728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Atticat Loose Fill Blown-In Insulation

Atticat Loose Fill Blown-In Insulation

Insulating with the AttiCat Insulation Blown-In Insulation System is engineered to make your job simple and easy. A job can usually be completed in less than 4 hours from start to finish. There's very little mess, since the product expands inside the machine and produces very little dust. The self-feeding system puts insulation where you want it - let the machine do the work for you. AttiCat Insulation maintains R-value over time and provides temperature and sound control. Performances that can help provide you with more comfort and help to lower monthly heating / cooling costs.
Overall rating:
4.722 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(108 reviews) 108
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product103 of 106reviews
Rating Breakdown 108 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(93)
4
(9)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
97%of customersrecommend this product103 of 106reviews
Customer questions and answers:
63 Questions | 177 Answers
Customer reviews for Atticat Loose Fill Blown-In Insulation
Review 1 for Atticat Loose Fill Blown-In Insulation
zonatex
from Austin TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Easy as pie

PostedNovember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'll start thanking all those of you that wrote such convincing descriptions that this could be done easily by a DIYer. I will incorporate other's advice too. You'll need a truck to transport. I bought 20 bags (1700 sq ft house for an additional 33 R) and then you need to haul the machine. One mid size suv for the machine and two accords still wasn't enough for everything. Another trip back for the remaining 5 bags. You not only have the machine, but two large trash cans of hose. I don't think a broom handle attached on the end would be nearly as effective as a 3' section of 3" pvc I duct taped on the end of the hose. I can't stress enough that that was the trick. The insulation shot out wonderfully and I could direct it perfectly. Up close, I deflected off the ceiling. Another must. A halogen light, $10-15 at HD. A long extension cord. Lights up the attic light daytime. Ideally one person to feed the machine, one person in the attic pulling back excess hose/ light extension cord and to relay info the feeder guy. Buying goods, machine "rental", two trips to HD, blowing the insulation, and return of the rental in under 4 hours. Btw, an 1850 sq ft ranch w/ the attic access on one side, the 100 ft hose was sufficient. That's it. go for it.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+61points
64out of 67found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Atticat Loose Fill Blown-In Insulation
offroaderwrangler
from Lake Orion, MI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Very easy

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This kit was extremely easy to work with. You'll need a big truck to get the machine and hoses and another truck or suv to get the bags home if you want to do it in one swoop. I shot 18 bags up into my attic which previously only had insulation to the studs. I got my attic to R60 and although it hasn't been cold enough to tell, I feel like I can notice that my upstairs temperature is closer to the downstairs. The hardest part was the prep work because the previous owner covered the soffetts and I had to do some crawling around. I put the machine outside and ran the hose through a window and up into the closet. It's so easy to spray and almost like a game. There was no dust and no hassle like cellulose and that part definitely makes it worth the extra price over cellulose. I had my father loading the bags from downstairs and he said it was very easy to load. There was almost no cleanup. He was so impressed with the machine and coverage that we did his house the next day. He's got cellulose, but it had settled so we just added 10 bags into his attic. I would do this again with no hesitation. What an easy home improvement project. I didn't use gloves and I was touching this stuff a lot. Absolutely no itching at all.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Great Value, Easy to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Atticat Loose Fill Blown-In Insulation
DataDavid
from Middleburg, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This can be done by grand parents!!!!

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First of I would like to thank all the previous posters for taking the time to relate their experiences and share the tips they have found helpful.
After doing some work in my attic I discovered the builder had not done a very good job of insulating the attic. It was a new house in 2011 and the stated R value was R30. There may have been some places that were R30 but there were also some R0 places. It wasn’t put down uniformly and there were some places that had absolutely no insulation. I decided I would put rolls of R30 down. After purchasing 9 15” x 25’ rolls of R30 I discovered I couldn’t get the rolls in place much less unwrap them and roll them out.
After reading all the comments on the Home Depot web site my wife and I decided we would try the blown in insulation. I did all the prep work prior to the day we had decided to do the work. Mainly I made sure the vents were in place and cardboard was in place to keep the insulation in the proper area (our attic has a higher level in the center and then a lower level on each end – the cardboard was to keep the insulation for the higher levels from falling down to the lower level). I also made sure the light fixtures were Insulation Contact (IC) rated. I put down fence boards in key area to walk on. I left those in place since they were extras we had from a previous house we had owned. We purchased a section of 4” PVC as someone had recommended but didn’t wind up using it. I could get everywhere I needed with just using the hose. The Tool Rental representative was extremely helpful. She said if I needed to I could purchase 10 bales one day and get a free rental and then purchase 10 more another day. We decided we only wanted to do this one time so we purchase 25 bales of insulation and decided Saturday was “the day”.
I picked up the machine this morning at 6:00 AM. At 12:30 PM we were out of insulation and I wasn’t done. We went back to Home Depot and purchased an additional 12 bales. At 3:00 PM we were returning the machine and 3 bales of insulation. All totaled we blew in 34 bales and by the insulation markers (free at Home Depot) we brought the house up to R60. We considered buying walkie-talkies but didn’t want to spend the money on something that would never be used again. We have two cordless phones and discovered we can use them as intercom so that is how we communicated. We also purchased a two-pack of the Defiant 100 lumen headlamps (I will use those again). They were great!!!
Now if anyone is hesitant or doubting whether they can do this or not consider this: I am an electric engineer with no training in the building trades. My wife is an Administrative Assistant and doesn’t have any training in the building trades. Also, I am 63 years old and my wife is 68 years old. This was much easier than I ever expected but reading the comments on the Home Depot site helped a lot as did doing the prep work ahead of time. The only reason I didn’t give a 5 star rating is the remote control didn’t work. It would have been helpful. I feel if you are going to advertise something it should be fully functional.
I think the key things that helped this project be a success was: 1) the comments on the Home Depot web site; 2) the advice from the tool rental manager and the sales personnel and the at Home Depot; 3) the headlamp; 4) doing the prep work ahead of time; 5) a team approach on the part of the machine operator and the hose operator; 6) the military discount at Home Depot.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
Cons: remote inoperative
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+13points
17out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Atticat Loose Fill Blown-In Insulation
ClanMcLeod
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy Peasy

PostedJuly 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After getting a quote for $2400 from Home Depot we decided to do it ourselves. Set up, operation and cleaning the machine was a breeze. Blowing the insulation went perfectly. Once I got used to the flow I was able to spread material smoothly. $650 to do 1600 sq. feet and that included paying a neighbor kid to feed the hopper for me. The only small issue we had was the connection between the two hoses. I would suggest duct taping the connection just to be safe. Other than that 2 hours and done! Saved us tons of money.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Economical, Reliable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+62points
66out of 70found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Atticat Loose Fill Blown-In Insulation
Phil
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So easy!

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I absolutely loved this...I bought 15 bags (rental free for 24 hours with 10 bags) for 1000sf with about 1" of existing flat and nasty existing insulation. The machine was so easy to use. Bags loaded in easily, the hose was lightweight, basically everything about it was great. The insulation ended up going further than I thought. I ended up with about 18" in most of the attic (except the center where I plan on putting plywood down). After all that I only used 9 bags! I wanted to make sure I used at least 10 and my buddy loved it so much, we shot over to his house and blew in a few bags there. I highly recommend this and wish I had done it months ago!! 9 bags x $32 = $288 CHEAP!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Economical, no dust
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+81points
84out of 87found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Atticat Loose Fill Blown-In Insulation
JulietC
from Poway, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Small Attic Tips

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have a 1000 sq ft attic that is at its highest 40", because of all the rafters/braces there is no way to even get to the edges/corners. We wanted around an R-30 (we already had some old R-9 insulation that we covered over), we bought 18 bags, but only used 15. It took 3 hours to blow the insulation and a couple hours before to prep.
We covered our can lights with home depot boxes (make sure to keep the flaps on one side to close the top so insulation doesn't get in). We built up around our attic opening to 10" using a 2x6 and built up 10" of cardboard around our furnace vent.
If your attic is really tight like ours I would recommend blowing insulation near the edges and corners first then down the center, this will cause you to go back and forth a couple times but well worth it. The insulation needed will be too tall to see the rafters once blown. First, I would kneel on the rafters as close to the edge as possible (really only to the braces) and blow 3 sections at a time, then stop the machine (if our remote worked this would be 100 times easier, and a 5 star review) and move to another section.
One of our biggest concerns was not blocking the vents we have in between every other rafter tail. I would recommend blowing the insulation into the non-vented cavity and that way the overflow stays away from the vents.
It was also difficult to get around venting/pipes/ducts, etc. I would recommend blowing around all the duct work second.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, High Quality, Light Weight
Cons: Noisy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+55points
70out of 85found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Atticat Loose Fill Blown-In Insulation
Bill
from Mississippi, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sound Proofing

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Needed to insulate a wall for sound proofing a nursery. After receiving a qoute just to sound proof room was $700-$900...No brainer. Decided to purchase 15 bales and add some insulation in the attic at the same time. Couple of hours work, noticeable reduction in sound coming through wall, and noticeable difference in thermostat. Recommended this as an easy home project to all my friends.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+49points
53out of 57found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Atticat Loose Fill Blown-In Insulation
Texasanimator
from Cedar Park, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

So easy to do!

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought 10 bags to get the blower rental for free...was totally worth it! Simple to use with two people. One stays down and feeds the hopper (cut the bags in half first) while the other stays in the attic and aims the hose. My wife actually was the middle person who helped yell when to stop and start the device. I found the remote control buttons on the hose didn't work.Probably need to check the batteries before you use it. Attic got significantly cooler as I worked up there- probably because of the new insulation! Worth it and should have done it years ago.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, Great Value
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+18points
31out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Atticat Loose Fill Blown-In Insulation
Power87
from Colorado
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Value, Easy Project, Seems to work very well.

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My attic space is between 900 and 1000 square feet and had between 4 and 6 inches of current insulation.
Bought 15 bags not knowing how much coverage I would really get or how deep.
Used all 15 bags instead of returning any and I'm now between 18-24 inches (closer to 24 inches in most areas) as I put this stuff in REALLY heavy.
I've noticed the house holds the heat gained during the day until much later in the evening before the furnance will turn on for the first time. Sometimes as late as 10-11pm without outdoor temps in the mid 30s.
I've also noticed when the furnance does run the cycle is much shorter. As it used to run for 15-20 mins, it now runs for 8-10 mins. And of course the time between it cycling is longer now by almost double.
The actual installation was simple. My neighbor was feeding the cut bales into the blower and I was blowing the insulation in. Took about 2 hours. We did my neighbor's house the next day. Similar attic size, same number of bags, and it took about 2 hours as well.
The prep work for getting the attic ready was harder than blowing in the insulation. I installed soffit baffles, sealed air leaks and covered a recessed light with a Tenmat light cover.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, High Quality, Economical
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Atticat Loose Fill Blown-In Insulation
Jamichigander
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

What A Difference Some Insulation Makes

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had gotten a quote from an insulation company with a deal on one of those deals websites, for them to do some blow in attic insulation and they quoted me $1800 to do 1000+ sq ft. After I got over the shock, I was telling one of my friends about my dilemma and he suggested buying the insulation and doing it myself. I went to Home Depot and saw the Atticat Fibreglass blow in insulation was on sale and that you get the machine for 24hrs free rental. Even though I had some issues getting the availability of the machine (do call ahead to the store you want to pick up the machine to check for availability before going to buy your insulation), once I did, I got a friend of mine to blow in 10 bags of insulation. It took him about an hour. What a difference it has made having that new insulation. My house feels 10x warmer and I'm hoping that it shows up in lower heating bills.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With
Cons: availability of equipment
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Atticat Loose Fill Blown-In Insulation
paperjam
from PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great product

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I blew 10 bags into a 900 sq ft space. My wife fed the machine, turning the machine off between bags so I'd know how much to spread and give me time for hose management. My attic is about 4 ft high at its highest so it was not an easy task. A bit like being in a snow globe. Nice and clean. Glad we did it ourselves though. More time was spent doing prep work than actual insulating - replaced two bathroom exhaust fans, added ductwork and soffit vents. Grappling with 100 ft of hose was like doing battle with Dr. Octopus. Home Depot, there has to be a better way to transport the hose than getting stuffed into a garbage can. How about a reel? The remote switch didn't work on my rental, but didn't need it. Probably just dead batteries. Uses a two AA.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Work With, High Quality
Cons: hose management is a pain
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Atticat Loose Fill Blown-In Insulation
Shawn
from Texas, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Easy

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So after getting several very high electric bills in the home we bought this year (built in 2001) I decided that I had to insulate the attic better. I had been in the attic a few times, but the day before I installed the insulation I examined the old insulation and noticed that I needed to do this more than I thought. I bought the 10 bags of insulation and had a friend help me out. It took about 1 hour total in the attic, but that was because I ended up needing 20 bags to get the R value I wanted and that was because there was very little insulation in the attic before. It was very easy installation and I did it in August (in Texas). installation was not that bad because you pretty much stand there and point the hose where you want it to go. The broom handle attached to the hose is a great tip to get into the tight spots. Anyway I have seen a decrease in my electric bill of $104-$118 a month. so it should pay off after 2 years plus I plan to file it for a tax credit so less than 2 years. Great easy dyi project. My attic is 1600 sq/ft can't remember the R level I ended up with, but it was18-20 inches in most places with some being higher than that. I could have gotten away with 17-18 bags easy. I did need a dusk mask, but it really was not that dusty and I had no issues with being itchy which was very nice. I can't imagine how anyone could quote $2400 to do this job. Save the money and diy on this one you will not be sorry.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Atticat Loose Fill Blown-In Insulation
cmsuav8r

This is so freakin easy!!!

PostedOctober 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I finally decided to insulate my attic after 1 too many days of waking up to a cold house. My house was built in 1961 and they only had 2-3 inches of blow in cellulose insulation. Needless to say, I needed to do this. After my neighbor told me he paid $1200 to have his attic insulated by a contractor, I figured I would do it myself. I have a 1000 sq. ft. attic, and after blowing in 15 bags on top of the existing 3 inches, I ended up with about 17-18 inches of coverage throughout the attic with a 2 foot wide plywood walkway running the center of the attic. It took about 90 minutes for my buddy and I to blow this in.
If you are wondering if you can do this, STOP! It is so easy. The total cost was about $530. That's almost $700 less than what my neighbor paid for. This is probably the easiest DIY project, and you can save a ton of cash! I bought the insulation from the store at 9am and needed 2 trips to get everything home in my Ridgeline. I had the machine back by 1:30pm The 2 tips I have, are to precut the insulation bags and use your hand over the spout to direct the spray. Also use the deflection off the ceiling and rafters for those hard to reach places.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight
Cons: none!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Atticat Loose Fill Blown-In Insulation
wilatazva
from Alexandria, VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Not Quite as easy as the video

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We watched the demo video and decided we could save ourselves a HUGE amount of money from the professional quote we had received to insulate the attic of our townhome. We needed about 10 bags so the machine rental was free. HOWEVER, it is not exactly as seen in the video. 1)There was no remote on our hose so we had to run and yell up and down the house to start and stop the machine. 2)The machine wasn't exactly "self feeding" Each time I put a half bag in as shown in the video I had to push, rearrange, unclog the machine. I followed the directions exactly but I don't think the fluffers on the back of the machine were doing their job correctly so it was a hands on job. 3)The no mess claim is fairly innaccuarate, we had a fair amount of clean up on our steps going up to the attic as well as in the front yard where we were using the machine. Overall I would do it again, but plan for twice as long with the clogging/running/cleaning that is necessary.
Pros: Economical
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Atticat Loose Fill Blown-In Insulation
Jeff
from Northern Michigan
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Excellent DYI Project

PostedOctober 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We just had built a new home and it came with R-40 in the attic. Living in N. Michigan I wanted to boost that to R-60. My wife and I completed 12 bags in less than 3 hours from start to finish. There was very little pre needed - running hose, setting up the machine, and tacking up the measuring stick. We watched a youtube video and then we were off. We found that doing about 4.5 sections then checking with each other was perfect. Also as others mention using a glove or the rafters to bank in tight areas works great. The machine and bundles are light enough to move around and transport. Make use you check that you have the remote before leaving the store. Excellent project and looking forward to seeing the savings! BTW - thanks to all the prior reviewer's, it really assured me this was a great product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, Great Value
+45points
45out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Atticat Loose Fill Blown-In Insulation
Outbreak
from Destin, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

I didn't want to stop!

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We got 10 bags and the free blower rental to fill in some spaces where either the builder didn't spray insulation, or the hurricanes blew it away from the sides of the house into the middle of the attic. I cut all of the insulation bags in half before heading into the attic while my wife fed the machine. It all worked great, but the one problem I had was that the remote didn't work so it then became a communication challenge. Once we got that all figured out, everything went smoothly. It was easy to get into tight spaces (sometimes I'd use my hand to cover the nozzle so it would spray further - like a garden hose) and you won't believe how much insulation you get from one bag! I want to go spray some more!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, High Quality
Cons: remote didn't work
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Atticat Loose Fill Blown-In Insulation
Mark
from Oak Park, Michigan
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Instant Difference!! Should have done this a long time ago

PostedOctober 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I should have done this years ago. If you are reading this and are hesitant like I was please sack up and save your self some money. I got a quote from a regional insulation company for $1379. I had 3 inches but wanted to get up to 18-20. I bought 20 bags and was able to get up to 18 at the lowest and 20 the majority. The atmosphere in my house had changes. The temp use to sit around 65 now its at 75 in Michigan that's a big deal. My furnace use to seem like it was running all the time night now cuts off. I'm still not use to the quiet. I wish I would have done this in the summer, I'll bet my ac wouldn't have ran 24/7 either. Do all of the stuff the other people said do 2 people ,check the remote, blah blah blah. If I had it do again I would have rented the $19 an hour truck and brought everything home in one trip. I'm not looking forward to any bills coming to me but I suspect my utilities will go down.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Economical
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Atticat Loose Fill Blown-In Insulation
Countrymom
from North Central PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Quick and Easy!

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I know nothing about insulation, but with the associates help, I bought the perfect amount of insulation, used this machine, and in 2 hours did my new-construction 24x35 foot attic. I had to do 16" for R49 as per code in north central PA, but had a furnace area, so ended up with about 18", which suits me just fine! Machine worked GREAT! My 13 year-old easily inserted the bags of insulation and now....my attic is warm, pink and fluffy! Almost makes me want to hang out up there........NOT! I highly recommend this as a DIY.....if I can do it....YOU CAN! What a difference in the heating bill. I think they should add sparkles to it. Oh yeah, I bought a tyvek suit, mask and goggles.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight, cute color!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Atticat Loose Fill Blown-In Insulation
keepenkool
from Summerville, SC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

big advantages using the Atticat over the $10 stuff!

PostedMay 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I thought I was saving money by getting the $10 products with the houses I have done in the past but I was dead wrong.
After Using the Attic cat which is a higher cost I found it is less messy, not dusty and goes three times a far. not only that, it is a better looking job and does not settle like the newspaper type.
+47points
47out of 47found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Atticat Loose Fill Blown-In Insulation
WileyCoyote
from Northern Nevada
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install and great energy savings

PostedFebruary 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My girlfriend and I installed 16 bales of Atticat insulation in our home in November 2011. It took about 2.5 hours and increased our attic from R-30 to R-60 (960 sq ft). At the same time, we had our 23 year old furnace replaced with a new 80% efficient one (couldn't justify the additional cost for the 90+% furnaces, since our home is so small). The Atticat machine worked great and this stuff doesn't itch. I was pleasantly surprised. Since then, I've received 2 months of gas bills since the installation and after compensating for temperature variations from last year, it looks like we're using 35-40% fewer therms per month than last year. I was hoping for 30%, so I'm thrilled with the results. This is a great project for the novice DIYer!
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>