think about it before!
-23points
3out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 4 for AttiCat Fiberglass Expanding Blown-in Insulation System
from Delray Beach

atticat blower

PostedDecember 9, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Auger on the blower keeps cutting out. 22 bales of insulation took 10 hrs toget in the attic. When we finished we were happy this is DONE ONCE. 16 to 20 inches in the attic is an R49 or so.
Called owens corning on how to reset the blower. Home depot agreed to give me the extra day. It would be nice if someone fixes the auger and blower so it runs properly.
-17points
8out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 5 for AttiCat Fiberglass Expanding Blown-in Insulation System
from Sudbury, MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Beware of Older AttiCat Inventory at Home Depot

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The installation of the AttiCat took 3 times longer than expected due to constant blockage in the delivery hose from the AttiCat machine. After investigating the problem we noticed the problem happened when we were blowing in the "White" colored insulation and not with the "Pink" colored installation. When I returned the AttiCat machine the Home Depot person said the machine only works on "Pink" insulation and not on the "White" insulation and returned my $250 deposit with no further explanation. Although the packaging and labeling for both colors were identical. Out of the 20 bags I purchased at least 6 bags were the color "white" and these 6 bags added 4 hours extra time to complete the project, and cleaning out the plugged hoses (50 feet each) was not fun. I was in Home Depot a few days after my project was completed and I noticed they separated the "White" insulation from the "Pink" insulation and placed them on the highest shelf.
I was not satisfied with the explanation given to me by the Home Depot staff so I contacted Owens Corning and after a flurry of helpful email exchanges they concluded the following:
" All AttiCat loosefill is the same. The material that appears to be more white has been exposed to light for a longer period of time and loses its color. With that it may be a little older and can become a little more packed as it sits which is probably what is causing the blowing issues. Color of the material will not affect the R-value or future settling of the product –meaning it will retain the R-value for the depth it is blown. - GETTECH Team Owens Corning"
I recommended to GETTECH Team Owens Corning that the should inform Home Depot to get rid of the older stock or at least inform the next buyer that their will be problems using the older AttiCat inventory and unlike myself that paid full price for this troublesome older inventory that Home Depot would sell it at a discounted price, "buyer beware".
In summary I was not happy with the installation process, took more time than advertised and at the end of the day it cost me 4 additional hours of my contractors time. But now that the project is completed I must admit the upstairs bedrooms are significantly more comfortable.
Pros: Performs Well
Cons: Difficult to Install
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for AttiCat Fiberglass Expanding Blown-in Insulation System

insulation

PostedOctober 28, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product was easy to handle and manipulate in the attic it covered well and got into the cracks that others missed. I liked the way the pieces of the insulation were even and not just mangoled. The plastic coverings were easy to remove with a knife and most anyone could handle them being not to big in size or to heavy. I enjoyed using this product thank you.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for AttiCat Fiberglass Expanding Blown-in Insulation System
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice Product but be carefull of worn out machine

PostedMay 14, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My wife fed the blower and I stayed in the attic. Took way longer than we expected. Years ago I worked for a company that blew in cellulose insulation, the machine was 3 times faster, the Arctic Cat blower took 6 hours to blow in 17 bags. Over 10% of the product blew out of the machine onto the ground, we had to move the machine into my box trailer so we wouldn't cover our neighbors property with insulation. Once in the trailer My wife would scoop the insulation that blew out of the machine and put it back in when the product got low enough in the machine. The Home Depot Store is over an hour away one way and we had the last machine they had to send out so we just dealt with the poor running machine. I did however like the insulation better than the cellulose insulation and was surprised at how it did not itch like normal fiberglass insulation.
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for AttiCat Fiberglass Expanding Blown-in Insulation System
from Lexington, SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Machine is heavy!

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My wife and I are glad we did this but the key think I did not see, if has been mentioned before, is the significant weight of the machine. It fit in the back of my small SUV - a Suzuki Grand Vitara - but left no space for anything else. There are also two large trash type containers for the two 50 foot pieces of hose plus I had 10 bags of insulation to get home. It was raining so I was reluctant to use my open trailer but I did on the second and last trip. 10 bags of insulation fit into the Zuki so I could have hauled this in one trip with the trailer (but the machine would have been outside and I don't think that would have been good - didn't hurt the hose).
Anyway, the worst part of the job was getting the machine up a flight of stairs into a walk-in attic space. Fortunately my wife is a good helper and we got it there. I could not have done it by myself. It is both large and heavy. They picture the machine on the outside of the house but that wouldn't work for multiple reasons for us. Even getting it into and out of the SUV is not terribly easy (but I did it alone). You need to plan on how you will deal with the weight.
Actual spraying was relatively easy. The remote did not work at first but I messed with it and it started working fine. After that, moving myself around the attic was the worst obstacle. Be careful and you can put out a lot of insulation in a day. I went to get it about 7am and we took it back around 2pm. I worked pretty hard this whole time but she only helped get it to the 2nd story and loaded the machine with insulation. I carried all the insulation upstairs and the hoses too. Two people working full time would have done it quicker.
The main thing is don't go through the ceiling. I used plywood scraps about 2 foot by 4 foot and that helped a lot. Doing it first thing before I got tired also helped. Taping the hoses together also worked well - somebody else recommended that and they are right.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Economical
Cons: Too Big, Heavy
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for AttiCat Fiberglass Expanding Blown-in Insulation System
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very easy to install

PostedMarch 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
my father-in law and I were able to install 11 bags in about / hrs. plus some prep work. Did cost 250 for the deposit for which I got back but wish I had know that before.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for AttiCat Fiberglass Expanding Blown-in Insulation System
from Alexandria, VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Not Quite as easy as the video

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We watched the demo video and decided we could save ourselves a HUGE amount of money from the professional quote we had received to insulate the attic of our townhome. We needed about 10 bags so the machine rental was free. HOWEVER, it is not exactly as seen in the video. 1)There was no remote on our hose so we had to run and yell up and down the house to start and stop the machine. 2)The machine wasn't exactly "self feeding" Each time I put a half bag in as shown in the video I had to push, rearrange, unclog the machine. I followed the directions exactly but I don't think the fluffers on the back of the machine were doing their job correctly so it was a hands on job. 3)The no mess claim is fairly innaccuarate, we had a fair amount of clean up on our steps going up to the attic as well as in the front yard where we were using the machine. Overall I would do it again, but plan for twice as long with the clogging/running/cleaning that is necessary.
Pros: Economical
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for AttiCat Fiberglass Expanding Blown-in Insulation System
from Denver, CO, USA

Great product

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
fills in perfectly. only downside is that the insulation packs down when you go up in the attic. rolls are better where you trample. Great project for late fall/early winter.
I would say the biggest downside is the size of the blower and hose.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for AttiCat Fiberglass Expanding Blown-in Insulation System

easy

PostedJune 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We needed to add a layer to get closer to recommended levels. Glad we did because the winter ended up being absolutely brutal. It is easier with 2 people because you can load bags faster.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for AttiCat Fiberglass Expanding Blown-in Insulation System
from Allentown, PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

make sure to use baffles

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The actual blowing in of the insulation was not that hard, as others have said. It was a 2 man, 4 hour job. The challenging part is installing the foam RaftRmate baffles. The previous homeowner had blown in fiberglass insulation years ago, and it was blocking the soffit vents in my attic. DO NOT spray this stuff so that it clogs your soffits! I had to install the baffles to make sure that my attic was getting the proper ventilation. That job was AWFUL, due to the low slope of my roof. It took me 2 days. It was really hard to maneuver in there to staple in the baffles. However that is not optional. A stanley power stapler helped with this job.
I wanted to top off the existing insulation, which was only 6" deep to begin with, and pressed down from time and also from all my crawling around. Before you install this yourself, consider the fact that your local power company offers huge rebates if you do their power audit, and use an approved contractor. Make sure to use proper PPE, including an N95 face mask, a tyvek or similar full body suit, leather gloves, and fog resistant goggles! I started the project off using a harbor freight generic mask, and it simply was not nearly as good as the 3M N95.
It took me 15 bags to top off my main attic and garage attic with 12" of new insulation. This job would have been easier if the HD rental machine came with the remote. It is impossible to yell down to the person running the machine. My brother was loading the machine and he felt that you really needed to push the insulation in there good. The other thing I recommend is buying a few of those yard sticks, because it's really challenging to get this stuff blown in evenly. The hardest part is making sure I didn't spray the insulation into my baffles.
If I was building a new home, I would NOT use this product. In my opinion, its proper use is for topping off existing fiberglass applications. The cellulose alternative is moisture and bug resistant, fireproof, does not sink down over time, seals far better, offers more sound deadening, and does not itch or cause health problems. Slam dunk. If you already have fiberglass, then by all means this is a good product, but please don't go putting this in an empty attic.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Light Weight
Cons: itchy, not moisture or bug resistant, no sealing properties, sinks down over time
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for AttiCat Fiberglass Expanding Blown-in Insulation System
from Poway, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Small Attic Tips

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have a 1000 sq ft attic that is at its highest 40", because of all the rafters/braces there is no way to even get to the edges/corners. We wanted around an R-30 (we already had some old R-9 insulation that we covered over), we bought 18 bags, but only used 15. It took 3 hours to blow the insulation and a couple hours before to prep.
We covered our can lights with home depot boxes (make sure to keep the flaps on one side to close the top so insulation doesn't get in). We built up around our attic opening to 10" using a 2x6 and built up 10" of cardboard around our furnace vent.
If your attic is really tight like ours I would recommend blowing insulation near the edges and corners first then down the center, this will cause you to go back and forth a couple times but well worth it. The insulation needed will be too tall to see the rafters once blown. First, I would kneel on the rafters as close to the edge as possible (really only to the braces) and blow 3 sections at a time, then stop the machine (if our remote worked this would be 100 times easier, and a 5 star review) and move to another section.
One of our biggest concerns was not blocking the vents we have in between every other rafter tail. I would recommend blowing the insulation into the non-vented cavity and that way the overflow stays away from the vents.
It was also difficult to get around venting/pipes/ducts, etc. I would recommend blowing around all the duct work second.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, High Quality, Light Weight
Cons: Noisy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+60points
79out of 98found this review helpful.
Review 15 for AttiCat Fiberglass Expanding Blown-in Insulation System
from Allegany, NY

AttiCat Insulation

PostedNovember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased 30 bags for a 1300 square foot attic that had R11 in it. I had trouble making the insulation lay flat like in the youtube video. Everytime I tried to shoot it into a low spot it would blow the insulation everywhere. I eventually got the hang of it and it went fairly well. The best idea is to shoot it straight up in the air and let if fall like snow. We pushed 30 bags through the machine in 2 hours and 20 minutes. I also installed the Owens Corning stairway insulator.
I can already feel the difference upstairs lets hope it saves me some money.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 16 for AttiCat Fiberglass Expanding Blown-in Insulation System
from Boca Raton, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Effortless!

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently closed on a home that had a rodent issue in the attic. After speaking with my inspector, and a separate exterminator, it was determined that the attic’s insulation was populated with fresh rodent feces and urine.
Unfortunately, this animal byproduct houses Hantavirus, which is pretty harmful to one’s respiratory system.
To get the attic back to normal, this required the old insulation to be removed, any rodents to be exterminated, any rodent access points to be closed, the attic be disinfected, and new insulation be installed.
I’m not going to lie; removing the old insulation was no fun. Even with the powerful insulation vac I rented, it was still an awful project.
With an airless sprayer, and a mixture of diluted chlorine, I was able to disinfect the entire attic in 40 minutes.
After completing the above tasks, it was time for some new insulation.
PROS:
-This stuff is so easy to use. I insulated my home (1400 sq ft) in 2 hours.
-The remote at the nozzle of the hose was a super nice touch, and worked well.
-The machine is easy to use, and has big wheels for easy movement.
-The two hose sections were plenty long for my house.
-The insulation shoots pretty far so you can hit hard to access areas.
-I bought 30 bags, but only needed 19. I returned the rest, and was refunded.
-I wore sleeves and pants, but didn’t notice this insulation as being itchy.
-I noticed a temperature difference almost immediately, and now my home sits around R32-R38.
CONS:
-To properly use this product, you really need two people; one on the hose, and one feeding the machine.
-You have to be a few feet away to get the insulation to lie down. If you pointed the hose close (within 12”) to the target area, it would come out with such force, that the insulation would blow out of the desired area. I used the roof and AC ducts to deflect the insulation into the desired area.
-The machine is pretty big, and would be a pain to transport if the renter didn’t have a truck.
I was happy with this product, and Home Depot made the experience very positive. If you need insulation in your home, this is easy to do, and requires minimal effort.
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 17 for AttiCat Fiberglass Expanding Blown-in Insulation System
from San Jose, CA

Quick and Simple

PostedAugust 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After having already done several home projects that included ventures into the hot cramped attic, i was not looking forward to another trip up there. But the AttiCat system made blowing insulation a breeze!!! We have an approximate 1250 sf attic and had virtually no insulation to begin with. We originally bought 20 bags of insulation but ended up only using 15 due to the great expansion of the product. It was nice being able to return the extra bags and receive the cash back. Overall the project took about 3 hours. 2 people are necessary but 3 is better. We had a runner that could communicate between the attic and the loading station, but he wasnt needed too often. Before the project, our house would easily get up to 90 degrees inside on a warm day. But recently the weather has cooled so I havent been able to get the full effect of the product on a hot day to make a comparison, but it definitely cant be any worse than what it was! I highly recommend this system to anyone! Its extremely easy to use for all D.I.Y'ers
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for AttiCat Fiberglass Expanding Blown-in Insulation System
from Monument, CO

Atticat Insulation from Owens Corning

PostedOctober 31, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This stuff is great and the system that Owens-Corning developed to install it is fantastic. Make sure you get the actual O-C Atticat machine, not the metal alternate that weighs 335 lbs. This product works great, covers as advertised and is easy to work with. My wife and I did our 940sq ft garage ceiling in 3 hours, start to clean -up. The actual insulation application took about an hour an a half. I worked the applicator in the attic and she loaded the bags, that I had already cut and split. I was amazed how well the entire system worked and we saved at least half what it would have cost to have it done. Don't hesitate, it is the way to go!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for AttiCat Fiberglass Expanding Blown-in Insulation System
from SUNNY PHOENIX , ARIZONA

MY ATTIC IS PINK!

PostedOctober 15, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought a great older block home built in 1969. The attic insulation was poor, maybe 3 inches at most. I had HORRIBLE electric bills over the summer. July $450.00...August $435.00 September $379.00. I decided enough was enough!! I bought 15 bags of the ATTTICAT insulation and got FREE use of the blower.
My very nice neighbor down the street brought a friend of his along and together they got the entire attic (which is under 1,000 square feet ) done in about 3 hours. My R value is at about R49 now give or take.
Since this was just done today, it's too soon to know how much I will save in the future, but it's got to be more than I was saving now which was ZERO. My attic looks like mounds of PINK COTTON CANDY. Since Pink is my favorite color, and I adore the PINKPANTHER....How can I go wrong?
I'm happy with the results and would encorage anyone considering this project to just do it..all you've got to lose is high energy bills...and a headache! Also. make sure you buy your supplies before the tax credit ends on December 31, 2010!!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for AttiCat Fiberglass Expanding Blown-in Insulation System

14 bags blown in

PostedJune 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had R9 insulation in my attic, with none over my two car garage. I live in Las Vegas Nevada. After blowing in 14 bags, I almost doubled the R value in the attic with putting an equal level over my garage. I buried all the A/C ducting to increase the efficiency. Within one hour of completion (2 hour job) I raised the thermostat 2 degrees to maintain an equal comfortable level in the house.
Definitely worth the investment of time and money
-2points
6out of 14found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>