728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Watering & Irrigation or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel

100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel

The Suncast Corporation Hose Hideaway Hose Reel holds up to 100 ft. of standard 5/8 in. hose. The compact and portable hose-storage unit features an easy-to-operate manual crank. Best to wind hose back in with lid lifted so that you can manually guide hose onto the hose reel. Item is fully assembled and is ready to use the minute you get home. We have included a leader hose with this unit. Durable resin construction is low maintenance and easy to clean. Made in the U.S.A.
Overall rating:
2.642 / 5
2.6
 / 
5
(123 reviews) 123
Open Ratings Snapshot
42%of customersrecommend this product49 of 118reviews
Rating Breakdown 123 reviews
2.6 out of 5.0
5
(23)
4
(23)
3
(12)
2
(17)
1
(48)
Quality 
2.6 out of 5.0
2.6 out of 5
Value 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
42%of customersrecommend this product49 of 118reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer reviews for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
Review 1 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel

Not what I expected

PostedMay 18, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this product for a new 100' hose. Unfortunately the hose needs to be wound perfectly in order for it to all fit in. Going to return it as I can only fit 60' into the unit without sitting there and perfectly winding it up. Would recommend hose reel that hold 20% more than what you want.
Cons: Not Durable
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Jasper, IN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Be reasonable: this isn't a high quality reel, but not bad for the price.

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this reel this morning at my local HD after searching online for reels that I really wanted, but didn't really want to PAY FOR! Spent twenty bucks for the reel and another three bucks for four galvanized twelve inch x 3/8" spikes. I used four 3/8" zinc washers from home and the spikes to anchor the reel firmly to the ground. (Drive them in at a slight angle for better holding power.) It does come with spikes, but they're shorter, flimsier, (word?) and I'll use them on something else. I bought a 90' "Farm Hose" with a lifetime guarantee (we'll see) from Rural King for about $20 and used that in the reel. I used another farm hose I already had for the leader, because my faucet wasn't that close to where I wanted the reel. I'll use the shorty leader hose that came with the reel for something else. NBD. When reeling up the hose, you need to have one hand on the handle and the other guiding the hose. It needs to be rolled up fairly neatly to fit the 90' by 5/8" hose on the reel. THIS IS NOT AN IDIOT -PROOF REEL!!! You have to have some common sense. And since you anchored the reel properly, you will have that other hand free to guide the hose. I've owned at lease 10 different types of hose reels and even the ones with "hose guides" that are SUPPOSED to layer the hose on the reel perfectly, don't. But then again, I've never paid more than $200 for a hose reel. As far as lifespan goes, if I can make this last for a calendar year, that's probably pretty good. It will probably require a new O-ring after a while...NBD. Once something major breaks, I'll buy another one for $20, use the same spikes I had for this one and be good for another year or two.
Pros: good value for $$$
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is difficult to unroll. ..

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It does not roll out smooth. And when I bought it, it was difficult to roll up. So it's just sitting there helpless.
Pros: Good Shape
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product doesn't work!!

PostedApril 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It came as a square bucket with the hose reel inside and four stakes to allegedly hold it in place. They aren't adequate and the whole thing bounces around when you try to pull hose out or reel it in. Also the cover pops off, and without it the hose won't reel in on track. Honestly, this was a total waste of my money.
Cons: doesn't handle hose functionally
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+20points
23out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel

lightweight, and as such, not fantastic

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It's super-light. The instructions do say that you should use spikes to anchor it into the ground, but in my case, I can't do that, because my hose location is over concrete. Because of that, this thing is very hard to keep still, and hard to operate by one person. It's alright, but not a great unit. A more expensive, weightier version would be better.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Minneapolis

Good low cost option

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was just what I needed for 50 feet of hose so that it doesn't kink, and to make storing a hose outside easier and more attractive. I haven't tried, but I'm sure getting 100 feet of hose to fit would be very tight. The included stakes should be put all the way into the ground, otherwise this won't work at all, because the product is so light. Also the attachment hose could have been longer. You'll need to install this very close to your faucet. Again, good product, does what it says it does, just no great features.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product at a great price

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product was at a great price at Home Depot. Easy to install. Looks great and functions well.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

total pain in the butt

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
It does not hold a 100ft hose...period. You can waste twenty minutes of your time to try to get it to hold it, but I don't spend money on a tool to create more work for me. And you have to literally stand on it while you're rolling the hose into it so it doesn't flop around. Very poor design.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Can't hold it still while rewinding the hose

PostedJuly 5, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
There is no way to hold this still while rewinding the hose, so it moves around and the hose tangles. It also falls over when pulling the hose out. Designed for cheapness and you get what you pay. I'm throwing mine away because I have used it for four weeks now. I'll buy one with a bigger base and a foot rest to hold it down. I wonder if the engineers who designed this ever tried to use it?
Cons: Not Durable, not stable while rewinding or unwinding hose, hose tangles and jams
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Arlington, VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not very good for longer hoses...

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It may be that I used a longer hose, but the product didn't work very well at all. It would get tangled up inside the box (I'd have to guide it in), stuck while trying to get it out and the metal rods that were suppose to hold it down didn't hold it in place. It may work better for shorter lengths of hose but it definitely isn't built for all.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Collinsville, IL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bargain Hose Reel

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wasn't sure but it did hold 100 feet of hose. A good product, bargain price.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Portland, OR
Age Range:25 to 34

Cheap, plastic hose connections

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The internal and external connections are plastic, even making sure not to cross-thread (which is difficult when threading metal onto plastic) the connections leaked more water than they passed onto the hose.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

hose reel

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This house reel easily stores the garden hose. I like the anchors that came with it, they make it easier to reel the hose in.
Pros: Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not a 100' reel

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It's a nice looking box however it does not really hold a 100' hose. The spindle fills up and then the hose overflows to the side of the spindle and then you can no longer roll it. I think it would be a good solution for smaller lengths and you do want to use the spikes to hold it down, it's very light and will move around quite a bit as you try to roll-up the host if you don't.
Pros: Stylish
Cons: can't accomodate 100' of hose
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

While a bargain, the product was rather flimsy, when put to use.

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
While a bargain, the product was rather flimsy, when put to use. It doesn't look like it will hold up over time.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Houston,TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is good to use...it's good price...it's good for garden
Pros: Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Arvada, CO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product works well for me

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The hose reel fit nicely into the small area I have and work nicely for me.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Katy, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Serves Its Purpose

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
For the price of the product, this produce worked as it should.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Charlotte
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Total waste of money

PostedApril 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My short connection to spigot always leaked. Lid pops open and hose comes off reel and jams up when unrolling. Same when rolling a hose in. Rolling hose in requires guiding hose with one hand, spinning handle with the other and with your THIRD hand holding the whole thing down. There is a little 'step' in front which would be great but it's too short and shallow to get your toes on. Do yourself a favor and buy anything but this for your hose storage.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel

Works as described

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works as described, although requires a good quality hose so that kinks in the line as it is spooled do not require you to fully extract in order for water to flow. Not a problem with the hideaway hose reel - but useful information if you expect to attempt to use your hose while partially reeled into the hideaway.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>