728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Watering & Irrigation or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel

100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel

The Suncast Corporation Hose Hideaway Hose Reel holds up to 100 ft. of standard 5/8 in. hose. The compact and portable hose-storage unit features an easy-to-operate manual crank. Best to wind hose back in with lid lifted so that you can manually guide hose onto the hose reel. Item is fully assembled and is ready to use the minute you get home. We have included a leader hose with this unit. Durable resin construction is low maintenance and easy to clean. Made in the U.S.A.
Overall rating:
2.674 / 5
2.7
 / 
5
(135 reviews) 135
Open Ratings Snapshot
43%of customersrecommend this product55 of 129reviews
Rating Breakdown 135 reviews
2.7 out of 5.0
5
(27)
4
(25)
3
(12)
2
(19)
1
(52)
Quality 
2.7 out of 5.0
2.7 out of 5
Value 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
43%of customersrecommend this product55 of 129reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer reviews for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
Review 1 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Jasper, IN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Be reasonable: this isn't a high quality reel, but not bad for the price.

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this reel this morning at my local HD after searching online for reels that I really wanted, but didn't really want to PAY FOR! Spent twenty bucks for the reel and another three bucks for four galvanized twelve inch x 3/8" spikes. I used four 3/8" zinc washers from home and the spikes to anchor the reel firmly to the ground. (Drive them in at a slight angle for better holding power.) It does come with spikes, but they're shorter, flimsier, (word?) and I'll use them on something else. I bought a 90' "Farm Hose" with a lifetime guarantee (we'll see) from Rural King for about $20 and used that in the reel. I used another farm hose I already had for the leader, because my faucet wasn't that close to where I wanted the reel. I'll use the shorty leader hose that came with the reel for something else. NBD. When reeling up the hose, you need to have one hand on the handle and the other guiding the hose. It needs to be rolled up fairly neatly to fit the 90' by 5/8" hose on the reel. THIS IS NOT AN IDIOT -PROOF REEL!!! You have to have some common sense. And since you anchored the reel properly, you will have that other hand free to guide the hose. I've owned at lease 10 different types of hose reels and even the ones with "hose guides" that are SUPPOSED to layer the hose on the reel perfectly, don't. But then again, I've never paid more than $200 for a hose reel. As far as lifespan goes, if I can make this last for a calendar year, that's probably pretty good. It will probably require a new O-ring after a while...NBD. Once something major breaks, I'll buy another one for $20, use the same spikes I had for this one and be good for another year or two.
Pros: good value for $$$
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product doesn't work!!

PostedApril 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It came as a square bucket with the hose reel inside and four stakes to allegedly hold it in place. They aren't adequate and the whole thing bounces around when you try to pull hose out or reel it in. Also the cover pops off, and without it the hose won't reel in on track. Honestly, this was a total waste of my money.
Cons: doesn't handle hose functionally
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+20points
24out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel

Not what I expected

PostedMay 18, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this product for a new 100' hose. Unfortunately the hose needs to be wound perfectly in order for it to all fit in. Going to return it as I can only fit 60' into the unit without sitting there and perfectly winding it up. Would recommend hose reel that hold 20% more than what you want.
Cons: Not Durable
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel

lightweight, and as such, not fantastic

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It's super-light. The instructions do say that you should use spikes to anchor it into the ground, but in my case, I can't do that, because my hose location is over concrete. Because of that, this thing is very hard to keep still, and hard to operate by one person. It's alright, but not a great unit. A more expensive, weightier version would be better.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is difficult to unroll. ..

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It does not roll out smooth. And when I bought it, it was difficult to roll up. So it's just sitting there helpless.
Pros: Good Shape
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Minneapolis

Good low cost option

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was just what I needed for 50 feet of hose so that it doesn't kink, and to make storing a hose outside easier and more attractive. I haven't tried, but I'm sure getting 100 feet of hose to fit would be very tight. The included stakes should be put all the way into the ground, otherwise this won't work at all, because the product is so light. Also the attachment hose could have been longer. You'll need to install this very close to your faucet. Again, good product, does what it says it does, just no great features.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product at a great price

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product was at a great price at Home Depot. Easy to install. Looks great and functions well.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Yonkers, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't buy!

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a poorly designed product. It's very difficult to spool the hose in that enclosure. It requires a great deal of time and patience to accomplish what should be a simple task. In order for this contraption to work, it would have to be mounted on a flat piece of plywood so you can step on it to prevent the enclosure from moving when you're reeling the hose in or pulling it out. My suggestion is you skip this one. Otherwise, you'll be in for a lot of frustration. You'll end up just leaving the hose out. That's what you were trying to avoid in the first place. I plan on taking this back. Don't buy.
Cons: poor design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Omaha, Nebraska
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Invention.

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Hideaway Hose Reel looks great in our yard, much better than seeing the hoses hanging on a hook on the house or just lying around in the yard. These are easy to use and hopefully will extend the life of our hoses. We would definitely purchase this type of item again.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Stylish, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Lodi, OH 44254, USA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

flimsy. I returned it and spent $37 for a better one.

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had to have two people to roll up a 100 foot hose... One to hold on to the reel and one to roll the handle. My suggestion... Save your money and spend a bit more for something that works, unless you just have a short hose and a lot of patience.
Cons: Not Durable, flimsy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Jay, Me
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Useful item

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I'm using it for the garden hose which we use in the horse barn. It works good the only thing is that it is light enough to move and it is inside so we can not stake it to the ground. It serves the purpose which we bought it for and we like it.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Fayetteville, North Carolina
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this item

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I really needed something to keep the hose, I love this item because it wraps the hose up nice and neat and hides it where it is not visible to be seen, and it helps a lot when cutting the grass :)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Fernandina Beach, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very happy with every aspect - AND especially when it is MADE IN THE USA!

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It looks great, does the job AND to reiterate, MADE IN THE USA!!!! Note, I had been looking for months and could not find anything that met all my needs (i.e. from décor standpoint, functionality, etc.) So happy I found it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Can't hold it still while rewinding the hose

PostedJuly 5, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
There is no way to hold this still while rewinding the hose, so it moves around and the hose tangles. It also falls over when pulling the hose out. Designed for cheapness and you get what you pay. I'm throwing mine away because I have used it for four weeks now. I'll buy one with a bigger base and a foot rest to hold it down. I wonder if the engineers who designed this ever tried to use it?
Cons: Not Durable, not stable while rewinding or unwinding hose, hose tangles and jams
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from New Jersey
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worst product ever

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I threw it out after a week of use. We tried everything to plug the leak it was simply impossible. It wasn't worth the effort to bring it to the store to return. hauled it out with the garbage.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Doylestown, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
the lid broke off almost immediately, but I am still using it
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Bastrop, TX 78602, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cheap product. You get what you pay for. Very hard to reel in hose.

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Anchors provided are not nearly strong enough to hold unit down while manhandling reel onto hose.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Pembroke Pines, FL

Does the job for a great price

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It rolls the hose up smoothly and screwing in the ends of the parts for set up wasn't so bad. It even has ground stakes to hold it in place. Overall it's a great value
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

total pain in the butt

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
It does not hold a 100ft hose...period. You can waste twenty minutes of your time to try to get it to hold it, but I don't spend money on a tool to create more work for me. And you have to literally stand on it while you're rolling the hose into it so it doesn't flop around. Very poor design.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Grand Blanc, Mi.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very bad item, leak 's and poor quality.

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Leak 's and poor quality. Bad item, I tried everything to stop the leak's.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>