728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Watering & Irrigation or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel

100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel

The Suncast Corporation Hose Hideaway Hose Reel holds up to 100 ft. of standard 5/8 in. hose. The compact and portable hose-storage unit features an easy-to-operate manual crank. Best to wind hose back in with lid lifted so that you can manually guide hose onto the hose reel. Item is fully assembled and is ready to use the minute you get home. We have included a leader hose with this unit. Durable resin construction is low maintenance and easy to clean. Made in the U.S.A.
Overall rating:
2.813 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(166 reviews) 166
Open Ratings Snapshot
48%of customersrecommend this product76 of 160reviews
Rating Breakdown 166 reviews
2.8 out of 5.0
5
(36)
4
(33)
3
(19)
2
(20)
1
(58)
Quality 
2.8 out of 5.0
2.8 out of 5
Value 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
48%of customersrecommend this product76 of 160reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer reviews for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
Review 1 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Jasper, IN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Be reasonable: this isn't a high quality reel, but not bad for the price.

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this reel this morning at my local HD after searching online for reels that I really wanted, but didn't really want to PAY FOR! Spent twenty bucks for the reel and another three bucks for four galvanized twelve inch x 3/8" spikes. I used four 3/8" zinc washers from home and the spikes to anchor the reel firmly to the ground. (Drive them in at a slight angle for better holding power.) It does come with spikes, but they're shorter, flimsier, (word?) and I'll use them on something else. I bought a 90' "Farm Hose" with a lifetime guarantee (we'll see) from Rural King for about $20 and used that in the reel. I used another farm hose I already had for the leader, because my faucet wasn't that close to where I wanted the reel. I'll use the shorty leader hose that came with the reel for something else. NBD. When reeling up the hose, you need to have one hand on the handle and the other guiding the hose. It needs to be rolled up fairly neatly to fit the 90' by 5/8" hose on the reel. THIS IS NOT AN IDIOT -PROOF REEL!!! You have to have some common sense. And since you anchored the reel properly, you will have that other hand free to guide the hose. I've owned at lease 10 different types of hose reels and even the ones with "hose guides" that are SUPPOSED to layer the hose on the reel perfectly, don't. But then again, I've never paid more than $200 for a hose reel. As far as lifespan goes, if I can make this last for a calendar year, that's probably pretty good. It will probably require a new O-ring after a while...NBD. Once something major breaks, I'll buy another one for $20, use the same spikes I had for this one and be good for another year or two.
Pros: good value for $$$
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product doesn't work!!

PostedApril 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It came as a square bucket with the hose reel inside and four stakes to allegedly hold it in place. They aren't adequate and the whole thing bounces around when you try to pull hose out or reel it in. Also the cover pops off, and without it the hose won't reel in on track. Honestly, this was a total waste of my money.
Cons: doesn't handle hose functionally
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+23points
27out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Torrance, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Not Bad!

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Not bad for this price. Our main reason was to hide hose for better look at entrance area. Actually I like this size. Small but still big enought to put hose inside. Those who mentioned about quality, what kind of quality you are lookiing for with this price? If quality is the issue, spend more.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Shape, price
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Minneapolis

Good low cost option

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was just what I needed for 50 feet of hose so that it doesn't kink, and to make storing a hose outside easier and more attractive. I haven't tried, but I'm sure getting 100 feet of hose to fit would be very tight. The included stakes should be put all the way into the ground, otherwise this won't work at all, because the product is so light. Also the attachment hose could have been longer. You'll need to install this very close to your faucet. Again, good product, does what it says it does, just no great features.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is difficult to unroll. ..

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It does not roll out smooth. And when I bought it, it was difficult to roll up. So it's just sitting there helpless.
Pros: Good Shape
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel

lightweight, and as such, not fantastic

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It's super-light. The instructions do say that you should use spikes to anchor it into the ground, but in my case, I can't do that, because my hose location is over concrete. Because of that, this thing is very hard to keep still, and hard to operate by one person. It's alright, but not a great unit. A more expensive, weightier version would be better.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel

Not what I expected

PostedMay 18, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this product for a new 100' hose. Unfortunately the hose needs to be wound perfectly in order for it to all fit in. Going to return it as I can only fit 60' into the unit without sitting there and perfectly winding it up. Would recommend hose reel that hold 20% more than what you want.
Cons: Not Durable
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Can't hold it still while rewinding the hose

PostedJuly 5, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
There is no way to hold this still while rewinding the hose, so it moves around and the hose tangles. It also falls over when pulling the hose out. Designed for cheapness and you get what you pay. I'm throwing mine away because I have used it for four weeks now. I'll buy one with a bigger base and a foot rest to hold it down. I wonder if the engineers who designed this ever tried to use it?
Cons: Not Durable, not stable while rewinding or unwinding hose, hose tangles and jams
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Knoxville, TN, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product

PostedOctober 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use and install, especially like the anchoring system
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Griffin, Ga
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

As needed

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
If you want to get your hose off the ground or in one spot excellent. I don't recommend if you have a 100foot hose as I do, the reel is I guess for a 94foot hose a 50 or 75foot is great I left about 10ft out and works ok.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Cypress, TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Poor purchase

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The hideaway hose reel was cheap and difficult to use. The lid wouldn't stay on it too. The price was cheap and you get what you pay for. I will be returning it to Home Depot.
Pros: Vibrant Color
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from San Jose, Califorania
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lid cracked after sitting the sun for 1 week.

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have a 50 ft hose, the box is too light weight to stay in place when wheeling in the hose. Secured it in place by putting cheap broken paver stone on the bottom of the box. Works much better but not perfect after that. Not expecting much for 20 bucks. My biggest disappointment is the lid cracked in many places after 1 week. This is not what I expect for an outdoor product.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel

Extremely poor design

PostedMay 29, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Due to the poor design of this product, unless you anchor it to your deck or driveway, the wieght of the hose knocks the entire reel all over the place.
Cons: poorly designed
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Venice FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Hose reel

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Hose rack reels in Florida last about three years by my experience. This Brand gives longer life
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Strong, Great Quality
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel

4 stars

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great product for the money. Works well for hiding the hose in a smaller area
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel

its ok

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I used the stakes to secure it to ground. No leader hose was included unless they meant the plastic connector inside. I will buy my own connector from container to faucet. I saw 1 online for $5. Its just what I need to keep my hose off the ground.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Yonkers, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't buy!

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a poorly designed product. It's very difficult to spool the hose in that enclosure. It requires a great deal of time and patience to accomplish what should be a simple task. In order for this contraption to work, it would have to be mounted on a flat piece of plywood so you can step on it to prevent the enclosure from moving when you're reeling the hose in or pulling it out. My suggestion is you skip this one. Otherwise, you'll be in for a lot of frustration. You'll end up just leaving the hose out. That's what you were trying to avoid in the first place. I plan on taking this back. Don't buy.
Cons: poor design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel

waste of money, doesn't work

PostedMay 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
it's cheap, but considering you'd be throwing it away in 2 month or so, it's quite expensive for what it is.
It's quite hard to roll the hose inside the hideaway reel, as quite often the hose gets tangled and become stuck, it's never easy to either take the hose out or try to store the hose.
We throw ours away in 2 month. Find a wall mount hose hangout, it's cheap and works way better.
Cons: Not Durable, does not work
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not what I was expecting

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had visions of an easy-to-use, solid piece of equipment that would keep the hose off the lawn and neatly tucked away in a corner. Turns out it's pretty cumbersome and flimsy. The second I started to reel in the hose it bunched up on one side of the spool and popped the cover open. There is no fastener to keep the cover shut, which would have solved this problem. Also, it's pretty light-weight so you need to use the metal stakes it comes with to ground it, otherwise when you reel in the whole unit flops all over the place. Positive: for the price I shouldn't have expected more than what I got, and at a minimum it does keep the hose neatly tucked away. It just takes a little more effort than I had hoped.
#shouldaboughtapockethose
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 100 ft. Hideaway Hose Reel
from Tennessee

ARRGH!

PostedMay 31, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Sure hope they'll take this back. I spent a weekend wrestling my hose and this pain in the caboose reel. And feel like I've been wrestling alligators.
It leaked (but only after I "reeled" some of the hose on it).
"Reeling" is a joke. You must reel with one hand, guide the hose with the other hand, hold the entire thing down with a muddy foot (from the leaking), and use whatever is left to keep the lid down.
This was a bit of a waste of my time, money and bird poo. Most of them contained birds' nests and bird waste from being stored outside.
If you're thinking about this product... move along!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>