728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Watering & Irrigation or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel

100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel

The Suncast Corporation Hose Hideaway Hose Reel holds up to 100 ft. of standard 5/8 in. hose. The compact and portable hose-storage unit features an easy-to-operate manual crank. Best to wind hose back in with lid lifted so that you can manually guide hose onto the hose reel. Item is fully assembled and is ready to use the minute you get home. We have included a leader hose with this unit. Durable resin construction is low maintenance and easy to clean. Made in the U.S.A.
Overall rating:
2.425 / 5
2.4
 / 
5
(87 reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
34%of customersrecommend this product28 of 83reviews
Rating Breakdown 87 reviews
2.4 out of 5.0
5
(14)
4
(14)
3
(8)
2
(10)
1
(41)
Quality 
2.4 out of 5.0
2.4 out of 5
Value 
2.8 out of 5.0
2.8 out of 5
34%of customersrecommend this product28 of 83reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer reviews for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
Review 1 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
Teriannw
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is difficult to unroll. ..

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It does not roll out smooth. And when I bought it, it was difficult to roll up. So it's just sitting there helpless.
Pros: Good Shape
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
Nina
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product doesn't work!!

PostedApril 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It came as a square bucket with the hose reel inside and four stakes to allegedly hold it in place. They aren't adequate and the whole thing bounces around when you try to pull hose out or reel it in. Also the cover pops off, and without it the hose won't reel in on track. Honestly, this was a total waste of my money.
Cons: doesn't handle hose functionally
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+14points
17out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
alboy

lightweight, and as such, not fantastic

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It's super-light. The instructions do say that you should use spikes to anchor it into the ground, but in my case, I can't do that, because my hose location is over concrete. Because of that, this thing is very hard to keep still, and hard to operate by one person. It's alright, but not a great unit. A more expensive, weightier version would be better.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
NateIAD
from Minneapolis

Good low cost option

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was just what I needed for 50 feet of hose so that it doesn't kink, and to make storing a hose outside easier and more attractive. I haven't tried, but I'm sure getting 100 feet of hose to fit would be very tight. The included stakes should be put all the way into the ground, otherwise this won't work at all, because the product is so light. Also the attachment hose could have been longer. You'll need to install this very close to your faucet. Again, good product, does what it says it does, just no great features.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
PeterK
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Can't hold it still while rewinding the hose

PostedJuly 5, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
There is no way to hold this still while rewinding the hose, so it moves around and the hose tangles. It also falls over when pulling the hose out. Designed for cheapness and you get what you pay. I'm throwing mine away because I have used it for four weeks now. I'll buy one with a bigger base and a foot rest to hold it down. I wonder if the engineers who designed this ever tried to use it?
Cons: Not Durable, not stable while rewinding or unwinding hose, hose tangles and jams
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
Deejay

Extremely poor design

PostedMay 29, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Due to the poor design of this product, unless you anchor it to your deck or driveway, the wieght of the hose knocks the entire reel all over the place.
Cons: poorly designed
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
lifanus

waste of money, doesn't work

PostedMay 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
it's cheap, but considering you'd be throwing it away in 2 month or so, it's quite expensive for what it is.
It's quite hard to roll the hose inside the hideaway reel, as quite often the hose gets tangled and become stuck, it's never easy to either take the hose out or try to store the hose.
We throw ours away in 2 month. Find a wall mount hose hangout, it's cheap and works way better.
Cons: Not Durable, does not work
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
marn

not great

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
pretty lightweight, doesn't stay stationary when pulling out the hose. Looks nice and the price was right, not great quality
Pros: Stylish, Good Shape
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
Anonymous

Piece of junk

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Both hose connections are cheap plastic and leak like crazy. I tried several different hose and gaskets, and no matter, the connections leaked badly.
Says it holds 100' of hose? Maybe if you sit there and wind it up tightly like a spool of thread it might fit, but under normal household usage, the reel only hold about 80 feet.
I returned it for a refund.
Cons: Not Durable, leaks like crazy
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
vincent
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

don't buy it

PostedJuly 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
trying to use this is an exercise in frustration.
You WILL feel great when you finally throw it out.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
TravelinDragonfly
from Tennessee

ARRGH!

PostedMay 31, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Sure hope they'll take this back. I spent a weekend wrestling my hose and this pain in the caboose reel. And feel like I've been wrestling alligators.
It leaked (but only after I "reeled" some of the hose on it).
"Reeling" is a joke. You must reel with one hand, guide the hose with the other hand, hold the entire thing down with a muddy foot (from the leaking), and use whatever is left to keep the lid down.
This was a bit of a waste of my time, money and bird poo. Most of them contained birds' nests and bird waste from being stored outside.
If you're thinking about this product... move along!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
MizJen
from Columbia, MO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Features for Light Hoses

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this to be able to reel in my three 50' pocket hoses that were joined together. It works well for me in this capacity. I read the reviews that people were not happy with it for conventional hoses, but if you are using it for a light hose, such as a pocket hose, it works beautifully. I did not anchor it to the ground as I don't want to leave my expensive pocket hoses outside. It is very light and easy transportable to the garage.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Functionality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
rich
from NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works great, if ...

PostedAugust 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I would agree with all the bad reviews here, but for one thing:
I drilled 4 holes in a heavy 16" paver and bolted the hose reel to it before I ever even used it. The weight of the paver is more than enough to steady the whole thing, and you can work the reel easily with just one hand on the crank. And you can still move it around and position it anywhere you like. Total cost was about 6 bucks.
This actually works much better than any of the more expensive models I have had. Embed the paver in the ground and it will never move. This hose reel was clearly designed to be secured somehow, and anyone who complains about it without doing that is using it wrong.
Regardless of what you pay for a hose reel, they all seem to have the same plastic parts inside, and they all fail the same way in the same time, and can't be repaired. At least when that happens with this, it will be cheap to replace. The paver is of course re-useable.
You'll need a masonry bit to drill the holes, and a hammer drill will do it much faster. You could also screw it to a wooden deck, or use lead concrete anchors and screws instead of bolts.
I have 3 of these rigged this way, and they work great.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Stylish
 
Products related to my review
 
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
Alsofla
from Florida, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

50 Ft hose reel maybe.

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This thing can't even hold 75 feet of good quality hose. Might hold 75 feet of cheap hose. Thought it was a bargain but all it's good for is the trash pile.
Pros: recyclable
Cons: too small to hold 75 ft of hose
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
Mark
from Reedsburg, WI 53959, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cheap!

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was inexpensive and the quality shows. The foot hole is too small to use your shoed foot to stabilize the bin while you wind the hose up. The entire bin moves when winding and the lid falls on your head when winding. You need to leave lid open and direct the hose as it doesn't self regulate when you wind it up. The hose that comes with the bin is too short to reach my spigots. Overall poor product.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
Pete

This product has few features

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This hose reel serves it's purpose for occasional use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
Happyrockgirl
from Oregon
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed

PostedAugust 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The stakes that it comes with are a great idea to secure the box in its location but the plastic is flimsy and becomes flimsier if you keep it in a sunny location. Hose jumps off the reel and gets stuck on the sides.
Pros: comes with stakes to secure it in the ground
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
cm632000

Too much hassle

PostedJuly 30, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
What looks like a great idea doesn't pan out. It's so light that there is not enough weight to hold it down while you are reeling in the hose. There is no footrest to hold it down, either. If they had provided that, it might have been better. It also can hold only a 50' hose standard green garden hose with less trouble. A more heavy-duty hose will cause problems. And, a 75' hose has too much bulk, meaning more hassle in reeling.
Don't waste your money.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
jimH
from Fairfield, OH, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Multi usage

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This item was purchased to be used to coil up my heavy duty electrical cord. It is perfect for this and saved me many dollars. It is the perfect item for this use and makes an excellent storage bin and the cord can be pulled out as needed.
Pros: Multi Use, Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
GigiB
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not as good as I had hoped

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I loved the idea of hiding my hose in this, but am disappointed with it's performance. The toe lip is way too small for my foot (maybe a small child could fit theirs on it, but how would that help?). It's very hard to roll up the hose when there's no stability for the holder. You have to slowly (VERY slowly) roll up the hose in order to get it to roll up properly, and then you still have to guide it (getting grass and/or dirt all over your hand). Additionally, all sorts of insects (including lots of spiders) like to hide in it. If there was a way to make it stable (it slides all over the place when you wind/unwind the hose) I might give it higher praise, but I haven't worked on that yet since it entails further purchases.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>