728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Concrete, Basement & Garage Floor Paint or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1-gal. Premium Clear Coating

1-gal. Premium Clear Coating

Add a high-gloss, protective finish to coated and bare concrete surfaces with the Rust-Oleum EPOXYShield 1-gal. Premium Clear Coating. The 2-part, solvent-based epoxy provides resistance to wear, impacts, abrasion, chemicals, stains and heavy foot and vehicle traffic to help ensure that the coating retains its showroom-quality finish over time. Strongly adheres to concrete surfaces to provide excellent durability.
Overall rating:
4.071 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
77%of customersrecommend this product10 of 13reviews
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(2)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
77%of customersrecommend this product10 of 13reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for 1-gal. Premium Clear Coating
Review 1 for 1-gal. Premium Clear Coating
from South Carolina
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product, just make sure you have excellent lighting

PostedApril 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The clear coat really makes an epoxied floor go from good to great! This looks really good, just make sure you have a very well lit area, as it is tough to see the product on the floor. I ended up using a flashlight as I was putting it down to see where the product was/wasn't. I had a friend keep stirring the pot to keep the anti-skid from settling and it really helped. I used 2 coats of EpoxyShield Professional epoxy (purchased online from another vender, as the product sold at Home Depot is a water-based epoxy vs the professional line is a solvent based epoxy) before this. My garage is 570 square feet, an extra large 2 car garage, this didn't have enough I really need 1 and a 1/4 of a kit to do the floor. I ended up using 1.5 kits of base on the first coat and another kit on the 2nd coat. My recommendation for the epoxy floor is 2 coats of base color and 1 coat of clear. My first coat of base color looked really blotchy, as it absorbed into the concrete at different levels. The second coat made the floor really look good, with a very even color and gloss. The clear coat made it look simply amazing. This is highly recommended just make sure you have good lighting and a friend to help stir and paint the edges of the garage.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1-gal. Premium Clear Coating
from Lakewood, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product works great in our YMCA facility, we use it in our weight room, maintenance office and group cycle room. It looks clean, is reasonable durable and easy to maintain. It does chip with repeeated weights dropping on it, but touch ups and recoating is easy.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Good Protection, Looks Great, Easy to Clean
Cons: Scratches Easily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1-gal. Premium Clear Coating
from Wisconsin

Epoxy shield

PostedOctober 3, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I painted my cement floor and put this over it and it looks GREAT! Crystal clear coating, no yellowing, extremely durable. Only drawback were the overwhelming fumes while applying it, and waiting for it to cure. Need to apply in very warm enviroment to keep air bubbles from forming.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1-gal. Premium Clear Coating
from East Lyme, CT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Loved this product

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i would recommend to anyone who ask's easy to use however you need to offer finer grit and more colors for the aggregate.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1-gal. Premium Clear Coating
from OUR23

great product

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I applied 967sf of base product and it came out fine,when i applied the clear coat i ended up with flat spots,i called rust-oleum customer service and they thought i might had rolled it too thin. They went above and beyond expected and refunded me for 1 new gallon of clear to fix the flat spots.....Thank You Rust-oleum That is customer Service I only wish all companies were like that.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1-gal. Premium Clear Coating
from San Diego, CA

EpoxyShield clear coat

PostedJanuary 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This stuff is great, it makes the floor look like it's wet all the time... very glossy. It's also very good at hiding the imperfections from the EpoxyShield floor coating. After my gray floor coating dried, there were some areas that had a white cloudy residue (not sure why), and it wouldn't come off. I also had to do my garage one half at a time because I've got too much stuff in there to do it all at once. So there was a noticeable line between coats. Anyway the clear coat pretty much took care of all these problems and now it looks virtually flawless. If you've already spent the time and money to epoxy the floor, spend the extra 100 bucks and clear coat it. Trust me, you'll thank yourself later.
Oh and all the other reviews about the smell are correct, it really stinks. But it was still relatively painless to apply (easier than the floor coating). Also, don't get this stuff on your hands, very tough to get off!
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1-gal. Premium Clear Coating
from Texas, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks great, easy to apply

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Application was easy with a roller. You have to get a good look to make sure you overlap and don't miss a spot, but it's fairly easy in good lighting. I gave it four days to dry and it looks outstanding.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1-gal. Premium Clear Coating
from Saratoga Springs
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product... apply on easily within 90 mins

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
had coated the floor with the epoxy shield and one common mistake many folks make.. ithey did not add the clearcoat... and this missing layer .. might be the cause of the peeling etc..
mix the 2 tins... activator / base and had my roller and halogen spotlight ready..... i skipped using the paint tray... and pour the mixed compound on the floor direct and spread it with the roller... this gave it a more uniform coat... of course.. once you add in the antiskid... stir stir stir.... everytime i poured a small portion on the floor ... had some left over and i spread it over the section where heavy foot traffic is apparent... example the side exit doorway of the garage...
am letting the garage cure for at least a week... before i move my stuff in... and another 2 weeks.. before i drive my vehicles in the garage...
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1-gal. Premium Clear Coating
from PA

Clear Coat

PostedJanuary 19, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used the epoxy to do my basement floor in the utility and workshop areas. The epoxy looks much better and besides the strong smell was fairly easy and pain free. Look great as a finished product. I decided to use the clear coat for durability since I only used 1 coat of epoxy and to help level the floor since my concrete was very rough. The clear coat is very smooth, not like the epoxy finish at all. It dries with a wet looking finish and makes the floor very smooth. I read that some people have a problem with this clear coat when it gets wet and I would believe it. I used the grit mix that came in the package and you can't see the grit that much, but it is still very shiny and smooth. So again the smell is an issue with this product, not as bad as the regular epoxy (the smell was gone by the next day where with the base coat of epoxy the smell lingered for the better part of the week) but the clear coat looks much more professional and smoothed out the small imperfections from the epoxy.
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1-gal. Premium Clear Coating
from Corvallis, Oregon

Looks Great, Kind Of Slippery

PostedNovember 7, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I added Premium Clear Coat over Rustoleum Epoxyshield gray garage floor. It looks beautiful! It added a mirror-finish to the (slightly less than) semi-gloss appearance of the epoxyshield. I used 3/4 package of the included traction granules. Probably not quite enough. The floor is definitely somewhat slippery when wet. I should have used the entire package.
** Here's an installation tip... stir frequently during installation. The traction granules settle out quickly. By frequently I mean every time you're dipping the roller into the paint tray, stir up the granules in the paint tray first. Also, every time you're adding from the can to the paint tray, stir aggressively before pouring. Believe me, stirring both ways are necessary if you want even traction across the entire area. I did not stir frequently enough (in the paint tray) and ended up with acceptable traction in some areas and poor traction in others. Good luck and enjoy!
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1-gal. Premium Clear Coating
from Meridianville, AL

Word of Caution

PostedOctober 27, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I purchased 3 kits of this, and found out after the fact that it's not intended for use in area's that are subject to direct sunlight due to yellowing and fading. This fact IS NOT mentioned anywhere in the advertisement, and is only noted on the instruction sheet. Not sure if I'll even use it now because when my garage doors are up I do have some portion of the floor exposed to sunlight. Would have been nice to know before I placed my order and spent $300!
+1point
11out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1-gal. Premium Clear Coating
from Jonesboro, AR

Decent product, a bit too pricey

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought one kit of this to top coat over the Epoxy Shield professional floor coating. It states that it will cover up to 500 sq ft if your floor already has coating applied. I ran out before I was finished on my 400 sq ft garage. For $100 a pop it should be enough to do every bit of 500 sq. ft and then some.
0points
6out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1-gal. Premium Clear Coating
from Venice, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Clear coat turned Yellow in 2 months

PostedSeptember 14, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have use the epoxy floor paint on three different houses with good results. I decided to apply a coat of the clear coat on my new garage it looked great for the first 60 days then turned yellow. I called Rust-Oleum to explain what happen and there response we don't recommend using the either product outside the garage doors. The floor would look unfinished after painting the entire floor and not cover the last 12 inches. At the price they charge per gallon and the yellowing in 2 months I would skip the clear coat.
Cons: product yellow quickly
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1-gal. Premium Clear Coating
from new york
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

only lasts in areas that you do not drive on

PostedAugust 2, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Paint flaked up in numerous spots even in spots where my tires were not touching it, called company and they sent out a new quart for touch up but the same spots still wore off quickly. Not worth a couple hundred dollars that I paid. Now I am stuck with constantly scrapping it up when it gets flaky. My floor looks terrible now, half painted, big blotches where the concrete is coming through.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy to Use
Cons: flakes off...
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.