728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Futura Digital HDTV Antenna Outdoor

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Futura Digital HDTV Antenna Outdoor

UHF/VHF/FM capable. Crystal-clear digital reception for high deifinition reception. The sleek, slim profile design is weather resistant and is perfect for outdoor installation. Installs anywhere with the included hardware and is fully adjustable. The 20dB built-in amplifier is perfect for the hard to receive signals. Includes UL listed AC adapter.
Overall rating:
3.9 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product15 of 20reviews
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(12)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(3)
75%of customersrecommend this product15 of 20reviews
Customer reviews for Futura Digital HDTV Antenna Outdoor
Review 1 for Futura Digital HDTV Antenna Outdoor
from salem,ohio

very disturbed

PostedMarch 23, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
bought this antenna about a week ago..mounted it to a 8' pole on the eve of my home ,it worked great picked up many stations i could not get with indoor rabbit ears. that lasted til the first time it rained. now it does not work at all.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Futura Digital HDTV Antenna Outdoor
from Hamilton, NJ

READ THIS . . .

PostedNovember 28, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This antenna is only slighlty better than a basic set of rabbit ears. It did receive more channels, but not well enough to watch. I'm now heading back to the store to return it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Futura Digital HDTV Antenna Outdoor
from Edgewater, Fl

Futura antenna

PostedAugust 20, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I actually bought this with every intention of bringing it back once it didn't work. Was I wrong!! This is the best antenna. I installed it on the side of the house, not at the highest point available but at a covenient place close to the cable hook up, so I wouldn't have to make a major job out of rewiring the house. 5 minutes, TOPS!! I had 40+ channels and I never even aimed it, although with it's design I wouldn't know how you could. I do have it plugged into an amplifier that cable TV installed because of the length of my home I had poor cable reception without it. 6 TVs and all crystal clear digital reception. I can't say enough about it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Futura Digital HDTV Antenna Outdoor
from Taunton, MA

Does the job well

PostedOctober 10, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I gave up cable because of the expense and tough times. I went to digital with indoor antenna and received about 12 channels but had to constantly adjust the indoor antenna to get them. With this antenna I now get 28 channels with little or no digitation (picsilation).
I live in between 2 hills in a valley which should make reception tough. All I did was attach it to the eave of the house not even above the roof line and am getting these results. From Taunton Mass I pull in both the Prov. and Boston markets so some programing is duplicated.
I would recommend it for our area and install was a breeze.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Futura Digital HDTV Antenna Outdoor
from Boston Ma

Good Digital HDTV Outdoor Antenna

PostedSeptember 20, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I see a lot of bad reviews of this Antenna,
I have this Antenna on top of my 3 Decker house in Boston and i pick up 100% signal for 12 over the air HD channels so maybe it's where they are mounting the Antenna I found that it makes a huge difference in where the Antenna is located when i first mounted it at the highest point of my house i only got 6 channels after moving it to the front of my home (facing downtown Boston) I now pick up 12 Digital channels so try differnt spots and i am sure if your in a large city you will have no issues with this Antenna
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Futura Digital HDTV Antenna Outdoor
from Gilbert, AZ

Great!

PostedOctober 23, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was definitely a skeptic! However, I spent about 10 minutes setting up a "test" where I put it on my roof (1 story house about 30mi away from the nearest TV towers) with a relatively clear line of sight (minus trees a 1 2-story house). I installed this thing and connected thru about 75' of COAX, put the powered amp on it and connected to my Windows Media Center tuner and voila! I had 15 channels of great HD and it looks every bit as good as the DirecTV we just canceled in favor of this ;-) A great antenna for the price, love it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Futura Digital HDTV Antenna Outdoor
from New London,Ohio

Amazing Little Antenna!!!

PostedOctober 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am very surprised with this antenna. I read the other reviews and decided to go to my local home depot and purchase it. I didn't think that this would work for me considering that my closest station is about 40 miles away. I got it home and tried in my living room before mounting it outside. I got 15 channel with it, all crystal clear. I mounted outside and now get 28 channels. This might be small but, it sure delivers. I am so glad that I bought this. Now I can do away with satelite tv and start saving money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Futura Digital HDTV Antenna Outdoor
from Greenville SC

Take Time to Tweak!

PostedDecember 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Amazing reception for such a small antenna. Tried indoor in front of a high window, no good. Tried peak of the roof, better, but missing too many stations. Under the peek of the eaves, in front of the attic vent worked best by far (the screen in the vent probably adds reflection). Changes in orientation aided reception, so take time to test and tweak. Now we get the 4 networks, PBS, MYTV and additional local offerings. All this for less than the price of one month's satellite bill.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Futura Digital HDTV Antenna Outdoor
from Bastrop, TX

Best one I've tried so far

PostedFebruary 22, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live about 40 miles from the TV transmitters, and have tried a variety of indoor antennas. I could usually get a signal, but walking by the TV would disrupt the analog and digital signals. With a young boy and two large dogs, this happened all the time. Also, any amount of weather, or the train going by would cause the signal to drop out. We also had to play with antenna orientation for each channel we wanted to receive.
I bought this antenna about a week ago, and hooked it up inside just to make sure everything was included. I still haven't gotten around to moving it and mounting it outside. We've had heavy storms, and no signal loss. It isn't even mounted indoors. It is just laying on the bottom of the TV stand for now, and all the channels come in fine. I've been pretty happy with this product so far.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Futura Digital HDTV Antenna Outdoor
from Syracuse, NY

Works great!!!

PostedDecember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was up and running in 15 minutes. After reconfiguring some cables in the basement and connecting the antenna directly to amplified 8-way splitter (provided by my ex-cable company TWC, when I was a customer), I had FREE HD TV on every set in the house (5, all HD TV's). I live about 25 miles west of the city where the majority of the signals are broadcast, and I received those signals perfectly. I have yet to mount the antenna, I just wanted to test it tonight, running some cable out a basement window up to the front porch. It worked in the window of my front porch (it faces to the west), about 7 feet off the ground. I was impressed it worked as well as it did in the window. The unit itself is light feeling, like it's hollow and empty, because it is, and it's smaller than you think. Obviously size does not matter in this situation. I'm soooo happy to have cut the cable... I'm saving $90 a month.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Futura Digital HDTV Antenna Outdoor
from Abilene, TX

catscratch, alot of research!

PostedNovember 9, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to put together, needed extra cable to setup outside or in the attic. Set the antenna on the mantel inside and picked up six more channels. The analog channels were a little fuzzy, the dtv channels perfect. The online price $20.01 lower than in store, but HD gave me the online price. A great buy great price after buying an indoor (different brand). Getting the extra cable to install in the attic.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Futura Digital HDTV Antenna Outdoor
from Delaware, OH

Gets you the Basics in HD for free!

PostedOctober 6, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Think of ways to cut some of my expenses I thought about getting rid of Cable TV. So I went into home depot and purchased this antenna. I havent mounted it where I am going to put it yet. I am probably going to mount mine in my attic. I did test it with it just sitting next to my tv and I got ABC, NBC, CBS, FOX and PBS in crystal clear HD. I also got a few other wierd stations. I also switched back and forth beetween my HD cable box and the antenna and noticed that the HD on the antenna is even more clear than the cable HD.
I am probably going to miss watching the discovery channel and history channel but i'm not going to miss the 70 bucks a month i've been paying for cable. I also have netflix where I feel it can fill the void for TV shows I won't get to see anymore on cable. If you want to cut some of your expenses down and don't care about all the premium cable only stations then this will fit your needs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Futura Digital HDTV Antenna Outdoor
from Denton Texas

HDTV Antenna

PostedJuly 13, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I returned this worthless thing. While this antenna might work very well for some people, for me it was worse than the rabbit ears that come with some old TVs. I'm about 50 miles from the transmitters so I was looking for something with a high DB amplifier. With passive rabbit ears I'm able to get a good signal for 13 stations but this antenna got absolutely zero stations. I'll keep looking.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Futura Digital HDTV Antenna Outdoor
from Burnsville,MN

Not Bad

PostedMarch 24, 2008
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This antenna wasn't good enough for my needs but performed better then expected. My location is mostly in the Red-Yellow zone with a couple of Blue signals the furthest rated zone. This small antenna works very well in my location for most of the UHF ATSC signals, DTV (digital signals). Unfortunately it didn't perform well with VHF ATSC and NTSC (analog signals) or UHF NTSC (analog signals).
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Futura Digital HDTV Antenna Outdoor
from VT

Enjoying it!

PostedJune 19, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was frustrated initially as signal was poor. While re-packaging it I noticed a message on the in-line amp which explained it had to be proplerly oriented. When installed correctly the red LED will illuminate. After properly orienting the cable the antenna worked stellar! I'm guessing that some people who submitted negative review failed to resolve this issue.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Futura Digital HDTV Antenna Outdoor
from Harrisburg, Ar

Didn't do anything

PostedDecember 14, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was wanting a different anteanna when I went, but they didn't have the good ones, only the trash ones. So I compromised on this little piece of garbage that I put on my roof and got less channels than a small indoor one I have in my living room. This model picked up 3 channels and the old one I already have gets 7. I'm returning it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Futura Digital HDTV Antenna Outdoor
from Rural Texas

By golly, it works!

PostedMarch 12, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These days, I'm always surprised when a product performs as advertised. This one works great. I affixed it to the arm of the awning on my RV and it picks up digital channels I didn't know existed. Picture didn't wiggle in a heavy downpour, either. I love it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Futura Digital HDTV Antenna Outdoor
from Camilla, GA

GE Futura Antenna Works Welll

PostedAugust 31, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed this on my shop to watch college football after purchasing (and returning) a smaller and cheaper antenna. It worked great. I get all the digital channels available in my area.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Futura Digital HDTV Antenna Outdoor

Product didn't receive digal signles very good

PostedJune 5, 2008
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product didn't receive digal singles very good. Worked good with analog singles. Needs much improvement to meet the new digal requirements for 2009
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Futura Digital HDTV Antenna Outdoor
from NY

Outdoor Antenna

PostedDecember 9, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product works much better than expected. Price is higher than some but worth the cost.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.