728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Water Filters & Cartridges or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Shower Water Filtration Replacement Filter

Shower Water Filtration Replacement Filter

The GE Shower Water Filtration Replacement Filter is designed to replace your GE Shower Filter. With a 10,000-gallon filter life per filter, this filter reduces rust, sediment and the effects of chlorine on skin and hair.
Overall rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product20 of 20reviews
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
4.8 out of 5
5
(15)
4
(5)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product20 of 20reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for Shower Water Filtration Replacement Filter
Review 1 for Shower Water Filtration Replacement Filter
from DAVIE FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great product not stocked in store

PostedJune 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
I have used this GE shower water filter for several years...what I ordered was the replacement filter usually obtainable at my HD in Davie. Filter is replaced every 6 months. After much hunting neither product was found in store and it didn't appear to be reordered for future in computer...what a pain...Customer service assisted with an online order...had to order 3 filters t $9 ea. to obtain free shipping.......this product should be available ...it is well priced and dependable!
Pros: Portable, Easy to Use, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Durable
Cons: unavailable when needed
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shower Water Filtration Replacement Filter
from north central Arkansas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

cost effective & efficent

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
compared to other brands this model has been fine. I change my filter every 6 mos. or so. The guest shower less often. replacement parts are a bit difficult to find and range in price. HD was as good if not better than many retailers but must be purchased on-line. Seems my local store does not stock this item.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: difficult to find filters
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shower Water Filtration Replacement Filter

ge shower water filter

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Great product, wife was having a problem with itching, since installing filter no more problems. Only problem now trying to buy replacement filters in store. none of my local H/Depots carry it any longer. Can only order online now.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shower Water Filtration Replacement Filter
from Sunderland, MA (Connecticut River Bank)

Good for regular Filtration

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this item to solve an issue of rotten egg smell in the water of our rented apartment. The smell is due to H2S produced by sulfur-reducing bacteria. The increase or decrease of water flow in the river that runs in front of our house correlated directly with the increase or decrease of H2O smell. Even though an oxidation filter is required for H2O containing water, I gave this filter a try. II was surprised the product worked great! The smell was gone and the water felt "soft". Later on the smell returned, but changing the filter took care of it. I guess if it worked well for me it should work incredibly well for someone who does not have metal-reducing bacteria in their water.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shower Water Filtration Replacement Filter
from philadelphia.pa
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

shower water filter

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
good product. good to use and i like it. will buy i
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shower Water Filtration Replacement Filter
from Traverse City, MI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Shower water filter replacement filter

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This product is easy to use. Once the filter is attached to the shower, it's easy to change the filter when it runs out. Very good product for cleansing the city water we have before it touches our tender bodies.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shower Water Filtration Replacement Filter
from Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Shower filter replacemet cartridge

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Produck easily screws onto shower faucet pipe & really makes a difference w/ hard water...Florida. Lasts about 6 months & just replace the cartridge
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Nice Design, Light Weight
Cons: none really
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shower Water Filtration Replacement Filter

Replacement filter okay, filtration unit not so much

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The filter seems to work very well, once you get it inside the filter enclosure. The problem may be the filter unit itself, which attaches to the shower inlet pipe; it is rather flimsy (plastic) and I have had to repair it a couple of times. I couldn't find the filter unit or filter replacements in the store last time, so maybe the filter itself is discontinued.
Pros: Nice Design, Light Weight
Cons: Difficult to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shower Water Filtration Replacement Filter

Finally Some Relief

PostedNovember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our skin was starting to develop severe problems. We're now bathing/showering in water again instead of a chemical bath. Highly recommend. The price is very small compared to dermatologist visits and medications..
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shower Water Filtration Replacement Filter
from Gainesville, Georgia

FXSCH Filter Cartridge

PostedNovember 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Two years ago we moved to our current home where we discovered the city water was very highly chlorinated. We bought a GE smart water shower filter and much to our surprise, it eliminated almost 100% of any noticeable chlorine. The mfg'r suggests a cartridge change ever 6 months. I've been known to forget for almost a year with no problem. It still worked fine. A real value in my opinion. The cartridge is about half the cost of a complete new filter and very easy to change.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shower Water Filtration Replacement Filter

No more pink!

PostedAugust 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this filter after my new hairdresser wondered why the strange strawberry highlights from my previous hairdresser weren't growing out. I mentioned that I had a pinky-orange build-up in the tub and she suggested a water filter. My water tested within normal range for everything but after installing this filter, I have no more pink-orange film in the tub and my highlights are blonde again! Filter is easy to install as are the replacement filters.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shower Water Filtration Replacement Filter
from Tucson, AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good results but not very durable.

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
One can really feel the difference on hair and skin between with and without the filter. Just wish that the unit was more durable.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient
Cons: unit breaks easily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Shower Water Filtration Replacement Filter
from Carmichael, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Removes chlorine

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is my 5th replacement shower filter. The water in my area is very hard, full of lime and calcium and heavily chlorinated. I noticed a profound difference the first time I used it. I'm a very hairy guy and showering with chlorinated water is very uncomfortable. I couldn't be happier. I just wish they had one for the bathtub faucet!
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Shower Water Filtration Replacement Filter

Works great, easy to replace!

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The product works well to eliminate the strong chlorine odor in shower water. This helps reduce skin and lung irritation. It is easy to install and lasts about 4-6 months before you need to replace it again. It is worth keeping an extra one of these under your sink to make it easy to replace. Just write the replacement date on the box to remind you to replace the filter in the shower.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shower Water Filtration Replacement Filter

Works OK

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Feels like it makes my hair and skin softer and I use less lotion.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Shower Water Filtration Replacement Filter

Good shower filter

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Simple, affordable, easy to install. Our shower has a lot more pressure than before. We definitely needed to replace it. One more time, GE didn't dissapoint us.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Shower Water Filtration Replacement Filter
from Lynnfield, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The price is right!

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great deal on a shower filter that does a great job and is under $10.00 which is very affordable. And last a good long time too!
Pros: Convenient, Takes Less Space, Light Weight, great price!, affordable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Shower Water Filtration Replacement Filter
from Bushkill, PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GE Shower Filter

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This shower filter works perfectly to remove any chlorine or any other bad chemicals found in your shower water.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Shower Water Filtration Replacement Filter

Online filter - shower

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Can't really tell when it's no longer effective but try to swap it every 6 mths like other water filters
Seems to decrease hard water residue
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Takes Less Space
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Shower Water Filtration Replacement Filter
from Rochester, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It works great

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I can tell when the old filter is worn, a new one really helps.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.