728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Ryobi One Plus Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Cordless Drill Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

1/2 in. 18-Volt Cordless Drill Kit

The Ryobi 1/2 in. 18-Volt Cordless Drill Kit comes with a drill, a cordless flashlight, 2 NiCad batteries and a 60-minute diagnostic charger to help you finish your project quickly. The drill has a variable, 2-speed transmission and 24-position clutch for applications that require high torque, while the flashlight features an adjustable head to light up your work piece and has a screw-off lens to help make changing bulbs simple.
Overall rating:
4.31 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(42 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product30 of 33reviews
Rating Breakdown 42 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(25)
4
(11)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(2)
91%of customersrecommend this product30 of 33reviews
Customer reviews for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Cordless Drill Kit
Review 1 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Cordless Drill Kit
from Tucson

Dead Batteries

PostedNovember 20, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The weak point in the Ryobi 18v battery tools is that the battery goes dead quickly and then permanently (does not charge) after a year or so. There is a lot of debate about whether this is a professional line of tools but when the batteries don't take a charge, who cares if it is a professional tool.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Cordless Drill Kit
from Ohio

Great for the home owner - will handle commercial

PostedNovember 9, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
We have had over a dozen of these drills in our company that we use day in, day out in commercial construction applications. They are well balanced and light enough to use all day. They also have the power to handle almost all tasks given to them including driving Tapcons into concrete and block. Durabilty to handle falls and drops is above averge.
The main problems we have seen with these drills is that the chucks are not very good and the bit or driver tends to come lose. We have also had issues with the variable speed triggers going bad. Batteries, when new last like a typical NiCad battery and usually last 2-3 years of constant use. We have found that the batteries are very temperature sensative and sometimes do not want to charge in extreme heat or cold. The charger is a 1-hour charger instead of the normal 30 minute charger so time has to be taken into consideration when charging and more batteries may need to be on hand.
Overall these are very nice drills for the money, especially for the home owner. In a residential application these drills are more than qualified to do anything the typical homeowner would need to do and last a very long.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Cordless Drill Kit
from Myrtle Beach, SC

The best drill I have ever owned!

PostedOctober 13, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this drill on everything from small fixes to large projects and it has never let me down. I purchased it along with the 33pc drill & drive kit. The drill has plenty of power and tons of handy features like the magnetic bit holder that helps keep bits and screws within easy reach. The bubble level on top also helps for accurate drilling and driving. It comes with 2 of the One Power Source batteries so you can even swap them out with your other cordless RYOBI tools. I give this tool and the accessories 5 stars and strongly recommend it to anyone who is debating what drill to purchase. Great price and durable product!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Cordless Drill Kit
from FL

Nice drill - batteries are another issue

PostedAugust 14, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My first use of this drill was to drill 1/2" holes into 4x4 treated wood planks. It had no problem at all.
The batteries that come with it are very versatile and are compatible with many products such as hedge trimmers, angle grinders, etc.
The problem with the batteries are that they heat up during heavy use and they will not recharge while heated. This can greatly increase the "recharge" time.
Now, the drilling did not cause them to heat up. I also have the compatible angle grinder; that caused them to heat up.
5 stars for the drill, 3 stars for the batteries.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Cordless Drill Kit
from Wv

Excellent Tools

PostedOctober 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love the drill lots of power. It does a better job than my dad's 24v Black and Decker drill by far and battery last a lot longer to had mine for about 5 years now has been used a lot but never any problem other than the switch to shift from reverse to forwards jumped off and had to take the drill apart and put it back in place which only took like 5 min took longer to take the screws out than to fix it. But after 5 years of hard use and abuse and only having 1 little problem I am very satisfied.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Cordless Drill Kit
from Flora, MS

Solid value

PostedMarch 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've owned this drill for about 4 years or so. I have used it and abused it. I've worn out a few batteries because I use it almost every day. The spindle lock lately slips a little but if I change the speed range it locks right up. What would you expect after 4 years of hard use. Otherwise it still works perfectly. This drill represents the best value of any tool I've ever owned. I also have most of the other 18 volt Ryobi tools and they're all "spot on". You can't go wrong.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Cordless Drill Kit
from Egg Harbor City, NJ

Ryobi 18 Volt Drill

PostedSeptember 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a tile setter who also does basic remodeling and use this drill on a daily basis for everything from framing to underlayment and drywall installation, and have never had a problem or been disappointed with it's performance. I actually just purchased a newer one, not because the other was not working up to par, but because I loved the first one I purchased so much, I just had to have the newer model in my tool arsenal.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Cordless Drill Kit
from mcdonough, ga

not for every day use

PostedDecember 6, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I've had this drill for 6 months, chuck became off centered so I took it back and had it replaced, I would recommend this tool to people who use it once a week, but any more and you are better off with Dewalt or Milwaukee, thanks to Home Depot for there 90 day return policy, I use my tools more then the average person so I will not be buying Ryobi again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Cordless Drill Kit
from Wv

Excellent Drills For the price

PostedMay 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These drills are the best drills that I have ever used except for 28v Milwaukee set but comes close in my opinion. Batteries are not that great but haven't tried the Lithium batteries yet but they would probably be great and worth the money in these tools I have the 5 piece set (drill, saw zall, flashlight, circular saw, and vacuum)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Cordless Drill Kit

PostedApril 3, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
For the price you cant beat it, Ryobi is making a name for them selves more and more. The only one thing I would say if there is anything, is that the drill doesnt feel as good in your hands as a (way) more expensive drill and the trigger isnt as sensitive. But again, for the price, its a great deal and good tool!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Cordless Drill Kit
from Grand Rapids, MI

Great deal, great product

PostedApril 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this drill and flashlight kit 5+ years. I absolutely love it. Well worth the money and even better when you get it on sale! The light is a little heavy with the battery but still very useful! The drill has a clutch and speed control that is very helpful for many different types of projects.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Cordless Drill Kit
from Dallas, TX

Drill

PostedDecember 14, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Overall this drill works well. The battery charges quick and it has pretty good streghth and power. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because it does not have a spot to put it's accessories.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Cordless Drill Kit
from West Bend, WI

Excellent Tool

PostedDecember 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this drill for many light duty projects around the house and am extremely impressed with the power packed in such a value priced product. Definitely a must have for everyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Cordless Drill Kit
from ohio

drill

PostedAugust 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
me and my friend are working on a project and this drill is really a good buy! we have had no problems with it and the life span of the battery is great. I would recommend this product to everyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Cordless Drill Kit
from Alabama

1/2" Ryobi Cordless Drill

PostedNovember 15, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good balance and weight considering the 18V capacity.
Does NOT tire me out from handling.
Very good power and torque.
Excellent product for the value.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Cordless Drill Kit
from Beaverton OR

Fair

PostedApril 5, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have this drill for less that two years when the chuck became off-center. This make it difficult to drill anything. I seldom use this drill and was dissappointed that it failed that quickly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Cordless Drill Kit
from Georgia

Best Drill I have owned

PostedOctober 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Really surprised at the quality and service this drill has given me especially for the money I spent. I would recommend this for home or commercial use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Cordless Drill Kit
from NJ

Needed a cordless drill

PostedSeptember 8, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I use the drill all the time. i would recommend it. I think next time i want to get a higher voltage.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Cordless Drill Kit
from fort lauderdale, fl

all round

PostedOctober 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great for alround handly jobs in the house
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Cordless Drill Kit
from mobile,al

great deal

PostedFebruary 19, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
wow! two for the price of one ...and you know the quality...so buy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>