728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Area Rugs or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Frise Shag Starch 5 ft. x 8 ft. Area Rug

Frise Shag Starch 5 ft. x 8 ft. Area Rug

Mohawk Home Frise Shag Beige 5 ft. x 8 ft. Area Rug features a contemporary shag design that will bring comfort and style to any space. Ideal for any indoor area, this rug is stain resistant and easy to clean. Offering convenience and class, this rug is made of a 100% Olefin material and is made in the USA.
Overall rating:
4.463 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(564 reviews) 561
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product493 of 529reviews
Rating Breakdown 564 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(373)
4
(125)
3
(36)
2
(14)
1
(16)
Appearance 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product493 of 529reviews
Customer questions and answers:
21 Questions | 48 Answers
Customer reviews for Frise Shag Starch 5 ft. x 8 ft. Area Rug
Review 1 for Frise Shag Starch 5 ft. x 8 ft. Area Rug
MomR
from Colorado, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for the job!

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this rug as a gift for my college freshman niece to use in her dorm room - just the right size, great neutral color, and a good value for the dollar. Added a warm, homey feel to what always starts out as industrial grade dorm room floors. Living in a different state ordered on line and picked up at the store by school - no problems!
Pros: Comfortable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Frise Shag Starch 5 ft. x 8 ft. Area Rug
HawnKine
from San Rafael, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This rug is a very good value and quality for what I needed!

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I read the reviews prior to purchasing this rug and was a bit hesitant due to negative reviews regarding its quality. I'm very happy to say that I'm totally satisfied with this rug and its quality! In fact, every time I walk on it, I say to myself, "I love this rug!". It feels great under my bare feet, and holds the warmth of my tiled/radiant heated floor. I don't have a pad under it. I got it to add warmth and comfort for my 14-1/2 y.o. dog who sleeps on an elevated bed in front of the rug. When she wakes up and climbs off her bed onto this rug, she happily stands there, does her downward facing dog stretch (lol) and waits for me to go out of the room. Previous to buying this rug, she just left the room and went into the dining room where there's another Home Depot rug. I feel that the quality is exactly if not a bit more worth the price. It's not a tightly woven shag that would be thicker than this one, but if it were, the price would need to be increased by a lot. I like it so much, that I'm going to buy the 2x8 runner for the hallway. I recommended this to friends.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Comfortable, Great Accent, Effective
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Frise Shag Starch 5 ft. x 8 ft. Area Rug
katie
from Parker, CO
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

great product, soft, looks nice, easy to clean

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This rug was a great find! Been looking for something similar for a while now and just came across it one night at the store for a light bulb =) it was super affordable, has been wonderful on the hardwood floor (need a rug mat) but it has been perfect!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Frise Shag Starch 5 ft. x 8 ft. Area Rug
dm1964
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

love the shag

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great look and goes well with my furniture. Very comfortable.
Pros: Comfortable, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Frise Shag Starch 5 ft. x 8 ft. Area Rug
Debbie

Not as thick

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I thought it would feel a little softer and thicker. It, also, sheds. The threads seem to pull out easy.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Frise Shag Starch 5 ft. x 8 ft. Area Rug
Nicole
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good product

PostedDecember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As other revieers have said, this rug is well worth the price. It looks decent, does not shed, and has the additional advantage of a rubber type backing.
i am very satisfied with the purchase of two sizes of this rug.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Frise Shag Starch 5 ft. x 8 ft. Area Rug
Julie
from Kirkland, WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

How did this ever get 4.5 stars?!?

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am not a picky person and often dismiss "worst thing ever" type of reviews assuming that person is just very finicky. However, when this rug arrived, I was so shocked at the terrible quality that I had to double check that I received the correct rug. The strands on this rug are literally 1 cm apart-- reminded me of the old jokes about hair plugs. I returned it immediately. Good price, yes, but not worth any of it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Frise Shag Starch 5 ft. x 8 ft. Area Rug
HappyCustomer

Great product, adds so much to our home.

PostedMarch 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This rug is pretty fantastic, we live in an apt w/ great acoustics & it really helps to buffer the noise. We got the off white/cream shag rug (does not shed) and have had a couple of spills but the rug cleans up beautifuly w/ a little soap and water, w/o absorbing to much and causing stains. Would definitley recommend this to others looking for an area rug.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Frise Shag Starch 5 ft. x 8 ft. Area Rug
asalameh
from Mars, PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Awesome rug!

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This rug was exactly what I was looking for. The ivory cream color was perfect and what a great price!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Frise Shag Starch 5 ft. x 8 ft. Area Rug
eif94

Wasn't thrilled with the rug, but service was great.

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Was hoping this "beige" was closer to an off-white, but it's definitely closer to tan. It's also much shaggier than I would have liked. I probably wouldn't have picked it out in the store, but you really can't beat the price. For now, it works just fine in my apartment.
Pros: Easy to Install, Comfortable
Cons: Difficult to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Frise Shag Starch 5 ft. x 8 ft. Area Rug
HDL2012
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Value Rug

PostedAugust 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had this rug for a year and use it on the hardwood floor in my bedroom. It is very stain resistant, super soft and looks great! This is a low traffic area but I've been very pleased with the way it has held up (still looks brand new) over the past year. The best thing about this rug is the price! After looking at 8x10 rugs everywhere with price tags around $300, this was a great buy for my first home. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice rug with good value, it definitely doesn't look like I only paid $150 for it!
Pros: Rich Looking, Excellent Quality, Sturdy, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Functional, Well Made, Comfortable, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Frise Shag Starch 5 ft. x 8 ft. Area Rug
frequentHomeDepotcustomer
Age Range:55 to 64

The backing sheds

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I agree the rug looks beautiful for the money, but the 5 x 8 I purchased had a problem: the backing kept shedding granules. I noticed it the same day I bought the rug, but even after a few days the backing kept shedding. The granules worked their way out from under the edges of the rug and got tracked to the rest of the floor. I got tired of sweeping up granules, so I returned the rug.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Frise Shag Starch 5 ft. x 8 ft. Area Rug
Happymom

Nice rug

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This rug is just what I needed for our living space to protect our 11 month old twins from falling on the hardwood floors. It is soft and easy to clean. The price is great and the free shipping was even better.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Frise Shag Starch 5 ft. x 8 ft. Area Rug
rughugger
from Philadelphia area

looks great, feels great

PostedOctober 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm writing my review from the floor by the fire because this rug just begs to be snuggled on. It's a soft short shag that feels great to the touch. I bought it because we needed a rug NOW and it was so cheap I figured there was no risk - I'd use it until I found what I really wanted. But it turns out that this rug is what I really wanted! It's not super thick, so I'd recommend a thicker non-slip pad for it. It's probably not the best choice for a high traffic area (I don't know how long it would hold up to that) but for a good looking, inviting rug to spruce up a room - go for it!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Frise Shag Starch 5 ft. x 8 ft. Area Rug
DARSPAN
from Michigan

Great looking rug, great value

PostedJuly 13, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased the rug on sale and for my basement to brighten it up a bit. For the price paid, this rug is a great deal. It's pretty soft and looks good. Just make sure you like the "shag" look (which i do!) before you purchase. You can always check it out beforehand in the store... that's what I did. Again, great value for the money. Thx.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Frise Shag Starch 5 ft. x 8 ft. Area Rug
WendyPittsburgh
from Pittsburgh, PA

Great buy and great quality

PostedNovember 2, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had been looking at comparable rugs at other stores and found this rug to be of the highest quality and best price. Home Depot's beat the competition by over 35$ and included Free Shipping as a promo when I purchased the rug. Not to mention the delivery was prompt! Since renovating our first house Home Depot has been our greatest help!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Frise Shag Starch 5 ft. x 8 ft. Area Rug
cl6809
from Atlanta, GA

Good deal - simple design and fits the bill

PostedNovember 14, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this rug because I needed something basic and clean-looking (style-wise). This rug fits the bill; it's comfortable under foot, looks nice, and the light color (Starch) and simplicity of the shag helps to brighten and soften the darker office/bedroom where I'm using it in my home.
Now granted, it's not going to be "plush", but it's not meant to be; and yes, you will feel the hard floor underneath, as you will with any area rug, which is why you can purchase an area-rug pad (note that I'm not talking about the waffle-weave kind, but an actual type of carpet pad specifically sized for area rugs). I know some have said the fibers felt a little funny at first and I experienced this, too; after a week or two of me and the dogs walking on it, that feel dissipates, as does the off-gassing/smell. If you want an area rug that's not busy with design/pattern, costs relatively very little and don't need it to be a showpiece in your home, then get this. And if you want it for a dorm room, the extra bucks are well worth buying this over some $39 cheapie remnant at most stores around town.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Frise Shag Starch 5 ft. x 8 ft. Area Rug
tll01
from Waunakee
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Area Rug

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is soft and durable. I like it because of the neutral color.
Pros: Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Frise Shag Starch 5 ft. x 8 ft. Area Rug
BarbieMom43
from Lower Alabama

Thank you prior reviews!

PostedSeptember 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read the reviews because although I wanted lighter rugs in my home, I wasn't sure if this was the one. I hated the "shag" of the 70's and like the current "freize", but I have a teenager, a middle-schooler, a baby on the way, and a boxer!
The positive reviews were accurate! This rug looks great, feels great, and what a great price! Within two days my boxer had vomited on my larger rug (I also got the 8x10). I found the first spot soon after, and it cleaned up easily. Two days later...I found a second spot (eww) but it cleaned up just as easily and left no odor or residue!
P. S. I used a professional spot remover (water based) and scolded my husband for giving our dog pork bones!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Frise Shag Starch 5 ft. x 8 ft. Area Rug
April
from Tennessee, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Exactly what I was looking for.

PostedAugust 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This rug was exactly what I had in mind. It looks great and is a fantastic value.
Pros: Rich Looking, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Well Made, Comfortable, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 29 >>