728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Watering & Irrigation or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel

100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel

The Suncast Corporation Hose Hideaway Hose Reel holds up to 100 ft. of standard 5/8 in. hose. The compact and portable hose-storage unit features an easy-to-operate manual crank. Best to wind hose back in with lid lifted so that you can manually guide hose onto the hose reel. Item is fully assembled and is ready to use the minute you get home. We have included a leader hose with this unit. Durable resin construction is low maintenance and easy to clean. Made in the U.S.A.
Overall rating:
2.813 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(166 reviews) 166
Open Ratings Snapshot
48%of customersrecommend this product76 of 160reviews
Rating Breakdown 166 reviews
2.8 out of 5
5
(36)
4
(33)
3
(19)
2
(20)
1
(58)
Quality 
2.8 out of 5
2.8 out of 5
Value 
3.2 out of 5
3.2 out of 5
48%of customersrecommend this product76 of 160reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer reviews for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
Review 1 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Jasper, IN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Be reasonable: this isn't a high quality reel, but not bad for the price.

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Bought this reel this morning at my local HD after searching online for reels that I really wanted, but didn't really want to PAY FOR! Spent twenty bucks for the reel and another three bucks for four galvanized twelve inch x 3/8" spikes. I used four 3/8" zinc washers from home and the spikes to anchor the reel firmly to the ground. (Drive them in at a slight angle for better holding power.) It does come with spikes, but they're shorter, flimsier, (word?) and I'll use them on something else. I bought a 90' "Farm Hose" with a lifetime guarantee (we'll see) from Rural King for about $20 and used that in the reel. I used another farm hose I already had for the leader, because my faucet wasn't that close to where I wanted the reel. I'll use the shorty leader hose that came with the reel for something else. NBD. When reeling up the hose, you need to have one hand on the handle and the other guiding the hose. It needs to be rolled up fairly neatly to fit the 90' by 5/8" hose on the reel. THIS IS NOT AN IDIOT -PROOF REEL!!! You have to have some common sense. And since you anchored the reel properly, you will have that other hand free to guide the hose. I've owned at lease 10 different types of hose reels and even the ones with "hose guides" that are SUPPOSED to layer the hose on the reel perfectly, don't. But then again, I've never paid more than $200 for a hose reel. As far as lifespan goes, if I can make this last for a calendar year, that's probably pretty good. It will probably require a new O-ring after a while...NBD. Once something major breaks, I'll buy another one for $20, use the same spikes I had for this one and be good for another year or two.
Pros: good value for $$$
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product doesn't work!!

PostedApril 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It came as a square bucket with the hose reel inside and four stakes to allegedly hold it in place. They aren't adequate and the whole thing bounces around when you try to pull hose out or reel it in. Also the cover pops off, and without it the hose won't reel in on track. Honestly, this was a total waste of my money.
Cons: doesn't handle hose functionally
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+26points
30out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is difficult to unroll. ..

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It does not roll out smooth. And when I bought it, it was difficult to roll up. So it's just sitting there helpless.
Pros: Good Shape
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Minneapolis

Good low cost option

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product was just what I needed for 50 feet of hose so that it doesn't kink, and to make storing a hose outside easier and more attractive. I haven't tried, but I'm sure getting 100 feet of hose to fit would be very tight. The included stakes should be put all the way into the ground, otherwise this won't work at all, because the product is so light. Also the attachment hose could have been longer. You'll need to install this very close to your faucet. Again, good product, does what it says it does, just no great features.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Torrance, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Not Bad!

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Not bad for this price. Our main reason was to hide hose for better look at entrance area. Actually I like this size. Small but still big enought to put hose inside. Those who mentioned about quality, what kind of quality you are lookiing for with this price? If quality is the issue, spend more.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Shape, price
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel

lightweight, and as such, not fantastic

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It's super-light. The instructions do say that you should use spikes to anchor it into the ground, but in my case, I can't do that, because my hose location is over concrete. Because of that, this thing is very hard to keep still, and hard to operate by one person. It's alright, but not a great unit. A more expensive, weightier version would be better.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Can't hold it still while rewinding the hose

PostedJuly 5, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
There is no way to hold this still while rewinding the hose, so it moves around and the hose tangles. It also falls over when pulling the hose out. Designed for cheapness and you get what you pay. I'm throwing mine away because I have used it for four weeks now. I'll buy one with a bigger base and a foot rest to hold it down. I wonder if the engineers who designed this ever tried to use it?
Cons: Not Durable, not stable while rewinding or unwinding hose, hose tangles and jams
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel

Not what I expected

PostedMay 18, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this product for a new 100' hose. Unfortunately the hose needs to be wound perfectly in order for it to all fit in. Going to return it as I can only fit 60' into the unit without sitting there and perfectly winding it up. Would recommend hose reel that hold 20% more than what you want.
Cons: Not Durable
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Tennessee

ARRGH!

PostedMay 31, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Sure hope they'll take this back. I spent a weekend wrestling my hose and this pain in the caboose reel. And feel like I've been wrestling alligators.
It leaked (but only after I "reeled" some of the hose on it).
"Reeling" is a joke. You must reel with one hand, guide the hose with the other hand, hold the entire thing down with a muddy foot (from the leaking), and use whatever is left to keep the lid down.
This was a bit of a waste of my time, money and bird poo. Most of them contained birds' nests and bird waste from being stored outside.
If you're thinking about this product... move along!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel

Extremely poor design

PostedMay 29, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Due to the poor design of this product, unless you anchor it to your deck or driveway, the wieght of the hose knocks the entire reel all over the place.
Cons: poorly designed
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel

waste of money, doesn't work

PostedMay 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
it's cheap, but considering you'd be throwing it away in 2 month or so, it's quite expensive for what it is.
It's quite hard to roll the hose inside the hideaway reel, as quite often the hose gets tangled and become stuck, it's never easy to either take the hose out or try to store the hose.
We throw ours away in 2 month. Find a wall mount hose hangout, it's cheap and works way better.
Cons: Not Durable, does not work
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works great, if ...

PostedAugust 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I would agree with all the bad reviews here, but for one thing:
I drilled 4 holes in a heavy 16" paver and bolted the hose reel to it before I ever even used it. The weight of the paver is more than enough to steady the whole thing, and you can work the reel easily with just one hand on the crank. And you can still move it around and position it anywhere you like. Total cost was about 6 bucks.
This actually works much better than any of the more expensive models I have had. Embed the paver in the ground and it will never move. This hose reel was clearly designed to be secured somehow, and anyone who complains about it without doing that is using it wrong.
Regardless of what you pay for a hose reel, they all seem to have the same plastic parts inside, and they all fail the same way in the same time, and can't be repaired. At least when that happens with this, it will be cheap to replace. The paver is of course re-useable.
You'll need a masonry bit to drill the holes, and a hammer drill will do it much faster. You could also screw it to a wooden deck, or use lead concrete anchors and screws instead of bolts.
I have 3 of these rigged this way, and they work great.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Stylish
 
Products related to my review
 
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel

Too much hassle

PostedJuly 30, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
What looks like a great idea doesn't pan out. It's so light that there is not enough weight to hold it down while you are reeling in the hose. There is no footrest to hold it down, either. If they had provided that, it might have been better. It also can hold only a 50' hose standard green garden hose with less trouble. A more heavy-duty hose will cause problems. And, a 75' hose has too much bulk, meaning more hassle in reeling.
Don't waste your money.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Reedsburg, WI 53959, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cheap!

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was inexpensive and the quality shows. The foot hole is too small to use your shoed foot to stabilize the bin while you wind the hose up. The entire bin moves when winding and the lid falls on your head when winding. You need to leave lid open and direct the hose as it doesn't self regulate when you wind it up. The hose that comes with the bin is too short to reach my spigots. Overall poor product.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Sacramento, CA

Bad design

PostedMay 5, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Unlike the traditional "inverted-V" design which is a lot sturdy on its feet, this reel is top heavy because the winding assembly is high up and the bottom is just thin plastic.
The load of the hose when reeling in makes the assembly topple. For the past year, I have reeled in the pipe using this reel by pressing down on the assembly one leg; but now I am sick of it and buying a traditional inverted V reel.
Don't by this, unless the manufacturer updates the design to provide a ground anchor.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Baltimore, MD

Junk

PostedApril 27, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This item is nothing but junk. It will not reel in hose without binding up. If you set in on the ground it doesn't have enough weight to allow you to pull the hose out. There are no provisions to properly attach it to something sturdy to secure it and if you do the plastic cracks from the stress of pulling out and reeling in the hose. Its just plain garbage.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not as good as I had hoped

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I loved the idea of hiding my hose in this, but am disappointed with it's performance. The toe lip is way too small for my foot (maybe a small child could fit theirs on it, but how would that help?). It's very hard to roll up the hose when there's no stability for the holder. You have to slowly (VERY slowly) roll up the hose in order to get it to roll up properly, and then you still have to guide it (getting grass and/or dirt all over your hand). Additionally, all sorts of insects (including lots of spiders) like to hide in it. If there was a way to make it stable (it slides all over the place when you wind/unwind the hose) I might give it higher praise, but I haven't worked on that yet since it entails further purchases.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel

Piece of junk

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Both hose connections are cheap plastic and leak like crazy. I tried several different hose and gaskets, and no matter, the connections leaked badly.
Says it holds 100' of hose? Maybe if you sit there and wind it up tightly like a spool of thread it might fit, but under normal household usage, the reel only hold about 80 feet.
I returned it for a refund.
Cons: Not Durable, leaks like crazy
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel

Falls over, is a little too light weight

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this for a 100 foot hose. When you pull the hose out the box falls over, it is not heavy enough to stay in place while you pull it. I would recomend this to be used with a shorter light weight hose. It looks really nice, but not very functional.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Knoxville, TN, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product

PostedOctober 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to use and install, especially like the anchoring system
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>