728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Drills or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 3/8 in. 8-Amp Corded Drill/Driver

3/8 in. 8-Amp Corded Drill/Driver

The RIDGID 3/8 in. Corded Drill/Driver features an 8-Amp motor that provides 2,700 RPM for powerful drilling into a wide range of materials. With free registration, this tool is covered for life. Free Parts, Free Service, For Life, Includes: R7001 drill, heavy duty contractor bag and Operator’s Manual. See below for more details.
Overall rating:
4.282 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product30 of 36reviews
Rating Breakdown 39 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(24)
4
(7)
3
(4)
2
(3)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product30 of 36reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for 3/8 in. 8-Amp Corded Drill/Driver
Review 1 for 3/8 in. 8-Amp Corded Drill/Driver

Ridgid skimped latest model.They get rid of bubble level, lighting plug, but worst the chuck cannot hold bits less than 1.3mm

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this drill 4-5 years ago and was the best purchase. Now i needed another one and i went for same model but...Ridgid skimped latest model. They get rid of bubble level, lighting plug, which is not a deal breaker, but worst the chuck cannot hold any bit under 1.3 mm anymore. It will not tight anything below 1.3 mm and i don’t understand why they did this. The old chuck was holding thin hair bit, not the new one, so for me this is useless drill, returned and buy different. I just want to let Ridgid know how they made a great product useless for me may be others. The good part they increased rpm from 2500 to 2700rot/min.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: bad chuck
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3/8 in. 8-Amp Corded Drill/Driver
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent 3/8 in corded drill

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A couple of my 30 year old power tools wore out at the same time on my current project including a Black and Decker 3/8 in drill. Decided on the Rigid 3/8 in drill based on my past experience with the Rigid brand of power tools and customer reviews. It has plenty of torque and power, is nicely balanced, and I really like the magnets on the top of the drill to hold screws, Much of my current project required working on a ladder and I was able to keep quite a few screws on the top of the drill which was a real time saver. This drill was everything I expected and I am very satisfied with it.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3/8 in. 8-Amp Corded Drill/Driver
from Greenville ,SC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great drill for projects around the house.

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this drill to replace my Craftsman corded drill. I am very please with the overall weight and power that this drill provides. I would recommend this drill to a friend and the warranty is an added bonus.thanks Paul
Pros: Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3/8 in. 8-Amp Corded Drill/Driver
from Big Island, Hawaii
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

gets the job done fast

PostedJune 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use this drill for commercial roofing. It doesn't overheat like other drills I've used in the past. Powerful, smooth drilling with a comfortable grip. Makes my job a whole lot easier!
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3/8 in. 8-Amp Corded Drill/Driver
from Duluth, GA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product is great, packaging was terrible.

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought because I became increasingly frustrated will re-chargables not holding charge much past a year of ownership. Solid, super-torqued, good product.
Now the bad: Whoever came up with the glue config on the box need to be fired. The glue ran all up on and in the carry case. No way to remove. Didn't effect the drill so I kept it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3/8 in. 8-Amp Corded Drill/Driver

Lacks variable speed

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very powerful drill for the price, and it's great that it comes with the lifetime warranty. Those were 2 of the main reasons behind my purchase. Unfortunately, I didn't realize how important the variable speed feature is if you are going to use this to drive screws. I will be returning for a drill that has that functionality. This drill did work great for drilling holes into studs. So, if you want a powerful drill and aren't concerned about the variable speed function, then this should work for you.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Cons: no variable speed function
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3/8 in. 8-Amp Corded Drill/Driver
from Livonia, MI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Powerful & Ready

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this drill because we were tired of batteries dieing in the middle of a project & then waiting for them to charge up. This drill is great! Powerful & always ready to use! The cord is long enough that you're not tied to your outlet, plenty of room to work & move. Would recommend this to anyone doing a lot of work, your drill will always be ready to work when you are.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3/8 in. 8-Amp Corded Drill/Driver

Lots of Power

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For those looking for a very powerful "Corded" drill this 7.5AMP Ridgid does the job and some more. Great tool for the price.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3/8 in. 8-Amp Corded Drill/Driver
from Bellbrook, OH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

OK except for plastic chuck

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I don't like the plastic keyless chuck. Hard to tighten and in a tight spot, the plastic body rubbed against the cabinet and melted. The variable speed trigger goes to full RPM too quickly. I would return it but my use (at a second home) is limited so I don't care, but frequent heavy use would be problematic.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3/8 in. 8-Amp Corded Drill/Driver
from Juana Díaz, 00795, Puerto Rico
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Powerful, Professional Drill

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used it on wood, concrete, and iron. It works like new every time. It's not noisy. It's heavier than common drills, but the performance you get is worth it. I highly recommend you to replace your old drill with this one.
Pros: Durable, Strong Suction, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3/8 in. 8-Amp Corded Drill/Driver
from Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This drill seems very powerful. Im pretty sure it will chew through steel!

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Im happy with this drill. Its small, powerful, and seems well built!
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3/8 in. 8-Amp Corded Drill/Driver
from Near Cincinnati, OH

Great Drill for the price

PostedJuly 27, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this to replace a very similar 3/8" Dewalt that locked up (after being submerged in a flood). I already have a Rigid table saw that I LOVE, and my Ridid shop vac is great. How can you go wrong with a company that offers a 90-day satisfaction guarantee and a lifetime warrantee, and makes products worthy of that? My plan is to replace my other tools with Rigid after they die.
It is powerful. It spins up to speed almost instantly, and even though the current draw is supposedly a little less than my Dewalt, it feels like it has more torque. It absolutely blows through the wood I've used it for so far. This is a subtle difference, but the forward-reverse switch is positioned better and slightly easier to access than my comparable (dead) Dewalt.
It shows great attention to detail. For example, the ample 12' long power cord lights up orange at the plug when the circuit is live. It also has a velcro strap attached to the cord to coil it, as well as to use as a strain relief when plugging into an extension cord.
The drill is reversable. The variable speed is very fine, and it also has a little button in the handle to lock it in the full speed position. It looks to be built quite tough, including hardened steel gears.
It has a Jacobs racheting keyless chuck, exactly the same as the Dewalt, which works quite well. The cordura soft case was a bit of a surprise, since I'm used to either metal or hard plastic cases. But it is a nice case, with a pocket on the inside and another on the outside. Of course, cordura is nearly indestructable.
I could have chosen from several drills in the $60 price range, but this was closest to the Dewalt 3/8" drill, and I am glad I chose the Rigid. I think it surpasses the Dewalt in all ways.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3/8 in. 8-Amp Corded Drill/Driver
from Tampa, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great, with 1 flaw

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Feels very powerful. It separated the screws in my shower drain cover with ease, and they have been rusted together for years. The only issue is there is no trigger guard. Not a problem if your careful, but there is that potential. I would recommend it or buy again.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3/8 in. 8-Amp Corded Drill/Driver
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Great value and dependable

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Love it. It has plenty of power to drill through metal, wood, everything I need. Love the lifetime guarantee.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3/8 in. 8-Amp Corded Drill/Driver
from Amherst, MA

Great Drill

PostedApril 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This drill has some torque! Light enough to maneuver, heavy enough to be an effective tool. Drilled wood, backer-board, tile and 2*4's, like slicing through butter. Would recommend and definitely buy again!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3/8 in. 8-Amp Corded Drill/Driver
from Edmond, OK

Great Value

PostedJune 28, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Not the highend drill, but I was impressed with the torque on this. 12ft cord was nice too, my last drill was only 4ft. Would recommend for sure.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3/8 in. 8-Amp Corded Drill/Driver
from Junction City
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome power drill

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this to replace my out dated Ryobi. I'll never buy anything but RIGID products again. Recently used it as a Hammer Drill to redo a noncomforming room to a normal bedroom. Product works great.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 3/8 in. 8-Amp Corded Drill/Driver
from Logan, UT

I owe my floors to this drill

PostedNovember 17, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've been thoroughly impressed with the Ridgid brand of tools. After the cordless 14V drills gave up and couldn't handle driving the large screws to secure our subfloor, I decided to go with this Ridgid corded drill. I'm no powertool guru, and was a little skeptical about purchasing the 6.5A drill, not knowing if it would sufficiently drive and countersink the 3" screws we were using on the old and dense 12x12 floor joists of our house. This drill performed like a charm and it has the power to perform. Any issues with driving large screws into dense wood of an older house were completely eliminated. This drill is definitely worth it.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3/8 in. 8-Amp Corded Drill/Driver
from New Albany, IN, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does a great job and easy to handle

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had to do some heavy duty drilling into landscape timbers and when we were almost to the end it started smoking and froze up. Did return it and got another one. I love the RIdgid tools.. have quite a few of them for years and this is the first time one failed.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 3/8 in. 8-Amp Corded Drill/Driver
from Jarrell, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product for great price.

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had not used this new chuck that does not require a key. It works great.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>