728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Watering & Irrigation or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel

100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel

The Suncast Corporation Hose Hideaway Hose Reel holds up to 100 ft. of standard 5/8 in. hose. The compact and portable hose-storage unit features an easy-to-operate manual crank. Best to wind hose back in with lid lifted so that you can manually guide hose onto the hose reel. Item is fully assembled and is ready to use the minute you get home. We have included a leader hose with this unit. Durable resin construction is low maintenance and easy to clean.
Overall rating:
2.838 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(173 reviews) 173
Open Ratings Snapshot
49%of customersrecommend this product81 of 167reviews
Rating Breakdown 173 reviews
2.8 out of 5
5
(38)
4
(35)
3
(20)
2
(21)
1
(59)
Quality 
2.8 out of 5
2.8 out of 5
Value 
3.2 out of 5
3.2 out of 5
49%of customersrecommend this product81 of 167reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer reviews for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
Review 1 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Jasper, IN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Be reasonable: this isn't a high quality reel, but not bad for the price.

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Bought this reel this morning at my local HD after searching online for reels that I really wanted, but didn't really want to PAY FOR! Spent twenty bucks for the reel and another three bucks for four galvanized twelve inch x 3/8" spikes. I used four 3/8" zinc washers from home and the spikes to anchor the reel firmly to the ground. (Drive them in at a slight angle for better holding power.) It does come with spikes, but they're shorter, flimsier, (word?) and I'll use them on something else. I bought a 90' "Farm Hose" with a lifetime guarantee (we'll see) from Rural King for about $20 and used that in the reel. I used another farm hose I already had for the leader, because my faucet wasn't that close to where I wanted the reel. I'll use the shorty leader hose that came with the reel for something else. NBD. When reeling up the hose, you need to have one hand on the handle and the other guiding the hose. It needs to be rolled up fairly neatly to fit the 90' by 5/8" hose on the reel. THIS IS NOT AN IDIOT -PROOF REEL!!! You have to have some common sense. And since you anchored the reel properly, you will have that other hand free to guide the hose. I've owned at lease 10 different types of hose reels and even the ones with "hose guides" that are SUPPOSED to layer the hose on the reel perfectly, don't. But then again, I've never paid more than $200 for a hose reel. As far as lifespan goes, if I can make this last for a calendar year, that's probably pretty good. It will probably require a new O-ring after a while...NBD. Once something major breaks, I'll buy another one for $20, use the same spikes I had for this one and be good for another year or two.
Pros: good value for $$$
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product doesn't work!!

PostedApril 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It came as a square bucket with the hose reel inside and four stakes to allegedly hold it in place. They aren't adequate and the whole thing bounces around when you try to pull hose out or reel it in. Also the cover pops off, and without it the hose won't reel in on track. Honestly, this was a total waste of my money.
Cons: doesn't handle hose functionally
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+29points
34out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Minneapolis

Good low cost option

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product was just what I needed for 50 feet of hose so that it doesn't kink, and to make storing a hose outside easier and more attractive. I haven't tried, but I'm sure getting 100 feet of hose to fit would be very tight. The included stakes should be put all the way into the ground, otherwise this won't work at all, because the product is so light. Also the attachment hose could have been longer. You'll need to install this very close to your faucet. Again, good product, does what it says it does, just no great features.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from NW Suburban Chicago
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I should know better

PostedAugust 26, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is not my first rodeo. I should have known better, but I really wanted a hose reel that would be very convenient. This isn't it and I'm probably looking for something that doesn't exist.
1. It does not hold 100 ft of hose. It had trouble with 50ft.
2. It does not stay stationary on the ground when you try to wind up the hose. It is very light and it moves around as you try to reel in the hose. They include some stakes to hold it in place, but they are ineffective.
3. Like most of this type of reel it is difficult to securely attach the hose to the inner reel and it leaks profusely.
4. On the plus side it seemed to be made of fairly tough plastic and never broke.
After 1 year I got tired of struggling to wind/unwind the hose and consigned it to the recycling bin. I got an old style hose rack and mounted it a little high so that I could wrap the hose on it with a minimum number of turns.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Difficult to Use, Leaks, doesn't hold 50ft hose.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Arnold, MD
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Second one

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Other reviews mentioned need for anchoring. I merely put a foot on each side. This is my second one. Great value. Our community rules prohibit loose hoses.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel

lightweight, and as such, not fantastic

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It's super-light. The instructions do say that you should use spikes to anchor it into the ground, but in my case, I can't do that, because my hose location is over concrete. Because of that, this thing is very hard to keep still, and hard to operate by one person. It's alright, but not a great unit. A more expensive, weightier version would be better.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Atascadero, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product for the Money

PostedApril 15, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I wanted something to make the yard look cleaner. This works perfect. I know it will not last for years and years, but I'm accomplishing my goal.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is difficult to unroll. ..

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It does not roll out smooth. And when I bought it, it was difficult to roll up. So it's just sitting there helpless.
Pros: Good Shape
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel

Not what I expected

PostedMay 18, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this product for a new 100' hose. Unfortunately the hose needs to be wound perfectly in order for it to all fit in. Going to return it as I can only fit 60' into the unit without sitting there and perfectly winding it up. Would recommend hose reel that hold 20% more than what you want.
Cons: Not Durable
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Can't hold it still while rewinding the hose

PostedJuly 5, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
There is no way to hold this still while rewinding the hose, so it moves around and the hose tangles. It also falls over when pulling the hose out. Designed for cheapness and you get what you pay. I'm throwing mine away because I have used it for four weeks now. I'll buy one with a bigger base and a foot rest to hold it down. I wonder if the engineers who designed this ever tried to use it?
Cons: Not Durable, not stable while rewinding or unwinding hose, hose tangles and jams
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works great, if ...

PostedAugust 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I would agree with all the bad reviews here, but for one thing:
I drilled 4 holes in a heavy 16" paver and bolted the hose reel to it before I ever even used it. The weight of the paver is more than enough to steady the whole thing, and you can work the reel easily with just one hand on the crank. And you can still move it around and position it anywhere you like. Total cost was about 6 bucks.
This actually works much better than any of the more expensive models I have had. Embed the paver in the ground and it will never move. This hose reel was clearly designed to be secured somehow, and anyone who complains about it without doing that is using it wrong.
Regardless of what you pay for a hose reel, they all seem to have the same plastic parts inside, and they all fail the same way in the same time, and can't be repaired. At least when that happens with this, it will be cheap to replace. The paver is of course re-useable.
You'll need a masonry bit to drill the holes, and a hammer drill will do it much faster. You could also screw it to a wooden deck, or use lead concrete anchors and screws instead of bolts.
I have 3 of these rigged this way, and they work great.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Stylish
 
Products related to my review
 
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel

Note even worth the cheap price

PostedMay 1, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Started breaking when i bought it. Handle broke. After only a year in the Texas weather, it literally broke apart- became very brittle. It reminded me to get a new one today when it completely broke apart under the weight on only a few brick on top of it.
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Landisville,Pa 17538
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is the perfect Hose Reel for our use.

PostedJune 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
There was no problem setting up this Hose Reel, just follow the directions and it's set up.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Will it last?

PostedApril 15, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
When I purchased the Hose Reel I expected it to be more sturdy. I am not sure if it will stand up under constant use. It is satisfactory and the price was right.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Torrance, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Not Bad!

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Not bad for this price. Our main reason was to hide hose for better look at entrance area. Actually I like this size. Small but still big enought to put hose inside. Those who mentioned about quality, what kind of quality you are lookiing for with this price? If quality is the issue, spend more.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Shape, price
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Tennessee

ARRGH!

PostedMay 31, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Sure hope they'll take this back. I spent a weekend wrestling my hose and this pain in the caboose reel. And feel like I've been wrestling alligators.
It leaked (but only after I "reeled" some of the hose on it).
"Reeling" is a joke. You must reel with one hand, guide the hose with the other hand, hold the entire thing down with a muddy foot (from the leaking), and use whatever is left to keep the lid down.
This was a bit of a waste of my time, money and bird poo. Most of them contained birds' nests and bird waste from being stored outside.
If you're thinking about this product... move along!
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel

Too much hassle

PostedJuly 30, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
What looks like a great idea doesn't pan out. It's so light that there is not enough weight to hold it down while you are reeling in the hose. There is no footrest to hold it down, either. If they had provided that, it might have been better. It also can hold only a 50' hose standard green garden hose with less trouble. A more heavy-duty hose will cause problems. And, a 75' hose has too much bulk, meaning more hassle in reeling.
Don't waste your money.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel

Extremely poor design

PostedMay 29, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Due to the poor design of this product, unless you anchor it to your deck or driveway, the wieght of the hose knocks the entire reel all over the place.
Cons: poorly designed
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel

waste of money, doesn't work

PostedMay 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
it's cheap, but considering you'd be throwing it away in 2 month or so, it's quite expensive for what it is.
It's quite hard to roll the hose inside the hideaway reel, as quite often the hose gets tangled and become stuck, it's never easy to either take the hose out or try to store the hose.
We throw ours away in 2 month. Find a wall mount hose hangout, it's cheap and works way better.
Cons: Not Durable, does not work
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Reedsburg, WI 53959, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cheap!

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was inexpensive and the quality shows. The foot hole is too small to use your shoed foot to stabilize the bin while you wind the hose up. The entire bin moves when winding and the lid falls on your head when winding. You need to leave lid open and direct the hose as it doesn't self regulate when you wind it up. The hose that comes with the bin is too short to reach my spigots. Overall poor product.
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>