728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Area Rugs or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Frise Shag Starch 5 ft. x 8 ft. Area Rug

Frise Shag Starch 5 ft. x 8 ft. Area Rug

Mohawk Home Frise Shag Beige 5 ft. x 8 ft. Area Rug features a contemporary shag design that will bring comfort and style to any space. Ideal for any indoor area, this rug is stain resistant and easy to clean. Offering convenience and class, this rug is made of a 100% Olefin material and is made in the USA.
Overall rating:
4.6 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(55 reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product47 of 52reviews
Rating Breakdown 55 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(41)
4
(10)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Appearance 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product47 of 52reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for Frise Shag Starch 5 ft. x 8 ft. Area Rug
Review 1 for Frise Shag Starch 5 ft. x 8 ft. Area Rug
from Colorado, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for the job!

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this rug as a gift for my college freshman niece to use in her dorm room - just the right size, great neutral color, and a good value for the dollar. Added a warm, homey feel to what always starts out as industrial grade dorm room floors. Living in a different state ordered on line and picked up at the store by school - no problems!
Pros: Comfortable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Frise Shag Starch 5 ft. x 8 ft. Area Rug
from Willowbrook
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Frise Shag Rug is Great!

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This rug is perfect - especially for the price! I needed it for a spare bedroom to add a little coziness and warmth to the room and it is perfect. The rug is soft and vacuums well. It doesn't shed or leave fibers anywhere like other rugs I have purchased. Nice, simple, and lightweight. What more could you ask for.
Pros: Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Comfortable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Frise Shag Starch 5 ft. x 8 ft. Area Rug

Lovely comfy durable

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Well worth the price!! Soft feel,easy to clean, and really brightens up the room. Recommend slip tape on bottom.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Frise Shag Starch 5 ft. x 8 ft. Area Rug
from Lakeville,mn
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very nice! Great value!

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The rug is a great value. It looks nice and it feels very comfortable on your feet!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Frise Shag Starch 5 ft. x 8 ft. Area Rug
from Indiana

This is the nicest rug I could find for my small budget!

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I looked online for a long time for a nice area rug that could lighten up my living room and that my baby could roll around on. Most rugs similar to this were selling for $100-300. This one looks nice, is soft enough, and would work well in most any space! It's not super soft, but it isn't scratchy or rough either. It's a great shag rug, especially for the price. It was deliver to my front door 3 days after ordering. So easy!
Pros: Comfortable, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Frise Shag Starch 5 ft. x 8 ft. Area Rug
from San Rafael, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This rug is a very good value and quality for what I needed!

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I read the reviews prior to purchasing this rug and was a bit hesitant due to negative reviews regarding its quality. I'm very happy to say that I'm totally satisfied with this rug and its quality! In fact, every time I walk on it, I say to myself, "I love this rug!". It feels great under my bare feet, and holds the warmth of my tiled/radiant heated floor. I don't have a pad under it. I got it to add warmth and comfort for my 14-1/2 y.o. dog who sleeps on an elevated bed in front of the rug. When she wakes up and climbs off her bed onto this rug, she happily stands there, does her downward facing dog stretch (lol) and waits for me to go out of the room. Previous to buying this rug, she just left the room and went into the dining room where there's another Home Depot rug. I feel that the quality is exactly if not a bit more worth the price. It's not a tightly woven shag that would be thicker than this one, but if it were, the price would need to be increased by a lot. I like it so much, that I'm going to buy the 2x8 runner for the hallway. I recommended this to friends.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Comfortable, Great Accent, Effective
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Frise Shag Starch 5 ft. x 8 ft. Area Rug
from Long Beach, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Really nice looking rug

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We got this rug for our teenage daughters room. It's seems well made. It's looked just like the picture. She loves doing her homework on the floor now.
Pros: Comfortable, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Frise Shag Starch 5 ft. x 8 ft. Area Rug
from Roanoke, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for the money

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Looks great in my space. Very nice area rug and at such a low price. Very pleased with my purchase.
Pros: Comfortable, Great Accent, Easy to Install, Modern
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Frise Shag Starch 5 ft. x 8 ft. Area Rug

Great product, adds so much to our home.

PostedMarch 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This rug is pretty fantastic, we live in an apt w/ great acoustics & it really helps to buffer the noise. We got the off white/cream shag rug (does not shed) and have had a couple of spills but the rug cleans up beautifuly w/ a little soap and water, w/o absorbing to much and causing stains. Would definitley recommend this to others looking for an area rug.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Frise Shag Starch 5 ft. x 8 ft. Area Rug

Wasn't thrilled with the rug, but service was great.

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Was hoping this "beige" was closer to an off-white, but it's definitely closer to tan. It's also much shaggier than I would have liked. I probably wouldn't have picked it out in the store, but you really can't beat the price. For now, it works just fine in my apartment.
Pros: Easy to Install, Comfortable
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Frise Shag Starch 5 ft. x 8 ft. Area Rug
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Value Rug

PostedAugust 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had this rug for a year and use it on the hardwood floor in my bedroom. It is very stain resistant, super soft and looks great! This is a low traffic area but I've been very pleased with the way it has held up (still looks brand new) over the past year. The best thing about this rug is the price! After looking at 8x10 rugs everywhere with price tags around $300, this was a great buy for my first home. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice rug with good value, it definitely doesn't look like I only paid $150 for it!
Pros: Rich Looking, Excellent Quality, Sturdy, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Functional, Well Made, Comfortable, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Frise Shag Starch 5 ft. x 8 ft. Area Rug
from Parker, CO
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

great product, soft, looks nice, easy to clean

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This rug was a great find! Been looking for something similar for a while now and just came across it one night at the store for a light bulb =) it was super affordable, has been wonderful on the hardwood floor (need a rug mat) but it has been perfect!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Frise Shag Starch 5 ft. x 8 ft. Area Rug
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

love the shag

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great look and goes well with my furniture. Very comfortable.
Pros: Comfortable, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Frise Shag Starch 5 ft. x 8 ft. Area Rug
Age Range:55 to 64

The backing sheds

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I agree the rug looks beautiful for the money, but the 5 x 8 I purchased had a problem: the backing kept shedding granules. I noticed it the same day I bought the rug, but even after a few days the backing kept shedding. The granules worked their way out from under the edges of the rug and got tracked to the rest of the floor. I got tired of sweeping up granules, so I returned the rug.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Frise Shag Starch 5 ft. x 8 ft. Area Rug

Not as thick

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I thought it would feel a little softer and thicker. It, also, sheds. The threads seem to pull out easy.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Frise Shag Starch 5 ft. x 8 ft. Area Rug
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good product

PostedDecember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As other revieers have said, this rug is well worth the price. It looks decent, does not shed, and has the additional advantage of a rubber type backing.
i am very satisfied with the purchase of two sizes of this rug.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Frise Shag Starch 5 ft. x 8 ft. Area Rug
from Kirkland, WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

How did this ever get 4.5 stars?!?

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am not a picky person and often dismiss "worst thing ever" type of reviews assuming that person is just very finicky. However, when this rug arrived, I was so shocked at the terrible quality that I had to double check that I received the correct rug. The strands on this rug are literally 1 cm apart-- reminded me of the old jokes about hair plugs. I returned it immediately. Good price, yes, but not worth any of it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Frise Shag Starch 5 ft. x 8 ft. Area Rug
from Philadelphia area

looks great, feels great

PostedOctober 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm writing my review from the floor by the fire because this rug just begs to be snuggled on. It's a soft short shag that feels great to the touch. I bought it because we needed a rug NOW and it was so cheap I figured there was no risk - I'd use it until I found what I really wanted. But it turns out that this rug is what I really wanted! It's not super thick, so I'd recommend a thicker non-slip pad for it. It's probably not the best choice for a high traffic area (I don't know how long it would hold up to that) but for a good looking, inviting rug to spruce up a room - go for it!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Frise Shag Starch 5 ft. x 8 ft. Area Rug

Nice rug

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This rug is just what I needed for our living space to protect our 11 month old twins from falling on the hardwood floors. It is soft and easy to clean. The price is great and the free shipping was even better.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Frise Shag Starch 5 ft. x 8 ft. Area Rug
from Mars, PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Awesome rug!

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This rug was exactly what I was looking for. The ivory cream color was perfect and what a great price!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>